Reviews for Back to the Future: The Game

85

Point & click your way back... to back to the future

Shanti | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

Another hilarious story driven experience from Tell-Tale, this is an extension/sequel to the Movie trilogy, so relax nothing canon is disturbed :) Doc has vanished and it's upto you (Marty Mcfly) the protagonist of the entire BTTF franchise to solve this perplexing conundrum! Expect the old rivalries, romances and relationships to keep you interested while you click your way through this wonderful adventure.

60

For die-hard BTTF fans only

sheldipez | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all sheldipez's reviews »

Telltale’s Back to Future game acts as a kind of 4th movie (even though Bob Gale, co-creator, co-writer and co-producer of the film trilogy is on board he claims that this isn’t part of the series canon) which is to please die-hard fans (it even has vocal talents of Christopher Lloyd reprising his Doc Brown character and a cameo from Michael J. Fox) it isn’t meaty enough to please non-fans or general point n click aficionados.

The game mechanics follows the template of TellTale’s more traditional controlled adventures like Tales of Monkey Island but no comparison can be made for the puzzles as they are either really light or virtually non-existent, maybe something that was aimed at a more general audience considering the franchises mass appeal. There’s more than a bunch of plot holes that can be found in the games’ story which is probably to be expected when you write about excessive use of time travel but I constantly found myself going cross eyed trying to keep up with just how some events where happening in the last two episodes (the game is broken up into five chapters.

The real highlight is the voice acting and sound design which is top-notch as expected, considering the talent they have on show.

80

Gotta go Back in Time

CoillyZ | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

This feels like Back to the Future. The voice acting is impeccable and the atmosphere reeks of the 80's. I loved the Back to the Future movies and the game is no different. There are problems, however. The graphics sometimes look sloppy and the lip-synching is off sometimes. If you were a fan of the Back to the Future movies, try this out.

94

Spectaculuar Game, not for everyone

Qwertyfour | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

I personally have enjoyed the Back To The Future game because of how great the plot was including the hilarity. You can download the first episode on the Telltale website and see if you like it, it'll take 2 hours tops if you click everything. At first the graphics and controls are a bit odd, but you'll grow into it. The voice acting was amazing, and the plot was really inspired. It is worth mentioning that this is an interactive fiction game, and will play as an extremely extended movie.

If you enjoyed the Back to the Future movies because of it's cheesy 70's humor yet cohesive plot, you'll absolutely adore this game.

88

"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads."

metalos1 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

The most iconic sentence from the first movie, what lead us to the amazing sequels. The Back to the Future trilogy was one of my favourite trilogy. I do not know how many times I've seen, but not be enough to see. Many years later we got an excellent game series from the Telltale Games. The BttF game is a point&click adventure game. We controll Marty McFly, the main protagonist from the film trilogy. Unfortunatelly, Marty's voice isn't Michael J. Fox, but A.J. Locascio made a good job. His voice confusingly similar to Fox. Dr. Brown has got the brilliant Christopher Lloyd's voice. The gameplay is simple, you clicking on a place, and Marty walk to there and you can combine objects to each other. The NPC's are familiar, but we got some new from them. The story is good, like a sequel to the trilogy, but in video game form. We don't get too much AAA p&c adventure games nowadays, so the BttF is more than a simple point&click adventure game.

86

Movie to game, very good!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

Ah Back to the future the game, a fantastic cinematic experience. I think that Back to the future the game could easily of been the next film, actually as I recall Universal were considering it before they turned their attention to the gaming scene. But I digress..

Back to the future takes place after the events of the original trilogy and plays out like a bttf film part. Telltale have thankfully revised the old click and point action and adventure game style so the gameplay in bttf is exactly like that of Sam and Max.

We begin the game during the events of the first film at the twin pines mall which I think was a great way, to get people back in to the bttf mood. The Delorean jumps in to time with Einstein however something is wrong. The car doesn't reappear and consequently because of a problem with time, Doc disappears out of existence...

Marty wakes up in his bedroom and realises to his relief it was a dream, his mum reminds him that he is to meet His dad at Doc's garage. Now the game is over to you.

I thoroughly have enjoyed this gaming experience and I recommend it to any bttf fans but here is why I have only given it 4 stars.

Graphically the game isn't stunning by far but the cartoony 3D style of it, suits the bttf look and graphics alone don't make a game!

Sound wise all the familiar sounds are there, the delorean sounds as it should, the back to the future score is of course present, as well as various incidental music in bttf style. The voice acting is top notch too, Christopher Lloyd Claudia Wells, and Michael J Fox were the only original actors that reprised their voices, and even then Mr Fox and Claudia were both guest actors. However most of the voice actors for the other characters including any of the McFly family are all very convincing and I can't fault them at all!

Story wise this is where the game shines the most, the writers of the game really bring the characters and story to life, the relationship between Doc and Marty is really pushed to it's limits, and Telltale have created some great characters one of which is by far even more wicked than Biff! From the word go you really feel like you're in a back to the future adventure.

Gameplay... Sadly this is where the game is the weakest. As I said above Telltale have succeeded in creating an amazing back to the future cinematic experience, with a great story and characters, but when it games to gameplay I'm afraid it isn't much of a game at all. In fact the gameplay alone could get repetitive, it's too easy, puzzles are next to none existent and it has a hint system that tells you what to do. That takes away what little challenge this game has, and once you have finished it there's no real replay value at all.

Don't get me wrong It's a fantastic experience and story and you can tell most of the development went in to that aspect; and to great success, but it isn't really much of a game.

96

I love this game, GOTTA GO BACK IN TIME!!!

momoster69 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

The game continues on from the films and well lets say if you loved the movie, you'll love this game, its a point and click adventure sort of game. It great and has you entertained for hours, pretty excellent story line and i love how it shows different eras of time for hill valley. You take control of Marty McFly which will lead you on a crazy adventure. I would recommend this game if your fan of back to the future films.

87

A must-play for every fan of the movies

MrMrstoff | July 18, 2013 | See all MrMrstoff's reviews »

Telltale is well known for its great adventures. Therefore it wasn’t a surprise for me that this game is also very much fun. The story is really well written and a worthy successor to the film trilogy’s plot. The voice acting is good but not outstanding and the huge amount of dialogues contains very much information and is great for people that want to dive as deep into the game as possible. For people that don’t want to spend that much time listening to dialogues (like me), however, it was a bit too much and annoying at some points.

Although it isn’t among the most beautiful games I’ve played, the art style is pretty nice. The game design in general is good but the inventory is pretty unhandy if you have to scroll back to items you picked up a while ago. Furthermore there were too much invisible borders, especially in the city center – I would have loved to be able to explore this central place of the film trilogy a bit more. Being pretty impatient I liked the built-in hint/solution system if I got stuck. Most of the time there were 3 hints (the last one was the solution or at least very obvious), so it didn’t reveal too much if you just need a little tip. This system also makes the game a great choice to get in touch with point and click adventures for people who are used to being guided through the game like in most of the modern AAA-games.

94

A trip to the Back To The Future franchise

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you loved the movie trilogy like me then it's a must try for you. Just playing with the characters like Marty, Doc, Einstein is worth buying this game. I won't divulge any details and without further ado buy this game and relive one of the best sci-fi franchises ever as Telltale never disappoints.

89

The Real Back to the Future IV

timedranzer | July 3, 2013 | See all timedranzer's reviews »

The Back to the Future Game rewards those who have been waiting for a new instalment in the Back to the Future saga. Set in 1986, Marty discovers that Doc Brown is missing. What Marty doesn't suspect is that he'll be soon on a complex adventure through time to help his friend.

The game is a point and click game but don't let that turn you off from the game. If you love the movies, this will be a game worthy of a sequel. Without giving away anything, there are a few small inaccuracies to nitpick at, but the game is interesting and enjoyable. I'd only recommend it for people who have seen the movies, though I doubt anyone would get this game having not seen them.

We're not going to see a live-action Back to the Future IV, so this might be the closest we'll ever get. And boy did it come close.

90

Another Masterpiece of Telltale

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

A sequel to everybody's favorite time-travelling trilogy, with a story worthy of the name of "Back to the Future". See Marty and the Doc again in a whole new adventure set in the 1920s. See new alternate realities. And this time you get to actually help Marty to restore the timeline!

Another superb game by Telltale.

91

Just Like a Sequel

thegaminglyfe | June 17, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

When I started up this game I wasn't expecting very much. But wow, the game is so good. If you are a fan of the movies, then you will love this game. Each character's personality is just like in the movies. The voice acting is spot on but I can't say the same for the lip-sync. Christopher LLoyd plays the Doc just like in the movies but there is someone new for Marty who does his voice perfectly. But in the game you will notice their lips not moving the right way. The story is exactly what you'd expect from a Back to the Future sequel and is lots of fun to play through. If you've seen the movies, buy this! If not, watch the movies and then buy this!

97

gotta go back in time.

g_reaper1666 | June 13, 2013 | See all g_reaper1666's reviews »

This is a game which i believe adds to the original BTTF trilogy with the detail that has been put into the delorean and also the fact that it expands upon the original world by having Marty going to different times such as the 1930s and seeing a much younger version of doc. i like being able to use both my Xbox 360 controller and the mouse so that i move Marty around smoothly while being able to quickly select items on the screen.

This is another franchise which i believe that Telltale have well at, although in the realm of point and click games i don't think that they could ever beat Simon the sorcerer and monkey island 1 and 2. But for the modern era these games do live up to the standard which i have for adventure games which is to be able immerse myself into the world while having fun.

This game also gives a different alternate time line compared to the alternate 1985 from the 2nd movie with instead of a world ruled by chaos you have a world ruled by order. This in my opinion is trying to suggest that one can't exist without the other, balance is needed. The graphics throughout this game are also excellent with the world looking like what i did within the movies.

72

A Fun Trip to the Franchise, for the Most Part

Turambar29 | June 10, 2013 | See all Turambar29's reviews »

First off, I immensely enjoyed another of the Telltale work, the Tales of Monkey Island. The writing and humor were great, and I came to BTTF with high expectations. They weren't quite met.

A chance to return to the BTTF franchise was a pleasure I never though to have, save by rewatching the films. The production values here, especially the voice-acting, are spot on. The game is worth playing to see these characters and places again; I do recommend it! Graphically, it is on par with the other Telltale titles; adequate, but nothing to write home about.

At the same time, the story didn't really grab me; the way time travel is used simply doesn't not rise to the heights of the film franchise, perhaps because of the episode nature of the release. It ends up becoming a mediocre story that has a bit of time travel in it. I had hoped for better!

All the same, treat yourself and meet Marty, Doc, and Einstein again. It's worth it!

91

Title Most Awaited By The Fanatics of the Trilogy!

kalil | June 9, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Gameplay: In some parts of the game can disappoint the gameplay, but it has to rescue this game is a mixture of his previous films and Ecological Disaster. Where we will investigate through clues and deductions (in an entertaining way) what happened to Emmett Brown (Christopher Lloyd), 1986, which after the last movie does not know his whereabouts. The gameplay of this game startles at the end of the chapter (which clearly I can not tell) you'll take a few headaches, entertainment and satisfaction to end this episodio.Donde end up wanting to play the next episode.

Graphics: The graphics of this title does not resemble those of an Xbox360, but is the least worry if indeed you are a fan of this game. Because Back to Future has graphics rather low, but this done with a simplicity that take the player to not detach from your seat and keep playing.

Sound: The music and game sound effects are perfect, so that makes you think you're seeing another film Back To Future! . The original movie theme mixed with the dialogue and background music that is flawless like their movies, leaves nothing to discuss around this topic.

Innovation: The game overall concept innovates by 100% with story and new characters. It is one of the few games based on a movie that works as a detective style, which seems to be boring but at first but as you progress in the game will change your opinion of your format.

In summary Back to Future is one of the games that are created for fans, because if you're one of those people who has not seen the movies or the saw and not like me, the game will seem boring. But anyway this title is recommended for all (regardless if you saw the movie) in the plot that will keep you playing and thinking for a few good minutes.

85

Back to the Future will take you by surprise

caspica | May 18, 2013 | See all caspica's reviews »

If Amanita is the noble rulers of point-and-click games then Telltale is at least the rulers of episodic games. They make fantastic point-and-clicks too, don't get me wrong, but they are so amazingly great at striking that exact balance with how to plan out the episodes of their games that they are unexceeded by anyone else, as is shown by Back to the Future: The Game. Back to the Future: The Game is an adventure placed in the Back to the Future universe, which is a terrific setting to begin with. The real drive, however, is the main characters' relationship to each other and other NPCs. True to the film the game is funny as well as exciting and with the art style the game is all in all a treat to play.