Reviews for Call of Juarez®: Gunslinger

90

Arcadey Action at its finest

vipc | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all vipc's reviews »

What Call of Juarez Gunslinger inspires in me is the competitiveness of the old school arcade shooters. Gunslinger offers three modes; story mode and arcade mode and duel mode. Duel mode is mostly forgettable with a minigame style showdown.

It is the arcade mode and story mode that is the standout of the game. For me, Arcade mode alone makes this game worth it. The game is semi-fast paced point-based first person shooter. In arcade mode, shooting enemies yields points. Shooting enemies in the head, yields more points. Shooting enemies in succession yields multipliers, which yields even more points. Points galore! Yes, the arcade mode is about getting the highest score possible and this really makes the game competitive especially for those perfectionists and competitive gamers.

The story mode is an added benefit. The story itself is surprisingly good, offering a unique storytelling style. Without spoiling it, it will definitely keep you entertained and even a few chuckles along the way.

If I had a minor complaint, it would be that the arcade mode stages are all based on the stages from the Story mode. It would've been nice to have a larger variety of stages not already seen from the story mode. But this is a minor complaint, and doesn't detract from the fact that this game is such a solid shooter.

The game's gimmick is also a bullet time style power that slows everyone down. Nothing innovative in this aspect, but the gunplay makes this game highly satisfying to play. For the low price point, you will certainly get your money's worth for it.

82

A very pleasant suprise

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

I was slightly worried after watching a quick video of some gameplay, and knowing that it wasn't based on the characters I liked from the first two games, but I picked it up at the same time as Bound in Blood regardless, and I'm very happy I did!

First off the graphics/art style is fantastic in my opinion, almost looking cell shaded at times it has nice vibrant colours with a decent number of locations (considering it's a western and so is somewhat limited), the voice acting throughout is pretty decent, with the main narrator being the 'star' of the show through one of the game's 'funnest' mechanics.

The narrator is Sylus Greaves, a renowned bounty hunter retelling his various exploits to a group in a bar, and as he's telling the stories from memory, every now and again he would forget something, or double back on himself, and so the level changes as he does so, with cowboys being replaced with Indians, and sudden exits appearing from what looked like a dead end. It's a fun mechanic allowing the writers to play around with scenarios in ways they might not be able to in a western whilst trying to keep it relatively realistic, and doesn't feel cheap.

If you liked the previous games I'd highly recommend this one, the duel system has had a bit of an update, making them slightly more challenging (I personally struggle with them now), and the updated weapon/skill system expands on the previous iterations meaning this is well worth your time and money :)

88

Incredible game, especially for that price!

Fooughhy | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Fooughhy's reviews »

One of the best narrations of a game I have experienced, and the way the gameplay changes according to that narration is something I have never seen before.

The gunplay feels very satisfying here too, which is quite important in a game like this. I would have wanted the talent-tree to either be more meaningful and more diverse or just get rid of it all together. And I do believe it might be a bit too linear but since it's so cheap and they use the "narration changes the scenery" stuff, they kind of make you not think about it being too linear, which is quite cool.

The graphics is absolutely stunning if you account for the price (it might not be bf3/4 quality) and overall a really great game.

85

Relive the hunt for the greatest villains of the West

XGpredator | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Having decided to fall back on the safe values ​​of gender, Techland finally thought his title as a successful chain of gunfights. Small exploration mode, no NPCs, a relatively minor and rather predictable story, no multiplayer ... but totally worth price, the key word here is "economy". However, the price / quality ratio is undeniable and the whole is very enjoyable to play. One leaves satisfied and particularly amazed by the unique narrative element, like the universe of Far West, which is unfortunately not usually used in the gaming environments. Well done Techland! Grab it now.

85

A great addition

gforcesa | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I wasn't expecting much after that awful game, The Cartel but after i saw this game it got my hopes up and it was great.It's not very long but is still a very good game and it's cheap.I really enjoyed listening to the narrator (the main character you play as) to talk about the things you do.It also has a lot of humor which was great.There was a level where the narrator explains something and you go along with it and a few seconds later he gets corrected and some bits of the level change.The gameplay and the gun shooting mechanics are really responsive if you play with a controller.If you've played the first Call of Juarez games you should definitely pick up this one at this price.

90

Cheap but awesome fun!

Billus_08 | Dec. 17, 2013 | See all Billus_08's reviews »

Stanley Parable combined with Wild West action. Yes please! Meet Call of Juarez: Gunslinger, a narated FPS that is hellbent on giving you perhaps the most story driven FPS in history. From the start, you are plumeted right into the thick of the story with the main character retelling his version of certain legends at a pub. I won't say anymore about the story as the game is only 6 hours long, so it's difficult to explain without leading to any possible spoilers.

Gameplay is fast paced and very well ballanced. Enemies are varied enough to keep you entertained for the 6 hour journey. Duels are tense, can be challenging but tend to be satisfying. Just make sure you aren't too trigger happy. The environments are varried which is quite pleasing and helps progress the story.

I find it fairly difficult to point out any flaws in this game. The play time may seem short to some but I see it as a game you will want to finish in a single session. For its price it sure is a difficult game to flaw.

Overall, this game certainly amazed me as I wasn't expecting much (particuarly a budget game from Ubisoft) so I was pleasantly surprised the moment I started playing. The story itself is definately the strong point of the game. That being said, the shooting mechanics is also very enjoyable and I will say that this is a game that should not be missed. I give it a 9/10.

71

if you want to pass a good time without complications...

pinillad | Dec. 10, 2013 | See all pinillad's reviews »

"Call of Juarez: Gunslinger" returns to the wild west after the disastrous previous videogame. If you liked "Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood", you're in luck ..

The first impression that your have is very good and exciting: There is a good staging, the graphics are quite good (though not outstanding) and above all a very good story that gets you immersed in the weft quickly. The management of the main character is very good. In the negative side: extremely linear and straightforward. You won´t find a "Crysis". There is only a way to face the situations, it is a little bit "easy game" and besides it is too short. (± 6.5h)

So if you want to pass a good time, shooting to outlaws without any other complications, this is your game. If your looking for a RPG of a "Crysis"... don´t buy it.

85

Great game at a fantastic value.

Discostink | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Discostink's reviews »

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger doesn't feel like a 15€ game. The amount of polish and enjoyment you get out of this game is much more than you'd get from quite a few 60€ games that have come out this year, and if you're a fan of westerns, this game is absolutely must-have.

Gunslinger has much more in common with the original Call of Juarez and Bound in Blood than it does with the offspin Call of Juarez: The Cartel, going back to the Wild West, and taking place over a 30-year timespan, covering the most vivid and interesting time in the cowboy era. The narrative structure is quite unique in that the game takes place as told in stories by the main character, Silas Greaves, recounting his history and all of the things he has done. The interesting part comes whenever his stories are called out on inaccuracies or unrealism, after which he'll redact statements or amend them, which actually shape the story in real-time, such as mentioning that he noticed a way to escape in a gunfight, whereafter the new passage will literally open up as if through divine intervention. It's quite charming, in a way.

The gameplay itself feels great, as well. The shooting is snappy and feels very accurate, you're very rarely going to feel like you're missing shots out of random chance, and if you're a good shot, you'll be rewarded with a great increase in experience. The leveling mechanics in Gunslinger consist of having three different skill trees tailored to different playstyles, whether you're an up-close shotgunner, a long-range rifleman, or you just wanna run in and empty two revolvers into a room as fast as possible. There's not a huge variety in weapons, but the weapons that are available are just fine. At times you will also be roped into duels against other gunslingers, which are unlike the regular gameplay, as you have to stare down your opponent, keep your hand as close to your gun as possible, and trust your reflexes to carry you through.

Once you've completed the main game, there is also an arcade mode to play. This mode does away with all story and focuses solely on your ability to shoot fast, shoot precisely and keep your combo going for as long as possible. In order to earn all stars possible you need to be damn good, so if the main game left you wanting a challenge, the arcade mode is there for you.

All in all it's a fantastic game for the money, especially if you're a fan of westerns.

75

Great narrative and good fun

Thousandforms | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all Thousandforms's reviews »

I've only played 2 hours so far but really enjoying it. The gameplay is intertwined with the storytelling, which 90% of the time is great, occasionally you just want to go all-out, but that's what arcade mode's for really. it looks great and the gun upgrades are pretty cool. I got it for about £6 and its definitely worth that, As its almost a play-through movie-esk idea I could see it being equally interesting t to play through again a few months down the line!

90

Great Arcade Shooter

Vlady | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all Vlady's reviews »

Excellent game for a fair price. Though extremely linear and straightforward the game offers great gun-play and and satisfying campaign with top notch voice acting that captures the spirit of the wild west. On top of that you get addictive high paced arcade mode where you need to chain combo kills and rush through levels. There isn't much of variety when it comes to weapons and enemies but guns still feel great and combat is sharp and fluent. It's short but has a decent replay value, unlockable skills and guns, and different difficulty levels . I finished the game 3 times and without getting bored.

85

Just great

Thoosa | Nov. 17, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

I love old the good old Wild West, and I really enjoyed Gun. But I did not expect CoJ: Gunslinger to be this good. The story and the twists on it are interesting, meeting the famous outlaws is refreshing and the gameplay is a fast paced shoot them up. I really dig the visuals, they are great, and the game is really cheap for what it actually offers. So, if you like such games as this one, you should totally grab it.

85

Shooting distilled down to its core

ChrisRARC | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all ChrisRARC's reviews »

Call of Juarez returns to the Wild West after its disastrous previous outing. The mechanics are simple yet fun to learn. You have to manage your ammo count, slo-mo reflexes and the bullet dodge mechanic.

The narrator does a great job of telling you what's going on in his mind and it is a novel way of telling the story as it happens, with flashbacks and corrections taking place with no interruptions.

Duels are a nice gimmick, since they are simple and don't take very long, yet ramp up the tension towards the end of the level with a nice mexican standoff. I highly recommend it if you like arcade shooters like Bulletstorm.

84

Great almost railshooter!

Veniu | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all Veniu's reviews »

Ol' good wild west, guns, banditos and black powder. Rail shooters can be enjoyed once again?

Yes, this game, after a fail of CoJ: The Cartel, is one of best Western theme games ever played. While our Hero narrates us through his adventures, we kill alot of bandits for score, that turns into experiece points so you can upgrade your skill tree.

Yes, there's a skill tree. There's Pistolero (revolver) Sharpshooter (rifles) and Trapper (dynamite + shotguns). Each one of these skill trees provides different experience in the game. Have I mentioned its a rail shooter? Yes it kind of is, because sometimes there are several ways, for example: you can ambush the bandits from behind, rush straight through the front or take 'em out from the water tower. Still there's going to be only one end leading you to the end of the story.

Duels. As a western game, also this one has duels. Dueling can be hard or easy, and is very nice. First, you need to focus your aim (by placing the reticle on our opponent) and to achieve better draw speed (by moving your hand). There's also something called Honorable duels. Means, when you hear your heartbeat, you can draw your revolver and shoot the opponent, but it will be consiedered as not honorable (less points=less EXP).

There are also lots of "secrets" to find. As much as they're not a secret, and they're easy to spot, they give you alot of XP (about 1k-2k exp each) and there can be even 4 on 1 map!

Map and area designs are beautiful and never repetitive. Not going to spoil the locations, you should do it yourself!

Graphics have a nice a little bit comic feeling and the views are really beautiful. I found no flaws myself, even the ivory guns are very nciely detailed, plus this game has a great optimization!

Audio. Now that's something really beautiful about this game. The voices of characters, guns, horses bah, everything is professional and pretty well themed to Western. Lots of pepole sound like they'd drink whiskey and eat nails after it. Great voice acting.

Not much else left to say about this game, as an almost rail shooter this game is really great, bringing you alot, ALOT of fun and its totally different than the other games. We have everything here, slow motion, super-speed shooting while in slow-mo. All you need! Though I feel bad, that it isn't actual RPG game. It could turn out to something much more bigger, and even be a rival of Red Dead Redemption! Well, there's still hope. FInal verdict: You like western games? Then why you don't have Gunslinger already?!

87

Great Game but...

OdinPhenix | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all OdinPhenix's reviews »

It's a bit short. The look of it changed to cell shading but the base game is still the same. shoot and dont get shot. One thing i really liked about the previous games (i never played the Cartel and do not count it to the CoJ saga cause it isnt in the western scenario which settetd the first 2 games apart from other shooters like CoD), the bow is missing in this one. besides that its a great game for a kinda small price.

77

Not bad wild west

segrand | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all segrand's reviews »

Maybe the game is not too long, it can and has an unusual graphics, maybe this is the wild west ... However, many of these things is the advantage? Speed ​​and unusual approach to the subject gives the game some good reviews. The biggest drawback is the length of the game. With the current rapid game, it can be completed quickly enough. Is it worth it? Of course! Wild West is not so popular in the PC, so that more might be interested in this topic, thanks to this game!

96

Gunslinger brings Call of Juarez back to it's roots

spycid | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

After a disappointing spin-off, Call of Juarez Gunslinger brings us back to the old glories of Wild West.

You will love this game if you loved Bound in Blood or the original Call of Juarez. The game has amazing storyline which is a must in a western spaghetti setting. Graphics adds a cherry on top and gameplay is the backbone of the game. You can't complain about anything in the game.

Basically if you are missing playing Red Dead Redemption or waiting for Quentin Tarantino to make a game, this is the closest you will get for now.

It's an amazing and perhaps the cheapest deal out there since it's release. Now is as good as any time for you to buy it. If you already have this game then get it for your friend.

85

Good old wild west!

ccroatian | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all ccroatian's reviews »

Who likes the atmosphere of this age or part of the history, won't be isappointed. Visually it's a nice game. I could compare the style with Borderlands. The story is funny and entertaining, not so sserios as it is in a film usually. The gameplay is fun. There is a deep leveling system and I think there is nothing wrong with this game. Enjoy it. There is no easy mode, so I recommend it to those who love to shoot.

85

Call of Juarez the way it was supposed to be!

YetiWasHere | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all YetiWasHere's reviews »

After dissapointing The Cartel, CoJ gets back to its roots and does it with a bang- gameplay in Gunslinger is fast and exciting. The presentation, narrated by the main character is great and the inclusion of some of the most (in)famous figures of Wild West [and not only W.West- there is one... oh, nevermind, I won't spoil it for you;)] only spices things up. The soundtrack is good (I love the menu theme). The Chrome Engine looks great as usual, this time with cel-shading applied.

It's really a big shame that Techland devotes most of its attention to the mediocre zombie games and some uninteresting fantasy dungeon slasher, while their greatest franchise and without a doubt the best western series in video games industry gets neglected and becomes download-only title.

90

Great fun, great action.

mattpringle | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all mattpringle's reviews »

This is very a fun little title for the price. Great gunplay and the stylised visuals are superb. What really makes this game shine is the narrator and the way he tells the story, sometimes even backtracking on what he's said before and the game changes to show this.

Overall, a superb a title albeit short. But well worth the price and a couple of different game modes add some extra playability.

80

Enjoy pure action of gunfights in the old west!

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Pradlik's reviews »

Gunslinger is for me the biggest surprise of 2013, not just because I'm a fan of Wild West and blood splashing Tarantino-style, but also because the game offers lots of fun for a very reasonable price. The story isn't bad at all, you will become the biggest badass in the old west - Silas Greaves and the gameplay and scenery will change according to his story-telling, which is a nice feature. I also like the comics style of the game, especially as introduction to new characters and outlaws, who look really awesome here, because of their costumes, and sharp faces. However the main plus of this game is the action, shooting lot of guys, blood splashing, the sound of bullets flying next to your ears or dodging them in bullet-time. All this for getting skill points, levelling up and unlocking new abilities. Let's hope Call of Juarez series will abandon the gameplay of their previous titles and continue in the path of Gunslinger.

90

Old good wild wild west

Gojko | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Game is starting at the end of golden age of cowboys and wild west, in one old tavern on gambling table.

The player will get into some boots of Silas Greaves, a bounty hunter that are telling the stories about the adventures of his exciting past. Each story is actually a sequence of play for players, so that the action will be constantly laced with quality narration of the main character alter ego.

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a textbook example of a true FPS, and that is not because of a good story, the quality of visual effects,but because the act of discharge of a firearm is an incredibly fun experience that we have not seen for a long time.

You will experience trough story to meet with people like Billy the Kid, Butch Cassidy, Sundance Kid. And definitely after this game you will have desire to watch some of a western movie.

Good graphic, good story, good game play, all of this is Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.

75

Can't take this too seriously

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

At first I saw this game and expected it to be a lot more like Red Dead Redemption, with a serious story and such, but when I played it I found it to be completely different from what I expected.

Although I was, at first, slightly apprehensive about this game- after a few hours of playtime I really got into it and realised it wasn't all that bad, and I started to really get into it.

However, I did find certain elements to be somewhat similar to RDR, such as concentration (where the game slows down and allows you more time to take down enemies) this was quite similar to 'dead eye'.

All in all though, I'd say this game is worth the price.

93

the biggest surprise of the year

Grobel | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Grobel's reviews »

Great game where we have the opportunity to know the true story of the most famous characters of the Wild West. Brilliant story full of twists, duels for revolvers and comic climate. I think it's the best game about the wild west. Her only flaw is its length - is far too short

85

I waited so long to get back to the West!!

Hunork | July 26, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

Silas Greaves is probably full of shit, but that’s OK. He’s a bounty hunter with a million stories to tell, and happy to share them for a whisky or five. Like the times he rode with Billy the Kid, or when he won the praise of Injun magic men, or that shootout he had with Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (simultaneously). In short, tales of hanging out with just about every celebrity in the Wild West… and convenient excuses for why nobody can quite remember seeing him there.

This isn’t just a framing device for Gunslinger’s nine missions, but a big part of what helps this downloadable budget title wash away the foul taste of Call of Juarez: The Cartel. As expected, it’s a linear shooter set in a romanticised version of the Wild West (which the game itself at one point admits is complete balls). It’s also a shooter Greaves and his audience comment on throughout, the narration routinely changing the world to fit the story on the fly. At one point, for instance, you fight through a mine full of dynamite that only an idiot would go into with guns blazing. “That’s why I didn’t,” rasps Greaves, rewinding the story to tell it ‘properly’.

This doesn’t disguise the linearity, but it does make the straight path much more interesting. My only big complaint about the execution – aside from the fact that the dialogue was recorded as individual lines, and so usually fails to mesh into a smooth narrative – is that Techland didn’t use this gimmick on a full-budget game with scope for even bigger, more varied setpieces.

80

A nice step away from "Bound in blood"

RicBac | July 3, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

I had only played "bound in blood" and hadn't check this one out before II bought it. To my surprise, it was a nice upgrade from the previous game. New fresh graphic style and skill trees to fill with xp-points.

Graphic styles and skill tree is for me very similar to Borderlands 2. Which is a good thing. The gameplay is simple action and no roleplay, a good thing to if that's what you want.

The wild west genre isn't packed with good titles but this is one of the better ones.

78

Fast and furious West

MarcoCav | June 17, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a perfect example of arcade shooter, fast and furious, but his being "disengaged" highlights some critical issues in terms of gameplay, which fortunately are not too onerous in general. Where Techland wins is in the peculiar way of telling the story and in the artistic choices that creates a beautiful cel-shading West.

89

Once upon Time in Juarez

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | See all Gwildor's reviews »

Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative, no multiplayer(becose this way the game it´s longer), and it is more than amazing, one of the best games i had ever played in a long time. Don´t wait more and make your self with a copy.

86

Really enjoyable

bernieh | June 4, 2013 | See all bernieh's reviews »

A great FPS with fantastic mechanics. Had some early worries about the rather narrow FOV, but the developer has since patched to allow it to be changed. The levelling system was interesting and most choices were more than just +1% Damage

87

Great Title, Check it out!

Plasros | June 3, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Fantastic shooting, decent voice acting (better than BiB), and great environmental and sound design. It's got a silly and fun story with Baston-style narration. I like the focus on getting high scores and combos. Texture quality and weapon variety were lacking, but for a straight shooter at this price, it's unexpectedly polished and thoroughly enjoyable. The best wild west shooter I've ever played, and out of all the Techland games I've experienced, I feel it's their best effort by far.

Also, you know what? I'm GLAD they didn't shoehorn in a multiplayer mode which would've taken away development time that instead went into improving the core of the game. Besides, I felt that the arcade and dueling modes suited this game much better. It's a 4 to 6-hour long, $15 singleplayer-focused experience.

It's not the greatest port, but I didn't get any issues whatsoever, and it ran at about 35 to 40 fps on my Core 2 Duo Radeon HD 6570 combo (not even an entry-level gaming machine). Didn't run into a single bug either. I was happy they added in the option to change the FOV via config files, but it should've been there since day one. At least the default was 82 horizontal which I thought was reasonable, though 90 would've been ideal. Also, while this does support resolutions for all aspect ratios, the game will always display in a 16:9 letterbox with horizontal black bars if you're running at a non-16:9 resolution.

80

Great game for a good price.

SeverinMK | June 2, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

This game has nice graphics, good gameplay and interesting story with a very good way to tell it and on top of that a very low price. What more could you ask for?

91

GREAT PRICE FOR A GREAT GAME

klemen1702 | June 1, 2013 | See all klemen1702's reviews »

i love this game because it brings the FUN back to shooters, just like bulletstorm did a year ago but this also has an great story and is fun all around. If you like shooters and are getting bored of what they keep throwing out every year this will be a fresh game that you will just love. BUY IT NOW!

87

Awesome western FPS, kinda Outlaws style.

andrewbeechwood | May 31, 2013 | See all andrewbeechwood's reviews »

Oh Yeah, i missed that style of shooters. Pure arcade fun. Sounds and graphics are good. Gameplay is solid. I bought it because I'm fan of the series and it's worth it. It have the "Outlaws (game by LucasArts, I recommend also) thing" so I love it. Buy it right now! Sad thing, it haven't Multiplayer option. :(

97

Excellent game!

wooglah | May 31, 2013 | See all wooglah's reviews »

Worth every penny! Great atmosphere is build by using not only cell-shaded graphics and great combat mechanics, but also with innovative narration style which is really involving and fun. After you finish campaign/story, there are 15 arcade missions which are, in a way, even more fun, once you unlock all the skills so you can make combo chains. I would recommend this game to EVERYONE!

Negative: No user profiles, you have to overwrite the save when starting a new game. That's more common in new games than I would like.

90

Great Download Title

Screenfunfan | May 31, 2013 | See all Screenfunfan's reviews »

After the Series took a completly Wrong turn with the Cartel, Gunslinger is a nice step back to the Wild West times. The Story of Bounty-Hunter Silas Greves is nicely written and often Funny. the Duels are fun, the Arcadedy Gameplay is good, and last but not least the Prices makes Gunslinger to a must buy for Western and Shooter-fans.

90

Great Game

Compax | May 31, 2013 | See all Compax's reviews »

Gunslinger looks amazing and has some great story telling. Gameplay is realy nice und makes so much fun.

Its much better then the last CoJ Cartel. This game is absolutely worth every cent!

90

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger

FreakDeity | May 30, 2013 | See all FreakDeity's reviews »

"The second one was really good!" is the common refrain whenever the Call of Juarez series is mentioned, and it's a fair defense (if a self-evidently flawed one considering there have been three games in the series). Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood is good, refining the action of the flawed first game while spinning a complex, well-told yarn of brothers Ray, William and Thomas McCall.

The third game, Call of Juarez: The Cartel, was, and apologies for using highly technical game critic terminology here, but it was sucky.

Now we have Call of Juarez: Gunslinger, an arcadey approach that piles on points for successive, skillful kills and abandons the McCall family for a nickel tour of the most famous Old West legends as seen through the eyes of bounty hunter Silas Greaves.

And get this: It's fantastic.

92

Brilliant

andreas_himself | May 27, 2013 | See all andreas_himself's reviews »

This game is simply amazing, from a low price to a quality adventure! Graphics is lovely and suit the game perfect. It is pretty short,but then there are games that cost 3 times more but no fun and just as short.

Story is really good, really enjoyed the way it developed and they way it was told! As i said it short but it has replay values and im already on my second replay! Simply great, you cant go wrong with the price either. In fact i wouldnt be annoyed even if i payed £20 pounds. Highly recommended!

85

Low budget, high quality!

Novofreeze | May 26, 2013 | See all Novofreeze's reviews »

This game is absolutely worth every penny. it's full of high action and really great visuals. the campaign will last you a good day (without getting EVERYTHING done), and leaves a really leaves you feeling great.

93

Fantastic game

drmcmarco | May 26, 2013 | See all drmcmarco's reviews »

This game doesn't take itself very seriously but nonetheless it has some great story telling. The graphic is good, the gameplay is nice and satisfying, it never gets old.

All in all it's a good western shooter and for 15€ it's totally worth it.

90

Fast paced, stylish, fun western shooter

bradysam | May 26, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

This is a highly stylized arcade style shooter. The art design is similar to borderlands with it's slight cell shaded graphic novel look which suits it perfectly as the maps are bright and very eye catching. The shooting feels tight and works perfectly. You also get a "concentration" mode where you can slow down the game to make precision shots for higher points/experience. You also get the choice of 3 game modes: story, duels or arcade. The story is dripping with style and is a fun journey through the wild west. Duels are intense and once you get used to the control scheme are again very fun, it never feels unfair when you lose a duel only that you have to be faster. Arcade mode is somehow even faster paced than the story with 10 levels that only last a few minutes each where you have to try and get the highest score possible. I usually don't have much interest in chasing high scores, but it's very rewarding in this mode and is something I can see myself playing through many times. Overall it's a very well put together game, the graphics, gameplay and sound are all excellent. It being set in the wild west as well only adds to the experience. For only £12 as well it's very good value, you should definitely pick it up if you have any interest in shooters, the wild west or chasing high scores!

90

gunslinger

dutchmause | May 25, 2013 | See all dutchmause's reviews »

before you buy the game first buy bound in blood to realy get in to the westerns ;)

this is a great game in everey view yes off course it is not long BUT it has a lot of replay value so you can play it again and again until you find every secret and then you still have the arcade mode and the duel mode to play with.

it's realy cheap for a game thats this quality and has great characters like billy the kid and jesse james or wyat earp.

buy it and you will not be dissapointed

95

One of the best wild west games ever!

Shav | May 24, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

If you are looking for a fun, easy to get into game, then look no more, and pick Call of Juarez: Gunslinger.

This is a pretty straightforward shooter, but it is ridiculously fun to play. The game also features wonderful cel-shaded graphics, great soundtrack and pretty nice voice acting.

From what I've seen, it can last for hours, as you have an access to quite a lenghty campaign (as for an arcade game), an arcade mode, and a duel mode, which is pretty challenging!

To be honest, this is one of the best games with action set in Wild West that I've ever played. Of course, it is not a sandbox as Red Dead Redemption, but nevertheless it is a really great game.

95

Amazing

Aatef | May 24, 2013 | See all Aatef's reviews »

Its awesome game have that thing that keeps you playing it classic shooter with a lot of fun i recommend it to any FPS player

95

That's how ya roll, if you want to make low budget shooter!

Pilgrim6 | May 23, 2013 | See all Pilgrim6's reviews »

I am very fond of Western. Sadly, thing is, that in this genre there isn't really big selection one can pick from. So previous Call of Juarez games were known to me (well let's not mention Cartel here - it's a rightfully the black sheep of CoJ family - it should be disowned). Apparently the fail of Cartel also meant lower budget for next Call of Juarez. But worry not, it's not a bad thing. I also really dig celshade. Prince of Persia (that 2008 version, the one with Elika!) and Borderlands are my favorite games. Mentioning Borderlands brings me back to Gunslinger. Because they have so much in common. And that's very veeery good. First thing is above mentioned celshade. Let me tell you that celshade Western looks terrific! It really gives you THE VIBE! The Western vibe. Second thing they have in common is the shooter mechanics, it's hectic, it's fast and it's FUN! You only have quite a few weapons yet I never did get bored with them. But wait the list of commons doesn't end here. Another thing they have in common is sort of RPG element which means same as in Borderlands you assign here level points in a perk tree, divided intro a tree branches (colt, rifle, shotgun). One thing they also have in common is humor. Its not as crazy as the one in Borderlands but it definitely lightens the game (seriously, who isn't bored of those games that take themselves so serious...). There are a Western few innuendos. Many funny moments but the story still feels entertaining. Bar story from an old Bounty Hunter, recapitulating his life. Soundtrack is a hit in the spot too, supporting the Western atmosphere and some tunes really caught my ear. So far pure ode. But there are a few things you should know before buying this game (and you really should by the way). First, it's short. I beat the storyline in 6 hours. True, there are two additional modes. Arcade (aka, rush through the map killing as many enemies in as low time as you can) and Duel (trying to duel your way through 15 enemies with 5 lives). In both you are trying to get the best score you can and compete with other people in leaderboards. That's the only MP element Gunslinger has. There is also a replayability potential with the RPG trees and really damn fine shooter mechanics. However still, it's not a long game experience. Truth is, the game costs 15 bucks which is 1/4 of today's triple A game which in no way gives you 24 hours of gameplay (very few do) so it's not a bad deal. Second thing is, in current state the game has a few glitches per say. I experienced two, one of them is problem with 7.1 sound system and the other one is a micro stuttering with keyboard and mouse. However the first one will be probably quickly resolved and the other one is rather minor (first hour I didn't even notice it). In the end, Gunslinger is definitely worth it's price for an average gamer and a must have for every Western fan! "My father used to say: God made man but Samuel Colt made them equal" ~ Silas Greaves

92

Excellent arcade shooter

britishlad | May 22, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

I am a big fan of the call of juarez series however the last game which ditched the western setting for a modern one was terrible however this one was goes back to the western roots and it's fantastic! The previous games had the ability to explore areas, do the odd sidequest etc however Gunslinger ditches these infavour of arcading shooting which basically shooting hundreds of enemys in each level (and nothing else) and it is great fun! The combat gameplay is satisfying and doesn't get old. However the boss fights are rubbish and tedious

Production values (graphics, sound, music etc) are all excellent, the story is good and surprisely funny! The game also has an arcade mode and a duel mode which is worth trying

The campaign is about 3-5 hours long and may not be worth buying at full price however this game is only £8.99 and is worth every penny!