Reviews for The Last Remnant

75

Worth checking out

virulent0o | March 17, 2014 | See all virulent0o's reviews »

The last remnant is a good JRPG experience.

It offers pretty graphics (still very pretty in 2014 standard) and story line akin to the likes of final fantasy. Switch the voice to Japanese and it's like watching a 3D animated version of your favorite anime. Well, with game play.

The comabt may look simple, but there's actually quite a bit of complexity to it. Instead of focusing on stats for individual characters, it makes you focus on the synergy of groups. Lots of experimenting makes group management interesting (not just equipping the best weapon/armour to your characters).

The stand-out feature for me are the boss fights. Imagine dark souls boss fights in turn based fashion.. now throw in the addition that your character may freak out due to low morale. This really provides the sense that you worked hard for the victory.

Bottom line, worth checking out for all the JRPG fans on PC.

74

Good anime

Azraeil | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all Azraeil's reviews »

The game it looks like a anime movie. It very simplistic, reminds me of the old 2d games but you can enjoy the story which is the reason i actually bought it. The story of the game is interesting, especially if you enjoy this kind of thinks, not to mention you can put to hear the Japanese language and have english sub making the game better

The game play it different then any other game that i played but i can actually say that you need more a console then a keyboard, you will enjoy it more and it not that complicate.

67

Not bad, but not great.

vipc | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all vipc's reviews »

Last Remnant only holds the namesake of a Square Enix title. I can't say that I really enjoyed it. It falls into the stereotypical JRPG story and characters.

The combat itself is a little different to the typical turn base strategy, but it doesn't do enough to hold my interest. If you're in the mood for a JRPG with a slightly different combat system, then The Last Remnants wouldn't be a horrible choice, particularly if you can grab it on sale. Otherwise, there are better games that are worth your time.

80

One of the best rpg experience

Zaboia | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Zaboia's reviews »

I must say, i always like this type of game and playstyle, and there aren't that many releases for this type of RPG, which is turn based. The play should be far better than is it, it's kinda linear at some point. However, i really enjoy playing because you have so much to learn and soo much too do, like Final fantasy series. (which i can even compare, of course) Mechanics and a bit awkward at first, but it's easy to control after you understand the skill, and the motavation bar. You have more than 80 unique leaders, chosen by you, all diferent in some point. Tons of weapons you can craft, more and more chalenge and rare monster to deafeat. Not the best, but not the worst. I still recommend who likes to play FF series.

70

A JRPG disguised as RPG

MarcoCav | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Last Remnant is a JRPG that tries, however, be appreciated by Western audiences. In an attempt to do so, ends up being a middle way that fails to excel: the technical sector is mediocre, the timing of the narrative as well, strategic combat and interesting, as well as the original, but definitely boring. The random battles are replaced by monsters scattered around the maps, a solution that does not satisfy aficionados, nor newbies.

75

Soild JRPG experiece for the PC

Invasion808 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Invasion808's reviews »

The Last Remnant is a classic JRPG game that has a few things that set it apart from other Square-Enix games.

The learning curve can be either shallow or steep depending on how in-depth you want to take the game. Changing into certain character classes can be complicated, and the leveling curve can be unforgiving at times.

Without spoiling anything, the storyline is pretty much your standard JRPG story with a few curve balls thrown in.

The Last Remnant offers a unique take on the classic turned-based JRPG battle systems. Instead of controlling a party of characters, you are put in charge of teams of characters; as large as 15 or even more.

Although the graphics can be nice, there is quite a bit of pop-in (due to the Unreal engine) and several of the animations can look stiff. Some people have stumbled upon a few glitches in the game, but I haven't found any yet.

I also own this game on the Xbox 360 and the PC version is superior in every way: better performance, more content, more customization. The only negative I can think of about the port is that the developer didn't really update the UI for the PC, and Xbox controller buttons can sometimes pop up during gameplay. This doesn't really bother me because I use an Xbox controller to play anyway.

Overall, The Last Remant is a fun, and sometimes complicated, JRPG for the PC.

70

A good RPG experience nonetheless

Oblaque | July 30, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

It was a very good game, although there are some little complications and a so so storyline and dialogs, well the game play makes up for that. What hit me the most was how the music blended in with each scene or map, the music was one of the best in RPG games, most games from Square Enix have good music though.

65

The Last Remnant

moo9le | July 15, 2013 | See all moo9le's reviews »

Agreed with a lot of reviews here. It's a great concept, but terrible port. Lost interest very quickly due to it not being very streamlined for PC. Get a controller if you want to enjoy it.

65

OK but gameplay...

amnec | July 12, 2013 | See all amnec's reviews »

I have a pretty high expectation as it from FF publisher and it have pretty good setting. I was very interested in exploring the world and understanding the story. However, the gameplay a bit confusing and complex thus prevent from me progressing further. For RPG fans, there are many more good RPG out there but I would recommend this if you got extra cash/credit.

65

It's ok..

nucture | July 4, 2013 | See all nucture's reviews »

Good for anyone looking for a cheap Jrpg to play since there is next to none on the PC. Give it a shot. Some good music and ok character but the battle system is not going to be for everyone. Good for the price.

85

We need more JRPG like Last Remnant on PC!

Cloudius12 | July 4, 2013 | See all Cloudius12's reviews »

After spending 200+ hours in this game, it's definitely worth a look especially if you are a JRPG fan. Decent graphics, no random encounter, This game has very little hand holding and much of the game will not be revealed to you and you may need to look up other resources to pursue onward in terms of its wide side quest portion. The part of the game that may turn some people away is the battle system.

78

Underrated JRPG

peloun | June 29, 2013 | See all peloun's reviews »

Very underlooked JRPG. I remember hyping this game so much but was dissapointed when it was announced only for xbox 360. I bought a console just for this game and i was not dissapointed, Such a steal for 5$

75

The Last Remnant

Alfa8789 | June 28, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

It is similar to FF seires, but not as good. Its fighting system is interesting, but may not fit everyone's taste. The graphic is beautiful, and you have a great long epic story to go through. Characters are memorable. If not for some technical issue, it can be even better. Afterall, it is average, RPG-wise or JRPG-wise. However, It's very rare to see a JRPG being on PC, so it is actually a very good choice for people interested in JRPG but not having a gaming console.

55

Ok game but...horrible port

Traldera | June 21, 2013 | See all Traldera's reviews »

From what I've seen so far, the game itself is pretty good (but its no Final Fantasy), good story, voice acting, relatively good graphics considering its a port. However, if you don't have a control pad, do not but it. The first time I started it up my controller was locked away so I decided to carry on with mouse and keyboard...bad idea. You know those games that put very little effort when moving from console to PC? Yeah this isnt one of those. They changed nothing, its completely unplayable with M&K. The default control mapping is completely nonsensical and to make matters worse, I cant even find how to remap them! If you have a control pad, go ahead and get this, its by no means a bad game, if you don't, spend your money elsewhere.

75

Not as good as a Final Fantasy game

Bbozmen | June 9, 2013 | See all Bbozmen's reviews »

The Last Remnant is a fun title to pick up sometimes, but not nearly as good as any Final Fantasy games. The battles are done differently with less choices to make. Its battle system is innovative, but could've been better. It has really nice graphics especially for a game launched in '09. If it is on sale it's definitely worth it. And for JRPG fans even the full price (which isn't that much) is still worth it.

84

A game with the spirit of the new Final Fantasy

mutsuriini | June 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

This game is the mix of traditional Japanease RPG and the typical Western one.

Because of this it’s one of those games you either love it or hate from the start. I think Square Enix did it well. And please, don’t read console reviews as PC version is vastly improved and superior.

Story is typical cliche about young boy who later becomes world savior. It’s pretty lame and boring in the start, but later is much better. There are especially very interesting side quests. Music is mostly good, and for the audio language – well, English is nothing special. I am huge fan of anime so I play game with Japanease audio which is simply excellent. Translation is not always accurate. For example in the beggining of game, Emma said: „David-sama“, but you read in English „My Lord“. It doens’t ruin experience, but really how they could miss translation with so easy sentences? Graphics is very good, and you need beefy hardware to run everything maxed out [only for battles]. Loadings are mostly very fast (3-5 s) except here and there. The only problem with graphics is occasional tearing of cut-in animations.

And the lasty – gameplay. In battles you command with so called unions, not individual soldiers. Many hates this approach, but I like it as it would be very hard to command with every soldier in large battles. Games is all about tactics. And even more – you can’t upgrade your soldiers neither. They’ll upgrade by themselves, and from the time to time, they'll ask you to provide some goods or how they should focus in development (combat, mystical or both arts). So basically you only upgrade your hero (Rush Sykes). There is very good tutorial in the beggining and learning game mechanics is really easy but mastering is not as there is randomness involved in battles. Game is hard, and you’ll often die.

Just try demo because battle part is the most controversial.

60

The game almost plays itself

jcyuen7 | June 5, 2013 | See all jcyuen7's reviews »

As a long time RPG fan growing up in the wake up the golden age of JRPGs, this game is a far cry from the classics; uninteresting characters, predictable storyline, even the grind is longer than normal. The battle system is an interesting touch for those who like to macromanage. But for those who like to control every individual unit, this game would drive you crazy. Throw in some really long dialogue/cutscenes, this game is pretty much what you expect in an RPG in this day and age. If you're not expecting an epic tale with plot twists and characterization, then give Last Remnant a look. If you do, I highly recommend you bookmark the Wiki.

80

The Last Remnant

p3nguin_pris0n | June 1, 2013 | See all p3nguin_pris0n's reviews »

I remember playing this game for the Xbox 360 originally, when I was hankering for a Final Fantasy fix, but I never finished it. I bought it for PC for cheap and have just dug back into it, and my memory of a good RPG with a decent story was cloud-filled: The Last Remnant is a great RPG with a neat story, great characters, and an interesting combat system.

If graphics are important, the game isn't too shabby, even today. I believe it's running on the Unreal Engine, so it has some neat particle effects, although some of the textures are slightly bland. The characters are well detailed, however, and the menus and user interface still looks great; it definitely has that Square Enix touch.

I wanted to mention the combat again because I think it does some neat things. Instead of directly controlling individual characters, the characters are divided into groups. These groups are scattered over the battlefield and lend the game an epic battle feel. There's definitely strategy to positioning the different groups; plus, there's a morale meter that measures how well the party is doing overall: do well, and the party gets boosts to defense and attack; do poorly, and the party suffers.

If you're looking for a solid RPG, The Last Remnant will do just fine. I'ts soaked in the Japanese flavor of the genre, but that doesn't mean it's bad by any means. Pick it up!

72

Not a usual genre for PC, Good for fans of JRPGs.

literalage | May 28, 2013 | See all literalage's reviews »

This game preforms much better than its Xbox counterpart, and has had much needed patching. Had some issues with the port anyways, as i found it liked to crash and close without rhyme or reason. At its heart it is a fairly straight forward Japanese styled RPG, weird characters, cool Design elements and wonky reasoning all included. If your a fan of the genre your bound to find something you will like. Battles can be a little weirder to learn than your average JRPG styles. All in all, better than I had expected but not good enough to hold me to the end, but that said, doesn't mean I am not interested in finishing it.

94

A Great title For a Final Fantasy Fan

sonic_cloud | May 27, 2013 | See all sonic_cloud's reviews »

If you have ever enjoyed playing or even just watching any of the final fantasy games then this is the game for you. I have been a HUGE FAN of JRPG games and this is one game i will happily put on my top 10 games list.

75

Decent RPG

dracor1 | May 27, 2013 | See all dracor1's reviews »

This game has a bunch of great advantages and cool additions, but is also dragged down by a boring setting and zero replayability. To start off, the gameplay is more of a traditional turn-based combat. I myself am a fan of this system, but it can be a bit slow at times. Other than combat you are really walking around like any other RPG. The storyline is pretty good but nothing to write home about. It's pretty cliche and starts off slow, but has some nice character development throughout. The music is awesome (still one of Squares best qualities) and the voice acting is pretty good as well (for JRPGs). It seems the game was adjusted to better fit the english voices, something that is nice (and pretty rare).

67

Convoluted combat, very eastern story

rstokes | May 27, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

I simply could not get into this game, I enjoy Japanese RPGs as much as the next guy, but this game just falls short in so many ways. The music during boss fights is maddeningly repetitive, and the combat system is just flat out odd. Its a weird mix of RPG and strategy, direct, and indirect commands. If you dont mind your group going on auto pilot after a few vague commands and the inability to adapt quickly, you may enjoy this game.

70

Ehhh

yomegA | May 27, 2013 | See all yomegA's reviews »

First is first. THIS IS A TERRIBLE GAME IF YOU DON'T OWN A XBOX CONTROLLER FOR YOUR PC! Lucky for me I had one while playing this game and it was fine,but if you want to try this out on the keyboard....good luck. The game itself is alright. You have your classic Japanese story line and the game is pretty long. If your a fan of final fantasy you can click on this game. One huge thing about this game is that it will kick your butt left and right so grinding is key. Players love grinding while others hate it.

So if you love JRPGS check it out,BUT remember it's a terrible port. If your not into RPG games at all I say skip this game.

70

Decent RPG

ronburgundy | May 26, 2013 | See all ronburgundy's reviews »

This game does feature some cool concepts, and a good combat system, but it is very tactical and requires thought to do well in combat. The story is essentially useless, and the characters are annoying. Decent graphics with nice framerates bumps this game up a few points. The long-term idea of this game is what makes it nice. It has crafting, tons of side quests and so many more things to do to make this game last long, that is of course if you enjoy it. Just remember, it is a JRPG, you have to like the genre in order to enjoy this game.

86

Better than Final Fantasy Series

Numlock | May 26, 2013 | See all Numlock's reviews »

Ok I made my rewiew short why its better than FF.

1.Huge map 2.+ - 200 hours Gameplay with all Quests 3.hidden Quests 4.many Hero s 5.tactical fight 6.you create your own Army groups (buy soldiers) 7.huge arsenal of weapons and item 8.and Finaly a Great Story witch a Great English Speakers

Ok People there is One thing I have to say The begins like Assasins Creed 1.I mean slowly but Later you wish that this Game never end.

This Game runs better with NVIDIA Card. I`ve tested it on 2 PC wich one have a GTX 470 and the other with my favorite Card HD6990.

78

Nice game

nodiaque | May 26, 2013 | See all nodiaque's reviews »

I very much like the game, good old style RPG with a twist. Though some bug in it, it still a good game if you enjoy JRPG.

72

Good

hellinperson | May 26, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

The Last Remnant is a RPG game developed by Square Enix. It not the best RPG game out there, despite being developed by Square Enix. The combat system is repetitive, but large battles are fun. The loading times are slow and there's a lot of texture pop-in. Despite all that, the world is really nice and the music is epic. And so does the story.

82

Is a must have for JRPG fans

Lekes | May 25, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Deep and complex, almost overly so. There are a lot of things to enjoy about the battle system if you are a turn-based nut like me. At first it will seem overwhelming, but once you realize the flow it becomes second nature. The story is a bit weak and generic but not so much to detract from the game play. There are a few weaknesses in the combat system with the aggregate HP of unions allowing a whole union to be crippled by one particularly fierce attack on a weak member. The system seems a bit arbitrary at times but it's not a game-breaker.