Reviews for Tales of Monkey Island

85

Faithful to originals.

Kokuei | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all Kokuei's reviews »

When it comes down to the characters, dialogue and storyline; this game is a faithful recreation in an all new game. Many original developers were involved with the production in this game. Ron Gilbert with the story arc, Dave Grossman with the design and etc. With the talented developers at Telltale this turned out to be great.

The game is run on the Telltale Tool engine. All cutscenes and gameplay in done real time and wasn't prerecorded. Graphics are well done; game can be run on not so great hardware.

The gameplay is similar to the original. You point and click on objects. You combine objects to create new items to continue the quest. There are also a few red herrings to detour you from having a completely linear path.

This goes without flaws though. Majority of the objectives are really straight forward. A little too obvious what the correct choice are. Others are completely random where there is no conceivable way you can understand what's going on ie. "Whale Mating" (using this to avoid spoilers). There are also game breaking bugs which didn't not allow me to continue the game at one point. I had to take 30 minutes skipping through every piece of dialogue and puzzle to get back to where the bug occurred.

Overall the series is pretty well made and if you liked the original's comedic value; this game will keep you laughing.

90

The Mighty Pirate™ returns!

Incendia_Intus | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all Incendia_Intus's reviews »

A new, and entertaining, installment to the Monkey Island series. Fans of the original and/or Telltale games will enjoy it. It was a nostalgic experience for me. The dialogue, voices, characters, and puzzles were all done superbly.

The game (including all 5 chapters) took me around 10 or 12 hours to complete, and there weren't any dull moments. I'd say it's money well spent for anyone who picks it up.

86

Good

Karlasd | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all Karlasd's reviews »

I love the series of Monkey Island, especially the Third Part. When I heared about Tales of Monkey Island I wanted to have it! I deeded to know what happens after that cliffhanger in "Escape from Monkey Island"! I was surprised first. The controls were no longer bad, like in Monkey Island 4. I hat a lot of fun playing the game, but there was a glitch which crashed the game. It needed some time to fix it. The puzzles were hard but that was not a big problem for a fan of the series! My conclusion is: the game is a good sequel to the Monkey Island series and it includes a lot of background Information!

74

A cool tribute to Monkey Island

el_pelado95 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all el_pelado95's reviews »

This game series are pretty cool. Of course, they are not like the original and legendary monkey island. But the story is atractive and insteresting, the characters are fun and great (Guybrush is perfect).

The gameplay is like all of the Telltale games, a simple and perfect executed graphic adventure. The chapters have a fine duration and the graphics are ok for the type of game.

Perfect to remember the old Monkey Games.

90

Simply loveable

zipnox | July 30, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Tales of Monkey Island is the newest installment in the Monkey island series and it manages to hold its own amongst the prior amazing adventures. The episodic layout of this title is played akin to chapters in a book, each one features approximately 2-4 hours of playtime making the full game a good 10 hours at least.

The story is great, has very humorous dialogue with excellent voice-acting and the characters are very likeable. The game is filled with memorable moments and puzzles, always try to play these kind of games without using guides, as this ruins half the fun! That said, I think the game has a good difficulty setting and most puzzles can be solved with some logical, and sometimes illogical thinking.

Tons of fun from start to finish, had an absolute blast playing through this game.

92

Long time fan

WickedForte | July 7, 2013 | See all WickedForte's reviews »

I highly recommend this game to any one that is looking for a laugh. Even Tim Schafer had no hand in the resurrection of these games. The game still retains its quirky witty humor. Tell-tale games is one company I will always throw my money at. I did not have many complaints about this game only back when it initialed released. Id wait months for the episodic adventure to continue! More fans to come into this gem of series will hopefully spark more creative development for another monkey island!

90

True Pirates

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Worthy of the name of Monkey Island, this new installment will bring Captain Guybrush Threepwood, Mighty Pirate™ to the shores of a mysterious island in the center of the Caribbean, part of a big archipelago, where a new mystery will arise. What is LeChuck up to now? What lies at the doorstep of death itself and beyond? And what does this all have to do with a sponge? You'll know soon enough when you purchase this must-have pack of three-headed adventure which comes in a cozy 5 episode series for your convenience and enjoyment! And if you need any other Monkey Island game or related accessories, come to Stan's!

98

its a pirates life for me

g_reaper1666 | June 13, 2013 | See all g_reaper1666's reviews »

This is the first monkey island game that i played and i believe that because of that i have found it to be a better game than what other people would say, The story in my opinion is fun to explore with the puzzles involved being a good mix between difficult and solvable, what a game developer doesn't seem to want these days is to make a game seem unsolvable.

It is this game which convinced me to try the first 2 monkey island games (the special editions) which in my opinion are much better then this game purely because they are from a different era where developers knew that alot of people did not mind difficult puzzles because of the fact that it is a challenge that they want to solve.

Now people will be too easily drawn towards using a walkthrough which does not leave you will a satisfied feeling because of the fact that you have not solved the problem by your own efforts. i must admit i do like the hint system they used because if you only needed pointing in the right direction the first hint is vague enough to this with the last 2 hints revealing more and more information.

i also love how stan comes back with a vengence on this game along with his mysterious coat with the pattern that doesn't wrap around him and stay still. in a 3d game that must have been extremely difficult to produce because of the fact that just UV mapping the texture probably would not have worked. This game is also excellent in the way that your previous exploits are talked about such as locking stan inside a coffin.

78

Only a nice title

Cavalieroscuro | May 21, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Monkey Island is a great franchise. After the first two chapters, that were little masterpieces, there were only "good" games. Unluckly, Tales of Monkey Island is one of them. This episodic game tells about the story of Guybrush after Monkey Island 4, and it has tons of hilarious moments. The puzzles are pretty easy so far, but you will have a great time with this game. But it's not a great title, and you will like it only if you already know the characters and thei background.

79

A good sequel to the series

Infiltrator | May 20, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Monkey Island is back. And in a BIG way. Almost a decade had passed with no new games and many fans had begun to loose faith there would never be another portion of their favourite pirate adventure game. However LucasArts in association with Telltale Games have brought Guybrush, Elaine, LeChuck and the others back for a really fun title. The voice acting is fantastic and luckily many (although not all) of the original cast have returned. The puzzles are challenging in a good way, however some fans might be turned off with the new graphics.

90

A Mighty Pirate Treat!

nevereatenapear | May 20, 2013 | See all nevereatenapear's reviews »

A fantastic follow up to an already excellent established series, Tales of Monkey island is a blast to play. If like me you've played the adventures of Guybrush Threepwood all those many years ago then it'll feel very familiar getting to control his actions ago with enough changed to keep you playing.

The story line is solid with a nice change from the usual 'Kill LeChuck' scenario with enough laughs and hidden jokes for both newcomers and veterans to enjoy.

I would recommend this game to any point and click fan or to anyone who remembers playing the original Monkey Island wants a bit of nostalgic fun.

85

A great series reborn

Ehras | May 18, 2013 | See all Ehras's reviews »

Graphically this game is pretty great to watch, its cartoony style is pretty great for that kind of game : funny yet serous and is really good for children.

Gameplay wise, this game is quite good, its chapters progression offers a great rhythm throughout the adventure and brings diversity so its never boring. About the enigmas, they aren't painful like some in other games (easy puzzles next to another easy puzzle then something which makes no sense). They may be easy but they are still logical and some can be pretty mind boggling, even for a young adult.

If you are a beginner/novice at these types of game it can take about 17 hours of time to complete the game, about 3 less if you are medium to experienced in point and click.

In a nutshell, this game looks good (some can still be horrified by the cartoon graphics), has pretty great game conception and rhythm, lasts long enough not to finish it in an evening, and has a pretty nice scenario (it is monkey island, what did you expect ?). I'd recommend buying it if you like points and click and the series, even if you are new to this type of game, it is funny and a really well spent money for a nice trip to monkey island !

42

Disappointing Compared with its Predecessors

caspica | May 18, 2013 | See all caspica's reviews »

The games of Monkey Island's are classical. They invented the point-and-click genre and were in the early 90s crucial for LucasArts success as a game developer. Sadly, as have been with other series produced by LucasArts, the games have been progressively worse and Tales of Monkey Island is no exception. Lacking the original's amusing and witty dialogue - the thing that has always defined the Monkey Island games to many of its players - ToMI appears to be nothing more than one of many mediocre games LucasArts produced at the end of their life time.

92

Great adventure

barniman | May 18, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

Tales of Monkey Island is probably Telltale's hardest yet most rewarding adventure. To be honest i haven't played the previous Monkey Island games, so I can't really compare it to those, but Tales of Monkey Island in itself was a wonderful adventure. The serialized format really suits this game, all five episodes are unique and I can remember every little detail about them, even though it's been years since i played them. One thing that really highlights this game from your average adventure game is the humor, but the writers alone can't take all the credit, the voice actors did a great job of bringing these characters alive. The game takes place in very unique and interesting environments (like the belly of a whale or at the bottom of an ocean) and the creators did a great job with them, all the places you get to visit are detailed and filled with interesting conversations or objects. As I've already said the game is quite challenging, but luckily the puzzles are mostly logical. Sadly though there are some places where you can (and probably will) get stuck for hours, so the game can get frustrating sometimes. That being said I really recommend this game to everyone, I'm sure that everyone can find something he or she like about this game, let it be the beautifully drawn environments, the clever puzzles or the funny characters.

96

A worthy successor to the classic Monkey Island games!

Koomazaz | May 17, 2013 | See all Koomazaz's reviews »

Monkey Island is my very favorite series of adventure games. The humor is goofy, and the dialogue is hilarious. Tales of Monkey Island is the first game not created by LucasArts, but it upholds and, in some cases, exceeds expectations. The story is engaging, and the original voice cast is back to bring the characters to life. Graphics are much improved, and the music is outstanding. Telltale did a great job with this one. If you enjoy a good adventure game with lots of laughs, check out Tales of Monkey Island.