Reviews for The Binding of Isaac

100

One of the best indie games which brought me lot of joy and fun

hateah | July 25, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

This game will always be fun to play for me. No matter how much times you die and start from the beginning you'll keep wanting to try again and again until you reach the boss named "Mom" that is the finall boss of the depths. You have to kill her x amount of times to procceed to the next bosses which are even harder to kill. By discovering secrets, and doing quests like collecting 50 gold in a run, you can unlock extra characters which has different abilities. Every stage has few mini bosses, that depends on you how many you find, and a main boss which is at the door with the skull on it. It's the main one of every stage. You are shooting tears at the start, but by opening the golden door which is at every level, you can find upgrades for either your weapons or abilities. Or cards which has different effects. When the main boss of every stage dies, he drops special item that increases one of your abilities, or few items at once.There's nothing else I can add that's all you need to know. I hope i helped.

91

Very fun, but gets boring after a while

friendbear70 | July 21, 2014 | See all friendbear70's reviews »

This game is really creative. Full of life and adventure. There are so many different things to collect. But this game has many contrasting pros/cons, so I will list them out.

Pro: 1. Generally fun. 2. Different characters to unlock 3. Many different items to unlock 4. Different items to different things 5. Secret rooms

Cons: 1. The game can only be played so many times. After the last level, all you can do is try to unlock more things and play again. 2. The controls are hard to master. 3. if you aren't good at it, it will be very frustrating.

But those are just a few or the pros and cons. This game is totally worth your money if you have patience and great concentration!

90

Limitless Entertainment

codemeister13 | July 20, 2014 | See all codemeister13's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a game that brings the perfect balance of luck and skill. Every bit of each game is randomly generated. This ranges from the layout of each floor to the enemies you encounter in each room right down to the items you might grab from each enemy.

This game comes with limitless amounts of possibilities for many, many hours of entertainment. It comes with multiple characters available to unlock by completing various tasks in-game, each with their own special starting statistics and items to add that special spice to each round you play.

The bosses in TBoI provide a challenging yet fun experience as well. From the beginning you are thrown into a boss room and you are forced to survive with nothing more than whatever items you may have. The greatest part about the bosses in the game goes hand-in-hand with the random item generation. It's up to you to use your skills to try and make whatever you have work to beat the bosses.

There are many surprises in the Isaac universe. For the sake of spoiler alerts and experiencing the same wonderment I did at the situation, I won't say exactly what happens. What I will say though is that this game isn't ever truly over. To bring even more variety and excitement, I highly recommend the purchase of the Wrath of the Lamb DLC. It is the best DLC you can purchase for a game like this.

Overall, I cannot recommend this game enough. It is addictive, fun, and a beautifully challenging experience. This truly is a game that will appeal to all audiences and, for $5, you won't find a better game.

97

Best thing to do with 5 bucks.

bloodude | July 16, 2014 | See all bloodude's reviews »

Wow. What a game. The only thing I would closely compare it to is LOZ, and even then the RNG items and bosses are far different. Binding of Isaac is the definitive rogue-like game that spawned games like Rogue Legacy and Risk of Rain. Great gameplay, gorgeous, edgy, iconic Edmund artwork, items that make a HUGE impact onto the game, and replay value of champions. The DLC adds many new items, bosses and floors (Cathedral and The Chest). Highly recommended!

85

Awesome.

EDGE1812 | June 17, 2014 | See all EDGE1812's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a great game. This is an arcade dungeon crawler packed with a ton of content, including collectables, secrets, unlockable cool characters. Every playthrough will be different, since the dungeons spawn random order, which adds a lot of replay value. The game has a great art style, as well as a sort of creepy feel to it.

I'd recommend getting the game along with it's DLC, "Wrath of The Lamb", for even more content, characters, etc.

Oh, and you will die alot. The game offers you a great challenge and i personally loved every moment of it.

60

Fun for a While

PredatorDrone18 | June 15, 2014 | See all PredatorDrone18's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac provides a fun time, but not for a long time. It has enjoyable game play and a quirky story, but it doesn't hold the attention long. After a while the game gets stale,and most people (myself included) will get bored after a while. In conclusion, The Binding of Isaac is good for a short amount of time, but if you're looking for a long-term investment, this might not be the way to go.

90

Endless fun!

Zazutuu | June 13, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a unique game.The art style is a lot different than what you see every day.You want to spend lots of hours in a game?Then The Binding of Isaac is for you.But remember this:It is not a easy game.You will try and fail a lot of times so expect for some rage until you get used to it.Every time you start the game there are random levels so you will not play the same thing over and over again.You have a LOT of unlockables and secrets to unlock.I definetely recommend.

85

One of the Best in the Genre

minoru09 | June 6, 2014 | See all minoru09's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is my first experience with the so-called 'roguelite' games. Since then I've played countless similar games with the same concept but I always come back to this game. Why? Because it simply has unlimited replayability. Every run you do has different item combinations and you have to use your reflex and experience to reach the final boss. The DLC is also a must if you enjoy the base game, as it contains more items, levels and enemies which can add more hours to your playtime.

95

Great way to start adventure with rogue-like games.

Furrek | May 21, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac was my first rogue-like game that I ever played. If I ever played something earlier, I didn't probably knew about this genre. So what's with that rogue-like game? Every time you start new game, you are getting something new. I mean, you won't play on the same map, you won't get same items, the enemies will change. Every new game is really new and how you will do in later rooms and floors depend only on your luck and SKILL. If you are lucky, you will get items that will help you win the game without any problems. But mostly you won't get that luck and there where SKILL come. Every enemy need a way to be killed, same with boss fights. It's not very complicated, but you will spend really much time trying to figure things out, what items give and take from you, how to play to win the game. The game have multiple ending, characters, tons of items and unlimited hours of fun. For this price you won't find a game that is more addicting and giving so much fun. This is easily one of the best indie games.

90

a decent roguelike

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

unlike in Rogue Legacy you can't upgrade in Binding of Isaac, so you have the same chance of reaching the last room on your first go as you have on your 100th one.

For a roguelike this is a really good game. You never know which randomly generated room will be deadly and which will give you an item that you have never seen before. As you go trough the game you will be unlocking new characters that have different stats. Some have less health, but more damage, others have more health, but less damage.

You won't easily get bored of this game. Every time when you'll die you'll tell yourself "just one more try" and end up playing hours on end. There is a goal to reach for and that makes you even more determined to try and try again.

I must warn though the story is quite gruesome and it's not the kind of game that I would buy for a child. Good fun for an adult though.

91

Only 5 bucks guys!

meltinghero | Feb. 27, 2014 | See all meltinghero's reviews »

Many curses and broken keyboards comes with this game. Only kidding, but you get my point. Binding of Isaac is an extremely challenging game, you will find yourself frustrated and often, wanting to quit the game, but you won't. Trust me, although frustrating this game is hell a lot of fun.

Binding of Isaac delivers dark humour and I find myself amused and chuckling at them. The games has randomized dungeon and the controls are easy to learn. On some runs you would find yourself having some godly item on just the first level and crap on others. That's the beauty of this game.

There are bosses at the end of every level, some are easy but most are challenging, there are also mini bosses which have their own very unique mechanics. The difficulty of the levels starts to pick up at level 3, and you would find yourself on the very edge of your seat, dodging bullets and monsters.

You would have a hard time finding a game as addicted and fun as The Binding of Isaac, especially at 5 dollars. What are you waiting for? Pick this game up now and prepare for tons of fun!

80

much loved rougelike

damienjameswebb | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

this was my fist dive into the world of rougelikes, and at times it was frustrating, but i loved every second of it.

The art style is the coolest thing about this game. it has a very hand drawn feel almost and it makes it feel very much like the old flash games the creator used to make. it needs proper controller support, but it does link you to a program to use if you wish to do so.

its a fast paced twin stick shooter basically with rpg-like elements almost... kinda...but not really. And its hard... like really hard. i've been playing since it first came out and i still can't get to the ending. however, it makes me want to play it more and more. the gameplay is easy enough to learn and it runs very well except for when there are a lot of enemies on screen at once moving around (but it takes quite a lot to do so). It wasn't until i downloaded the dlc that it started getting really good because before then the bosses were a little too repetitive, and the enemies were getting pretty predictable. wish there was a way to build your own levels to test your friends, or an online or co-op mode would be cool.

there is defiantly more ways to make this already great game even more great... but its still pretty great... yeah

90

Randomly generated rougelike

kontotestowe | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all kontotestowe's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is rouge like with totally randomly generated dungeons. The longer you play, the game gives you more different items and bosses. There is no the same game. Every time when you click "Start" you can be sure that it will be different rooms, enemies and items. Isaac is pretty nice but bad optimized production. I had no problems to learn to play it. The gameplay is pleasant and very comfortable. It's always fair with us. When we've died, we did it because of fails. It's easy to play but very hard to become master. I think DLC (Wrath of the Lamb) is mandatory to buy because it give you access to many bosses, rooms, items and characters.

93

Addicting with great replay value

fredward93 | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all fredward93's reviews »

I started this game thinking I could get a couple hours of entertainment for a low price. However, it is unbelievable how addicting this game gets after a few tries. It is really good at getting you to say "maybe just one more run". Each run is different from the one before with random rooms and items that either help or hurt your chances of getting to the next floor. This game is super fun and you will not regret spending the money on it.

87

Charming in a very gross way

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a unique action/adventure game about a miserable kid who has to face different surreal creatures fighting his way through the basement. It may not look like much, but the game is really addictive and insanely hard. You will die and die again just like in the good old platformers designed to eat up all your spare change. The artistic style of the game shows that you don't need at all to be realistic to disgust the players. Even though every moment of the game is gross and depressive somehow it still manages to be charming and lovable. I have to be honest, I didn't manage to finish the game so far but I would highly recommend it to anyone who is happy to face a challenge and is not grossed out easily.

96

The most simple addicting game

StelakisKer | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all StelakisKer's reviews »

Binding of Isaac is a rogue-like game with randomized dungeons and rewards with a pretty simple and easy gameplay. Ok. That's it. So, what's good about it you ask? I really don't know. What i do know is that it's the most addicting game i've tried in a while. It has a simple storyline with many (many) funny elements (like really a whole lot of them), and it just keeps you there. You just keep playing. You will die a lot. You will get angry. You will want to quit. You won't. You'll just keep playing like i did. Ok, i agree, it's kind of edgy and some people won't like the fact that this game is kind of insulting towards a certain religion. If you are that kind of person don't try this game. But if you aren't, like the rest of the billions of people out there, just try it out and have a lot of quality time playing a good game. The price is really good, ridiculously low if you find it on sale, like i did, and totally worth every buck. So stop reading this review and go buy this game!! Thank me (or blame me) later! I'm not giving the game a straight 100 score just because i suck and i haven't been able to win once after many hours of playing and a humiliating amount of deaths!

94

A very deep black hole for all your free time...

Fooughhy | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all Fooughhy's reviews »

I have put 120+ hours into this game (including the DLC though) which should be some kind of indication as to how much I like it!

It's a cheap and incredibly simple game with one of the most incredible incentives to make me keep playing this damn game.

It is a roguelike game, as in there is permadeath and you will have to start over from absolute scratch if you do die. That said, it's very easy to just jump back in as it doesn't take too long before you are at the same place you were before you died. But, if you do not like that grindy feel of roguelikes where you basically do the same thing over and over again, just with slightly tweaked variables (meaning monsters, items and room-layouts) then this is not a game for you.

But for this price, not even that is an excuse to keep you from getting it.

There is a DLC for this game which simply adds more of the same, that's it.

It adds rooms, monsters and items and also extends the game a bit, as in it takes a longer time, in a single playthrough, to complete the game.

90

Many Isaacs will be lost.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

This game is easily one of the best indie games I've ever played. It is hard at first but once you learn what the enemies do and unlock some things it becomes easier.

It doesn't take very long to complete a single play through but there is a lot of replayability and everything is randomized each time you play.

I also recommend buying the DLC (Wrath of the Lamb) because it adds about 70% more content to the game.

95

Very quality game, highly recomended buy

demonblades | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all demonblades's reviews »

This is going to be a conjoined review for both binding of isaac and the cheap dlc, wrath of the lamb. I have easily sunk 100 hours into the game and am only just starting to get bored of it. There are challenge runs, in-game ones and fan ones, both of them having difficulty and interest. There are lots of characters, random generation for floors, bosses, items, and just about everything else. The randomness and generosity of items cause many many interesting combinations, and a lot of unwinnable runs, such as the dreaded ipecac+mirror run, causing explosive vomit to curve back at you. the game is a great deal of fun and i highly recomend it, easily worth the full price, and and easy steal at low ones

86

Buy it on Sale

danymora131 | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all danymora131's reviews »

This game cost me 1.24 during the autumn sale, and I would probably say that this game was the best 1.24 I have spent in my life. This game is obviously very repetitive but has a lot of replayability because if you die you start all over from the first level. I have really enjoyed this game and I don't even get frustrated when I die because most of my deaths are my own fault and I accept that. The art style resembles that of super meat boy and it just adds to the game. In short, if you see on sale at any website, buy it because you almost certainly won’t regret it.

93

great little game

maddocks2379 | Dec. 21, 2013 | See all maddocks2379's reviews »

for such a cheap game this has sooo much replay value, its like a mix between zelda 1 and a rouge like game, random dungeons, items, bosses and 1 life and its game over.

the game is tricky but fun, it would be better if there were some explanation of items and control support without an extra download

86

The modern day rogue like leader

drakso | Dec. 16, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

A rogue like game with a very twisted sense of humor. Like all rogue like game, the game is very unforgiving and pretty hard to play. You go trough the floors of the main character's basement, fight creatures along the way and survive until the last floor. New floors are generated every time you lose and you start a new game, and that is what makes this game very addictive. There are also a lot of items witch you collect trough out the game and unlock by completing achievements. I recommend getting the DLC. It is dirt cheap, and it is a great addition to the game. It brings a new character to play, lot of new items, new floors and challenges.

83

A goddamn steal

Salty_Roy | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all Salty_Roy's reviews »

A couple of bucks, traded for a couple of hundred hours; what could go wrong? For those who still don't own the title, and are understandably on the fence, let us lay down the foundations first. The Binding of Isaac is a heavily inspired dungeon-crawler of the original 'The Legend of Zelda' (1986). The player is obliged to progressively enter a room and clear out every enemy haunting their path until they reach the boss room. Once defeated, the player descends to a lower level, until reaching the final boss. The game procures simple mechanics, with a number of heavy difficulty spikes at later levels.

This gameplay is definitely functional, but it is its themes and placeholder gimmick that take the cake. McMillen has crafted a devastatingly gorgeous (albeit sickening) art style to The Binding of Isaac. Dis-empowerment is fostered through the gag-inducing imagery, and Edmund's decision to employ a 'luck of the draw' randomised item system pushes player agency, as it creates indecision.

'Should I risk the next few rooms in the hopes that I've got enough hearts to tackle the boss? Or would it be wise to use up this item now, and gamble a throw of the dice that I can survive the boss at the end?'

Given the short runs and permanent death aspect,The Binding of Isaac demands quick-decisions and the expectation that you have experienced any obstacles it constantly drops on you in order to form tactics.

Make no mistake, the game's replay value is brutal, but a requirement to withstand. The reward is typically similar to videogames developed within the 1980s. Experience the unexpected, recollect your thoughts, and jump back in to reach a new game over screen again. Failure is learning, and McMillen will whip you so help him into finding your groove. You will get better, but this is the game's greatest leaning curve.

Yes, there are flaws: Game play can feel rather tedious when game progress does stall, which it will early on. Being an Adobe Flash game, glitches do naturally appear. Item mapping can occasionally be found floating on empty tiles, and bosses on occasion are no exception. I can attest to one instance of a game-breaking bug during a boss fight for further note. The lack of quick save is a major nuisance, and playing on a Mac means achievements are impossible to unlock without access to a Windows copy of the game.

Despite all this, the choice of items are refreshingly vast and reduce repetition of gameplay. In particular, I appreciate the cosmetic changes to your character as they attach and consume to your body also boast narrative and progressive value. They nod to the mutation and personality change Isaac possibly has incurred as toll as a simple desire to just playing well in the game. He can easily be compared to the enemies he endures by the conclusion of a full playthrough.

The art also just cannot be praised enough. It is quite possibly the main reason I own both the full steam version and physical copy. That and I picked it up on sale for approximately two dollars. The Binding of Isaac stands proud as an original concept that delivers anexperience paralleling its indie compatriots and eighties videogame nostalgia.

90

This game is insanely infuriating. But fun.

YugTaht | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all YugTaht's reviews »

As the title suggests, this game is infuriating. BUT - that's not to say that I haven't had hours of fun with it. Binding of Isaac is one of the best indie games that I've bought (actually, one of the first and reason why I'm now into indie games). The animations of the game are very cute and fun, the story is unusual and kinda twisted (exactly what they were going for) and the narration is perfect for the game setting (beginning/ending cutscene). Controls take a few seconds to get used to, there is no way to change the key bindings (I don't think) so you just have to get used to it or stop playing. I got used to it, and once I got past accidentaly pressing all the keys out of panic, it was fine. 2D shooter, where you run from room to room shooting monsters ranging from house flies to a huge mutation of pink mass. There is no real strategy, until you learn all the items (there are lots) and pick ups (also lots) and selectively use each one in specific senarios. You just go and shoot - no save points -- you go as far as you can. Each room (and thus playthrough) are never the same, monster in one room may not necessarily be in the same room or even the same level! I especially fell in love with the soundtrack of the game and soon found myself to be the owner of the soundtrack and listening to it on a regular basis. Once you beat the game, you unlock hidden levels, furthering the replay value (and of course, fury). If this game is on sale, I recommend picking it up. Check out the gameplay before you purchase and commit, as I know some who got it but didn't like it and thus it collects dust in their virtual games library.

95

Incredibly hard but entirely enjoyable

sunshine_avis | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all sunshine_avis's reviews »

I am not really a fan of top-down games but I bought this after hearing so much about it. The controls are really very simple (no tutorial necessary) but the gameplay itself is very hard- you will die an awful lot of times (and also feel very guilty for doing so because the diary page that comes up is a bit sad). What's great about this game is the randomized levels; I died about a million times before making it to the second level and it was once a boring experience. The randomized levels keeps it fresh and the game itself keeps you on your toes. There are various items you can find, some are hilarious (like Mom's pad, nearly died laughing when I found it). There are also a variety of interesting characters to unlock. The story is a definitely on the disturbing side but overall, definitely a great game!

90

Tough as Nails, but Worth it

faerie241 | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all faerie241's reviews »

I picked this game up for $1.50 around a year ago on an impulse buy, and since then, it has skyrocketed to become one of my most-played games on my PC. The game's charm is in its simplicity. It is remarkably easy to just pick up the controls and play immediately without any pesky tutorial sequences that plague most modern games. While the game does typically run pretty smoothly, I do sometimes run into an issue with the controls sometimes feeling a little loose and arbitrary. Isaac has a tendency to shoot the wrong direction, which probably has to do with the engine it runs on.

One word of warning, though: The Wrath of the Lamb DLC makes the game a lot harder, in my belief, so beat the main game before adding the DLC.

100

You'll love it!

taskaidomi6 | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all taskaidomi6's reviews »

I'm a huge fan of Edward McMillen's work and this is just one of many of his great works! The story is kind of brutal and I love it, also the game has great art for an Indie game! It's definitely worth it since it's not just great, but cheap too! It's a great game play when you've got spare minutes or just feel like playing the game. Also there's a DLC out for the game which adds a lot of new things to the game like new enemies and items! So I recommend you to pick that one up too!

98

Nearly perfect.

cordellv | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all cordellv's reviews »

This game is amazing. With Edmund McMillen's amazing creepy/gross art, a wonderfully woeful story involving religion, matricide, and courage, and a great zelda styled rogue-like playstyle, this game is just everything you could want. The only negative thing I can even say about it is not even the game's fault: very rarely the game will slow down a tiny bit because of it being a flash game. But with it being a flash game, almost any operating system can support it. I love it, and you should givr it a try!

97

Say Goodbye to Your Life

Wiesler | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

From a top down perspective, you explore Isaac's basement while shooting enemies with your tears. The aesthetics seem Legend of Zelda inspired, but everything else is a McMillen original. The game is highly addictive, but simple: you can only take so many hits, and you will be stacked up against a large amount of enemies, so it will take skillful hands to dodge attacks and send back tears. Where the game really shines though is in its roguelike elements. Randomized levels, enemies, and items will fill out the basement each time you play. Items and characters are unlocked from finding secrets throughout the game (and there are a ton). Once an item is unlocked, there is now a chance that it will drop from a chest, boss, or appear in a store. All the random elements, and steep challenge keep the game interesting. You will probably die a ton, but each play feels refreshing.

I have, I think, played this game more than any other in my library, and I'm nowhere near "completing" it. This is an incredible value for your money, and you should definitely get the DLC. Don't wait for sale, just buy it and wonder how you were living without it.

91

Disturbing and hard as nails rogue-like

commanderhavoc | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

Well its not often we get games like The Binding of Isaac where you actually feel a bit sick whenever you see the horrific abominations that Isaac is facing in the basement and beyond. And this is NOT the type of game where you have multiple lives either, if you lose all your health and die, you will have to start all over from scratch and in an entirely newly rendered world. Oh yes, this game will keep you on your toes, even if you find some really good items that enhance Isaac's health, attack, defence and such, the monsters are extremely relentless and some might even play a dirty trick or two on you And as stated before, it is a very disturbing game, so if you have a weak stomach or are faint at heart, then you might wanna pass this one up as the imagery, enviroment and enemies get more and more disturbing as you descend deeper and deeper.

91

Great Indie Game

Matthew_Lumie | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

Although this game looks a tad bit similar to web based 2d side-scrollers, I assure you it has much more going for it then that. As others have said it is rogue-style so you have to restart (no checkpoints) each time you die. Isaac is an adorable yet sad protagonist because his mother wishes to hurt and even murder him for God. The story is fun but what struck me as particularly unique about this game is it's maps are always fresh, and so are the enemies. I've poured a lot of time into The Binding of Isaac and I still don't get bored with this tremendously fun Indie experience

79

More fun that a box full of ferrets

Joeru | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Joeru's reviews »

Binding of Isaac is a roguelike action game, featuring the usual features of randomly generated levels and permadeath. This gives the game a high level of replayability.

The game is a smooth experience with fun combat and interesting puzzles. The art style is gritty and the plot is twisted to say the least.

Fans of roguelikes and action adventure games alike should get their moneys worth out of this title. Depending on your luck and skill you can sink anywhere from 10 mins to an hour or so in a play session and it is always a fun experience.

If you are looking for something unique and a little outside the mold in the roguelike genre I cannot recommend this title enough.

If you own the game and don't already I suggest picking up wrath of the lamb or if you are buying for the first time I suggest picking it up right away.

Enjoy :)

96

Indie Hit Roguelike

CappinCanuck | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all CappinCanuck's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a roguelike 3-d scrolling quad directional platformer. You can play through an infinite amount of times and your progression largely depends upon learning the maps, tricks, items and bosses. That's not to say you'll get bored any time soon. The level of challenge is high and it'll have you coming back for more. The setting is intense, fun and deep with a fun but nightmarish story to fit the dark mood and punishing action. The cost to hours played ratio is off the charts and worth everyone's attention.

85

Binding of Isaac Review

KatanaBladeNeko | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all KatanaBladeNeko's reviews »

Binding of Isaac. It's a rare game, a cheap game that we can play for hours and hours on end without ever being bored. I mean, sure, you're gonna get bored, but it's still gonna last. The Graphics are simple, but really works with Binding of Isaac. I feel that it needed that cartoony feel, music is also good, as well, with it all being composed by Danny Baranownsky, who is equal with New World Revolution for best soundtrack in my opinion. Gameplay is simple, wasd to move, arrow keys to shoot, (you can use the mouse as well, but it's only useful for one item in the game, which I'm not sure if its in this version or the Wrath of the Lamb version.) E or Shift to use a bomb, space to use a special item, and Q to use a Card or Pill item. The game is also random generated, which is its biggest appeal. Since the game is strictly permadeath, playing the same level over and over again is gonna get irritating. Now that the game is random generated, it'll be less of a pain. There are 6 characters, but when the Halloween update hit, it turned into 7, and if you have the DLC, Wrath of the Lamb, it becomes 8. Stages are also numerous. About 5 (rough estimate,) which I'm not gonna spoil. Enemies are intuitive, but I do have one complaint. In a specific boss, the boss is overpowered, but in the boss' upgraded version, she is easier. Fortunetly, when that version gets upgraded, it's a challenge. But once again, I'm not gonna spoil it. Story is kinda rubbish, however. Even though it's based off some of the christian bible, it wasn't the best. Verdict: Graphics: 9/10 Story: 6/10 Gameplay: 8/10 Replability: 10/10 Cost: 8/10 Difficulty: 8/10 Music: 10/10 Originality: 9/10 Download: 8/10 Verdict: 9/10

Rating: 85.

Good game, solid all around, except for story.

90

Mass of fun

kwadracik | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all kwadracik's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a rogue-like game. You can play it infinite times. It's randomly generating, so your game session is always unique. Story in The Binding of Isaac' s story tells about Isaac's mom, who wants to kill her son Isaac.She thinks, that God wants it. Isaac runs away to the cellar. And here game begins. Isaac' s basic weapon are... tears. He is shooting to his enemies with tears! You challenge different monsters and bosses. This game is very hard. Very important point of the game are items, which are changing your gameplay. How it works? In the example, when you find a game console, it turns Isaac into Pac-man-like crature. All in all, The Binding of Isaac is worth it's value. About 5 euro for infinite game is very good deal. Go and buy it.

100

This is probably the best indie game

grhakerck | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all grhakerck's reviews »

I already knew this game is great before I bought it. But I didn't know this game will block my schedule for so many hours. When you start to play, you are probably just dying. But when you fight the same enemies over and over again, they become predictable to you and you suddenly find this game easy. But the developer took care of everything. You never get bored because every time you beat Mom, the game becomes a little harder and more and more enemies unlock. This way you never really beat the game. But if you do, there is DLC Wrath of the Lamb that guaratees to make you busy for at least another 100 hours. So, basically, you shoud buy that game if you get bored with other games. The price is low, so you won't regret.

97

A must have, for everyone

commascientist | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all commascientist's reviews »

 Once you can see past the newgrounds.com art style and the tons and tons of poop, piss and blood EVERYWHERE, this game is incredible. The roguelike random configuration of rooms, items and powerups provide a completely unique experience every run, making the replayability basically infinite.
 Armed with only Isaacs tears and 1 life (yep, permadeath!) you'll take on HOARDS of enemies and bosses in intense bullet hell style. You'll die. You'll die again. You'll die A LOT. Each death honing your skills while taking you deeper and deeper into Isaac's hauntingly twisted world... which only unlocks more items, powers, and enemies for you to encounter on your future runs (randomly of course!).
 All in all, this game is a BEAST. The dark imagery, intense bullet hell action, insane roguelike randomness; easily one of the best indie games of all time, and certainly a classic for years to come.

100

Must Play Indie

jesterx7769 | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all jesterx7769's reviews »

Binding of Isaac is a fantastic game. It is an amazing plat former type game (it isn’t really a plat former but I don’t know what else to call it). The game is of rogue type structure which means when you die you have to start all the way from the beginning. While at first this is annoying it quickly becomes part of the fun. The game also has some humor bits to it and lots power ups to make each run more fun from the last. I am giving it 100 because I cannot think of things the game I can do better, it achieves everything it strived for especially for an Indie game.

100

PERFECTION!

ArobeeTV | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all ArobeeTV's reviews »

This is easily one of the best games ever made. What other game can you get hundreds (or even thousands) of hours out of for just a few bucks??? It's challenging but not so much that you want to pull your hair out, it has an interesting story, the fights are all fun, and the music is fantastic! Edmund and Florian made one awesome game, especially when you consider the limitations of the crappy version of Flash used. MUST BUY!

92

Fun and addictive

Skyrao | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all Skyrao's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is simple to learn but difficult to master. It feels great when you find an item that goes really well with other items that you have and is quite fun when you try and make a failed run work. I have spent a lot of time with Isaac and I have enjoyed all of it.

90

Quality Roguelike

magusonline | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

This was one of the first "new" generation roguelikes I picked up since Nethack. While I did not understand a few of the "references" like the coathanger (which was later explained to me by a friend).

The game stays true to it's procedurally generated punishment.I haven't beaten the game yet and I've already clocked in over 30 hours into the game. There is a wiki out there that tells you what everything does, but it's fun to just experiment and try to figure it out yourself!

The controls are good, but sometimes it feels a little gummy. Other than that, great game, lots of replayability and one of the better roguelikes out there for the modern gamer.

96

An indie game that you must have

ADUAN | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

I am a fan of Rougelike games, and when I saw this, I was initially skeptical, but after I bought and played it, I changed my mind.

This game is hard. The levels are randomly generated, so each time you play will be different. The enemies can either be trivial or frustrating to deal with. The items yo can get can both help or hinder your progress, as each item will give a unique feature which might help your current play style.

The art style, while initially nauseating for me, is unique and helps the game to set its rather grim and black humor and horror. The enemies you encounter all seem to each tell their own tale, so to speak. The music is also memorable, with the level themes giving the game its atmosphere.

Overall, The Binding of Issac is a game that you should definitely get.

100

Best indie game?

CradleOfCorpses | Oct. 17, 2013 | See all CradleOfCorpses's reviews »

This is hands down one of the best indie games that I've had the pleasure of playing. There is so much replayability, it's unreal. The random spawning rooms, random upgrades, random weapons, no two playthroughs are the same. And unlike a lot of games released these days The Binding of Isaac is challenging, as there are no save slots and when you die that's it, Game Over... Start again. Add in the fact that there are over 10 endings, which all add to the game time. If you want a bit more of a challenge I'd also recommend buying the Wrath of Lamb dlc. This adds more rooms, more bosses, more items and increases the challenge tenfold.

93

An Action Packed Rogue like Romp Into the Basement

Nigee | Oct. 14, 2013 | See all Nigee's reviews »

This is a rather macabre game, and is balanced out by subtle humor and solid game play. Your first few play throughs may not get you very far into the cellar, but as you learn attack patterns, and learn to be more selective about your choices, you will find yourself reaching Mother's sweet embrace almost every time. The variety of weapons are what I loved. Sometimes you get to shoot lasers, other times you get to piss off your enemies (really, you get some deadly urine). For the price you can expect to spend a good amount of time upon first opening it up, and will most likely catch yourself playing a round or two from time to time, so it is definitely worth the buy.

96

Zelda meets horror

Hephestos | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all Hephestos's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is an adventure game with randomly generated levels. You have to collect a large variety of different power-ups to progress in the game, as it is kind of difficult, especially in the beginning, because of the challenging enemies you encounter as well as the permadeath feature. If you played and liked the early zelda games and you love to collect items in order to slay your enemies with your... tears... then you should risk a look

95

Simple genius

Elfangorax | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all Elfangorax's reviews »

This game will infuriate with death after death and, just like the "good old days" of video games, it will fling you back to the very beginning every time. One of the real strokes of genius here is that the selection of powerups available increases as you continue to persevere, making each playthrough less arduous than the last.

Eventually, you will triumph over Mother, and it will be a sweet victory. Buy this game.

100

Absolutely a diamond

DarkGolbez | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all DarkGolbez's reviews »

This game was made on the side by the developer. He never thought anyone would actually like it, as he was just making it for himself for fun. It turned out to be the game I have more hours spent on Steam with than any other game in my almost 300-game library. It has so much variety in enemies, bosses, weapons, play-style-changing-power-ups, that every play is very different. What separates it from almost all other rogue games is that skill can overcome some bad luck in your current run. No matter what you end up with, you always have a real chance if you're good enough. Special, special game.

90

Incredibly fun and addicting

noctone | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all noctone's reviews »

I always end up buying a lot of games, and then not playing them - or not playing them for long. I thought Binding of Isaac would end up this way, but I've already played almost 20 hours of it and I don't intend on stopping playing any time soon.

The game play can be frustrating at first since it can be very difficult at times, and sometimes you might have to find the right items in order to succeed. However, playing the game with the many different variations of items you can find is something that also adds to the replayability of The Binding of Isaac. The art, music, and other sounds are also great to watch and listen to.

I would recommend this game to just about anyone.

90

Innocence Lost...Poor Isaac

Subj3ctLambda | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all Subj3ctLambda's reviews »

Basically, this game is an extremely fun game to play coming from Edmund McMillan(Super Meat Boy). Musical score is great which plays according to the level Isaac is on and changes in Boss Fights to a faster track to get you pumped up! The gameplay revolves around survival where you try to make Isaac more powerful by finding/buying certain collectibles which will stay with him throughout that particular playthrough! Isaac's primary mode of attack is "tear drops"! Yes..that's right! Also, if you die you have to start from the beginning! Like a 2D Dark Souls!

The enemies are plentiful and of great variety! They may be ranged ,close contact, stationary, moving, homing in on the player and such combinations! Certain collectibles may increase Isaac's Health, Damage, Speed and other attributes...and some may even decrease them! You must basically kill every enemy in the room to open any exits which lead to other rooms! You must find your way to the Boss room and defeat the boss in order to progress to the next level below!

The game looks very cartoony, yet has a horror theme with plenty of its mutated/diseased enemies! it makes many references to The Bible as well as to Edmund McMillan's previous games like Super Meat Boy! The game even hints at Isaac's own issues with parental negligence, bullying, fear of falls etc! Overall, it has a deeper, darker meaning hidden beneath the surface! I urge you to find out for yourself!!!

100

More bang for your buck

Xillion | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

You play as Isaac and your job is to defeat the monsters that come at you. If you fail, you have to start over from the beginning. When i actually played the game, it was really fun. The only downside is that there are no save slots and you have to start over from the beginning. But as you continue playing, it will gradually get easier and more rewarding. I'm only 20 hours in and i didn't even finish the game yet. This is game worth picking up!

85

Simple, but well implemented

jrojas28 | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all jrojas28's reviews »

A nice game which has its charm in its simplicity. There are no amazing and big battles, tough there are some big guys out there. Can remind you of a sort of zelda-like thing? Altough it cant be considered a puzzle game. Also, the addition of tons of items to get your character bonus stats makes it entertaining to try and explore for new things. Playing it is really gratifying, so I would highly recommend it

92

Hours of fun

Xillion | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a dungeon crawler. It's similar to the dungeon design in Zelda. You have to navigate through difficult levels to actually finish the game. If you die, you have to start over from the beginning and there are no save slots. It is hard, but as you play, it will start to get easier and more rewarding. For 5$, I'd say this game is worth it. If you fail you just try and try again. Even though I have't finished the game myself, it's still a lot of fun. The developers have outdone themselves. It's a game you should really try.

95

A Unique Roguelike

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

Roguelikes are not like this. They usually do not have an emphasis on shooting, yet this is exactly what The Binding of Isaac does. The emphasis here is aiming, exploration, learning what items do, and getting to multiple endings. It's very minimalist, yet it tells you so much. This game is like a movie you watch in your childhood that you think is really happy and fun, but in reality, this game is incredibly dark through certain subtleties and blatantly obvious details. Each level is proceduraly generated, so you'll never have the same experience twice. Games are usually less than 30 minutes so it's pretty fast paced. One might find spending over a hundred hours and still find it refreshing. Overall, great game, great sense of progression. I'd highly recommend buying it.

93

A nice little indie which'll keep you playing for hours.

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

Gameplay-wise, the game is pretty simple: defeat the different foes in the various rooms to get to the boss, then defeat it and move on to the next floor. Doing it, though, becomes harder and harder the further you go. But fear not, there are various items you'll be getting along the way which will make you stronger! (Disclaimer: some items will actually make you weaker.) This may sound simple, but with hundreds of items to pick up, randomly generated rooms with tons of different foes, this game will probably keep you playing for a while until you can get to the last boss. It's also a lot of fun all the way through, so make sure you pick it up!

75

Simple yet entertaining

dkpos | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all dkpos's reviews »

Simple and fun.

I was very skeptic of this game until I tried. Something about the comedic story and the addicting gameplay steals minutes or even hours from you before you can notice. The action is difficult but always entertaining. The randomly generated dungeons is great, keeps things new and exciting every play-through.

Overall a great value buy.

80

Very Nice indie

simodeso | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

This game is very nice, there are tons and tons of items to discover that gives a different bonus to your character isaac (there are other caracthers that you will unlock doing things like completing the game ecc.) It's fantastic and it's very very hard! maybe the journey to the boss is simple when you will become experienced , but when you have to fight the boss, your mom, (no i'm not kidding) you will have to use 100% of your skills. Low price Great fun.. Buy this game!

100

I LOVE THIS GAME!

friendbear | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all friendbear's reviews »

This game is truly amazing. It is very challenging and makes you want to play more.

PROS: It is very simple. It has a very nice and original back story. Graphics are simple and easy on the eye. It is very challenging. It is a 2D not puzzle game. Nice and interesting music. Many levels. Many bosses. Very different each time you play it. Simple controls. Even the wost gamer in the world can play this.

CONS: Its challenging, and some people might give up very fast.

I learned about this game by watching let's plays and I loved it at first sight. I will encourage anyone who loves a 2d Shooter game to play this. It is a fantastic game.

86

Binding - Prepare to die ed

Shanti | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

This game so hard but addiction, you hooked on fonics. Gameplay nice, graphics nice, some stutter random on some computer. Story you kill in game mother but many secret on way. Very long game with many modes and new game +
Recommend- Pick up or 'mother' kill you

85

Isaac

fluiscs | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all fluiscs's reviews »

This is a game with a simple but striking story. "Your mother believes she can hear the voice of God calling your sacrifice to prove her faith, knowing her intentions you run away to the basement where you find a dangerous dungeon full of creatures that are trying to kill you."

The game has a great gameplay and in order to know the whole history of the game you'll need to play it twice or even three times more. The game's difficulty is based on the appearance of random enemies, furthermore you'll have to start from the beginning every time you die or when you turn the game on. There are random objects, random enemies, random dungeons, everything depends on luck. Thanks to the variety of objects and enemies it isn't as repetitive as other games.

Although the graphics are simple, they are very well made, with a disturbing style characterized by a lot of blood and strange enemies.

The gameplay is simple but funny. This is a game in which you'll want to spend many hours. It is difficult but addictive. It is a challenge in its purest form.

I really recommend this game, although it can be frustrated on several occasions, it's really funny.

61

Different

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

This game certainly is Indie, that's for sure. It's different, with a unique graphic and gameplay style, it genuinely is unlike anything on the market. It's quite a tough game to beat, and the levels are randomly generated- so there is pretty much endless replayability. I'd recommend it.

80

Great, But Tough

narwhalninja224 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all narwhalninja224's reviews »

For such a low price, it's easy to pick up this little game. But this is a kind of game that is not for everyone. It's great that the levels are randomly generated, so you'll never get bored. However, a game like takes practice. I still find myself rage quitting from time to time. But still a great game with lots of content.

82

Weird and Lovely

Nova4 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Nova4's reviews »

When I heard about this game from a friend, I hardly can not belive that someone could thing that this was a good game, for all those creepy stuff and those weirds controls... but when you get use to it... is really addictive and awesome... I mean... The story is simple and funny, I do love the intro, the art is beatiful at this own way... and the music is sublime... all mix tougther to inmerse you in a great, memorable and funny journey. This game is hard you need to be smart, learn and have luck to beat it, but is so satisfactory to beat it, that you will try to beat it again right away.

80

Biblical Briliance

Jammywolf | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all Jammywolf's reviews »

Graphics: Very stylised, nice graphics. Although the art type doesn't appeal to everyone if you like the pictures you see, you know you will like the graphics. Sound: Good sounds, and soundtrack. Nothing mind blowing but solid. Reliability: I have never, or heard of anyone who has, had bugs with this game. Replay Value: It's a rogue-like, and is does so fantastically, it is a different game every time you play. Story: Brilliant story, that gets very creepy at times. Gameplay: The gameplay is very repetitive, but that doesn't make it bad .There are enough items that the game have variation and stays fresh. All the biblical, and satanic references give the game a distinct flavour, that very few games have managed to capture.

90

Hard, Funny, Fun

bwrussell | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

This is a tough game to review, being relatively simple and procedurally generated so first a description. In it's most basic sense this is a Rouge-like (perma-death) dungeon crawler. The controls are that of a twin stick shooter, controlling movement on one and your "arrows" on the other. Your goal is to make it through six dungeons, each procedurally generated leading to a completely different play though each time, defeating a boss at the end of each level. Along the way you'll face a large variety of enemies and hazards, make some tough decisions, and in true Team Meat fashion get frustrated only to eagerly try again.

The themes in this game are pretty taboo in the video game industry but somehow Isaac manages to use them in a way that shouldn't offend or upset anyone that isn't looking to be offended. In fact it's often down right funny, albeit in a kind of dark, satirical way. The art style looks very good and it's a great detail how each time you pick up changes the appearance of your character in some small, or large, way.

While the game is hard, it is also fair. Enemies follow the rules of the world and you are rewarded for multiple play throughs with knowledge that will get you further next time. Speaking of learning, the way this game teaches you is subtle but effective. At some point you'll realize you've become significantly better simply by learning about the world you play in.

I would urge you to not look up any items, cards, or enemies until you can consistently make it deep into the game. Learning what various items do and how enemies behave is a big part of the experience and is where a lot of the humor is hidden. That being said, when you start consistently making to the last couple of dungeons it would take a ton of time to learn every item in this brute force time. At this point looking up item effects and stats will keep you from becoming overly frustrated.

In the end The Binding of Isaac is a must play (and play, and play, and put down, and pick up,and play, and play some more). The price is terrific, especially given the endless content in this game and it's just one of those indie gems that everyone but you has already played. You should do something about that.

75

Harder than it looks

nudeood | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all nudeood's reviews »

I bought this game because it's a low price and I simplistic, so I thought it would be good for a laptop as an on-the-go game. In some ways it's prefect, the randomly generated levels and super-simple controls make it easy to hop in and have a 15 minutes of fun without having to get 'into' the game. The art style is an intriguing of cute and disturbing, and it's great fun to acquire new objects that change the physical appearance of the character - a feature that keeps you coming back until you've seen all of them. The game's only drawbacks (for me personally), are its difficulty and level system. The game is purposefully difficult, and a death results in you being reset to the very first level of the game. While this isn't necessarily a bad thing, it means that to actually get to later levels or complete the game you would have to sit for hours under complete concentration - not something I would want to do on a game I bought to play on-the-go for short periods of time

69

hard

NinjaCatz | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all NinjaCatz's reviews »

This is defiantly a very annoying and tough game to play But when you get used to it, you will be addicted and wont be able to ditch your own computer screen. This Indie action packed game takes place where you take the roll of a boy by the name of \issac who was scared of his mother for reasons, resolving to hide in his own torturous basement.

90

Crazy genius from TEAM MEAT

BEEFSTEW | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all BEEFSTEW's reviews »

Writing a review for this game is pretty hard, the concept just seems insane but once you play a few games (and inevitably die) the hooks will be in! Escaping his homicidal Mother by fleeing to the basement, Isaac has to fight his way through randomly generated levels of disturbing monsters and bosses. With tears his only weapon to begin with you steadily arm Isaac with bombs, items that increase damage/range/speed/amount of tears and much more add ons that physically change the appearance of Isaac as you progress. There are challenges, characters to unlock and a lot of items to collect. Because the levels and loot are randomly generated the replayability of this game is huge. The controls are simple, WASD to move and arrow keys to fire, space bar for special items and shift for bombs so anyone can pick up and play. For the price it's a steal and it doesn't take a monster pc to run, so everyone should play, unless you're squeamish that is...

92

Stupid and funny

Gojko | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

The authors of morbid game Super Meat Boy this time is coming to us with another title with again morbid content, but also a great deal of game-play.

Binding of Isaac puts you in the role of a boy whose mother try to correct his son by listening to the voice of God from their "sinful" to exorcise the devil. Banned him from all pleasures and things in life, she decide to listen god again and to kill her son. Small Isaac seeing what's coming to him fleeing to the basement and there is the beginning of his adventure. Isaac your tears kill his opponents and making a lot of blood stains everywhere.

At the end of the of each level Isaac confronts the one sin God presented in an grossness creatures. The game works on the principle of random levels so that everyone will next play will be different. Number of additions that you can upgrade weapons and ISAAC tears is huge.

All in all, the game deserves to have in your collection as it will make your reward great fun.

84

Interesting Game

nightassassin1 | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

So this game is pretty interesting. It took on a theme that most gaming companies are afraid to try, deranged religious person. Basically this young kid Isaac is forced to flee into the basement from his mother when she is given the task to murder him from god. This is a dark and touchy theme for many. The game is a low graphics over head shooter. The goal is to fight your way to the lowest level of the basement by killing what seems to be demons and possibly Isaac's deformed siblings. The game works similarly from other short overhead shooters, however this one is packed full of different weapons and items, more so than I have ever seen in a game such as this. The game is quite addicting for a short time, but becomes repetitive after a while. I played for about 3 hours the first time and went back for another 40 minutes the next week and haven't played since. It is a good game and well made, but it lacked on the replay ability side for me. I guess I just beat it too fast. Even though I ran through it easily, it gets a good rating in my book as the theme and story was pretty great and the game play is smooth.

Some information that can give you an idea about the graphics is it is like a hand drawn, then computer enhanced setup for characters and items with 2d rooms. The graphics settings does not go into HD quality.

86

Never Ending

airbuffet | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all airbuffet's reviews »

I've played for hours and I died countless times but always try again. This game has an endless amount of things to do that always re-playability, with items of all kinds so that every game is different, that are many things to see and try.

Their levels are random and enemies that can be found in them but it is not about that, but even combining levels. I've played for hours and I have not yet completed so I recommend it as a very complete game and gives many hours of fun at a low cost.

95

Theres a reason people play this still on Twitch

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all theunknowned's reviews »

Isaac and Spelunky are the forerunners of the current roguelike speed run titles. Like Spelunky, Isaac is a difficult roguelike title where the simple aim of the game is making it to the end of the game. The catch. You must face the demonic forces of your mothers basement. The game pokes alot of fun with Light Hearted Demons and pokes fun at biblical themes. The gameplay is like Old-school Zelda. There are 100's of unique powerups and the randomly generated levels are MORE MORE MORE MORE MORE than likely to keep you immersed for hours upon hours to come. A truly fun title with hours of replayability that only gets BETTER as you keep playing. You wont regret purchasing this!

79

Disturbing but good

michalmichal | July 30, 2013 | See all michalmichal's reviews »

Binding of Isaac is very difficult and doesn't even allow you to save your game. But the gameplays are supposed to be short, maybe 15-30 minutes each, so instead of reloading you just start again. And it's very easy to die here. It's like a roguelike, but not set in a traditional fantasy setting. Instead you guide a little boy, Isaac, throughout the world hidden under his mother's house. And the world is full of disturbing creatures - attacking flies, jumping spiders, bleeding kids, mutants and such. Then there are bosses that you need to defeat before moving one level deeper. Fortunately there are many power-ups and enhancements that you will pick up during your exploration, that will make survival slightly (and I mean slightly) easier. Replayability is almost infinite with randomly generated levels and additional unlockable characters.

82

Simply amazing!

greasysun | July 27, 2013 | See all greasysun's reviews »

I barely buy indie games,but when i've watched gameplay of "The Binding of Isaac" it catched my eye with it's unique gameplay and artstyle.

The game's levels are randomly-generated,therefore you wouldn't expect what's gonna happen when you get in another room or what boss you would meet next,which also what makes the game even more exciting.

Not to mention it's replay-value,you can just play this game for months and months but never get bored! The amount of challenges you can do,characters you can unlock and items you can collect will keep you up for months!

This is one of the best indie games i've ever played,and I really recommend it.

75

Just one more try...

mahon | July 26, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

I never thought I would like this game so much. It has everything that should make you hate this game. Simplistic visuals, childishly easy concept, offensive style and theme, very high difficulty, limited in-game descriptions of items, and even no option of saving the game.

But after a few replies I found myself hardly able to stop playing. Despite (or maybe thanks to) the difficulty, the game is a prime example of the 'just one more try' syndrome. It's not a true roguelike, but shares many concepts with this genre: no saving, if you die - you die permanently, randomly generated dungeons, random items, random enemies, development of your character.

If you're not easily offended by biblical references, poops everywhere and other disgusting things like vomiting or dripping blood - try it. You may like it just as much as I do.

90

So addictive!

Nivear | July 21, 2013 | See all Nivear's reviews »

It's not hard to talk up this game, and screenshots don't do it any justice for how fun it is to play. You go through multiple dungeon levels that progressively get larger, as the enemies get more diverse and harder, collecting items, trinkets and using keys to open chests and doors. There are hundreds of different effects and some are desirable while others are risky. The random element gives this game huge value as replaying it always offers something different and it is always fun while remaining challenging!

88

Epic gory game that never ceases to amaze us

spycid | July 21, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you like games where you can spend hours with unique levels and gameplay, then this is the game for you. You have to play to understand that this game has almost endless levels as each level is generated randomly so you are never playing the same level twice.

80

Flawed Little Gem

NucularS | July 20, 2013 | See all NucularS's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is bloody, cruel, and fun. Randomly generated levels and power-ups, as well as the cruel but somehow endearing storyline, ensure lots of replayability and will keep you coming back for more. The hardest challenge here, however, are not the monsters – it is the unnecessarily clunky and disorienting controls which give you 4 keys to move and 4 keys to shoot. But if you can master that inconvenience, you are in for a surprise as you boldly rush the next chamber. If you die, it is game over and you have to start from scratch, but that is all part of the tense, nail-biting, cruelly hard or obnoxiously easy, randomly generated fun.

90

So many hours poured into this game...

Dweezy | July 19, 2013 | See all Dweezy's reviews »

The beauty of this game is it's rogue-like game-play. Each play-through will be different from your last. It's a little bit of strategy, luck and skills to play this game. When you start out, you might be overwhelmed by the amount of powerups, items and monsters there are in the game but the game is made in a way that you learn with each play-through. Some games are short and some are extremely long. This game has HUGE replayability and kept me playing for hours on end.

91

Money Well Spent

F4T4LV0iD | July 5, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

This is one of the rare instances where I went in to purchasing a game with low expectations, and coming away totally happy. For anyone who played the classic 'The Legend of Zelda' for NES will be right at home with this game. The game plays a lot like the dungeon levels of the original Legend of Zelda, but the map layouts each time you play the game are randomized, as are the enemies in each room, and the items in the treasure rooms.

The number of items you can unlock and gather through your adventure are absolutely mind-boggling, as well as characters to unlock, each with their own unique attributes. The game kept besting me time and time again, yet I always kept coming back for more, with over 120 hours clocked and counting. For anyone such as myself that likes to 100% complete a game, this is the game for you to keep you busy for a good while.

This game is hands down the best value I got for my money ever with an online game purchase and I have zero regrets. My only warning would be that the game may have a disturbingly graphic and gory imagery for some sensitive to that kind of thing, but aside from that you shouldn't be disappointed.

96

The best $5 game ever

666satan666 | July 5, 2013 | See all 666satan666's reviews »

This game is one of the most difficult experiences I've had as a gamer - and most rewarding. The art style fits in perfectly with his other works; everything looks adorable. The gameplay is smooth and solid, and the replayability is high - if you can manage to beat it! This game is incredibly difficult, but worth the investment. I highly recommend it.

86

An evil but entertaining game

stalze | July 5, 2013 | See all stalze's reviews »

This game is perfect when you feel like you quickly want to play a game without having to focus to much on story but rather a simple story with some simple gameplay. The enemies are interesting and the diversity of them helps spice the game up. My favorite part about this game is the pickups scattered around the map and its treasure rooms. Theese really add to the game experience and help the game become quite a lot better. The game can tend to be rather hard at times and a bit cruel since you have to start over all the way from the start everytime you die. A nice game that you can jump into and have fun in right away. This game is definitely worth checking out and is ideal for times when you quickly want to play some games.

92

Prepare to waste a lot of time

twisterga | July 4, 2013 | See all twisterga's reviews »

Binding of Isaac is a great game in which you go through multiple rooms to get to the boss. Every room is random, so you can spend lots of hours on this game.

80

Brilliant.

wire306 | July 3, 2013 | See all wire306's reviews »

A friend bought me this game during a sale a while back and ever since I haven't been able to stop playing it. The game is your basic room to room game with the occasional boss fight here and there with a load of awesome items thrown around. The game is very creative with its artwork and gives you a really retro feel while you are playing. My favorite aspect has got to be the replay ability factor. If you have 20 minutes to spare before work then why not play this awesome game?

91

Real bang for your buck

Salamander42 | July 2, 2013 | See all Salamander42's reviews »

This game has given me plenty of hours of entertainment with incredibly addicting gameplay and reasonable challenge. With dozens of items to choose from, you can tailor your play style with items that work well together... if you can find them. Bosses are unique and varied and the game gets harder as you beat it. There is a lot to experiment with in The Binding of Isaac, and I had never felt a moment where I regretted buying it. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants a cheap, addictive, easy to play difficult to master game.

87

Brilliant

Razzek | June 18, 2013 | See all Razzek's reviews »

This is how i can sum up The Binding Of Isaac in one word. In a few more words it is as follows: It is a game that will punish you for not being quick or smart with your gameplay. It is a game that will constantly try to kill you every time you try to play. It is a game that will take "unlucky" to a whole new level. And it is a game that i wouldn't have any other way. I always find myself playing BOI in-between other games that i am playing because it is great at filling that little space of time that you have with gameplay that you do over and over again. Simply because every run is different. The drops, the mobs, the room layout and the bosses. You just never know what you will get and that is why I will always come back to BOI if i have any spare time.

85

Addicting !

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Rogue, for those not blessed with the beard of brian, is a turnbased RPG of such profound depth that it's basically impossible to finish. Each game is procedurally generated, and each turn has so many possible actions that they take an entire keyboard of hotkeys to interact. So how does that translate to the twitch-gaming we've come to expect from the creator of Super Meatboy?

The answer is that it doesn't. While Binding of Isaac does share familial resemblance to Rogue, it isn't in the depth of options available. At any point, it's still Smash TV-esque run and shoot. Where it is like Rogue is that you will collect many things, and you will die. A lot. And it won't always be your fault, but you'll still start one more game just to see what kind of hellish abomination of death and destruction you'll become this time, before once again you meet a bigger one. It's a game to be played, not a game to be won.

It's not without flaws, the controls do feel like they should be tighter, and to be honest you generally feel like your weapons are just pissing up the wall - occasionally literally. It's not a game that will dominate your life, but it is probably a game that you'll still be coming back to in six months' time.

90

Hard at first but you get better with every run

xG0D0FCHA0Sx | June 11, 2013 | See all xG0D0FCHA0Sx's reviews »

Fun game a bit gross at time but it is awesome the more you play the better you get

97

Iiiisaaaac....

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

Oh my, oh my.... This game caught me from the first moment, amazingly fun, with all if it's enemies, all the items that you can find and make interesing and fun combinations (which alter the way the player looks), the boss fights, the maps... I can't stop enjoying this game, even after I got 100% on it, which was tedious btw. A higly recomended game, an amazing piece of art by Edmun and catching music by Dan Baranowzky

89

Size don't mean everything

WereVolf5 | June 8, 2013 | See all WereVolf5's reviews »

One of the best games honestly. Addicting gameplay with such simple features, yet still gets you going and gets you to keep trying almost everyday. With new unlockables and such this game is one of the best cheap games and one of the best in general.

90

Awesome little arcade game that constantly changes!

Senyx92 | June 8, 2013 | See all Senyx92's reviews »

Every time you play the game, the world changes. This is a unique and addictive little arcade-type game. The back story to it is a bit creepy yet amusing in a way. Isaacs extremely religious mother hears voices from the "lord" telling her to kill her own son, Isaac. He tries to escape via the basement in which he finds a bunch of messed up monsters. He travels around it, finding power ups and even making a deal with the devil for other powers. Don't be fooled though, some of these power ups are troll ones and don't actually help you! There's so many different types of powerups, some you need to unlock to actually find. You also can unlock characters as well, which are all different versions of Isaac with different stats, such as extra health or speed. Some areas, if you bomb the wall you find secret rooms too ;) Seriously, this game is interesting, and look at the price! My friends racked up 200 hours on this little game.

97

Most Addicting Indie Game I've Played

thegaminglyfe | June 8, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Binding of Isaac has no tutorial/training. You start in a small room where you learn the simple controls. Move, shoot, bomb and use item. You go in the next room where you have to try to move and shoot at the same time. You walk around and find secrets, items, new arrows to shoot. The game is very hard if you're new but is so addicting and you just can't place your finger on why it is so addicting. The graphics are fresh and original and look different from other games. The game also has good humor. For example, when you die the note says that you leave all your items to your cat gruppy :P. It's not forced but you end up laughing sometimes over small things like this. For the price of $5, it is definitely worth your money. I would pay $10-15 for this game. The one negative thing is when you play a lot and you die, you start from the beginning. And it is boring and repetitive to go through the first basement because it's just too easy. Definitely a buy.

87

It's creepy, but it grows on you

jcyuen7 | June 5, 2013 | See all jcyuen7's reviews »

Rogue-likes are nothing new in the indie world. But this game continuously makes me turn my head away, only to turn back because I'm already in it's grasp. The Binding of Isaac may seem like a simple shooter in the form of a classic Zelda game, but throw in some disturbing elements, unlockables, lots of bosses, and multiple endings, this seemingly simple game has the best replayability I've seen in any game.

95

If it was a Real Basement. I would die instantly.

ashbal2000 | June 2, 2013 | See all ashbal2000's reviews »

The game is amazing! The DLC (Wrath of Lamb) makes the game even more wonderful. All the items and all the monster and creatures are just so creative. The gameplay is amazing but unfortunately you can't change controls so that's downside. This game is Java so they can't update the game to make it better so that's why they're making The Binding of Issac: Rebirth.

Amazing game! Get the Game and Get Ready for a night worth of Basement Crawling! :D

95

If this is the Basement, I never want to leave

darklyfallen | May 30, 2013 | See all darklyfallen's reviews »

I wasn't a big fan of Roguelike games, but I picked up this game since I was a fan of Super Meat Boy (especially the soundtrack artist, Danny Baranowsky). However, over 100 hours later, l'm totally hooked - even though the game is so hard, so frustrating, so mysterious, every time you figure out something is amazing. Visuals are fun and game is easy to pick up, hard to master.

The only downside is that you can't save and pick up your game later. Also there is an occasional glitch, but it's pretty rare.

Overall, great game, great soundtrack, hours of fun. Prepare yourself for a challenge.

90

Full gameexperience in miniformat

dahcniell | May 28, 2013 | See all dahcniell's reviews »

This is by far one of the best games i ever played. It has it own personal atmosphere where it mix christian mythology with craziness. The fact that it everygame is different because of its randomness keeps the games fresh even after hundres of hours.

97

The Best Indie I Have Seen

KellinCore | May 26, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

It's too addictive, beautiful, great, fast, sexy xD, and also to bring everything a person is looking for in an indie plus some more basic things. It's to enjoy hours and hours trying to kill the mother, kill bosses, plus get all the secrets. Finish all alternative endings, with all the objects it brings. I love this great game that really has to be in your desired games believe me.

100

Addicting

simpkinscm | May 21, 2013 | See all simpkinscm's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is the best dungeon crawler I have ever played. Randomly generated levels and a laundry list of items and powers mean that the replay value is very high. Since it doesn’t take long to play each dungeon, it’s easy to play a quick game whenever. Just be sure to keep an eye on the clock, because more than likely, you will lose time in this game. The story is simple and funny though not for the timid as some of the themes may be a bit much for some. If you can handle it, I’d highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a bit of a challenge.

90

Watch the Hours fly as you have way too much fun!

bot2345 | May 16, 2013 | See all bot2345's reviews »

A basic, if interesting and controversial plot about a boy named Issac. Awesome gameplay, like the original Legend of Zelda, except with shooting. And an actual learning curve in a game. This makes the Binding of Issac awesome as you battle through the depths of the basement with tons of cool power-ups, and different every time you complete the game or more likely, die. A ridiculously fun game, pretty much a staple of any Steam library.

100

Ugly and FUN!!

TheGamePimp | May 14, 2013 | See all TheGamePimp's reviews »

Yes, the monsters look ugly (in a good way!). Yes, some power-ups are weird. Yes, YOU NEED TO BUY IT NOW. If you are the kind of gamer that says "that's it, I'm going to teach the game who's boss!" you will enjoy this game. A lot. For hours and hours on end. The soundtrack is without a doubt great (I personally bought it and put it on my iPhone) and the gameplay is just perfect. This is not an easy game, don't let the cute/disgusting creatures fool you. I have over 10 hour in-game and still have not reached the final boss. You will have times when you want to throw the keyboard across the room and curse at Edmund McMillen, but you will always come back saying "just one more time....just five minutes...." to find and hour or more fly right by you. If you are playing on Windows or Mac, you have no excuse to not buy it!

85

Very weird game.

Mandemon | May 11, 2013 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Binding of Isaac is a weird game. It is both charming and gross. The art style is relatively simple, yet manages to convey a lot.

The gameplay itself is rogue-like, with randomly generated levels and perma-death. Death forces you to restart the game. Levels themselves operate similarly to the first Zelda games dungeons, in fact, the entire game seems like one.

Numerous power-ups can be found and applies and here is where the randomness can hurt the player. Sometimes, the game showers the player with all kinds of power-ups, making the game very easy. Yet, other times, it teases player by showing obvious "secret" location, but denies player access because the level or previous ones lack certain items needed to access the secret area.

On the other hand, random(technically pseudo-random) map generation also keeps the each playthrough interesting and unique.

The games story is rather weird, just like the game itself and is not really told traditionally. Rather, you are shown flashes of the story and player needs to try to figure out what they mean.

In the end, game is very good, the controls are precise, the gameplay is interesting and the map generation is generally very good. Recommended.

96

Countless hours of fun

RyanFitz | May 10, 2013 | See all RyanFitz's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac has to be one of my all-time favourite games, not because it has cutting-edge graphics, an enthralling plot-line, or limitless complexity. It is brilliant for its simplicity.

This game is perfect for a short half hour, or a full evening's entertainment. You might end up dead within minutes, but you always want to have another go ("How could I let that thing kill me?!"). The thousands of possible combinations of special items that enhance your character stop the game from ever becoming stale, and the range of enemies certainly helps keep things fresh. Try crying explosive green tears, whilst farting toxic gas; dress up as your dead cat; become the Lord of the Flies with the ability to soar through the air; then die and do it all again. The fact that BoI near enough takes the player out of the equation in customizing the character means that you are never bogged down in statistic screens, and can just leap straight back into the action.

The graphics, whilst simple, are utterly compelling. Repulsing and attracting in equal measure, they fit the tone of the piece completely. I mentioned the plot earlier - what little scraps we are given between levels are just enough to plant the seed in the mind when confronted with all of these disgusting creatures. I am reminded in some ways of the symbolism of Silent Hill 2's enemies - which is an especially commendable given the 2D nature of the game.

Last but not least is the music and sound effects, nearly all of which are excellently suited to the game (some creatures late on have irritatingly high-pitched squeals, which may be one step too far!).

I cannot recommend this game enough. Buy it, get the DLC Wrath of the Lamb, and lose yourself in Isaac's world.

90

A great games

Cavalieroscuro | May 6, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game is simply the best dungeon crawler you can find at the moment for PC. Thanks to randomized dungeons and findings, every single game is different. You start as "nakes" Isaac, with no power- up at all. But defeating bosses and opening gold chests grant you new abilities, like more life or increaed damage. There are a LOT of collectibles and power-ups, but there are also power-down. You can play this game for months and never get tired of it.

95

Wounderful!

Laudes | May 4, 2013 | See all Laudes's reviews »

This game is inspired by a lot. The game has references to all sorts of games, religion, terrorism, all sorts of weird things. At first I looked at this game and thought "why would anyone pay for a game looking like a flash game?" But when I actually started playing it, I was hooked up. I've played for over 100 hours, and I'm still not tired of running around trying to get to the last boss. The game is extremely hard with the expansion pack on, and I recommend anyone new to the game to NOT buy the expansion pack before you've completely completed the game alone. The expansion pack adds tons of new insane items, but the game overall gets so much harder, it's still far easier to play it without the DLC. It's old school styled, fun as hell, lots of replayability (about infinite, as you can do your own challenges using Cheat Engine, give yourself some items, forbid yourself to use item rooms, see how long you can last! - this can be done forever, infinite amounts of item combinations waiting for your disposal!)

The game is a must-buy at this price, I've had so much fun with this!

92

Dark, Disgusting Dungeon Crawling.

All5claws | May 3, 2013 | See all All5claws's reviews »

The Binding of Isaac is a dungeon crawler similar to The Legend of Zelda. Though as opposed to a sword of any kind, your greatest weapon is your projectile tears. The game gives the player a lonely atmosphere through it's music and gore, but due to the lighthearted graphic style it never feels gross or morbid. An excellent buy for any who enjoy the genre, and due to the random loot system the game becomes incredibly replayable.