Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dawnguard Steam

100

Amazing First DLC

Kevduit | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

When Skyrim made the first DLC, Dawnguard, I was amazed at how beautifully made it was. Most games create first DLC that is just terrible, but Skyrim really outdid itself with Dawnguard. The DLC adds so many new story chapters, characters, lands and weapons into the games (And when I say weapons, I mean an awesome crossbow!) This DLC is a little bit dark, but altogether is it a lot of fun! You're now able to be a Vampire or a werewolf if you choose, which will prove quite deadly to your enemies. The DLC is nice and long, like most DLC should be, and will probably take an average gamer around 20 or so hours to complete it. Skyrim, You've really outdone yourself with this one!

77

DLC nicely done

francesco314 | July 5, 2013 | See all francesco314's reviews »

A nice DLC which adds a couple of big new areas, as well as several minor ones. The main story is quite good and enjoyable. It also adds vampire and werewolf perk trees.

90

Great piece of DLC

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

I quite liked Dawnguard, it has the charms and content to make me want to play it again and again. You are thrown into a typical "Human vs Vampire" story, going up against a legion of powerful vampire lords. It's got some new features, Crossbow, Vampire Lord powers (which don't have the lethal life drain in sunlight as was in Oblivion), Skill trees for the Vampire Lord AND Werewolf forms.

Now in terms of storyline, it ends up at the same ending no matter what path you choose, there is no loss of achievements (if you are an achievement hunter). You take the Dawnguard side, you end up on the same path, you take the Vampire side, you end up on the same path, and so on. I went with the vampires (for the nice powers) on my first playthrough, I sided with the Dawnguard on my second playthrough and surprise surprise, SPOILERS Got the power anyway.

I would say the trip into the new areas and discoveries were very enjoyable to me, the rewards were very good and it did meet the price tag, to me anyway, I don't know about all of you. The Legendary Dragon is also introduced, a nice way of saying play more and get an achievement, new level of enemy blah blah blah.

I thoroughly enjoy this, infact I might even indulge in another playthrough soon when I get the time. 90 from me, some complain about the price. I got it for €10.

80

Starts off great but drags a bit

F1ank | June 15, 2013 | See all F1ank's reviews »

The premise of the expansion is great; who doesn't want to be an awesome vampire or werewolf and go to war? The initial quests are fun and involving with a nice bit of lore to pique interest but about halfway through it kind of peters out. The story becomes predictable and it goes back to the dungeon clearing formula of much of the vanilla game.

86

Worth it for the crossbow alone!

ScousaJ | June 4, 2013 | See all ScousaJ's reviews »

Seriously, Skyrim is one of the greatest games I have ever played. EVER. And this DLC just expands upon the greatest release in 2011. Dawnguard brings in two new factions, Dawnguard and the Vampires and regardless of which you side with, the story is just as enjoyable and immersive as you've come to expect from Bethesda games.

The Dawnguard are just the heroes of this expansion and as such fulfil a rather stock role as vampire hunters. Similarly, the Vampires are the dark, evil villains that hide out in a 'spooky' mansion on a secluded hill. The rather un-original idea here is a little cliché and slightly overdone.

However, the vampire form presented in this expansion is cool and the powers are quite useful. But I found the novelty wore off quickly and I felt weaker when in Vampire mode.

The new items felt insignificant amongst the many mods I have downloaded but my favourite item is obviously the crossbow! Despite the long reloading times, the crossbow is my favourite ranged weapon purely because of how awesome it looks, sounds and feels.

However, for £13.99 I would give this a miss (I'd give most DLC a miss for £13.99 (unless it was the level of The Shivering Isles DLC)) and wait until it goes on sale either here or on the close approaching Steam Summer Sale. I picked this up for around £5 last winter and do not regret my purchase!

80

Great Addon

SeverinMK | June 2, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

Overall Dawnguard is a really good addon. It adds a lot of new places, items (Crossbows yeah!) and NPCs to the game. The Story line is interesting and you can decide wether to side with the Dawnguard or the Vampires. It also takes quite a few hours to complete, took me abou 15+ hours. though I might have done some unrelated Dawnguard stuff during that time.

80

A nice expansion...

psyren89 | June 1, 2013 | See all psyren89's reviews »

... but the asking price is too much.

This adds a reasonably long campaign on to the main game, complete (in true Bugthesda style) with its own sets of stat perks, new enemies, as well as glitches and other gameplay issues.

Buy this when it's on sale, and be sure to download the Unofficial Dawnguard patch.

75

Nice!

televisionhead | May 22, 2013 | See all televisionhead's reviews »

This DLC adds a pretty interesting quest-line where you have to side with one of the two factions available, the story itself is decent at best but serves as a good introduction the real awesomeness of the DLC: new perks, the possibility to transform into a vampire lord, great looking armors and the introduction of crossbows!

But even if it's good you may find the content a bit "light" for 20€, and you would be right, there's not enough content to justify that price but it's a must have for when there's a sale.

(Beware if you are a mod lover, it tends to crash a lot with some mods if they haven't been patched for this DLC.)

80

Vampire or Werewolf!

Coolicy | May 7, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Like the Imperials vs Stormcloaks storyline, you get to choose and dedicate yourself to one side in this Werewolf vs Vampire war. cough Both factions have their merits and are equally interesting.

Most people choose the righteous path when playing games. In this case, it's the Vampire Hunters, which expands the existing Werewolf part of Skyrim by adding a whole new dedicated Werewolf Perks tree. You also get a whole new weapon: the crossbow(!) to hunt vampires with! But it's really more of a novelty weapon than anything more useful than what you probably already have.

The vampires quest line is more dark, and allows you to become the mighty vampire lord. This is a very cool transformation that's very intimidating. Just look up videos of the Vampire Lord in action, you have your own perk tree and can fly (or float?) to your unsuspecting victims!

Overall, I find this content very enjoyable. My only complaint would be the same as my complaint for the Imperial vs Stormcloak questline: you visit the same places with slightly different motives and perform slightly different actions. I highly enjoyed my playthrough, but I won't recommend replaying this DLC choosing the other path just to see what happens. Enjoy your choices in Dawnguard and live by those choices!

Skyrim DLC goes on sale from time to time, definitely check for a GMG voucher before you snatch this up!

80

Dawnguard

Superfly999 | May 6, 2013 | See all Superfly999's reviews »

This may not be the best of the DLC's for Skryim... I'm looking at your Dragonborn, but it sure is fun if you want to be a blood sucking vampire! The new features that this DLC brings into the mix makes Skyrim have a new atmosphere about it. You'll focus on the new Vampire Lord and Werewolf perks, and if you're a junkie for these kind of things. This is your fix.

78

First DLC for Skyrim

lok0812 | May 6, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is the first content DLC for the massive Skyrim. It adds a story about vampires to the game. Not much new places were added to the game, the DLC just ask you to go back to pre-existed places in the original game and complete the quests it asked you to do. New shouts, weapons, and armors were added as well as a skill tree for vampire and werewolf players. Even though there weren't a lot of new area introduced in the DLC, it will still provide you even more hours to the already massive game.

79

good

infernos13 | May 4, 2013 | See all infernos13's reviews »

Dawnguard is another solid DLC for Skyrim fans, and a significant step-up from what Hearthfire offered. The new quests are interesting enough, and anyone who wants to run around as a Vampire Lord or more powerful werewolf is going to enjoy themselves immensely. It does feel like a slight step back from Dragonborn however, with fewer new enemies and equipment, and less variety visually too. Still if you’re hankering for more Skyrim you’re unlikely to be disappointed with Dawnguard.