Reviews for Expeditions: Conquistador

81

The best of genre

Demilisz | March 25, 2014 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Imagine Heroes of Might and Magic with more tactical combat similar to Disciples and taking place during conquest of New World. That's Expedition - a great turn based strategy with exploration and challenging, tactical combat. Player must choose who he takes to new continent choosing among many individuals with different unique abilities. During our trip it would be necessary to find a food, produce medicaments and keep constant watch during night. Each person in group has his or her beliefs and goals, they are by no means simple puppets. If you want a great turn base strategy with RPG elements, buy this one.

85

An ambitious game that embodies the best of indie gaming

ajeremy | Feb. 1, 2014 | See all ajeremy's reviews »

There's a lot to admire about this game. It juggles a variety of different gameplay mechanics: tactical turn-based combat; King's Bounty / Heroes of Might and Magic - style overworld exploration; resource management; branching choose-your-own-adventure storylines; crafting; role-playing character leveling. What's most impressive is how effectively the game combines these disparate mechanics into a unified whole. The game doesn't feel like a bunch of game parts thrown together, it's a unified gameplay experience with each part modifying and working in sync with the other elements.

The setting is a welcome change of pace; the era is depicted with depth and sophistication. The player can actively participate in shaping the culture and politics of the regions. The game is not slavishly historically accurate; for instance, the player can include women as equal members of the expedition party. I found the departures were well-judged and added to the gameplay experience.

This game is a bit rough around the edges, as you'd expect from a small indie developer. The camera is optimized to give the player a feeling of exploration, with limited zooming and panning. This can create a constrained, claustrophobic feel, with trees and other landscape features sometimes obscuring the player's view. The graphics are serviceable rather than spectacular. I had to use the game's debugging console late in the game to finish a bugged side quest.

The GUI mostly does a good job of handling the various gameplay elements. I rarely found myself working against the interface, although juggling tasks in camp with a large expedition force can get a bit tedious. Performance and stability were fine on my ageing mid-range PC.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this game in spite of the occasional frustration. The game has enough creativity, ambition and risk-taking to put most AAA titles to shame. I highly recommend it to fans of role-playing games looking for a departure from generic swords-and-sorcery fare.

80

Surprising tacticac

lucasart | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all lucasart's reviews »

The project was born thanks to the phenomenon kickstarter , Conquistadores Expedition is a solid tactical reminiscent of the old titles such as Heroes of Might & Magic , with a major focus on the RPG . Technically, the title is not great , the movement on the map of the game is awful, with the telecamenra too limited that does not adequately cover the ground , not to mention that often the trees and obstacles impeding the view too . Managing your party is very interesting, in the end there is nothing so complicated but the fact that each member has different traits makes the choice of one's actions is important . Choices that are made through a dialog screen , the screen that also controls the various random events that will happen , events that, especially in the early stages initials , tend to be too punitive . The phases of combat are definitely the most interesting part of the game, reminiscent of the setting of the new x -com but with more tactical opportunities , not to mention the importance of the initial placement of the troops to victory .

91

Fantastic historical game

DaiMonPaul | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

Expeditions Conquistador is a game for which I had been waiting a long time. I love strategy-RPG games in the King's Bounty style, but most of them have been fantasy-based -- this is fine, of course, but it gets old after time. This game plays in a similar style, but its theme and setting are unique, and as someone who loves studying history, it's a welcome addition to my gaming library.

The game puts you in the shoes of a 16th century Spanish conquistador, gives you missions to accomplish, and lets you build your own party to best accomplish your goals. The game is fun, but it's challenging... supplies are tight, random events like diseases can come at any time, and if you don't manage your people correctly, some of them will cause trouble and mutiny against you. The turn-based battles aren't easy, either. The graphics look really good for an indie game, the story is excellent, and the game is a joy to play, giving you decisions to make which impact the narrative. There are a few bugs, and if you don't like strategy-RPGs or an historical setting in your games, this one won't change your mind. Overall, though, my experiences with Expeditions Conquistador have been fantastic, and I can highly recommend it.

89

Very immersive

DanielZo0 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

I've played the game for (too many) hours now- and that's the kind of game it is: highly immersive, fun and challenging. You get to KNOW your party, they have personalities and you get to like them and agonize when you loose them(or in some cases hate them and consider loosing them!). It is not perfect, no game is, but it is well thought out and well executed. And the setting is brilliant. Can we have an expansionpack please? "Visit" the Mayans perhaps?

77

Great take on the subject

michalmichal | July 30, 2013 | See all michalmichal's reviews »

In Expeditions: Conquistador you are replaying the explorations of America from the 16th century. The subject hasn't been covered too well so far and the game seems to be the best effort I know. It is a fine mix of a strategy and light RPG, reminding us of the Heroes of Might and Magic games. You know, you travel the world map, and get involved into some fights that are played in some more detail. There are some quests to accomplish and a decent storyline to follow. The game is turn-based, which is a very good change in the time of real time gameplay being the standard for strategy games.

You can also play multiplayer battles over the internet, which becomes very enjoyable if you battle against your friends instead of strangers. With graphics looking like in other current strategy games and gameplay reminding of the good old days when gaming was still fun, you're getting a fine mix that should satisfy both fans of the old HoMM games and people interested in the conquest of Americas.

70

Good game

britishlad | June 16, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

This game is one of those turn based games you don't see often anymore. Which makes it a an interesting expierence but it's not for everyone because this game requires patiences and thinking. How many games of this type gives you option to choose your party,manage your party,have elements like hunting,guarding has very good AI and in some cases it can be a bit to much challenging especially for casual players,but you can modify difficulty and even on normal (and most likely on easy) its very satisfying,my point is its very in-dept strategy game and it has wide range of options both for casual and old hardcore players who were dying hard for challenge.

Also you need to worry about random events like disease,you need to worry about supplies especially food,because you can't venture and explore without it and not raise rebellion among your followers and a lot more.

The story is pretty good and there are standard perks like leadership,tactic now every one of them including diplomacy is important,because depending on which you choose it will affect your character and at the end there is moral element in the game.

Graphics are nice for a turn based strategy game and it keeps a retro look and it still look like modern game.There are a lot of feature and they did very good job with tutorials and tooltips so with a little of reading and watching illustration you will learn mechanics and features in no time... Good game

70

Demonstration of force in RPG

KellinCore | June 15, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

With this new RPG demonstrate what is the strength in equipment, as experience is shared and tends to make me go alone much more complex. Here we encarcar the skin of a warrior of an expedition which for various reasons end up being an RPG with adventure and hours of fun guaranteed

80

Nice Game.

Plasros | June 9, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This game is one of those you don;t see in this age anymore.How many games of this type gives you option to choose your party,manage your party,have elements like hunting,guarding has very good AI and in some cases it can be a bit to much challenging especially for casual players,but you can modify difficulty and even on normal (and most likely on easy) its very satisfying,my point is its very in-dept strategy game and it has wide range of options both for casual and old hardcore players who were dying hard for challenge.Also you need to worry about random events like disease,you need to worry about supplies especially food,because you can't venture and explore without it and not raise rebellion among your followers and a lot more.Also story is pen 'n' paper but its written very well,its like reading good book,if you like books you will find yourself lost in very well dialogs,even if you are not fan of the books you will like it.Also there are standard perks like leadership,tactic now every one of them including diplomacy is important,because depending on which you choose it will affect your character and at the end there is moral element in the game.Graphics are nice,it keeps retro look and it still look like modern game.Music is very nice,first thing i usually do is turnoff sound in game and than launch my playlist,but not this time.There are a lot of feature and they did very good job with tutorials and tooltips so with a little of reading and watching illustration you will learn mechanics and features in no time,but will you master the game My only compliant is camera and world map.Now you can rotate camera to fit your angle,but it has limited line of sight and trees can get in the way.And world map is not detailed enough,most of the time i have to move my head really close to monitor to see patches even if i play on max resolution and compass is confusing,But you get use to it very fast so its not big deal but because of that i can't give this game 10.

90

Fun Game

SaburoSakai | June 5, 2013 | See all SaburoSakai's reviews »

Reminds me of some olden games like Conquest of the New World. However the fighting mechanics i wish had more variation. Also map variation is quite limited.

However that will not detract from my score. Why? Because this is a indie developed game and just the fact they executed this game successfully i am grateful. Its a fully functional turned based game on exploration. Sure there are limited parts here and there and also bugs as well. But its totally worth the money if you have any interest in the era or love the turn based style of gaming.

Truthfully you'll prolly have some trouble in the beginning, getting into fights you don't want to or poorly managing your rations and your people get pissed off and mutiny against you. But thats the beauty of the game haha you get some really random and sometimes humorous scenarios happen to you or a expedition member.

86

Very good

kalil | June 3, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Play great, very well worked. Sort of Heroes of Might and Magic, but in the conquest of America. Good story, great variety of interesting characters and battles. Totally recommended, a surprise the truth. A shame he was not more publicity. Oh, and in perfect Spanish. Come giving up shame that a game like that, with a proper Spanish history, with a study abroad, and collective financing, without aid or grants agencies