Reviews for Knights of Pen & Paper: +1 Edition

90

Witty and entertaining

smajor92 | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all smajor92's reviews »

This is a great indie rpg to not be missed, it brings together pop culture references, fun combat, interesting and unique story and a realistic feeling game of D&D. If you love turn based RPG's then I seriously recommend this to you!

88

DnD sort of Experience

drakso | Dec. 18, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

A small treat for all the DnD fans out there, and for all the common folks out there, its a simulation of an RPG board game basically. You roll dice for pretty much everything, access to everything can be found at the dungeon master and there are even 5 seats witch your characters are sitting in trough out the game. The art style and music are very well suited for the game. You might want to give it a chance because once you get a handle of it you are gonna spend a lot of time enjoying your self. The game also has many gaming references and a nice sense of humor. For that price its really an awesome experience.

100

Best game I have possibly ever played!

friendbear | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all friendbear's reviews »

This game is absolutly amazing. if you are a HUGE RPG game, you would totally want to get this. And when you get this, you wont regret your descision on getting it. The graphics are amazing, the sound and music in the game is cool too. I have enjoyed this game very very much. And now that its out on mobile, I can play it anywhere! I love this game! However, there is only one con to this. You must space out your time on this. You cant play 100 hours all at the same time. If you are to do that, it would ruin the whole game for you. 100/100!

81

Fun Game for RPG Fans.

big2dot | July 28, 2013 | See all big2dot's reviews »

Let me start by saying that I never played any D&D back in the day so I went into this game being a fan of a different type of RPG. As such I can't speak for it's D&D merits but I can say that it is a fun RPG that will provide much more enjoyment than the asking price might suggest.

The game lets you tailor fights to fit your needs. You select from different types of enemies and you can select the number of each you fight which grants you greater challenge and greater reward. As you complete certain quests you unlock new playable races and classes which have unique abilities and passives, you earn gold that can be spent on items and upgrades to your game masters room which alters your stats in the field.

The game can turn to a bit of a grind at times but nothing too bad. If you think the game sounds like fun to you then more than likely you'll like it and should give it a shot

73

Cute and Fun but not much Replay Value

rolliejoe | July 18, 2013 | See all rolliejoe's reviews »

I had a blast with this game the first time through, even made me laugh a few times. Definitely worth a play through, but after you've completed the game there isn't much incentive to go through it again. I got my $10 worth though, so I'm happy.

85

Great game

scorp200 | July 11, 2013 | See all scorp200's reviews »

I bought it for my android device, and I had fun for hours. Unlike other turn base RPG The game lets you set up your own battles and quests. Which gives a refreshing gameplay. It uses waiting time for upgrading and such but it does not interfere with the game, while waiting you can still kill as many monsters as you want and level up.

This game is recommended to anyone who like RPG and turn base games.

75

Not expected

wire306 | July 5, 2013 | See all wire306's reviews »

I bought this game on a whim and found it to be quite enjoyable, being a big fan of dungeons and dragons I found it to be very enjoyable. The 2D graphics and art style just add to the atmosphere and it is a generally well rounded game!

85

An RPG worth some time

crazyone547 | July 2, 2013 | See all crazyone547's reviews »

Heroes of Pen and Paper or KOPP for short, is a game that's a throwback to the original RPG styled games, say final fantasy or something like that. Not only that but it's also a game which has it's roots a long the lines of DnD.

The games similar in a way that very much goes from just being an average RPG to auctually being more of a tribute while also having a bit of a parody going.

It's what you would expect from a turnbased RPG except that your both the Dungeon Master and the players, however this only means that you can control how many monsters you are fighting at a time which in itself is fine.

Now it is a turnbased RPG however the difference is, you have to choose both class but also person to play in the game, each person is like a character too however they give a passive bonus for themselves.

In the end KOPP is like DnD if it were ever to be written into a game formula that adopts the tabletop game with lot's of different nods and tributes to various video games and pop cultures throughout it's length, so are you ready to jump in and be the party that shall save KOPP? Including having a large number of ideas in it that seems pretty good for the genre.

However it can grow a bit stale since most of the game is based around killing things and grinding gold.

93

This game has no right being this fantastic!

Azure_Fang | July 1, 2013 | See all Azure_Fang's reviews »

Simply put, you take control of a casual pen and paper gaming table, building the players, setting battle difficulty on the fly, and even buying snacks, decorations or even new Game Masters to give your players bonuses during the game. Any pen and paper player will identify with the table banter and "purposefully lazy" descriptive style, while any player will find a cultural, gaming, or life reference to get a laugh or two out of. unlocks in one playthrough carry over to subsequent runs, giving more player creation options, or even alleviate the "gold crunch" felt in many games with per run features. Definitely worth face price, and a "you can't pass this up" if on sale.

82

Fun

captainstark | June 30, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

A fun little rpg that will keep you entertained for hours, buy this if you are a fan of rpg games as this is a must have rpg. Graphics are charming and story is great.

75

Hmm, better then I expected.

drafek | June 24, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is better then I expected, The gameplay is fun,and easy to learn. The concept is really good! THe graphics are good, for a 2D game that is. The audio is good, could be better but it's good. The story isn't interested, I had expected more.

90

An RPG within an RPG!

ctp94wakko | June 24, 2013 | See all ctp94wakko's reviews »

Well this is awkward, but oh so GOOD! When was the last time you got to play and RPG whose characters within that RPG are themselves playing an RPG. A strange concept, but executed beautifully. Knights of Pen & Paper takes you on a journey that reminds you of the good old gaming days. The combat system is that of any old school RPG turn based game, but that's a good thing. The beauty in this game comes from the variety in customization. The ability to customize what your characters level up in is great. The ability to decorate your hub (home base) with furniture that actually enhances your characters is a well thought idea, and simply having the option to play as a nerd, the pizza guy, a wolf-like creature or even an alien is superb. You can have up to five characters to play with and when given enough coin you can even choose who your quest giver is. Who wouldn't love to have Master Splinter as their mentor?! The art style is simple, but effective, and for what this game is and brings to the player, I cannot argue with the asking price for it is a small, but very bright gem that shines more than others. Definitely a worth try, hopefully a buy!

81

Brings Back Fond Memories!

Plasros | June 22, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

The charm of this pixel adventure won me over fast. While it is a brilliant idea to stage it like a theatre with the party sitting at the table with the dungeon master, the role-playing reminds of the good ole days.

90

Yes!

caspica | June 22, 2013 | See all caspica's reviews »

Knights of Pen and Paper is an old school game with humour about a group of persons playing character's in a game of DnD. With its pixelated graphics this game will charm you to death. Gameplay-wise there's nothing to complain about. Actually I was surprised by how fun it actually is. Basically, it has all the ingredients for a fantastic RPG. I would recommend this to anyone interested in DnD or DnD-esque games.

At last we finally have another DnD-inspired game. Sadly there have been too few of these lately. Knights of Pen and Paper do know, however, how to reinvigorate a genre and hopefully entice other studios to make their renditions of other tabletop RPGs.