Reviews for Another World: 20th Anniversary Edition

100

Shut up and give them your money.

Perception1987 | June 15, 2014 | See all Perception1987's reviews »

I have loved this game since I was a small child experimenting with curse words slung in the direction and that damned fanged slug. This game is tough. It comes from a time long ago before all the hand holding. It is also beautiful and memorizing. I couldn't remember the name of this game for many years. I only had memories of laser guns a death. I digress though. Buy this game. It is worth every penny.

86

A Titillating Adventure

AkiMatti | May 5, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

I still remember the first time I saw Another World. It was on an Amiga 500 and on a friend's machine. Just seeing the intro made it seem so interesting and mysterious and atmospheric to the young kid I was then.

Later, I was an adult, with my own family and a steady income. And I saw this game again, this time in an internet game store. Wooosh! I was instantly a child again, wanting to try this game.

Needless to say, I eventually bought this and haven't regretted it a bit. It is as atmospheric as it used to be, as mysterious and hard as it used to be. I have yet to finish the game but I can tell you this:

The game has tough controls but not too unfair, iconic I'd say. The game has an interesting and unrelentless mysterious environment to explore. The game has challenges that will make you gnash your teeth like few games nowadays will. You Will Remember This Game. It will leave a mark in you.

Just try it.

95

Great classic

Neonberry | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

If you ever wonder how videogaming was 20 years ago - no tutorials, no autosave and so on - here is your chance. A classic story and a revolutionary game of its time, Another World kept many of us (old people) pinned to our PCs swearing the night away trying to make our way through the levels. The game itself is a "remastering" of the original which is a kind of platformer (in a pretty loose sense). Now with the rise of indie platformers I think they couldn't have chosen a better time to re-release the game. Surprising as it is for me the graphics held up pretty well through the two decades. It seems they changed little about the game - and that's the way it should be.

100

I Should Not Have to Write This Review, Buy it.

Wiesler | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

The headline really says it all. I really find it hard to not recommend this to anyone, it is one of the best games ever made, period. This game is the Journey to the West of PC gaming, and belongs right up there with Half-Life. The art and music are all wonderful and timeless. The gameplay is slick and challenging. All of it is held together by a spare narrative that prods you along.

This game is simply too well crafted. This is really one for the ages, and you owe it to yourself to play it. Even if you don't absolutely love it, you will learn how legendary games are made. This is a landmark game and you should be playing it rather than reading this, don't even wait for a sale.

96

Very faithful to the original

Treguard1982 | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all Treguard1982's reviews »

Having played many games on my Amiga 500+ back in the day, this one sticks in my mind above the rest. I remember evenings where I'd go to my friends and play on his amiga, and then we'd try and work out strategies for the many places where we would get stuck in order to come back and try again the next day. This is a classic which has been lovingly touched up, but is still the same game I remember from playing it originally. It just goes to show that you don't have a have fancy explosions and on the rails gameplay to have a fantastic game. Honestly pick this one up, it's well worth the price.

85

Oh.. the nostalgia!

mattpatterson | Oct. 13, 2013 | See all mattpatterson's reviews »

If you love games that provide a real challenge and love side scrollers then this game is definitely for you! Another world has a great short story which involves you teleporting to another world and escaping from a hoard of treacherous monsters. It's one of those games that you pretty much gotta figure out how to play on your own. No tutorials, no guides on where to go - just find your own way.

96

It certainly is ... Another World

drakemirow | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all drakemirow's reviews »

While it was already a big hit when it first came out it almost has the chance to get even wider recognition especially for fans of indie games. It will take you on a journey without telling much. So you have to just delve into the strange world you will encounter. At times it can be challenging if you are used to hints and instructions but with a little imagination everyone can have his fair share of fun with this truly inspiring game. When it first came out it was already beautiful to look at but the remastered graphics add even more details and style. A must-have!

80

Truly Out Of This World

Numbi | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

Out Of This World was one of the first games that I played when I made the transition from console to PC and while the controls frustrated me a bit I was blown away by the visuals. All those years ago I did not get very far into the game due to the high difficulty but I still remember how much fun I had trying.

Seeing Another World 20th Anniversary Edition not only made me feel old but also rekindled my desire to finally finish the title. I'm glad to say that while still hard I finally managed to do so and it was worth it. The game is much shorter than I expected but it remains challenging throughout so if you want to test your skills I recommend you give this game a try.

90

Long time ago on Amiga...

Gojko | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

This game is showing something that new games forget, and that is... you don't need very good 3D graphic with tone of spacial effects... you need concept.

This game was the first or among the first games that has a intro. It was a total hit on Amiga computers, and game of the year in some countries.

Whit this cosmetically remake you can remember what was the filing when you first time start Another World. For young players I can just say, try it and take a part of gaming history.

80

Storytelling From a Different Age

bwrussell | July 16, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

This game really serves as a great reminder that stories and characters can be told and fully realized with out a line of dialog or a second of pre-rendered cut scenes. The game play is pretty simple, you run until something kills you and then you go back a try again with you're new knowledge. This can lead to some frustration as you are forced to repeat sections until you find the correct sequence or get the timing perfect but in then end there is a sense of accomplishment as you've successfully navigated and survived an alien world. Another World is definitely worth playing but if I'm honest the current full price does seem a little steep for what you actually get. If you played this back in the day or really love old school action/adventure games then don't hesitate, otherwise come back with a discount.

93

Must play masterpiece title

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you haven't played this then this is a great time to play it since it is a revolutionary and timeless game. Remastered version gives you a very good reason to try it just in case if you are bothered with outdated graphics.

95

You need to try this out !!!!!

AlienNation | July 8, 2013 | See all AlienNation's reviews »

So this game came out in the 90's supposedly. I was too busy with the fighting genre such as MK and SFII. I know I didn't have a PC or internet back then. I tried this on my Android Device and it was Amazing. The PC port should be a blast and easier to play. Give this game a shot like I will. I'm sure you will NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

85

A gem of a game

Scorpy | July 6, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Another World, a remake of the classic Out Of This World, is an adventure game with gorgeous vector graphics that easily stand their own in today's market. Although the story isn't exactly clear, and the game is a bit short, the gameplay is satisfying and the game leaves you with a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction that is rarely found in games these days.

For the asking price I think Another World is something everybody should own, and have played through at least once.

100

Left its mark in video game history

Fluffy_McFluff | June 17, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

Another World (aka "Out of This World") - first released back in 1991 for the Amiga and the Atari ST - was an outstanding adventure game with superb graphics, music, storyline and gameplay for its time.

While technology was limited back then, during the dawn of video gaming (generally speaking), OoTW did an outstanding job of telling a story through visuals, musical queues, and engagement with the environment, other characters and enemies. Example: being chased down by a big, black, hound-like alien is accompanied by intense music, and leave the player feeling somewhat horrified and helpless, lost in an alien landscape. Where to go? What to do? Who/What can I find to help me?

OoTW could be considered a rather frustrating pre-Oddworld type game. You learn something new - and how to progress in the game - by dying numerous times. Try something new every time, forge onwards, and meet a new challenge. Fortunately, there was (back then - and still is, today) a checkpoint system of sorts, so that should you die, there is a sizable chunk you would have to redo, but you wouldn't have to start the entire game over.

It is great that some older games like OoTW - which left a great impression on early gamers - are being given the opportunity to be remade, reworked to run on current systems, while still leaving as much of the original game in tact. Do not let the simple graphics throw you off; the world is beautifully crafted, the sounds create an eerie, awkward, chilling and/or thrilling atmosphere, and you can find you'll be enjoying your time - being lost in Another World.

91

Underrated Game, Please Play It!

Plasros | June 11, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This game is really a gem. Very short but difficult, there is almost no background story. However, the chemistry between the hero Lester and his alien friend nicknamed Buddy is very clear. Gameplaywise, its simple but challenging and the ending is really satisfying. You don't have to love the game but I think every gamer should try it at least once.

90

A masterpiece

Cavalieroscuro | May 27, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Another World is an astonishing game. When you first see it, you think it's just a cutscene, then you will realize that you can move your character. The game is pretty short, is about this scientist that find himself trapped into this new world, where he will meet a friend and together free the population of the planet. You can only run, jump, fire with your gun and make some shield, but this is one of the best platformer you can find even today on PC. The Anniversay Edition adds steam achievements and a new difficulty level (also the pad support), so if you never tried this game, now it's the time.

95

Play This!!!

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

Another World: 20th Anniversary Edition is a re-release and remake of 1991's Out of This World. It's an adventure game. You need to play this game. It's a masterpiece and it had a great influence on games back on its day. Another World doesn't have pixelated graphics, instead it uses vectors. The game creates a storytelling experiences with barely any dialogs.