Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World (NA)

95

Why should I buy Civilization 5 Brave New World?

adrianching7 | June 9, 2014 | See all adrianching7's reviews »

Civilization V Brave New World adds so much more content and gameplay experience into the original base game. This DLC gives you more Civ's to play with which should be pretty obvious but the sheer amount of World wonders and normal wonders added is almost mind-blowing! A great feature that they included was the World Conference where laws can be passed down across all civ's like embargoing another nation or science funding etc. This DLC should definitely be in your library if you love this game and it will never be the same once you start using it!

90

Completes the Civ V experience

Dreceratops | April 11, 2014 | See all Dreceratops's reviews »

Civilization V: Brave New World adds things that were missing from the base game and its first expansion, Gods and Kings. This expansion adds new mechanics and balance tweaks that allow for more playstyles and victories. Though you can ignore the new culture system and still do fine, if you take the time to manage your artefacts and tourism, winning will become much more satisfying. The new trade routes and AI tweaks add a new emphasis to peace and diplomacy, but many of the new Civs added have a penchant for domination.

If you enjoyed Civilization V and its first expansion, Brave New World is a must-buy.

85

Amazing Game, Amazing Deal

jatnielc | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all jatnielc's reviews »

This game would keep you entertain for hours and it adds up more features to the already amazing Civilization franchise. The new Dlc its definitely worth its complete value since it changes the whole perspective of the game. Brave New World adds trade routes that greatly affect the world's economy and adds cultural and diplomatic victories which not only are fun and challenging to complete but a whole new game mode that would challenge the player's traditional strategy. I definitely recommend this expansion and at this price its a must-have

93

Culture is now my Favorite Victory

TCass29 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Brave New World adds the Cultural Victory option to Civ V which has to do with influence over other countries, great works of art, wonders, and great people. It's very challenging to produce more culture than other civilizations while still preparing an army to defend yourself should another civ try for a domination victory.

The addition of 9 new civilizations adds hours and hours of content and replayability because they all have unique traits and buildings that will change the way you play the game.

There are many other ideas and gameplay choices that this DLC adds and they're all great. Amazing DLC for a great game.

97

Amazing, what the base game should've been.

xAFBx | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

This is what the base game should've been. Way more features and everything, literally everything, is a lot more in-depth. Trade routes are fun and add a whole new economic system, and combined with the religion aspect can get pretty interesting. The new civs are amazing, Shoshone is probably my favorite since their special unit is awesome but kinda overpowered tbh. I really don't like the new cultural/tourism aspect but it's because I'm just not really used to it yet. This DLC is a must have, though. And if you're like me and usually just do Cultural or Domination victories, this will teach you how to calm yourself down and do a lot more things diplomatically.

95

Exactly how Civ 5 should be played

Venesect | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all Venesect's reviews »

Brave New World (BNW) adds a great amount of depth to Civ 5 that Gods and Kings just did not provide. It revamps nearly everything in game. It fixes the Culture system which previously could be overlooked in favor of easier ways to play the game. It adds in Tourism which can help bolster your country and help you get ahead in the newly added United Nations. The United Nations adds a lot of new features that make the early and late game way more enjoyable. It's a race to see if you can hold them and decide on what world wide laws to pass. Those are just a few of the things it improves on, not including the new Civs, the Policy overhaul, and features like Trade Routes.

83

Awesome, but complicated.

lacter543 | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all lacter543's reviews »

The game adds a new freshness to the old Civilization 5, introducing a brand new trading system and reformatting culture, to give it a new, more aggressive playstyle. Culture civilizations can no longer cower in one city and hope to win against the power of tourism. Sometimes, though , i find myself switching back to the old version in order to play a simpler version of the game, because Brave New World adds so much to the game that sometimes it can be tedious, especially if your computer is slow, and the AIs interact alot more with you. Overall, a very good expansion, but makes the game somewhat more tedious.

85

Gets me every time

bboy02701 | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all bboy02701's reviews »

Whenever a new expansion is released for civ 5, my interest always peaks, and I get pulled back into the game. This one is no exception to that rule, and is one of the best expansions I have played yet. The new tourism/cultural victory system adds a new way to mess with people, which I love, and the revamped diplomacy should make for an interesting play session.

92

Very well done

Matthew_Lumie | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all Matthew_Lumie's reviews »

Brave New World is perhaps the very Civilization V expansion pack Civ fans have been waiting for! It introduces a lot of new, cool, balancing mechanics especially later in the game. The World Congress is one of my favorite features, although I've already enjoyed it in Civ IV, I can happily say it's clearly been improved in V. The new civilizations are amazing, all of them are well done so I couldn't pick a favorite. It's even delectable fun to try Venice, because you ca see things from the point of view of a city state. Social Policies are now supplemented by Ideologies, and the whole game really stands out like never before.

98

Must Buy

Mehican | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all Mehican's reviews »

Before this expansion I always thought that the trade and economy of the game lacked, and I think this expansion really help improve that area. What makes this expansion a must have is the great addition of trading, culture and diplomacy, and really makes the game less about warfare which I found quite nice. The culture victory is fun and emphasises non-warfare playstyle. Another great addition is the American Civil War scenario, which has a specifically geared setup that differs from the game, which some may enjoy. To sum it up I think if you have Civiliation V you HAVE to get Brave New World, plus green man gaming is offering a great deal on it!

89

Renewed my interest in Civ 5

Swissgiant | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Swissgiant's reviews »

Civ 5's base game is fun, yet lacking any a lot of depth. After I got brave new world it opened up a lot of different, yet fun gameplay styles, such as going for a trading empire and controlling my enemies through the world congress.

93

Just Amazing

llApolloll | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all llApolloll's reviews »

This new DLC is by far the greatest expansion to ever be released on Civ 5. An endless amount of features have been added that make you want to play the game once again if you were previously bored with the regular version of the game. It does however differ from the previous expansions though. I felt as if this one was a lot harder to learn how to play, and play well. This is probably because so many new spectacular things have been added, and while it may be a little difficult to learn at first, it is very worth getting.

90

One of the best expansion packs I've ever played

monahanj1 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all monahanj1's reviews »

This is an absolutely fantastic expansion that adds a ton to the game. Completely new and highly challenging culture victory, culture is easier to come by, new ideology mechanic, archaeology, several new civs (as is always the case with civ expansions). Only problem with it right now is that warmongering penalties are far too harsh, but that is getting fixed in the upcoming patch.

There is a pretty sharp learning curve to the new mechanics, so it might be wise to knock the difficulty down a notch or two from what you're used to, while you get used to things.

90

Way better than vanilla civ 5

snipegunner | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all snipegunner's reviews »

Having play civ 5 when it was initially released. I was bored quick due to the simplicity and lack of features that were already present in civ 4. Civ 5 a brave new world has since added back in features from previous installments and more. The game play is a lot better than it was at launch and me and my friends are enjoying it a lot.

The only issue with civ 5 a brave new world is that the netcode is still somewhat of an issue. When playing late game with 4+ people, the game will just crash or desync. There were not many games we have finished with 4 + human players + ai.

97

Extended the life of civ 5 by a huge amount

nightassassin1 | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

Civ 5 was starting to lose its appeal after a lapse in time of dlc. The game itself was amazing, but after so long, like any other game, it lost its allure with most players, now this expansion adds so much and changes the way the game works in such a way it is nearly a brand new game. The price is high for a dlc, but how it makes it feel like a new game, it makes up for the price in every way. If you have civ 5, you have to have this with it or you will regret everything.

100

The United Nations makes me cry with joy

Hankhendrix | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Hankhendrix's reviews »

The General overview:

Civ 5 has only gotten better and better with each expansion they release. God and Kings is good, but Brave New World is spectacular. Amongst the many new buildings, military units, and technology trees, there as been a great expansion in regards to how you win via a culture victory or diplomatic victory, both of which are welcome modifications.

My favourite part: Diplomacy is fun. The introduction of voting within the United Nations has created a diplomatic victory that is desirable, but has also spiced up general play. Through the voting process you can crush other Civs, and have a good laugh about how bloody evil you are. There is nothing like placing a trade embargo on a non-belligerent enemy or a belligerent enemy. Enfranchising your Civ and disenfranchising through voting in World Congress makes for a delicious way to boost your own Civ without having to lift a finger.

Brave New World is a quality game. I highly recommend that if you are on the fence about buying the game, you should check out the mechanics of diplomacy, there are bloody delightful. For a turn based strategy game with a Civ mindset, you couldn't ask for anything more.

95

Best expansion yet

relaximadoctor | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all relaximadoctor's reviews »

This is by far the best expansion released for Civ 5. Sure it's only the second but it adds in many features. The added american civil war scenario was a little lackluster but even at that it was fun

95

Brave New World makes a great game even better

rsand27 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all rsand27's reviews »

Awesome! Brave New World makes it even better! Nuff said!

Fun, varied gameplay. Brave New World puts new life into the back half of the game, as well as significantly increasing choices in the early game, making you rethink old strategies. Good graphics. Large variety of leaders to choose from. Easily sucks you in for hours at a time. Options to micro-manage turn by turn or you can "queue" construction projects to automate the process for a while. Great variety of map types and sizes, buildings, units, and play styles.

It does have a bit of a learning curve though, especially with all the new content. And the games run very long. AI isn't always that great. The computer players don't like to do reasonable trades such as "Open Borders" when there has been no history of hostility between you and them, for example. At higher difficulty settings, the computer seems to go with an everybody hates you from the start" approach that can be frustrating sometimes.

90

Great Expansion

ImaPwntYaFace2 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all ImaPwntYaFace2's reviews »

This is a must for all Civilization V fans. It adds a couple of very fun civilizations. The new features as the senate votes, commercial roads and spy are awesome. The 30 bucks seem a little high for an expansion, but when you played enough time on the original, you want more and this is the way to go.

90 for the awesome content. -10 for the price

91

Pretty fun.

Worgenite | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Worgenite's reviews »

Bought this recently and it's pretty fun so far. It changes up the gameplay quite a bit and I recommend anyone who is a fan of Civilization to get it.

95

Can't Stop Playing

phalanxx94 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all phalanxx94's reviews »

With the addition of Brave New World, Civilization V becomes even harder to stop clicking that next turn button into the wee hours of the night. Lots of new features have been added such as 9 new civs, 8 new wonders, and a revamped culture victory condition. The new culture victory adds much more involvement to spice up late game, having been very well thought up. This new victory condition can take awhile to get accustomed to, but certainly is worth it in the end. This expansion should be a definite buy to anyone who own Civilization V.

97

Another great addition in a long line of great work

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

They've done it again. If you thought that gods and kings couldn't be beat, there is brave new world. This is DLC done right. As if you didn't need more reasons to spend hours and hours in Civ 5, brave new world adds some great military options. This was especially appealing to me as it seems no matter what my intentions going into a Civ 5 game, i end up going with military strength. This DLC is also especially refreshing for anyone who has put a lot of time into civ 5 and is feeling a bit jaded with it. It will renew your interest!

96

Changes up the base game enough to warrent a purchase.

kakashinomi | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all kakashinomi's reviews »

Civilization V was already an extensive game thanks to the Gods and Kings add on, but Brave New World takes it a step further. With the implementation of systems like tourism, adjusted religion, and nine more Civs to play with, this is an expansion pack you don't want to miss.

90

Civ 5.5 essentially

Fanaticmoron | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all Fanaticmoron's reviews »

The additions and tweaks included in this expansion make Civ V feel like a whole new game. The addition of international trade routes doesn't feel like a game changer in the early game, but as the game goes on they become integral to your economy and relations. Cultural victories have been tweaked for the better. Whereas vanilla Civ simply has you accruing points and policies, Brave New World uses a more involving and deep system utilizing new great people and Tourism generating great works. The World Congress greatly increases the importance of city-state allies and gives diplomatic players a reason to make allies before the UN vote. The result of all of these changes is a game which feels much more realistic and deep. The only negative I can think of is how many more hours of Civ you'll be playing with this expansion.

90

Amazing Expansion pack

dumbbum | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all dumbbum's reviews »

I honestly thought that Civ 5 was poor. Gods and Kings proved me wrong and now this expansion has catapulted it to Civ 4 levels of fun and creativity. A must get!

95

Got Civ V? Get this.

crankafoo | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all crankafoo's reviews »

Civilization was definitely a complete game, but when you purchase the BNW expansion, you'll be wondering how you played without it. With even more civilizations and the fantastic additions to the policy and culture systems, it feels like a brand new game. The new civs are a blast to play with their own advantages that make them stand out in the already crowded selection. You'll be trying new things every game and generally be rewarded for it. This is what every game developer should strive to add/change in their DLC. Been on the fence about this? Don't be; just buy it, you won't regret it.

95

Will keep you addicted.

klink77 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all klink77's reviews »

Civilization games are some of the most engrossing and time consuming strategy games around. Once you start a scenario, it's hard to put it down. Brave New World is a fine addition to the many iterations of Civilization. It brings with it much improved late-game systems, that adds a lot of depth to your decision-making.

For those that enjoy the strategic combat more than city-building aspects; the American Civil War scenario, included with Brave New World, is a great addition. It focuses on building military units and capturing objectives with those units in a limited time.

My only complaint is that you need to own Civilization 5 in order to play this expansion. I think this could easily be a standalone game that included the base game as well.

96

Great Addition

Sharpshot94549 | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all Sharpshot94549's reviews »

The new elements are not really introduced until close to the end stages of development (industrial age), but this dlc makes the game oh so much more intricate and detailed as you advance towards the information age (as it should be). Also introduces some unique new civilizations, in particular the Venetians, which put a whole new spin on playing the game, and in the future more civilizations should be as unique as them.

86

Solid improvements make for a polished game

ikamuzu | July 30, 2013 | See all ikamuzu's reviews »

Brave New World takes up where Gods & Kings left off by adding a number of needed improvements to an already very good game. Notable changes include all new conditions for a cultural victory and the introduction of trade routes, all of which are of course complimented by 9 all new Civilizations to play as and numerous improvements to some of the older Civs.

There is a misfire or two, particularly in the new method for diplomatic victory. The World Congress feels either an inevitable win or or an insurmountable defeat. A number of exploits used to play on the higher difficulty levels have remained (namely a method involving the stealing of a worker from a City-State in the early game), though much as been done to smooth out these issues, including making it much harder to generate cold hard cash in the early game.

All in all, this expansion is a marked improvement over both the Vanilla and Gods & Kings expansions. I am very excited to see what comes next.

88

Another great expansion added to one of the best strategy game

lok0812 | July 30, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This expansion adds a vast variety of elements to Civ 5 giving it a fresh feel to a 2 years old game. One major aspect is the trade route that you can generate money off of with it but at the same time influence other civilizations who interacted with your trade. With that, a number of civilizations are introduced along with this expansion making it a huge elements to the game. The scenarios are back as well that are similar to the scenarios DLCs for the game. This is a must have expansion for the game as it breathes new life into the game and increase its already great replayability.

96

Best Civ Game Since Civ 3!

crazygrouptrio | July 28, 2013 | See all crazygrouptrio's reviews »

I was a huge player of Civilization 3 and its expansions. It has its flaws, but for the time it was pretty amazing (enough that I ignored the release of Civ 4 and kept playing 3). But with the release of this expansion Civ 5 is simply fantastic. The game is incredibly well balanced and interesting from beginning to end. It's much better to play with friends, but for single players the AI is drastically improved from previous Civ games. The expansion really refines the Civ 5 core game to make this great. I recommend it to anyone who likes the Civ series or world strategy games.

95

Top Notch

shauun5 | July 28, 2013 | See all shauun5's reviews »

Fixed a lot of problems while only leaving a few behind. Top notch DLC

98

It's like playing an entirely new game!

borgiswa | July 26, 2013 | See all borgiswa's reviews »

Civilization is a game that me and a group of friends always get together and play, so we had to throw a LAN party to celebrate the release of BNW. Immediately, we noticed that the game was much more held together and vastly improved. The new civilizations were welcome, and the new addition of trade routes and the new cultural aspects gave the game a very welcome change.

If you own Civilization V (with or without G&K), this is a must-buy.

90

More Excellence

Magmaros | July 25, 2013 | See all Magmaros's reviews »

If you enjoy Civ V but want more of everything that they give you, I highly recommend this, the new culture and tourism features give you an enjoyable way to conquer the world, while the new trade features speed up play.

Recommeneded.

90

Incredible expansion for an incredible game.

nervexjflash | July 24, 2013 | See all nervexjflash's reviews »

Civ 5 is probably one of the most brilliant games in its series and its genre. I sink hours upon hours into this game.

92

This what Civ V was meant to be

cptmorgan85 | July 23, 2013 | See all cptmorgan85's reviews »

Brave New World takes what was great about the base game, and improves on it. Having been away from the game for a while, I once again found hours melting away as I got lost playing around with my new civilizations.

For me, the improved culture and added tourism has finally made a culture victory worth striving for. The new archaeology and and great works are welcome additions to this.

With the new World Congress, world diplomacy is a serious factor to the end game content. The AI can still be a little funny, but there is a marked improvement.

Brave New World is a must have for Civ V. I would only reccomend holding off on it if you are new to the Civ franchise, and have not played the base game to get your feet wet. But if youre afraid to dive right in, you certainly won't regret it.

93

What an improvement!

Halt | July 23, 2013 | See all Halt's reviews »

The trade routes and the options to make more money, much faster is fantastic.

Tourism is excellent as well. It's pretty challenging as far as some of the other wins you're able to do.

Overall, this DLC made it feel much more balanced, although the AI's are a little less aggressive. :/

87

Improvement!

shaolinmnk | July 21, 2013 | See all shaolinmnk's reviews »

The new DLC adds new life into the game for sure. But after playing conversion mods and then playing Vanilla BNW, it's an improvement but not comparable. Once the modding community catches up with the new DLC, it will be a huge improvement to gameplay.

High hopes for this DLC and this game. Vanilla AI is still somewhat lacking, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

100

Instant key

sandman02 | July 19, 2013 | See all sandman02's reviews »

Steam key was immediately in my inbox after completing purchase. Quick and easy.

95

Best expansion pack for civ

EndPrime | July 18, 2013 | See all EndPrime's reviews »

There's something for every play style, whether it be expansionist, cultural/scientific or balanced. Brings much need rework of culture and adds many new interesting features such as international trade routes, tourism, and the world congress. Gameplay is dramatically changed working with the G&K expansion to make an awesome gameplay. More importantly it makes end game interesting rather than click and wait for builders or massive war for expansionists.

Cultural victory feels real and is complex rather than achieved via very simple means. Also, Zulu is crazy overpowered for the bloodthirsty player.

90

Must have for anybody that enjoys the base game

Scorpy | July 16, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Brave New World takes everything Civ V and Gods and Kings did and improves it doubly. Espionage can now be less hostile, the World Congress provides a lot of much-needed AI interaction, an even the online system has been improved somewhat.

As usual Civ V's presentation is flawless, but the additions never seem to end with this game. If anybody had problems with late-game being boring and monotonous, this will fix all of that. If anything, with Brave New World you look forward to late-game the most. It really feels like you and the AI are indeed just a bunch of civilizations on earth, both fighting against and with each other to be the best civilization.

This is a must-buy for anybody who likes Civ V. Warning: this expansion contains all the content from Gods and Kings, so it's useless to buy both! Some of my friends have made that mistake.

85

Great improvement to end game.

sittinghawk10 | July 15, 2013 | See all sittinghawk10's reviews »

I love Civ 5, but before this expansion pack, I got sick of endgame and would just abandon a game. Brave New World makes it a good bit more fun.

There are 9 new civs with very interesting abilities, units, improvements, and buildings. I've only played with Brazil, Venice, and the Shoshone so far, but they showcase a lot of the new things BNW added.

Culture and Social policies have been revamped for the better and Wonders have also been tweaked and moved around in the Tech tree making a bit more sense to me.

I highly recommend if you were a fan of Gods and Kings.

90

Must have

Pr1mus | July 9, 2013 | See all Pr1mus's reviews »

Brave New World complements Civilization V and Gods & Kings by greatly expanding the economic and diplomatic side of things with the addition of trade routes and the world congress and completely revamps the Cultural Victory.

A Cultural Victory now actually feels like one. Instead of maintaining a small, isolated empire and trying your best to avoid attention to yourself it now forces you to explore, expand and share your culture with others to influence theirs. This is what the Cultural Victory should have been from the start.

Trade routes allow you to make money of course, but also spread your culture and religion to other civilizations and even supplement your own cities. In the past building a city in a strategic but unfortunately isolated location with few resources was difficult at best. Your city wouldn't grow and be easy to capture. Now you can send food to cities you own that need it, helping them grow quickly.

The World Congress and the resolutions you can adopt continue what the Espionage system of Gods & Kings did in making diplomacy more dynamic and interesting.

More civilizations, more units, more diplomatic and cultural options. Do not miss this expansion if you have any interest in Civilization V.