Reviews for Rush Bros.

65

Frustrating

NucularS | Oct. 28, 2014 | See all NucularS's reviews »

Not a bad game, even enjoyable at times, assuming you will not try to get the achievements, most of which require impossible timing and precision. Nice music, vivid acid-induced visuals, and no death penalty make this a relaxing experience for the less hardcore players. For those that do want to "beat" the game, prepare to reload again, and again, and again, ad nauseam, until you can do the level in your sleep... or give up.

60

Meh

angrymouse | Sept. 29, 2014 | See all angrymouse's reviews »

Rush Bros. is a challenging platformer.Some people compare it to Super Meat Boy except this one requires a lot more attention.The controls don't feel quite right and each level has its obstacles. You can choose the music yourself and compete with strangers or friends in the multiplayer.Sometimes it can get frustrating and if you're not patient it's gonna be difficult.Your hand-eye coordination is going to be put to test. The game was offered for free by Greenmangaming and if you missed the promotion,you better wait for it to go on sale.

90

Great platformer, great music

Lidenburg | Sept. 18, 2014 | See all Lidenburg's reviews »

Great platformer, has good music and you can add music that you have yourself, sadly only mp3's work and not flac's or any other format. The game itself is great fun, I found that the game got even more fun when you try to get the achievements and beat your times on the maps and be as fast as possible, really competitive game and gets quite frustrating at times but it's all the more fun when you beat that time. The graphics are really appealing with nice and vivid colors and alive feeling backgrounds.

I would give this an even higher score if you could import songs that are in a format other than mp3, but the developers have said that they would have to re-write the whole music engine for that and I can see why they haven't done it.

77

Not bad little plaformer

Gmen | Aug. 20, 2014 | See all Gmen's reviews »

This is a platformer which looks similar to Limbo and a number of other games of today, and also harkens back to a time when 2D sidescrolling platformers were very common. Its routes go back to the likes of Sonic the Hedgehog.

But thematically it is a bit different, and I can’t help but draw similarities, at least graphically on some level, especially the backgrounds, between it and something out of the Worms series of games.

You take the role of one of two brothers, and your goal is to make it through level upon level, getting past obstacles and seeing how fast you can make it through, with the least number of deaths. So it’s built for speedrunning, and you can unlock a number of achievements based on your performance during a level. You can also elect to accept challenges and compete against other players online and you have different game modes too with a few dozen levels to play around with.

Overall, this a is a challenging, and somewhat unusual, refreshing take on 2D sidescrolling platformers, and I can see why it has already developed a committed cult following. It’s cutesy, it’s fun, and some of the levels will give you a hard time, so it’s not too easy. This is probably made worse by the fact that the controls aren’t all that good.

And the soundtrack is good – and if the songs that come with the game aren’t to your taste you can import your own songs to listen to while playing as well.

97

Fun indie racing game.

hateah | July 29, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

That is very interesting game. I'v played the multiplayer where you race with other playes on a music which YOU choose. You can add it from your playlist. The maps are very different from each other, it has very nice art style, jumping system, and everything you might like in a indie-racing game. You can also mix the music and then put it to the race. It's very colorful and you can see the bass going up and down behind the map, which depends on how hard the music is. The multiplayer isn't dead at all. There are a lot of players looking for a match to test their abilities of runing through the map. You have to think fast and have fast reflexes.

94

Great platformer

nikisan7 | July 19, 2014 | See all nikisan7's reviews »

Nice platformer game.I enjoyed playing it. soundtrack is Good. backgrounds are beautiful and colorful Maps are challenging and creative. The only thing i don't know how works is multiplayer.(not co-op) I recommend you playing co-op with friend! There's a lot of different modes(remixes) like fast forward,survival and some kind of zombie apocalypse mod.This game is worth a try.

72

Feels ok as a platformer

9manny99 | June 30, 2014 | See all 9manny99's reviews »

The game feels loose when moving platform to platform.Jumping is like a weird form torture it takes time to learn and you may enjoy.This all due the game overall feeling slapped together.Its fun for long time fans of platformers or causal gamers,but it for just average Joe it just ok.

67

Decent game, great music

RGsSeveredHand | June 19, 2014 | See all RGsSeveredHand's reviews »

Rush Bros was a fun game to play but it struggled to keep my attention for long periods of time. The aesthetic and the music go very well together and help keep the game feeling fun to play. I soon found that the single player quite boring and most of the achievements are almost impossible to achieve. The area of the gameplay that stands out is the coop which can be fun with friends.

79

Awesome music

kenx00x | June 1, 2014 | See all kenx00x's reviews »

The music is great the gameplay to but sometimes a bit to hard for me its cool that the game reacts to the music u can change ur character from collor and u can play with ur friend in split screen or even multiplayer with random people or your friends i like the game

71

Energetic Co-op Game

jetstreamv | May 28, 2014 | See all jetstreamv's reviews »

The only things that are worth it are the soundtrack and the coop experience with friends,playing solo isn't the best experience you gonna get from this.Overall the game has comfy visuals and nice Soundtracks to accompany its easy gameplay.

65

Decent Game

thee3nd | May 26, 2014 | See all thee3nd's reviews »

I found Rush Bros to be a decent game to play when bored or when I wanted to play something different . At first, the game was very easy but got a little bit harder later on . The gameplay was good , nothing too complicated , just like any 2D platformers . What I really liked about this game was the soundtrack , it's really good , and if you don't like it , you can always create your own playlist .

Overall , the game is decent , fun but it's still hard to master . I'd wait for this game to be on sale if you want to get it .

50

Not so great platformer

Baumshlager | May 24, 2014 | See all Baumshlager's reviews »

The idea of rhythm platform sounds good in theory, but this was poorly executed in practice. The changing of traps to the changing of music is, most of the time, very confusing. The controls are unresponsive. All this makes the game harder than it should be. But i guess you can pick this up on sale if you are a big fan of platformers.

80

Great Soundtrack

javiercorre | May 24, 2014 | See all javiercorre's reviews »

This platform game is great, just completing the levels and enjoy the music is enough but if you like challenge this is the game for you, the achievements for this game are not easy to get. There are some minor bugs but nothing that can brake the gameplay.

85

If you like to rage alot you will like this game

tmang17 | May 22, 2014 | See all tmang17's reviews »

When i first saw this game i thought it would like a regular plat former. I was wrong. This game is unique and also uses your MP3 music as an integral part of your experience. Each level has its own music which deeply impacts the look and the feel of each level. It has very unique level design and game play which immerses you to a different world. This game made me rage alto in some parts of the game but still gave me a good experience. This game can get frustrating in some points but will always be in the top of my list. Overall i think this game is fairly even it has unique level and map designing and frustrating points in the game (in a good way). I would recommend people who wants fast paced plat former action or people who have mental disorders(just kidding :D)

55

Can be addictive, but looks rushed and unfinished

aymendj | May 21, 2014 | See all aymendj's reviews »

The game is multiplayer only, so you would think they would focus on that, but no, the controls are unresponsive at times, when you try to join a game it doesn't let you choose who you play with, there is no lobby, you can just host a game and wait for someone to join only to they disconnect or keep you waiting for them to start, the controls can not respond at times which makes you want to punch your screen.

Pros: -Visually pleasing, eye candy. -Awesome tracks -Addictive

Cons: -Unresponsive controls -Broken matchmaking -Messy menu

75

Feel the Rush

HaonofRemlu | May 19, 2014 | See all HaonofRemlu's reviews »

This game is very fast paced, I find the controls to be a bit awkward, but the game is a very good puzzle game with very hard achievements. I'm probably just too slow though. The multiplayer is very good as well as the music, but I guess that kinda is what they were going for

61

A Platformer with too high tempo

AkiMatti | May 18, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

I know some people like platformers where you have to control the character with superb reflexes because of the high speed it moves. I am not one of them.

Rush Bros. is a descriptive name because these guys sure seem to be rushing forward all the time. I hate it I much prefer Rayman Origins.

Save your money for that.

20

Found it to be boring

BlockAgent | May 17, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

I thought this game was boring and just dull. Nothing about it was fun nor challenging. The graphics were ok for an indie platformer, but that doesn't mean much with this style of game. The music wasn't bad though and for a music focused game, that is very important. I guess it is just not my type of game.

20

Fails at game design, would rather play jokes on the player

Maghook | May 17, 2014 | See all Maghook's reviews »

Rush Bros. is the rare type of game that manages to fail at its core mechanic. It is a rhythm platforming game where an algorithm determines the pacing of traps and projectiles based on the beat of a song. Unfortunately the developers have chosen to make the soundtrack a variable, meaning that every person who plays the same level will be met with a different experience and, more importantly, a different level of difficulty.

The level design often betrays itself and the player; where a certain coloured platform may be safe to stand on, another platform of the same colour will instantly kill the player. Similarly, traps may fly across the screen and kill the player in a manner you never would have expected. Nothing is ever clearly explained or defined before the player encounters an obstacle, which means you'll often have to play through a level multiple times before understanding how it actually works. It's a level of artificial difficulty created by the developer as more of a joke on the player rather than competent game design.

67

A Platform Racer

Napalm420 | May 16, 2014 | See all Napalm420's reviews »

Well, this is a Platform Racing game, simply said, make it to the end of the level as fast as you can, all the while dodging traps, pits, and some of the other typical platforming hazards. A rather neat feature is how the Traps react to the Tempo of the music ( speed up, slow down, etc.).

I feel as if the the game could operate a bit cleaner in the control and movement aspect, but it is by no means the dirtiest platformer in terms of control. Overall, the game is fairly fun, yet hard. I'd recommend it if you enjoy Platform racers and this goes on sale.

90

Play your beats, race your friends.

Unbenannte | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

Do you like music and games? Then play this scrolling racing puzzled game, the single player is very good, a lot of fun. I specially recommend it because I’m a local multiplayer crazy, and this games has that, a very good split-screen mode, race and win! Also the online multiplayer with cross platform, that’s right, get a copy for your Mac and your PC. You are able to use your own music in the game (NICE), music controls the game, so that’s major words. It’s fun, you can play with little kids (or not so little, if you know what I mean), better with friends. Nice kind of old schooled graphics, still amazing. The price is worth it, hope this is useful.

80

Fun for music and platformer fans

SirHeroTheBrave | Oct. 22, 2013 | See all SirHeroTheBrave's reviews »

This game is a great game, has some amazing preset songs, and you can use your own music too. The only thing is sometimes it is slightly confusing, but good fun. It is worth the price for the fun and music. It is very much action pact and not like a normal more calm platformer, there is alot of movement but very fast paced, and racing. Alot edge of your seat "get there fast" sonic type of feeling. With the music that just makes it even better.

90

a very nice game if you love electronic

babamba2 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all babamba2's reviews »

if you love electronic music (especially trance music), plaformer games , this makes you tranced up with fabulous combination of those you wants. the very thing is the reason why you play this and buy it.

79

Old school with a nice beat!

drsnap | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all drsnap's reviews »

A colorful plattformer with a nice beat and a good gameplay. Although its lacks the nicely tuned gameplay on the leveldesign as such eminent games as Rayman Origins or Super Mario, it still gets the work done in its simplicity.

And for this amount of money, its a clear buy if your a plattform lover!

75

New way to play with your music

lok0812 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

There are many games out there that allow you to use your music to play a game, namely Audiosurf or Beat Hazard etcs. Beat Bros feels different at first since this time it uses your music to play a platforming game but it could get repetitive and dull in a few hours as the customized soundtracks of the game have little diversity. You might get a longer playthrough from your own music library but that still won't last you a long time as the game lacks the dynamic so it will feel repetitive quick. Online racing and leaderboard exists to challenge the player. Even though it lacks diversity of music affecting gameplay, this is still a pretty good entry for music games, definitely give it a try.

73

Rush Bros - review

balbo79 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

The game is very simple, basic content and very intuitive. The game adopts a 2D graphics, with pre-rendered backgrounds in HD, repeated throughout the level. The purpose is to achieve a platform that concludes the level and leads to the next. The graphics are quite monotonous, however, as there is a massive presence of black color, which just makes the game a little different, but always different backgrounds give a feeling of novelty. However, this is made ​​up for by the presence of light and colored blocks, often on the move. In fact being a rhythm game, several elements of the level move, following the rhythm of the music, taking the player to be based on the timing and on the notes. This game soon tires the player. However deserves to be played at least once, good for passing the time while listening music.

81

Old School platformer

DanielZo0 | June 9, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

If Super Meat Boy and Jet Grind Radio had twins, they would be the Rush Bros. This precision platformer starring two feuding brothers doesn’t just test your jumping skills, but does so while throwing a ton of bright colors at you and using an awesome soundtrack to make every death seem like a good thing. While you may want to be frustrated as a gamer, as a person, you can’t help but be glad since it lets you listen to more music! It’s a brilliant way to make a game fun at its most challenging moments. Its classification as a racing/platformer may seem a bit confusing at first, but when you play the game, the term makes a lot of sense. Rush Bros. is a time trial-focused game with a side focus on beating stages with as few deaths as possible. Obstacles in your path aren’t just the usual platforms, springs, and spikes, but also things like rock-out stations that require rapid button presses to get through quickly or else you’ll add precious seconds to your time. When playing by yourself, the game is a fair challenge and you can just go through in a leisurely manner and improve bit by bit at your own pace. The real challenge comes from accepting challengers ala a fighting game where folks can request a race with you and you’ll instantly go to the area they’ve selected for something different.

90

Cool !!!!

LoudeRZz | June 8, 2013 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

Very nice game, very colorful and nice music [you can put your music in the race which is very good function], the characters designed very nice, and its just a nice and fun game .. worth to try !

70

Racing platformer

Shav | May 31, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

This game is a mix between platformers and racing games. You control a DJ, and your task is to run around various levels, jump between platforms and so on.

Rush Bros also features quite a nice-looking graphics, which reminds me of 80's. The best part tho, is the music. If you like dubstep, and electronic music then you will love this game.

I haven't had a chance to try multiplayer yet, but it seems like a nice addition.

80

A nice and colorful game

Cavalieroscuro | May 28, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game is basically a funny, little racing game. You will travel among those colorful leveles, with this pushing soundtrack. You can even compete with a friend or race against your ghost to increase your score. A tiny, little game you will love for sure.