Reviews for Tropico 3

90

Autocratic city builder with a political aspect

Funtaine | April 27, 2014 | See all Funtaine's reviews »

You're El Presidente, the sole leader of Tropico! You can become a dictator, refuse elections and rule with an iron fist. Or you can become a beloved leader elected by the public, who brings wealth and joy to his citizens.

Tropico 3 is one of the few city builder games I return to once a year or so. I love the humour in it and the graphics are charming. The only true downside is the repetitive nature of the soundtrack. Because for a game with nearly endless hours of gameplay, the amount of music doesn't match up.

You should buy this game if you're into city simulators, especially on sale. No excuses! You'll love it, I'm sure.

80

I am a president

cdp_star | Feb. 18, 2014 | See all cdp_star's reviews »

The game system is very simple, but I could enjoy building my own village,where peoples are staying happily, as selfish president. The president can make some buildings, for example apartments, factories, and so on. Peoples living in the island decide working/living places by themselves. And their actions make the village larger and richer step by step. It was like simcity, but caring to each people's basic ambitions was more important. And sometimes the president has to delete peoples who show disobedience to your policy, by secret power. It is a special charm point of the game, which no other games have. But the game system is very simple,as I mentioned first, so it was very easy to lose interest in playing role as president. If there was more variation of village conditions through the game, it will become more attractive.

73

A dictatorship sim

drakso | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

Ever wondered what it would be like if you were a dictator in your own country on an island? Well now you can, with this crazy yet awesome game. The game is a strategy simulation game and it does its job very well. You choose a dictator with a couple of traits ( good and bad ) and you start in an island. The goals of the missions can vary but you can also play sandbox. There is a lot of micro management in this game, from the economy and paychecks of citizens to a person by person bribes and murders. You can advance in the game with building your economy, relations with the USA or SSSR or bank on tourism. The choice is yours. After all you are the "El Presedente". The graphics and the animations are reasonable. The sound is adequate and the music is very very good. Also the silly character that airs on the radio will make your every game more funny and weird.

85

good sim game

rjb789 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This is a nice simulator game. You are a dictator and your job is to both get elected and rule over the land you own and also expand it by building new buildings and buying the surrounding land to expand your influence on the area and build up your empire. The game is very rewarding and getting your empire expanded and ruling over the many citizens you find in the game is a very fun and rewarding thing to do. The graphics in the game are also great and every environment feels alive and bursting with life. The sound is also great and the music involved in the game really helps to set the scene for the events that will unfold.

86

Spectacular!

08woodh1 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

Welcome to the land of Tropico! A land where villagers can see their country evolve around them as you add buildings from houses to nuclear missile silos. This is one of the best strategy games on Steam at the moment, due to the intricacy of this game. I implore everyone to get this game and experience the awesomeness that is: Tropico 3. To those of you whom dislike strategy games, I promise you that this one will make you think differently (in a good way). The graphics are a little poor, and even with my AMD Radeon 7950, this game manages to lag at times, so be wary of that.

90

Pretty Good Game For The Price

TuckerOR | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all TuckerOR's reviews »

After putting 4 hours into to this game, I have to say that it is a pretty solid game even if it was made nearly four years ago. If you have never played a game like this before, I highly recommend that you play the tutorial. It's a nice challenge to try to build as perfect of an island paradise as you perfectly can, or to work on foreign relations and such. If you like other strategy or simulation games, I suggest that you check out Tropico 3 due to the low price and the quality of the game play in general.

90

Amazing, like the Sims if it were a dictatorship!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game stands out from the crowd and has pulled out all the stops. Not only do you get to rule over your own city, but you have to protect it from other nations; while keeping your own people happy. This can be incredibly tricky if your low on cash, as people start to leave and you're left in poverty with a small workforce. Once you're up and running, you can begin to develop and protect your city - fighting off more developed areas, like USSR and the US. Great fun!

76

It does get better

Crookster30 | May 31, 2013 | See all Crookster30's reviews »

Personally, I love simulators. This game doesn't disappoint at all, you have an island that you rule! You run your economy and your military. The menu can be a bit confusing and so can the aspect. If you have spare cash, i'd get this, if you have some more, you may as well get Tropico 4

84

Fun city/island building sim

wildster30 | May 31, 2013 | See all wildster30's reviews »

I haven't played many city building simulators so I am slightly limited in terms of what I can compare Tropico to, however this is definitely a fun game to play. The controls are good and allow easy manipulation of the camera etc. to place buildings and roads exactly where you want. You can play the game however you want to try to meet the goals of each campaign island, you can play as the fair, just ruler who tries to keep every group such as the religious faction, happy or you can be a ruthless dictator who rules through fear with a strict military. Added in to this mix is a sense of humour with the laughable stereotypes that are hilarious as long as you take them as intended, as a light hearted joke, which makes this game a very fun city building simulator.

87

A really well done sim

Infiltrator | May 20, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Tropico 3 is one of the best city builder games I've played. Lots of customization and control over your style of play, as well as a deep political aspect unseen in most city build games. the voice acting is fantastic and hilarious, the story mode has engaging missions and is fun to play. The only qualms I have with this game is relating to the tourism game play, I feel like it is in all underwhelming. The soundtrack to the game is fantastic, and often you need to think carefully about how you want to go about planning your little island paradise before just jumping in. All in all it is a deep and rewarding city builder, with a generous splash of politics and humor, and easily one of the best city build games I've ever owned.

86

Good

Bolo | May 16, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

This game is really outstanding. You can do basicly anything you want in the island. You can be the best president in the world and make your people happy or you can be the most ruthless dictator in the world. Manipulate world powers to benefit your interests. Control your economy and your people. Its really fun to play this game and it doesnt have any technical problems.Tropico 3 goes back to the roots of the hit strategy series closely following the original Tropico story-line. The time is yesterday and the Cold War is in full swing. Through means devious and dubious you have seized power in the Caribbean island country of Tropico, where you now rule as the all-powerful "El Presidente". You decide whether you want to use your army to secure your power base in the best traditions of corrupt, unscrupulous tyrants everywhere or lead your people to prosperity in your role as generous elder statesman.