Reviews for Tomb Raider: Anniversary

85

A great remake

Kveni | Nov. 11, 2014 | See all Kveni's reviews »

Anybody who enjoys a good Tomb Raider game will for sure enjoy this one too. This game gives gamers a great Tomb Raider experience, and has stood the test of time. This is a remake of the very first Tomb Raider game, and was honestly a very great remake. The gameplay (and graphics) were enhanced to be a very smooth and playable game, and all the puzzles and tombs to explore are still better than ever! If you're a Tomb Raider fan, or if you're new to the series, this is the game to play!

92

Very good remake

Obsessor | Oct. 21, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

What the title says - the game is remade in a very good way. It retains that oldschool feel of the original, while at the same time it is playable and enjoyable in 2014. If you want to know why this series is called Tomb Raider, and not "Stranded on an island" - play this remake, you won't regret it.

89

A great take on a revolutionary game

AkiMatti | April 8, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Anniversary is something I always thought would be bad because it was going to have these QTEs (Quick-Time-Events). I mean, none of those were in the original so why add them here?

After purchasing and actually playing the game, I noticed that yes, the QTEs were not a good addition but also, that it did not ruin the whole game. It does take some time to get used to the QTEs but once you get the hang of them they don't distract from the flowing gameplay too much. The focus is in the exploration of the unknown like in the original. The levels have been carefully redesigned so that they can be recognized but new variation and thought has been added into incorporating the new movement mechanics into the setting.

There are some amazing view and vistas to see and puzzles to solve. The places you will take Lara on this adventure give you butterflies in your stomach from time to time. The battles get pretty hard towards the end and you will likely die numerous times before getting forward but the feeling of satisfaction after that is just that much better.

Easily recommended for Lara fans, possible in the top three of all Tomb Raider games.

77

Good remake, short experience

rconstantinegmg | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all rconstantinegmg's reviews »

I have been a Tomb Raider fan since the beginning. I missed a few titles in the middle years somewhere, but have played all recent titles, though not in order.

Most recently, I picked this game up. It was weird, it being a remake, and me having an uncanny memory of game maps. Though 20ish years had passed, I found myself remembering where most of the puzzle pieces were found and how to solve the puzzles. It was definitely a deja vu experience.

Nevertheless, it was still fun and the story was decent. However, when compared to more recent games in this genre, like the Uncharted series on the PS3, the game feels like the target audience is very, very young; which is no doubt why they decided to reboot the series.

This game is also pretty short at about 15-20 hours, and it's only that long due to a few frustrating puzzle elements. What killed me most often was when I would have to jump-grapple-swing-jump (sometimes inline with the wall, others at 90 degrees to the wall). The controls on the PC just didn't seem made to do this especially well. I kept finding myself having to figure out which way the camera should point, mid-swing, in order for my jump to go the way I wanted. I didn't have this same kind of issue with the Prince of Persia games, nor in later Tomb Raider games.

Still, that's a small gripe and all in all, it was a fun run down a refreshed memory lane.

100

Great remake

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary faithfully recreated the brilliant game play and experience that the original Tomb Raider brought to to the table and it does it with style. The controls are now reinvented and feel great and the better engine allows for more graphical fidelity, more detailed environments and an overall better looking experience. In the game you are sent around the world to find all three parts of an artifact. This involves fighting with all manner of animals and creatures with your trusty pistols and traversing the challenging puzzles in the tombs. In short, if you like Tomb Raider 1 or are looking for a good start to the Tomb Raider franchise, get this game!

63

Back to basics

Speed4Runs | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Speed4Runs's reviews »

Tomb Raider Anniversary finally brings back all the best classic Tomb Raider elements and combines them with the new gameplay style featured in Legend. This is the best "new Tomb Raider" game. Why? Well, first of all, there are many levels, if compared to Legend and Underworld (although they're less if compared to the first Tomb Raider). Also, you have multiple weapons and you have big and small medkits. You can take a lot of them, and, of course, all ammos for all weapons. Although it's a remake of the first TR and as so it should feature very realistic, next-gen graphics, developers didn't care very much about them, infact this is still an old-gen game. Instead, they tried to focus more on abient and on gameplay, which makes of Anniversary an amazing game. There are still some critics about some gameplay elements which were present in Legend too, but this time they're not invasive at all. They just make the game better and funnier. You can find some secrets which can be medkits or ammo (although they're not listed as secrets) or they can be artifacts and relics.

Graphics + performance: 6

*Graphics: 6. If we look at them with an old-gen eye, then they're amazing. Some cool effects were introduced such as real DoF. Textures are AMAZING, really excellent quality, but shadows aren't many and their quality isn't that good. The problem with the graphics is that, since it's a 2007 game, I have to look at it as a next-gen game, or better, compare it with some 2007 next-gen game like Crysis. Well, then there's no comparision, because TRA graphics, in this case, are very bad.

*Performance: 6.25. Surprisingly, I found this game, which has better graphics, way smoother than old-gen Legend, with a lot of different computers. Very good.

Plot: 6.25

Very enjoyable and very interesting. Deep sometimes.

Gameplay: 6.5

VERY funny and nice. This is, after Angel of Darkness, the perfect combination between old style and new style.

Sound: 6.75

Very good and sometimes amazing soundtracks and dubbing.

Longevity: 6

It's way more longer than Legend and Underworld. Levels are long enough, and there are many of them.

Final score: 63 Very good. I recommend this to anyone.

85

Faithful Remake

phool | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

Tomb Raider: Anniversary (TRA) is faithful remake and superb update to the original classic. TRA brings the magic of the original game to a new generation with beautifully rendered environments as well as the Lara character model as well.

Each of the levels have been recreated to a standard associated with modern games yet remain faithful to the original. While the levels stay true to the original game, they have been updated to take advantage of Lara’s new skill set, such as the grappling hook, introduced in the game.

Unfortunately there are few things that let the game down a bit. Some annoying modern gameplay mechanics have been introduced, such as the need for button mashing if you need to grab hold of a ledge. Also some of the larger “boss” fights require you to do arbitrary things, which are never introduced at any point in the game, before you can inflict damage. The player is left to guess what is required (or to consult a walk through) in order to progress further. However, all of these are minor annoyances in comparison to everything the games does right.

89

Brings back some childhood memories

spycid | July 28, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

You might have grown up playing these Lara Croft games. Gameplay was a primary focus when graphics wasn't. Those days are truly missed when more emphasis were put on storyline also. It's a brilliant game with mind boggling puzzles, so what are you waiting for? Get it if you love Action Adventure games & obviously Lara Croft.

85

A new players perspective

Snotnarok | July 19, 2013 | See all Snotnarok's reviews »

I've only played Tomb Raider 2 back when that was new on the PSOne, while I remember it being good platformy fun I don't have a lot of experience with the TR series. Infact I've avoided it because of a lot of negativity that was around the series after the 3rd game. I decided to pick this up on sale because I'm a huge fan of games like Flashback:Quest for Identity, Uncharted, etc and I was very very pleasantly surprised with this title.

As an updated game you expect them to shove in modern mechanics like regenerating health or ammo stock piles. No, the game offers health packs, ammo where you find it as a reward as your pistols are infinite. The game runs smoothly and the mechanics offer more variables in platforming than seen in todays modern games like Uncharted, also routes are not always obvious which is nice instead of everything shining or being highlighted. The game is a splendid port with options varying from widescreen to nicer textures and PC specific visuals. The game is not Uncharted visually but it does look and move very nicely, as someone who's not been with the TR series I recommend this as a new player and fan of the series. Crystal Dynamics did a awesome job from where Core left off.

80

update of the original

britishlad | June 22, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

Tomb Raider has steadily grew into one of the most popular games in the world. With millions of copies sold for each game, why not remake the original? You play as sexy explorer, Lara Croft. You are sent around the world to retrieve all three parts of a legendary artifact, which a woman named Natla wants. From Greece to Egypt, Lara travels in full speed, climbing mountains and battling ferocious mythical beasts.

The controls are great and take no time to get used to. Lara can perform amazing acrobatic skills on poles, ledges and tightropes. A large trademark for the Tomb Raider series is the puzzles. Some puzzles are damn right frustrating, while others require the lightest thinking.

Tomb Raider Anniversary is a must have for any Tomb Raider fan or any old school remake fans. Highly recommended for fans and fans of the genre

84

Great Nostalgic feelings with this game!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

The only Tomb Raider games I've played before were 2 and 3, over 10 years ago. So for me Tomb Raider: Anniversary still felt like a fresh game. If you've played every Tomb Raider game there is perhaps your opinion would be different.

I liked playing it a lot. I enjoyed going through the levels, finding my way through the numerous platforming puzzles, and I didn't even feel sad the many times I died because the ragdoll physics in this game are kindof hilarious, where Lara will sometimes bounce off the ground, several feet into the air. I'm not big on physics but I don't think that's how it works.

The game offers very little outside of that though, there's just jumping, climbing and shooting things on occassion which is enough for me but that, along with sometimes unresponsive controls prevents me from rating it higher. Still, this game is very much worth playing and is a lot of fun, a nice change of pace from the pew pew pew FPS games I usually play.