Reviews for Mafia II Complete Pack steam

80

not GTA, but not trying to be either

PLAYS | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all PLAYS's reviews »

i wouldn't say it is a movie based game but you should play this like you're playing in part of a drama. it is open world but you're part of a story so i would say to people who play GTA or Saints Row to not expect the same kind of game. i love the setting of this game i mean what a fascinating time in American history. if you have an Nvidia graphics card then turn PhysX on and run the benchmark. if you're not sure then try the demo on Steam. i liked it and would say you should try it, try something different.

90

One of my favourites but flawed

ShapEile | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all ShapEile's reviews »

Mafia 2 for me is a nostalgic game. I got it the same year it came out back in 2010 and I loved it. The story, the writing, the characters, the missions are all fantastic. The setting is also one of my favourites. The 40s/50s time period has always been a classic and is beautifully recreated here. However, the story and writing are the stand outs. Vito and Joe are a great pairing and the way their characters evolve from low level thugs to made men is very well done. The ending will leave you wanting more but ends in such a classic mobster movie way that really fits the tone it was trying to set.

There are also some stand out missions. The assault on a tower by posing as window cleaners was my personal favorites but pretty much most of them are well produced.

If I have any gripes about the game it is that you will get more out of it graphically with an Nvidia GPU as you can take full advantage of the Nvidia physx engine that they use.

Also, the game doesn't have much outside the mine story so you wont be left with anything to do after you finish the main missions.

The DLCs are a little dull and just boil down to challenges really with a strand of storyline flowing through them and don't really seem much like the main game other than using some of the characters like Joe. However, they are worth the small increase in price so it is up to you weather you pick them up too.

Overall though, Mafia 2 is a complete must buy. The DLC's are miss-able but, they can add a little more to the world and the characters so are worth the slightly more expensive price. Buy it now and love it forever!

82

Fun openworld game following the life of a gangster

DManVI | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all DManVI's reviews »

The game follows a man in the middle of the 20th century moving to America to start a new life, free from crime and misery. But, seeing how the game is named Mafia, it doesnt go so well. The story is very interesting, having some twist and turns here and there.

Mafia 2 may be open world, but there are mostly only story missions to play. You can get cops after you and you have to change outfit and car but other then that story missions is where the fun is.

90

Very good gangster game

Radovanh | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Radovanh's reviews »

Very good game with strong storyline. Not so strong like in first Mafia, but still so strong for capture you and you finish it for one try. For me plus good soundtrack with some melodies from the first Mafia. After main story there is some DLC to finish with more missions to accomplish. Must buy in some sale because the full price is not so good.

75

Fantastic sandbox

bartinkopl2 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all bartinkopl2's reviews »

Just don't compare it with L.A. Noire - it is completely different. Mafia II explains how the real gangster's life look like. Great characters, good graphics and fantastic gun control system. Physics could be better but you can't say the bad word about them. The worst thing is that this game is 'wanna-be sandbox' and it could be a sandbox easily, but the devs want to push you to next objective really fast - annoying!

Highly recommended to buy it with all DLCs

85

Awesome Era, Satisfying story

sentry101 | July 8, 2013 | See all sentry101's reviews »

I always enjoyed watching the mafia movies, and this game reminded me about many of them. Like many others have pointed out, this game does remind me of LA Noire. While the graphical detail might not be on the same level, I thought the story was really good. I was quite satisfied with the ending, but others might strongly disagree and I can understand why. The only gripe i have with the game is that the world isn't as open and inviting as i like it to be. Overall, it's a good game to pick up on sale and play through 10+ hour of campaign.

76

Better than GTA and Saints Row!

amc215 | July 7, 2013 | See all amc215's reviews »

The story is interesting, and the chapters make it feel like you’re getting stuff done, but the pacing is a problem and the world – while vibrant – can feel rather empty. My first playthrough took just a bit more than 10 hours, but there are the Playboy centerfolds and wanted posters to double back for.

89

Marvellous gangster sandbox game.

spycid | July 5, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

One of the most awaited sequels to the greatest retro themed sandbox game Mafia has a very strong storyline and amazing graphics. Character animation and soundtracks are also amazing. The only thing the game lacks is open world and side missions. Although if you love retro style sandbox games then you will love this.

75

Great story and aesthetics, let down by bland world

ConorEngelb | July 5, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Mafia II tells a great story, one that gives you reasons to care about Vito and his friends and not just expecting it of you. And it does so in a world that, on first glance, feels very authentic and lovely to look at and listen to: the radio soundtracks and montages of Mafioso activities made the game. The game plays well; combat is smooth and, mostly, doesn't push you into a situation with almost no way of winning. However, it's let down by the emptiness of the world. Empire Bay is gorgeous and feels alive, but there's not much for you to do there, apart from advance the storyline. I would have liked to be able to go wandering off and start shootouts with rival gangs, or make money on my own time. Apart from that, Mafia II is a great game.

82

Fantastic Period Game!

MrBubble424 | May 16, 2013 | See all MrBubble424's reviews »

Whilst some may compare this game to L.A. Noire (unfairly in my opinions, just because of the similar setting) this is an all out action game. With superb gun control and character movement, the combat is really satisfying with good gun physics and quality reactions from your targets. The one thing that this game does best however is immerse you in the world of 40's and 50's New York. It is the little things that make up the larger picture, all of which have a fantastic on the players view of the world the game tries, successfully, to imitate. My only criticisms would be that there is a little too much hand-holding and the game does like to push you towards the next objective some of the time, perhaps meaning that you miss out on collectibles and other content. That said, defiantly worth a buy!

90

Great game.

Archsyren | May 16, 2013 | See all Archsyren's reviews »

This game is great. It is like a beautiful mixture of GTA IV and La Noire (to me). The storyline isn't as open-world as GTA is, but that doesn't stop it from being an awesome game. The storyline is good, fun game to play in general and has great graphics. The city and buildings are beautiful. Very interesting game. Play this if you haven't yet!!

65

Awesome graphics, storyline lacking

danspy1994 | May 11, 2013 | See all danspy1994's reviews »

This game is amazing, the graphics are awesome, the characters extremely developed, the physics spot-on and the city an absolute beauty. The car customization is one feature I love, with the lack of it in GTA IV, this certainly fulfils my need for it.

But the storyline is far from as good.

The game starts off well, and continues well, but toward the end, it starts to become repetitive, brawl after brawl, gunfight after gunfight. In fact the level from the demo is probably the best part. Unfortunately I think more time has been spent on the graphics and appearance than the story.

72

Good game overall

Laudes | May 4, 2013 | See all Laudes's reviews »

This game was epic for me, the way the combat worked was extremely fun, and I enjoyed the entire game except the ending. I would never spoil it, I just did not like the ending, I thought it was incomplete. I'm sure others like that kind of ending, but I sure don't. The rest of the game weighs over the endings badness, so I would absolutely buy it again in a second life, if that is a reasonable expression. I don't think this should be compared to GTA or Saints Row, it may be simlar in game-style, but story wise and everything else, it's not the same. The world is way less open then in GTA and Saints Row, but it's open enough for this game.

The DLCS are not worth it at all in my opinion, they add some replayability to the game, so I suppose they might be fun if you're into doing stuff like that. I'm not one of those people however, I have far too many games to play out to bother playing through all of these DLCS. It's worth to try them out though, in my opinon.

85

Excellent pack for an excellent game.

Darder | April 30, 2013 | See all Darder's reviews »

Not only is Mafia II a very good game, but this pack is absolutely great! If you can get this pack for 11$, then just buy it.

Mafia II is an action game which follows up the legendary Mafia I. It is a new story, in a differently modeled city, with just as much adrenaline pumped into your veins. The graphics are gorgeous, with a lot of details to the environment. I especially love all the little things they added to the game to make it feel better. For example, how the handle of your car is different when driving in the snow or in the rain. Or, as another example, if you kill a shopkeeper and come back later, the police will be there, trying to investigate. The shop will then be close. And if you come back to a shop after a robbery, the police might be interrogating the shopkeeper and you might get arrested if the shopkeeper sees you! Its a bunch of those small details, small additions to the game and the nice core of the game that makes me want to play it more.

90

Noice ^_^

warkarma | April 28, 2013 | See all warkarma's reviews »

The game itself is very well made and fun to play. It is a shame it was made only for missions and doesn't have a sandbox like GTA series. I recommend this game for everyone who likes GTA and Mafia mix.

80

A solid game

Cavalieroscuro | April 27, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This pack basically includes Mafia 2 with all DLC. The first Mafia was a great and innovative game, sadly Mafia 2 isn't, but it is still a very good experience, with a good story, funny to play, very good graphic. Even the DLC are worth a ride, expecially Joe's Adventure. If you never played the game, this is the right moment.

77

A good game, but not a masterpiece

panz3r88 | April 26, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Mafia 2 is a good action adventure game. The game is similar to the first Mafia: during the various chapter you will see how the protagonist Vito Scaletta becomes a member of the mafia in Empire Bay with his buddy Joe and what are the consequencies of his crime. During the mission there are section in which you will ride various vehicles and other where you must use the various weapons to fight the enemy. The story of the game is not so interesting like the one of the first Mafia and the gameplay is a bit repetitive. An other defect of the game is that between the various chapters you can explore the city like in a free roaming game, but the only thing you can do is recover some collectibles because there aren't side missions. Mafia 2 is a good game for fan of action adventure games, but it's a bit disappointing if you compare it to the first Mafia