Reviews for Mars: War Logs

75

Decent, worth a go when on sale

Roggo | March 4, 2014 | See all Roggo's reviews »

Mars:War Logs is a reasonably unique entry to the 3rd person action genre. The story is a bit cheesy at times and the acting is somewhat hammy, but it pulled me along enough to finish the game, even if I wasn't rushing back to start a new game.

Combat is different to most action games, you rely heavily on melee weaponry, with only 1 ranged weapon (not including bombs/powers). This is executed well, although it can take some getting used to; you are much weaker than most enemies for the early part of the game and need to practice dodging and parrying to gain an advantage. It can be quite brutal at first so it's not recommended for those who prefer to mash buttons to kill everything in sight!

You gain access to technomancer powers partway through the game, which opens up a new side of the game and makes it a lot more fun. Your powers and abilities can be freely chosen among the combat, stealth, and technomancer trees. This lets you build in the way that suits your play style.

The RPG elements are not as strong as other games but do give you the ability to tailor your character as you see fit.

Overall it's a not half bad game, if you like the post-industrial Mars vibe (think Red faction-ish) you may get a kick out of the game. It feels a lot like an 80's sci-fi flick at times, and that's not a bad thing in my opinion! Probably worth waiting for a sale unless you are confident you'll like it!

74

Mars: War Logs - review

Neapolis47 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

This game has taken a little 'atmosphere of Red Faction, a little more' post-apocalyptic Rage, a little bit of Mass Effect. It is an action-RPG, the plot involves us in the shoes of a prisoner between conspiracies, political struggles and opposing factions. The game world is sadly aseptic, with whole neighborhoods full of people where it is impossible to interact with NPCs, the same speakers present to open from the beginning to the end of the game and the exact same materials as loot. The weapons are very few and in fact are all kind of blunt (clubs, bars of iron), also modifying them with pieces found around. The enemy intelligence is poor, to combat lack a sense of progression throughout the entire game, you fight in the same way and with very few variations. If you loved the atmosphere of the various Red Faction and do not disdain strongly oriented on fighting melee, the game may be of interest.

63

It's... different

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

I think that the game studio was a little too ambitious and rushed development of this game, some aspects of it are far too easy, and there are quite a few bugs... it's worth a play but certainly not amazing.

85

A very pleasant surprise!

Lord_Jaxar | July 6, 2013 | See all Lord_Jaxar's reviews »

Mars: Wars Logs was a real surprise for me. Being only $20 on release and being from an unknown developer, I went in not expecting much, but I'm happy to say this game was worth it beyond expectation. Fans of good RPG's shouldn't be disappointing. You'll get an interesting story, great graphics, talent/skill upgrade paths and a really decent equipment upgrade/crafting system.

Also the combat in this game is really well done IMO. At first it looks like a bit of a button masher, but once you get the hang of evading attacked, using skills/weapons during the fight and even throwing sand in your opponents eyes, it gets really fun. IMO its similar to the combat in the Batman: Arkham games, but maybe not quite as fluid or seamless.

Oh and Technomancy is too much fun. Throwing chain lightning into a mob of guards never gets old!

Only downside is there wasn't much to spend Serum (money) on in the end, and I wish there were more outfit options discovered along the way, but those are only minor faults.

Fingers crossed we get a sequel before too long.

65

Ambitious But Avarage

feelingtheblank | July 3, 2013 | See all feelingtheblank's reviews »

Mars: War Logs is surprisingly ambitious game with some really good ideas but falls short in execution at the end of the day.

First of all, an idea of an RPG sets in Mars is really interesting since there isn't a lot of title takes us there. Overall atmosphere is cool and the "plot" is somewhat intriguing with all those conflicts, conspiracies and myths going around Mars. Almost makes you feel in the game. But the story is a bit flimsy, and even though there are some interesting and funny conversations the quality of voice acting is way below mediocre even for an indie title which destroys the immersion at very key moments.

On the other hand, character interactions are good and even amusing sometimes. Also you can clearly feel that the choices you made effect the game. Not only by conversations but also the way you choose to handle enemies.

Combat resembles Witcher 2. It's harsh and unforgiving at times. But lacks depth, polish and fluidness. On the other side the crafting system allows you to enhance the effects and appearance of the armors and weapons that you use with the materials that you can find around, which is a really good thing. But don't expect a deep system here. There are also some useful bunch of abilities to unlock while levelling. There's even a stealth approach that is viable every now and then. But overall; the combat get repetitive after a short while.

While animations are subpar the game looks good enough to convince you that you are in Mars. Environments aren't vast or full of rich details but they are well-crafted in general. Given the game's price the minor issues can be forgiven here. This is not a triple-A title after all. But overall it's satisfying.

Talking about content, the game offers around 9-10 hours of avarage gameplay including most of the side quests, which is not great for RPG-standards maybe but is good enough for today's gaming climate. On the other hand quality of this content is a mixed bag. While some of the quests are fun and straightforward, some of them are really tedious that include a lot of boring backtracking or searching through numerous piles of garbage hidden around. Lack of quality writing for majority of the side-quests makes you skip most of them after a while.

Like i said before, Mars: War Logs is an ambitious game that trying to gather all good elements from Action and RPG blockbusters but falls short in execution that lacks depth and optimization in many of its features, But its still not a bad game. There is still something worthwhile here. Like its convincing sci-fi atmosphere with slight cyberpunk sauce... If you are into this wait for a nice discount.

70

Buy Of Orcs And Men instead

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Mars War Logs is a budget action RPG that reminded me, because of its involvement in development, of Of Orcs And Men. Of Orcs And Men was a sleeper hit for me personally. It was a game with terrific graphics and fun and exciting gameplay. Yes, it was light on the RPG elements, but that didn't matter. It was truly fun. Mars War Logs has none of that fun and exciting gameplay, and comes across as dull. First of all, the graphics are decent. They're in no way similar to the graphics in other RPGs or even OOAM, but that's to be expected for a budget game. It's perfectly understandable and they're perfectly serviceable. Besides, it has lots of stuff that other RPGs have as well. Think of crafting and sidequests, for example. But it all feels so similar to a low quality version of OOAM, I just can't help it. The interface reminds me of it, the way the story is cut up in chapters, the quick-skill menu, you name it. It's all feels the same, but... cheaper. The voice acting for the main characters is decent, but for most of the other characters it's just terrible. The quests, however, are somewhat fun so it's not all bad. Mars War Logs should take about 7-8 hours to finish. And that's including all or most of the sidequests. So it's not that long, but still long enough to keep you entertained. If I had to make a decision I'd pick up Of Orcs And Men, but, then again... that's me.

83

Good Indie Title

Liverpool1971 | June 15, 2013 | See all Liverpool1971's reviews »

This is an excellent title for an indie game. It’s a lot like the Witcher 2 - It's an action rpg where your decisions will affect the game. Also the combat is alike - fun and challenging, but with different weapons (here you have clubs and guns). Graphic are quite good. Only the characters lips are kind of stiff, but overall the animation is great. And best of all it's only 2.5 GB. That's a big surprise. In my opinion It's definitely worth the money and the time. I highly recommend it for action rpg fans!

84

Make sure to get this one!

Plasros | June 11, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This game caught me by surprise, and it has been a really pleasant surprise. I really enjoy the game thus far. It certainly has its, lets cal them eccentricities, but none of them, or even they all in aggregate,effectively "break" the game. It runs well on my machine. Below I will focus on different aspects of the game, sharing my views after about 8 hours of play.

Story: The story is interesting. I like that it is not "omg save teh wurld!" in its scope. Mars is about as dystopian as setting come, and what you do will likely not ultimately SAVE anyone for good because at the end of the day,there will still be too many thirsty, and not enough water, and little prospect for escape or giant leaps in quality of life. This is a story of trying to make the best of a really bad situation with little or no hope for a genuinely positive ending. Mars is a place where everyone is horrible to everyone. It is oddly satisfying to play hero in a plac ewhere people are hugely appreciative for hte smallest things.

Characters/writing/VA: I have read a lot of negative reviews of the voice acting. It hasn't bothered me at all. This is what yu get when you do what you can, but do not have millions to dedicate to VA. It is servicable,and never markedly bad imo. There were instances where it caused me to chuckle, but the intonation is generally solid, so i does its part. I actually thing the PC is pretty well done. The dialogue is good in places, and never what I would call bad. The writing matches the setting and stays pretty true to the "feel" of the game. Some of hte caracters are better done than others. Some are bizarre, but that is because they were intended to be so. There are no striking failures. Mary is weird but likable, and I think that is what they were going for.

Combat: It is a bit repetitive, or gets to be. It isn't the combat itself, which flows pretty well and is not overly easy, but som of the respawns got to me after a while, especially given the huge amount of back-tracking and how each enviroment is used for quite some time. Technomacy is powerful, but not hugely overpowered. You can never 2-shot mobs, and casting times are long enough that you have to timeyour casts well in order to avoid interruption. Like another reviewer said, you hit people with a stick...a lot.

Graphics/animation: I am not a discerning consumer of fine graphics. I like for characters to look good, and this game succeeds in that. They focused on character faces, which I think is a strong choice. The lighting works well andthe textures on characters are pretty good. I have not even looked at the environmental tetures closely. Some of hte animations are a tad wonky. Sometimes the characters have odd facial contortions that make them appear to be craning their neck is odd wys which makes them appear to be overly-animated. All in all, I reall like the style, and many of the characters are really well-drawn.

70

Very nice budget title

UndefinedM | June 4, 2013 | See all UndefinedM's reviews »

Let's start with a premise: Mars: War Logs was made on a short budget, and you can see it kinda everywhere in the game. There's some rough edges here and there, but the good thing is that they don't impact on the game itself too much. You might frown at them, but you'll forget about them in a jiffy. The plot itself is long enough and doesn't drag itself with too many "filler" quests. The fighting mechanic is fun and every fight can be challenging if not tackled correctly. The crafting too is very well thought, even though it could use some improvement (mainly on the ranged part of your equipment). The graphics are nice to look at, even if not cutting edge. Overall, it's very well worth the money it costs.

85

A wonderful game

aps_6687 | May 21, 2013 | See all aps_6687's reviews »

It's an indie game, so it's obviously not perfect. I went into it not expecting it to be. It's published by Focus Home Interactive, who I had known for previously published The Testament of Sherlock Holmes, yet another excellent indie game from Frogwares. This game, an Action RPG from Spiders Studio, puts the 'action' and 'role playing game' back into the genre by offering an interesting series which real quest variety - and side quests that affect the story in many different ways. Your decisions really do matter - and can affect whether a character lives or dies. It does have it's faults, yes, but you'll have so much fun while playing that you'll gladly forget them as you are engrossed by the story and the atmosphere of the world. This is a little known game that I would recommend to buy, as it is only £14.99 and it is an amazing game, much better than other AAA RPGs such as Skyrim in my honest opinion. It didn't try to be a huge 500 hour adventure, and, because of that, it remains interesting.

70

A great underground classic.

fable2 | May 12, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

The first thing I thought of when I loaded up this game, was that it reminded a lot of Red Faction. The graphics, the settings, even the horrible voice acting... but despite some faults, it's an ambitious release.

My first impressions were mixed. The graphics look outdated and sloppy, but it added to the gritty nature and setting. You begin your story with a narrative from a prisoner named Innocence, (horrible name), and then soon find out you play as another prisoner named Roy Temperence (even worse name). Clearly the writing is subpar here, but the RPG style and fight combinations of the game keep it interesting.

The first 10-20 minutes consist of a few fights here and there, most notably with a fat guy that everyone keeps talking about. The exchange in dialogue is beyond cheesy and laughable. It sounds like the actors had 30 minutes to record their lines, and finished them in 15. Not only is the delivery horrible, but the voices themselves are completely mismatched and feel odd when placed with how the character looks.

There's an upgrade system and skill tree that many RPG gamers will find familiar and enjoy. Upgrading weapons and armor from found pieces of scrap and bought items will also be a nice challenge to those looking to upgrade with hidden goodies.

The game slowly opens in scope and plot, and soon you're planning a prison escape with the help of a few friends and guards around the prison you're being held at. I won't ruin any more of it for you, but don't let the dated graphics or bad voice acting sway you from playing this game.

It gets interesting quickly, and promises to be a great underground classic.

85

Great budget game with mistakes you will gladly forget.

Pilgrim6 | May 9, 2013 | See all Pilgrim6's reviews »

Mars: War logs is a budget game. Rather than seen it's heard from the first minute (the voice-over could really use some polish as could the lip-sync). Yet it will somewhat enchant you. The surrounding universe, the Witcher II like combat, the salute to Bioware style RPGs and their relationships feature. Your decisions will matter too. The story might not be revolutionary but it won't offend either.

If you can forgive this game some of it's quirks. I promise you it will deliver you a great amount of fun for 20 bucks.

Sadly this game is to my surprise getting a lot of backslash from professional game reviewers but from me it gets, well deserved, 85.

70

Decent Game at a Great Price

jaredbb | May 5, 2013 | See all jaredbb's reviews »

Yes, the voice acting is sub-par and the graphics are not the hottest thing, but it's a good game for the price. The choices you make will influence the end-game outcome, and there is some decent replay-ability. The game itself is a gritty first-person action game with a weapon and armor crafting mechanic and cyber-punk themes.

I saved at several points where there was a clear indication that the choices I made would effect the story and then went back an saw how things changed. The story itself is nothing spectacular, but it's good enough.

Combat on Normal mode is easy to learn but may take several hours to master. Take the advice of the game and use the Tactical menu when things get chaotic and you should be able to fight your way through. If you stand still and button mash, you will die.

Overall, this is a good game for the money and is a nice break from the main games in your stable. If you have reasonable expectations about the quality of games produced by a smaller independent team, then you'll enjoy the game.

71

Nice Game

Xibalba | May 4, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

This game caught me by surprise, and it has been a really pleasant surprise The story is interesting. I like that it is not "omg save teh wurld!" in its scope. Mars is about as dystopian as setting come, and what you do will likely not ultimately SAVE anyone for good because at the end of the day,there will still be too many thirsty, and not enough water, and little prospect for escape or giant leaps in quality of life. Graphics/animation: I am not a discerning consumer of fine graphics. I like for characters to look good, and this game succeeds in that. They focused on character faces, which I think is a strong choice. The lighting works well andthe textures on characters are pretty good. I have not even looked at the environmental tetures closely. Some of the animations are a tad wonky All in all I think they did really well. I certainly have no problem recommending this game given the $20 price point. It is very good in places and I consider it to be a really solid effort.

75

Pretty Good

Bawb3 | May 4, 2013 | See all Bawb3's reviews »

I found that I kept having to remind myself this wasn't a AAA title. It has some flaws for sure, and the graphics are dated, however considering the game's budget, it's a solid title.

The story is pretty good, a little quirky at times, the humor will make you laugh, as will some of the glitches. The game kind of plays like a BioWare game, which is cool and familiar, yet its still original enough to not be a ripoff.

I usually just overlook most indie games, but this one caught my eye, and it was a really fun play through, especially for 30$.

75

Good for the price

Infiltrator | May 3, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

A very pleasant surprise. This game came out with nearly zero hype or advertisement but if you're up for a good action RPG, you won't regret picking this one up. The writing won't win any awards, sometimes the areas feel a bit claustrophobic and the voice acting is pretty bad but the rest of the game is up to snuff. The progression is structured like Jade Empire for example: you are in interlinked hub areas and there are a healthy amount of sidequests you can pick up before you progress the main quest to a new hub area. The game takes a lot of inspiration from the Witcher 2; you'll have crafting, almost exactly the same combat and character progression systems, and a decision that will make your endgame play out from a different perspective.

A good game. At its budget price, it's a highly recommended purchase for anyone who likes action RPGs.

85

A good action RPG

Cavalieroscuro | April 30, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Mars: War Logs is a very good title. Using a third-person brawler formula during the fight, where you must dodge if you want to survive, the plot is pretty solid, thanks to many choices you can do during the story. There is a reputation system, a non-linear quests system that grants you a second ride on the game and modify the story, just like in The Witcher 2, so if you did one action, you can't perform another. There is a bit of backtracking, but not too much, so the game never turns to be boring. Mars: War Logs finally is a pretty solid single-player experience, if you like sci-fi RPG, this game is one of the best you can find at the moment.

68

Enjoyable game.

Ragman | April 30, 2013 | See all Ragman's reviews »

Overall this game is enjoyable. Storyline is great. a few things to note, movement is a little funky, certain game mechanics force you through the story when you may want to look around still, a few translation issues from the developers. Has an interesting skill tree and crafting system.

I think its priced correctly. Definitely a RPG not a FPS.

70

A very pleasant surprise

Antix | April 28, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

This game came out with nearly zero hype or advertisement but if you're up for a good action RPG, you won't regret picking this one up. The writing won't win any awards, sometimes the areas feel a bit claustrophobic and the voice acting is pretty bad but the rest of the game is up to snuff. The progression is structured like Jade Empire for example: you are in interlinked hub areas and there are a healthy amount of sidequests you can pick up before you progress the main quest to a new hub area. The game takes a lot of inspiration from the Witcher 2; you'll have crafting, almost exactly the same combat and character progression systems, and a decision that will make the final act of the game play out from a different perspective.

A good game. At its budget price, it's a highly recommended purchase for anyone who likes action RPGs.

70

Worth a play despite the flaws.

fable2 | April 28, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Apart from the truly appalling voice acting, terrible lip syncing, vacant NPC stares and average visuals, I am finding myself really enjoying this game. Really. The combat is satisfying and offers some RPG progression and weapon/armor crafting which I am finding very intriguing. Let's face it, who doesn't want to be a Technomancer? Cool. What an effort from a low budget team. Oh, and any game that can incorporate an 'arrow to the knee' quote gets my vote.

55

Flawed Flawed Flawed

Weeman0313 | April 27, 2013 | See all Weeman0313's reviews »

This game seemed quite interesting, and for $16.00 I figured I'd give this game the benefit of the doubt and give it a try. New IP from a new company might as well see how it goes. Well turns out this game is almost on par with Alpha Protocol in terms of.... everything. Dialog and facial expressions look incredibly awkward. The story seems interesting which was also a strong point of Alpha Protocol but unfortunately it is the only good part of the game. You can tell Mars: War Logs gets a lot of combat influence from The Witcher 2 but implements it in an atrocious matter. Rolling does absolutely nothing as enemies are autoaimed at you during your rolls (they will literally adjust perfectly during swings and aiming to hit you while you dodge). Lock on is annoying and does only applies to auto attacks while your skills will still aim wherever you are facing (so if you try to roll away and use a skill you will immediately use it in the direction you rolled instead of adjusting then using the skill). This is an average game at best which could have been so much more if more time was put into it.