Reviews for Worms Armageddon

80

Great Quick, turn-based Multiplayer Action!

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | See all untitled36's reviews »

Ah, worms armageddon. It brings back the memories. My roommate and I used to do 2x2 team battles, and we cleaned up regularly. While there are many many worms games in this series, this one was my first, and still holds a place in my heart. The newer versions are decent, but really, all they do is add fancy shmancy graphics that don't actually improve the gameplay at all. In fact, in some cases, they distract from it. This game is pure old school goodness. You pick from a large selection of weapons, aim, add power (for most weapons) and release. The number of voices and other customizations keeps the game fun.

100

Best local multiplayer game ever.

Furrek | May 21, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

This game is the best Worms game ever. The only one that can compare is Worms World Party, but sadly it's not avaible anywhere.

I remember when I was a kid I played it everyday. Spent many days after school with friends playing this game. Before we started playing, we were making a special rules. Like, we can only use granades, or sheeps. This was so fun. We were also making our maps, some was totally unplayable, some required skill at throwing granades or planning to be sneaky. And when it was getting dark outside and friends were going home, I was always jumping online. There was always someone to play with and have fun. I really miss those times.

Anyway, it's many years later and guess what? Worms Armageddon still have active multiplayer community. Team 17 is also taking care of this old gem - imagine a patch after so many years! Usually Devs stop caring about their games after 1-2 years. It only shows how great guys at Team 17 are.

So, wanna know something about the game? It's just best game ever - best Worms game, best local and online multiplayer. It's one of those games that are must play for every gamer. It's worth every price.

91

Pinnacle of the series

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Armageddon took everything Worms 2 had done and raised it up to eleven! More weapons, more everything! Intense multiplayer over network!

Truly the apex of the series as new iterations of the franchise have failed to add anymore fun into the game.

This is it. The most fun you can have with digital worms.

94

Extremely funny!

coop | April 10, 2014 | See all coop's reviews »

Probably the best of the series, Worms Armageddon is a classic of the franchise. It's the first Worms that I've played, and maybe the better of the franchise, so if you want a Worms game, buy this game. It’s hard to describe that game: it’s a sort of platform game, and you have to “kill” other worms with weird weapons. But it’s very funny, especially if you play online or with friends! Buy it! Now!!!

90

The best

Gmen | April 5, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Worms Armageddon picks up where Worms 2 left off. Overall, the presentation here is better than in said game, and most of what made that game great is still here. But there are a lot of other things that have been added too, like even greater customisation, right down to the chances of a weapon appearing in a crate.

The game looks pretty much the same and plays the same as Worms 2, but I will say that it’s more polished and ambitious than said game. Having said that, there were more than a few annoying bugs that spoilt it for me, to be honest. The good news is that there are still patches being cranked out for it to this day and even cross support with Worms World Party (Armageddon's immediate sequel) for multiplayer is planned. This isn’t just the best game in this series – it’s a cult classic that still has a major following to this day and plenty of people play it. This is turn based strategy at its finest. While the singeplayer campaign and skirmish modes against AI are great, multiplayer is the biggest draw here.

94

Well worth the asking price

DaxterD1 | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all DaxterD1's reviews »

I recently returned to this game after trying Worms Revolution. Both titles are great games, but if you want a blunt opinion, Team17 have never bettered themselves with this A* classic (or indeed Worms Armageddon if you want extra options!). A lovely art style, endless gameplay, hilarious sound banks, memorable music, thriving online multiplayer and more besides. It is a testament to Team17's community that this game continues to survive despite all the other iterations in the series. It'll stand the test of time for many more years..!

95

The Alpha and Omega for the Worms Franchise

phool | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

Simply put this is the quintessential worms game, taking the familiar mechanic of it predecessors and polishing it to perfection. If you only own one worms game, make sure this is the one.

I have lost days of my life huddling around a 15" CRT monitor with a few friends and laughing uncontrollably as we cause complete and utter devastation eradicating our teams of legless friends and piloting our super sheep.

Why are you still reading this? Just go on and buy the game already.

88

A classic

PaulLFC | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all PaulLFC's reviews »

Ever wondered why a lot of Worms fans kept asking for Worms Armageddon to be rereleased digitally before it actually happened? Why every new Worms game announcement was met with "meh, it's not Worms Armageddon"? There's a reason for that. Not since has there been a game in the series that so perfectly balances fun and, well, balance. Few experiences can compare to multiplayer deathmatches on Worms, and still today we play the game, even though it came out over a decade ago. Maybe you should play it too. You just might like it.

90

The greatest Worms game ever.

Luckmuche | May 23, 2013 | See all Luckmuche's reviews »

Just one advice : If you want to play or rediscovery the Worms licence, don't hesitate, this is THE Worms that you must play ! The greatest atmosphear, the greatest humor, the greatest choice of weapons, the greatest choice of maps and possibilities, the greatest Worms, that's all !

So you're sure now !

90

One of the best Worms title

Cavalieroscuro | May 21, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Armageddon includes all the positive things around Worms franchise,: strategy, weapons and fun. The single-player experience is pretty good, with over forty missions, and when you will complete it, challenge against friends on multiplayer. Hours and hours of fun, for one of the best Worms experiences.

97

Best one of the series

Infiltrator | May 20, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Greatest worms game that exists so far. Singleplayer mode can maybe get boring but online multiplayer is so much fun. This game is one of my favorite games ever. There is so much schemes, weapons and other stuff.

The strategic opportunities are endless and everything is tied with a very simple to learn yet high skill-ceiling formula which will allow you to get in it fast but learn the ropes for a long, long time.

84

Yay!

oxkingj | May 20, 2013 | See all oxkingj's reviews »

Had a blast playing this with friends!

99

The best Worms game ever

barniman | May 18, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

If you only want to buy one Worms game, this should be it. Armageddon is the only Worms game that still has an active online community, even though it's almost 14 years old, that should tell you how good it is. The community really went all out, there are thousands of maps online, plenty of game modes and schemes, there's something for everyone, from rope races to traditional deathmatch you can find everything. If you're not familiar with the series, this is basically a turn based strategy where you'll have to be cunning and skillful to win. Teams (consisting of worms) take turns in attacking and the last team to remain alive wins. It sounds really simple, but it in truth it can get rather tricky. You have a whole arsenal of weapons to choose from, some of them are affected by the wind, some of the take damage over turns, some of the can be used under water and some of them are just there to help you escape from tricky places. In order to know which one to use you'll have to know exactly what each and every one of them does and when it's useful. As I've said though being clever and knowing what to do is not quite enough. You'll also need lots of practice, to know how to throw a grenade properly or be able to perfectly control the flying super sheep (there are training modes to practice all of these). I already stated that the multiplayer is great and still alive, but Worms Armageddon is filled with singlepayer content as well. There are randomly generated matches for when you only have 5 minutes to spare, over 40 campaign missions, playing against (or with) a friend in local (or online) coop or just playing against the AI for fun in maps and schemes you choose. It's impossible for me to completely state how good this game really is. Over the years I spent more than 800 hours playing it and there are still new things to discover. There's still a chance for you to join in, so what are you waiting for? ;)