Reviews for Deponia

96

Trash to Treasure(Not Trash in the first place but still)

HaonofRemlu | May 19, 2014 | See all HaonofRemlu's reviews »

This game was way better than I expected, and I expected it to be good. Daedalic did a very good job, and I would love to play the next two in the series. The main character is Rufus who basically fails at almost everything, this makes the story very funny and gives it a good plot line I would recommend this to anyone

100

It brings tons of laughs! [Huzzah! It brings tons of laughs!]

toshexy | May 7, 2014 | See all toshexy's reviews »

This is one of the most fun games I have ever played. Period. The characters are all so well thought out, but utterly unpredictable.

The most fun thing about the game is you'd have to think so much outside of the box on this one since most the decisions you need to make and things you have to do are done in the most ridiculous way possible - which is awesome!

Soundtrack, visuals, gameplay and voices are all AMAZING. Seriously, GET THIS GAME - you want to. Do it!

And so say we all! Huzzah! And so say we all! (You'll get the Huzzah reference when you play it :3 )

76

Good Looking and Amusing

bwrussell | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

Deponia features the mechanics of a classic point-and-click with a beautiful hand drawn graphics and an interesting (if a little short) soundtrack. In typical P&C fashion you explorer various environments, interacting with set pieces and collecting items to be used later, completing various tasks that range from the mundane to the ludicrous. The first act dragged on a little and had some real out-of-the-box puzzle solutions but the last two acts really pickup and are paced a little better.

The artwork really is gorgeous and does an excellent job of bringing a world full of junk and debris to life. The soundtrack is pretty good but isn't what you would call easy listening so after hearing the same few songs over and over again in each act it can be a little grating. The writing was typically funny and the voice acting is top notch although at times the main character is a little overbearing.

Overall Deponia is good fun (although maybe a little overpriced for the length when not on sale) and if you're a point and click fan it will be right up your alley. Be warned, if you're following the plot at all you're going want the rest of the series, cliffhanger city central.

78

Laugh your way trough a great game

drakso | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

Deponia is one of the rare point and click adventure games that really makes you feel good and engaged. It has an AMAZING art style and the game doesn't drag on more than it needs to. The soundtrack is great and the voice acting is flawless. The main point in this game is the story and the characters. The story is an unbelievable tale and the main character ( its hard to say if its a protagonist ) is really well designed and funny. Trough out the game there are lots of funny moments and good humor. There are puzzles here and there that are not really that hard, but there is an option for hints so you won't get stuck. I recommend it to anyone that wants to cool off from hardcore game and wants to relax in a simple yet funny and engaging game.

78

A tribute to the classics

Neonberry | Dec. 19, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Deponia is a great tribute to the classic point and click adventure games, but sadly not much more. It starts off great: the artwork is very atmospheric, the characters are fairly well though out (even if not overly original), dialogues are good with plenty of options and background information to find out. The puzzles are challenging but solvable and the jokes are pretty funny (most of the time). As the game progresses it seems that the end of it was kind of rushed a bit, but it still keeps up alright. The steampunk setting is well executed but is "just" the setting mostly - the characters and events could have took place in any other just as well. I would recommend this game to all lovers of classic point and click adventures - though don't expect it to revolutionize the genre. It was the first game I played from Daedalic and it absolutely caught my interest in the rest of their adventure games.

85

Exellent! Lucasarts would be proud.

sheldipez | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all sheldipez's reviews »

Deponia is a hidden gem, ok it may not be that well hidden as Daedalic, the developers, have just completed their Deponia trilogy, BUT it’s a game that you need to play if you have any slight interest in humorous Lucasarts-style point n click adventures of the past as this is the closest you’re going to get. You play as Rufus who is a kind of cross between Guybrush Threepwood (of Monkey Island fame) and Ash (Evil Dead’s reluctant hero) as he tries to leave his garbage filled home planet and get the games’ heroine ‘Goal’ back to hers. During the adventure you’ll have funky hummable music, stunning painted backgrounds, really nice animation and excellent voice acting through-out.

80

Funny Point and Click adventure

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

While I am not the biggest fan of point-and-click adventure games, I found this game to be a funny and interesting one. The characters are memorable, with funny lines and traits, and the world of Deponia is quite the unique one.

The point-and-click nature of this game can sometimes mean that the solutions for puzzles will require some very out-of-the-box thinking on how to solve them. However, I found most of the puzzles to be manageable to solve.

Overall, for those who like point-and-click adventures, they should add this one to their library of games.

70

Fairly Good

BozotheCat | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all BozotheCat's reviews »

For the most part it was good but there were a few things that you needed to do to get to the next area that you had to figure out by just randomly clicking. It felt like the items you needed to collect and put together weren't things that you would think of yourself.

The art style and voice acting were really well done.

89

Junk, junk everywhere!

Guardian412 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Deponia is an excellent presentation that if you tell a story well, you can turn a highly unlikeable hero into a likeable character. By time. The art style and the presentation of Deponia, - the world of Junk -, is great, the supporting characters are all memorable and the whole story is filled with a unique, but likeable humor and funny dialogues. The only reason why I don't give 90+ for this game is the very beginning. Honestly, I didn't like Rufus at all in the first ~30 minutes or so and I wanted to shot him after the first few dialogues, sentences and actions. But I'm glad I didn't uninstall the game after the first impression as by time he became a very likeable character. If you can survive the first few minutes, you'll enjoy Rufus' story from the beginning to the end. And the World of Deponia deserves this chance.

90

Great adventure in a lovely world called Deponia

Pradlik | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all Pradlik's reviews »

I never was a big fan of point and click adventures but lately after spending few hours with Deponia or Walking Dead I really changed mind about this genre. Deponia is nicely animated game with brilliant humour and lots of challenging puzzles. Rufus himself is a pain in the ass for the Deponian community but you'll get to love his character and will enjoy his adventure.

86

Old school fun

darkyhbk | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Deponia makes use of an old school adventure formula in an attempt to deliver an entertaining story set in a very interesting universe. The good news is that it succeeds this. The story in this first part is interesting, unpredictable and showcases some interesting characters which are developed throughout the game. The main character is very well integrated into the game, making him both likable and unlikable. The puzzles you need to solve aren't very hard, but require a bit of time and thought nevertheless. The exploration of new locations and funny dialogues with other characters, as well as certain references to pop culture make this game so great. The game's graphics are beautifully drawn, with very artistic and inspired touches, and make the world really believable. The sound is great as well, with very well chosen voice actors and some nice and appropriate music. All in all, this is a very classy and entertaining adventure game, and considering its length , it is really good value for money.

88

Humorous adventure

zipnox | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Deponia is an adventure game set in a quite different setting, the universe of Deponia is pretty unique. The gameplay contains nothing new really, it’s another point & click game but hey, that doesn’t mean that this is a bad game. On the contrary this is a great game, featuring an awesome story about the genius idiot named Rufus and other likeable characters.

The art style is a well made cartoony style that fits with the wonky setting, the sound and voice-acting is good with dialogue to match. The game’s puzzles are neat but sometimes a bit too far-fetched, the overall atmosphere is a bit crazy and that’s great, but when the solutions make no sense at all it can get frustrating.

I had a good time with Deponia, it’s always nice to play a game that manages to put a smile on your face.

90

Astonishing experience!

Headbenger | July 26, 2013 | See all Headbenger's reviews »

The game won me over immediately with it's art style. This point and click game will give you adventure that rarely any game give you. You will fast get suck into it's beautiful story and humor. the game contains fair amount of puzzles, most are not that difficult but you will find some puzzles quite challenging. If you are looking for an amazing adventure, this point and click game can give you one!

82

What an Adventure!

Plasros | July 6, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

When I play this game... i really felt like my days when i played Monkey Island.... For a "point and click" game, it's a good product: Good sence of humor, nice character development, the music it's sticky and well done, and the history It's short but fine.

Something than I didn't like in this game is the ending... ok, it's fine, but it's very abrupt, you never thought than THAT were the final of the game. And some glitches on the movements and the voice, but nothing more...

It's a good game to play, and the puzzles are very funny to release.

92

Charming

JessePinkman | June 24, 2013 | See all JessePinkman's reviews »

Deponia is an old school adventure. Rufus is the main role of this game. He is an anti-hero: selfish, pretentious and lazy. But, also, he is a good guy. Deponia is the first part of the Deponia Trilogy. This game has a lot of good points: amazing graphics, the visual style is like a cartoon series, great voice acting and a funny sense of humour. You will finish the game in about ten hours. Daedalic are making the best adventure games right now. Deponia is the best game from Daedalic, also one of the best adventures of the last years. Highly recommend.

92

Charming

JessePinkman | June 23, 2013 | See all JessePinkman's reviews »

Chaos on Deponia is an old school adventure. Rufus is the main role of this game. He is an anti-hero: selfish, pretentious and lazy. But, also, he is a good guy. Chaos on Deponia is the first part of the trilogy about Deponia. This game has a lot of good points: amazing graphics, the visual style is like a cartoon series, great voice acting and a funny sense of humour. You will finish the game in about ten hours. Daedalic are making the best adventure games right now. Chaos on Deponia is the best game from Daedalic, also one of the best adventures of the last years. Highly recommend!

84

Great game

lok0812 | June 23, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Deponia is a standard point and click adventure with a lot of witty humor. It’s not a very long game but it has an interesting story and it will give you a few laughs. You play as Rufus, who is a self-centered lowlife and his main goal is to get out of the dump Deponia to live in Elysium. Somehow along the way things go wrong of course. The puzzles aren’t too hard to understand and some puzzles even have an option to skip them. I thought the voice acting was pretty good and the game has some clever cartoony visuals. If you like point and click adventures games you definitely should play Deponia.

90

Excellent!

Zharwyn | May 16, 2013 | See all Zharwyn's reviews »

Deponia is a standard point and click adventure with a lot of witty humor. It’s not a very long game but it has an interesting story and it will give you a few laughs. You play as Rufus, who is a self-centered lowlife and his main goal is to get out of the dump Deponia to live in Elysium. Somehow along the way things go wrong of course. The puzzles aren’t too hard to understand and some puzzles even have an option to skip them. I thought the voice acting was pretty good and the game has some clever cartoony visuals. If you like point and click adventures games you definitely should play Deponia.

82

Goood

Bolo | May 14, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Deponia is a nice point&click with beautiful graphics, charming story, funny characters and good puzzles.The animation quality is okay and the humour is decent. Otherwise game is so far good and I am enjoying it.