Reviews for Hitman 2: Silent Assassin

80

A great sequel

Rinkashikimo | Oct. 28, 2014 | See all Rinkashikimo's reviews »

A great follow up to a great game, this is the second game in the Hitman franchise and it's a great upgrade when compared to the first one. It's still a trial & error game, with a great story line modeled by missions that are somehow connected to each other. The game suffered a huge upgrade, both in graphics and in gameplay. I first bought this game many years ago when it was still only available on CD but it stopped working over the years. When I first saw it on Steam I bought it without blinking (I bought the whole franchise to be honest because I simply love it).

78

Oldie but a goodie

KingTed | Oct. 6, 2014 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Agent 47 is back for new missions around the world.

Hitman 2 : Silent Assassin does what the franchise is known for and it does good. Most of the time, you have to infiltrate areas and kill one particular target. Of course, the more discrete you are, the higher score you get. And to accomplish your missions you have plenty of possibilities, weapons and tools.

That's the strength of Hitman : you are free to do as you like. Wanna storm inside the mansion and kill everyone? You can. Wanna get inside, disguised as a delivery man? You can too.

Graphics are good and controls are fine. The only problem with this game is that the A.I. isn't really smart most of the time or can randomly be kinda "supernatural" (Yeah right... So when I'm dressed like one of your generals I just can't run or move to fast because one of you will discover that I'm in fact a bald assassin? You, guards, are annoying... )

Another thing that is not quite as good as the rest of the game : some missions are just there to make you travel to your next target home/work/public area where he/she is. Those missions are not as fun as the assassination ones, essentially because of the A.I. and the more linear level design. And, frankly, 47 is no Sam Fisher or Solid Snake. Infiltrating a fortress in the mountain, guarded by ninjas equipped with night goggles, is really hard for him to do.

Hitman 2 is a fun game but with a few issues. Fortunately, latter games are better.

80

How to on pro murder

yngdr | Sept. 9, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

Hitman 2 SA brings to the table a robust open ended system. There is a freedom in how you play that is hard to beat. Open world, choice of style, and even what you use. Graphics are bit dated as it was made in '02, however, the game is still enjoyable and even playable. The sounds do the game justice as the dialogue is changed to where you are in relation to the missions. Controls are no longer clunky and perform how they should. A sale on this or the series is just icing on the cake.

17

Be a Murderer

AkiMatti | May 7, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Okay, first of all, as you can probably see from other reviews here, this game is pretty good at what it tries to achieve. I won't argue that.

But what I do argue with is the main point of the whole series. Being an assassin? Really? Could you somehow be more immoral? Well, maybe you could, but you don't have to be. This is murder in cold blood where you plan how you will take another persons life and probably end up killing many other people too. Morally outrageous. Would not recommend.

90

This is the game that made me fall in love with the series!

Shaheed_Jamal | April 16, 2014 | See all Shaheed_Jamal's reviews »

Hitman 2 is about the closest we will ever get to a proper cinematic experience for the franchise. Everything from the setting to the premise oozes character and purpose. It's also the game that brought attention from the mainstream critics who loved its authentic take on the professional killing business.

Graphics: 8

The art style is impressive, as you feel immersed in the many places you visit throughout the course of the game. From the cities of St. Petersburg, to the mountains of Japan, there's never a dull moment to be had. The graphics are ok for its time, with no aliasing to be seen in sight. the characters in the game all look convincing enough for a ps2 era game.

Sound: 10

The sound in this game is amazing, with Jesper Kyd putting out a phenomenal soundtrack that brings to life the various locations of the game. There are a whole range of sounds that convey suspense and action which puts the player on edge as he walks the line between being hidden and being exposed to his enemies. All in all, a commendable effort.

Gameplay: 7

The gameplay is good as there is no latency issue to be had with the game. The fibre-wire mechanic has been botched as it is almost impossible to stealth-kill someone with it.

Lifespan: 10

There's a hundred ways to finish each mission. This is the ultimate hitman simulator and you will feel like an accomplished hitman after mastering the levels in this game!

90

Great Game

Autocyclist | March 7, 2014 | See all Autocyclist's reviews »

A true classic, both in cult status and pushing the envelope of the stealth genre. Sneak your way through a huge variety of environments to take down your targets, or go all out with some duel pistols and a lot of attitude. Hitman 2 lets you garrotte, camouflage, snipe and poison seamlessly in an array of violence and stealth to please the whole family. Most definitely a game to play, and if you're a sucker for punishment, to master.

88

Classic

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This game is a classic of the Hitman series. Probably the best one, but it's hard to decide if this one or Blood Money is better. The mood of the game is what makes the game great. The stealth has improved from the first one, but it could still use work. If you don't like using stealth, then you still have the choice of just charging in and blazing every enemy that you see. This is a definite must have if you haven't played it yet. I would still buy this if I don't already have a copy because I want to replay it. Just writing this review makes me want to play it again that much more. I think I'll go play if after writing this review; if I can find the disc and install it again.

90

Probably the best in the series, besides Bloodmoney

ficha13 | Jan. 18, 2014 | See all ficha13's reviews »

Hitman 2 is an example of a excellent sequel. The first one had an interesting concept and was extremely fun for the time, but unfortunately hasn't aged well. The sequel takes all the elements that made first one amazing and fixed all the little quirks and bugs. Bigger environments, better weapons, improved sneaking, more, better and interesting ways to dispose of your targets and a whole load of fun. Add good voice acting, an interesting (albeit simple) story and great aesthetics and you have a really interesting game. It does have a bit of a learning curve, but it's not as punishing in other games and if you like, you can always go guns blazing if a level starts getting on your nerves

85

Smooth Criminal

lairdjaren | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all lairdjaren's reviews »

Hitman 2 offers something that a lot of stealth/assassin games really don't: freedom. We're not just talking about some pseudo-moral dichotomy that segregates stealth and going guns blazing. Rather, most missions will present you with a brief, often incomplete dossier, on the target's protection and then challenge you to figure out your own approach. There won't be quest markers... heck, you may not even know who you target is unless you can recall personal habits noted in the brief. Naturally, this can be frustrating. However, pulling off a hit grants a sense ownership over the gameplay that is often lacking in games that hold your hand.

Is Hitman 2 worth getting? Admittedly, the graphics are a bit dated. However, the setting still hold up quite well and while individual NPCs often have similar features they can still be easily distinguished by their classes/roles. The soundtrack is great too. Most of all, the gameplay expertly conveys the feel of being a smooth international assassin in a fun, challenging way.

90

Perfect for what it is.

abelegu2 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all abelegu2's reviews »

Just like the rest of the Hitman games (pre-Absolution), this game is a gem in the gaming world that you cannot miss. I've lost count of how many times I've played this game and I never get bored of it. It's an absolutely satisfying man-hunts-prey game, the weapons have just the perfect kick to them. It immerses you into the Hitman world and you choose to be your own Hitman. The fact that it allows you to go through the missions however you wish to approach it is even more amazing. There are countless ranks you can achieve at the end of each mission, and each mission has replayability value so you never get bored of going back to it trying to get a different rank! Get this game along with the rest of the Hitman games! You can't miss them!

90

Does justice to its predecessor!

manu981 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all manu981's reviews »

Requires a lot of patience. Similar to the first game, the missions are delivered to you via your trustworthy laptop. Each task given to you needs to be executed meticulously, or you die. One big change over the first game the addition of a save system. Based on the difficultly level you choose, a certain number of saves are allotted for each mission. Sometimes you'd find yourself lost on the large and lonely street maps.

77

Great fun

Jimmysil | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

I played this game for the first time when I was just a kid. I didn't care abouth stealt and higher score, I just went and shoot everybody who stood in my way. That's the most amazing thing about this game. It just let you to play it the way you want. For game this old it includes quite a big freedom and lots of fun.

86

Classy

darkyhbk | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Hitman Silent Assassin was the game which the first Hitman only aspired to be. It has stealth, it has action, and enough dramatic storyline to please fans of both genres alike. The story is maybe not the most unpredictable of plots, but it's good enough, with a few twists and turns to keep you going, and the missions are nicely linked. The graphics were great for the time, and the levels were varied enough, taking place in urban locations, snowy bases and such to give enough different and interesting places to practice your craft in. The sound is magnificent, with a fantastic soundtrack composed by Jesper Kyd, and some good work with the other effects and voices as well. The game can be played both guns-blazing, for which you have enough different weapons to be successful, yet you still need to plan your cover points before. Then there is the stealth play, which is incredibly varied and complex, offering you enough methods and items to take out your victims silently, or get dressed as one of the roaming NPCs and slip by. It's great fun and offers quite a bit of replayability. Well, at least more than half of the levels do. So, I recommend Silent Assassin as a starting point to the Hitman series. Skip the buggy and messy Codename 47 and get this one for some real entertaining couple of hours !

89

Silent Assassin, THE Hitman game!

DonVercetti | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

This is by far my most favorite Hitman game to this date. I don't know how many hours I've spend in this, if not my entire childhood. The complete freedom in your assassination missions are great and do add great replay value to a game that does have a clear storyline you have to follow. I've found myself playing this game quite recently aswell, so this is a real recommendation to those who are still doubting to get this!

93

A classic which is sinful to miss

spycid | July 27, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

If you love Hitman and have never played this, then you shouldn't call yourself a Hitman fan. It is a game which I have been playing since I was in school and still this game feels to be a timeless and ageless classic. The Original Assassin is truly revealed in this game.

80

Classic

iamkyo90 | July 22, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

A classic by now, the first hitman was undoubtedly one of the most difficult games ahead, the second, and not have the same difficulty. Does not make it bad game, continues the theme of Agent 47, his murders worldwide, stealth, the importance of costumes, not bad, especially when he gets to the Italian mafia. This is also a great game.

80

The Original Assassin!

Plasros | June 14, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This is a very solid game. I can only find 2 downsides. First, stealth is optional for a while. I just killed everyone in sight and beat the level with ease. I'm not sure if that's bad or good. Secondly, the controls are somewhat awkward, making trying to run forward turn into switching items if your fingers are in the wrong position. A truly enjoyable and atmospheric game that rivals anything on the market in 2009. Graphics may be a little dated now - but runs like a dream maxed out on modern vid-cards! Overall, this is a great game.

80

Oh man.

hett1138 | June 13, 2013 | See all hett1138's reviews »

When i was in middle school, i used to play the first level of hitman 2 all day... there were so many ways to approach it. always will be an amazing game, that got me into the series.

93

A Classic That's Aged Well

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Hitman 2 is one of the greatest stealth games of all time. Like the other Hitman games, you can go in guns blazing or get stealthy and blend in with the crowd and pretend like you're one of the enemy. There are many ways to finish a mission in Hitman 2. The maps are large with multiple entryways and exits. The gameplay is fun and challenging. The graphics are nice and the game sounds good. Highly recommended for any stealth fan.

85

Great Game

SeverinMK | June 2, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

As agent 47, you have a lot of missions all over the globe -- Sicily, St. Petersburg, Japan, Malaysia, Nuristan etc... It's not just one mission per zone either (about 20+ missions), the storyline is pretty good and the music by Jasper Kyd is really nice aswell. The missions are great and vary a lot and the different difficulty levels are all well thought out. Overall a great game, especially for fans of stealth games.

70

An improvement of Hitman

Chauci | June 1, 2013 | See all Chauci's reviews »

This time around there is a deeper story. The gameplay has been changed and is now leaning more towards the arcade side, the guns feels more unrealistic and the bullets does not behave like real bullets. The crosshair is often not pointing to where the bullets really hit and going rambo is now easier than ever due to the large health boost. Being detected is often easy, even though you are disguised, and the game does not always tell you excactly when you are about to be discovered and as such, it is near impossible to kill your enemies with anything but a silent shot to the head.

95

The best chapter of the series

Cavalieroscuro | May 25, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Hitman 2 is pretty much the same, good stealth game of Codename 47, with nice additions to gameplay. Now there is one checkpoint in the middle of the level (so if you fail or die, you must not replay the whole mission), there is a score system that push you to beat yourself, you can now switch between first and third person. This game, again, is a must, every Stealth game players should at least give it a try.