Reviews for Kairo

70

An Intriguing Exploration of Atmosphere and Puzzle Solving

ipowers9000 | Nov. 30, 2014 | See all ipowers9000's reviews »

To keep things brief, I found that Kairo excels the most in the way it tells a story through atmosphere. The hauntingly alien feel of the world in which you wander is what kept me pressing forward until the end. The architecture and technology combines the colour palette to create something that feels quite original. I would recommend this game on its art and atmosphere alone, as it is definitely the strongest part of the game.

Concerning gameplay, I found that Kairo's puzzle leave something to be desired. I never really had that feeling of excitement that comes from solving a well-designed puzzle, but rather felt the puzzles were a means to advance in my explorations, to push on to the next spectacle or mystery.

In conclusion, I would recommend this game for anyone who appreciates atmosphere and is willing to draw their own conclusions about the world around them. If that sounds like you, give this game a try.

67

This certainly was a game.

mushclone298 | Nov. 8, 2014 | See all mushclone298's reviews »

Story: 10/25 Gameplay: 22/25 Graphics: 18/25 Sound: 17/25

I honestly have no idea what I just played here. The story was there? I guess. I'm not sure. It didn't really click at first that all these different elements connected to form the "story" and even once it did, I really wasn't that interested. The gameplay was nice and I had a lot of fun exploring the world and doing the puzzles. The graphics and sound didn't really wow me and nothing stood out for me in those regards. Interesting puzzle adventure game.

86

Kairo.

iMichaelCortez | July 26, 2014 | See all iMichaelCortez's reviews »

Kairo is beautiful. It's one of a kind, we don't see many 3-D puzzles as good as Kairo, the fact that it's 1st person and the silence sometimes make you think this is a horror game, then you remember, this is a puzzle. And the list doesn't end there, the music, the odd but beautiful graphics. You'll find this game a little bit scary in the start because you are completely alone, but you'll get used to it. No NPC's. I highly recommend this game.

86

Intriguing Game

Matthew_Lumie | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

It's rare to find an game with so much mystique, yet an equal character at the same time. After 6 hours of game time, I am still finding each puzzle to be an invigorating challenge that actually makes me considerably use my mind to complete it. The atmosphere of this game is astonishingly beautiful, every level can seem plain at first glance but the more you explore the game, the more you realize how nuanced it is. The soundtrack can be soothing and peaceful, yet mildly dramatic. Overall this game feels a bit like a breathtaking vision or dream, and I think you will be impressed by it's breadth for the kind of game it is!

95

A Clinic in Atmospheric Storytelling

bwrussell | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all bwrussell's reviews »

I was completely blown away by this game given it's price and the fact that it appears, from the screenshots, to be something created in a few hours, but don't let that fool you, this game is one of the best examples of game design I've ever seen.

Atmosphere/Story/Game World I can honestly say I don't think I've ever played a game with half as much atmosphere as Kairo, and the fact that it does it with the most basic of graphics, no voice acting, no back story, no cinematics, and no supporting characters is astounding. Everything, the soundtrack, the mysterious, blocky architecture, the vast empty spaces, the grain filter over everything, even the floaty controls, all of it feels deliberate and just drips with atmosphere and conveys the story in a way that is far more compelling than any amount exposition ever could be. It is so immersive, if you allow it to be, that it will actually make the hair on your neck and arms stand on end and your skin crawl, in a good way, even for someone who dislikes the entire horror genera. You know you're alone but you just can't shake the feeling that something is off, that you're being watched. I imagine this is exactly how you'd feel if you were exploring an empty, foreign world in real life. It taps straight into your human nature, you have this creepy feeling but you have to keep going, you have to learn more about this world and what happened. Truly amazing.

There are some bugs or places where it isn't as polished as some titles. The biggest issue is that can see through geometry when you stand right next to it. There were also some places that I wasn't sure if there was a graphical error or just a design choice. Mainly places that seemed like there was a floor, I could walk and jump, but I appeared to be walking in space. Overall pretty polished.

Puzzles/Exploration Yet another place where Kairo shines. None of the main puzzles are that hard, you may need the hints in the menu for one or two, but the way that they are presented is the epitome of good puzzle design. The full extent of each puzzle is usually not fully apparent when you enter a room but the game does a brilliant job of "teaching" you the rules as you try and solve it. You probably won't solve it the first time but the penalty for failing is very small, basically just starting over, a few seconds lost at most, but you should have learned something new about the puzzle and will do better the next time. Sometimes you need to explore to find a hint in the environment, other times you just have to start interacting and see what happens. Besides the puzzles used to advance through the world there are a number of optional puzzles and objectives that you can choose to complete. There are 18 hidden glyphs, your basic exploration collectables, 4 seals in hidden rooms, and 3 extra puzzles, much harder, with clues scattered across the world but aren't explained. From what I've heard these puzzles were designed as sort of community puzzles, where players collaborated and shared findings to discover the answers together. It was probably pretty fun after launch but at this point you may need to look up the old threads to solve them, or at least get some hints. Theses extras aren't needed to complete the game but some of them can add a little (vague) context to the story.

Summery Kairo is a buy, no questions asked. It's the perfect length, the puzzles are intuitive and fun to solve, and the world and atmosphere are something every gamer should experience, doubly so if you are, or are interested in becoming, a game developer.

85

Haunting. Beautiful. Worth the $5.

Bigglesworth524 | June 28, 2013 | See all Bigglesworth524's reviews »

I like really weird games. I like them a lot. Kairo, fortunately, is a very weird game, indeed.

Kairo sells itself in a few ways. In part, it's the visual style, with abstract, geometric environments, and a film-grain filter slapped over the whole thing. Even the visuals have a story to tell here. If that sounds pretentious, it's because it is, but in a good way. If you've ever been sitting alone on a rainy night, and wanted something dark and mysterious to pass the time, with a few not-too-intensive puzzles to work out, Kairo is the game you didn't know you needed.

90

A Myst-like puzzle game

Cavalieroscuro | June 18, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

If you loved Myst, Kairo will give you a similar experience even with different type of puzzles. Exploring the land is an astonishing experience, and the game is very good, with nice graphics and soundtrack. The price is very low, so give it a try and you will never regret it.

77

Want a puzzle?

drafek | June 17, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Wait a game that takes some time to finish? Look no futher! this is a really good game, the game is worth the money. It's a unique puzzle game, There are a few puzle games that look like this but this is one of the best. You have to use your brain to find the path. The graphics also are done well, eventhough this isn't a really important thing is a puzzle game it is nice. The sound also is done well.

80

Combined puzzle and story

DanielZo0 | June 10, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Kairo is a puzzler game with a deep story to it that is conveyed in a way without speech or reading. A story where by you explore the vast huge expanses in this strange lost world fixing these old relics of machinery. All hinting towards the under-story of the game. Kairo is a fantastic indie game developed by Richard Perrin and has music by Bartosz Szturgieweicz (i’m glad i’m typing this and not saying that dudes name). You start on a small bit of rock and are faced with what is essentially just a white blank background, a nothingness that stretches onward and onward, but not too far way is another structure that you make your way toward and so begins the puzzling story of Kairo. You have no name, no voice, no face and absolutely no knowledge of the goal at hand, which creates a deep intrigue and a need to continue playing to satisfy the curious thirst you develop as everything you do hints toward something, something big and something you just need to know. Its like Someone staring at you knowing everything you do, but you know nothing of them, you want to ask questions, you want to know whats happening, the only response you get is the sound of your footsteps echoing out so clearly into the vast, decaying and broken down world of Kairo.

80

Atmospheric Game!

Plasros | June 9, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Kairo is an atmospheric, mysterious exploration game set in some vast, desolate monuments, seemingly from another dimension. The minimalistic environments, in all their simplicity, are breathtaking. The puzzles feel a bit akward at times and aren't that innovative- however they do not fail to interest, while adding a layer of depth to otherwise straightforward gameplay. The music and sound are pretty well fit with the ambience, and play an important role throughout the game. My only slight disappointment is the lack of some clues on the backstory, which would, I believe, help players relate better to the character and experience the game more intensely. Other than that, Kairo is a very enjoyable experience which will pleasantly remind the old-school adventurers of the golden era of Myst. Considering the fact it's been made by two people, and its' fairly low price, I wholeheartedly recommend it, both to hardcore adventurers and to people seeking an alternative gaming experience.

70

Take Kairo...

ccccp | May 20, 2013 | See all ccccp's reviews »

After Antichamber that made ​us lose our bearings in a timed maze, here is Kairo. There is no particular link between the two, except to navigate in an unusual area or simply outfield. Where, how, why? Kairo takes us into a world of relatively simple graphics, through large rooms where you have to find the trick, the mechanism to create an energy, unlock a passage, a flow, which then leads us to always carry a little further to another section. This is quite minimalistic, like the sound atmosphere. This simply ask some thoughts sometimes to understand the link between the proposed venues and how to create events that will lead to continuing our path. For those who appreciate the universe where nothing is known in advance that it is not explicit, where everything is strange and cubic, then immerse in it. The game offers a few hints that can help without actually indicate how to solve the puzzles, which is pretty good. The difficulty seems rather well proportioned. It is simply to observe well and find good deduction.