Reviews for Crusader Kings II: The Old Gods

90

Great DLC

FaPaThY | April 1, 2014 | See all FaPaThY's reviews »

I love what I've played of it so far. As someone who thought the original start and end dates were on the "short" side, being able to start almost 200 years earlier is great.

I've only tried the Vikings, but they're as fun as you'd expect, if not a little on the OP side. you'll be raiding, pillaging, taking concubines, sacrificing prisoners at your feasts and generally being badass. They're all about battle, so vassals won't get mad if you raise their troops for long periods of time, and will in fact be pissed at you if you're at peace for too long. They do have their drawbacks when it comes to holding large realms though, and only having the options for Gavelkind succession, unless of course you convert your religion, but where's the fun in that?

Anyway, there's a bit more added than just that. New events, playable Zoroastrians(who are into incest or something), holy sites, etc. If there's 1 expansion DLC to get, this is probably it.

90

Huge Dlc Worth Every Penny

ELELITHETERRIBL | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all ELELITHETERRIBL's reviews »

The Old Gods dlc to Crusader Kings 2 is one of the best expansions i have ever seen the amount of content it adds is beyond your wildest dreams for example it sets the starting date of the game about 300 years back (to the year 867 ac) but the biggest changes are the changes of the pagan religions (like norse , tengri and so on) which are really fun to play as.

The extra 300 years can make your game a lot longer and in my opinion it makes the game more fun.

In addition there are more countries to play as in 867 because they were not yet conquered by the stronger ones or united with them to form kingdoms and empires.

Also as a pagan lord u now have more special choices which are exclusive to pagans like holding Great Blots which are basically big parties for your vassals where you execute prisoners, for each prisoner you will gain some prestige and piety and will make your vassals like you better.

To sum up this is a great expansion and its worth every penny.

91

Essential DLC

ConorEngelb | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

If you buy one CK2 DLC, make it the Old Gods. Without a doubt, the two best things to ever happen to the game are the 867 starting date and the ability to play as Pagans. I wanted to play as the Norsemen from the start, and now it's possible. At last. Worth getting, whatever the price.

100

Great DLC

HolyGigi | July 11, 2013 | See all HolyGigi's reviews »

Worth every penny, getting to play the Norse kingdoms brings you an entirely new game basically. Plus, you can raid Constantinopole.

If you love CK2, get this, NOW!

80

Excelent expansion, but heathens are overpowered!

Kosmonaut | June 11, 2013 | See all Kosmonaut's reviews »

This is so far, my favorite expansion for Crusader Kings II. Ironically, although the game is focused on viking's paganism, I have had so much fun playing challenging games as Zoroastran. But something that I have noticed is that, even with all the odds against them, some of the pagan groups tend to be overpowered, or have mechanics that are easily exploitable. With Paradox, and with each expansion, it's almost expected that the part updated by the DLCs tend to be overpowered, but this is very noticeable with heathens.

Also, and this has happened since the introduction of retinues: this kind of army can destroy easily other armies, like mercs and vassal's levies. The most infamous example is the skirmish retinues, that can siege holdings in such a record time that I'm able to fill the War Score upt to 100% and the enemy is still organizing its army. Is amazing,

Overall, it's a good, solid expansion, highly enjoyable and well worth the price. The best Crusader King II expansion so far.

90

Best DLC so far

Solidice | June 11, 2013 | See all Solidice's reviews »

Old Gods expands the already massive strategy game of Crusader Kings II. It moves the starting date back to the year 867 and allows Pagan religion rulers to be playable. Old Gods is definitely the best of the major DLCs from CK II. You can play as a viking and go out raiding, what else do you need?

88

Great DLC, Though Non-Norse Could've Gotten More Love

cybrxkhan | June 10, 2013 | See all cybrxkhan's reviews »

The Old Gods is the largest and most extensive expansion/DLC for Crusader Kings II yet, and it is worth every penny. The start date at 867 plays extremely differently from the normal start dates - it is extremely chaotic, and most games will play differently. Raiding is fun and allows you easily accumulate money even if you are small and weak. Even for non-pagans, the 867 start date will prove a refreshing challenge. As for the actual pagans, it appears like the Norse got the most love - they have the most features and flavor events. Other pagan groups, including the Romuva, Suomensko, and Tengri pagans, get very little in terms of flavor - the first two, for instance, only get their own festivals. The West African pagans, while a welcome addition, get nothing at all. Zoroastrians, on the other hand, do get a bit of flavor, and provide a tough challenge for those seeking to recreate the old Persian Empire. Overall, despite the typical balance issues with every major update to CKII, TOG is well worth it.

85

A DLC that is worth every penny

mutsuriini | June 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

This is definitely the best DLC Paradox have released for their popular game Crusader Kings 2. The main feature, playing as a pagans, works very well and especially playing as norse vikings is extremely fulfilling. There's nothing more fun than pillaging looting and putting puny christians to the axe. Besides the obvious joys of playing pagans the DLC also adds other welcome feature such as better rebels and technology which work very well.

All these great things being said, one could wish for a bit more depth with the various pagan tribes besides the norse. They're fun - but it is clear the norse were the focus. Lastly the game needs a bit more balancing but I have every confidence Paradox will patch this soon enough.

In conclusion, worth every penny and a good example of a successful DLC!

80

Another good DLC

Cavalieroscuro | June 1, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The Old Gods adds a ton fo contents to Crusader Kings 2. It is basically a more of the same from paradox, but if you loved the "vanilla" experience, this expansion is worth the ride and the price.

88

Must Buy

ExpiredJordan | May 30, 2013 | See all ExpiredJordan's reviews »

I own all of the expansion packs for Crusader Kings 2 and without a doubt I say that this is the most content packed expansion pack available. The first and most important thing it adds is an amazing option to start nearly two hundred years before the original games 1066 start date. This not only adds more replay ability but also more variety with more religions and different houses. The other important thing this DLC includes that doesn't come with the free update is the ability to play as the Nordic Pagans. This is completely game changing, and I never had as much fun in this game until this option became available. As a Viking warlord I have no moral compass or need for one, so I can do whatever I wish. This makes the game a thousand times more fun. Overall I give this expansion pack an 88, the only reason why it didn't get any higher is because of balancing issues that I am sure will be patched out in the next game update.

76

A worthwhile addition

oliproud | May 28, 2013 | See all oliproud's reviews »

Again, paradox has added more flavour content to a heap of flavour content, but this time with more raping and pillaging. As DLC, its not required but I think it is a welcome addition to the family.