Reviews for Rome: Total War Gold Edition

79

Hard at first. But Rewarding later on.

fable2 | Sept. 30, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

This depicts the Roman era very good, almost too good. Though some stuff in the game could be changed, it's really quite good. The battles are the highlight of the game I must say. The campaign map is real cool and there's a lot of stuff to do with each faction. I always have to use the cheat that gets you more money because its impossible to not to go bankrupt for some reason. But other than that it's cool! There are a lot of factions to control, like the Franks, the Saxons, the Roman Empire (east and west), the Vandals, the Goths, and many more! I really didn't play this game as much as others. I had fun though. The game is pretty hard for beginners and it was hard for me. I got over it! The graphics are pretty good and so is the landscape and building design. If you ever want to have a really dramatic battle with troops deserting; mass murder; giant elephants; trebuchets that are annihilating enemy formations and causing panic. Then you should play this game! One of the best RTS games I've played.

94

The origin of a great strategy-game series

sanyi777 | Sept. 29, 2012 | See all sanyi777's reviews »

Rome Total War is an epic game, you must buy it! The gameplay, the nations, the fantastic real-time battles and the diplomacy makes Rome recommendable after 8 years. The graphics are a little bit old, but not so ugly. The Gold Edition includes the two expansions: Barbarian Invasion and Alexander. If you haven't played it yet, it's time to get it.

92

Old... but as golden as gold can get.

Tholdor | Sept. 21, 2012 | See all Tholdor's reviews »

Rome: Total War is already 6 years old as of 2012, as the graphics show. It is, however, one of the finest games of the Total War series, and perhaps of the world, on par with Napoleon in my opinion.

It is, basically, THE Total War game. Before it, in Shogun I and Medieval I, the engine was far more limited and the game played like Risk with a small focus on the battles. After Rome, the battles started playing a bigger part, and the feeling of awe as your 1500 legionnaires clash with equal or bigger number of celts is simply amazing. The free movement in the campaign map was also a good change for the time.

The vanilla game starts right at the beginning of the Republic and you're given command of one of 3 roman families, the Julii, the Brutii and the Scipii. Each family is pretty much identical to the another, aside from minor things, like slightly different starting location on Italy, the faction color and one gladiator unit per faction. It plays fairly straightforward, as you do tasks for the Senate and fight barbarians to recreate the big Empire we know and love (or hate, for some people).

The Barbarian Invasion adds quite a bit, playing on the decline of the divided Empire, the Eastern and the Western. You can play as the Barbarians, trying to find a place on the sun, clashing with the Romans, or be the Romans themselves. Out of personal experience, the Western Empire is far harder to play than the Eastern, far richer and safer from the northern barbarians. There's also a Horde system, where a defeated barbarian nation will spawn huge armies to represent its migrating people, where they can conquer a city and continue their civilization.

There's one DLC as well, though it's not included here. Alexander: Total War is far more dynamic (as with the Macedonian himself) focusing a lot more on combat than empire management.

Overall, it's an amazing game, which passed the test of time, only made better with the expansion. The Alexander DLC is not mandatory, serving more of a bonus, so you'll not miss it.

85

Changed My Perspective

ROKET | July 8, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I started off playing traditional RTS games that involved resource gathering building units in real time only worrying about the economy on the current map. I loved those games and still do but was through off in a good way by the completely different style involved with Rome Total War.

This was my first TW game and I cannot tell you how much I loved it. There was nothing like turtling you Roman infantry as you approve a castle wall and blasting it away with catapults. Other TW have yet to be as exciting with regards to melee combat. It was a thrill to play.

My only problem with this game was its learning curve. I sucked at it. lol. I sucked hard. I loved it but I couldnt get a grasp of how to succeed.

Anyway, I recommend this game to anyone wanting to wage war in the Roman era. Rome II is on its way too.

95

Still my favourite from Total War series!

Finka_Karfein | June 10, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

This is the first title which introduced Total War games into full 3D. And it turned out to be awesome. Graphics are breathtaking, music most epic and fitting, the gameplay... The mixture of turn-based campaign map and real-time battles is the best option made. The opportunities and replay value is vast in Rome, especially with the expansion pack. Numerous factions with numerous units and various other types of units like siege machines are given to you to prove your strategical skills. Diplomacy, development, riots, everything depends on your choices. Why not 100 out of 100 then? I cannot see the Alexander expansion here. Still, for "dat" price this is a must-have for all strategy fans.

90

Amazing combination of RTT and TBS.

Xonus | Aug. 21, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

This game was amazing for its time, featuring turn based world map gameplay, along with real time tactics during combat parts, including sieges, land battles on various terrain, and defending sieges.

The game itself isn't exactly historically accurate (Rome was never split into three factions to the extent that it is in the game), but with the addition of mods (several great ones are Roma Surrectum 1 and 2, and a LOTR mod) it's simply amazing, considering there are plenty of historically accurate ones as well as fictional ones.

With all that said, I still don't consider it my favorite Total War game, which would be MTW2.

95

Rome: Total War - a Grand Game!

mevidek | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

Rome: Total War is undeniably one of the most influential games in not only the strategy genre, but in the entire gaming world. Set around the foundation of the Roman Republic, and ending just after the year 0AD, this game is massive. Arguably the most popular game at the time it was made, it is honestly a joy to replay now. Although not as large as many other Total War games now, Rome: Total War defined the series, and paved the way for future success. With visuals that seemed amazing at the time, Rome: Total War impresses, around 10 years on in the future. My Verdict? GET THIS GAME NOW!!!

80

THE game

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Rome:total war is one of the best! It's pretty much the flagship of the Total War series. It is still being played online which is one of the best things about total war! Visuals are below average with today's standard but gameplay is till amazing. A Calvary charge does what it is meant to do, crush units! This did not happen in medieval2 and as it went easy on players. Rome:total war still requires a lot of logic to win! Get this for good old classic fun!

92

Rome: Total War

UrbanDay | April 17, 2011 | See all UrbanDay's reviews »

Rome: Total War battle's are full of strategy and game winning movements. Rome's siege battles and land battles make for some of the best gameplay in the strategy genre. With thousand or hundreds on the battlefield at any given moment which gives the game the depth it needs. As in many games in the strategy genre you just need massive amounts of units/troops and charge head long into battle to win. In Rome: Total War numbers don't always win battles as using small numbers units and directing them wisely could prove to be to be the battle deciding factor.

I hope this helps.

95

Good game!

diwaxx | April 9, 2011 | See all diwaxx's reviews »

My son, age 10, loves to play medieval battle simulation games. He enjoys all of the Stronghold series, Settlers series, Age of Empires and so forth. So when he came home from school one day commenting about Rome: Total War and how he could command thousands of troops - very different from the other games that only allow hundreds :) - I told him that he had to wait for his birthday or do chores around the house to earn the money to buy it.

88

Game for strategist and not only!

magente | April 9, 2011 | See all magente's reviews »

Rome: Total War have includes epic battles, battlefields, strongholds and many units of Rome, Greece, Egypt etc. Fantastic music especially orgasmic menu theme. Excepting some of historical mistakes, for example, non-existing units, game provides a lot of fun for many months.

96

Rome: Total Masterpiece

Dagon | April 8, 2011 | See all Dagon's reviews »

The game takes us back in time to the ancient world, to the glorious Roman Empire. The player takes command over one of the three roman noble houses, the Julii, Brutii, and Scipii. The gameplay is divided between turn-based strategic map and tactical real-time battles, the gameplay is of course much improved over the previous TW games (Rome & Medieval), the sieges are revamped, there are also now city fights added.

This game is a true masterpiece, made by the amazing Crative Assembly team. Although it was published in 2004, the game still looks great and it's gameplay is still amazing.