Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World

100

Fantastic Strategy ever!!

sokio | Jan. 17, 2014 | See all sokio's reviews »

Have you ever played any turn-based strategy games? This is the best one since I became a gamer.

From the idiom "Rome wasn't built in a day", It's not true after you play CIV5. Build Rome or other civilizations in 1 day (but I always spend 2 days in each games.), Conquer the world with nuke or "Gigantic Dead Robot" and Stealth bomber, Discover the ancient sites and collect artifacts, Meet the world greatest people such as L.Da Vinci, Sir Isaac Newton, Ludwig van Beethoven and many!!! Gather all wonders of the world and natural wonders in your cities.

Don't miss this and you will shout the sentence - Give me back my time!!!! - out after playing this greatest turn-based strategy games ever!

100

Complete Perfection!

iiilker99 | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all iiilker99's reviews »

Civilization V is not a good game , it is a perfect game but It lacked this expansion pack. Brave New World adds new mechanics and improves AI. Also game mechanics are so well balanced. Diplomacy is more important with World Congress. There is not any graphical improvements but It's a strategy game , who cares about graphics? All in all , if you like Civilization 5 and buy Brave New World , you won't want to play the game without this expansion anymore! This is a must-buy!

100

Best expansion in the series

MoNoTieace | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all MoNoTieace's reviews »

CIV V is the best turn-based city building/nation strategy game I've ever played. G&K balanced the game, and adding in the important aspect of the evolution of human civilization. With BNW, it makes CIV V a package complete game covering every aspects of human civilization. This makes the game more entertaining and increases the realism and depths in the game. If anyone is going to get civilization V, you MUST BUY BNW as it's the latest expansion that changes the whole game mechanics in CIV V.

90

To complete an epic game

Neonberry | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Brave New World is a very welcome addition for those who want to expand the late game possibilities of Civ V. It introduces trade, dramatically upgrades the world congress, changes the way you use Faith and the City States and radically reorganizes social policies by introducing Ideologies - besides bringing new civilizations, buildings and maps into the game. I saw a few threads on different forums asking which DLC should people buy, Gods and Kings or Brave New World, and I would say getting G&K without BNW makes much less sense than the other way around - so if you are determined to get only one then I would go with this (however I do own both and I would recommend to follow my example to anyone who likes the game). Now the only question that remains is what the third DLC will be? (hopefully Alpha Centaury or some cool stone age expansion)

90

Perfect Expansion.

Argentum | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Argentum's reviews »

Don't get me wrong Civ 5 is an amazing game, I've put nearing 400 hrs into it without breaking a sweat, but there has always been a half empty part that never fit with the might of Science and Warfare.

In my eyes this lacking was Culture. Bar nearing the Utopian victory I never felt a reason to go for the culture victory, it wasn't overly challenging and my path through never changed, but with the Brave New World expansion everything culture related changes.

The first major Culture change I noticed was the inclusion of Ideologies which are late game policies you can adopt at the dread or delight of your citizens these contain some of the most powerful end game rewards (like extra 2 happiness for luxuries) and the otherwise missing order tree from the previous games. The second and possibly most dramatic is Great Works (art, music, writings) these provide both Culture and Tourism to your civilisation. Tourism and Culture work together to gain you influence over the other civilisations, and the new aim of the culture victory is getting to a point where all other civilisations in the world are culturally influenced by you. So get your arts flowing and tourism high and you should see the support grow.

One final major change, that effects the entire game is Trade Routes - from the early ages (a tech unlocks it) you can trade using caravans, these nifty units work behind the scenes carrying out "missions" for 30 turns to get you Money, Science, Religion and Influence with other Civilisations, or if you turn them internally you can get a boost to food and production for your own cities.

Overall its a great addition to pad out the end game. 90%

85

Great expansion, nice new content

bills6693 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all bills6693's reviews »

This expansion adds some really good elements and really refines existing mechanics. Many of the newest additions are fun, and can add a lot of layers of play that didn't exist before. The diplomacy and relationships formed around the world congress is very engaging and interesting, and can really bring you close or drive you apart with existing allies.

While a few things could be better, most of them are easily fixed through steam workshop!

95

Better expansion than G&K for Civ V

EDP | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all EDP's reviews »

Civ V is a good game. Civ V with G&K is a better game. Civ V with BNW is a complete game.

BNW makes this game more complete than ever. Its game mechanics a now so well balanced (and will be better after some upcoming patches), that I don't want to play the game without BNW anymore! Combined with G&K and all the DLC the game is a vast library of the world's history (get this and the Gold edition) (or get the Civilization V package deal).

97

Improving Perfection

Vitrugo | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Vitrugo's reviews »

Since it was released in late 2010, Firaxis latest instalement in the Civilization series has been improving until it finally reached a point where its possible to say its the best turn based strategy game ever designed. First with Gods & Kings and the scenario packs introduced new units, buildings, wonders, religion and espionage, but now with Brave New Word comes so many new elements that enhance the gameplay experience (specialy in the late game) that its almost possible to consider it as a new game itself. Nine new Civilizations, eight Wonders, eight buildings, twenty units, two scenarios, new gameplay mechanics such as trade routes, ideologies, the World Congress, an improved Cultural Victory including Tourism and Archaeology. Playing Civilization V without this expansion will simply be impossible.

97

Amazing Expansion to an amazing game

Tkicker | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all Tkicker's reviews »

This expansion is really good. The diplomatic changes and the new cultural victory changes the endgame and all the suddenly it's probably the best part. Trade votes with other civs and wreck havoc with your culture

88

A great expansion!

illusiox | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all illusiox's reviews »

I think this is one of the better expansion packs out there since it basically adds more depth and features i thought were missing from the original vanilla game in to the game making it more stategic and there for more fun playing on your own or with other players.

92

Fantastic Expansion

bernieh | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all bernieh's reviews »

A great expansion to an already enthralling game, adds more ways to win, and more things to manage. Combined with the religion expansion, brings it back closer to the complexity of Civ 4.

92

Adds some much needed depth.

JilaX | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all JilaX's reviews »

While the early game was very strong in Civ5 and G&K, as the game progressed I'd find myself bored with the game and start a new one/go play another GSG. However. With Brave New World, there is so much extra depth added.

The fact that City States truly matter, Ideologies, Culture Victory, and World Congress makes a huge difference.

89

must have

Malukovich | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Malukovich's reviews »

i only started to play Civ 5 recently and thought it lacked a certain level of depth, after installing BNW that thought left my mind, BNW introduces a culture overhaul and the introduction to trade routes and world congress which vastly improve the game.

95

Finishing off an already great game

blofeld | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all blofeld's reviews »

Civ V is already a great game without the 2 expansions, but that is not to say they are not needed. Brave new world adds even more options to manage, especially in those late turns where things tend to cool down.

The way ideologies is redone is also great in my mind. It is now more fine tuned and makes it even more fun to tailor the options to your play style.

If you are a Civ fan, this expansion is a no brainer.

94

Must Buy.

TheOneRedDevil | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all TheOneRedDevil's reviews »

Brave New World adds several new expansive gameplay features that add to a game that has an incredible depth and addictive nature, it will continue to leave you saying...

"Just one more turn?"

95

Amazing expansion that fixes the flaws that Civ 5 once had.

thecamel55 | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all thecamel55's reviews »

Civ 5 and the first expansion were fantastic games on their own accord, but BNW takes this to another level and makes the late-game of Civ 5 that used to be so boring into an experience just as exciting as the rest of the game. Highly recommend for anyone who's interested in trying Civ 5, or is a fan of the series but didn't particularly like vanilla Civ 5, but did enjoy the older instalments.

95

Bettering an Amazing Game

Kevman | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Kevman's reviews »

I never thought I'd still be playing this game for so long - it's incredibly addictive and deep. This DLC adds more strategy in a good way - the world congress truly expands on the diplomatic side of the game, it's easy to grasp the new stuff but it'll require some manoeuvring secure victory. Brilliant, couldn't recommend it enough.

90

Best expansion yet.

Tewlen | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Tewlen's reviews »

Brave New World adds a couple of neat gameplay elements that make playing a peacefull ruler much more satisfying and strategic. The reworked social policies makes the endgame more thoughtfull.

This is a must for Civ players.

100

Civ 5 is finally good now

diqbudt | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all diqbudt's reviews »

Even when Gods & Kings came out, I still went back to Civ 4 and the mods which came for it. There was so much to work with when it came to modding Civ 4, as seen in the great fantasy mod Fall from Heaven, and I think this is why there are near to no good mods for Civ 5.

Hopefully, that is all about to change now. This DLC does not only add content to the game, but redesigns it from the ground up. Cultural warfare is now as important as military warfare, making the game feel fun and interesting even when playing as a non-aggressive civilization.

Building archeologists and searching the old city ruins where you crushed your enemies during the iron age, finding some relics from that time and then taking it back to your museum is really cool, especially since you can use that artifact to totally absorb the very empire you crushed 300 turns ago, this time by culture rather than fire.

The problem with Civ, for me at least, has always been that the future era is never fun. If you reach the future, you have probably already won. This is not so when playing Brave New World. Here, the war drags on long into the future, and with the new ideology system you get a more intense world of politics, where you can start your own "Axis of Evil" with your pals Montezuma and Gandhi, adherring to the proud ideology of facism.

This dlc is not optional, it is required.

92

Must-have expansion for regular Civ 5 players !

gaily | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all gaily's reviews »

Changes in that expansion are in my opinion more game-changing than those in Gods&Kings . Only disadvantage for me is more passive play of AI enemies .

93

Expanding an already expansive game

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Civ 5 was expansive to begin with. Then came Gods and Kings, adding to the hours of playtime I've racked up. And now, Brave New World exponentially increases that amount. New civilisations (including the Zulu: my long-time favourites from old installments in the series), buildings and scenarios make Civ 5 even more exciting than it was before.

100

Greatest expansion yet

Klionheart | July 30, 2013 | See all Klionheart's reviews »

Civ5 has really evolved a lot since its old days as a buggy resource hog. The base game was patched a lot during the first month, ending up as technically acceptable. Problem is, the game but still incredibly boring.

Then Gods&Kings came out, adding a wealth of content to the early parts of the game, and finally turning it into an enjoyable game. There was still a problem, though. Once you got around the Industrial age, the content rapidly diminished. Religions lost importance, wars became a chore, and any other option useless because barring those boring wars, the power balance was already set for the rest of the game. And the whole game became boring again.

Now, Brave New Worlds is out, and it wisely addresses these issues. And well! Most of the new content is for the late ages, adding more nuanced diplomacy with the world council, and a completely revised path to the Cultural victory that actually requires you to take an active role, by sending archeologists to explore ruins, and trading cultural artifacts. The expansion also adds long-awaited trade routes, which require some planning as they are limited.

Now you can finally play an entire game without inevitably getting bored! The game is finally complete, and while new expansion will be nice, they finally stopped being necessary to actually enjoy the game.

The bottom line: you can't miss this expansion. If you have Civ5, get it. Don't think about it :)

88

Fantastic Add on

Aussie_Gold | July 30, 2013 | See all Aussie_Gold's reviews »

This Dlc is more than meets the eye as not only does it add new civs but also rebalanced old content. Together with the already fantastic multiplayer you end up with fantastic online games and single player games were you can end up like Borris from the 007 series exclaiming " I am invincible" or you can grind you way up the ladder against brutal ai. This add on is a great addition and is highly recommended.

100

Civilization V made even more complete

mahon | July 30, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

If you thought Civilization V was complete already, you will be surprised with the new Brave New World expansion. It adds so much to the game that it outshines the Gods and Kings expansion. First of all it adds nine civilizations, including Zulus (remembered from earlier parts of Civilization), Poles, Brazilians and more. Then there are two new scenarios - American Civil War and Scramble for Africa. But these seem to be less important than further improvements to gameplay from new added concepts: cultural victory, international trade routes, ideologies and increased role of diplomacy. Then there are also nwe wonders, new leaders, new buildings, new national traits.

Nothing that you wouldn't expect from a perfect Civilization V expansion. So if you want to expand your Civilization V game, you might think that Gods and Kings made it a worthy rival for Civilization IV, but Brave New World makes it the best game in the series.

85

Great Expansion!

Plasros | July 27, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Brave New World does a lot to improve Civ V. Beyond the normal addition of civs, buildings and units, it completely revamps the cultural minigame (which was sorely in need of it), adds several new mechanics and fine tunes others. Trading is far more realistic and in depth, with you needing to initiate and guard trade caravans to get their benefits. Tourism is an interesting subcategory of culture. Religion has some minor changes, such as new policies and beliefs, while espionage adds diplomats, a sort-of spy that doesn't steal tech but can watch and influence your neighbors in other ways. All of it does an excellent job of bringing the different aspects of Civ into one complete package, where everything feels interesting, but nothing seems overpowered. The only (minor) issues I have with BNW is that it doesn't really address the inherent flaws of the AI, and a lot of the mechanics feel like they're designed for larger games with many players. If you play with 2-3 others you're probably going to miss out on some fun. So, the burning question on everyone's mind is whether or not Civ V now measures up to Civ IV: Beyond the Sword. I was pretty hard on Civ V at release, and G&K didn't really do much for me, but now, with all expansions, I can confidently say that Civ V lives up to it's predecessor.

85

Fun and addicting as always

Sigrut | July 27, 2013 | See all Sigrut's reviews »

Have you ever had a game you picked up and couldn't put down until you finished a match? Well get ready, cause playing CiV 5 is all about strategic turn by turn choice making, with tons of variables and alternate ways of winning. Enhanced now by the edition of Brave New World as seen above, with new features that will blow your mind.

If you're into strategy games and turn based combat with a flare for the intellectual game, then get yourself Civ 5 Gold Edition and this expansion as soon as possible, I guarantee you will NOT regret the choice at all!

90

You need that

Roob82 | July 27, 2013 | See all Roob82's reviews »

With this expansion you get a lot more things in civ V, getting the game to a more complex and all around experience. a bit confusing in the beginning. with Brave new world ultiplayer games get a lot longer, keep in mind. I think the best situation for this expansion is in private internet games with friends, you get a wonderful boardgame ,such as Twilight imperium.

95

Even More Civs!

effcps | July 25, 2013 | See all effcps's reviews »

Throwing even more civilizations into the mix, rebalancing previous content and adding even more layers to the previous material, Brave New World makes the game even more embroiling and addicting, breathing new life into the experience. With additional diplomatic options, overhauled cultural mechanics and new strategies to win, it may be possible to rule the world without ever waging war, or build a wealthy trading empire that will become the envy of the world. And if those silly wars continue to rage and diplomacy proves impossible, you can always introduce your unruly neighbors to your XCOM squads!

81

nice game

aaa123321 | July 19, 2013 | See all aaa123321's reviews »

Brave New World is the second expansion released for Civilization V and brought many game enhancing features such as revamping late game ideologies, adding in a new tourism feature and much more.

After playing this expansion I don't think I could go back to Gods & Kings ever again. There's just so many features that are perfectly integrated in to Civilization V.

95

Best Expansion for Civilization 5

linciuga | July 19, 2013 | See all linciuga's reviews »

Brave new world brings so much possibilities. This expansion shows what game was supposed to be when Civilization 5 was releasd . It improves AI we have improved Culture Victory know you mus put some effort to win culture victory not just adopt 5 full policies and build utopia building. Know you need to think how to improve your culture to get more tuorists which leads you to culture victory. Great new 8 civilizations and much more. If you are a fan of turned based strategy games this game is must have.

86

A must have Expansion

stueybabeh | July 18, 2013 | See all stueybabeh's reviews »

When I play CiV, I will not do so without Brave New World, it is that integral to the game and how it should have always worked. The changes it has made means that finally the winner isn't determined within the first 100 or so turns, and Empires that have previously reigned supreme over the globe can come toppling down due to the power of the senate, crushed by their own ideology. Removing gold from rivers has forced players into alliances, stopped the unneccessary destruction of city states, and ensure that the game remains fun and exciting the entire way through. Just when you think you have a handle on the world, the congress arrives and the diplomatic game begins. Master that, and suddenly you find your people no longer wish to follow your lead and long for an ideology of their own.

Truely an exception expansion, and a bench mark for other games in the series. CiV 6 may be a way off yet, but until then I'm more than happy with this excellent game.

90

Fantastic Expansion

GreenerGatsby | July 18, 2013 | See all GreenerGatsby's reviews »

Brave New World really makes the game feel like one. After clocking in hundreds of hours with the game, even before buying the first expansion Gods & Kings, I was afraid the new features wouldn't be enough to draw me in.

Luckily the team at Firaxis has proven whatever fears I had, wrong! BNW both adds new things into the mix, while also simplifying and streamlining a lot of complications with the game. The amount of new civilisations that comes with this expansion is also mind-boggling, leaving myself and other players spoilt for choice as each new addition enhances what the previous civilisations provided, but while new doesn't detract from what made the game great in the first place.

While the multiplayer still isn't the most optimal experience, the fact that Civilisations V is a PC/Mac game that provides a practically even hand for both platforms is testament to Firaxis and how much hard work they pour into every game. It says a lot that despite a few bugs, and some features which may be considered clunky, I'm still clocking in the hours every day, every week.

100

Huxley Would be Proud

cyrilsneer | July 16, 2013 | See all cyrilsneer's reviews »

A fantastic addition to the Civ game!! Adds even more levels of the games Tourism is really nice and well made. A cool part is being able to see the famous works of art you get! Multiplayer seems to be viable finally! we are currently 250 turns into our 6 player game with only disconnects and crashes due to peoples internet! buy it!!!

95

Barve New World Open New World !

nlatifolia | July 15, 2013 | See all nlatifolia's reviews »

This DLC really a must for Civ enthusiats, so far Civ V has tight competition against its own predecessor Civ IV regarding complexity and fun-ability (yeah I made it myself). With this pack, lover of Civ IV will have their memories back combined with powerful new inventions of Civ V.

90

Great Expansion!

eJonKou | July 14, 2013 | See all eJonKou's reviews »

Brave New World is the second expansion released for Civilization V and brought many game enhancing features such as revamping late game ideologies, adding in a new tourism feature and much more.

After playing this expansion I don't think I could go back to Gods & Kings ever again. There's just so many features that are perfectly integrated in to Civilization V.

93

Grand Strategy has never been this accessible yet great to play.

JasonAFC | July 14, 2013 | See all JasonAFC's reviews »

This title really rounds off the Civilisation 5 experience for me.

New additions to the game play have sucked me in even more than the last. For example, the way in which culture and tourism interact and the 'Culture wars' that subsequently take place between civilisations. Art, museums, music all make it feel like your civilisation feel more desirable and this is reflected in the gameplay mechanics. I felt these cultural victories were even more satisfying than a military conquest was.

The game is hours of fun (I've already sunk 12 hours into it in two days) Despite all it's great features and the numerous decisions it allows you to make, this game is also easy to pick up for new players, especially with all the tutorials similar to those in the last game. Varying difficulty levels and advanced settings also help you hone your strategy to perfection.

Graphics are excellent especially for a strategy game like this, the water texture is especially pleasing and realistic looking. The crashing issues some users experienced have also been solved it seems although there have been reports of a small graphical glitch (I have not noticed).

If you like Civ 5 then you shouldn't need me to tell you that you'll like this expansion and I do think it's worth the price tag.

NB: I base my ratings on a scale that encompasses a genre (in this case strategy).

90

Excellent

hellinperson | July 14, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World is the second expansion of Sid Meier's Civilization V. This expansion is great. It makes an excellent game even better! It updates the gameplay making it more balanced. And it includes new gameplay mechanics. Presentation is excellent, the new scenarios are awesome. The gameplay is magnific!

88

Great expansion

Demilisz | July 12, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Brave New World is another great addition to Civilization V. While it still lacks some feature (Health!) and money still has too much impact, the rest are very good. Especially touristic and new cultural victory condition associated with it and remodeled trading - this two things alone brings many new possibilities and depth to the game. Even Great Persons get a new life thanks to Artists that can make arts (boost our nation touristic value). And there is Venetia - one of new playable civs that has one and only one city through entire game. Leading this nation to glory is a very different experience than playing others.

All Civ fans that owns Civilization V - buy it instantly.

80

Adds a lot to the game

odren | July 12, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

Brave New World is a good expansion to the game more so than God and Kings was. it adds a lot more and improves a number of the systems that were in place. the ability to spread religion through trade routes finally makes a way for you to actually spread religion without using the units designed for that purpose. the new cultural and diplomatic victories make pursuing these goals more interesting and worth ones time. the reworking of the social policies is good and interesting. I recommend this expansion highly as it greatly improves Civilization 5