Reviews for Empire: Total War

75

Will it ever end?

Qaizher | July 25, 2014 | See all Qaizher's reviews »

So I bought this a while back thinking I'll probably master this game quickly since I had a few thousand hours (exaggeration but you get the point) on the Age of Empires franchise. Like since both are strategy games and I "ace-d" at AOE so why can't I with Empire: Total War right? That is when I learn a very valuable lesson on the difference between a Strategy and a Grand Strategy game. After 60+ hours on this game, I have yet to complete one Grand Campaign and I still have yet to fully understand the game completely.

Yes if you are a person like me who I now consider myself as a casual strategy gamer after this hard lesson, then prepare for a high learning curve. That's not to say this game isn't good, this game is great. So great that I think one day I could pass my current game to my child who would then pass it to his/her child to continue on playing my yet to finish Grand Campaign.

The replay value is absolutely high on this one. Running your own empire kept me on my toes, because one minute I was swarming India, the next the rebellion overtook my towns one by one. There is nothing wrong with this game except for the loading screens before and after battles but that is to be blamed on my dated system. Just prepare to sit through a game with your fullest attention that this deserves and you will feel like a true ruler.

95

GREAT STRATEGY GAME

HitManHunt | April 15, 2014 | See all HitManHunt's reviews »

Great game!

I love pretty much all the Total War series, they make some of the best games in the Strategy genre...

The mechanics of the game are pretty linear to the others in the TW franchise, and equally awesome!

It contains a lot of content and will definitely earn every penny spent with all of the captivating functions. Build and oversee your settlements, while building armies and fighting battles! Everything you could really ask for in a strategy game...

The graphics are great like usual and has enough settings for you to tailor just about every detail you require.

The gameplay is astounding and will keep you captivated enough to want to play through the campaign multiple times, wanting to come back for more. The coolest part is that every time you play through you can create a custom and unique experience!

This game will earn every penny spent and then some!

79

A Real Learning Curve, But Still Worth It

koticpaxx | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

Unlike most others, Empire: Total War was my first Total War game. I know, surprising right? Well, I was too. What really captivated me about the Total War series was the ability to command armies and strategically place them to seize victory. In Empire: Total War (or E:TW is what I will further abbreviate it to), you take control of armies during the 1800s era. With this in mind, units like minute men, line infantry and the likes will be at your fingertips. For me, this was one of the main attractions here. This era really is one of my favorites, and it feels awesome to command it at your will. One of the campaign battles is the War of Independence, which I found really interesting, the way they approached it.

Now the main thing. The gameplay. I found it rather easy to control it, though it might've been my intuitive senses coming intact. Rather, I enjoyed it a lot. Oh yeah, the strategy needed is important, but it's all about the fun. The ability to adapt is really great, and like all games, you learn from your mistakes (hopefully). The presentation itself is nice, the several weather options can suit your special needs. The graphics are pretty good, but like all other games, I didn't care for them. Not cause it was bad, no, but because I simply don't care about the graphics.

In conclusion, I believe that you should buy Empire:Total War (I just now realize that I did not once use E:TW, silly me) IF you are looking to add to your Total War collection or if you're really interested in this time period, I say go for it. Besides, it's only $15, and the game itself is rather above average.

100

Another great game

jmods5710 | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all jmods5710's reviews »

I bought this game recently, and I have to say it is one of my favourite Total War games. It seems like a different game than the older ones, mainly because of the guns that were used in the period of time that game represents. No more archers, pikemen, and knights. No more samurai and other (mostly) melee soldiers. Now fights are still intense, but from more of a distance. This adds an interesting twist to sieges and other battles. Sea battles are fun, and multiplayer is great as always. Overall, recommend it to everyone.

95

The best and most realistic game of Age of Enlightenment

Andreasqiao | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all Andreasqiao's reviews »

The first game in total war series that used Warscape Engine 4 years ago and still looks beautiful until now. It also depart from previous series which based on mainly melee combat , replaced with gunpowder , cannon and warship !

Gameplay : Very realistic ! CA took attention to detail thoroughly from time needed to load the bullet in musket to battle formation in that era. Naval battle takes important factor now with new option and tactic. But above all, the new gameplay type that involving more shooting than hand to hand combat is the best gameplay feature in ETW.

Graphics : Absolutely beautiful and yet quite scalable (though SSAO is very demanding will sap away your frame rate immensely). Campaign map is also beautiful.The naval warfare is a gorgeous scene ! The sea is detailly rendered.

Sound : The songs here is not spectacular compared with previous title but it is surely enough to bring 18th century culture and music (too bad that CA didn't add Vivaldi's Four Season !)

Overall : With huge amount of Kingdoms mixed with new feature and strategy for both campaign map and battle map, this game is one of the best game in 2009 and still worth to play until now. The best total war title yet in 2009 when it was released 4 years ago.

80

Diamond in the Rough

lairdjaren | Dec. 7, 2013 | See all lairdjaren's reviews »

The total war series is predicated on (to my mind) a winning format that integrates two kinds of games. The strategy map is a methodical turn-based affair where you build up your infrastructure and armies. But when armies clash, the game switches to real-time where you must direct your troops on a "realistic" battlefield (assuming you are a giant, all-seeing eye that can instantaneously issue orders). Half the fun is just sitting back and watching your cavalry mow into the rear of a numerically larger enemy troop formation causing the lot to flee in terror.

So that being said, if you are new to the total war series, Empire is probably not for you. Empire has all those elements and more; it is is certainly more complex than its predecessors. While certainly not more complex than a Paradox Interactive title, Empire's new elements obscure the core gameplay and probably wouldn't be the best introduction to the series. Try shogun 2, and if you absolutely need firearms, Fall of the Samurai picks up where Empire leaves off in gunpowder based battles.

Still here? For devotees of the Total War, Empire takes the series to its grandest stage yet as befitting the time period. There are three linked campaign maps and a number of oceanic trade sectors. The massive scale and the substructuring of unique trade resources to each sector allows for far more freedom on choosing how you want to play. Most total war games are about expanding as fast as your standing armies can replenish only held in check with "artificial" in-game mechanics (e.g. SPOILER Rome: civil war event; Medieval 2: the pope/excommunication; Shogun 2: after kyoto END SPOILERS). In Empire, you have the flexibility of exploring different strategies, such as staying small and securing trade resources, keeping overhead low and building alliance networks through trade deals. Throw in the government type, class conflicts, and revolution mechanics (no more dull grey rebel cities) and there is a lot more space for campaign strategy.

Empire has its share of rough spots. Focusing on the new ones: Infrastructure improvements are generic (all factions are broadly similar), one-dimensional (few branches mostly just upgrading to max), and worst of all, dispersed. Instead of everything upgradable at the capital as in every other total war game, you will need to check every individual farm, workshop, mine, etc., which becomes a complete chore as you get larger.

Armies too are broadly generic. You will mostly play and fight against similarly equipped armies/navies with only a few unique units with recruitment limits. This blandness is mitigated somewhat in campaign because the tech tree will take a long time develop, so choosing which to branches can lead to some variation at any given point in the game (e.g. one faction developing bayonets, while another goes for rank fire drill). In fact, the tech development is more rewarding because upgrades affect the tactics available to a unit rather than a blanket +attack/+defense.

Also, battles are typically much slower and grueling affairs. Most battles will be about methodically (re)positioning your units to improve your firing position while minimizing your exposure. Cavalry charges will know be about disrupting enemy firing rhythm rather than inflicting heavy casualties. Expect the sea battles to be much the same -- except when your first class heavy lights up an enemy schooner with a full salvo.

A plucky element loss in empire is that your generals and agents will no longer have those wacky awesome abilities or those amusing little cutscenes making things a bit drab.

So there you have it, If your up to trying out a more open and challenging campaign that isn't just about taking over the world as fast as possible, Empire Total War might just be for you.

81

Good could have been great

Glyndwr | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Glyndwr's reviews »

I enjoy the setting and timeframe of Empire, it also has a great sense of scale but this does seem to be one of the problems. Improving buildings has become a lot more awkward in this game. With a large empire too much time is spent trying to find all the buildings to upgrade that will be useful and keeping track of what can be trained where. The game can also run slow on the campaign map sometimes with a large empire. Battles are as good as always and a lot of fun with good gunpowder units. Naval battles are a nice addition, although they do take some getting used to at first. The AI on campaign map can be frustrating particularly with regards to diplomacy but this is often a weak part of AI I find in many games of a similar type.

79

A must for your collection

bala1201 | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all bala1201's reviews »

This game is not the best of the Total wars. Well, they tried something new, shattered maps, travelling between continents, sea routes, colonies. For me it is a bit messy and complicated for the first try, but after a few hours (and some restarts) you will be addicted.

86

The Least Popular of the Series

BronYrAurStomp | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all BronYrAurStomp's reviews »

Empire Total War is possibly the largest game in the series in terms of map scale (Including games since). When playing the game you can't help but feel Creative Assembly over-stretched themselves. Most of the bugs the game launched with have been patched out, yet many still remain. Land battles remain entertaining as always, especially now with gun powder however siege battles are a dull affair sadly. Naval battles are extremely boring and you will quickly decide to start auto resolving those, which is a shame. Being able to battle in a variety of continents is the games greatest strength.

90

A real gem

tojeto | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all tojeto's reviews »

Bought this game about three years ago, but never really had the time to really get into it. Recently I started playing it more and it is in fact a really addictive game. Was playing with Maratha Confederacy and watching us spread from India accross the Europe is really something...you will need some time to get used to the in-game mechanics, but i assure you it is worth it. The battlefield part of the game is graphically wise really good and very fun to play. It is really fun watching your cannon crew reloading the cannons from maximum zoom or watching cavalry clashing with enemy troops. I strongly recommend this game

74

Downward sloping

darkyhbk | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Empire Total War, while still a great game in itself, fails to live up to the standards of the previous two and ends up swimming in a sea of mistakes and flaws which weren't there before. Graphically, it is an improvement, although the strategic map seems a lot less friendly and intuitive, while the colours are not as well chosen. However, the biggest problem consists in the simplifying of core areas, such as building upgrades, or the diplomacy system. There's only a very limited number of buildings to choose from, everything else being upgrades to those 4 or 5 base buildings per settlement. I really resent this. Diplomacy feels less personal and more robotic, while a lot of incentives to play are not there anymore. A good thing are the naval battles, nicely designed, very realistic and atmospheric, but this is not an excuse for neglecting a lot of core areas of the game which were previously sound. Too bad, there was huge potential.

91

A yes in my book!

Hbcfl | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Hbcfl's reviews »

This game has great game-play. Each nation has their own specialty which really shows when you use your Winged Hussars (Poland-Lithuania) to smash into the larger amount of Austrian Line Infantry. The game takes into account weather, terrain, and fatigue. This leads to some scary situations when Sikh Warriors (Maratha Confederacy) are charging downhill on a rainy day against any sort of firearm Infantry. There most definitely will be some soaked ground, in blood of course. The graphics are quite good if your computer can handle them. They made me realize I need a new graphics card. There definitely is some unintelligent AI when it comes to Diplomacy. The AI holds grudges and is seemingly unwilling to cooperate at times when mutual benefit is clear. Allies do not seem to really aid in times of mutual enemies either.

88

Such a great concept and idea, but the execution could be better

Sharpshot94549 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Sharpshot94549's reviews »

This is the game that could have redefined the strategy game for years to come. The only thing that held this game back was being released too early with too many bugs, and not spending the time to properly fix them all. In the short time they spent on it post launch before moving onto other titles like napoleon and Shogun 2, they patched the majority of the bugs, but not all. Aside from the occasional graphical bug, this game is a strategy game for the ages and should not be missed

70

It's alright

odren | July 25, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

Empire is a good game, yet i'd say that it is probably the worst of the total war series. it just did not work as well as the others. yet one thing to be said is that the modelling on the ships is fantastic and finally being able to fight navel battles was a huge step forward, they are also quite difficult and the wind just has a habit of being against you. land battles are also a bit dull as they come down to the same thing over and over again, mainly because the AI is really dumb. yet there are mods that improve this and therefore improve the challenge of the game. it is a good game and is worth having a look at.

90

Most fun

fgalindo77 | July 16, 2013 | See all fgalindo77's reviews »

This is the most ambitious total war game ever created with the ability to play in three different theaters and playing over 18 different factions. Most innovative total war as well with the introduction of naval combat. Although buggy at times still amazing if you are running a good rig.

93

Sun Tzu would be proud.

jaredsilver | July 9, 2013 | See all jaredsilver's reviews »

If you're a fan of the Civilization games but think that the science, culture, and time victories are for weak pansies who don't have enough guts to win with a domination victory, then the Empire series of games is for YOU.

Empire: Total War has most everything we love about the original Civilization 5 but with a much greater focus on the military aspect of the game.

With TWO story modes based on the historical American Revolution and European Age of Imperialism, history fans will get more than their fair share of love out of Empire: Total War.

And of course, this isn't even to mention the (optional) RTS battles in which you take control of your troops and manipulate them throughout the field.

The Verdict: Sun Tzu himself would be proud.

Highly recommended for fans of Civ games, fans of history, and fans of intense strategy games.

75

Empire Total war

ArmokGreyjoy | July 9, 2013 | See all ArmokGreyjoy's reviews »

Empire total war is a nice game to the total war series but it dose not have the same feeling has the other total wars those set in earlier times the battles are still quite enjoyable but they dont have the meaty feelings the earlier once had, the naval battles aren't has boring has I though they would and the whole system of trade nodes is really great urging you to build a fleet and seek for control on the trade and seas. be the adding of a tech tree his really good plus whole new way of building is very simple and nice, also unlike the olde ones I dont seem to get myself in the trouble of having all my cities swamped with unrest and squalor making them revolt every turn, the only thing that really saddens me that the game sometimes disrupt and silence the audio in my computer until I do a restart.

85

The Most Complex Total War Game Yet

BelowTheSun | July 5, 2013 | See all BelowTheSun's reviews »

Empire: Total War is absolutely huge. So many factions, so many units, so many ways to play. Almost too many - starting a game can be very intimidating. Which units do I recruit first? What do I build? Who do I ally myself with? These are the kinds of questions that have been asked in every Total War game, but in Empire getting it right really, really matters.

If you're familiar with the Total War games, you'll know the basic gameplay and structure of Empire. Strategic maneuvers take place on the campaign map, on which you move around armies, fleets, and lay siege to settlements. The campaign map here is huge. Divided into three sections, you can take the fight to Europe, as usual, and now America and India. Each region has its strengths and weaknesses, and the decisions you make early on in where to take your armies could make or break the campaign. India is extremely wealthy, so you might want to attack the continent early on - but you'll face a long, hard battle with the native factions. The strategic play has always been a highlight of the Total War series, and Empire is no exception.

The battles in Empire have moved away from the melee-based battles of Rome and Medieval. Gone are the days when you could just throw several units armed with swords at each other and watched the big blob of men fight - now, most of your troops will be armed with guns, placing a greater emphasis on troop placement and movement. It's undeniably more complicated than ever before, which may put some off, but once you nail the tactics down it's immensely rewarding.

This review has barely scratched the surface of Empire: Total War. Other new features include well-implemented naval battles and an increased emphasis on trade as a way of making money (including trade regions on the campaign map). Such is the emphasis on trade a perfectly viable tactic is to forsake building an army for constructing a huge fleet and effectively becoming a pacifist trade force, relying on the allies you make to assist you in homeland defence. The plethora of possible games with each faction make Empire: Total War extraordinarily replayable and rewarding.

93

A Massive Scale RTS

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Empire Total War is one of the greatest RTS games out there and the best part is that it's not 100% RTS. The campaign is like Civilization and you have to carefully plan each turn where to move each unit and managing your empire. But the great part is that each unit is actually an army so when you go to battle you can let the computer do it or you can go to the battle map and play the battle RTS style. The battles are on a huge scale and the graphics are amazing. You can see all the little details as thousands of little soldiers go to war. It is awesome and I mean that literally. You will be in awe of this game. Highly recommended if you love RTS games or turn based games lke Civilization. If you like both genres then this is the perfect game for you.

94

My fav

lolnuts | June 19, 2013 | See all lolnuts's reviews »

This was my second total war game and it was my favorite because of the different regions. You could be Russia for example and head on over to India and America and take them over at once! Has to be the game with the most provinces to capture! There's also the global trade and the amount of factions makes it even cooler!

95

Best Total War in my Opinion

hellomoto7 | May 20, 2013 | See all hellomoto7's reviews »

I have played through all of the recent total wars from rome to shogun 2, and out of those, Empire has to be my favorite. The grand campaign spans over such a large area that it really gives the player freedom to do anything they want from just conquering the Americas, or focusing on India, Europe, or all three fronts. I especially like how they got rid of diplomats and made a simple diplomatic relations menu.

The real time battles are also quite good. The strategy that comes from commanding troops with long range muskets provides a new approach to Total War not present in rome or medieval. This also happens to be one of my favorite time periods, and therefore I find very fun. The DLC units also provide more variety to the nations and seeing historically famous troops such as the 33rd foot and the swiss guards fight each other is very exciting.

92

Massive Scale and Utter Detail

pasinduthegreat | May 11, 2013 | See all pasinduthegreat's reviews »

This game is impressive. Simply impressive. After playing this game I see myself going to bed and thinking about how im going to manage my trade routes for maximum profit while keeping my allies appeased when I make dealings with their enemies; how I'm going to take a settlement and hold it against the hostile borders how I'm going to take control of the entire Atlantic Ocean.

In Empire Total War you have to build the improvements gradually more and more complex to increase your revenue and get other bonuses, in addition to the mother city, the possession of which will determine control of the region, but in addition there will be a series of settlements according to the government can grow and evolve from small and insignificant villages and large cities, leading to 'empire of attractive returns in economic terms and not only. On the battlefield scenarios are much richer not only to the static elements with which you can interact directly to obtain tactical advantages, but also a lay of the land. This will allow more variety to choose from an infinite number of possible new tactics, thus making every single fight. The introduction of firearms has also completely changed the way to deal with the battles in Medieval 2 and, basically, everything led back to the crowded melee Empire in the vast majority of the fighting will take place over the distance, with hundreds of soldiers who bombard a musket.

Simply speaking, you will put so much time into this game and every single second would be worth it.

Also it would guarantee you A+ in your Historical Economics and Geography exams.

78

Not the greatest TW game but good

Infiltrator | May 11, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

While the game adds a lot of complexity to the frame that existed from earlier series in a way that makes the game more realistic and engaging (such as making mines, farms, etc. points within territories that must be defended), the added complexity becomes quite repetitive quite quickly. Unfortunately, the added complexity almost appears to be a half-baked after thought. Diplomacy in the game is almost comically horrible. Military alliances have been replaced by a general alliance system which makes it almost impossible to ally with certain nations due to factors outside the control of the player. Furthermore, it is almost impossible to develop a peace treaty with combatant nations regardless of who started the war or if territory changed hands leading to wars that have lasted for over fifty years (hardly realistic of the time period). Battles also appear quite buggy with animations being performed at the wrong time. While purely cosmetic, it does put a dampener on what is supposed to be the game's main feature. Another problem with the battles is their repetitiveness. While I don't mind fighting a battle for 45 minutes, I have used the same two tactics in almost every battle with either very few losses, or losses that are disproportional to those inflicted on the enemy. Finally, we have the steam element. After purchasing this game, be ready to wait for a roughly 1.5 gig patch to download through steam, and be sure to run steam offline if you have a bad connection. Otherwise, you will be unable to play as you have to be online to turn on the offline mode for steam (go figure). One distinguishing plus to add, however, is the naval battles. Although these are incredibly slow (even with the fast forward button), it is a legit step above simply having ships auto battle each other (especially when your nation is Dependant on a navy to hold its empire together. Graphics are also amazingly good save for the bugs mentioned above. Unfortunately, these are only present in the battles themselves where in general, you're too busy fighting to notice them. In general, Empire Total War is a great game if far from perfect. Admittedly, it was somewhat of a let down for me in comparison to Rome Total War. While fun at first, the problems I mentioned take quite a bit of the fun out of the game. Furthermore, the complexity, which does add a challenging layer, is one more thing to have to have to look after while still implementing the same interface present in Rome Total War which presents its limitations quite quickly.

75

OverUnderrated

SuperFraz | May 9, 2013 | See all SuperFraz's reviews »

Creative Assembly have come out with some of the best strat games to grace the genre and the platform. This is no different, It's not perfect, but it's essentially Shogun 2 Total War's Alpha model, if you like. But anyway, The Good points i can make about the game are as follows, -Varied campaign map to the borderline monotonous European continent, Although would have liked more of Africa involved. -Engaging sea battles, difficult to master but ultimately worth the split hairs due to outright shit AI -Semi Accurate representation of the period's land battles. The game's battle ai wasn't the sharpest nail in the box, and was sometimes laughably easy. But i found other times that it really hammered me.

Now for the ultimately terrible points -The cannons were about as effective as BB guns (at the same range), Luckily they fixed this in Napoleon(sort of) but then went OP in Shogun? -The forts were OP, it took almost all the ammo of 2 sets of Demi guns to knock a wall down, thus eliminating the possibilty of multiple entry ways unless you wanted 4 valuble slots taken up by nearly useless units, by the time your cannons had done the work, they had swarmed the entrance, and what should have been an easy pound and ground turns into a bloodbath at the entrance, more often than not for you. With a lack of "heavy infantry" and decent cavalry to smash down the defenders, it turns into an awkward pokey shooty match between the two of you. -The units were terribly bland, and gave more of an industrial feeling to your armies than you should have got with a game this "advanced", with only one skin for line infantry, it was more than a little disappointing in that respect. -The America's are also a sore point. Some provinces were far too isolated to be of any use, and sometimes you were on the march 3 or 4 turns to reach it (plains nations, im looking at you) and by then you were fed up.

Now i'm not saying don't buy this game, I'm just saying buy Napoleon instead. For the simple reason that, they fixed maybe 80% of the crap from Empire in Napoleon, Eg Naval Battles(praise the lord) and land battles(and pass da ammunition). Plus, I spent many an evening chasing down Napoleon himself while waging a costly war against Prussia. Much fun.

82

Great game hampered by too many bugs

chivshiv | March 3, 2013 | See all chivshiv's reviews »

The scope of this game is massive. Creative Assembly tried to do a whole bunch of new things with this game. Multiple continents, trade theaters, navel combat. They succeeded in some areas but completely and utterly failed in others.

I'll start with what CA did correctly. The navel battles are a welcome addition to the game. The ships look beautiful as does the water. If you have the graphics card for ultra settings you will not be disappointed. The huge campaign map is really nice, it gets away from just fighting in Europe all the time. The Campaign AI after the 1.4 patch has started to behave like it deserves the title artificial intelligence.

CA failed a lot with the game. The Battle AI is non existent. It rushes the middle of your battle lines only to be encircled and destroyed, utterly, every battle every time. Land armies are a little bland. One model for line infantry just team colored. The land graphics are good up close. Though they brought back clone armies. Farther away the game switches to sprites at inappropriate distances and looks terrible. Fort battles are a mess and boring, the BAI is so terrible you can hold a fort with minimal forces outnumbered 3 to 1. CA's support is terrible with this game, It took patches up to 1.3 to get the game playable. Then after 1.4 and whatever 1.5 did they decided the game is finished. Hardly.

It would sound like I don't like this game. I do, it is fun to an extent but the BAI is just too terrible. It took 7 months or so of patches to become fun

90

Truly one of empires of the strategy genre

Xiphora | Feb. 28, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Empire: Total War is a more recent installment to Creative Assembly's flagship strategy franchise, Total War. Empire: Total War has vastly upgraded graphics compared to earlier games in the series, and includes sea battles, which helps complete the Total War formula. Empire: Total War is an innovative strategy game that makes many improvements over its predecessors, and is a fine installment to the Total War franchise. If you enjoy turn based or real time strategy games, Empire: Total War is a game to consider buying.

91

Empire: Total War - review

carlyle | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Empire: Total War is a turn-based strategy game, unlike all the other games in the series the game features two campaigns, the first one is classical, called Imperial, provides a map of the game, ranging from North America to India, through Europe and North Africa. The second campaign, unlike the first, is more similar to one of those of Kingdoms. Indeed, it is completely centered in North America and will fight the war of American independence. Addition to the expansion of the game map, the developers have also upset the management of the regions: while in previous episodes region was essentially governed by a city more or less imposing, in Empire: Total War is partially abandoned this approach. End up in the region of local resources, around which you have to build the improvements gradually more and more complex to increase your revenue and get other bonuses, in addition to the mother city, the possession of which will determine control of the region, but in addition there will be a series of settlements according to the government can grow and evolve from small and insignificant villages and large cities, leading to 'empire of attractive returns in economic terms and not only. On the battlefield scenarios are much richer not only to the static elements with which you can interact directly to obtain tactical advantages, but also a lay of the land. This will allow more variety to choose from an infinite number of possible new tactics, thus making every single fight. The introduction of firearms has also completely changed the way to deal with the battles in Medieval 2 and, basically, everything led back to the crowded melee Empire in the vast majority of the fighting will take place over the distance, with hundreds of soldiers who bombard a musket. This radical change in the gameplay, which will impose tactics completely different to those that had used the series, will immediately understand that there will be more than just the number of troops deployed to make a difference, but especially their ability.

89

God save the Queen

curta | Nov. 20, 2012 | See all curta's reviews »

Empire: Total War is yet another step forward for the series. its strengths are a well-established pattern of play, the improved artificial intelligence, especially for the real-time and the introduction of some new excellent as the implementation of the naval battles. By cons need a powerful computer to enjoy it fully, but this should no longer be a problem. At the end albeit with some flaws here and there this is a complex and rewarding game that will keep strategy fanatics tied to their keyboards for a long long time. Really recommended!|

80

Was a Good Trial

ROKET | July 3, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

Empire was probably one of the most anticipated Total War game to be released by CA. It promised brilliant visuals, brand new combat using muskets and other gun powder age weapons, and also promised a revamped multiplayer and a multiplayer campaign.

For the most part CA came through with most of their promises but after failing to provide the multiplayer campaign and a few other features, faith in the series began to wane. CA patched the game less and less frequently until at one point support was simply dropped in favor for Napoleon TW.

I played the game for over 40 hours only to quit after experiencing unbearable performance issues even with a great system.

For the most part the games gameplay was solid but as with past TW games you never really had a point to play. It was a conquest game that had preexisting game parameters and then it just let you sit and do your thing. That wasnt bad but it wasnt an attention keeper.

There were also aspects of the game that felt boring. Naval combat, one of many new features to the game, performed very poorly and were often very slow and uneventful. It was nice to watch but you rarely had much fun.

Multiplayer was lackluster as well. Finding a game was cumbersome and performance was again poor. There wasnt much incentive to play.

All in all I dont consider the game to be terrible but it wasnt as good as Napoleon or Shogun 2. It was a trial - an experiment to see what worked. They only got it right in Shogun 2.

94

Global conquest at it's finest

Epic_flawless | June 21, 2012 | See all Epic_flawless's reviews »

Empire: Total War is certainly a fine game. The graphics in it are without doubt, dazzling.The combat system may not be perfect but good enough to be well beyond just enjoyable. Not only are there land battles for you to savour, but the sea battles... utterly amazing. The level of detail and amount of tension when you engage in one sets your mind racing. I recommend you buy this games for many reasons; the stunning graphics, the challenging campaign and the astounding combat system!

96

PEN OR MUSKET?

shade1811 | Oct. 22, 2011 | See all shade1811's reviews »

Pen is mightier than sword? poof!. I say " Musket is mightier than sword". Want a proof? Then try Empire Total War and tell me.......

PS: They still take time to reload!

80

Good game

vigotski | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

Empire is not the best in the series; neither the worst. It fails in some points, but is really fortunate in other, like the sea battles. The historical period is very interesting, with so many different stuff happening at the same time. You should buy this one, the battles are very fun to play and the generals are very charismatic. The campaign is formidable, to conquer the entire world, even in videogames, is always very nice!

95

Age of Enlightenment

faraany3k | Aug. 27, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Empire: Total War is still a great TW title. But it differs from the previous titles in many different ways. Firstly the game is set in 1700 century, and with the introduction of gun powder, face of battle has changed forever. In 3D RTS battles the action is more brutal now with the range of new unit like cannon and musket. With there range strength the battle strategies that we are familiar in the previous titles have completely been changed. Use of cover and better terrain awareness is now in consideration here. Turn Based elements have also been tweaked and expanded to include more deeper concepts like Diplomacy and Espionage and Trade.

Another great enhancement over the previous titles is the inclusion of Naval Warfare. You are no longer limited to land battles. Now we can wage war in seas in beautifully rendered 3D graphics. Ships like rest of the game are superbly detailed. Water is also beautifuly rendered and enhances the graphical quality of the series even further. Empires is a huge improvement over the previous TW games. There is enough new content and innovation that makes this the best game in the series. An instant buy.

97

Perhaps the best Total War game to date. Including Shogun 2.

mevidek | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

Vastly improved graphics than Medieval 2, more depth (even if a little unneeded), new epic, realistic and fun naval battles and more initiative to play over and over again (including a storyline of the War for Independence in USA) make Empire: Total War not only one of the greatest Total War games, not only Strategy game, but one of the Greatest games ever!

86

One of the best

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Empire:total war is one of the most played games on steam and anyone can tell why. The animations are amazing. Graphics are beyond just plain good. Line battles are by far one of the most fun i've had. Siege battles are a bit of a letdown since the ai wastes time surrounding you. The sea battles are where the game really stands out. The ships really represent damage as the hull, bridge,etc falls or breaks down. Sometimes your ship will even catch on fire. The variety of ships in the game is also amazing! Numerous mods make the game even better. Although community-created, they make the game beyond just good. The grand campaign is a fun experience but consumes a lot of time. However, it is easy to learn and play unlike previous titles such as Medieval2. Empire:Total War, a good buy for the buck.

100

Total war at it's best.

malk | May 25, 2011 | See all malk's reviews »

This game it's a must have for any Total war fan, including new features that are both fun and challenging even for the most hardened medieval and rome: total war veteran.

Research new technologys and schools of thought like bayonets and humanism or steal them from your rivals to keep your edge on the battlefield and economy. Explore and conquest the the Americas and India while keeping your trade routes safe from pirates and privateers in the new "Sea battle" option. Manage your many buildings and growing towns across your regions and Fight for freedom against the british oppression in the "road to independence" campaing or be the master of Europe, America and India in the grand campaing.

Will all those new features, and still maintaining the ones that made the previous games memorable, ready you trihorn hat and load your musket because either if you're a total war fan or a newcommer to the franchise, this game will keep you for hours

100

Buy it, it's awesome.

mitzager | April 9, 2011 | See all mitzager's reviews »

Many people complained about bugs and other lots of problems the game had on it's release game, but Creative Assembly released a lot of patches since then that make the game much, much better. If you're a Total War fan, you have no excuse to skip this installment, you can alternate it with Shogun 2, the latest awesome game from Creative Assembly.