Reviews for Reus

80

Simple and Charming

Hucxi | March 21, 2014 | See all Hucxi's reviews »

This game feels really good to play. The music and art direction really bring the world to life in a compelling way, and you feel like you are really building a world with your actions for a while.

The problem comes when you get a few hours in, you are only able to effect things on a large scale, and you quickly realize that there are only so many ways to build the world with the tools you have.

I really loved this game, but I wish it would have taken longer to master. It is not very complex, so expect a short ride, but is a wonderful ride none the less.

80

Perfect for killing some time

gcp13 | March 4, 2014 | See all gcp13's reviews »

I purchased Reus on sale. For even at full price, it's great for those small scraps of time that you don't know what else to do with.

It's a sim game, in which you must strategically create biomes using the powers of different gods under your control. From these biomes, resources are drawn and villages are created. There are various projects/upgrades to undertake, so you'll still satisfy that need see improvement as you progress (I was skeptical about this prior to my purchase).

I found the soundtrack to become rather repetitive, but I usually listen to other music when playing these sort of games anyway.

I definitely recommend this as a casual game used to eat up bits of spare time; it's easy to leave and come back to.

80

A slightly different (but good!) take on the 'god game' genre.

GeorgeStorm | Feb. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

Reus is an interesting 'god game' where you don't have any direct control over 'your people', but merely shape their world (through creating different biomes and resources) in order to help them progress, improve and develop.

The art style is good, with a drawn look to the game that suits it well, also meaning it doesn't require a particularly beefy computer to run well. The soundtrack is ok, suitable background music nothing standout yet from what I've heard though.

At the beginning you start off with a 'blank' world, which can't support any life, you can easily zoom in and out to see the whole planet, you then have to create biomes through the abilities of 4 giants (swamp, forest, water and rock) and then start adding resources to those biomes (either technology, food or wealth) so that people will settle there and create a village. The resources can be created through a variety of different 'tiles' you add to the world's surface, animals, plants or creating mineral deposits all have different affects depending which biome they're in, what they are situated next to, and in what ways you then 'upgrade' them by applying different abilities of the giants (called aspects). As the village grows it will start a project, where you must achieve a certain goal (normally a set amount of resources) and once this is done they'll provide an ambassador, which you can add to one of your giants in order to increase their abilities. Over time you'll get more ambassadors, giving you a wider range of aspects you can apply to different resources, giving you more options as to how you wish to upgrade them to tailor their benefits to suit your village.

The mechanic of combining and upgrading the different tiles means there is a decent amount of variety, along with the objectives for each game which then allow you to unlock more tiles and game modes should result in a decent amount of playability. A nice slow game on the surface, but which can become frantic at times as you struggle to meet the requirements for the next project, the ability to pause the game at any time goes a long way to help keep the general laid back feeling of the game, I'd highly recommend it if you like god or city building games and want something a little different that you get stuck into every now and again.

70

Great atmospheric game

KarmaticPanda | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all KarmaticPanda's reviews »

a simple creative game that and even tho its a bit repettitive its atmosphere keeps you playing. Reus is a nice puzzle type of game where you have to combine elements to make an enviroment suitible for living

84

True indie gem

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Reus is a new take on God simulators. You get a small empty planet and using your different deities you will have to create the oceans, mountains, forests and all the different biomes. The real game starts when you you create something that is fit for food and people start to form settlements. From here on you have to balance your follower's progression by keeping their greed down and helping them to obtain their goals. It is great regarding the game mechanics - basically you manage things on the highest level and just create the opportunities for the mortals. I would recommend this game to anyone who is interested in some little bit casual strategy that has loads of content in it and has a great replay value.

70

"I am manly, I swear!"

Ssnowy | Jan. 14, 2014 | See all Ssnowy's reviews »

A simple, yet fun and creative god game where you control the landscape and let your people flourish. You have a set of giants that can control the environment and by doing so you will help people of small different tribes ascend into greatness.

Even though the cuteness and general atmosphere of the whole game makes me question my masculinity, it is a very well though out game and I like it very much.

85

Innovative god game

Jorgel | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

Reus is a very welcomed god-game. With very simple graphics the game delivers a fun experience in a much inovative gameplay. You are given the role of elemental gods, who must help humanity in it's way to development, in order to do that you must combine different elements of nature in a puzzle-way of distributing resources. The game offers different challengs to the player, who must progress in a different way in each playthrough, what is great in terms of replay value. In summary, if you are looking for a simple but not boring gameplay, Reus is a great choice with at a very honest price

75

Puzzle Strategy, or something like that

Vendae | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all Vendae's reviews »

Reus is NOT like some other god-sims out there; in fact, I have to see yet anything of the sort.

It is both a puzzle game and a strategy game. Essentially, you take care of villages in regard to some statistics that reflect their prosperity, aggresiveness, military and so and so. What is more innovative, though, is the fact that you have very little direct interaction with the villages and instead place natural resources near the villages for them to exploit. Depending on the type of resource, their interactions with other resources and the projects the villages build, which ultimately define their uniqueness, those villages will grow in some way or another, sometimes leading to undisputed wealth, some other times to aggresiveness towards the giants that are essentially your envoys in the world or to neighbour villages, a few times to constrained growth that makes a reshaping of strategy a good point to consider.

And yet that might not seem very innovative. There went the strategy. Come to stage, Mr Puzzle. The puzzle part of the game is what defines Reus. You will not fare well if you do not consider the interactions between resources and do not exploit the abilities of the projects the villages built (with your help to meet the criteria, of course). And while it is encouraging to sort out some combinations that give a push to their village, the system gets convoluted just as you get the grip. Resources evolve with the aspects your giants endow them, but they will evolve differently (and even if not their output will increase radically) when the aspect or the resource-planting ability are levelled up. To level up the abilities, you need ambassadors, that you obtain in exchange of getting the village to complete the projects, but restrictions in the distribution of ambassadors between giants and in how the villages will less willingly give them makes it a must to start planning form the very beginning, for which you have to know virtually all the abilities of projects and resources, and how the latter evolve, which is plain absurd. The fact that aspects have no less than four tiers, and that getting x or x+1 tier aspect when executing the ability is a matter of luck does not help much.

I do generally like the game, and its graphics, and its resource-unlocking system based on achievements, which let you set objectives for each "match", but I also think that the messy puzzle system ends up being frustrating and makes Reus a game that you are not willing to play for a week in a row, and prefer to return to from time to time.

90

lovely

redlady360 | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all redlady360's reviews »

I wanted this game for some time and finally got it. I love the game though the tutorials drag on a bit. You have missions/achievements you're suppose to try and get to improve skills your giants have. It can be repetitive but its a good game and honestly if I didn't have a alarm on my phone to tell me to go eat I probably would still be sat at my computer playing the game.

75

Fun and Light

cybrxkhan | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all cybrxkhan's reviews »

I picked up Reus a while back, as they aren’t too many interesting god games these days. I wasn’t too disappointed. Reus is deceptively simple at first - you only need to know how to do a few things in order to play the game, more or less - but as time goes on you’ll realize that it is much more complex, and you’ll have to remember and utilize a wide variety of resource and building chains to achieve your goals. One person has told me it’s more like a city builder game disguised as a god game rather than an actual god game per se due to the game’s foundation on these often complicated chains, and I have to agree. After a while the game does get a little redundant, since you’re really only doing the same actions over and over again, just with essentially cosmetic differences. Still, if you want something light and fun to pass the time, buy the game, especially if it’s on sale.

85

Lovely little game!

Swishiest | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all Swishiest's reviews »

This game, while seemingly simplistic is quite marvellous. You control 4 giants in charge of taking care of a world. You must give humans a place to settle and then help them thrive through each of your giants unique abilities.

Again, seems simple enough. You control food, science, wealth and danger to help your human towns grow and accomplish new feats. Though if you aren't careful the humans will become greedy and fight one another, or even try to kill one of your giants.

The art style is really quite pleasant and it fits the mood. The giants themselves feel alive and watching the people gather food or what have you is a fun distraction. Beware though as not paying enough attention can lead to ruin!

Overall a very fun little game, it may not change the way you view the world but it may make your world a bit brighter.

80

Solid game

unnammed | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all unnammed's reviews »

I bought REUS after I saw someone playing Godus. Don't ask me why but I am glad I did it. The artwork is gorgeous and very cute and the music is well done which is an important aspect considering that this is a game one might play for longer stretches of sessions.

The game at first is simple but the more you play, the harder it gets and some of the achievements makes me want to rip my hair out. It's a nice challenge and as someone said it is repetitive. Start all over again everytime and try to rebuild can get tiring in the long run but you'll have at least 5-6 more hours of enjoyable gameplay if you give it a day of rest.

Why it appealed to me personally was because of the fact that I can play this while I do other things. Talking on Skype and playing this or chatting on steam, reading email etc...it's a game that you can take at your own pace and pause whenever you feel like.

Great experience so far but it's not a "simple" game, there's a lot hiding under.

88

Simplistic and good fun

Roryyyyyyyyyy | Oct. 6, 2013 | See all Roryyyyyyyyyy's reviews »

The main thing that appeals to me about reus is the fact it is so simple and easy to get into. As you level up by meeting criteria you unlock longer game times. This is great to slowly get you used to playing as you don't get too far in the half an hour matches but it allows you to slowly progress up, getting you accustomed to each level of gameplay.

I am not a huge fan of strategy games but this game really did impress me. The art style was very attractive, which helps towards making the game as casual and relaxing as it is.

The aim of the game is to develop land for settlements to thrive on, aiding their projects by enhancing the land to fit requirements, but also keeping them in check by adding danger/awe to reduce greed. The settlements can start wars with other settlements, leaving you with the choice to let the war go or take out the warmongers.

Reus is great for short games when you only have a small amount of time, and for longer games in which you would like to really push yourself

70

Fun at first...

noctone | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all noctone's reviews »

I found this game was fun when I first began playing. However, after completing more and more missions, I realised that the game quickly became repetitive. Each time that you play, you start on the exact same map and are given a time limit. From there, you build up basically just to earn achievements - or else you can't progress any further.

The game is fun, but it really needs more features to keep people playing.

88

The almighty one

YYS1995 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all YYS1995's reviews »

Decent "God" game...allowing you to play as the "giants" or rather, control the giants... thereby control the lives of the teeny-weeny humans. You decide the rise and falls of civilisation. Funny game, allowing you to be in control. The gameplay starts of small... but at the end...well, let's just say it feels good to play god (in the game) . The mechanics of the game are easy to understand (if I can get it you can too), rather user friendly. Besides, this game requires low computer specifications to run... so you can play it on your older computers.

83

Nice polished game

DannyAtTheZoo | Sept. 6, 2013 | See all DannyAtTheZoo's reviews »

A really nice polished god games. Were you control four giants and have to help the humans out and sometimes destroy them. The graphic and music has a casual feeling to it, which is not a bad thing, since it fit's the game very well. The game-play starts out small, but just you wait. When you get farther into the game the difficulty will scale as well since new options are added and there are more things you will have to control and keep an eye on.

83

A Solid God Game

Sylvir | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all Sylvir's reviews »

Reus isn't, well, godly, but it does a pretty good job of putting you in the position of the almighty who rules over a planet full of humans and decides their fates.

That being said, humans aren't on that planet to begin with. You choose a planet and an "era" which lasts either 30 minutes, 60 minutes, and an unlockable 120 minutes before you go to work and in that time you try and make your little planet as prosperous as possible. That's where I ran into some problems:

You've heard it before, but the giants are slow. Not enough to ruin the game flow, but just irritating enough so that you wish there was a skill point system to upgrade movement speed and not just a simplistic one made for unlocking new skills.

The planet itself is tiny. It makes more sense to focus on maybe two or three towns so that you can utilize what space you have, but you need all four types so you can unlock all of the giants' skills. That being said, its also a pain to stop other nomads from settling down on land you were hoping your existing village would settle on.

Those problems aside, Reus is a relaxing way to spend an afternoon and you'll likely find yourself completing several eras before you know it. The achievements aren't impossible and there are quite a few of them (123, to be exact) so you'll be encouraged to play God for quite some time.

It's fun to mix and match resources to get the most out of your towns and even more fun to watch villagers go to war once one or more becomes too powerful. Definitely worth the $10 price tag, so if it goes on sale again, you should invest without hesitation!

80

Takes a while to get into

Smindy | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Smindy's reviews »

After playing through the tutorials, I feel like I understand how to play the game and yet I still feel like I'm missing stuff. Still, it's an easy game to pick up and if you don't like how your planet is turning out, you can always just start over again and not lose too much time. Reus is good enough at what it is to be worth a playthrough, though I'm not entirely sure how much time I'd actually spend on it.

79

Gorgeous God Game

spycid | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Reus is a gorgeous god game. It's a 2d game where you control various giants and you control the lives of puny humans. When humans try to destroy the civilization, you have to be the god and cause some disaster and create a storm to save the civilization. It is more like Black & White. Get it if you like being a god in a game.

84

Good low end god game.

nightassassin1 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This indie god game is great for low end computers that are unable to run the more impressive ones. I love god games and play them on my desk top, but have wanted games capable of running on my laptop and this one definitely does. It is a very good indie game that has general god game mechanics with a nice graphics setup.

Sound: 10 Graphics: 8 Single Player: 8 Multiplayer: 0 Does not exist

I have experienced no crashes or bugs with this game and there is a good deal of play involved.

The game play is a little odd due to the mechanics, but once you get used to it, it is pretty decent. The giants that you can control to do specific tasks are neat compared to some other god games and I like how you can make ambassadors ride on top of their heads.

I give this game a good rating of 84. Not the best god game, but great for laptops that can't run many games and a pretty sound game over all.

72

Slow, and a little unsatifiiing

cordin | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all cordin's reviews »

Reus is a decent god game based around larger "golems" if you will, this could make the game fun, but alas, the golems move slow and the world is a tad small, the game feels unpolished and only unique enough to support the first time through but not anymore. One the good side, Reus is new, fun for a bit and if you like god games this could be a great game for you. Overall, it game can still hold up for those that can wait but, just for me the experience was lacking in itself.

67

Fun for a bit

MrBongoGT | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all MrBongoGT's reviews »

You control 4 giants whom each have unique abilities tied in with their biome (or race if you want to call it that). There is ocean, swamp, forest, and desert. You are given goals to reach and to do so you use the giants to increase the food, wealth, or technology for that area. Once you get food in the region settlers will come in by themselves but you must give them wealth and/or technology to increase the villages potential, along with food to increase the population.

I loved the artwork and the concept of the game but for me it got a tad boring after a while (almost as every game does but this one didn't last long enough for me). I did mention goals are given but for me I wasn't too enthusiastic about them. I did wish there was a speed up for the giants to move, or even for the world to increase in speed...maybe there was that option but the tutorial didn't mention it and I didn't seem to find any sort of option. I believe this game would be great deals of fun but to a certain crowd so if there is a demo I suggest trying it before buying it.

86

Good god game

09williamsad | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all 09williamsad's reviews »

A god game in which you control four giants each with its own abilities that you use to alter the planet and make it habitable for the humans who you must help in order to aquire new abilities and upgrade existing ones.

69

Decent god game

bartinkopl2 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all bartinkopl2's reviews »

Interesting, decent god game. Graphics are okay, animations are decent, but what about gameplay? It gets boring after few hours - you pretty much do the same all the time, nothing really changes. If you are looking for a good god gme then this one might be a good choice but you should really explore the market if there arent any better productions.

81

Fun, if a little rough around the edges.

OdedFire | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all OdedFire's reviews »

This game lets you terraform a planet using four giants, each with their own powers. Sessions are brief - between 15 minutes and two hours - and at the end of every session you are awarded achievements for your actions and new powers and abilities are unlocked for your giants.

While gameplay can get a bit repetitive and the tutorials don't actually explain some concepts like Awe, Flora and Danger, this game is a timesink for at least 10-20 hours of fun. Buy it if you feel like messing around on a planet, you won't be disappointed.

70

It's alright

poik12 | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all poik12's reviews »

I picked up Reus because from what I was reading about it, it was supposed to be one of the best indie games of the year, but for me, that wasn't the case.Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad, but you might want to set your expectations a little lower. My biggest problem was actually just getting into the game and learning how to do things, and personally, I felt like there were some parts of the tutorial that didn't really clarify how to do certain things for me, and it just made the game a little more difficult as I went on. It is, however, still a pretty good strategy/simulation game, which looks very pretty and at times can be fun to play. Just prepare to be frustrated sometimes as well.

70

God game

michalmichal | July 30, 2013 | See all michalmichal's reviews »

Reus is a god game. I mean you are a supernatural being, shaping reality for some lesser creatures to live in. There were such games already and many of them were pretty good - for example Populous or Black and White. But here in Reus things are pretty different. You control 4 giants of supernatural powers, who are capable of shaping the world they live in.

They can shape the world, but cannot control humans. The giants can interact with humans and modify their enviroment, thus making their lives easier or harder. One thing that deserves special attention is the appearance of the game - it reminds of some flash games, but the style works just perfectly for the game, and makes it look a bit less serious than the subject might suggest.

80

A charming take at the god-genre

zipnox | July 28, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Reus is an excellent strategy game where you play as a planet who controls four giants. Your main goal is to make yourself habitable and let humans thrive on your natural resources, and not brutally murdering each other. The gameplay really doesn't seem complex at first but then you realize that there are tons of combinations and ways to satisfy the human needs, this allows for a lot of experimenting and adds replayability to the game.

The graphics are easy on the eyes, the giants and humans are all quite charming. I found the music and sounds to be a bit too subtle though, I didn't feel they added very much to the overall experience. Developing the human villages takes a while, and it does feel a bit slow at times, but do not fret; there's tons of things to do and no playthrough is the same.

All in all I had a blast with this game, and still have. If you like strategy and simulations I'd definitely suggest you try it out!

78

Fun little game

ryzuku | July 23, 2013 | See all ryzuku's reviews »

It is in interesting take on a God type game. It is a fun game but you will likely get bored after a 4-6 hours. Unless you are a completionist, you will be done because after a few games you are doing pretty much the same thing over and over with a little variation.

90

An ungodly good god game.

Learthion | July 21, 2013 | See all Learthion's reviews »

This game is brilliant. You shape the world in the feeling that the villagers are your children that you care for, and not, like in for example Black & White, toys to play with. The game has a great art style and a lot of depth to it.

65

Getting a lot of hype

logicbomb | July 20, 2013 | See all logicbomb's reviews »

Man I thought I was about to play the best game of the year the way everyone is talking about it. I was not that impressed. The game plays slow and is pretty linear. It is a cool concept and is done well. it is very different then anything else I've played but I am not sure what all the fuss is about.

88

An interesting take on a God-Game

F4T4LV0iD | July 20, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

Reus was one that got my attention the first time I saw it and knew I'd fall in love with it. It's a 2D God-Game where you utilize 4 different giants to make a barren planet fertile, each with their own unique abilities. At first it may seem to be very simple in gameplay, but deep down it offers many strategic ways to accomplish your tasks and meet certain conditions to gain achievements, which in turn unlock new upgrades to plants and animals, furthering the replay value of this title.

I paid full price for this game upon release and have zero regrets, it's on sale now as I write this and everyone who enjoys a classic God-Game with a twist should find hours of enjoyment in this title and I strongly recommend it.

75

Alright.

Lyncaster308 | July 17, 2013 | See all Lyncaster308's reviews »

Just a bit slow, but the combination of the three god beings is fun and a good desktop time waster.

90

Good God Game

Harwen | July 7, 2013 | See all Harwen's reviews »

It looks simple for first look, or even first or second play. But later it becomes incrediblyh comple strategy. Recommend this for everyone. Doesn't matter if you're casual player or if strategy games are your daily bread. Everyone will enjoy this.

70

Decent Indie

mor0se | July 4, 2013 | See all mor0se's reviews »

Its quite addictive upon first play, but each time i played i found myself becoming bored with the game, but for the price of the game it redeems itself.

77

Not a true god game, but still good

Demilisz | July 2, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

If someone is looking for a game like Populous or Black and White - go somewhere else, here you will not find one. But if you are looking for interesting strategy/puzzle game - then welcome. Reus has a fantastic concept, a nice graphics and very good gameplay. You control a four giants, each one with different abilities and control over different element. Using them you must make sure humans can settle and prosper on the planet. With time they will come more tribes to settle down and they will require more buildings you must help them to build in order to advance further. And it is a role of giants and player to give them what they need.

At the endgame a Reus become more like fast and challenging puzzle game than strategy, and it will require you to remember more and more data (like synergies between elements and resources) to successfully pass, but it is a part of its charm. Good position for people who likes challenges and play with head more than with quick fingers. As long as you remember it is not a true god game, you shouldn't be disappointed.

85

Charming aesthetic incredible depth

AdH0CC | July 1, 2013 | See all AdH0CC's reviews »

Reus is a 2D god game. On the face of it the games looks like a slow relaxing casual game with its appealing graphics and chilled out music but in fact the game play can get quite frantic with you trying to multitask before the end of the 30/60/120 minute time limit. You control four gods (Rock, swamp, ocean and forest) who help the humans settle the planet. The game creates a balancing act between expansion and the greed inherent in human nature. There are a number of challenges for you to beat. Each one unlocks more sources which you can use to take it to the next level. It will take multiple replays to finish all that the game has to offer. This is a great game where time will just seem to disappear.

89

Gods or gaints

drafek | June 17, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is a pretty addictive game, it does got a great price. The game does have a unique gameplay. The game does have good graphics and the controls are done well. In this game you're a god or a gaint I aren't sure. Just sayin' reus is dutch for gaint. The game is worth it's money. The game is long enough.

90

Loads of content in low price!

onewinged90 | June 11, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

This is a must-get for you if you are a strategy fan. The 2D graphics are very nice to look at even after you zoomed in and out, the graphics have very fluid movement too. After the tutorial the game lets you to further explore the mechanics by yourself, which is a good thing as the game does not hand-hold you all the time. I hope that in the future the developers would add more contents, or further refine it in the sequel as this game holds so much potential.

90

Enjoyable, outstanding concept

Fluffy_McFluff | June 10, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

Being a fan of God-control type games (Black & White, Black & White: Creature Isle, Black & White 2 and others), I was attracted to Reus very quickly.

The number one thing I appreciate the most about Reus is the interesting twist on control/influence mechanics in the game. Unlike other games, where you have the ability to control/manipulate the population in addition to having Godly powers, Reus forces you into Godly-powers-only mode.

You can manipulate the world as you see fit, and see to it that your emerging tribes/villages thrive and flourish, but you cannot directly impact them - only changing the world to accommodate each tribes/villages desires, needs and wants.

86

A great casual game

FlyingGazzelle | June 10, 2013 | See all FlyingGazzelle's reviews »

There aren't many games that combine such a mild and calming aesthetic and musical collection with such fast-paced and hectic gameplay. The game starts off slow during the tutorials which, sadly, cannot be skipped but the game itself involves a series of unlocks as you progressively get more and more powerful as the human tribes get larger and larger.

The gameplay is self-explanatory but has a surprising level of depth for those who love to min-max and I feel that whilst this might put some users off of getting to the more difficult stages it was, to me, a delight.

80

Great Indie

DanielZo0 | June 9, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

A really fun god game that is quite polished out of the "box" (it is a digital game) which is nice to see as so many games (especially AAA titles) come broken and need lots of fixing. This game is reasonably easy to pick up and hard to master which I like a lot. it has many aspects to it and picks up on the god genre which has not been developed much. For 10 dollars you are going to get more fun and a lot more play time than most of the 60 dollar "AAA" titles out there. It seems like for the people who want to keep it simple they can and for the people who want to go more in depth and unlock everything there is enough content to keep most of us going for a while. The devs also said that if they game is popular enough (thus allowing them to work on the game more) they will be adding more to it so I really hope people take the plunge and play this awesome 10 dollar game. It is so crazy how it seems lately that 10 dollar indie games just wipe the floor with 60 dollar "AAA" games.

80

Fun.

Kaminda | June 9, 2013 | See all Kaminda's reviews »

Amazingly addictive game and great for the price, especially for someone that's a fan of the genre. On the top of the fun gameplay, it just looks beautiful. My biggest complaint is that there is not speed up button so it can be a bit unnecessary slow.

71

unrealistic strategy

KellinCore | June 8, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

fun with this indie brings you a few hours to combine, attracts your attention with colorful graphics and simple addition to give multiple possibilities and how you want it, it's your decision in this simulator - strategy, good play in this sphere

72

Addictive.

Kommanderkarma | May 30, 2013 | See all Kommanderkarma's reviews »

Since there's not too many god games around, I decided to give Reus a go.

In Reus you control 4 giants and shape the world inviting humans to move in and to found cities. These cities have unique needs and you must use your giants' powers to fulfill them. Grow a city too fast and they will get greedy and attack each other. While doing this your giants will be able to learn new powers.

The game's true hook is the replay value which comes from unlockables. Some powers etc. may not be used during the first games (3 variants: 30, 60 and 120 min) but are unlocked for the future games by getting achievements. One achievement equals one unlocked object.

Graphics are nice and fit the gameplay well as does the soundtrack, though music gets pretty repetitive after a while. Gameplay is pretty smooth and easy to learn though to obtain higher score a good strategy is needed. It seems this game was inspired by titles like Civilization and Black & White. For fans of the genre I strongly encourage to check this out!

70

A Decent Title if you like the Genre

crazygrouptrio | May 27, 2013 | See all crazygrouptrio's reviews »

For the price, Reus is a pretty decent God game in which you control giants and manage a world by terraforming the landscape and helping native beings live. The graphic style is okay, it looks a lot like a flash game, which isn't my cup of tea, but it's done well so it's okay. The best part is how you can zoom out and see the entire world. Spinning the world can be hectic if you have far to move, but it's bearable. The game starts off very simple, then becomes more complex as you advance, but nothing so complex as you've seen in other games in the genre. This is a decent game to play for a day or two, but you'll probably not come back to it once you finish it. Overall a nice experience, and the low price tag makes it worth it.

85

Good god game

Stebsis | May 25, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

You control these 4 giants that you use to mold the planet the way you want and what's the best way to make it. There's rock, water, forest and swamp giant, and you control each of these to mold the ground. Water giant makes lakes and forest giant can then create forest around it, and settlers start to move in. You can give them stuff like berries and animals to better their society. Animals and berries in certain areas give the people more food if you place them strategically. This is really fun game to spend some time with, there never is a real hurry to anywhere, this is just a relaxing game. You can control all of this with your mouse so just grap a drink with you to the other hand play an hour or two.

There still are a couple of bad things about the game. Speed is a bit too slow, there should at least be a fast forward button. You're recommended to place forests as far away from mountains and deserts that the rock giant creates, so you often need to move them from other side of the planet to other, and it takes a bit too much time as they're quite slow. You can of course do something else while they're moving, but you can quickly assign tasks to all 4 of them and it just becomes a waiting game at points which isn't that fun.

Still, for 10 bucks you definitely get your money's worth, there's almost infinite amount of playability here with the combinations of how every ability of the giants work with each other, or just build it the way you want without caring of any of that stuff.

75

A good experience

Cavalieroscuro | May 24, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Reus is a nice title, with a good graphic, an interesting gameplay...pretty well done. But actually ist has several bugs (sometimes it won't start even), let's wait for a fix or two.

85

Loads of fun.

fable2 | May 24, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Reus is a true gem of a game. You play as the god of a planet and effectively terraform this world with the help of 4 adorably calm guardians who each take on the aspect of nature. As you do so mankind settles and you and your guardians try to help mankind flourish. The mechanics of terraforming are streamlined and sophisticated making it a joy to engage with. However the beauty of the game is in its styling. Calming music, gentle guardians and the act of growing nature settle you deeply into the role of caretaker of this planet, offering a uniquely soothing gameplay. I'm a big fan.

90

Sandbox God Replay Heaven

Squiffy | May 22, 2013 | See all Squiffy's reviews »

Reus is one of those rare games that just "gets it." They take a core concept, 4 Giants that can impact the world below them, and make it fun and challenging without making it too complex to understand.

There are four basic interactions you perform on the world: Terraforming to create areas of ocean, forest, swamp, desert and mountain. Seeding a section of land with a plant, mineral or animal. Giving that piece of land an Aspect, which affects the resources on it through evolving paths. Spells that help or hinder the world around.

From there, you try to manage the growth of human settlements, fulfilling requests for them and earning new powers. After each 30 minute game (at first, you unlock 60 and 120 minute variants as you progress) you earn a set of achievements based on how your villages performed. Achievements are what help unlock new evolution paths for the resources, as well as longer game modes.

It's a simple game, but it's one of those games that you just keep going back to over and over to play in the sandbox.

85

Reus Certainly Is Giant

shamanrebus | May 21, 2013 | See all shamanrebus's reviews »

At first this game can only be seen as slow as it forces you in to a tutorial that can take from 40mins to just shy of an hour, this could be seen as damaging but in its fairness it teaches all the basic rules of the game very well. After the tutorial you will delve into a world of extreme strategy, at first it may seem very basic but as you become more confident with the game the strategy really comes to it own in a unique and fun way i personally haven't seen in a game. You have various choice to make like should i upgrade this giant or should i give this village more resources at the risk of making them greedy or other villages jealous. The longer the game is played the more options and powers you unlock making the strategy go even deeper for your next play through. The game has a quality polish that i would expect from a "AAA" game not an indie game, with such attention to small details like zooming in on your giants to reveal tired, battle scared creatures really does improve the experience. All in all this is a fun strategy game for all age groups and causal or hardcore gamers, and for the price your mad to miss out.

85

Awsome game

TMGGreuter | May 21, 2013 | See all TMGGreuter's reviews »

This game is definitly worth it's price!

82

Fantastic, polished god game - fun for everyone

Exostenza | May 19, 2013 | See all Exostenza's reviews »

A really fun god game that is quite polished out of the "box" (it is a digital game) which is nice to see as so many games (especially AAA titles) come broken and need lots of fixing. This game is reasonably easy to pick up and hard to master which I like a lot. it has many aspects to it and picks up on the god genre which has not been developed much. For 10 dollars you are going to get more fun and a lot more play time than most of the 60 dollar "AAA" titles out there. It seems like for the people who want to keep it simple they can and for the people who want to go more in depth and unlock everything there is enough content to keep most of us going for a while. The devs also said that if they game is popular enough (thus allowing them to work on the game more) they will be adding more to it so I really hope people take the plunge and play this awesome 10 dollar game. It is so crazy how it seems lately that 10 dollar indie games just wipe the floor with 60 dollar "AAA" games.

tl;dr Fun, polished indie game that gives depth and great bang for the buck buy it and have tons of fun!