Reviews for Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

92

Perfecly balanced mix of interactive animated movie and game

spectatorx | Sept. 23, 2014 | See all spectatorx's reviews »

Brothers is perfectly balanced between watchable and playable parts, you do not have this weird feeling of one or the other part taking over. Requirements say about controller being a must. It is semi-truth. Some keyboards are unable to read few keys pressed at once, this is called "keyboard ghosting", google about it to know what it really is. The game can be completely finished with most of keyboards, i've finished it with keyboard without issues. In the beginning you may need to get used to unusual controlling both brothers at the same time, it is a bit tricky and very, very satisfying when you finally get used to it. Do you know Hans Christian Andersen's stories? This game is not a fairytale, it is telling a story in a very Andersen's style. Completing the game with performing all achievements can be done under 3-4h. Brothers - a tale of two sons is very short but it is unique experience in many, many ways. I love graphics, visuals. Incredible lightning, shadows, wonderful landscapes. I have been taking screenshots because landscapes are so sweet that i wanted to make them my wallpapers. Is the game worth full price? It is not easy to recommend it for full price but on any sale, with any discount do not hesitate and buy the game!

78

A good way to confuse your brain

sergebelanger22 | Sept. 10, 2014 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

If you are not aware, Brothers: A tale of two sons require a controller. Right at the beginning of the game, you get why. You control one brother with your left thumbstick and trigger, and the other brother with the right thumbstick and trigger. If you are used with moving the camera, you get used to this gameplay quickly. Otherwise, you will swear the gods.

I really liked that way of moving two characters at the same time. However, I must admit that some times, my brain was getting confused on which thumbstick controlled which characters. And that was a nice brain effort to do.

The story is very simple, you have to get some potion to heal your father. That's it. None of the characters speak in a comprehensive language throughout the game. That was a downside for me. I really like to hear the story, not just seeing what happens and trying to understand it.

Other than that, I do not really get why the people are so hyped about that game even if it is quite good, but at 15$, I find it expansive for a 4 hours long game.

85

A new way of playing...

neokratos48 | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all neokratos48's reviews »

Brothers : A Tale of two Sons is a videogame like there isn't any other one like it. The title of the game is indeed well chosen. More than a videogame, it as to be experienced as a tale, like the Grimm's one. What as really impressed me was the ability of this game to put aside enchanting landscape and violent and disturbing scenes. Controling the two characters create a real link between you (the player) and this two brothers who are putting their life in danger to save their fathers. Obviously, the game is'nt perfect (it has a serious lack of challenge) but thanks to its story, it worth to be played.

99

One of the greatest

papazdo | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all papazdo's reviews »

Easily one of the best games I will ever play. The gamepad connects as an emotional tie with the brothers. It's clever, brilliant and ambitious. An incredibly beautiful masterpiece.

Highly recommend to play with a gamepad. As you move the one brother with the left stick and the other with the right stick. With each brother containing one action button.

The game is short, can be completed under 3 hours. But I recommend to just leave 3 hours free and just immerse yourself in the story and the world and the gameplay and watch your mind be split in two from the controlling the two brothers.

Many rate The Last of Us as the best way to implement narrative in games, which ends up playing more like a film than a game. They clearly have not played this. In Brothers A Tale of Two Sons, the gameplay is essential piece to the narrative puzzle.

90

Gripping and Emotional Game

DBOT187 | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all DBOT187's reviews »

First off a few things, I would suggest that you play with a controller, while the dev has updated it to work with keyboard it works better with a controller. The story is very gripping and its the first time I have been genuinely sad about a game and the story since Aireth died in ff7.

Its about 4 hours long, but what you get is a game with a unique control system, stripped down to the core of what a game should be all about for me (mechanics and story)

Besides one bug where I had to restart the game after it wouldn't load my save (lost about an hours progress) I was thoroughly satisfied.

60

Only if you get hooked

Danielpf1 | Aug. 4, 2014 | See all Danielpf1's reviews »

After hearing a lot of good comments and seeing all the hype surrounding this game, I decided to check it out. After playing the game to completion I was left with a weird feeling, I didnt think this game was special in any respect other then the different controls. Let me elaborate.

When starting the game I noticed one thing, the whole story depends on non spoken cutscenes, which is great since it makes you engage the story on a whole other level then you normally would. The graphics also help in this regard since it has a very good looking graphical style and never really gets boring or repetative.

The story as well is decent enough, nothing spectecular but also not modern FPS bad. It has its (predictable) plot twists and decent ending, however not entirely unsurprising.

Now to the part why I think this game isnt that great. First of all the length of the game, its only 2 hours long, even if you mess around with other stuff, trying to get the achievements and things. Normally this wouldnt be a problem, if the gameplay was really good and fun, which brings me to the second problem. After roughly 20 minutes you have seen everything there is to see about the mechanics. Yes some stuff gets introduced later on, but if you dont like the way the game handle after 20 minutes, you might as well quit.

Its not that the mechanics are bad, its just that they are overcomplicated (appareantly on purpose), just that they get repetative after a while. And since your actions dont do anything special, just lifting carts or climbing ladders, it gets really dull after a while.

Also the puzzles in the game are not to complicated. Usually I like this, since I hate puzzle games, but I do like a bit of challenge, which this game is lacking.

So overall. It just comes down to taste. I wouldnt recommend buying this game based upon any review or first impressions video, just watch the first 20 or so minutes on the internet and then decided if its worth it. Because if you dont get hooked, it turns out to be just another game that does something a little different, which last 2 hours and leaves you with a somewhat preditable story,

95

A True Marvel in Videogame Storytelling & Gameplay

Qaizher | July 25, 2014 | See all Qaizher's reviews »

All I heard about Brothers - A Tale of Two Sons were, "its a great game", "good storyline", "a must play game" etc. But what they didn't tell you is that the story will rip your feelings to shreds. It'll bring you to the point of tears more than once with the story. You're happy for a minute then you're absolutely depressed the next.

Starbreeze Studios and Josef Fares made a masterpiece of a game here. With excellent graphics, soundtrack, storyline, unique gameplay mechanics and all that it just feels so perfect. The controls for the two brothers is at first a tad confusing (I used PS3 controller) but the gameplay makes you master it with time.

There's puzzles, platforming, wonderful/sad story, immersive world, great soundtrack, good game mechanics colourful characters to fall in love with plus you get to ride a Mountain Goat (awesome stuff for real). So be prepared to set some time free to play the game in one sitting to soak in its immersive world.

I give this game 9/10 (-1 for bringing a grown ass adult on the verge of crying)

PS: If Jess McDonnell says a game is good, then it is good (biased opinion of course) And also don't forget to "colour" the left out bunny black!

85

Wonderful Storytelling

Jamfrost | April 5, 2014 | See all Jamfrost's reviews »

Brothers - A Tale of Two Sons has a lot to offer in all departments except for the actual challenge in its puzzles and its linearity (although, you'll have a good number of secrets to discover). If you can look past those two things, you're in for a treat.

The controls for Brothers, do more than just let you control two characters at the same time, they help tell the story and connect you to the characters. This game really stunned me with its story and how tied player control into it. You won't find such a wonderful mesh of story and controls in many other games. Because of how the story is told through gameplay and visuals, I strongly recommend using a gamepad of some sort. You'll only benefit as the experience will become stronger. I don't know if I can recommend buying a pad for just Brothers though (hopefully you'll have other games for it as well if you don't have one).

The story is good and has emotional impact . It didn't wow me as much as how it was told and that's the key difference here. Games are an interactive medium while movies are passive. You'll feel as though you actually are taking part in this story.

The challenge on the other hand, is really lacking. This game is not Dark Souls or Super Meat Boy. That would probably take away a lot of the experience. Know that when you make this purchase. You'll be playing Brothers to experience and partake in a story, not take part in a satisfying boss fight or head-scratching puzzles. Due to the lack of challenge though, you'll have a smooth experience without many bumps in the road.

It's also quite linear. There are views to take in though and some secrets to find. Take some time to interact with the world to get the most of out your experience.

This game is worth your money, just make sure you're aware of the kind of game you're purchasing.

91

This is one of the greatest games with genius story telling.

spr1n | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all spr1n's reviews »

The game has beautiful design and unique gameplay mechanics - controlling two characters at the same time in order to solve puzzles and progress further. Storyline is just brilliant. Even the game is short, you get to experience so much in this adventure on every step, and it gets more and more emotional toward the end. Not many games in history achieved such level of involvement.

The only bad thing is that its gameplay extremely easy to the degree it is often boring or just non-existent. It is ridiculously linear, you have just one narrow route (or a couple parallel ones) and you can't leave it or fall of a cliff, even characters jump over a pit on your way automatically when you approach it. Despite quite innovative control mechanics and occasional interesting puzzles, you still don't get anything challenging to solve with reasonable amount of effort, everything is pretty much obvious right away. All that almost excludes failure state of the game in practice, even my first death was way past the middle of play through.

To sum it up - it is a great experience you should not miss if you like games like that, or just want to experience what the game offers. Just don't expect much out of an actual gameplay and ignore linearity - you will be able to appreciate the game to the fullest.

97

Simplicity at it's finest

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

Taking a glance at this game, you may wonder as to why it is seen as such a popular, highly rated title? Well, I assure you that if you buy this game for the measly £10 it's asking for, you will not be disappointed.

Similar to games such as Dear Esther, it focuses heavily on storyline and interpretation. The characters within this fictional universe do not speak any known language, but rather focus on incomprehensible gibberish to display their emotions. You may think that this seriously detracts from the experience, but it's always nice to try and interpret the situation at hand. Leaves a bit to the imagination, you know?

The controls within this game are incredibly simplistic, yet throughout the game you are repeatedly thrown into new, exciting situations that force you to think before you act. Furthermore, it should be said that playing with a keyboard is not at all bad, however a controller is still recommended highly in order to fully enjoy the game.

Not much can be said without spoiling the game, but what I can say is that for £10 (or your national equivalent), this game is a serious steal. Lock yourself within your room and play through it in one sitting. You won't be disappointed.

99

Absolutely incredible.

Arteus | Feb. 16, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

This game is easily my game of the year for 2013. What first looked to me like a small-time indie game that probably wasn't worth my time ended up being one of the most phenomenal titles I've ever played.

This game tells an engaging story without a single word of spoken English; characters speak complete gibberish yet still convey emotion incredibly. It's only a 2.5-3 hour experience but it doesn't need to be any longer, it's the perfect length to finish in a single sitting and you will never feel that it has outstayed its welcome. The level and puzzle design is perfectly done, you should never need to think overly hard and you should always have a good idea of where you're meant to be going and what you're meant to be doing.

Graphically the game really holds its own. I can see this title being one of those timeless games that never quite looks outdated visually; it's bright, colorful and charming. It should also be noted that the control system is unusual but not bad at all, you control each brother with a separate analog stick and bumper and it works perfectly that way. Also, that's me recommending that you play this game with a gamepad, the keyboard controls work but are nowhere near as comfortable.

If you have any taste in games at all you should purchase this game, lock yourself away from any distractions, pick up your gamepad and play through this game in a single sitting. You won't regret it.

93

Cry like a Banshee- Brothers edition

Shanti | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all Shanti's reviews »

Synopsis: Stupid game, made me cry like a banshee for 10 minutes at the end. All I ever did was play you and love you...

Actual review: This is one of those 'love it/hate it' works where everything will click completely, coherently and climactically or alternatively leave you befuddled. As mentioned on the stern warning although inaccurately- A controller is highly recommended but not absolutely required. The story is mute in terms of words or speech intentionally, it is more about seeing, imagining and feeling. In that respect it is more like a favourite children's book or even a Gabriel Garcia novel- the details and sub text filled by your mind rather than forced upon you. It is allegorical not metaphorical, you and your gaming friend will never agree to what anything means but in a way both of you will be correct. In terms of puzzle-solving it is not really noteworthy which is completely fine because you will not like or dislike the game for that aspect. It is simply there. The use of force feedback/vibration is done in a way to add depth to the gameplay in certain areas where it wants you to feel what is happening. Which is why a gamepad is sort of essential to get the full experience™

There is no point discussing the story- what does or does not happen, and so I will not. It is better to talk about what is exciting about it instead. It is heartening to see a conscious move to use games as an innovative platform of story telling, whether the story be good, bad or ugly. This is a good thing and therefore the game is wholeheartedly unrecommended.

Note: Sorry if this came off pretentious. I actually turned off my PC after finishing it and did not want to speak to anyone for a while and wrote this right after.

98

PADded with emotion!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

It is really hard to find the words to define this game. If you're not touched at anytime during the game, you have a heart made of rock.

The basic gist of the game is that two brothers will have to find medicine for their sick father and during their journey they will have to overcome many challenges and obstacles only counting on each other to survive. You control them both at once, which gives the game a really unique feel that is hard to grasp at first but will feel natural after a while.

The game offers beautiful vistas for you to look at and never rushes you into things so that you cannot appreciate the surroundings. The puzzles aren't too hard but they are refreshingly without violence. I was able to play most of the game while my 5 and 7 years old children were watching, only one scene stood out as not suitable for them I had to remove them from the room for its duration.

This game was like therapy to me. It gives you a world in a simpler time where the relationships seem more genuine than today's harsh world where everything seems to be weighed in money.

I strongly advice playing this with a pad for the extra effect it will give. One of the best games I have ever played!

100

Amazingly Simple and Engaging Game

willz95 | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all willz95's reviews »

I'm not a huge fan of adventure games. But the mechanics of the game is very intriguing to me. You take control of two brothers who venture on a quest to save their ailing father who must be saved only with the water of life. This provides the motivation for the brothers to begin their adventures.

And what an awesome adventure it is. Throughout the game, you'll be tasked with utilizing the two brothers' ability to advance. The mechanics are very novel and although has been done in games before, the combination of the simplistic fairytale and even pacing makes the game stand out amongst the year's releases of shooters and buggy early-access titles.

As most of other reviewers have mentioned, a controller is not REQUIRED but HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for a better enjoyment.

100

Right in the feels...

samhuinn | Feb. 2, 2014 | See all samhuinn's reviews »

I played through 'Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons' tonight. Wow... right in the feels, bro. This is a simply amazing game. It might be in my top 5 ever. I'd seen it often compared to Journey and while Journey was an incredible game, I think that Brothers handily takes the prize. The art direction, soundtrack, puzzles, and pathos are all top notch. Considering that there isn't a spoken word of English in the entire game, the whole story is portrayed visually through observation and allusive pantomime, it's remarkably touching. I'll be buying the soundtrack shortly, it's amazing. While it's not a long game by any stretch, it took me 4 straight hours to play through, it is remarkably concise. Recently I've been wondering if everything needs to be 40+ hour epics, I feel their narrative gets lost in the weeds.

Fans of emotive storytelling, fantasy-fiction (Fable fans, I'm looking at you), and gaming aficionados need apply.I encourage you to pick it up if you haven't.

95

Beautiful, touching and utterly engrossing.

cannibalwombat | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all cannibalwombat's reviews »

Wow. What a game. I don't think I have played anything that has had quite the effect on me that Brothers did.

You play as two brothers on a quest to find a cure for their father’s illness, in a Fable-like universe. You control each brother with one side of a gamepad and, though I’d never seen this before, it works SO well. Despite there being no spoken English in the game, they somehow manage to tell a story through the interactions of the brothers and other characters.

The quest is exciting, the graphics are gorgeous, the soundtrack is quality and most of all the story is moving (to say the least). Very, very close to shedding a tear at the end. Play it.

N.B. I got it first on PS3 and it looked absolutely awful. Re-bought it on PC and it’s sublime. I’d recommend downloading it on PC if you have a gamepad with your rig.

97

Saddest game of 2013

RyannHUNN | Jan. 27, 2014 | See all RyannHUNN's reviews »

I finished the game not so long ago and I have to say this was one of the favourite game of all time for me. First, the game requires a controller which can be disappointing at first, but trust me this NEEDS a controller. You control the two brothers with the analogs and each brother has an interaction button. The two brother has a very different personality the big brother is a brave, strong boy, the little brother is a slower and a weaker one but he's a smarter and a trickier. The Story in a nutshell: you have to find medicine for your sick father. The brothers have to get the medicine but they find the adventure that redefine their life. The Graphics looks very nice , I like its art style yet it needs no power. The Gameplay is very simply yet its very very smart. The Music of the game is Beautiful, no more words needed. The Ending was sad, it really hurts the emotion

Verdict: Best Indie Game of 2013 if not the GOTY

86

Overall great game, only one downside...

Azralynn | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all Azralynn's reviews »

It's a very touching adventure story. It has some puzzle aspects throughout the game, but none of them are very difficult, as the game is more about the story. The game auto-saves frequently, so you won't lose any immersion by having to save manually. It has really nice animation and backgrounds to help immerse you in the world as you live the story of Two Brothers.

One of the downsides of the game is that you really SHOULD use a controller instead of a keyboard. It's playable with a keyboard, but feels really, really awkward. The game also doesn't recognize PS3 controllers, so I had to change my drivers to emulate an xbox 360 controller. After that it worked perfectly. It was well worth the effort of setting it up though! Short and sweet, the game only takes about 3 hours, but it was 3 hours that I truly enjoyed.

75

Didn't quite live up to the hype, but still very good!

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

This was probably the game that made me finally buy a 360 controller for my PC, it's a single player co-op game where you control two brothers (one which each analogue stick) on their mission to save their father. It's a game with no dialogue, and a simplistic graphical style that suits it well. Mechanically speaking it's unique, allowing for some very neat sections utilising both brothers each performing different tasks, it can be confusing, I can't count the number of times I thought I was controlling the other brother and getting confused as to why he was going the wrong direction before clicking I had my analogue sticks mixed up!

It was hyped up a massive amount by a couple of friends, and it didn't quite hit the mark for me, due to the lack of dialogue I think, which I felt detached me from the characters, but it still struck an emotional chord. It's not a very difficult game, nor is it long, but it's an enjoyable experience that's worth playing.

95

Worth the money.

TETfromLondon | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

I went into Brothers: a Tale of Two Sons with high hopes, having heard the reviews, and was largely impressed. I will start off by saying that although it highly recommends playing it with an Xbox 360 controller, I completed the entire game with a keyboard, and although it was slightly awkward at times for reasons that will become clear if you see the game mechanics, it was still very much playable, and not owning a controller should not deter you from buying the game.

The game centers around the idea of 'one player co-op', and this mechanic is implemented fairly well. You control the two brothers simultaneously with the thumbsticks on the controller or the WASD keys and directional buttons on the keyboard, with an action button for each brother. The puzzles require both brothers to do something simultaneously and although none are particularly challenging, they do require you to think. It is nice that the game always makes sure not to repeat itself and the gameplay has plenty of variety.

The environments are some of the best in any indie game I've ever seen and look utterly beautiful. They have an immense sense of scale. The art style is also very nice. The music is also eerily beautiful. It is also impressive that the game manages to convey a story despite the fact that no real language is spoken throughout the game; only gibberish.

Overall, the game is easily one of the best of 2013, and there is no reason not to play it, especially since it can be completed in a sitting.

96

A game with impact

Myzery | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all Myzery's reviews »

Come with me on a short journey. Brothers opens up with you having to take your father to a medicine man. Upon seeing your father the medicine man hands you a map to fetch the only thing that can cure your ailing father. The adventure begins quickly after that. While not having a high budget Brothers pulls off its visuals rather well. Each scene like a beautifully painted vista. I found myself taking many a screenshot only to realize more were potential spoilers than not so I chose not to post them here :). The music in the game just works. Every piece fitting its scene.

The controls are the first thing that makes Brothers stand out. This game requires a controller which is kind of a bummer, but I could see why. Take your controller and divide it in half. Each half shall control one brother. At the beginning this is very confusing. Then after some time you get used to the idea. It helps make a connection to the characters in an odd way. Something I didn't think would happen. When I got to thinking about it I found it to be funny. Dividing the controls up like that created the real feeling of disjointedness whilst a connection remained. It reminded of being an actual sibling.

If I talk story you wouldn't be happy with me. Experience it for yourself :)

Verdict: GO PLAY BROTHERS!!!!!!!!! I hope you got to pick it up on sale as it is a very very short game, but damn GO PLAY IT!

96

One of the most touching experiences in a videogame

abelfs | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all abelfs's reviews »

I have just finished it and I needed to explain my feelings about this game. Basically it is a single player game with a gameplay born from coop. With left stick you move the big brother (the strong one), while with the right stick you move the little one (small but agile). You must control both brothers at the same time in order to pass the beutiful landscapes (nice use of Unreal Engine 3). The game has plenty of moments that will hit nerves, but the most powerful feeling is that you act as the nexus that keeps the brothers together while the game tries to separate them. If you look for a different experience buy it. The only handicap, you need a gamepad.

90

Beautiful adventure

UnH | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all UnH's reviews »

Brothers is a beautiful fairy tale told by the means of a computer game. It's a tale that can be funny and full of adventure but sometimes can be also scary, sad and very emotional. The player can quickly get attached to the characters and care for their fates. The game has a very clever use of controller, each brother is controlled by one controller stick and a trigger, so you use your left hand for older brother and the right for the younger one. Graphics are simple, without any fancy effects, but the overall art style is simply gorgeous. Only real flaw of this game is it's length (approximately 3 hours) but on the other hand, longer play would make the whole experience watered down. If you like to feel emotions during play, want to try something new and different from typical action games Brothers if for you!

100

This is how games should be.

Skattin | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all Skattin's reviews »

This game was amazing, the story is great and the game play was fun and they did something no one else has, they made 2 players interaction in 1 controller. The only problem with this game was that it wasn't long ENOUGH. I casually went through the game in about 4 hours. But all in all, a must play, and great game.

90

Wonderful experience

gforcesa | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is probably one of the best games i've played this year.I enjoyed playing the game and every new level was very well designed.I suggest you play this game with a xbox 360 controller because it's more comfortable, at least for me.You control one brother with the left stick and the triggers and the other brother with the right stick.The game is not very long which i didn't like but it's very well done and it's worth every penny.

95

Possibly 2013 GOTY

TCass29 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is a great game with mind-wrenching controls (in the beginning, at least). It requires a controller to play, and the way it uses the controller is fantastic.

The story is great and really makes you feel for the characters. The environments are stunningly beautiful. There are a few Steam Achievements, not all of them that you'd think to do during your first playthrough. The puzzles range from 'easy-look-at-how-pretty-this-game-is' to pretty difficult-and not only because of the controls.

It's only about 3-4 hours long, but it's absolutely 3-4 hours well-spent.

100

Brothers feels like game of the year material to me

sheldipez | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all sheldipez's reviews »

In Brothers you play as both brothers using one controller (each brother controlled using one side of a controller) and have to traverse a mythical fairytale world on a quest to get a magic cure for your ill father. The game reminds me of the minimalistic fantasy world of Sony’s Shadow of the Colossus, like that game there is little verbal dialogue (the human characters do not speak English so emphasis is on physical emoting) and the world is sparse yet very atmospheric with excellent use of beautiful backdrops and a haunting score. An amazing game and one of my favourites of 2013.

92

An experience.

connlasair | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all connlasair's reviews »

Brothers: a tale of two sons is something more than just a game - it's an experience that remains. The game is rather short (4 hours) and does not really have any challenge, but it is remarkable nevertheless. You play as one (or both) of the brothers and make your way through a seemingly ordinary, yet magical world. The burden on those boys is indeed heavy, their quest daunting and you, as a player feel that they have to overcome their weaknesses and muster more and more courage to push forward. There are some emotional moments here, as the brothers struggle to complete their quest. What's great about this game is that literally everyone can play and enjoy it. It is mature but at the same time it appeals the child's imagination. The game was specifically designed for a controller but a keyboard will do as well (however, it does control awkwardly sometimes). The key bindings (which can be changed) encourage co-op play and I think that's where the game truly shines - when you share the journey with someone you care for, sitting side by side, navigating two little boys through a stormy and beautiful adventure.

93

A wonderful tale that ends too soon..

XGpredator | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Like the melodramatic tales? You're not afraid to experiment with new types of gameplay? Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is for you. Indeed, it presents a unique but effective which is totally at the service of the narrative handling. Prepare to dive into a wonderful world where you have trouble getting out. This is indeed the main defect in the title, we would have liked this adventure lasts a little longer to continue to enjoy it.

80

Surprising at every angle!

pan_dudi | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all pan_dudi's reviews »

I bought this game with not to high expectations. I just heard that it's got potential and decided to take a risk. Besides I wanted to get some rest from more "serious" games and have some fun. And fun I had in deed. Followed by very deep and emotional experience this game is! I have not suspected this fairy tale to become such an adult and touching story. From technical point of view, the game uses Unreal Engine 3 and looks just fantastic! What I didn't like about it - it's just too short! I want more of this game! Worth every penny.

92

Nice but short!

CptTrips | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all CptTrips's reviews »

Really nice game with some beautiful graphics and a good story!

Only Con: it's pretty short - reached the end in under four hours, replayability isn't that big, just the achievments from steam could bring some more hours - despite there are pretty easy to achieve, you won't have that much after the first playthrough, because you have to do some weird, but funny things to get them ;)

You will need a controller to play this if you have a shitty keyboard like I do, at least you need one with '6 key rollover'.

88

Short but worth it

nanbun | Nov. 9, 2013 | See all nanbun's reviews »

This game is absolutely a must play for any gamer out there. Despite being only about 3 hours long, the story and atmosphere will draw you in for a truly wonderful experience. The graphics are stunning to look at and although there are no narratives, the game does an excellent job at presenting its story and invoking emotional feels about it.

87

GREAT LITTLE GAME

klemen1702 | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all klemen1702's reviews »

This game is like a movie. It's about 3-4 hours long but it delivers a very emotional story and a very good one too. Brothers has a better story than most AAA games so its worth buying just to experience it.Graphic look a bit old but it works and the vistas are just beautiful (a bit like Trine) Puzzles are easy but keep the game going so you are not in one spot to long. One thing I recommend is have a controller its is very hard to play a game with keyboard ( you can if you try hard or better yet get a friend to play the other brother)

85

Fantastic, must experience yourself!

shewbakka | Oct. 31, 2013 | See all shewbakka's reviews »

The less you know about this game, the better. If possible, please play this game with a blank slate. Don't look up any more details about this game, the less outside influences the better! Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is a beautiful game, absolutely fantastic in in story telling and pacing. The dialogue between the characters are for the most part, gibberish, yet you feel compelled for these people and their lives.

Play this game in one sitting if possible, it do-able in 1.5-3 hours. It's a must play with a controller as well, with a keyboard and mouse it is still possible but this game was main with a controller in mind. Do it justice by playing it the way it was meant to be played.

Enjoy this game, it's truly one of a kind. One of my favorites of all time.

90

Puzzle storytelling at its best

sirgrummore | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all sirgrummore's reviews »

Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons opens with the younger brother desperately trying to pull his mother back into a small boat on a stormy ocean before a strong current pulls her deep under water. Though there are no real words in this game, the impact of this event on the younger brother's life is surprisingly felt in the presented personality. Each brother interacts with the world in a unique way and each one has different strengths and weaknesses.

As they travel across a diverse and imaginative landscape rich with beauty and fraught with peril, we are presented with an emotionally complex picture of this fantasy realm. The two brothers are questing toward a cure for their mortally ill father, and the brothers repeatedly confront tragedy beyond what most would encounter at their age. And these tragedies, from a man hanging himself at the edge of a battlefield to a town filled with frozen bodies in the street, are never so crudely sapped for their emotional value as many games where the rugged protagonist looks out over destruction as the camera pans over the scenery and sad music plays. It is merely part of the world, just as loss is a part of the lives of these two boys.

The puzzles never get too difficult, but more than anything you're rooting for the brothers and you don't want the narrative to be too frequently interrupted with repeated deaths.

I could go on for ages about the sound track and the pacing of different scenes in the game, but I'll let you see for yourself. This game is a triumph. Buy it.

92

Very fun game!

jackyboi1014 | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

One of the best stories I've played all year. The game has a way of pulling you in and making accomplishments feel earned. The game mechanics are easy and unique with a controller and help seperate the fact that you're playing as two different characters.

The graphics are stunning and the camera positions itself perfectly to capture the depth of the scenery and this helps strengthen the story immensely. For a game that has hardly any dialogue I have never felt a richer story. An Absolute recommend

88

Brothers: A tale of Two Sons (and their adventures)

unnammed | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all unnammed's reviews »

I had heard of this game on the local radio because of the director of the game. I came on here and bought it and try to see what "interesting concept" he might have used in this game. I was very doubtful about the game at first but I found myself grinning and giggling like a boy after a few min into the game.

What is so fun about the game? It isn't hard question to answer, the rare experience of controlling two characters at the same time, the adventures, their "own" language and the lack of narration creates an intersting and fun gameplay. There are many hateful reviews and disappointed people but what I saw in common with all those people is that they were recommended it and they consider it over-hyped. They point out lack of narration and that "it isn't that unique after all"; but in this game we don't need narrative, we can see what happens and we live the story. Some of the things are a bit silly but you have to take that too and enjoy it. The controllign two characters might not be unique but it becomes a very fun experience together with the art, fun puzzles and the adventures.

The art is really really lovely and the puzzles are fairly easy which makes it more enjoyable with people who are not into gaming. You can play with your partner, son, daughter, mom, dad etc. It's a game for family and friends and probably not for the hardcore gamer.

I enjoyed using a controller and played it with a PS2 controller using the (x360ce) program. This game was overall a great surprise and a great experience for me and I hope people can enjoy it and not judge it based on the "hype"

78

Fun gameplay, challenging puzzles, a great adventure

BlockAgent | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

This is a great adventure game, but good eye and hand coordination is needed....and rewarded. Controlling the 2 brothers can be a challenge at first, but once you get the hang of it, you will love this adventure. There are so many unique things in this game that you have not experienced in a game before. The story is great, the graphics are pretty, and the adventure is real. Pick this one up, but make sure you have a controller with 2 control sticks on it, such as an xbox 360 controller. Otherwise it will be much harder to play. The game does have the option for you to use a keyboard if you have no other choice.

86

Nice one!

RicBac | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all RicBac's reviews »

Platform puzzle would be a generic description of this game, with a simple story but with alot of feelings. The controll is interesting as you controll both characters at the same time. This is the challenge. 'The puzzles are fairly easy.

The games strongest part is the atmosphere of the different areas. This helps alot when making the story feel deeper.

This is a really nice game that will get your emotions going. Downside is that it is only for three hours.

85

Buy It!

charlietrainer | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all charlietrainer's reviews »

I have a website that does a try or buy review this game is a BUY. Though the puzzles are not that puzzling the game is well thought out and pulls you right in. I also give props to the game designers having the intelligence to tell the user it is specifically designed for controller use but also giving the ability to go with the traditional keyboard and mouse. I recently also played Castlevania and the developers decided they wanted to try and create an entire knew UI which was extremely frustrating. Overall I would tell people to buy this game especially for the price!

85

Unique

Ortzz | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Ortzz's reviews »

A unique game that is a strong plot driven experience. I personally loved, but see how it could not be for everyone.

What makes it's central characters and plot so good is that they are both reflected in the mechanics. You control one brother with the right analog stick, and the other with the left analog stick. At first, this is very difficult and the brothers don't seem to work well together, but as you get better at the controls, so do the brothers at cooperation. It's really cool to see gameplay mechanics tell a story along with cinematics and other traditional plot elements.

The graphics are another standout point. The water effects and the lighting in paticular are impressive, especially for a game on the budget of this one.

There are some weaknesses though. The only graphical option the game has is resolution (at the moment), meaning if you have a lower spec system you might be missing out on this game. Also be aware a controller is basically required for this game. It is overall a fairly weak port for the lack of options it provides.

But if you have a good PC and a controller and like story driven games, this could be a good pick up.

85

A fable for both mature and young players

Geloriko | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Geloriko's reviews »

This is a really nice story with beautiful graphics and nice characters. Controlling brothers is a bit tricky at the beginning but I got used to it, even though I was playing with keyboard.

I thought that they picked best pictures as promo screens, but now I can say that the whole world looks very beautiful. The story is very nice but maybe a little too short. On the other hand, how long would they have to travel for the cure?

The only thing I didn't like were the puzzles. I'm not a fan of adventure games because I always can't find a way to get on with some riddles. In Brothers all of the puzzles were very easy. A little more difficult puzzles would be better, but again - on the other hand, you go on and on with the story and you really want to finish it...

P.S.: I feel guilt about that ball in the well...

84

Great gem!

Shanti | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

This gem is really good for all players of oni age. -You need controller only XBOX 360 keyboard very bad +Very nice graphics because Unreal engine is trademarked but not by makers of this game they only license it but really well +You do not need console xb 360 it is PC game please seed +Sound makes very nice enjoyment for all patrons of the family +This is a port from x360 but it is good not bad so don't think it means what you think coding is good no errors no bugs. +Gem makes cry but men fail so player die but you need control -Very short I want more but its okay if you wanna hurry and go next no re

84

Sweet

DanJamesStone12 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

This game is mindblowing- stunning visuals, great story, but unfortunately the controls are a little hard to master, but not too bad once you get the hang of it. The game can be completed very quickly though, and there is not much replayability, which is a bit disappointing. All in all though, 100% worth getting.

85

A dolis single player experience

Cavalieroscuro | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game is only about three hours long, but its story is unique and interesting. Graphic and sound are ok, creating such a nice atmosphere for the title. You will need a pad to fully enjoy the game, but give it a try.

84

Very immersive story

Verdungo | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Verdungo's reviews »

At the beginning I got some problems with controlling characters, but after all it gives bigger close up with them. I love the story, it's simple but describing a lot of character filings and needs without using a word (a normal word).Graphics is not high end, but very beautifull with painting style combinations of colors. Game is very short, and that's the reason why i want to complete it again and again. In this title all You need to do is delight of story :)

87

Sweet

Oblaque | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

This is one of the few games you can truly call "art". The way the story is portrayed, the way characters are developed (even without any! comprehensible dialogue) and the way the game pulls you into the story is simply marvelous.

This game is a must play for any gamer worth his salt.

75

Nice unique control gameplay

y1985 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

This game wasn't look that good but when you play it's another story. You need controller to fully experienced gameplay because you need to control both brothers at the same time using two analog stick, keyboard still playable but use WASD + arrow key isn't satisfy as a controller.

The game is about solving puzzle, it's not too hard. One downside is it's a bit too short for a 14.99$ game

72

Another Classic, bring a controller

CreationsAU | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all CreationsAU's reviews »

Lately it feels like we are getting strong indie type games with amazing stories, offering clever game mechanics and great feel off small budgets. "Brothers" is a story of 2 sons looking to cure their dad of a fatal injury, its a simple base ling that ends with a massive emotionally strong story and that is all about the ride aswell as the final destination

A game controller is REQUIRED to play the game (for some reason this isn't stated on GMG website,it is clearly listed on the steam store page however), you just the thumb sticks to control the 2 brothers at the same time! Initially its a bit weird but you learn it quickly and you are off, you use both brothers to solve puzzles as you progress through the story!

95

Something grate

Gojko | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

When you have something grate in your hand or your HDD it's big problem how to start short review.

Graphic... game is based on Unreal engine which told us that graphic is very good, especially when is in hands of good graphical designer. People you need to seed that environment, do I watching a movie or playing a game.

Sound... how is it possible that something so average be so good.

Story... that is real refreshment, finally someone remembered to write something very good. Story follows the two brothers on an who are trying to find a cure for their sick father (not mother).

When you merge all of this you will get a very good game that will give you a least of four hours of good entertainment.

83

AMAZING GAME!

jonty1337 | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all jonty1337's reviews »

really good game, nice graphics but the controls are quite hard but you do get use to them. Its a very short game like Portal but a really good story even though the game play is about 2/3 hours long.

94

a little gem

soad667 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all soad667's reviews »

I was waiting this for quite some time. And it was worth it... a lot.

Beautiful visuals, you really feel like you're in some fairy tale, everything is so damn pleasing. Controls are quite simple, you control the movement of the two brothers separately (WASD and arrow keys) and there is one action button for each, which is a "do it all" button for the various actions that are needed. You start simple with easy puzzles and it gets harder as you progress to the story, but not that hard. Game's main focus is to tell you its awesome story, not to frustrate you with the puzzle designs.

One small downside. Game is a bit short and there is really not much replayability. But you can be sure that the time it lasts, will be time well spent. Also, Steam says that a controller is required to play, but i still don't understand why such statement is there. Game works perfect without a controller and it can only hurt sales by alienating people without controllers for no reason.

Anyway, if it seems appealing to you by just looking at it, you have nothing to fear. I'm sure you're going to love it.