Reviews for Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

95

Best combat simulator

FrozenFireCZ | Aug. 21, 2014 | See all FrozenFireCZ's reviews »

Brutal Middle Ages carving with excellent gameplay mechanics duel. A successful block the opponent's attack and subsequent severed his limbs, little of which has been in the game more satisfying. Multiplayer also contains from from standard mode like CTF, deathmatch, TD and entertaining mod Team Objective, in that, for example, one of the team burn the village and then chose to proceed with a battering ram to the city gates. Mod Duel tournament is 1v1 duel in different arenas. Single player game contains only a linear training and combat with stupid shoes. Graphical aspects of the game is fine. This however, due to ubiquitous geysers of blood does not matter. Customization of characters is relatively Sales and certainly deserved a little more care on the part of the developer. You can change the colours and the selection is quite enough emblems. Unfortunately Skins none. Needless to say, the game is quite buggy and despite the recently launched DLC Deadliest Warrior, for example, was not working unlocking weapon and ranking. But if you love multiplayer FPS based on skill Thanks to the sophisticated combat system and pulls you brutal ambience of medieval battlefield, do not hesitate.

94

Medieval Combat Simulator

mrminecrafter1 | Aug. 11, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is one of the best medieval games out there. The gameplay is based around swords, bows, and a variety of other medieval-related weapons. Getting a kill is satisfying after properly learning how to dodge and block attacks in the well-done tutorial. Graphics are quite good considering it was made on the Unreal Engine. The environment has been done really well. A lot of detail has been put into the world of Chivalry and it definitely makes you feel immersed in the game. Sound design is just phenomenal. The satisfying slice of flesh as you rip into your enemies, one by one. Overall this game is just fantastic. I would definitely recommend this game.

87

Overall a very enjoyable game

stephenglen98 | July 31, 2014 | See all stephenglen98's reviews »

Much like any other games Chivalry can get frustrating at times due to lag or bugs amongst other things. However, for the price this game is definitely a must have, especially if you play with friends. Going head to head and battling each other with the different classes makes the combat varied and forces every battle to be different and interesting. The more you play, the better your combat skills become and the more challenging it becomes keeping the game interesting and new even past hours of playing. Buy this game and tell everyone else you know to buy it as well. A truly great game.

77

Brutality meets the Long Sword

Joe39 | July 30, 2014 | See all Joe39's reviews »

If you like chopping mens arms / legs off or a simple decapitation of the head every now and then, then this is the game for you! It has different modes, like sieges or objectives you nee to protect or destroy and yes there are a few glitches and lag problems, but hey in the end its an all good game.

78

Brutal Fun

884okeoJ | June 30, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

If you shy away from the sight of blood, this game probably isn't for you. However, if you're anyone else, this game is a must-play. Chivalry Medieval Warfare is the standalone version of a popular source mod, and it is a fast paced brutal multiplayer experience. The combat mechanics are fairly easy to learn, and hard to master. The melee combat is some of the best I've seen in a multiplayer game, and the ranged combat is decent as well. The game looks fairly good for an indie game, and it runs fairly well. There is also customization for your warrior, which is a nice touch for those who want to decorate their knight. Chivalry is a great and unique game that is a definite buy.

100

a great combat simulator

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

This game is a solely multiplayer fighting game, but it's good at what it does. There are several different maps and game modes. Weapons in the game range from ranged, light and heavy and they all feel very different.

The combat is what this game is so awesome for and it's something that you have to experience. It's controlled with your mouse alone, but it's more complex than you could think. Where you swing and whether the enemy counters counts, whether you block and where you block counts, whether you're doing a light or a heavy attack counts. It's very fun to play for that sole reason - you have so much control over your swings that it will be your skill and not your stats that will land you the kill.

I recommend this game to all of the PvP enthusiasts out there!

90

Lots of Fun, Lots of Depth

Riptide0 | April 21, 2014 | See all Riptide0's reviews »

Chivalry is an online multiplayer sword fighting game. The matches are usually 10-32 players in two teams or in free for all.

There's four classes to choose from: archer, man at arms, vanguard and knight. Each has their own set of unlockable weapons and each weapons and each class has a different playstyle.

There's 4 weapons unlocked for each class to start with six more to unlock as you get kills with the various weapons. Learning which weapon suits you best and which class you're best with takes a lot of experimentation and practice to learn how to use each effectively.

The combat system is fairly deep with each weapon having varying speed, length and damage stats as well as different animations, different types of damage and different ways to swing or thrust each weapon. However, while there's a lot to dive into it's easy to just pick up a sword and charge at the opponent swinging for their head and still have a good time so don't let the thought of learning all the different weapons/classes deter you.

There's around ten maps of different sizes as well as workshop maps that are becoming more and more popular. There's at least six game modes like Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, etc as well as a Team Objective based mode which involves attacking or protecting objectives.

If you've ever wanted to storm a castle's walls with a longsword chopping off your enemies' heads as you go while a ballista bolt fires and impales the knight who was running next to you with longbow arrows flying all around you as you try to get to the battering ram to destroy the castle's gate so you can run inside and kill the king, this is the game for you.

80

Great online multiplayer action!

HappyCloud9 | March 28, 2014 | See all HappyCloud9's reviews »

Although the game is still in the beta stages, it is an excellent multiplayer experience. The combat varies depending on what class you pick (Man-At-Arms, Vanguard, Knight, or Archer) all of which feature their own arsenal of primary, secondary, and tertiary weapons. The game is a First Person (Third person is available by pressing "P") online Player vs. Player type game. The combat is similar to The Elder Scrolls series except with more than just hacks and slashes. I recommend this game to anyone willing to have a great online experience.

(P.S: Try the "Black Knight Mode" mod, it adds a hilarious new mode on certain servers in which players can lose their limbs but continue fighting.)

85

Interesting and Unique Combat

Fazbott | March 27, 2014 | See all Fazbott's reviews »

This is definitely a great game to get into with some friends. The combat is really interesting and quite different from most first-person games. Imagine Skyrim if the combat wasn't so clunky, then turn it into PVP action. That's kinda what you're getting into here. Stabbing, slashing, slice, and piercing are all in the great fun of this wondrous medieval warfare-alicous game.

70

Good at what it is

UltraJake | March 8, 2014 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

The combat is a lot like what you would find in Mount & Blade: Warband. My only complaint, and it's a sizeable one, is that the fights are real meat grinders. It's multiplayer only so this is the reality of the game. This made it get old a bit fast. Simply rush in, swing your sword a bunch, kill and get killed, then repeat. There isn't a real downside to doing this, either because everyone sucks or because of the combat itself. I don't think this particular strategy works quite as well in Warband. On the other hand, I don't think Warband lets you run in with your fists and actually be able to come out victorious.

The various game modes and updates to the game help, along with balance patches. If all you want is some medieval combat with others, there's nothing wrong with picking up Chivalry.

85

Great And Unique Multiplayer Game With A Large Learning Curve

combodombie | March 5, 2014 | See all combodombie's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a great multiplayer game. For only $25, you should check it out. The game looks pretty good and it is easy to control. The issues is that it is a bit buggy at times, the third-person camera is mostly pointless, and (the worse one) is that this game has an incredibly steep learning curve.

Get past those issues though and you have an incredibly fun multiplayer game.

85

Chivalry: Medieval Review ------> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | Feb. 16, 2014 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

Hold on, let me just swing- HO CRAP, SORRY, I DID NOT MEAN TO HIT YOU, YOU WERE ON THE PATH OF MY SWORD.......

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare brings a whole new meaning to "Medieval Warfare". Here, it is all online, and a first-person view that really makes this game unique. So here, there's no magic or powerful staffs, so your stuck with good old fashion medieval weapons, which is fine because they provide a plethora of different weapons and styles. So the presentation isn't too bad, with the potential to have really nice graphics if you have the computer, and really bad fps if you don't. The sounds are thrilling, with such ridiculous war cries that you'll laugh your chain-mail skirt off. It's quite bloody, which can lead to hilarious parts being dismembered and dislocated. The gameplay itself is a different story. It has a REALLY steep learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you'll pour endless of hours into it. The thing is, the multiplayer. This is what can make or break your game. If you have a good ping, and are in a decent server, you'll have tons of fun. Or if you have friends who own this game, rally them up and play together for even more fun. To conclude (that's new), Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a great game. Just make sure you have the right computer and internet connection, and you should be fine. Also, keep in mind that you'll need to be patient to really get the flow of the game. As always, no game is without glitches and bugs, and this game has awesome ones (Anyone see the Reddit picture of a character from this game that has like, a thousand arrows stuck on him? Yeah, stuff like that). So I'd say buy it, preferably if when it goes on sale, and make sure you have the time to invest in it. So lace your chain-mail, equip your armour (Canadian, okay?) and buckle-up for a medieval ride.

90

Fun FPS Style Game

vap | Feb. 15, 2014 | See all vap's reviews »

I really enjoyed playing this game. The mechanics are very well balanced and gameplay leaves you coming back for more. The action can get quite intense at times. I would recommend giving this game a shot if you love the FPS genre and want to try something different for a change.

79

Unique and Fun

StupidMarioBros | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all StupidMarioBros's reviews »

When I first picked up this game, I didn't know what to expect. I barely know any games in the Medieval genre, so it really sparked my curiousity. What I found was a game that was like if Call Of Duty decided to create a medieval game, and although that sounds weird, it is very, very well executed.

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a medieval game, as you can tell from the title, where you get to choose a number of classes, which varies in speed, strength and range. Many of these kinds of games I play, they're usually unbalanced due to one class being able to destroy all others (besides TF2,) But this is actually fairly balanced (Archers,Vanguards,Knights,Man-to-Arms.)

This game shines in its multiplayer, and man is it fun. The most common servers are free-for-all and team deathmatch, like normal fps games, but what is unique is how much thinking has to be done. For instance, when fighting, you can do 3 things: Attack, like normal, Block, also normal in these games, but the most interesting and cool is to Fake. You do this by pressing the button bound to it while attacking, and you'll stop mid-attack, and you can attack or block after it to fake out your opponent.

These may seem small, but this really changes the game, and makes it that much better. Not to mention the community. Everyone I play with is usually skilled in the game and brings a challenge, plus they're usually friendly.

All in all, a great buy for 25$.

67

Potential to be my favorite game, but not as multiplayer

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

This game is really hit or miss.. or hit in your screen and miss on the server...

Buyers beware, this is one of those games where the community in your country determine whether or not you get to play this game. If your ping is too high, you won't have a good time.

The only way I can see this game surviving is if they start including bots in multiplayer, but clearly they've moved onto DLC and other projects so as soon as this game dies, it will likely go free to play. Bots would have truly saved this game.

82

Counter strike: Medieval Warefare

Th3o | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all Th3o's reviews »

This game is great, you can have fun with or without friends, but I personally suggesting playing it will a group of friends since team work can make the game feel completely different.

It's not without it's draw backs, it definitely has some awkward looking bugs and animations when playing that might take you out of immersion, but when everything is right...this game can rival any next gen game even!

I'm giving it an 8.2. Only because the engine is showing it's age at the moment, and I feel that multiplayer balancing isn't as aggressive as it should be. The animations can sometimes break immersion...and having call of duty players makes the game very irregular to play.

Either way, this game is a definite buy!

80

Medieval Gore-Fare

Sganotak | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

This is a very fun multiplayer game. It's a first person slasher set in a medieval setting, with two rival factions battling over a fictional kingdom, the Agatha Knights and the Mason Order. It offers a variety of game modes such as Deathmatches, Duels, Last Man Standings and even Objective based modes.

There are 4 character classes that you can select from and level up by scoring kills. As you level up you will unlock more weapons for each class and some neat armor customization options that unfortunately are pretty limited. A problem I had with the game is that the archer class is way underpowered compared to the other three and requires a lot of skill and effort to be able to compete with the others

The gameplay is fun, accessible and really violent. Nothing's better than charging and beheading the guy that stabbed you in the back before. Each weapon is also very authentic and realistic so you can feel the weight and power of each hit. Also, unlike other multiplayer only games like Counter Strike, Chivalry is a lot more easier to get into and you won't always be dominated by more skilled players since the game is fast paced, wild and unpredictable.

While the game offers a decent tutorial to make you familiar with the combat mechanics. The single player modes where you can pit yourself against bots for practice are really lackluster. Not all maps are available and the bot AI is terrible. Also sometimes the game may present some annoying bugs but luckily Torn Banner Studios updates the game constantly and is quick to fix any major issue

Finally there is Steam Workshop integration for the game so you can download extra maps, skins and modes created by the community

If you want a fun multiplayer game that doesn't require hundreds of hours to be put into it just to feel competent, Chivalry is strongly recommended.

70

Decent

Koga1211 | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all Koga1211's reviews »

I've had the game for a few months now, and I'd say it's decent. The fighting system is somewhat unique, and the atmosphere is unique.

My main issue though, is that everything devolves into a slash fest on large servers. Instead of people playing smart, they just run in with big swords, kill friend and foe alike.

It's a fun game if you can get into duels and smaller servers, assuming you're any good at it, which can take some effort.

It's a fairly challenging game if you do, though.

I recommend it for people more interested in the duel servers and smaller pop maps.

76

Fun multiplayer

gforcesa | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Chivalry is really fun.It's awesome to get a long sword and swing it around and chop limbs from your enemies.There are many weapons in the game including:Axes,maces,swords,daggers,bows,crossbows and other.If you have a buddy get this game and just have fun.The games mechanics are wonderful when they work.Yeah the game is a little buggy but of course the developers will fix that.It does take time to get used to the gameplay and the controls.Although in most servers you will get some lag and you could die without fighting anybody the game is fun.I recommend that you try this game out maybe when it's on sale.

85

Great Melee MP Combat

ROKET | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all ROKET's reviews »

This has to be one of the best MP melee games Ive ever played. Its a full release realization of a mod that brings mass sword fighting and medieval warfare to the modern gaming world. Yes, there are other titles like Warband but those games are not only dated in graphics and animations but also not nearly as refined from a physics perspective.

Gameplay:

This is a solely multiplayer game so be ready to get online and have it out in up to 12v12 player matches (There may be more depending on the server but that seems standard). Right now the population is great and when done right the combat is satisfying and grizzly. They didnt hold back on the gore and it is SOO satisfying to nick off someones head with just the right swing. You can play in First Person or Third person and each has its advantage. I like playing in TP view as I have more awareness. (You get Third Person by pressing "L")

Presentation:

Its worth noting that the game can be demanding but with the added 64bit support and constant patching from the devs the game has come a long way. And its also a great looking game. Models are great, sound it great, and special effects are nice (though sparse). The textures also do a great job and theres plenty of extra content in the Steam Workshop.

Great overall: 85/100

84

Fun but has some bugs.

Xgoesrawr | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

This game is fun as you can just hop into a server and have a good time however I do recommend completing the training first.

It is incredibly satisfying to win a fight by chopping their head off.

The weapon unlock system is currently bugged as you need a certain amount of kills to unlock something but it resets every time you play. I'm hoping the developers fix this soon.

I recommend this game even with the bugs and flaws it has because its still fun.

82

Medieval combat at its best

MoNoTieace | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all MoNoTieace's reviews »

Chivalry:Medieval Warfare is one of the best First-Person Melee combat game I've ever played. The game mechanics is smooth and controls are responsive. Every hit you managed to land on the opponent actually feels like a hit... Unlike other games of the same genre whereby slashing the opponent feels like your cutting a piece of paper.

Big battles are a blast to play, the rushing adrenaline that spice up the excitement and intensity of the game. In the game, there's no clear distinction between higher level players and lower level players as most importantly the skill is what matters in the game. You can be using a higher level weapons but if you don't have the skill to use it, be prepared to be shred to pieces.

70

Fun, if you can find the right server

photoguy229 | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all photoguy229's reviews »

Great game, and concept, however finding a server that will not be either full of noobs or completely stacked against you is hard.

Running your own server for playtime with your friends isn't hard, but it's not easy either. You have to run your own dedicated server using game files already in the steam library then try running that in a command line... it can be confusing.

90

Revolutionizes First Person Melee

Coolicy | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

I can't go back into sword fighting in Skyrim anymore after playing this game. Skyrim was a fun game, but the sword fighting is very simplistic when compared to this game. In Chivalry, there are really only 3 attack moves: horizontal swings, forward stab, and vertical (overhead) chops. Combined with factors like Timing, Angle, Weapon Speed and Reach makes for a very complex system. You'll encounter situations such as being flanked, surrounded, and sniped by archers and must take them into consideration when fighting an opponent. When everything's combined, it makes for one amazing sword fighting game. This game has set such a high bar for me, I'm afraid of playing games that's really a game about slashing until the enemy health is out.

Even better: The developers have updated the game since launch with FREE additional content. You get more maps, more modes, and more weapons to expand to the already impressive set in the base game. The new maps are expansive and very detailed. The new weapons are well balanced into its existing arsenal, and adding weapons to classes (eg. polearms to Men at Arms, and flails to Knights) that will change up the way you typically approach these classes.

This game has a lot of support for the friends system by letting you see him clearer in the battle. Allowing easy access to quickly regroup (when allying) or allowing vendettas to be fulfilled sooner (when enemies).

I have sunk nearly 200 hours in this game already, you simply won't regret your purchase if you spend the time to learn its systems. Get this game! It's on sale now! Get it with a friend, it is worth it!

Hands down the best indie game I've played. I can't say the same for the Deadliest Warrior expansion, but that game is based on the solid mechanics of this awesome gem that I think deserve more attention.

75

Fun medieval team based slashfest

Ph8360 | Nov. 30, 2013 | See all Ph8360's reviews »

Chivalry is fun. There is no doubt that, when it works, chivalry has been some of the most fun I have had in a game of its type. However (and I’m not sure if this is necessarily a failing of the game itself) if you are playing with any amount of lag, the game becomes nigh unplayable due to the reactionary nature of the combat. Despite this, it’s hard to deny the appeal of the formula they present here, combining objectives reminiscent of team fortress 2 with mechanics satisfyingly similar to Pirates Versus Knights 2 (a mod beloved by my game group). Overall, a satisfying game experience, suffering from the same problems as any online game, albeit occasionally more noticeable.

79

Multiplayer Slasher

TPCGorillaMunch | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

Choose from a range of classes and stab, slash, kick and shoot others. The game has great variety with the weapons, maps, and game modes. One negative is that it can be difficult for new players to get into the game as they will most likely struggle against veterans and just simply be outclassed. The game has fantastic hand to hand combat mechanics that will require true to skill to master.

90

Fun game

csnyman | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all csnyman's reviews »

This game is one for the ages! Take your melee skills out to the battlefield with your friends and this game will soon have you in hysterics. The learning curve is slightly steep, but once you have mastered the built-in training program, you will be killing the foe in no time. Play as any of 4 classes on beautifully rendered maps, playing in objective-based, free-for-all or other game modes. This is an instant classic and will give you many hours of slashing action!

86

Fun, One of a Kind Game

TheWonWhoKnocks | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all TheWonWhoKnocks's reviews »

For those not looking for a story or narrative and just looking for fun times and laughs, then this is for you. It has very good mechanics and very fun multiplayer, especially with friends. Every hit actually feels like a hit, and isn't like other games where you are a jacked up warrior taking hits as if they were nothing. It also feels very balanced. Yes, the higher leveled weapons are way better, but their statistics mean absolutely nothing if you don't know how to use them, so a low level player could definitely defeat a higher rank. Now the mechanics are great, the battles are a blast, especially big ones, and with friends you can double all of this. Although it has some flaws, the major flaw that stuck out for me was the way to setup a server. If you want to run a dedicated server, it is difficult with little tutorials to help, such as trying to change round times, which I still haven't figured out. All in all, it is a great game and if the server thing bothers you, then just join an empty server.

90

You'll die a lot, but laugh a lot too

derekthedj | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all derekthedj's reviews »

Make no mistake, this game is extremely challenging to play. Unless you set up a private server with some friends you'll die over and over to the experienced veterans. Still, it's hilarious to watch as you limbs get lopped off and even your head rolls down the hill due to your misplaced blows.

Up for the challenge? Then grab a copy, choose your weapon and jump into the fray. With enough concentration and practice you might be able to taunt your enemies (yes, you can do this) as you block their swings and strike the killing blow.

Just watch out for "friendly fire" willya? There's nothing more discouraging than being killed by your own teammates.

100

Hack, slash, stab, cut, bludgeon, etc.

LightningMelon | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all LightningMelon's reviews »

Do you like stabbing things? Well, congratulations! You have found the best people-stabbing simulator on the entire internet! With well-designed maps, great game modes, free updates, and some of the best first-person melee combat in gaming, you really can't go wrong with Chivalry. Seriously. There's nothing I don't like about this incredible game.

83

Great game to pickup and go.

SuburbanWalrus | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all SuburbanWalrus's reviews »

The mechanics of the game work great. Many a fun hour has been had. It gets repetitive some times, but cutting someone's head clean off never gets old.

90

Fun yet difficult

Matthew_Lumie | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

Chivalry is no doubt different than most games it could be compared to, unlike traditional shooters where you use modern weapons and lives are lost depending upon who shot when, C:MW adds a level of elegance based on a different time and place where swordplay is king. Of course, you also have crossbows and throwing knives/axes, but the main thing is that when someone enters the world of Chivalry, they are in for a surprising multiplayer experience in an archaic, yet dangerous setting with the familiarity of classes and distinct teams etc.

85

Really good game that could use some polishing.

Lunarsilkdragon | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all Lunarsilkdragon's reviews »

This is a really good game. Solid and gritty combat, great sounds, good graphics, mediocre music. You can have really fun if you play this game with a few friends, be it in Duel Mode or in Team Objective.

My only problem with this game is that the servers are often pretty laggy, with high ping. That makes some swordswings not connect and some parrys or blocks will just not work. I also think they should add even more weapons and accesories so the players can finetune their individual playing style more.

Other than that, the game is awesome. Would recommend it to anyone.

68

Could use some improvement

magusonline | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

The gameplay itself is true to it's name, Medieval Warfare. However, there are a lot of collision issues with the engine when it comes to the actual combat.

The animation feels a bit slowed down giving it a very unrealistic feel. One of the things that I found most interesting was playing on servers that had modified the gravity settings so it was less than usual.

The result: Just by running and jumping around, people were making death screams because the engine seems to register deltaTime falling time as a calculator of triggering the death scream.

Good game, not a great one.

86

For people bored with modern shooters

Specu | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all Specu's reviews »

I'm not veteran of multiplayer games (got connection for few years, played maybe 4) and fan of games with first person perspective (FPP) but most popular genre - modern shooters - wasn't that what I wanted from multiplayer.

Then Chivalry happen. Spend lot of hours in the game, pure enjoyment.

Obviously it have some flaw and strange developers choices but it doesn't matter, when war cry get out from your throats...

86

great game

kapamaru91 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all kapamaru91's reviews »

Multiplayer Title based on the excellent close combat system Violent and "realistic" performance of medieval battles Difficult gameplay that rewards player skill,accessible to the novice Strong presence of community.At the end a large room for improvement and additional material

85

You like CoD, you like Medieval stuff, you like Chivalry.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

Do you love FPS games? Call of Duty or Battlefield, whichever you want, but you like them, right? This game is just that, but in the Medieval Age. So it brings brand new weapons (swords and all that, you'll find out if you play), and a totally different setup. You'll have a blast if you love FPS, since this one is not your typical one, which is a great twist to what has been established for this genre so far.

70

Great game, but not without it's flaws

CoveredCall | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all CoveredCall's reviews »

The combat is in-your-face, fast paced and a ton of fun. Its also very easy to get into as the tutorial teaches you all the essentials from class specials to using siege equipment on the battlefield. Chivalry is definitely the CoD of medieval games. However, it is by no means perfect. The graphics get the job done but are definitely not "next-gen", There are some terrain /object clipping issues and the ranged combat leaves a lot to be desired. Although so, for a 20 dollar indie game, it is definitely worth the money you pay.

80

Intresting multiplayer battles.

rjb789 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game borrows lots from "War of Roses" and refines and innovates on it. Firstly the FPS view of your character makes for extremely frantic battles and up close combat, that is if you don't get shot by an archer before you get decapitated by a knight. There is so much player choice involved in the game its unreal. It is also very addicting, slicing up enemies alongside your friends can become very fun when there are lots of you involved. That isn't to say that you wont have fun on your own, you will just have a more rewarding experience playing with others. The graphics are great and the sounds and music are fitting. If you like playing medieval games but you would like a more frantic and violent experience, this game is for you!

90

Best. Game. Ever.

nickdwhite | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all nickdwhite's reviews »

Basically COD meets the middle ages. And there are multiple keys for yelling! Get it cheap and the return on investment will be unlimited. If you get bored, it's ok, they seem to be releasing fixes and updates often enough that you'll come back.

87

Great game - tons of fun to play with friends.

borgiswa | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all borgiswa's reviews »

Buy this game!

The mechanics are fun and challenging, the gameplay is decent, and the visuals are nice. Customizable classes and different game modes help keep you playing for hours on end.

Also, there is nothing more enjoyable then chopping the opponents head clean off.

85

Gloriously gory fun.

JURGMANDR | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all JURGMANDR's reviews »

It's basically like an FPS version of Mount and Blade but with decapitations and limb removal. There's a good amount of weapons to use ranging from the formidable claymore to the lowly cudgel , with 4 classes (Archer, Man-at-Arms, Knight and Vanguard). The melee combat is quite fun with the ability to feint, sidestep, block adding some depth to fighting. Many people play as vanguards due to their good range, speed and health (not to mention their awesome sprint attack) though as people play more they tend to be Man-at Arms (due to their ridiculous harassment capabilities). It's an intense exciting game to play with friends or even by yourself. I highly recommend it if you enjoy multiplayer mayhem.

85

Good Bloody Multiplayer Fun

Highlander9782 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

Make sure to do the tutorial in the game before you go out in the battlefield or you going to get slautered. They teach you useful tactics you can use to survive. This is one of the bloodiest, goriest, funny games there is. The ways peoples limbs limbs and heads get cut off will shock you. Another great thing is the taunting and cheering you can do, great funny lines. If they added horses as transportation, this would be one of the best games out there. You will have a bloody good time playing this with your buddies especially in the large maps. Definite buy.

80

Entertaining

dmcdermott524 | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all dmcdermott524's reviews »

Saw some videos of it on YouTube and decided to pick it up and give it a try. The game is pretty addicting and just an absolute blast to play. It may take a bit for you to get into it but once you do.. You won't regret it.

82

Hilarious and highly entertaining

VivienC | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all VivienC's reviews »

You might not like it the first time you play but after a while once you get used to the classes and get familiar with the game mechanics, you'll definitely start having a good time. It's a must to play with your friends whether if it's on FFA or last team standing, undeniably a great buy.

91

It's pretty awesome

thatsmyfavourit | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all thatsmyfavourit's reviews »

Bought this a while back when I saw it on sale - definitely one of those games you won't just leave alone for long periods of time. Different game modes, and different servers (low grav is the best) and weapons to be had extend the playability of this game quite a bit, but do note that it gets a little old after some time in one sitting. But it'll be just as awesome when you go back to it again !

70

So close to being a fantastic game...

ZoraLink | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all ZoraLink's reviews »

Then it falls short. I tried so hard to like this game much more than I do, but every time I try to play I just can't make myself fall in love with it. The combat is wonky, enemies will be slashing or stabbing with the animation never even starting on your screen, exploiting the fact that you can fully turn in any direction in mid swing is exploited quite frequently. Archers are also very, very frustrating, in a game about skilled melee combat, with their ability to one shot you with crossbows (At least as a man at arms).

It does have a lot going for it, with a wide variety of game modes, four distinct classes (Though I truly despise archers), weapon customizations and loadout choices, and fairly enjoyable melee combat. However, you'll be chugging along in a duel, only to suddenly be shot in the face by an archer with no recourse to defend yourself, or the enemy's swing won't appear for you and you'll be dead from something you couldn't see.

Fun game.... when nothing goes wrong. Unfortunately things have a tendency to go wrong a lot.

80

Bought it on a whim, better than expected.

Miyasashi | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Miyasashi's reviews »

Considering I bought this game on a whim on a drunken evening, I never expected this game to be as addicting as it is.

Never have I enjoyed slashing or bashing people's skulls in as in this game. There are certain improvements that can be met but the game is solid alltogether and I have no regrets buying it in the first place.

84

Really fun game!

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

Bought this game a while back and haven't looked back. It is really addictive and will have you chuckling with the hilarious taunts. It is so satisfying to kill someone in this game as it empowers you. Multiple game types like duel and team objective keep you entertained for hours on end. It can get repetitive after a while but still enjoyable if you just come back to it at a later point. Very enjoyable with friends too.

80

Almost like a Monty Python movie

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game, in essence, is a Monty Python movie. It has the gore, the battles, and the humour! Now I love hack and slash games like this one, and the medieval theme completes it, I believe a lot of my enjoyment is a result of being able to play as realistic medieval soldiers, like knights and archers. It has a very comedic edge about it too; as during game-play you can taunt other players - which results in your character screeching at another player in a strong British accent! Most notably "That's a pretty big sword - you compensating for something?", which always makes me chuckle. Another thing to watch out for are the bar fights, which are absolutely amazing - you get drunk and fist fight other players around the local tavern! My only notable issue with this game is setting up a private server, for just yourself and friends. It isn't documented very well on how to set it up, so I had to use online video tutorials to do so. Other than that, this is an amazing game!

82

Funny

BlueSharkTheOne | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all BlueSharkTheOne's reviews »

I have this game since it has been released. I have to admit : it is a good game, very addicting. I was surprise to find out that the fight system was more complex that I have thought it would be. However, if you are from Mount & Blade Warband or Napoleonic Wars, do not expect to find a gameplay as technical. The other difference is the perspective : Chivalry is more a FPS than a TPS ( you can switch between these two perspectives but it is way more easier to play with the FPS view).

To conclude, I would say that it is a game that you must get considering the price even if some bugs or the low quantity of maps will spoil a little bit the potentiel of this game.

79

so close to being the game of my dreams

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all theunknowned's reviews »

Dont get me wrong i really enjoyed chivalry and i recommend it to everyone else out there whose always wanted to FPS hack/n/slash in the medieval world. The gore is hilarious and immersive and the weapons are great as well. just the game felt like it needed a bit mroe polish or something...or...dare i say it a bit larger budget. Nontheless game was amazing and i recommend supporting the sh*t out of this and lining there pockets with money so they can come out with a powerful beautiful sequel.

100

Addicted.

GaidenFocus | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all GaidenFocus's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is by far one of the best games I have ever played. No, there is no story line or any other content like that. But who cares? If you have a life (job, kids, etc.) then you need a game that is fun, engaging, and can be dropped at a moments notice. This game does a great job making you feel in the battle. Every swing and every block counts. Your heart will be pounding after you slay 3 people in one go, thinking "WTF Just happened?!" It is a skill based game, so I think that is what turns a lot of people away. It takes time to become skillful. Anyways, Buy this game!

84

Addicting

Jawteef | July 29, 2013 | See all Jawteef's reviews »

Chivalry is a great competitive or casual game and creates an amazing world to shed the blood of thine enemies.

87

Chivalry - review

balbo79 | July 27, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

Chivalry Medieval Warfare looks like an Action Game focused exclusively on the multiplayer segment, through a good variety of modes (Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, Survival and Duel). Normally the players are divided into two factions: Agatha and the Knights of the Order of Freemasons, but the two teams will not have differences of any kind. Once you get to battle the players will have to choose the order in which the sides and favorite class, including Archer, Soldier, Unit tip and Knight. Here we just note one of the most interesting aspects of the title, the system of growth and unlock weapons. In fact, initially we will have some basic weapons, but later we will unlock the new, more powerful, quick and easy to handle, but the release system is not linked to the experience and therefore the elapsed time, but the number of kills with a certain weapon and accordingly to the skill of the player. Mastering the mechanics of Chivalry will not be easy, and in fact in the early hours of game we will only be massacred finding complex fulfill even one killing, but I assure you that once you overcome the initial difficulties the title will look damn funny. Basically we will have three types of attacks, a parade and a kick to break the enemy blockade. The parade will be crucial and unless you have a shield, it will be linked to the timing of the player, but it will be essential to not make a bad end on the battlefield. Pay attention to the stamina, as each successful parade and a prolonged run it will consume stamina and once completed will make us helpless and we can no longer defend ourselves from enemy fire. All killing is very rewarding for the great frenzy and violence of the game, with limbs, severed heads and large amounts of blood.

85

Awesome Heart Pounding Action!

Sinjin | July 27, 2013 | See all Sinjin's reviews »

So if you haven't gotten this game... DO IT NOW! This is just an experience like no other sword game. Strictly multiplayer, it is a fun class based game in which you get into close quarter combat in a medieval style. The game is a good break from shooters and the feeling of crushing your opponent with heart pulsing combat makes you feel good, but if you don't plan your move accordingly, you could end up dying in seconds. It is good fr both casual and hardcore gamers and it is a must get in my opinion

82

Medieval Warfare at its best

SuperNOVAfx | July 27, 2013 | See all SuperNOVAfx's reviews »

In a world ruled by FPS and MOBA games, Chivalry is a much needed breath of fresh air. Out of all the medieval warfare games (Mount and Blade, War of the Roses), I find Chivalry the best one for short periods of time full of action. The game is pretty hard to master, especially when playing against good players, but with time you will know when to attack and when to block or retreat. Playing with friends is the best way to enjoy Chilvalry and working together to reach your obhective is very satisfying.

85

Best Medieval Siege Simulator!

Tirith2708 | July 22, 2013 | See all Tirith2708's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare (made by Torn Banner Studio) is online first-person perspective slasher which allows us to take part in realistic medieval skirmishes with different goals and objectives - depending on which side we stand – Agatha Knight’s or Mason Order. Before every round we are able to choose side of conflict and class of our character. Each one of 4 available classes has distinct equipment. New players start’s with only one weapon of each kind and the rest of them is available to unlock after achieving specified number of kills with previous weapon. We can choose between one of many game modes of which Team Objective is most popular one. It allows us to play as the attacking or defending team and to try to accomplish objectives, like defending castle or pillaging farms. Chivalry has also surprisingly good scenery and graphic setting. Varied scenarios and armament (together with fact that it’s not hard to die in havoc of medieval battlefield) compose into gameplay full of surprises and challenges which can easily drive away new players. That’s where Training Mode comes with aid. After bit of practice this game is insanely fun, addicting and worth every penny spend on it.

85

AGATHA!!!!!

Jemidy70 | July 22, 2013 | See all Jemidy70's reviews »

This game is extremely fun. I was incredibly surprised considering the size of the studio.

90

THE medieval style game.

Learthion | July 21, 2013 | See all Learthion's reviews »

There are a lot of people that have been looking for a medieval-themed fighting game, including myself. Well, look no more, because you've found it! This game offers everything for a fan of old-fashioned blood sport.

86

So awesome!

ljm9195 | July 20, 2013 | See all ljm9195's reviews »

Hard to get used to, but when you do, it's sooo good. One of my most played steam games.

80

Guns For Show, Knives For a Pro!

F4T4LV0iD | July 20, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

After seeing numerous videos of this game online, I had to bite and try this game out for myself. It's a nice change of pace from your typical online deathmatch first person shooter. There is little more satisfying than cleaving your opponent's head off their shoulders with a huge sword, or shattering their skull to bits with a big warhammer!

The game is a balance of luck, timing and skill. If you time your attacks or blocks wrong, you can expect to fall quickly. But with a little luck on your side (and teammates flanking the enemy) victory will be yours!

I don't really have much bad to say about Chivalry other than at times it can get frustrating when you die time and time again, but that's no fault of the game, and is something that can be cured with lots of practice.

It's a game I'd highly recommend to everyone who wants to get a few friends together and have a hack-n-slash good time and want to take a break from the typical shooters.

100

Great for LAN's

gurujust1n | July 19, 2013 | See all gurujust1n's reviews »

This is one of the best games to play with your friends, especially at a LAN.

81

Fun multiplayer title

grunts00 | July 19, 2013 | See all grunts00's reviews »

This game is all about the hacking and slashing of knights, archers, and other medieval units on the opposing team.

The game is set in first person view and is based entirely around skill. The game is well balanced for all classes.

If you like first person, skill based, medieval games, this title will provide many hours of entertainment.

65

I Love the Smell of a Medieval Battle

Dimbark | July 16, 2013 | See all Dimbark's reviews »

This is a nice little simulation of medieval war. I'm pretty sure it's not supposed to be taken so seriously, though, as when people are brutally murdered in the swordfights, they tend to make hilarious death sounds of them gurgling and whining, not very chivalrous if you ask me.

It's very visceral, the mechanics are deep, but they can be a little too deep. Really good players would have to dedicate their lives if they would want to master this game. It's a bit difficult to learn the mechanics, and it can be difficult to experiment. Some of the classes seem uneven from each other, but nonetheless, it is a worthwhile game.

87

For Agatha!

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

This game is currently my favourite 'hop-into' multiplayer title. It's not really a teambased game, but simply a lovely slashing fest. All the weapons have such a realistic and powerful feedback that swinging a sword really makes you feel powerful. The combat is fast and gory and it's always great to hop into it for a short round.

Highly recommended

80

Medieval action in a first person coat

asukhama | July 10, 2013 | See all asukhama's reviews »

Deriving from the chivalry mod, Medieval Warfare continues the concept of first person hand to hand combat. The game boasts several online modes ranging from king of the hill, (team) deathmatch to objective based maps and duels.

Graphically is it quite ok, although not the prettiest around, it does manage to settle the atmosphere quite good. It's a gritty and brutal experience.

The gameplay itself is all about skill. Moves have a great sense of impact and require a certain amount of practice before you can compete with the better players out there.

Sound is one of the better aspects, just as the animations show weight behind them, so do the sounds. The clinging of lighter weapons on heavy armor is well represented, as is the heavy blunt thump when using heavier weapon types like maces and halberds.

All in all, if you are a fan of first person, skill based action in a medieval setting, this is the game for you. I especially encourage M&B fans to definately check it out

92

great game

cammybear111 | July 8, 2013 | See all cammybear111's reviews »

this game is very cool first i want to say this game is a good game but it takes a little time to get used to it so give yourself some time after playing it and you will be having a lot of fun

80

Fun, visceral combat

BeardedEnforcer | July 7, 2013 | See all BeardedEnforcer's reviews »

The combat in this game is much more fun than pretty much any game I have ever played. The melee is very well balanced and very satisfying when you time your attacks perfectly and annihilate an opponent or block their attempt. Combined with beautiful graphics and original maps and gamemodes, there are hours of fun to be had in this game!

90

Great Combat

Rayzor324 | July 7, 2013 | See all Rayzor324's reviews »

This game actually requires you to plan how to swing your sword, and the way you swing it will determine if you win or not. There are four classes each with their own special attributes. Utilizing all of them in the correct way, will make for a very interesting game.

81

Medieval Fun for All

DocNuka | July 7, 2013 | See all DocNuka's reviews »

Chivalry Medieval Warfare is an immensely enjoyable title, with deep gameplay and multiple game types to increase diversity. The graphics are okay, but the gameplay more than makes up for it.With servers up to 64 players, a good time can be had by all, in awe-inspiring medieval fashion.

90

Amazing Game!

mor0se | July 6, 2013 | See all mor0se's reviews »

one of the most unique multiplayers ever, easy to grip, fantastic servers, an all out melee battle that gives the rush you never expected, playing with friends to create strategies together and taking down any man you pass is one of the most enjoyable online experiences ive encountered

80

Great Multiplayer Deathmatch Game

connorisgreat93 | July 6, 2013 | See all connorisgreat93's reviews »

This is a great deathmatch game. It has an active multiplayer community and a great combat system. If your looking for a brutal medieval action game then this is the one for you. In terms of comparisons to War of the Roses this game is on a smaller scale but also has much better combat and looks better also.

94

Great game

ashmaley1 | July 5, 2013 | See all ashmaley1's reviews »

This game I can really get into, it looks good and is great fun to play. Definitely recommend!

80

A game every history nerd should own!

domenthechief | July 5, 2013 | See all domenthechief's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a first person fighting game where people can test their combat skills with maces, swords, axes, hammers and even ranged weapons such as longbows and crossbows!

Chivalry is a game with quality graphics that highly focuses on multiplayer. In fact, if we ignore a very short (but very helpful for beginners, indeed) tutorial, it doesn't even have a singleplayer!

The game has some "cute" little bugs, but none of them are game-breaking and none of them will ruin your gaming experience, because the fights and epic siege battles you will be able to participate in, are so thrilling that you'll completely forget about them.

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is no doubt a game that will give players an opportunity to experience something new in the first-person genre. Who knows, perhaps you - the reader - are a new William Wallace with his huge greatsword in his hands or maybe Robin Hood, the legendary archer of Sherwood forest!

Of course you and your friends will never know, unless you try the game!

75

Deep combat system justifies its clunkyness

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | See all kubqo's reviews »

Really awesome and deep combat system with various kinds of swings and combos. Good gamemodes providing enough variability for a medieval combat multiplayer game. Average graphics.

80

An excellent game at a small price

xXjakXx | July 3, 2013 | See all xXjakXx's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare dares not but it is a solid title, topped off with some good ideas and objectives in the mode finds its way to exist. This is complemented by a graphic at times surprising and no doubt higher than the average of independent titles. In short, the first real title of Torn Banner Studios is very attractive if you look bloody battles seasoned with a pinch of team strategy and if you are not obsessed with the simulation component that is sacrificed to make the gameplay more balanced.

85

Really great multiplayer mayhem!

klusps | July 3, 2013 | See all klusps's reviews »

You got to give credits to Torn Banner Studios on the amount of content and polish they put into this game. The gameplay has a surprising amount of depth in it and there are tons of weapons to choose from; each weapon have their own distinct advantage. If your PC can handle it, there are plenty of 64-players servers which is a whole lot of fun to be had. I paid $20 dollars for it and it was totally worth it!

95

So Amazing

arice2g | July 3, 2013 | See all arice2g's reviews »

This game is so amazing but there are few minor problems you will run into but overal AMAZING and worth any amount of money but the sales are even better! And archers such, play a couple games you'll understand.

89

Awesome

captainstark | July 2, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

This game feels like and online skyrim or lord of the rings or even game of thrones. It's much more enjoyable with friends as you go on all out battles as knights. The adrenaline rush is amazing.

84

Game gets better with time

commandermack | July 2, 2013 | See all commandermack's reviews »

This is one of those games that you inevitably need to buy when it is on sale to maximize your value, with it not being on sale, I feel you're just paying too much for what you are getting; That being a combat strategy game with some heads-up combat options. The combat flows well, but I find myself wanting more camera angels or a wider, more natural aspect of view. All-in-all it is a nice game, with some stat leveling features that reward those who wish to master any specific play style and doesn't make any unlocked items especially dominating, ensuring new players can still have a good time. This is certainly a More-the-Merry type of game, so get your friends and get the game, go have some group fun.

95

Best Medieval game i ever played

TGAlan | June 29, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is the best of the best in medieval multiplayer arena games. Shoot, pierce, hack, slash, stab or decapitate your way through your objective.

It also uses Steamworks for multiplayer, achievements and stats, so it's cool enough, and even excels in it, for an indie game to get a 5-star score.

91

Great Game

shadowedspirit | June 27, 2013 | See all shadowedspirit's reviews »

Before buying this game, remember there is no story to this game. That being said this will be one of the most addicting multiplayer hack and slash games you will ever play. From Last Team Standing, to good ole' Free For All to the strategic and team-building Objective Mode, this game will drain hours of your life. And never before will there be a reason as good as this to spend those hours. Those who have played the Elder Scrolls games will be familiar to the click-to-slash style and block-and-parry system, which makes this game all the more fun. Don't like getting close to the enemies? Shoot them down with a longbow as an archer, or most a bit closer and impale them with throwing Javelins. What ever you fancy in a Medieval style combat game, this one has it.

82

Rolling heads everywhere.

CrysisX | June 26, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

I'm not really into Medieval games but this one caught my interest. A pretty fun game if you just wanna go online and get straight into the action! The graphics and sound in this game is decent for me but that doesn't matter, game offers tons of fun. Bring a friend along and hear each other's scream when playing!

92

Epic game

dongzor | June 23, 2013 | See all dongzor's reviews »

Chivalry is a first-person fighting game (FFG?) built around close-range melee combat, with a smattering of archery. It never loses sight of the fact that, fancy moves or no, getting personal is a messy business. Heads, legs and arms fly by the dozen in every match, a feature made approximately ten billion times better by the fact that you can further de-limb opponents as they stare in shock at the first mortal blow. There is nothing quite like hacking someone's arm off, then executing a swift and true beheading as they stare open-mouthed at the stump.

90

A fine way to waste time or play competitively.

Quinnerz | June 23, 2013 | See all Quinnerz's reviews »

One of my favorite games to boot! The gameplay is solid hilarious fun with a huge variety of weapons to choose from. The game is very funny with battle cries, taunting, ect, but is incredibly brutal at the same time. It has a good range of game types, the best of them being duel mode if you are wanting to test your skill. The coolest thing about this game is experimenting with all the different weapons and finding one that you are good with, and how to counter the other classes effectively. The only problem is somewhat glitchy joining and inviting friends over steam, which is very unreliable. Overall a very unique game with a great feel.

94

Incredibly Addictive Medieval FPS

thegaminglyfe | June 19, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

There haven't been many successful FPS's set in a previous era. The only ones I can think of is the Mount & Blade series and this one. The combat is amazing and will require you to predict your opponents moves in order for you to hit them. The game is very brutal and you will often notice limbs being cut off dead bodies. Unlike Mount & Blade, the combat is very easy to learn. Mount & Blade is quite complicated. In Chivalry I just looked at the controls, started up a game against bots and got the controls just like that. But mastering the controls is a whole other thing and requires lots of practice. There aren't many game modes but they are very fun! Some of these fun game modes include the usual free-for-all and some new fun ones like Last Team Standing and Team Objective. Last Team Standing is like Counter-Strike. You go in the map and everyone has one life. Team Objective is different in every map. Some objectives are lighting all the signal fires across the map and some are just slaughtering the Heirs to the enemies throne. The soundtrack is amazing and gives a great medieval feel to the game. The same for the very detailed, dark graphics. I recommend that any type of gamer should try this. It is one of the most addictive games I've ever played.

72

A decent first-person slasher

ElitistCuisine | June 14, 2013 | See all ElitistCuisine's reviews »

This game has some truly enjoyable combat, reminiscent of Mount & Blade but more fleshed out. The variety of classes, as well as their weapons, help create a very vivid battlefield that leaves you on the edge of your seat, what with all the arrows, pebbles, bolts, and greatswords flying over your head.

While it may be very fun to play online, I felt the movement in the game (moving around, not slashing/hocking arrows) felt somewhat slow and cumbersome. Even as the lightest class, it never truly feels like you can make it to someone in time to help, nor do you feel like you can run away from a hostile.

Furthermore, the game can be very difficult to get into, like many multiplayer games, when you are first starting. The reason is simple: Most people who play online are seasoned veterans who will easily, and gladly, chop you into little cubes.

All in all, it is more than decent, especially for its price. The animations feel smooth in combat, and the immersion of screaming soldiers and arrows is extremely enjoyable.

65

It's fun but not something that would really keep your attention

ExtinctThings | June 14, 2013 | See all ExtinctThings's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare can be described as a primarily medieval melee warfare game at the pace of Call of Duty. And it is fun; even dying can be fun depending on the situation. But it lacks a certain degree of polish and balance that prevents you from enjoying the game at a higher level like you would an eSport.

Big issues include weapon reach being deceptive, attacks not making sense (e.g. you poke someone who's hugging you and do full damage - momentum should not work this way), and Men-at-Arms dodging being too powerful when you do it right. In addition Archers have too many gimmicks to avoid or excel at melee (e.g. very fast, decently long swords).

That being said if you're just looking for a chaotic game with chaotic action Chivalry is for you.

86

First Person Slasher

lok0812 | June 12, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

The game set in a medieval theme that you as a player play as one of the 4 class of fighters each with different types of weapons, tools, armors, and speed. The gameplay is similar to any other FPS games except all you have are melee weapons to slash your opponents with. There are also ranged weapon if you choose to be an archer as well as secondary throwable weapons. This is an online deathmatch multiplayer games similar to Team Fortress 2 where each map have a certain objective that players of each team must complete from invading the castle to killing the enemy's team. This is a must get as First Person Slasher is a fun and an innovative type of game and it will sport numerous amount of joy seeing your opponent lose an arm or head when you chop them.

90

So many Lols

El_Rickhead | June 11, 2013 | See all El_Rickhead's reviews »

The best way i can describe this game is Call of Duty with swords. It's so much fun i cannot recommend it enough, the screaming adds such a comical value that will have you giggling yo yourself, you can dismember your foes and see their head rolling down a hill once you acquire victory. So much fun!

85

Medieval FPS = AWESOME

rhadoo04 | June 9, 2013 | See all rhadoo04's reviews »

What could you ask for more ? The game is awesome with friends. A learning curve that ain t too steep. Great weapons, great support by the devs. Most def you should buy it. The one thing that is a minus in my book; character customization. But that will come in the future so no worries there. Enjoy the game!

65

Nothing like what it appears to be

hamster | June 8, 2013 | See all hamster's reviews »

This game is not a visceral hack and slash heavily dependent on twitch reflexes - rather it requires patience, timing and everything is played out at an extremely measured pace. So 99% of the time, the game is about your opponent's mistake (typically at judging distance), rather than an attack being too fast to react to. The game is also bound by extremely quirky rules, such as limited horizontal turn speed in the middle of attacks, full damage during the swing regardless of sword position (this has resulted in people attempting to position their opponents at the beginning of the swing, immediately after the point of the pullback/wind-up to speed up damage time), feints as well as manipulating the swing speed by turning either in the direction of the swing (therefore "speeding up" the attack) or opposite the direction of the swing (therefore "slowing down" the attack). Unfortunately all of these things put together results in a game more about deception and timing rather than hand eye coordination and reflexes, which is what the trailer led me to believe. This annoyed me, and it may annoy you as well. For those who don't, the game is probably rather enjoyable and is the only FPS melee swinging multiplayer game out there other than War of the Roses. Be warned though, the multiplayer community is small and dwindling and there are only a few asian servers available online.

87

Wonderful direction

mutsuriini | June 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

This game is a very fun and viscerally appealing good time. There are a couple of flaws, like a bug that sometimes makes the server list blank, and sometimes the collision detection is spotty.

On the other hand, it has a very wide variety of weapons to choose from, and they seem pretty balanced to me. You aren't very durable, so look for plenty of short fights. Teamkilling happens a great deal, and entirely by accident due to the simple fact you are swinging a razor sharp sword in a big arc.

The combat is innovative and very intuitive, with a lot of room for skill to win out. The developer, Torn Banner, also recently added an update with a bunch of new weapons, maps, and a duel mode. As far as I know the developer plans to continue this kind of support, with free content additions.

Well worth buying, and a bunch of fun. Held back a little by some very forgivable technical flaws. Someone said this game was "The worlds best online yelling simulator." which is also entirely true.

85

Amazing, Medieval is fun again!

eApos | June 6, 2013 | See all eApos's reviews »

Brutal, challenging and mature. Chivalry ain't another casual multiplayer game - you can't simply press and hold LMB to win each round like in CoD-a-like games. Melee combat is smooth and intuitive, doesn't feel clunky at all, but deliberate. It's one of the biggest beauty of its game. Ranged combat is acceptable - would like to see some improvements. Each weapon has its own attributes, play style and demands from player different techniques. So 1 vs 1 duels are really tough, unforgiving and require a lot of skill to defeat experienced gamer. Big fights are hectic and fun. Various game modes offer full of action, but focused on teamwork combat. Wave respawn system and not too fast, not too slow gameplay based on objectives reminds me old good Red Orchestra: Ostfront. Lone wolves might have find themselves in FFA or TDM modes. Best spent 15$ of this year - looking forward for more! Recommended!

85

Definitely Fun

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

This is a great game to pick up and play. You won't likely be amazing straight out of the gate, but it is worth getting acquainted with. If you have battle experience with Mount and Blade: Warband, that is a big leg up. The combat system I think is very similar if not directly related and if you're a fan of that type of combat then you will thoroughly enjoy this title. People's greatest gripe will be that the vanguards are seemingly overpowered and the game feels unbalanced. I don't know. I played as a vanguard, so I was the one on the mountain of skulls.

89

medieval war

Lluvia4D | May 31, 2013 | See all Lluvia4D's reviews »

This game i almost perfect. I love the gameplay and the styling is awesome. It feels intuitive and fun albeit laggy at times. There seems to be an almost endless skill cap to the melee combat as your are forever able to improve your sword handling skills with techniques such as guard breaking, feinting attacks and dodging. The game is a wondrous medieval simulator that can take some time to get used to but it over an amazing game.

85

Bloody, Crazy Fun Melee Combat

megiddo | May 30, 2013 | See all megiddo's reviews »

I picked up Chivalry: Medieval Warfare after I bought War of the Roses. I say that because everything that I'd read about one game mentioned the other. Both games are multiplayer-only PVP. Both games focus on medieval melee combat. Both games were released in October 2012. But at this stage in the life of both games, and after spending a couple of months with each, I'm having a lot more fun playing Chivalry.

The number one thing that Chivalry's got over WotR is tone. While WotR has sort of a historical preoccupation, Chivalry's all about killing, achieving objectives while killing, and laughing at the sounds your victims make as they bleed out. The maps in Chivalry have no historical basis; there's no castles or keeps in Europe situated on lava fields that I know off, but it's sure a nice place to throw a spear through a dude. On the maps, you'll hear audible field command emotes, insults, excited murderers charging at their quarries, and the agony of warriors who just had their arms chopped off. The decapitated guys are silent (Added bonus: the game's in 1st-person, so when your head's a-rolling downhill, so is the camera).

The individual components of the game all work well. There are six different gameplay modes including Team Objective, King of the Hill, and Free-For-All. There are also a number maps shared between all modes or limited to a few. Players can chose between four different classes each with varying levels of armor and their own selection of primary, secondary, and special weapon types. Strikes are made with the left-mouse button or by rolling up or down on the scroll wheel with the right-mouse button used to block or feint. Basic combat is easy to get used to. Although, there are plenty of advanced techniques you'll probably need to see demonstrated on Youtube before you can master them. There is no matchmaking system; but the game does even out matches when the number of players per team is lopsided. There is a tutorial, but once you have the basics, you're better of practicing on a single-player versus bots match.

The various parts of the game gel consistently and "one more match" always becomes three. This is trouble because matches typically last 30 to 45 minutes. The game has its bugs, none of them gamebreaking, and it could certainly use more polish. Yet, overall, the Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a throat-slashing, field-burning, king-slaying romp.

86

Brilliant

viBe | May 28, 2013 | See all viBe's reviews »

Chivalry serves up equal parts hilarity and brutal medieval action. The combat is satisfying, with a nice wounding system (taking off limbs and heads with nicely timed blows never gets old), and feels for the most part reliant of skill.

There is a decent selection of gamemodes and maps, enough to keep you entertained for many hours. Pick it up with a few friends for a burst of fun in the evenings!

80

Great Medieval War Simulator

ExpiredJordan | May 27, 2013 | See all ExpiredJordan's reviews »

It is extremely rare to find a first person game that also blends with hand to hand combat and works well. Chivalry does all of that and more. When I first started the game I was slightly disappointed that it didn't include a single player mode, but I just shrugged it off and started the tutorial. The tutorial is beautiful well voiced and epic, and I just have to wonder what this game could have been if they would have expanded it out into a full fledged single player.

The gameplay is extremely fun, from warriors swinging their axes slicing off the man's head next to you, to throwing the perfect axe shot into someones head while following it through a stylized camera angle, the gameplay will not disappoint. Also the controls are easy to pick up so you will be bashing in skulls in no time.

The graphics and sound are beautiful and blend very well with the gameplay to form a great experience. Although you might get a slight performance hit because of the demanding graphics.

Overall I would give this game an 80 out of 100, because of the lack of single player but great gameplay.

85

Amazing!

debitho | May 26, 2013 | See all debitho's reviews »

is a fantastic game, really hard but very nice both graphically and in gameplay

85

Ping is Important

mike2kevin | May 26, 2013 | See all mike2kevin's reviews »

This game is really a heavy slaughthering each other! and yes as the title said the ping is really important when you fight with others.. as with better ping and less lagging you would deflect and block more easily.. :) timing is everything when you slash or stab in this game.. so yeah, play more and you will be better :D

i Would give this game rating of 85 for it's Gameplay and Teamplaying! :D for the graphic is not that good but it is still enjoyable and fun to play :D

88

I've played this for a few days now and i'm not disappointed.

Sarkames | May 24, 2013 | See all Sarkames's reviews »

I initially played this a few months back during a Steam free weekend and I just wasn't in the mood for it, but during GMG's last sale I picked it up for a friend and I and we've played it almost every day since then.

The gameplay is more diverse than I thought, with a lot of technicalities that can't be ignored. A lot of strategy goes into equipment and if you're ill-suited for battle with a certain type of person you'll find your chances of winning a duel are very low.

For example, throwing knives/axes are great as a third weapon to pull out before engaging in close combat, but if you equip a projectile to throw whilst using a melee class, you're actually replacing your shield with it. So it's a sacrifice of protection for the ability to get a few safe attacks in that'll stagger your opponent. Not to say you can't parry with your sword, that's quite possible. The difference is a shield can be held up for as long as you hold down RMB and weapons and arrows will repeatedly hit it as long as you're holding it towards the direction they're coming from, whereas a weapon by itself can only parry and your timing must be superb or you'll be struck often and it's very possible to die in one hit if you're up against a powerful class, such as the knight.

To puts things into more of a class perspective:

"Archers" can use several ranged weapons (bow, crossbow, sling) and they come equipped with stationary and retrievable shields to place into the ground, but if you don't kill a rushing opponent before they get close you're forced to pull out either a short sword or a very small dagger, both of which'll be harmless against most opponents because of the reach and the best chance of survival is if a teammate helps you. Agility isn't as helpful as most would assume of an archer.

A "Man at Arms" is the most nimble of the classes, able to dodge in any direction at the cost of stamina and they have the option of basic melee weapons and a shield if you feel it's necessary. It's the most well-rounded of them all and probably best for beginners until they're familiar with the pace of fighting mechanics in this game.

A "Vanguard" is often used for it's long melee weapons (Spear, Halberd) and can keep any class at a distance with good enough timing and distant poking with the weapon of choice. They have less armour than a knight, but they're slightly faster and they can still take a good hit or two before falling in battle. From what I've seen, they're not as popular as the other classes, but one Vanguard in a group can make an impact as the range of their weapons makes them difficult to punish with attacks.

Lastly, the "Knight". The slowest of all the classes, but capable of taking multiple hits from the other three classes because of it's armour. It's possible to use a shield and long sword with a knight and because of the sheer power of the weapons a knight has at it's disposal, Man at Arms and Archers will often die in a single strike from a Knight, so they need to be fast and skillful to get around a knight. Incidentally, knights are my least favourite class because of their sluggish nature, but they're a fan favourite and they do a lot of damage on the battlefield when fighting against groups. Especially those who are not well-trained with blocking.

With the 4 classes explained briefly, but well enough, there's also an inclination to mention the other special strategies involved on the battlefield. Such as putting thought into which type of arrow tips to use, with your choices affecting either heavily-armoured opponents more or lesser-armoured opponents depending on your choice of arrow, which means you'll have to choose your targets wisely or suffer damage penalties. There's also the oil pot and another special third weapon. One of which burns an armoured opponent to the point of near-death and the other which affects the victim's vision or something. I'm not too sure about that one, nobody ever uses it and there was a brief moment in tutorial for that. However, speaking strictly of the oil pot, it's very wise to use, but one must remember that in choosing this they forfeit the possibility of using a shield or projectile, as they all share your third weapon slot.

Now that I've explained most crucial details of the game, time to explain some of the faults with the game. Perhaps not entirely faults and more of a sense of realism, but they're things that can be extremely frustrating and they tend to make me put into question why I play the game so often at times. For one, it can take multiple attempts to join a multiplayer game, as the game's a bit buggy in certain aspects and I've personally been kicked from servers before even joining them, with bizarre illegible text across the screen. Another would be the abundance of team-killing present in the game, which results in a few people being kicked and I've even personally done some damage to my own team on accident because of the nature of the game and the fact there's ALWAYS friendly fire on. Between flying arrows and swords being swung in all directions, teammates everywhere are losing heads and getting arrows to the back frequently by people with less consideration for others. Though it's hardly a matter of consideration and more so the timing you put into each attack.

That would be the flaws of the game, but I feel as though something else should be addressed because I wasn't aware of this before playing and it's quite the issue on the battlefield. Being that this is a team-oriented game and considering how mortal you are as a fighter, it's best to have a good team and to be familiar with what you're doing if you expect to survive at all. Now, obviously because of this game's ability to retain realism, for the most part, it doesn't take a genius to realise that getting swarmed by the enemy is likely to happen if your team falls in battle or you rush in carelessly, but the bad part is that because of how fragile you can be and the fact there's literally nothing you can do against more than 2-3 fighters because of the game's combat mechanics, you're almost definitely going to die unless you have a teammate saviour nearby. In other words, 9 times out of 10, when you run out looking for an opponent you're going to get double/triple-teamed by your opponents and survival is low. Most people are lucky to get away with a neutral kill/death ratio at the end of the game because of how harsh conditions can be and so if you tend to rage at games I highly recommend playing something less realistic.

I'd say that about wraps it up. The game is well-optimized for the most part and I can run it well enough on mid-settings and my computer's from circa 2007, if that helps anybody. Definitely a great game and it looks great on top of that. Oh, one more thing: The game has a sort of upgrade system with its weapons. For example, you start off with all slot 1 weapons unlocked and if you get a certain amount of kills for your weapon of choice you'll unlock the weapon that's in the second slot for only that weapon. I recently fulfilled the requirement of 25 kills with a certain sword and I then was rewarded with a sword that was slightly faster and had lower speed. It's always nice to have a goal to climb for. Oh, also, archers are considered scum on this game and most are ridiculed because nobody likes getting shot in the back with a crossbow while in the middle of a fight. Sore losers, I say. -88/100

82

Brutal and brilliant, just how a medieval FPS should be

wildster30 | May 24, 2013 | See all wildster30's reviews »

A twist on the exhaustive list of FPS games, as this is a first person slasher rather than shooter. While there are a few bugs here and there the amazingly fun gruesome combat more than makes up for it; once you've hacked the heads off three peoples in one sweep of a longsword you'll see how fun this game is. One of the few negatives is that there can be a large amount of teamkilling but that is down to the other players rather than the game itself. A mix of fun gamemodes and maps complement the good gameplay and gory graphics, so this game is definitely worth a shot if medieval or FPS games are your thing.

85

Fun throwback combat.

Cruggy | May 24, 2013 | See all Cruggy's reviews »

The style of Chivalry is fantastic, it boasts all the game modes that are expected in a combat game e.g. deathmatch, objectives and free for all's and many more with their own unique twists that ensure the medieval theme is upheld throughout. The game can be played by almost anyone as combat is easily picked up, however if you choose to master all the tricks of combat then you can excel above your opponents on the battlefield.

80

Ever wondered how medieval Counter Strike would look like?

Shav | May 24, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Chivalry is a pretty fun online FPP game, with action set in the medieval. You can play as one of four classes (archer, men at arms, vanguard and knight), and fight with other players in few different game modes.

Personally, I liked FFA and the one with different mission objectives best. The game is really fun, especially when you get past the quite difficult controls, and timing which is crucial if you want to be successful. Only major downside is the community, which seems to be filled with kids under 12 years.

85

Gruesome and brilliant!

Spenk | May 22, 2013 | See all Spenk's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a first person (can be switched to third person) all-out brawl that offers a variety of classes and weapons that can keep you entertained for many hours and is great fun solo or with friends. For the price I can wholeheartedly recommend this to any lover of fans of first person melee combat or the medieval era. The only gripes I would say (and i'm clutching for straws) is that some of the weapons feel rather similar, a lack of customisation for your knight and the graphics are rather average, But none of these detract from the experience of the game. GO BUY!

89

Great game, good fun

signox | May 20, 2013 | See all signox's reviews »

This is a excellent game, you will get a lot of blood and fun playing this game. From the crossbow to the 2 hands swords, there is weapons for all style. Also, the different type of game mode will allow everybody to play like they want and have fun. Plus, the class are well balanced. The big problem with this game is the servers, it is sometime hard to find a good server with a good ping, but once your are in the server, you get a lot of fun. Also, in every server, anybody can call a vote, this is awesome because the hackers (never find one yet, but we never know) and the idiot who team kill for fun will be kick in a matter of minutes. So, in general, this game is exactly like a call of duty game, but medieval style, multiplayer focus, always the same maps and weapons but style fun and different every game. Hours of fun for sure and if you have friends to play with you, it is funnier because team play is important

74

Hardcore and gore, like Middle Age certainly was

ccccp | May 19, 2013 | See all ccccp's reviews »

It is beautiful without being beautiful, there are still bugs lurking ... but sounds very good and especially make it a KILLER GAME literally! Both nag, gore and technique. It's a little hard to get to the gameplay at the beginning and you have to be willing to suffer (and die elsewhere) a while, but once mastered about we realize that we can not let go !

Despite its flaws this game is packed with fun. But after adding (already planned) new content (maps, weapons ...) and fixing bugs, Chivalry might deserve a good 90 !

However,this style of game is a little bit different and is not suitable for all types of players:

85

FOR THE BLUE END GOLD

gauginpro | May 19, 2013 | See all gauginpro's reviews »

This is by far one of the best, if not the best, melee fighting game of all time. Chopping limbs has never been this satisfying!

There are different game modes to keep you busy. Ofcource there's the classics; TDM, DM and CTF. Those are not the only ones though! King of the hill, last man standing and 1on1. Every map has their own set of gametypes and depending on which side you're on, you'll ofcource get different objectives.

Grab a couple of friend, get on your favorite VOIP-program and get ready to have a blast!

83

An Amazing Experience

mgalosi | May 17, 2013 | See all mgalosi's reviews »

This game really has a visceral heavy feeling of combat. Every swing matters and dodging, blocking and good strategy matter even more. You must get into the mind set of a medieval warrior in order to survive and slaughter.

If you are a fan of D&D, Deadliest Warrior, Conan, etc then you will absolutely love this game. The game modes are fun and interesting; they are not just boring team deathmatch or capture the flag modes, you actually have escort and objective based missions to complete for the win.

I can't get enough of Chivalry and I am absolutely glad I purchased this game.

60

Less Army and more rabble of Bandits.....

cheesyfishface | May 17, 2013 | See all cheesyfishface's reviews »

The game plays well, letting you choose a class at the start of battle with the ability to unlock more items and weapons by scoring kills; so 25 kills with a light bow will unlock a medium bow. This serves well except for a lot of the game it is hard to get a kill because, you'll either be backing off to let yourself breath and someone will come and take a your kill or you'll be butchered before you slay your enemy.

Which leads me onto the biggest gripe I have with the game - there are A LOT of team killers and players who just want to hit you because they find it fun despite being on the same team. Some will attack you for being an archer and holding back while others will just randomly swipe at you for no reason. So this game is best played with some friends so you can coordinate attacks and not get stabbed in the back.

I find that the game begins to drag after a short amount of time, some servers cycle the same maps and matches over and over again; so when you find one where it's an interesting fight or one that evolves on from just the same location it's a real treat.

Overall the game is good but play it with friends - you'll get the most enjoyment out of it that way and will have someone to have your back in the heat of battle.

73

Chivalry Review

Memmorath | May 16, 2013 | See all Memmorath's reviews »

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare offers great hack&slash multiplayer action, though suffers from lack of depth in every other field. Customisation is limited to weapons only and changing helmet style once enough unlocks are achieved for a certain class. The graphics are decent, though there are some time to time glitches.

The gameplay it self is mostly fast paced action, and hitting and killing your foes is rewarding enough, though at times, there are frustration when your "sure-to-hit/kill" strike misses your target for some inexplainable reason. The first person view is something hard to read due to depth-of-field and the reach of your weapon doesn't always seem to be quite accurate. Despite this, it's fun enough to whack at your enemies and see them fall down before you.

The classes are mainly balanced, but there are moments when some just seem way to weak while others are too strong, though player skill does factor into that as well. Well skilled man-at-arms can easily harass and score many hits against much slower knight, but all the knight needs is a lucky hit and the man-at-arms is in two pieces.

Overall, the game is decent, but not great. Has its strengths and weaknesses, and amounts to a decent hack & slash multiplayer game. And is all the more fun with a bunch of friends and coordination.

90

Medieval Awesomeness

dagozu | May 16, 2013 | See all dagozu's reviews »

I have unlocked almost all the weapons in the game. I can only say that the game itself is excellent and well done. The gameplay is just so much FUN, when you kill an enemy and decapitate them or rip their arm off just makes you laugh of joy. You will get into to the game and when charging you will actually yell to the computer like you were there, I personally recommend this game to everyone who likes good old hack'n'slash.

Of course there are bug or minor issues but the game is great and the work the studio has done is just great. For Agatha!