Reviews for Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War II

77

Giant marines in power armor and lots of squishy bugs

midgetjacks | Oct. 4, 2014 | See all midgetjacks's reviews »

I never got into Warhammer, of either variety, but this looked neat, so I gave it a try. What you get is a really neat little, character driven, RTS. It's based on small squad tactics, with laying down a solid foundation of covering and flanking suppressed enemies at its core. I really, really dig small squad stuff, so this was right up my alley. And then, on top of that, each member of your squad gains experience and levels up with assigning skill points and loot and everything. If you're a fan of the fiction or like romping around the galaxy with a four man squad, demolishing everything in sight, get this now.

81

Absolutely fantastic game

Qwertyfour | March 4, 2014 | See all Qwertyfour's reviews »

Warhammer 40K is an absolutely fantastic series, and I'd regard this particular game as one of the best. It's a sort of fuse between the RTS and RPG, so you have to micromanage some squads that each have leaders in real time. The game is mission based which is quite apt to the series and you level up your squads. The missions do get a bit repetitive to some, but it is all dependent on your preference.

I personally had a ton of fun with the game. There's co-op play too, for more fun with friends. The graphics are sharp and the sound quality is above average and it keeps true to the lore and the whole Warhammer Universe in particular. Overall, I've had a ton of fun with the game and I'd imagine that anyone who loves RTSs like Starcraft would love this game.

91

Perfect for your real time strategy fix

taigatsu | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

Dawn of War 2 is fantastic real time strategy game that takes a departure from its predecessor. Steeped in the lore of the Warhammer 40K universe, the action here focuses on a smaller number of units, utilizing their distinct abilities, a satisfying RPG system of progression and closer co-ordination of tactics and troop placement.

Where as the first game was about large scale battles, DoW2 is all about smaller scale engagements, with an elite cadre of classic Warhammer archetypes facing overwhelming odds. Each unit has their own personality and skill set that they bring to each mission, and you have the freedom them to mix and match them as you see fit. There is a larger focus on the storyline, which while not particularly gripping, is enough to keep you interested. Even better though, mission offers different gear as loot rewards, allowing you to power up your units and customize them for different play styles.

You want find epic conflicts of massive armies in this one, but for fans of smart, sharp tactical gaming, Dawn of War 2 is a fantastic use of the license and a unique take on real time strategy.

88

New spin on RTS

TheBarcaShow | Dec. 27, 2013 | See all TheBarcaShow's reviews »

This game is definitely a unique one and a well made game.

In this game you control a couple squads of units each with their own characteristics, skills, weapons, armors and abilities, and you level up the characters as you progress through the game (of course)

The gameplay is great and a breath of fresh air (pardon the cliche). In this game you have to take care that your units don't die, to do this you micromanage them, that is move them in active battle to dodge enemy attacks, especially important during boss fights. You also take advantage of cover and positioning. There is always cover in the various maps and you can pretty much take cover behind everything and take less damage because of it.

Outside of the missions, you have various objectives. There are many times where you have to stratigize and think about which objective will help you in the long run.

There is also a co-op mode, it isn't the best done but it still makes the game enjoyable nonetheless

71

Great New Spin on the RTS Genre

noobboy191 | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

If you're bored of playing the same old rts then dawn of war 2 is for you. Dawn of war focuses on strategic placement of a limited amount of soldiers, while completely throwing away base building. This allows for more focus and attention on small battles instead of zipping around the map building new units and commanding units for 2 seconds. Some downfalls of the game is the fact that the space marines are the only campaign playable factions, kind of leaving the other 3 in the dust. Other than that this game is a must buy for the rts fans

85

Finally a competitor to Starcraft II

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Dawn of War 2 is an RTS/RPG-hybrid where the player takes control of a maximum of four squads of units. Standard RTS-controls apply. Each squad comes with a squad leader that can level up between missions and equip new items that are looted on the battlefield or gained as a mission reward. After each mission the player will be asked to choose the next mission objective from a star map where they will be able to see how much time is left for a mission, what the rewards are and what kind of assets are available on the planets. The ultimate goal is to stop the Tyranid threat which is represented by a bar that is constantly filling up as time goes by. Focus too much on one planet and you won't be able to save another. During missions there are three types of assets to be captured and each asset gives the player a strategic advantage. Winning the game relies on finding the time to capture these assets but not lingering around for too long as it diminishes the chances of gaining another deployment for that day. The more deployments per day that you secure, the slower the Tyranid threat grows and the more experience your troops gain. When 2 players engage in co-operative play, they will each be assigned two squads and although these are locked during the RTS stage, the players are allowed to both seamlessly control the interface during the RPG/tactical planning phase. As the person whom I played DoW 2 with put it "the Warhammer universe is endlessly repeating itself" so the story is just that; familiar. Sounds and video are excellent, the game looks and plays brilliantly. Although I am not a very big fan of the Warhammer universe, this game is legendary. Most fun can be had in co-operative play with a like-minded friend and my only grievances with it are the fishtank soundbug and the inability to rebind your special abilities and accessories!

95

Just when I thought WH40k can't get better.

WildWest123 | June 6, 2013 | See all WildWest123's reviews »

I just LOVE the Warhammer 40k games,but this one just made me keep wanting to play it ALL the time,the campaign is just amazing.A must have for fans.

76

Decent RTS strategy

wildster30 | June 1, 2013 | See all wildster30's reviews »

Overall this is a decent RTS strategy game, the graphics are good, the controls are relatively easy and the gameplay can be fast paced; making a good overall experience. However there is nothing really special about this either. For fans of the Warhammer 40K franchise then this would be a must buy as the game is heavily based around the lore of the warhammer universe, however the single player is quite weak with little in terms of storyline. The multiplayer can be fun however it often seemed to turn into a spam fest to see who could get the most troops in the shortest time possible, that may be due to my lack of skill at the game when I first started playing it however I felt that there are other RTS games that do the job better. Overall, a must for the fans of warhammer, otherwise worth a try if you are a serious strategy fan.