Reviews for Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack

88

Good character!

crisman | April 5, 2014 | See all crisman's reviews »

Playing with the Mechromancer without using Anarchy means you aren't playing with the mechromancer at all. With this skill they made an interesting change in the rule of the game, since with the right skills invested you are totally OP! Deathtrap is awesome, it can be seen as the old Bloodwing for Mordecai. It is my favorite class for now! And I finished the game with Salvador and Maya also.

100

SMASH THE SYSTEM!!!

thunderbacon | April 5, 2014 | See all thunderbacon's reviews »

The Mechromancer is a great class and I highly recommend you get it!!! You can summon a deadly robot called deathtrap to act as a kind of enforcer / distraction to your foes and you can destroy them with electricity AND fire! plus every time you kill a foe in combat or your magazine runs dry forcing you to reload. you loose accuracy BUT you gain damage... once this goes on long enough you will be pretty much blowing the baddies up with one or two shots... if you can hit them.

90

Don't be fooled by this little girl

Azrael360 | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

Gaige The Mechromancer, the 5th new playable character, is a great add-on for Borderlands 2. With this dangerous girl with bad attitude, you will have the chance to try three new skill trees: "Little Big Trouble", which focuses in elemental damage and effects, like burning electrocution, especially effective against shielded enemies; "Ordered Chaos" (a.k.a. Anarchy), which focuses in increasing the damage done by your weapons, incredible effective to any enemy, but the higher the damage level, the accuracy will be affected as well although negatively. And the third skill is "Best Friends Forever", which focuses in her robot friend: Deathtrap, an extremely useful robot who can fight for Gaige with some helpful abilities.

The three new skills can be a little challenging to handle and manage for newcomers, so this is most recommendable for fans looking for some new way to play. Although, it's still recommendable for any fan of Borderlands 2. The important thing is to get the balance that works for you. A very enjoyable DLC.

92

Great Class

TCass29 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

The Mechromancer is great fun. Gaige, as she is known, has a few specialized skills that help her murder her enemies with no remorse. Anarchy Stacks increase her damage but decrease her accuracy, as long as you never manually reload. Her robot, Deathtrap, is her ability and it kicks ass. It moves around the field annihilating anything that stands in its way.

Gaige was well-written and voice-acted. She's as close as you can get to a playable Tiny Tina. It's loads of fun and, depending on which skill tree you choose, can be very difficult or can be Borderlands 2: Easy Mode.

90

One Girl, One Robot, No Survivors

CrimsonWizard | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

If you've gotten bored with the base 4 characters in BL2, I believe you'll be very happy with Gaige, the game's Technomancer. Long with her funny, energetic personality, you'll have a really nice arsenal of new abilities to learn with her. You can choose moves to burst shields, or blow people's heads off with shotguns via the anarchy power, or you can summon yourself up a killer robot called Deathtrap. While they're all fun skill trees, I found myself using anarchy more on the harder difficulties and using Deathtrap as a distraction, but play around with skills. Assuming you have access to the Level 72 cap, you'll have plenty of combos to discover with this character. Well worth it if you've wanted something a little different than Axton's immobile turret or someone built for a shotgun.

88

Great new Class

coollatinoman | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all coollatinoman's reviews »

The Mechromancer Class is one of my favorite classes in BL2. Who wouldn't want a power robot named Deathtrap to fight for you while ur just watching him kill the enemies while ur eating some popcorn. I got this dlc from the pre-order but I would stay this dlc is so worth about $10.

86

Awesome design, one does not simply not love Gaige.

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

Gaige is a greatly designed character, you'll love her in many ways, or you may love her Deathtrap more than herself, depending on how you build her. The three skill trees make for a quite flexible choice of roles, you can either make Deathtrap an epic robot who'll kill all the badasses for you, or go full Anarchy on the enemies and wreck their faces with low to no accuracy, or just get all the electric weapons you find to exterminate the enemy shields (and, eventually, melt their faces as well). Depending on the build, however, her skill feels a bit underpowered, Deathtrap will die quite soon if you don't upgrade him much. However, you'll be the one melting faces, so a robot's help is not too bad if you spec into a tree that doesn't necessarily improve it.

95

Very good

roman9441 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all roman9441's reviews »

Adding character make me switch to character. Because i love to have companies like robot or something i use to play borderland 2 alone so. This character is fullfill what i need

I recommend it to several of my friend to purchase her

95

Also known as Ms. Bang-Bang and Mr. Kill-All-The-Baddies!

bibboorton | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

Picture this. Axton's Turret. That moves around the battlefield swiping enemies. And also sometimes restores your shields like Maya. While you either hide in the back like Zero, or use your own guns as a second weapon like Salvador' Gunzerk.

All in one character.

Your Borderlands life will never be the same if you try this character. You will love her and you will hug her while Deathtrap just does his thang somewhere. Just relax and rack in the XP.

95

Awesome addition, but overpowered

nightassassin1 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This character is an awesome crazy young girl with a knack for inventing and electronics, she actually cuts off her own arm to add on a mechanical one so she can summon her Death Trap invention without carrying around some big case. This can be found in her Eco Recordings, look on YouTube for these, it is a really great sequence to listen to and hilarious. Death Trap is a robot that you summon as your special ability to attack enemies and you can skill tree to upgrade yourself OR Death Trap. It is a very well made character and a really fun and entertaining update to the normal cast of Borderlands 2, however she is much more powerful than the original 4 members, making the game easier.

If you don't mind the difficulty drop, then this character will be a 100 for you, if you are a little upset about the easiness compared to the 4 original characters, then you will probably knock a few points off. I will personally take a few off for the drop, but not enough to hit it hard. I give it a 95 out of 100, I love borderlands and I hope this company keeps the awesomeness rolling in and Green Man Gaming keeps the amazing, not seen anywhere else, sales coming. I got this with my Borderlands Pre-order for very cheap by referring friends and using a 25% off code. I think it cost me around $25 because of all that. LOVE YOU GREEN MAN GAMING!

90

If you like Borderlands, you'll like Gaige

The_Hostage | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all The_Hostage's reviews »

She's a great character with oodles of character, good design, and a good set of skills. But as each player uses all their weapons the same way and I didn't really get the hang of using skills mid-battle, I didn't get the most out of Gaige. Maybe on my next playthrough.

90

Great addition to the cast

Jono00 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Jono00's reviews »

Gotta love Gaige, the Mechromancer. She has a really fun ability and can really help you and your allies out in many ways. Just like other characters, your skill (The mech you summon) can fill different roles in battle, so there's a lot of room to explore and try things out with her.

Definitely worth it!

85

Deathtrap the awesome

lightlurker | July 14, 2013 | See all lightlurker's reviews »

When you get this character who you are really getting is Deathtrap the epic robot with a bonus of Gaige, not the other way around. He is incredibly powerful and most of Gaige's skill tree points take him from powerful to insane. I initially was on the fence about getting this character but I don't regret it now. Still ten bucks is quite a bit for a new class, I'd recommend waiting until the pack goes on sale and then getting DT and her.

85

Very fun character

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

The Mechromancer is a fun character to play. It might be a bit easier, having a big robot going around killing stuff for you, but it's really fun. She's a bit overpowered but, not too bad. Too bad they patched when deathtrap (your robot) would refill enemies' shields. That was hilarious everytime it happened.

Should've been included in the Season Pass though. Really irritating it wasn't

I'd recommend this over the Psycho DLC most likely

91

Great character

nucture | July 4, 2013 | See all nucture's reviews »

Great fun character, different from the rest. Makes your trip through borderlands 2 enjoyable like it was your first time all over again :D

90

Do you like necromancer characters?

Supraballs | May 25, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

If so, get this without hesitation. You get your minions and if you want to have those on your side, get this. I absolutely love Borderlands and I'd get anything they threw out at me, but if I were being unbiased, this character is unique from the others and offers something very different. She is the most difficult to use in the game, but if you want that challenge, she's perfect. I'd highly recommend her to those who want another challenge and have already went through the game.

85

New character. New Gameplay.

Digitenor | May 24, 2013 | See all Digitenor's reviews »

I have played through the campaign multiple times now and recently purchased Gaige.

I must say she adds a new experience to the gameplay. I've enjoyed releasing my mech and watching it destroy enemies, whilst rushing around the map and pulling as many groups as I can for faster xp.

The only downside to this dlc is the price. Again this is a character that is not included with the season pass, along with the new Psych, Krieg.

Whilst other dlc's add new challenges and areas, I'd rather receive a character that adds 10's of hours of new gameplay as oppose to a dlc location that adds a few hours.

77

Not required but adds another level to the BL2 experience

mungchung | May 21, 2013 | See all mungchung's reviews »

I am not sure if I would pick this up at the full 10 bux but definitely on a sale. Having a "pet" type class is very enjoyable and there are many skills in the trees to tailor how you want Deathtrap to play. Since resetting skills is easy in BL2, definitely play around with all the skills. People say this is the easiest class to play and it is if you follow the first skill tree line. However, the third skill tree is a bit more advanced and just as fun once you get used to it. If you don't own this, I would recommend you pick this up if you have experienced the original four classes and want another class to play through with.

75

10 bucks for a 5th character. Good for some, less for others.

Pilgrim6 | May 11, 2013 | See all Pilgrim6's reviews »

Gaige is a sweet girl that packs a hell of a punch. Her special ability is her fellow companion called Deathtrap. Her personal bodyguard. Three trees. One for Deathtrap, one for damage (less accurancy however) and for elemental damage.

Mechromancer is in my opinion a very easy class. You can shoot enemies from distance while your little (or rather big) helper wrestles with them. This action ability has a very low cooldown and long duration thus you can have DT with you all the time.

I, for one, am very content with her but the fact is, I got her with a pre-order. Rest depends on you. Gaige surely does offer fun to BL 2 but it's up to you if 10 bucks is worth it. If you are a big BL 2 fan who has already spend hundreds of hours ingame, you surely want to try another class.

If you are a casual player, Gaige will be fun for you. But she won't dramatically change your game experience.