Reviews for F.E.A.R Pack

100

JUST YES

busky422 | April 14, 2014 | See all busky422's reviews »

the title says it all. Awesome FPS remember all of these coming out man did i enjoy every one of them

90

What a collection!!!.

kenji86 | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all kenji86's reviews »

So some people like horror some like FPS..So what happens if you combine them both into one. Easy, you get FEAR! One of the best games ever in its state of art uniqueness. You can't complain that this is a 'clone' of that game or this game. Since FEAR was a first of new breed. I waited so long to until this game was affordable to me. (yes I'm a cheap fellow but at least I'm buying it, right) And finally I got it. First 2 editions were true to horror- Single player campaigns and hell of a scary incidents. F3AR was much a co op shooter than a horror but don't get me wrong it is waaay enjoyable with a friend and it does has some awesome ending as well as Fear unique horror style, but not as frequent as previous two. So regarding all, I think this pack is awesome to guy during a deal. But if you can afford it get it now. You won't regret it.

70

Must Have in Your Collection - Not All are Must Play Though

gildorluthien | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all gildorluthien's reviews »

This review is only concerning the single-player aspect of these games.

(maybe spoilers?)

I just finished F.3.A.R. last night after playing through the entire "Monolith" storyline over the course of a couple of weeks, playing a couple hours a night. I remember when F.E.A.R. came out and I kept saying "I want that." The trailers and gameplay vids I saw of it looked awesome...but I'm a cheapskate, so I just waited..8 years. Although in many respects the game is dated - the first F.E.A.R. was revolutionary in its gameplay, graphics, AI, and look. At the time it was hot stuff. As an experience overall, F.E.A.R. 2 was definitely a better produced and consumed package. Monolith got another chance to do right what seemed to be so many wrongs in the first game. The developers of F.E.A.R. seemed like they got so caught up in the revolutionary functions and engine of the game, they cut corners writing a gripping story and presenting characters that grabbed you. The scenarios were quickly repetitive and well, I just used some cheats to get me through real quick to the end, as by this time all I cared about was the story...what semblance of one there was. Although, by the end the story does pick up some steam to set things up for a sequel. I didn't play the two Vivendi expansions to F.E.A.R. after reading some displeasure with the overall direction of the games by several reviewers.

F.E.A.R. 2 - Project Origin has better graphics, a protagonist that I actually felt at some points I was embracing, particularly closer to the end, and gameplay that I thought easily surpassed F.E.A.R. The control scheme was refined more and Monolith did a much better job of squeezing in a lot of extra content so that the plot holes from F.E.A.R. were filled quickly and you got the whole story of the Wade family and Alma. Because I knew there was a third instalment to play, I found myself satisfied with the ending and looking forward to playing F.3.A.R.

I have mixed feelings about F.3.A.R. On one hand, it can be conceived of as the crown jewel of the series. Graphically the game looks better. Story-wise, there was a good attempt to deepen the mythos of Paxton and Point Man and their relationship to Alma, but I still felt like something was missing. The AI in F.3.A.R. I thought was less intuitive than in F.E.A.R. 2 - Project Origin. After getting killed a couple of times, it was easy to memorize the pattern of where enemies would appear, place some grenades and well timed headshots, and you were quickly through part of an Interval. I looked forward to playing some of the levels through again as Paxton once I finished, but...once I started again I was...bored. His potential as an antagonist was never quite realized in F.E.A.R. and sometimes I wonder if maybe co-oping both characters in the single player mode would have helped to bring some variety to the gameplay and chances to have a more enriching and varied experience. The ending itself, was...mostly predictable - looks like Alma just wanted to know someone cared.

Still, I would recommend playing through it when you have time. There's a lot of good games out there that I would rank over it, but here's my thoughts. I'd give the overall series 7 out 10 points, and then in order of preference - F.E.A.R 2 - Project Origin, F.3.A.R, and then F.E.A.R.

70

Kinda good

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

The first game was definitely really disturbing and made me jump a few times. The second game also made me jump a few times, but not as much, felt to much focused on action and blood lust. And the third, well lets just say if there was no co-op I would hate it. So keep that in mind.

P.S: Bullet time is awesome

81

A great horror pack

gforcesa | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Some of the most awesome FPS horror titles out there.F.E.A.R. one was so scary i played it with a couple of days break when back in 2005 when it released.F.E.A.R. 2 was a good sequel and had some very awesome and unforgettable moments.F.E.A.R. 3 in my opinion wasn't as good as the previous ones but the good thing was that it has co-op which was very fun to play.It's 75 % off which makes it a great deal for 5 games.

92

The best pack for one of the best FPS sagas

abelfs | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

F.E.A.R. became one of the sleepers of the year it was released, with a spectacular gameplay and the best shootings and deaths I have ever seen (I have played it recently and still surprises me). To these mechanics you add terrifying moments and a suitable plot, and you obtain one of the best FPS experiences for single player. Unfortunately, the quality and originality of each game was decreasing until they arrived to F.3.A.R., which was a good game, but far from the boom that the first F.E.A.R caused.

85

Thrilling Horror FPS

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

I'm sure many out there have played FPS games. Now this is one thrilling, dark horror FPS. The graphics and sounds within the game are really scary (at least to me) , lives up to the name of Fear. During the game...periods of silence may be broken by sudden screams and before you know it (if you fail to react quickly enough) it may be a game over for you. It is a fast paced horror FPS that leaves you on the edge of your seat , so be careful not to fall off. This pack provides FEAR 2 , which allows for co-opt and multi player modes with the online community (quite active, you do not need to worry about a dead game)

77

First Encounter Assault Recon all in one go

y1985 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

All F.E.A.R series in one go. This deal is awesome.

Horror FPS game that have creepy moment in FEAR series+ More Action and horror jump scare in FEAR2 + Co-op Action playing in FEAR3. This is insane.

People always said FEAR1 is the greatest in the series but IMO it's all different. If you enjoy co-op play and horror aspect you'll love this series.

New to the horror franchise must try this.

82

Awesome flick!

kenji86 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all kenji86's reviews »

I got it during the last promotion here at GMG, really worth the money you spend here. For horror experience stick to Fear 1, For mix of action and horror play the Fear 2 and For co op an action play the 3rd one, All mixed for one price!

82

A great bundle!

DaveBMF | July 8, 2013 | See all DaveBMF's reviews »

I love classic first person shooters and was not disappointed with this bundle. The games are interesting, varied and well told. The graphics on F.E.A.R. may be a bit dated but it really didn't matter because the gameplay was highly enjoyable and not muddied with excessive features. You have a variety of standard weapons and first aid packs and shields with an ability to switch into Slow Motion mode allowing you to maximize carnage for a short time. Simple, classic and very fun.

89

One of the best horror fps franchise

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you love Horror fps, this is a must buy franchise for you.F.E.A.R. completely gives you the real horror feeling, it's not just full of corridor startling set pieces, it has the correct amount of terror you need in a game. It's a must buy for every horror fans.

67

Fear is here and Alma is back

malagchonga | July 5, 2013 | See all malagchonga's reviews »

F.E.A.R. starts off with a simple enough story. As a First Encounter Assault Recon member, you're sent in to investigate a man named Paxton Fettel who has a taste akin to Hannibal Lector. Since you've got reflexes that are "off the charts" you can employ a SlowMo bullet time power to help you get the drop on enemies that will cause you great headaches. This thin premise for having superpowers also provides reason to send you in alone. As is the case in these games, things don't go smoothly once you're on your own. You quickly jump into a paranormal quest to learn what exactly led to this strange turn of events and how you can put a stop to it.

While the story is passable, the method of delivery leaves something to be desired. Aside from very brief in-engine cutscenes that happen at the beginning of some of the levels, the story comes to you mainly through searching through the various buildings and offices for blinking lights on phones or laptop computers. Accessing these will fill you in on some of the details, but it is entirely auditory and oftentimes you'll merely get fluff for your exploratory efforts. In Fear 2 the sequel it picks up shortly before F.E.A.R. 1 ends and offers a different point of view, as you play as the member of another military squad tasked with what seems to be a routine job: take a corporate executive into custody. This time around, you are Michael Becket and then all starts like in FEar 1 with better grafics. The last of them is way confusing, the story makes nearly no sence to me and at the end all i did wa putting the game away. To not spoiler , this time Alma trys to make a new telepath like herself to terrorise the world with 2 alma and you and your death brother are going to take care of it. Its less Horror and more Action FPS. ITs not Bad but far away from the root.

87

Complete pack of FEAR to fear you

lok0812 | July 5, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This package contains a great series that will absolutely fear you. Gameplay and gamestyle are similar to other form of first person shooter except your character have special ability that can be use to turn the tide when gun fights against monsters or soldiers. The horror elements are especially high in the first 2 FEAR games but not so much on the third. The third is more focused on action combat and less on the horror but it is still a great solid game to play. Sounds are top notch in the series, you will constantly hear scream and sound effect that tries to scare you and keep you moving forward just so you will trigger that horrifying moment. The game also packed coop mode and multiplayer but it is pretty much dead for the first 2 FEAR, the third online community is rather small as well so it will be hard to find a game online. But if you have a friend that also have the game, the coop experience is a blast. This package is a must get especially it included the DLCs for the first two game to enhance the story even further.

80

3 Good Games In 1 Package

ravestar | July 5, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

I know FEAR 1 since it came out. Even then, it has captivated me, it was also the first horror shooter I've played. Since the two successors interested me and I wanted to know how the story goes on, I bought the trilogy and not a bit of regret.

THe story is very well done.With every part of the game, the setting and gameplay were also changed slightly. By that I mean that everything was done in FEAR 2 and 3 was enhanced. I did not like it now, but to me it was always just around the story.

Conclusion: FEAR Trilogy is worthwhile if you like horror shooter like Dead Space and you will be interested in the story.