Reviews for Worms

87

Bring It Back To The Classics!

emptyhaven | Nov. 19, 2014 | See all emptyhaven's reviews »

The Worms franchise has had a strong presence during my formative years as a child. It all started with this one game. I'll admit that the graphics are quite dated, and the newer games have features that are beyond this title, but all the core gameplay elements are already present in this one, which to me is a sign that from the very start, they got things about right.

This is a nice slice of the past that people should definitely get a taste of.

80

Everybody loves worms.

Furrek | July 28, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

They are pink, wriggly and very, very dangerous. Since the beggining of Worms series this game had one objective - total war. No matter if you have played new Worms games, it still same fun playing - with friends, or with computer player. Sure, it's not fun to play with AI, but since this one don't have multiplayer option and finding some friend in real life that love good old Worms would be hard, it's the only way to enjoy this game. Getting this game for the purpose of seeing how much Worms developed is also good idea. I mean, it's all remained same but was polished over the years. It's a hard work to make something good even better, and I think Team 17 is the best when it comes to that. I'm also glad that game that old make it one Steam - there are many players that just love classics, and having everything in one place is comfortable. Playing original Worms after so many years is just amazing.

85

Oh my, this game brings back the memories!

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

This game became a classic real quick. Playing this with friends on a hotseat mode was the best. The best times were when the attempts of destruction failed horribly, either by ninja roping to a mine or some other fluke of the player's doing.

There were also adult themed maps for this available from users and of course I tried them. I was a teen, what else was I supposed to do?

The animation clips were pretty fun, too. Somehow, this game seems to have more character than its sequels. Maybe its just the pixels and the retro boom.

84

Ohh the nostalgia

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

The start of a great franchise and in fact a revitalisation of a genre, Worms was a uniquely fun game at its time allowing you to play hot seat and yet still maintaining the flow of action. The graphics is not the most exquisite by now but it was one of the first games that used randomly generated maps so at least there is plenty of variety. It might not be a great game to play alone but if you have a few friends who would also enjoy blasting each other with weapons of mass destruction the game will ensure potentially an unlimited time of fun.

90

One of the most fun strategy titles ever

Gmen | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

What do you get when you cross annelids with weapons? Madness, you say? Yeah, just about.

The point in worms is to have two teams of four worms aside, and you can employ any number of weapons and gadgets to cross terrain and blow your enemy to tiny bits, all in turn-based combat. What you don't have in your inventory initially you can collect from weapon crates that will drop in random places on the map during play. But it isn't just other worms you have to watch out for – there are also other dangers, like mines. Oh, and worms can't swim – at least not in this game.

The team (or what’s left of it) still standing (or should that be crawling?) wins the round. You can play against the computer (skirmish mode or campaign) or your friends, and there are many options for customisation, with the player being able to select the team’s language, names of the worms on the team, right down to the type of tombstone they will have when they die.

Graphically the game leaves some to be desired – but this is mainly in terms of the worms themselves. The battlegrounds and backgrounds are rather well detailed even today, and rather varied. You will never tire of randomly generating terrain in skirmish mode. The sound is the best bit as worms will utter the most hilarious things in battle, with sayings often coming directly from classic series like Monty Python and The Simpsons.

It's just incredible fun, and for the price at the moment, it's a no-brainer, really.

93

Good old thing

Gojko | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

This is how everything begin. This is the mother of all Worms series... Worms (1). If you are older player and you play on system such is Amiga, you will not have a problem with graphic, and you will get on it very fast. For older player, please give a game chance, and don't look only graphic if you look only that you will miss such a great title.

77

Classic Gaming

phool | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

The definitive classic turn-based game that started a legacy. I have many fond memories of playing this on friends who were fortunate to enough to own a computer at a time when this was released. Unfortunately the game has not stood the test time in terms of graphics and sound effects, both of which are rather rudimentary by today's standards.

However, the nostalgia factor is high and the gameplay is still as fun as it was back then. The satisfaction of nailing a tricky long-range shot still feels as good as it did way back then. However, if you are new to the series I would recommend giving this version a skip and head straight to Worms Armageddon. For those Worms addicts looking to relive those vintage years, definitely pick this one up as a memento of simpler times and an ode to a classic.

91

A true classic

nightassassin1 | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This game is the first Worms there was and is still amazing to play today. I used to spend hours playing this with my brother or friends and after finding it after so long, I had to buy it. The game is still as amazing as ever even today. You control a group of worms and use different weapons to destroy your enemy. I like to use rocket launchers and air strikes to destroy my enemies with a huge bang.

The graphics are pretty low level, but that is expected from a game that released in 1995. The newer versions of this game are still very fun and have cleaner graphics, but are pretty close to the same game play. There is little to improve on the original, but they want to keep the franchise alive.

If you like strategy games and would love the chance to blow up or shoot down your friend's army of worms, this is definitely the game for you!

I give it a great score of 91

86

Classic Fun!

Plasros | July 3, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

CLASSIC! This game is one of the best. More weaponswould have made it better, but this is well worth the few bucks spent.

90

An Amazing Game That Hasn't Aged Very Well

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Worms is one of the most amazing series and this game started it all. The game is incredibly addicting and you will be hooked for a long time. But the controls and the graphics haven't aged very well. The graphics look horrible on a larger screen and sound and the controls are confused and clunky. But if you can get past these, this one of the most amazing games to play with friends!

80

The original and still a fun game

britishlad | May 23, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

I was going to say the best in the title review but to be honest most of the other worms game are better than the original however this is still a fantastic and fun game.

The gameplay is very addictive and once you mastered the controls it's very satisfying however graphically it's hopeless, the video clips don't play, and the sound belongs to a "pre-soundblaster" era altogether, but boy! this is addictive. I particularly enjoy the fact that you can rename the various teams to suit (boss, managers, friends, enemies, family members etc) and enjoy blasting their worm doppelgangers to bits with uzis, rockets, airstrikes and exploding sheep.

Fun and definitely worth the very cheap price!