Reviews for Poker Night at the Inventory

65

Fold little cards!!!

midgetjacks | Sept. 30, 2014 | See all midgetjacks's reviews »

Let's get this out of the way right now, as a poker game, it's, well, it's a poker game. I'd prefer it if it was a bit snappier, but I'm also terrible at poker. So, what I'm getting at, is it's functional.

Now that that's out of the way, the reason to play this is for the banter between characters. And, I guess, you can get some TF2 items if you knock a player out of the game when their special item is on the line. Since I like the characters present, I enjoyed it quite a bit. But unfortunately, only as a time killer.

65

Casual and funny poker game.

Furrek | July 4, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

This game is only funny when you know the characters that you are playing poker with. I knew 3 out of 4 characters and I got most of lines, but still without knowing all characters and where are they from, this game will be just a casual, not interesting poker game. There is another reason that might get your into buying this game. In Poker Night at the Inventory you can win items that can be used in... Team Fortress 2! It's a great thing for collectors, you can not only get to see Heavy and how good (or bad) he is at cards, but also you will earn some items. If you are looking just for a poker game, and you are not interested in getting some nice items for your Team Fortress 2 characters, then you can skip this game. There are better titles for serious poker games. I'm not sure if they are on steam, but you can always look around.

67

New to cards come here

childrop | May 15, 2014 | See all childrop's reviews »

This game was created for the sole purpose of giving you tf2 items but it is still a pretty fun poker game if you are a casual player or new to the game (of poker). I really enjoyed the humour but it can be repetative if you play too much. Still i suggest checking this game out if you want to get into poker games.

100

Best game to get started playing poker!!!

terminatorce | April 22, 2014 | See all terminatorce's reviews »

This game is just amazing. Before buying this I have no idea how to play poker, but now I can't stop doing it! And also the humor is just great!!!

85

Fun Poker game

RedFrix | April 21, 2014 | See all RedFrix's reviews »

Want to play poker plus having fun because of the characters? Then this game might be for you

Poker Night at the Inventory includes 4 iconic video game characters which every quote they made can make you laugh, sadly if you play this game too much in a row you'll end up hearing the same quotes over and over and it might be repetitive.

I recommend you to buy this if you're new at poker and want to have some fun by playing it.

70

Casual Poker Game

pmuecke | April 21, 2014 | See all pmuecke's reviews »

If you're a casual player that doesn't mind a round or two of poker this game might be up your alley. There are (some) bits of dialogue between the moves that do slow down the overall game but are skip-able by right-clicking. On the other hand if you are more interested in the pure 'art' of poker, this game will probably be too casual for you.

Achievements appear to be bugged/unclear sometimes, but after a few tries they usually are awarded.

All in all, if you're looking for a casual poker game this is probably the closest to a casual poker game you'll find.

70

Play a casual poker game with some virtual friends!

digiconner | April 17, 2014 | See all digiconner's reviews »

This game is very fun and the dialogue between the characters is hilarious. If you're looking for a casual poker game to play with some funny characters, this game is great. However, if you're looking for a more refined, hardcore poker game, then there are plenty of other games you can play. This game is more focused on the dialogue than the poker.

Overall, it is very fun to play, and I would recommend it for anyone who is interested in the characters and a simple game of poker.

80

Like Poker or laughing? Buy it!

UltraJake | March 5, 2014 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

I don't know much about poker, but for the cheap price I was willing to give it a shot. It includes help to teach you a little bit about how to play, but more importantly, it's a very funny game. They have a decent number of things to say but you will begin to hear a lot of repeats a few hours in. As you rake in the cash you can begin customizing things like the card decks or the table itself which is a small but nice extra. If you've got a few dollars to blow this is a perfect game.

70

Just for fun

Neonberry | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

If you are a hardcore poker player this game is probably not for you. However if you are a hardcore gamer and would like to play a few fun games with some videogame characters, look no further. Poker Night leads you to the Inventory, a club where videogame characters spend their free time and hang out with each other - and you. The game itself is basic Texas Hold 'em but what makes the experience good is the conversations the other players are having while you play. It has hours of conversation that can be pretty entertaining and has a bunch of unlockables that you can actually use in some other games as well (such as skins). I would recommend the game to anyone who is fine with spending a few quids (or bucks) for a few hours of entertainment and doesn't mind to play some poker to get through it - but keep in mind that the focus of the game is the conversation and not the actual poker.

80

This cards are weak like BLU baby team!

kwadracik | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all kwadracik's reviews »

Do you like poker? If yes, it is the best poker computer game ever. How often can you play poker with Strong Bad, Tycho, Max, and Heavy? Let me answer for you. NEVER. So, let's play poker.

Oh, one thing more. If your enemies run out of cash, they can deposit their valuable items, at the example, Heavy will deposit his minigun, Natasha. If you beat him, you can collect his item. And use it in Team Fortress 2! Go and buy it, now! Best poker for five dollars!

80

Poker with a comedic twist.

SSSlippy | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all SSSlippy's reviews »

The most amount of fun I have had playing poker vs an AI. The dialogue is great however quickly can become repetitive. The collecting of items adds another twist to the game. The mix with TF2 is a nice addition to the game. Overall its offers simple entertaining but could be better.

70

Fun mini-game, but not recommended for Poker fanatics

BubbaSquare | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

As a poker game, it works, but it is dreadfully slow and somewhat aggravating when you only want to play the game, but characters have quips and chatter that might ruin your experience. For those who are fans of the characters in-game, and would LOVE to see interaction between them, this game is for you. For those who just want a quick, fun poker game that you can jump into and out of swiftly, this game isn't for you. There are many other poker-playing webistes online, and I'd recommend them over this game as a whole.

83

Great Poker Game, though repetitive

Qwertyfour | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

The lack of multiplayer is a bit disappointing but this game as a whole is fun for beginners to Poker (me, haha). It teaches players the concept of reading peoples tells which is quite impressive for computer poker, so don't look up guides on Poker Night on what each players tells are. Instead try to figure them out yourself. The greatest part of this is that there are Team Fortress 2 rewards associated with each player. A chance happening is that one of the players forgets his money and throws in a prize item that's associated with one in TF2 to substitute paying money. If you knock that player out, you'll get said TF2 item back.

After playing for a while, you realize that the dialogue is extremely repetitive. It's a great game, just not the best for Poker. If you're new to Poker, you should definitely check this game out then move to something that is a bit more fun or competitive.

82

Addictive, humorous fun

DaxterD1 | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all DaxterD1's reviews »

Much better than it's less-well-thought-out sequel, PNATI has a more lovable cast of characters (if you can call a rabbit-thingy, masked prankster, beefy killer and sharp-tounged nerd lovable) better rewards, better communication between the Player and their opponents and more pleasing presentation and music. It's a small price to pay for something that may catch your attention longer than you expect...

88

Poker with humour mixed in.

g_reaper1666 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all g_reaper1666's reviews »

This game is pure fun to play even if you lose most of the time because of the conversations going on between the different characters at the poker table. although this game does have some flaws such as if you both have the same hand the game does not seem to be able to split the pot like you would in real life and it is random on who will get the pot.

I reccommend this game if you play team fortress 2 because of the items you can unlock for the multiplayer which are usful as the heavy says to crush red babies.

96

Hilarious and fun!

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

Poker Night at the Inventory is a great poker game, made even better by your fellow gamblers and their hilariously witty banter and jokes. Great game, great price, for a guaranteed great time!

75

Poker featuring funny guys

bartinkopl2 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all bartinkopl2's reviews »

If you like to laugh while playing poker then this game is created for you. Max, Strong Bad, Heavy and Tycho - all awesome characters in one game. Bad thing is that the dialogues are repetitive and it will annoy you after few games. Other than that it is a good poker sim, with humour. You will love it if you are a gambling fan.

76

Great game with only one downside

theblackhawk63 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all theblackhawk63's reviews »

This would've been the perfect poker game had there been an online/LAN mode. However, if you look past it, it's a fun and addicting game with awesome character crossovers and cheesy one-liners. Also includes in-game rewards for Team Fortress 2 which can be unlocked by completing challenges in the game. The game is definitely worth the $5 and I'd recommend it for any fan of poker and/or video games.

73

Jokes kind of decline in humour quality

momoster69 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

Its a good game to play abit of poker, but the dialogue is kind repetitive, I don't recommend this game unless just for the poker

85

Entertaining characters create a good game

borgiswa | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all borgiswa's reviews »

If you ask me, there can only be a small difference between gameplay and mechanics when it comes to poker, and Poker Night doesn't change that. Instead, it puts you in front of some of the most known characters from both Telltale and non-Telltale games. The character dialogue is well written, and it gives you the option to turn it off if it's not your kind of thing. The collectables add a nice touch, giving you a reason to come back for more.

I do recommend this game.

86

Poker with some of the finest faces in videogames!

Halt | July 29, 2013 | See all Halt's reviews »

The dialogue is great, funny, and even witty sometimes. But after a while it goes stale. But for $5 it's worth it!

I had a lot of laughs with this, and I'm sure you will too!

84

Poker with some brilliant characters

darkyhbk | July 23, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Poker Night at the Inventory is a poker game, as simple as that. You play Texas Hold 'Em against Max from Sam and Max, Strong Bad, TF2's Heavy and Tycho from Penny Arcade. These characters all interact with each other during play, have funny conversations and one liners. It's really entertaining and they all showcase their personalities from their respective games. Great mix. Poker is poker, not much to say about it. The rules are clearly explained for first timers, who will have a good chance to learn how to play without feeling lost at any time. This is a great game for amateurs and professionals alike, and is bound to have you hooked on for hours, gunning for each character's special items or just the Steam achievements.

55

Lack of multiplayer is not justified by funny characters

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | See all kubqo's reviews »

It is a poker, nothing more, nothing less. You can only play Texas Hold’em. There is no multiplayer. So far nothing special about it, eh? The only thing interesting about this poker are its four characters from other videogames. Unfortunately, their jokes will get repeated after 2-3 hours of gameplay. There is so many poker games out tere for free which can provide you with much more fun. PS.: You can get couple of TF2 items by playing the game, but those can not be traded and are qquite frustrating to achieve.

83

A must have for poker lovers

redzrex | July 3, 2013 | See all redzrex's reviews »

The game itself includes tons of humour and you would not get bored playing like other regular Poker game. Sometimes when playing I even sat down and wait for awhile to watch the characters talking about stuff and how their reaction is. If you like playing poker, this is a must buy game.

80

Nice Game but lacks multiplayer

zhack075 | June 24, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

Poker night is a really nice game and even though it's only a singleplayer game, it's still pretty fun to play with famous video game characters. Dialogs get redundant really fast still they are funny to hear. I would say that the point of this game is mostly to unlock items for TF2 but if you like poker, it remains nice to play.

80

Enjoy the conversations.

migrated | June 23, 2013 | See all migrated's reviews »

Witty remarks and interesting conversations to listen to while you enjoy a nice, casual game of poker. I really enjoy it when they start smack talking you, and you just have to sit there and smack talk back at your computer screen. Once I managed to win all the TF2 items, I just started to play silly, which makes it even more fun at times.

79

You can also have fun with TF2 characters without shooting anyon

spycid | June 22, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you love Team Fortress 2 and tired of shooting and looting, you should give this a try to have fun with your imaginary friends in a simple Poker game.

80

That's Entertainment!

JessePinkman | June 20, 2013 | See all JessePinkman's reviews »

Poker Night at the Inventory is an accessible and fun poker game. Even, if you haven't never played poker before, you will understand and take the control of the game only in a few hands. The characters are the key of this game. They are very amusing, especially, Max and Strong Bad. I love Strong Bad, he is so funny. The characters are talking all the time, but the dialogues are very ingenious. Also, if you defeat to everybody, you will get some TF2 items. The graphics are good. Telltale respect the original appearance of the characters. It's a good point for Telltale. The game works great on PC and, also on Mac. If you want to play Poker or only have a good time, it's your game.

80

Casual Poker at its finest

Supraballs | June 19, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

You really don't come to this game to play poker first off. You come to this game because of the characters and their conversations. Telltale absolutely nails character development in their games and this one is no exception. With Tycho, Heavy, Max and Strong Bad, you are in for a real treat. I have always loved Strong Bad and his humor is spot on in this game too. You can go through this game in just an hour or two, or you can stay for awhile and enjoy the convo, it's your call. Enjoy some poker, some good laughs and have fun!

85

Not only a poker game

jazzelmejor | June 18, 2013 | See all jazzelmejor's reviews »

Poker Night at the Inventory is a game that introduces 4 famous characters, interesting and hilarious dialogues and a decent poker gameplay. That it's all, no other objetive than win the poker game, get all achievements or even listen all of the dialogues. A good game for $5, and if you have TF2, this is a must buy because of the promo items.

85

So funny and nice

mike2kevin | June 11, 2013 | See all mike2kevin's reviews »

What do i think when i get this game was like "meh.. What so great about this? It's only a poker game" and then i tried playing it.. Then i'm like oh wow... This game is really enjoyable speciallyif you hear what the characters are speaking.. It's hillarious and a reallylaughable joke! Take this game! You won't regret it! Really cheap but so much fun!

85

You got it for the TF2 items, right?

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

^ most people did that. Being a nice game, time killer poker, fun and lots and babbling (specially from Max), a fine sellection of contendants, and hours of fun!

85

Much better than expected

DanielZo0 | June 9, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Telltale have done a magnificent job in combining multiple video game personalities into a casual environment, and can play a good round of poker too! Despite the high production values, I do have a few irks with the game, particularly the dialogue used. After playing for about 3+ hours, you will probably find that each of the character's general lines tends to repeat - a LOT, especially for Max. ("Can you believe these cards actually smell like detritus?") It can get particularly annoying at times, especially when you have an item buy-in round occur frequently. Also, sometimes the characters may use lines that are out of context, sometimes addressing others when they aren't actually there, which can make things feel a little weird. Dialogue between the characters can be pretty funny at times, most notable lines being from the Heavy and Tycho, though you may have to be fans of Strong Bad's Game..., Sam & Max, TF2 and Penny Arcade to get some of the humor. In addition to the whole poker thing, there's... nothing, which isn't really a problem since it is a poker game after all. However there are the aforementioned TF2 items (which are actually just skinned versions of the default items) and unlockable deck and table skins for the game (but for some reason I prefer to stick with the default Inventory deck and table).

70

Great Value

rabidchihuahua | June 9, 2013 | See all rabidchihuahua's reviews »

Poker Night at the Inventory is a rather straightforward game. The style of poker taken on is Texas Hold 'Em. Your opponents are what make this game interesting: Strong Bad from Homestarrunner, Max from Sam & Max, Heavy from Team Fortress 2, and Tycho from Penny Arcade. The banter between characters is an important part of the game. The banter was a big part of the appeal of this game to me. I am only totally familiar with Strong Bad and Heavy but it is still amusing. There were actually quite a few moments that were literally laugh out loud funny. There is a decent amount of banter but it could have been more. I was starting to get a lot of repeats around 2 and a half hours of play. Luckily there is a setting to edit the amount of talking everyone does. However, unless you are really interested in poker then the lack of banter decreases the replay value. Playing the game for a few hours can result in quite a bit of enjoyment. It is also a nice game to play in little time chunks. The gameplay is pretty straightforward. Every game you play you buy in with $10,000. The game started out with a mini rules overview which was pretty helpful to a person who doesn't play poker often. On normal difficulty it isn't too hard to get quite a few wins under your belt. The inclusion of the Team Fortress 2 items is a neat feature. I don't really know if I will ever end up using them though. I also encountered a problem in which I won an item but then the game “forgot” that I won it the next time I played. So now I have the achievement for it but that item still comes into play as if I had not won it. There are also collectibles used in the Poker Night game itself: card and table designs. They are collected by winning a certain number of tournaments for each. Overall, it is an enjoyable game for a few hours. I might come back again to it later. As I said it does not have the greatest replay value but it is fun while it lasts. It is definitely worth it to win it or get it heavily discounted. If you received it with Poker Night 2 or have it rotting away in your library, I encourage you to try it out.

80

Addictive and fun game with a reasonable price.

Shav | May 29, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Even though I am not a poker player myself, I enjoyed this fun little game. Trust me, you don't have to be a good at poker to have fun with Poker Night at The Inventory.

Why is that? Well, most of the fun comes from the dialogues between the characters (Heavy from TF2, Tycho from Penny Arcade, Max from Sam and Max and Strong Bad), which are really hilarious at times.

The game is quite short, if all you want is to get all the achievements (got almost all of them in 1,5h), but it makes you want to play more and more, just to hear some funny dialogues.

It doesn't matter if you are a professional poker player, or a total noob - the game is worth every cent. (plus you can get some TF 2 items as a bonus!)

85

Forget the World Series

jbrown87 | May 19, 2013 | See all jbrown87's reviews »

This is the tournament you really want to be in. Poker night brings players in against such goofballs as Max the rabbit, strongbad, tycho, and Heavy in high stakes games where the winner has a chance to win one of their opponents' most prized possessions. In addition, winning inpoker night can also unlock said prizes in team fortress 2. One downside is that there are only four opponents to play a gainst, so once you beat them all there isnt any more go unlock. Unless you really love poker, this can lead to really refuced replay value. On the other hand, its always worth it to keep playing if for no other reason than to hear them banter back and forth.

100

great poker, great fun.

jonvondom | May 17, 2013 | See all jonvondom's reviews »

This is like having poker night with your friends except everyone here is far more entertaining than any of your friends. as for gameplay, it's poker, you either make good mechanics or you don't and this game knocks it out of the park. The graphics are fantastic for what they need to be. the real draw here is the characters with strong bad being my favorite of the bunch. on or off sale this game is well worth your time and money.

90

An addicting an hilarious poker night!

Koomazaz | May 17, 2013 | See all Koomazaz's reviews »

This game is tremendously fun. You get to sit down and play poker with some of gaming's most beloved characters, and the dialogue is absolutely hilarious. Each character has his own poker "tells," but the animation can sometimes glitch and make it difficult to see if the expression is because of their hand or because of the dialogue. I don't play many casual games, but I have spent more than 15 hours playing this one. Try it out! You'll love it!

70

Funny game

Cavalieroscuro | May 17, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game is simply a Poker game. There is anything much to say about it. The only funny thing, is that you can choose several characters from both Valve and TellTale games: you can play as Max or the Team Fortress 2 soldier (there are Penny Arcade characters too), but that's all. If you are searching for a poker game, a cheapest one, this game could be a good choice, otherwise search for another title.