Reviews for Sanctum 2

93

Tower defense then FPS

kyanpufa | Sept. 4, 2014 | See all kyanpufa's reviews »

It's very good game have both tower defense and FPS. You can play with singleplayer and multiplayer. When i played this game i had really good times. Do you like FPS? Do you like tower defense? if answer is yes then this is your game.

95

Mix FPS / Tower Defense

kawette | June 11, 2014 | See all kawette's reviews »

Well, this game was the first that i achieved 100% because it was quite challenging and motivating to play all the level in solo or coop.

I really enjoyed that game because you need to good at FPS and also use your brain to defeat the enemies. You can also work with other players, beginners or veteran everybody is listen and can play.

For me it's a very good COOP game which can be again more enjoyed by playing with friends.

80

Surpring

19th | June 7, 2014 | See all 19th's reviews »

I was kind of taken aback at the beginning to how different the gameplay was from the first, but after playing the first few missions I am loving it, the changes have definitely made for a better experience, love the humour this game has and coop is great!

100

Amazing FPS + Tower Defense combination.

Furrek | May 19, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Before I tried this game I thought making a FPS and TD mix game is stupid. How wrong I was... For beginning, it's really a great TD game. I enjoy this genre so much that I probably played every Tower Defense game. First time playing Sanctum 2 feels like just a good TD game. And then, you are also part of this game. Not just as a mouse cursor who place towers on map. You are a character that also fight with next waves of monsters. This makes this game really fresh. Just adding you, a player, as active character to defense the core. It's so simple, but makes this game awesome. Simply the best, right? There are plenty of maps, unlimited waves mode, few characters to choose to play as and SECRETS. Also multiplayer mode to play with friends. In my opinion it's one of the best TD games I ever played and trust me, I played plenty of them.

90

Beautifully refined

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

Whilst Sanctum 1 laid down an interesting and fun concept with the idea of tower defence from a first person shooter perspective. Sanctum 2 builds upon this, refining the experience beautifully with great graphical fidelity and bunch more content. With new weapons, characters, towers, enemies, traits and loads more, Sanctum 2 becomes an incredible experience for both singleplayer and multiplayer matches.

85

Understanding of intentions with co-op partners is important.

cdp_star | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all cdp_star's reviews »

Although this is a sequel of the game which combined FPS and TD, our own shooting skill is needed more than TD knowledge. Because of my poor FPS skill, I could not finish difficult mode (which is called FoS in the game) without additional DLC and co-op members' help. However lengths of almost all stages were 10-20 min, so I didn't feel stress for repetitive trials. And I felt the limitation of resource which is important for TD could make the game exciting. If the co-op partners didn't have similar hopes about TD construction, the game will become insane difficulty!! But I think it is a funny point about this game.

99

A dream come true.

Unbenannte | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

This game its like all I ever dreamed, but better. I was a very early lover of tower defense games, I liked to feel like a strategist. But in the end I would always lose and think to my self: Wouldn't it be great if i had the chance to be on the ground and make a difference? Thats why this hybrid of tower defense with FPS is amazing. it was my first tower defense/fps game, and it did reached all my expectations. If you ever had that same thought, then hurry, buy the game, you will love it. The story is very good, the gun unlock system rocks, the tower building, aiming your guns, passing the waves, making the difference on the floor, ohh man . And yet I think the best thing is that you can play co-op. Its really perfect. 10/10 if its your first TD/FPS game. Hope you find this useful and get it soon.

80

Completely Different From The First

Stuman31 | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

There are a lot of people who didnt like Sanctum 1. I really enjoyed it. However, no matter which side of the fence you land on for this one I can say it doesnt matter what you think of it because this game is nothing like it. Obviously they are similat in that they are tower defense mixed with FPS, but unlike the first this one is meant to be played COOP. and is a great Coop game. This game almost have more of a feel of if Borderlands had a tower defnese DLC. A lot of fun with friends, solo id say you'd be better off with the original

85

Sanctum 2 - review

balbo79 | Oct. 3, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

Sanctum 2 inserts elements of FPS in the classic formula of a Tower Defense. Each area must be defended by a series of progressive assaults that are composed of two phases, namely placement of resources and real attack. The resources consist of blocks to be placed to lengthen the path of the enemy and towers to be placed in a strategic position and possibly strengthened. When flying enemies, various types of turrets, accessories, multiple nuclei to defend and boss (able to destroy blocks and then create awkward gaps) enter in the field, things get more hectic and difficult. In addition to the campaign, you can then engage in a survival mode where the objective is to resist before the inevitable end. Finally, it is worth mentioning the multiplayer co-op for up to four players. Coordinate and cover in a group during a game is really fun, and the action gets even more frenetic, with dead and respawn, and dozens of enemies swarming on the map.

88

Familiar ground with new paving

deatonis | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all deatonis's reviews »

Sanctum 2 continues forward from Coffee stain's sanctum 1, and adds onto the games base functionality. Now there are multiple characters you can use, new types of enemies and far more tower types and weapons and even abilities.

The game it's self is very fun and very engaging as promotes not only it's strategic turret portion but it's weaponry and unique character aspects. All characters have their own character trait, ontop of being able to possess abilities.

The game however is not flawless as difficulty ramps up fast and it would be nice to know how different turrets affect enemies more so then what it shows. But the game is still nothing short of amazing, the level of strategy you can get down to with this not so classic take on the turret defense genre is very deep. Even moreso from the way turrets can assist or supplement each other.

I will just ontop of everything state it like this, I in no way regretted my purchase and enjoy playing this game quite often, especially with friends.

90

A great improvement to the first.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This game, just like the first, is best when played co-op. If you manage to bring some friends, you'll have great fun, if you're alone, you'll end up not playing it. However, the game is great in general, just like the first, but this time you have more weapons to blast your enemies, and new turrets to defend your base. If you haven't tried any of them, you should get this one instead, since the main theme hasn't changed much, but it's a better game overall.

90

Great game

darktim | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all darktim's reviews »

Great game only issue is that it later becomes heavy reliance into the first person asspect whilst not whilst towers become just for mazing

90

Unique tower defence game.

EvilTarakan | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all EvilTarakan's reviews »

A tower defence game First Person Shooter,that is sanctum,and its awesome.

The second game got much more improved and tweaked after the first game. The gameplay is great and unique,you need to build towers and defend yourself as well,just a mix between FPS and tower defence, and its great and fun. there are more customization,new towers,weapons and more.

Just don't play by yourself,you will get really bored,the gamy offers 4 player co-op so get some friends and than play.

I still managed to find bugs and a lack of good story.

86

Great improvement

lok0812 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This second installment in the series improved from the first in every way. The leveling system, upgrades to the placement of your towers are much better and easier to deal with in this one. In addition, the graphic of this one looks more crisp and beautiful compared to the first one. Downside is that the game uses the same model for bosses for a long time so it might get repetitive shooter the same monster over and over again. If you enjoyed the first one when it was only a mere good innovation to have TD and FPS in one game, then you will enjoy this one as everything remains the same except this time more great things are built on top of it.

78

Different from Sanctum 1, but still a very good game

Forceflow | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

It's a bit of a different game from Sanctum 1 (which I prefer over this one), but still brings a lot of great stuff to the table.

There's a tower cap, but enemies are a lot less bullet-spongy, so it doesn't really matter. There are some very hard missions in single-player, but they're constantly balancing the game; Strategy and tower placement is very vital in this title, as is actually using your guns, which sometimes seemed unnecessary in the first one.

Sanctum 2 also is very co-op oriented, and even random pubs usually are a lot of fun. You can transfer resources between players, and the beating a map with 4 people is a great way to exchange ideas and tactics.

Coffee Stain Studios also actively listens to the community, so the game is constantly tweaked and updated, with lots of good DLC on the way.

Recommended!

80

Tower defence redefined!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game has the aspects of a first person shooter, and a tower defence game, whilst upholding a free-running style of Mirror's Edge. I like the aspect of the game, but I think it could be better, possibly more types of mini-guns etcetera. The cooperative play is also very nice, requiring a more strategic approach to the game. It has very nice graphics though.

95

Best tower defense game in the genre

Oblaque | July 23, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

After buying this on a steam sale, I can safely say that this a fantastic tower defense fps game. Hours of fun, well designed maps and an interesting story make for an awesome game. Almost everything that was wrong with the first Sanctum has been fixed in this version. Great job coffee stain studios!

85

Nice take on Tower Defence Genre

Viprus | July 23, 2013 | See all Viprus's reviews »

Continuing on from Sanctum, Sanctum 2 brings quite a few tweaks and improvements that help make the game stand out in its' genre. The game contains a nice variety of deadly enemies and lush environments to keep you busy, and adds levelling, unlocks and feats of strength to keep the replayability high.

Customization of skills and towers makes for good team play with players choosing to focus on different specialities. The game's difficulty scales along with the number of players so it's possible to finish in single player, while not becoming too easy when playing with friends.

The game itself, however, is quite short with a limited number of stages but if your only problem with a game was that you wish it would have lasted longer, then it was worth buying. This also gets remedied by its' DLCs, with more to come.

88

A worthy sequel.

GuardianOfSouls | July 22, 2013 | See all GuardianOfSouls's reviews »

When this game first came out, I was nervous about some of the directions they took. Originally, you had to manually pick up your resources after each wave, cutting into your preparation time. Thankfully, Coffee Stain has listened to the complaints and has removed that from the game and adding many things. It is also consistently being patched and having any issues resolved.

On the gameplay side it is all you would love from Sanctum with more. If you are new to the franchise, this is a FPS tower defense game with enemies that will attack you if you stand in their way. Almost every mechanic in normal tower defense games are represented, except with the twist that you are part of the action. This is a fantastic series that really inspired games like Dungeon Defenders, Orcs Must Die 2, and other hits of the genre.

Graphically, it is very light on the requirements and runs will with decent enough visuals and silky smooth gameplay. Don't expect Battlefield 3, but Mass Effect 3 is in the ball park visually.

Best of all, it has great matchmaking and it is easy to meet friends and play with existing ones!

90

Great game worth it

insanegentlemen | July 18, 2013 | See all insanegentlemen's reviews »

This game has such a nice feel to it bringing FPS an Tower defence together after getting quite addicted to the first game with a few friends a went straight up and get the second, I'm very pleased I did and can't wait for all the DLC to be added I hope they add the black hole tower from Super sanctum. Worth your money and time [:

82

Great Co-op!

amc215 | July 7, 2013 | See all amc215's reviews »

Sanctum 2 delivers an intoxicating blend of co-op FPS action and strategic tower defense. With great co-op.

82

A great game

vtbomb | July 6, 2013 | See all vtbomb's reviews »

This is a great game familiar control to most FPS and simple to understand mechanic makes the game really easy to pick up and play. It is great fun, especially if you're playing with friends. the tactic and discussion are unique and different for each map so there is a very high replay value, plus there was additional "feat of strength" challenges going back to undertake upon finishing the game. Overall a great and unique game that has been done very well.

80

Its good game

Eddienas | July 4, 2013 | See all Eddienas's reviews »

Unlike its previous instalment this shooter and tower defense game mix is focusing on a player and their character building. Therefore your hands are tied from the tower building perspective, and the title is counting on its cooperative multiplayer game. On the other hand, if you've never played the original instalment or you are not afraid of the changes, feel free to venture into Sanctum 2.

80

Unique Game

CommunistBatman | July 4, 2013 | See all CommunistBatman's reviews »

There are a lot of things to like about this game.

First, There is real tactical depth in the tower defense. Walling system instead of lanes system for tower defense really effects the way you play each mission and allows for multiple solid solutions. It really gives you a chance to have those 'Ah ha' moments when you finally realize how to play out the waves in a mission.

Second, The art aesthetic is fantastic. It is both very clean and colourful which suits the need to understand what is taking place at a glance.

Third, it's just plain fun :). I find myself replaying missions just to experiment and see whether I can accomplish more with the FPS aspects instead of leaning on tower defense as much. It really creates a lot of entertaining moments that are hard to turn down.

94

Improves on the original in every way imaginable

mutsuriini | June 6, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

I personally loved the first game and I can't recommend this game enough if you're a fan of Sanctum.

This one takes everything that was great about the original and tweaks it just enough to keep it interesting, and adds even more all new content to keep it feeling fresh like a story mode, new characters with unique abilities and a way to scale the difficulty according to your taste.

And it's tons of fun to play with your mates in co-op, fantastic game.

92

Remains one of my favorites

DonVercetti | June 1, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

I am a huge fan of the Sanctum series and I was excited to see this sequel. Compared to the first Sanctum game this is a whole new game, they kept the concept of the game where you defend your core as a tower defense game, but also as a FPS game. From there on out they have redesigned the game completely. You can now take damage and die during waves, there's a whole leveling system in the game now. I could go on for hours, It's just a fantastic game with a very innovative and original concept! I really recommend this!

85

More tower defence!

Stebsis | May 28, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Sanctum 2 is just gorgeous to look at. CryEngine 3 really is one of the best game engines to make a game pretty, but that's not all S2 is. This is a great tower defence game with not as many new things as I had hoped for. In the beginning of a round you see where your enemies are gonna come from and what you need to defend. You then build your towers to defend the area and try to build as complex and long maze as possible so that enemies take as long as possible to reach the end. You also go to battle in first person using guns and not just watching the action. This is a standard TD game and does its job perectly. One added thing is coop which is just awesome. It just adds to the value and it's a ton of fun to play with 3 of your friends. Sanctum 2 is a game any tower defence fan will love even though it doesn't do anything actually new or different.

87

Defend or Die

kalil | May 26, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Here's the second installment of the sanctums. The game is quite similar to its previous part just improved.

It carries a 8.5 in gameplay because I like to be a tower defense game and a shooter at a time, because if the turrets do not end with the enemy in this tower defense game you have the chance to kill you.

It takes 9.0 technology for the gaming system, graphics engine ... The truth is that in this section is not much to highlight.

It carries a 9.5 in graphics because it's what he deserves. The graphics are brutal, even in Direct X 9. The shadows are good and there are a lot of sharp colors.

It carries a 8.5 on sound because I've loved, especially those who make weapons when they are recharged.

In 7.5 innovation takes on the original delivery because the truth is that it is as 1 just been upgraded at all, so that's why this notilla so low in that paragraph.

Conclusion: A game you must play if you like shooting and strategy games.

70

Sanctum 2 - Not bad

eishun | May 26, 2013 | See all eishun's reviews »

Sanctum was a great game, it mixed FPS and Tower defense strategy into a very good game, compared to sanctum 1, sanctum 2 is an all new experience with all new graphics and game modes, now the game features new character system which makes the game even more exciting and fun.

the tower and monster system are most-likely same with the sanctum 1, but now they are improved with more aggressive monster, the sound are okay, although i feel the wubwub is just out of place and simply unfit, but other than that it's perfectly fine

overall a great game, give it a shot when it's on sale

85

Great TD/FPS hybrid from a great developer

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | See all Exostenza's reviews »

The first thing that needs to be mentioned here is the developers are absolutely committed to their games and update the games according to fan feedback more than most, if not all, developers. This immediately puts them in my great books. Aside from that the game has enhanced graphics from the previous game and a much better weapon system. Also there are classes in this iteration which makes the game, especially the coop, much better in terms of variation between players and play styles.

There are guns, towers and perks to unlock which is standard fair in most shooters and it really makes this game fun because like I said before there is much variation for every character/class you play.

The single player is fun and the co-op is an absolute blast. Taking time with your buddies or people you met over the internet to make cool mazes and figure out new strategies for each level is a lot of fun and in this iteration they have lots of options for each level to up the difficulty in specific manners (harder monsters, faster monsters, less resources etc...) resulting in more replay-ability of each level and the motivation to try new strategies on old levels.

All in all this is a fantastic game from excellent developers who love to listen to their community and exact quick changes to their game on a regular basis. The game is so much fun I am absolutely sure I am going to pick up the season pass as I am sure it will provide a lot more fun to a game that already provides more than most "AAA" titles for 15 bucks.

FPS and TD fans you are in for a great game if you go ahead and grab this and with the constant GMG vouchers you know you'll always get a good deal on this awesome website.

80

More of the same

Cavalieroscuro | May 24, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Sanctum 2 is pretty much the same tower defense game of Sanctum 1, with addictional characters, and finally a story (narrated by comic book pages). That's all. Yes, the coop is very funny with three other friends, but you could just play Sanctum 1 without spending on this sequel (well, not really a "sequel", but a huge expansion). Otherwise, if you never played Sanctum, buy this one, because it provides a better experience.

80

A good evolution.

fable2 | May 22, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Sanctum 2 take most of what made Sanctum good and expand on it to become even better. There's now 4 characters you can choose from, you have a level to get new guns/towers and perks, a lot of different maps (16 currently). Why it has 8 and not 10 is because we are very strictly limited on the number of tower (10) but the tower do makes a different but overall, i feel like this is too few for survival mode. There's also some improvements that could be made in co-op with the way resources are used and the way we select a game. All in all, I prefer this game to the previous one because enemy are more aware of you, the level system make you feel like you are progressing in the game and the sheer number of gun/tower/perk is pretty awesome IMO.

80

For tower defense fans

No57 | May 20, 2013 | See all No57's reviews »

Sanctum 2 is what you would expect if you played Sanctum.

Tower defense FPSs are a very rare breed. The thing is that FPS fans don't have much in this game. As you would expect, the shooting part is not the most important aspect. It is decent, don't get me wrong. It's just that we've all seen better. The tower defense part is interesting. You get 2 kinds of resources. Platforms, which can be used to build mazes to make the enemy go the long way around while they also serve as a base for cannons, gatlings, mine dispensers and all the rest of the towers. The second kind of resources is used to build towers and upgrade them.

The gameplay consists of nothing new to the tower defense genre. Monsters come in waves, you get to build before and after each wave, which for the most part don't start until all players are ready. There are certain waves that start within an allocated time frame.

The graphics are interesting. Although I would have preferred better looking enemies they do fit in with the overall graphic style. The surroundings on the other hand are pretty darn good. The sun, the mountains, rivers, vegetation are quite the sight.

The monsters or aliens, whichever you prefer, come in a nice variety. As in Sanctum, each monster has its own weak spots which glow in orange / red. Damage dealt outside these areas are either lower or none compared to actually hitting the mark. Some of the enemies make your job of hitting the weak spots harder. For example, having armor in the front and the spot in the back, or the Bobblehead doing what you'd expect, bobbling. One of the more interesting encounter are the Boss encounters. Although not that different in design from their smaller counterparts, the bosses have a larger health pool, and what is more important, they have a totally different behavior, choosing to chase down the players, rip walls and turrets apart.

The conclusion? Tower defense fans will have a good time with this. Especially considering the price. All that is left is what the season pass will deliver. FPS fans that are impartial or dislike this genre could stay clear but as with most coop games, playing with friends is most of the times more entertaining than alone.