Reviews for Football Manager 2013

100

As Always, Great Game and Highly Addictive

J_Oliver1993 | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all J_Oliver1993's reviews »

Buy it every year and i'm never disappointed, new features are great with some much needed improvements but i have spent hundreds of hours playing this version and just hope FM2014 is even better which i'm sure it will as SI never disappoint and i can't wait to get started on the new one.

The challenge modes are very interesting and would recommend everyone to try them as i found doing these much more intriguing and exciting and the 3D match engine is brilliant.

Definitely recommend thuis game to everyone

88

The best of the lot

ey3br0w | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all ey3br0w's reviews »

Compared to the other manager games out there in the market such as fifa manager and championship manager, this is certainly the best. FM offers more in depth than fifa does and more realism in terms of contracts. Championship manager is often too complex and fm offers a more simple yet realistic model of the manager game.

94

Taking it one step further

Glarpaso | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Glarpaso's reviews »

Brilliant game, the game-mechanics have really improved since 11 and 12. Contract negotiations with players and the overall interaction feels alot richer than before. The match engine is polished and the options are many. Can be even better though, so that's something I'm looking forward to in the next installment. Overall It's a very, very good game, the best one yet.

90

Crème de la crème of football manager games

gebe | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all gebe's reviews »

This is as good as it gets when it comes to football managerial games. Sports Interactive do what they do best and refine their winning concept year in and year out with an extreme attention to detail, adding minor improvements to the whole. The result is a product that is better across the board than last year's revision, more complete and more approachable than ever before and a natural evolution of the series.

If you are a lover of football and an aspiring armchair manager then you can't go wrong with this game!

89

Unbelievable Jeff!

paddyg | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all paddyg's reviews »

This game is just intense. Can you make yourself known in the world of football? Well why not find out with one of the most realistic football manager simulators. Sign that top player you've always wanted in your side. Take your club to the top of the league and get European success! Fully worth the money, it has in built multiplayer too so why not challenge a friend?

87

My favorite simulator

Simao20 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

I buy football manager each and every year and this year was no different. The only and best simulator for football. The most indepth game that just keeps getting more and more difficult and challenging. Adding in multiple tactics to train your team before every game is great and gives you more ideas on how to combat certain styles of play and tactics that other teams may oppose you with. Improve transfers making it harder to try to snap up younger players this time around which makes it more realistic and enjoyable. It really forces you to find those bargain players that can help you now and potentially in the future. The 3d match engine has improved once again and its a joy to watch your tactics play out on a 3d pitch instead of the old classic 2d game. Certainly recommended for any fan of football manager, it is the best version to date

90

The best of the best!

Herter | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Herter's reviews »

This is without doubt the best game in the series! - The depth and complexity of the game is fantastic for people who love simulation games. Aside from the realism and depth, the game is also fun and can see you spend hours upon hours creating a world-beater team!

87

Complex Football Manager

Radovanh | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all Radovanh's reviews »

I like football managers and I played many of them. FM 2013 is the best of them, maybe until 2014. But I dont buy every year and FM2013 I choose because of Steam Achievements. I like this game much more for this feature. Complex footbal manager with more welcome for beginers - this is Football Manager 2013. If you like football managers, buy it - especially with some sale action.

92

A dream for football fanatics

golazodave | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all golazodave's reviews »

Football Manager games have always been pitched squarely at the hardcore football fanatics, and Football Manager 2013 is no exception. With that said, each iteration has seen refinements to its interface and drastic improvements to the match engine, and this is easily the most accessible Football Manager game ever made.

For any football fan that questions real life managers' coaching abilities, this is the perfect way to test whether you're really as smart as you think you are.

88

just keeps getting better and better

scjbirch | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all scjbirch's reviews »

have logged hundreds of hours of gameplay over the last year and can still say i'm not bored of the game and it's gameplay. incredible!

85

One of the best

parmadiel | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all parmadiel's reviews »

A lot of new improvement, including the Football Manager Classic. Love it and I hope that FM14 will really shock me when it comes out. :D

95

Addiction: The Game

PaulLFC | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all PaulLFC's reviews »

In going on for 20 years of gaming I've yet to play one that's more addictive than Football Manager - having played it since the Championship Manager days, you might think I'd be bored of it by now, years later. But no - each year the series draws you back in, leading to late nights, "where did the time go?!" moments and that brand of addictiveness that only FM can manage. Once it has you, that's it - so be warned. It's worth it though - so worth it.

72

Gets better with each passing year

venkatbaggu | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all venkatbaggu's reviews »

Football Manager never fails to deliver. It just gets better each passing year. The regular mode comes with several more added features and also a few improvements in Contract negotiations, youth recruitment, director of football etc. The new introduced game mode, FM Classic, is for gamers who don't have enough time to spend playing the game but still want to enjoy the game. There is also the new Challenge mode where you have certain predefined challenges and have to accomplish them.

Graphics:

The 3D match engine needs a bit more polish.

Gameplay : Addictive

Total Verdict 7/10

75

Slightly bloated

QuotedTurnip | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all QuotedTurnip's reviews »

I tend to only get the game biennially now as there is definitely more than enough intrigue to tide you over for more than one real-life season and the changes made between each iteration are often incremental.

With this version, I was intrigued by the 'Classic' version that came alongside it - gone are the halcyon days of CM3 01/02 where you could get through a season in a few hours without rushing through or being too bogged down in micromanagement minutiae, or so I thought. The mode is a welcome nod to times past but by only allowing for three nations, it ironically limits the scope too much. Couple this with the 'experimental DLC' and you have something that needs a lot of improvement in the next one.

All in all, it is still by far the deepest football management game out there and now has a proper online system to help you and your friends play through Steam without any other third-party software. It just needs to find the right balance between micromanagement and a feeling of breezing through matches.

92

Best Yet

Hoady28 | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Hoady28's reviews »

I have played lots of football management games and this is the best by far. the only improvement is more realistic pricing but you can edit it yourself.

90

Football Manager 2013

Nakihammer | July 9, 2013 | See all Nakihammer's reviews »

Have been playing Football Manager and championship manager since the early 1990's and I believe this version is the best by a long way.

85

Addictive Gameplay

Nesty070 | July 9, 2013 | See all Nesty070's reviews »

First time player of this series. Very addictive gameplay. Plenty of teams and players to choose from hence very realistic.

The challenges are fun and short to play. Classic modes are good for players who are serious.

76

Not much of changes

eugenews | July 3, 2013 | See all eugenews's reviews »

I am a football avid and i have playing this series since 2008. I was waiting for it eargerly however to my disappointmet(maybe i had too high expectations) nothing major has changed. But then again i have been playing FM2013 till now since ive purchased it haha. in summary, its still a highly addictive game if you are a football avid but dont expect too much of changes.

Now awaiting FM2014!!

85

Improved, but...

Kapawozniak | June 27, 2013 | See all Kapawozniak's reviews »

From the gamer's experience I have to admit it's the most complex and hyperrealistic football game ever created. It has better graphics, good (new) system of scouting and training. But implemented upgrades could be as well released as a patch for the old FM, because it is still the same Football Manager. You can like it or not, but it's still more like Excel than a football game. It can bring some emotions, though, but you could expect more than that. Game seriously lacks licenses for many leagues (and the most irritating lack of Germany national team). New modes would be great (Challenge mode is a good addition), if only they wouldn't use micropayments for everything, because I feel like I bought an incomplete game, but it's normal nowadays (DLCs etc.). FM Classic was for me a very bad decision, this mode is hopeless (buying "perks" like "All players want to join you" and cheating for real money, really Sports Interactive?). Apart from these, in normal game mode everything would be great, but this game is really slow. Compared to FM11 with the same (huge) database, FM13 is much slower. Sometimes when you press the spacebar to continue, you can go and make yourself a cup of coffee. And it's not that my computer is slow, it's FM that cannot utilise more than 2 cores of a processor.

  • 3D engine, research on players, realism of business and other relations, complexity, transfer system, new training, new staff management

  • Licenses, lacks photos of players and team logos, slow gameplay, FM Classic, micropayments

8.5/10 - because it's still Football Manager :)

71

Again the same.

drafek | June 19, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This like every other football game is the same, eventhough they add some more players the graphics and everything gets the same. The game is addictive though, you can play this for hours! If you like football get this, but if you own another football game I wouldn't recomment getting this too.

96

Awesome game since 1993

cabz | June 18, 2013 | See all cabz's reviews »

I've been playing the series since it was named as Championship Manager in 1993. It's great that the people at SI Games keep the standards higher every year. Looking forward for FM2014.

91

Amazingly Realistic

jackyboi1014 | June 9, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

I bought this game wondering how they could improve an already stellar experience, but they managed it. The AI of the players when watching the 3D match engine for me is the best improvement. It really feels like a proper game of football.

Adding the FM Classic mode, whilst I prefer the standard game, is a nice addition to the series. Not everyone has the time or patience to play the full game, so a scaled down version will suit a lot of people. I would like to add as well that the "micro transactions" only apply to this mode. People moaning about this need to realize that the main game is NOT affected by this addition. I personally don't see this an an issue, it's not hard to find a downloadable data editor which many people use anyway so if people want to cheat, then they will.

Micro transactions are the future of gaming whether we like them or not, so it doesn't surprise or bother me that they're included. The simple thing to do if you don't like the idea of paying them is...Not to pay them. Simple. Collapse

71

Not what I expected

kalil | June 8, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Something has changed with respect to the previous game, but not enough to surprise anyone. It has good things like graphics that are more or less good, 3D games, photos, stadiums .... But it has quite a few things that should improve as the official licenses, which only has those of the Liga. They should also do a bit simpler, since the menu of this game is quite complex unlike Fifa Manager is much easier to handle because it is neater. The parties do not sound bad, but there is no sound in the game menus. And the technology of the game itself is good, lots of data, many tools, but yes, very hidden and unordered, ie there is everything but it takes to find things like computers that have been a footballer and so . Putting music, ordering him around a bit and adding some things (like being able to simulate the game without witness), this game would be outstanding because on data from players, coaches, as are interviews .... Is 10.

98

Amazing

mussi89 | June 4, 2013 | See all mussi89's reviews »

from the very beginning i was hooked on this wonderful series and so will you if you love football. You will no doubt love this game its very simple just buy this game.

100

Great addictive game.

yuppy | May 30, 2013 | See all yuppy's reviews »

My adventure with football managers starts when I started playing CM 01/02. It was (it is) good game but not amazing like FM series. I spend a lot of time playing FM12 but I think that with newest version i beat the record! It's so addictive game but i luv it!

100

Great sim.

zema7777 | May 25, 2013 | See all zema7777's reviews »

If you love football like so many of us do, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. I literally sucks hours of your free time. I guarantee you will be itching to go back and play it during the rest of your time. So yeah it´s good...Buy it.

85

So addictive!

spencersdk | May 25, 2013 | See all spencersdk's reviews »

I am a long time fan of football manager, and I always find myself addicted to them! This is one of the best I've purchased. However, like always you have to install your own packs if you want all the faces for players. Great buy.

92

Say goodbye to your life...

Matt_hXc | May 25, 2013 | See all Matt_hXc's reviews »

If you've ever played a football manager game before you should already know this but these games are amazingly addictive, that "one more match" mentality is here in spades and once it has your grip on you as the title suggests say goodbye to your life.

If you've any interest in football or management sims then you'll love this the amount of detail and input you can have as a manager is insane but if you're new to this you can customize how much of it is automated while you get used to the game.

Being a massive football fan i loved this game and you should pick this up!!!

90

horrendusly addictive

kippy32 | May 20, 2013 | See all kippy32's reviews »

I've probably spent more time than humanly possible playing FM games over the years, and I'd so far rate this as one of the best, the new player interaction system works fantastically when it comes to team talks, and the addition of being able to recruit a head of youth development allows you to stream line the process of signing regen GOATs.