Reviews for Company of Heroes: Complete Pack

88

The expansions just add to an already great game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

The complete pack includes both expansions, which add new teams, new campaigns and new features to an already good game. Whilst I might not recommend either on their own, as a collection they offer a great gaming experience.

The addition of the new teams mean new units which just add to an already good dynamic of the way different factions play against each other, the Brits and the Panzer Elite both play differently to the Americans and Germans available in the original. The new missions add hours of new gameplay and the addition of extra modes for multiplayer extend that even more.

Worth buying over the original for the extra factions and content :)

85

Great collection of one of the best RTS games

lachking | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all lachking's reviews »

Company of Heroes to this day, is still one of the best RTS games out there and is a better game than its disappointing sequel. The gameplay is very similar to that of Dawn of War in that you need to hold points to gather resources and to drain the enemies' tickets to zero. Even today, the graphics and audio of Company of Heroes really shine and help deliver a great WWII RTS experience. In this pack you get the original game plus the two expansions which gives you quite a few single-player campaigns to play as well as online games with many different maps to chose from. You can also pick from four different factions from the Allied and Axis sides. While this pack is great, I do believe Opposing Fronts upset the balance of online play a bit and Tales of Valor didn't really add alot to the core experience aside from a few replacement units and a couple of online modes. I would not recommend buying these games individually, but as a bundle this makes for a great purchase.

70

Game is nice but patching is a nightmare

lkw888 | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all lkw888's reviews »

You will not get the 3 DLCs immediately after download the game, instead you need to load the game few time via Uplay to patch it to v1.8 followed by a 2GB file patch to v2.1, only then will you be able to access the DLCs.

The storyline, gfx and combat system are interesting, but the patching can be a nightmare - it is for me as the d/l keep auto stop with 20 over trials. I only managed to d/l the 2GB file later via their FB post.

95

This most fun I've had in an RTS!

tejota94 | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all tejota94's reviews »

I don't play very many RTS, but ever since I played the demo for CoH I've been itching for this game. The game itself does not disappoint. Extremely easy to get into, even for me who only recently got into PC gaming. I've only touched a little bit on the extra campaigns, but both of the DLCs seem to be very fun and different enough to be interesting. I cannot recommend this game enough.

93

Masterpiece

Demilisz | July 4, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Company of Heroes came out almost seven years ago - September 2006. Even after this whole time, that is like century for games industry, it is still as good as back then. Graphic on highest details is such good that when game switch from cut scenes to actuall gameplay you almost see no difference. And campaign was what it should be - fast, challenging and emotional. Starting from famous Omaha Beach landing it allows player to relive history of Able company of American's 29th Infantry Division from 116th infantry regiment and Fox company of 101st Airborne Division during liberation of France. While in campaign we only play as Americans, in skirmishes and multiplayer game allows to take command of Wermaht forces as well.

What makes CoH shine was a unique mechanics for WW2 RTS game of this scale. Only three resources that are gathered automatically but require player to take control over various sector of the map. That forces being on the offensive from the very start. There is also cover system and controversial retreat mechanic (we lost control over unit but it gets a large defense bonuses). During fight we get a special points that can be used to buy a special abilities of chosen Doctrine. Each Doctrine (three for each side) has their unique set of abilities. Playing infantry doctrine was different than using Airborne.

With first add on, Opposing fronts, comes two new forces: Brits and German Panzer Elite. Each one also gets a campaign for itself. Opposing Fronts was a very welcomed addition to the series. Unlike Tales of Valor, that didn't bring anything useful to the series. But if you think of it as a free or very cheap addition to this package then it is at least descent.

Company of Heroes community makes a lot of mods for the game, making it even better. So don't think, just buy it - there is no better WW II RTS on the market.

93

Classic WW2 Strategy

Hypecycle | July 4, 2013 | See all Hypecycle's reviews »

Company of Heroes is one of the best, if not the best, RTS games released. If you liked Band of Brothers and are a fan of RTS games in general then this will be right up your alley!

The game itself looks fantastic and will have you completing scenarios such as the D-Day invasion of Normandy which they manage to capture the intense atmosphere perfectly. There is a large variety of troops and factions with the expansions each with their own campaigns.

This game really shines in the multiplayer though where you are pitted against other players than just AI which makes for a much more unpredictable match, which is always fun!

I highly recommend this game to any RTS or WW2 fans.

78

Great pack!

drafek | July 4, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This pack does have 3 games: Company of Heroes, Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts, Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor. All of those games look the same, but they're all from the Company of Heroes franchise so that's logic. The graphics are great at all the games. The sound is different on each game but they all fit the game. Cheap worth getting!

97

Superb!

JessePinkman | July 4, 2013 | See all JessePinkman's reviews »

Company of Heroes: Complete Pack is one of the best pack ever. Relic Entertainment also was the developer of Warhammer 40000 Dawn of War 1 and 2, another wonderful strategy saga. You feel the World War II like never before. The realism is just amazing. Everthing is good in this pack: graphics, sound, music, easy gameplay. The game is very hard to beat it. Also, the multiplayer is awesome. Company of Heroes: Oppsing Front is the best game of this pack. This game has more factions and features. On the other hand, Company of Heroes: Tales of Valor is the worst game of this pack. It is very short and the campaign is not very good. This pack has a high replay value. Really, you need to play it.