Reviews for Super Sanctum TD

66

Good Game

jonathanmr | Sept. 19, 2014 | See all jonathanmr's reviews »

This game is addicting. It's nothing especially fancy but it's loads of fun! 8.5/10

Pros: Great TD format with a very open ended setup for lots of strategic options. Variety of enemies to account for and lots of calculations to make for how to dispatch everything at once. Survival mode that keeps you coming back for more.

Cons: You can only select an arsenal of 4 different tower types per stage. Your level caps at 30 for some reason. I was really hoping to see it go higher. Most towers I could find very little use for. (HINT: your flamers pretty much beat everything) It may have been patched by now, but I found some towers, in large numbers, would make the game crash.

75

a bit old but still good TD

kawette | Sept. 2, 2014 | See all kawette's reviews »

In Super Sanctum TD we can find the universe of Sanctum 1 & 2. Indeed there are almost the same monsters and a few different towers. It is not only a pure Tower defense because you can use some spells to slow or kill the enemies. That's why it can be quite hard at the beginning, you have to handle both aspects of the game to win. Actually, i got stuck in the 2nd island and I had to farm lower levels to get some upgrades.

I won't say it's a great TD but it's good enough for its price.

85

Better than expected

TBlackWolfT | July 11, 2014 | See all TBlackWolfT's reviews »

TD games are usually the same thing over and over again, but this one isn't. You get more freedom of where you want to build. If you build correctly, you can cause the enemies to take a long time getting through. This game has a decent amount of maps and enemies to take on. The difficulty rises as you get through the game, but never gets overly difficult. It also adds in some nice spells you're able to use such as, freezing your enemies, knocking them back, even blowing them up! I really enjoyed this game and I think you would enjoy it the same.

60

Interesting to a point but didn't captivate me

ashleymurray | July 6, 2014 | See all ashleymurray's reviews »

I love tower defence games. I enjoyed playing this game up to a point yet unfortunately the appeal quickly faded. I felt as though I was playing the same level again and again with slightly more resilient enemy's each time. I like the concept of power-ups and upgrades and the way that TD institutes it, yet wasn't blown away overall. If you are a die-hard tower defence fan, you probably will still enjoy it. I just perhaps went in with my expectations too high to fulfil.

75

Nice Top Down ; Tower Defence.

Ghostbacks | July 1, 2014 | See all Ghostbacks's reviews »

Sanctum 2 is a perfect example of how to keep a tower defense game interesting in 2013. Even though Super Sanctum TD has a top-down view and does not include a protagonist, you still feel like you are playing something else than a simple flash game.

The fact that you decide where you place foundations is most likely the biggest difference compared to other tower defense games. Some people are saying that the update in December 2013 changed the game, but that didn't stop me from buying the game. After a few hours I have to say I don't know what they are talking about. This game is not super-easy, it's challenging, but it should be.

90

First time with TD game

yuppy | June 14, 2014 | See all yuppy's reviews »

I've never play on TD games. So it's my first time. This game has got a really good music. The graphics isn't demanding but looks like retro game, and makes that this game have pleasant atmosphere and causing that you want to play on it.

80

a game like "Tower Defense", mixed with the game sanctum 1

digodigo4 | June 11, 2014 | See all digodigo4's reviews »

Super sanctum TD is a game that looks old, it also seems to be an internet game actually, just that it is better. you end up playing it so much without realizing it, but after a while it starts to get a bit boring, and just stopping jogalo long. its soundtrack is bad and very repetitive, and have levels a bit difficult starting the 2nd island. I think, too, that this game is not good at all. for me it's a good game.

100

Addictive. you will lose your sense of time

rickyeatos | June 10, 2014 | See all rickyeatos's reviews »

I grab this game from the super sanctum TD promo and i decide to give him a chance to see how the game is. when i finish playing him i realize it was like 5 hours later (and my plan was just testing him for 10 minutes). if you want to play this game. don't do it unless you have some kind of alarm or a total free week of everything. you will lose all the sense of time when you play this. just you... one map full of empty spaces when you must place a different selection of towers to defend your sentry core from and whole army of bad guys that will spawn by waves. you will earn credits to buy more towers and you must place them in strategic places to try block the enemy's advance and in case of emergency you also can drop to the enemy's a different selection of special powers like a explosion or just teleport them a few steps back to make some time. very addictive, very good game and for very cheap

78

Pretty decent, if not a bit overly difficult

Baumshlager | May 24, 2014 | See all Baumshlager's reviews »

I'm not a big fan of TD games, but this one had me hooked right away. The 'spells' and weapon towers are cool and the eradication of various enemy types is gratifying. I also loved the retro graphics. The further you progress in the game, however, the difficulty rises exponentially to the point of almost impossible even on 'normal'. Grab this one, even if you're not a fan of tower defense games.

75

Sanctum's little brother.

Furrek | May 19, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Ever played Sanctum or Sanctum 2? It's the same, but just a normal Tower Defense game. Instead of having active player there are spells - from bonus money, to bombs and skills that will stop the time. What really, in my opinion, makes this game good is difficult level. Some levels are really hard to beat, and it's hard to find a best combination of towers to kill the waves of monster easy. Graphics are also nice looking, kind of retro but polished. Like in any other TD games, there are few modes (hard, unlimited) which make this game playable for much more time after beating it. You also can earn piece of medals for beating game on hard mode, or not letting any monsters hit your core. Not sure if I can recommend it for everyone, but if you are Tower Defense games fan you must play it.

85

You will like it

the0warrior | April 29, 2014 | See all the0warrior's reviews »

Well.... It's not a massive change (which is good), it's almost the same building system but it's change from moving (fps) style to solid (classic) TD type, the gameplay is good it's smooth and fast reaction respond with extra "powers" that make the game more easier and funnier, the graphic is not very good i know it's meant to be like the retro classic TD, but they can make the graphic better.

I would recommend the game for those how like the TD type of games.

75

Kinda like the other Sanctum games, but topdown

pmuecke | April 21, 2014 | See all pmuecke's reviews »

It's a surprisingly fun little game actually with the enemies from the other Sanctum games also being present here. The only real difference is that you aren't actually present on the map and thus can't shoot the enemies. But the abilities kinda make up for that.

The graphics are among the best I've seen in any (traditional) Tower Defence game.

Levels can be difficult from time to time, but if you adjust your loadout somewhat and perhaps take a little different approach you will be able to beat the level.

If you're a tower defence fanatic, this is something that should definitely be part of your collection!

86

Excellent Tower defense game with retro style graphics

liquidsnake78 | April 16, 2014 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

Sanctum 1 was a decent tower defense game but it kinda looked dull. Not many would spend a lot of time playing that game with that graphics.

Coffee stain studios have understood the demand that tower defense games be simple and have cool pixel graphics that allows anyone to play their games.

As a one off we get this Super sanctum TD [naming refers to classic naming of games in 8-16bit era] Now what sets this apart is that , it works great as a tower defense game yet its not that complex to set up your plan and start slaughtering the hoards.

Back in the first game you had to move around in first person view to set the defense which was a pain and slow. This solves all that and just lets you place the defense and go with it.

This is definitely worth the price , they also added steam card drops for this game , there are different kinds of towers , spells, skills that unlock as you progress . The challenge mode comes in the form of a mode with no limit of round you suggest have to survive as long as possible.

The scores are compared with others which is a nice thing.i like they way they have gone with a different style with this game , hoping for more like this.

67

It is actually not bad... Not bad at all

martinni | April 14, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

I'll be very honest with you, I didn't have any kind of good expectations when i went and played it. I like tower defense, and that was the thing; but I was always a little dubious about this title, don't know why. In truth it kinda surprised me. It is a good game. Doesn't have exactly high end graphs or anything, but it's a job well done! And what you pay is what you get, I mean, what you see in the images and videos, what they say it has, it does have. It's just a matter of wether you like what you see. If you do think about it, if you don't go for another game; there are much better games in the genre.

70

Competent TD, but...

Jamfrost | April 1, 2014 | See all Jamfrost's reviews »

It appears to suffer balance issues until you unlock near everything, but more about that later.

The graphical presentation is good and serves the game well. It has an older feel to it while still being crisp and functional and not a pixelated mess. You'll probably enjoy looking at it, but at the very least, the style will not interfere with your gaming strategies.

There are a variety of skills available for you to bring into the maps (levels). You unlock more skill slots by leveling up, up to a maximum of four. There are some cool powers like the Thunderbolt or Freeze. Some of the others didn't really do it for my play style.

There are a variety of towers available, up to a maximum of four (not unusual if you've played the Sanctum series at all before). You can also set tower priorities individually. You can make a tower hit the target with the most hp or the least hp (for example) to further maximize its effectiveness depending on where you placed it.

My biggest problem with this game (and the other two in the series) is that the towers and skills are locked behind levels. This results in a need to grind to attain all skills and towers in order to fully realize your strategy for each map. I find this aspect of the game to be annoying and a bit of drag when all I want to do is perfect my layout and explode aliens.

Defense Grid, another TD game, may not have a progression system, but provides a more polished and balanced experience in return because you're given all the tools allowed for each stage. Each map also has numerous modes for high replay value.

Though Super Sanctum TD has problems with its unlock pacing, it still provides a good experience for the price, doubly so if it's on sale.

68

Fun Basic TD Game

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

Super Sanctum TD looks like it was made 20 years ago in someone's basement. Sound effects, UI & graphics are basic, but behind the mediocre facade it is a challenging & balanced tower defense game. Strategy is important along with your selection of towers & skills.

I would have liked to see some better high resolution support though; but it runs & looks ok in fullscreen windowed mode. There are probably around 10hrs of gameplay to complete everything & an infinite wave survival mode to add some replay value

All in all, this is a surprisingly fun & addictive casual TD game.

77

From FPS TD to the Traditional TD

AkiMatti | March 22, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Sanctum is mostly known for its FPS take on the TD genre. Ironically, this traditional TD version of the Sanctum world comes last.

Compared to other TD games, SSTD manages to hold its own. There are plenty of different tower types, enemy types and possibilities to upgrade the towers. You can make labyrinths for the enemies to get the most out of your towers and basically all the tropes of the genre are represented here.

The graphics are fairly good, if somewhat retro. Music sets the mood nicely, but the sounds are otherwise just good enough without leaving any lasting impression.

Everything works like it should in a TD game, and the UI is well done to make playing easier to access. If you have some time to kill, SSTD can do the job.

80

Nice little TD game

lachking | March 20, 2014 | See all lachking's reviews »

I must admit, I wasn't expecting much from a mere $4 game but Super Sanctum TD definitely has me hooked. The game is a basic tower defense game where you build different kinds of turrets and mazes to prevent enemies getting to the end. The gameplay is very addictive with many different enemies and abilities at your disposal and there are many different ways to play because you can only have a select few abilities/towers in hand at a time. Some towers/ abilities are more useful than others and you may need to play a level multiple times to figure out the best combination of resources at your disposal. The game’s graphical style and audio isn't great but pure, addictive gameplay is what matters and Super Sanctum TD definitely has that.

80

Entertaining game requiring a bit of strategy!

Subj3ctLambda | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Subj3ctLambda's reviews »

 When I bought this game, I had no idea I would sing so many hours into it! This tower defense game requires you to defend your reactors from enemies which may be air or land based!
 Their path is shown to you and you can lengthen it by putting obstacles or redirect it to form a maze with you r defensive towers along the walls! Buildings may be of energy type(rays,slowing particles) or physical type(bombs, bullets)! Along with buildings are your skills which are powers that can be used pretty much anywhere on the map and have a recharge time!
  To put it simply, you must transform the enemy's designated path from A walk in the park, to an eternity of a hellish maze! Trust me, it's quite satistying when you beat a tricky map! This is where Sanctum began, so I suggest buying it if you are a Sanctum fan! And even if you're not!

79

Nice Little Game

TPCGorillaMunch | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

Unlike Sanctum, Super Sanctum TD is just that, a tower defense game. It plays the same as a normal tower defense game, with different towers having different strengths and weaknesses. There are a variety of enemies. Abilities on a lengthy cooldown can be unlocked, such as a freeze ability to stop the enemies in place for a few seconds. You can level up and choose upgrades based on different skill trees. Overall an enjoyable and cheap game with good replay value and variety.

81

Cool Game to Pass the Time

bossmac | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all bossmac's reviews »

Never heard of Sanctum but noticed Super Sanctum TD because of the price so I decided to try it out.

Great nostalgic graphics really stood out for me and I really loved it from there. Very easy to get into and my kid brother really loved it. Had been playing it sporadically between other gaming sessions and is a great distraction. The technical mechanics of the defense as well as the overall approach on levels makes the game also a detailed endeavor for those looking for a bit of depth in their game.

All in all a solid and entertaining game, good replay value and really affordable.

75

Glad I gave this a shot.

Numbi | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all Numbi's reviews »

I am a bit of a retro game junkie so Super Sanctum TD immediately caught my eye. Ironically enough I own Sanctum but never really got into it. I actually prefer playing tower defense games on my Android but decided to give this game a shot. I'm glad I did as it is actually very addictive. If you like the genre then I am sure you will enjoy this game. It is perfect for a quick round whenever you have some time to spare.

80

Extremely entertaining

FreeMan85 | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Super Sanctum is a retro like 2D classic tower defense game, based on the popular 3D brothers. The gamemahcanic is the same like in original Sanctum: you must protect the core from invading aliens, by building various type of turrets. What differs is the game is 2D, there's no Skye, you can level up and unlock more turrets and different type of abilities. Which can be used against waves, like freeze a small group, drop rocket rain to the map and similar. All of this abilities has a cooldown time, so use them wisely. What differs is you can build mazes only between waves, but you can droop new turrets anytime, if you have credits. Killed enemies sometimes drops cash boxes, pick them up fast because they disappear.

Super Sanctum is the proof a well designed gameplay sometimes beats superior graphics and design. Of course the normal Sanctum is a good game, but if you like that you must get Super Sanctum, has many achievements, challenges, unlocks, level ups.

76

Spinoff from the series

lok0812 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Super Sanctum TD (SSTD) plays like normal TD games which is vastly differ from the Sanctum series which have you play both FPS and TD at the same time. In SSTD, you are tasked to build towers and destroy waves of enemies from a top down perspective. The play style of Sanctum series still exist, like certain mobs are weak against certain defense and perks and bonuses that the player can unlock. There is also a world map that you can choose missions to play that serves as a hub that the player can respec their skill tree to plan ahead in order to maximize their damage for their next mission. Overall, a really fun TD game and a great spinoff from the series.

89

Is this how it began?

drafek | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Is this how the sanctum series began? I'm not sure, it was released some days before sanctum 2. The game is great, and it isn't expensive at all. The graphics are nice. It's like a minigame in sanctum itself.

79

Decent

dissolutionkhan | July 4, 2013 | See all dissolutionkhan's reviews »

Not a pathbreaking TD by any standard, and has not much to do with Sanctum other than the setting, but it scratches that itch. Pretty good upgrade system, with few useless options (so far).