Reviews for Super Sanctum TD

67

It is actually not bad... Not bad at all

martinni | April 14, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

I'll be very honest with you, I didn't have any kind of good expectations when i went and played it. I like tower defense, and that was the thing; but I was always a little dubious about this title, don't know why. In truth it kinda surprised me. It is a good game. Doesn't have exactly high end graphs or anything, but it's a job well done! And what you pay is what you get, I mean, what you see in the images and videos, what they say it has, it does have. It's just a matter of wether you like what you see. If you do think about it, if you don't go for another game; there are much better games in the genre.

70

Competent TD, but...

Jamfrost | April 1, 2014 | See all Jamfrost's reviews »

It appears to suffer balance issues until you unlock near everything, but more about that later.

The graphical presentation is good and serves the game well. It has an older feel to it while still being crisp and functional and not a pixelated mess. You'll probably enjoy looking at it, but at the very least, the style will not interfere with your gaming strategies.

There are a variety of skills available for you to bring into the maps (levels). You unlock more skill slots by leveling up, up to a maximum of four. There are some cool powers like the Thunderbolt or Freeze. Some of the others didn't really do it for my play style.

There are a variety of towers available, up to a maximum of four (not unusual if you've played the Sanctum series at all before). You can also set tower priorities individually. You can make a tower hit the target with the most hp or the least hp (for example) to further maximize its effectiveness depending on where you placed it.

My biggest problem with this game (and the other two in the series) is that the towers and skills are locked behind levels. This results in a need to grind to attain all skills and towers in order to fully realize your strategy for each map. I find this aspect of the game to be annoying and a bit of drag when all I want to do is perfect my layout and explode aliens.

Defense Grid, another TD game, may not have a progression system, but provides a more polished and balanced experience in return because you're given all the tools allowed for each stage. Each map also has numerous modes for high replay value.

Though Super Sanctum TD has problems with its unlock pacing, it still provides a good experience for the price, doubly so if it's on sale.

68

Fun Basic TD Game

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

Super Sanctum TD looks like it was made 20 years ago in someone's basement. Sound effects, UI & graphics are basic, but behind the mediocre facade it is a challenging & balanced tower defense game. Strategy is important along with your selection of towers & skills.

I would have liked to see some better high resolution support though; but it runs & looks ok in fullscreen windowed mode. There are probably around 10hrs of gameplay to complete everything & an infinite wave survival mode to add some replay value

All in all, this is a surprisingly fun & addictive casual TD game.

77

From FPS TD to the Traditional TD

AkiMatti | March 22, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Sanctum is mostly known for its FPS take on the TD genre. Ironically, this traditional TD version of the Sanctum world comes last.

Compared to other TD games, SSTD manages to hold its own. There are plenty of different tower types, enemy types and possibilities to upgrade the towers. You can make labyrinths for the enemies to get the most out of your towers and basically all the tropes of the genre are represented here.

The graphics are fairly good, if somewhat retro. Music sets the mood nicely, but the sounds are otherwise just good enough without leaving any lasting impression.

Everything works like it should in a TD game, and the UI is well done to make playing easier to access. If you have some time to kill, SSTD can do the job.

80

Nice little TD game

lachking | March 20, 2014 | See all lachking's reviews »

I must admit, I wasn't expecting much from a mere $4 game but Super Sanctum TD definitely has me hooked. The game is a basic tower defense game where you build different kinds of turrets and mazes to prevent enemies getting to the end. The gameplay is very addictive with many different enemies and abilities at your disposal and there are many different ways to play because you can only have a select few abilities/towers in hand at a time. Some towers/ abilities are more useful than others and you may need to play a level multiple times to figure out the best combination of resources at your disposal. The game’s graphical style and audio isn't great but pure, addictive gameplay is what matters and Super Sanctum TD definitely has that.

80

Entertaining game requiring a bit of strategy!

Subj3ctLambda | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Subj3ctLambda's reviews »

 When I bought this game, I had no idea I would sing so many hours into it! This tower defense game requires you to defend your reactors from enemies which may be air or land based!
 Their path is shown to you and you can lengthen it by putting obstacles or redirect it to form a maze with you r defensive towers along the walls! Buildings may be of energy type(rays,slowing particles) or physical type(bombs, bullets)! Along with buildings are your skills which are powers that can be used pretty much anywhere on the map and have a recharge time!
  To put it simply, you must transform the enemy's designated path from A walk in the park, to an eternity of a hellish maze! Trust me, it's quite satistying when you beat a tricky map! This is where Sanctum began, so I suggest buying it if you are a Sanctum fan! And even if you're not!

79

Nice Little Game

TPCGorillaMunch | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

Unlike Sanctum, Super Sanctum TD is just that, a tower defense game. It plays the same as a normal tower defense game, with different towers having different strengths and weaknesses. There are a variety of enemies. Abilities on a lengthy cooldown can be unlocked, such as a freeze ability to stop the enemies in place for a few seconds. You can level up and choose upgrades based on different skill trees. Overall an enjoyable and cheap game with good replay value and variety.

81

Cool Game to Pass the Time

bossmac | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all bossmac's reviews »

Never heard of Sanctum but noticed Super Sanctum TD because of the price so I decided to try it out.

Great nostalgic graphics really stood out for me and I really loved it from there. Very easy to get into and my kid brother really loved it. Had been playing it sporadically between other gaming sessions and is a great distraction. The technical mechanics of the defense as well as the overall approach on levels makes the game also a detailed endeavor for those looking for a bit of depth in their game.

All in all a solid and entertaining game, good replay value and really affordable.

75

Glad I gave this a shot.

Numbi | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I am a bit of a retro game junkie so Super Sanctum TD immediately caught my eye. Ironically enough I own Sanctum but never really got into it. I actually prefer playing tower defense games on my Android but decided to give this game a shot. I'm glad I did as it is actually very addictive. If you like the genre then I am sure you will enjoy this game. It is perfect for a quick round whenever you have some time to spare.

80

Extremely entertaining

FreeMan85 | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Super Sanctum is a retro like 2D classic tower defense game, based on the popular 3D brothers. The gamemahcanic is the same like in original Sanctum: you must protect the core from invading aliens, by building various type of turrets. What differs is the game is 2D, there's no Skye, you can level up and unlock more turrets and different type of abilities. Which can be used against waves, like freeze a small group, drop rocket rain to the map and similar. All of this abilities has a cooldown time, so use them wisely. What differs is you can build mazes only between waves, but you can droop new turrets anytime, if you have credits. Killed enemies sometimes drops cash boxes, pick them up fast because they disappear.

Super Sanctum is the proof a well designed gameplay sometimes beats superior graphics and design. Of course the normal Sanctum is a good game, but if you like that you must get Super Sanctum, has many achievements, challenges, unlocks, level ups.

76

Spinoff from the series

lok0812 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Super Sanctum TD (SSTD) plays like normal TD games which is vastly differ from the Sanctum series which have you play both FPS and TD at the same time. In SSTD, you are tasked to build towers and destroy waves of enemies from a top down perspective. The play style of Sanctum series still exist, like certain mobs are weak against certain defense and perks and bonuses that the player can unlock. There is also a world map that you can choose missions to play that serves as a hub that the player can respec their skill tree to plan ahead in order to maximize their damage for their next mission. Overall, a really fun TD game and a great spinoff from the series.

89

Is this how it began?

drafek | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Is this how the sanctum series began? I'm not sure, it was released some days before sanctum 2. The game is great, and it isn't expensive at all. The graphics are nice. It's like a minigame in sanctum itself.

79

Decent

dissolutionkhan | July 4, 2013 | See all dissolutionkhan's reviews »

Not a pathbreaking TD by any standard, and has not much to do with Sanctum other than the setting, but it scratches that itch. Pretty good upgrade system, with few useless options (so far).