Reviews for Dark

85

Stealth and action

wolferatus | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all wolferatus's reviews »

i got this game from a friend, first i was not sure if i will play it, a lot of peoples told me its a bad game, but i though i try it at least out and that was good. Stealth and action is a big theme of this game, i started to try it in hard but honestly, its like all new games, hard is not realy hard. if you loved games like thief or old splinter cell games, i think this game will be a good option for you without Stealth you have not much change on this game because you dont have weapons to fight, you have to study the ways and secrets to master the levels. its a game only for peoples who realy enjoy games to play with time and not as fast as you can to finished it.

67

Dark - review

Neapolis47 | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Dark is a game that makes stealth its only purpose, but it does wrong. It does not leave the player to other alternatives, enclosing him without cause in constrictive environments, and giving very few tools to solve situations. Monotony and repetitiveness you are quick off the already after the first of the five / six hours required to complete the adventure. The protagonist has been turned into a vampire, and now, to complete the transformation before turning into a Ghoul must drink the blood of its "creator." The concept is very simple: the progression follows the main traits of a stealth game with some sprinkling of classic RPG. Eric will have to act silently, using a variety of skills, gaining experience by killing enemies. The gameplay, however, is limited and repetitive. The sensation is that of never having total control of the situation, having to entrust to chance or to be forced to take advantage of the bad programming of artificial intelligence. In addition to poverty patterns patrol, in fact, the enemies (always the same throughout the adventure) show total idiocy especially when it's time to eliminate us.

20

Real ick.

crankafoo | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

I'd recommend you don't buy it. It's unpolished, unappealing, and a little sad. It's a fine attempt and I'm always up for more vampire games, because they can do some really great things with the concept of vampires. But this isn't one of them. The controls are wonky and the whole game feels out of place. It's art style doesn't help either, it's far from attractive and doesn't have any flair to it. I wonder how some of these really unrefined games get released and I'm curious to know the budget of this title was. If it's low, it shows and was a good attempt, but I hope that there wasn't much cash spent on this.

64

Great stealth gameplay, weak story.

boyschraverus | July 31, 2013 | See all boyschraverus's reviews »

I am a huge fan of stealth games like thief, dishonored, and much more. So when this came out I immediatly bought it. The gameplay of this game is very nice though it is kinda ripped of from dishonored... but ah well it works great so who cares. Sadly the level design is not as good as many other stealth games. And will make this game a bit dull. Also the story and the voice acting and ragdolls are just not good. In short... This is a game you must try if you like stealth games, but pick it up when its on sale. because the pricetag is way too high!

52

Keep it in the dark

lok0812 | July 30, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

There are many stealth action games out there in the market and most of them are very enjoyable because of its sheer stealth mechanic system that wants the player to remain undetected while performing the goal of the game and Dark is not one of those. Dark is very innovated with new aspects and was very promising until it is played. The storyline is very weak and can be left forgotten easily the enemies AI are absolutely horrible, and the worse of all the game becomes repetitive fast. Controls are very clunky and often made the character animations very out of place. There are many other games out there in the market if you wished to enjoy a good stealth based action game.

72

Not Bad

Trollfaceyomama | July 30, 2013 | See all Trollfaceyomama's reviews »

If you enjoy challenging stealth and figuring out patrol routes in the most efficient killing manner possible, you will love this game. I happen to like a challenge (most of the complaints below are from people who don't, btw) so restarting a checkpoint 15 times before I got it just right was OK. As it happens, if you choose your abilities wisely, you can make it MUCH easier, so those poor peeps who hated on this really missed out on it getting easier with skillful progression. It never crashed, never had poor framerates, and I found it thoroughly enjoyable. If you liked the hard levels of thief and still found that to be a great game, you will probably like this. Also, one more note about checkpoints in general, i HATE them. However, they give you 2 freebie anytime saves that you can use between those checkpoints. Don't be silly about when you use them, and you will get the hang of it. It isn't Dishonored, but that's actually a good thing, IMO. That game was incredibly easy, even on hard. This game, however, when you choose hard it IS hard.

69

a good try

Xibalba | July 27, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Well, it's not a triple A title, and the end product does show that. It's not as well polished nor is the art/voice acting spectacular. But from a small developer, I thought they did quite well. I don't normally play stealth games, and was looking for a casual RPG when I ran across this. I though the story was decent compared to some of the crap that gets toted around in games. The character development could have been done a lot better, I really didn't feel much attachment to any of them. As far as RPG elements are concerned, some basic character building is there, but you wind up unlocking most of the powers by the end anyways, so it's just a timing thing. I would recommend it to others, I felt it had a lot of potential but was either limited by time or too small a budget to really hash it out. A bigger focus on character development and AI would really have made this a great game

75

A good attempt at something unique.

fable2 | July 8, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

I really enjoyed my time with this game, all 5,5 hours of it. The vampire powers are pretty cool and varied, the stealth system works okay and since i love stealth games i'm pretty biased towards liking it. Although i didn't know a lot about this game but i noticed right away it was a low budget game not because of the graphics but because of the good-10-years-ago lip synch. Also the animations are pretty floaty but passable, story is kinda meh and forgettable but to my taste the gameplay is solid and fun, at least if you go for the kill everybody undetected route, but the ending seems forced and early, the final bossfight is bad and i didn't get hit once on hard and the final choice you have to make is also forced and feels like the story will continue after it until you see the end credits and realize that you expected the game to be at least 3 hours longer. All in all, the game is fun while it lasts as long as you treat it like a low budget game and don't expect it to be as polished as a AAA title.

70

Good stealth game

simodeso | July 5, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

As the title says this game can be played in stealth mode using your power as a vampire that can be improved once you level up. You can make choices in the dialog and when you want to approach enemies. The graphic it's not very high but if you like games with this type of graphic it won't be a problem unless you will watch the ragdoll of bodies.. (it's awful). It's an indie game but it can competes with AAA games, because today we don't have too much stealth games. As a gamer said in the trailer, Suck it, Twilight! and try these game, it deserve at least one try :)