Reviews for Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army

75

Good fun with friends but a little repetitive.

StealthFerret | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all StealthFerret's reviews »

(I'll say that firstly I loved Sniper Elite V2, so I had moderate hopes for this title too!)

Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army is a gothic/horror spin on Sniper Elite V2, featuring hordes of the undead and supernatural. You'll encounter standard zombies, special zombies (brute, sniper and speedy) and various monsters such as the 'ever-so-annoying fire creatures'.

The shooting mechanics are just like Sniper Elite V2's, with the performance being just as good too! Your character is still controlled in exactly the same way, no significant changes have been made.

Visual-wise, the characters and world/levels are still highly detailed like Sniper Elite V2's, apart from this time many of the levels have been laid out and altered to appear more Arena-like. This can be a negative at times because the sniping mechanics become less effective at close range. Like the predecessor, the close-range weapons still fail to 'pack a punch' meaning you'll find yourself spraying bullets everywhere every-so-often.

Apart from the changes to the lighting, enemies (& AI) and some new weapons added, the game is still very similar to its predecessor. The Slow-motion, X-ray bullet cams are still there but because the zombies are 'rotting', the textures for the organs and bones have been changed to look more rotten and decaying. These new textures unfortunately don't look as great as the originals, which means I found the perfectly shots I'd taken a little less satisfying (This isn't a big issue though).

All in all, a solid co-operative game. If you liked Sniper Elite V2, then this game is like a co-op single-player from that game, only with zombies and horror. It hasn't revolutionized the series, but it's a fairly good game nevertheless!

80

BOOM HEADSHOT!!!

csveloz | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all csveloz's reviews »

That's what you will be saying every time you land a headshot and the awesome X-Ray, slow mo, bullet cam lets you see the bullet penetrate the skull of each zombie with mesmerizing beauty! This is basically a shooting range on steroids and I love it. Sometimes you just need some mindless fun and it only gets better when you add friends to the mix. When I purchased this game I had just made the switch to PC and this helped me tune my aim with the mouse and keyboard. I only paid about $10 for this game and it has given me numerous hours of entertainment. So if you are on the fence about this game stop being a cheap SOB and buy this already!

74

Fun if you bring some friends along

Alcatraz_Inmate | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Alcatraz_Inmate's reviews »

So let me start off this review by saying I have played it solo as well as in co-op, and I have to say that co-op is immensely more entertaining. The game itself is an above average zombie shooter with some unique ideas and mechanics implemented here and there such as a sniping zombie that hops from one building to another or a heavy gunner zombie as well as the kamikaze zombie that explodes in proximity to you. These things are interesting twists that do somewhat set it apart from other zombie shooters but some of the mechanics are integrated poorly and that makes the game feel tedious at times. Like I said if you do choose to play this, make sure to bring a friend and it will result in a much more enjoyable experience.

85

Intense Spooky Fun Game

Highlander9782 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

This game is great to play with 4 player co-op, the music gives a great scary atmosphere for the levels as well. Graphics are very good and the slo-mo sniper cam is badass fun to watch. I wish they had more levels but for this price it's well worth it.

80

Exceeded my expectations,glad I purchased it!

GeckoCox | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all GeckoCox's reviews »

Good fun! Standalone from Sniper Elite 2,has bullet cam which can be toggled for less/more frequency or off all together. Nice graphics with eerie,war-torn surroundings. Uses the same sort of system as online co-op games like Left For Dead 2,fight through hordes of different types of zombies (with bosses) until you get to a safehouse and resupply...can also be played single player. There are collectibles like gold to be found throughout. There is no realism to the sniper rifles like bullet trajectory etc.,just point and shoot but you get other various weapon's too like assault rifles,shotgun's,pistol's and explosives. No stealth either as some might have expected,It's more fast paced gameplay. Delivered more than I expected,definitely worth a purchase.

86

Great with friends!

08woodh1 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

The Fuhrer has opened the gates of hell to allow hordes of the undead do his bidding against the rest of the world! Face off against the army of hell with up to three players and complete numerous checkpoints to finally getting an escape away from the minions of the Devil. Nazi Zombie Army has a great co-op experience, but the single player feels impossible to say the least. I would recommend that you get this game, but only if you have friends who have it to play it with. This game satisfies your every need as a gamer: blood, killcams, slow-mo, swearing, heart-in-mouth action and dismembered corpses. If you liked Sniper Elite V2, you'll love this game just as much as I did.

85

It's great, but a little cack-handed

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This is an awesome follow-up game to Sniper Elite V2, and has some brilliant coop modes. The graphics are brilliant, the multiplayer is very entertaining and the zombies are bloodier! The downfall for this game is that the zombie theme is fast paced, and the actual game itself is meant to be sneaky, so trying to take out hordes of zombies with a sniper at short range is pretty difficult. It is definitely something to try and I think its absolutely brilliant!

88

Love this game

Juggale | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all Juggale's reviews »

I love this game, I play it all the time with my frineds, we just go around the missions screwing around livestream it sometimes. Its a great way to pass time and kill zombies

65

Fun with a friend

aitk3n | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all aitk3n's reviews »

As put in the title, this is when the game's at it's best, but then again, almost any game is at it's best with a friend, I'll try brake it down to my best ability:-

It won't win any awards in graphics category, it does the job what it's supposed to, but a few below par textures here and there but nothing game braking. A few bug's to find but it won't take you completely away from the experiance. Only recommend the game if you have a friend to play it with as fun alone is a rare occasion personally.

85

Different from the other SE games, but good

xAFBx | July 11, 2013 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

I picked this up when it was on sale for about 5 bucks because a friend of mine has it and wanted to play co-op together. I'm pleased to say it exceeded my expecations. Some of the enemies (like the skeletons) are kinda...out there, and irritating, but it's a zombie game so I guess it can't be TOO serious. It's fun though, and always a good time when the kill cam animations occur when you snipe one from 200 yards away. Overall I'd recommend it, especially if you have someone to play online with.

80

Standalone Expansion

EvoDube | July 4, 2013 | See all EvoDube's reviews »

So, i'm glad they made this a standalone, and also the price isn't too bad for what you are given. This game gets old fast, I will warn you. After doing each mission more than five times it wears off the thrill of an actual zombie game. It's no COD Nazi Zombies. The reason I rate it so high is due to the price. If it goes on sale for 25% off, give it a go. It's worth that much.

66

Once the novelty wears off...

on2wheels | July 1, 2013 | See all on2wheels's reviews »

You can guess where this is going by my title. I wanted this game badly when it was announced, but all it does is makes me want to reinstall SEV2. Sure shooting zombies is fun, but when there's hundreds of them and most of your ammo is for a sniper rifle, it just gets tiresome. On the good side, these zombies do look nice and their heads explode rather violently, which is an elegant touch if I do say so.

Rebellion has to be commended for their focus on coop in the SE games, this one is missing the spotting feature of V2, but it's still decent without.
Having said that, you should have at least one friend who owns this, preffereably 3 to make it a full game and get all the achievements, because there's hardly anyone playing in public matches right now, it may pick up after this summer's sales but honestly, unlike the "Empty Lung" feature in the game, I wouldn't hold your breath.

77

An expected but worthwhile experience..

Kratzer | June 3, 2013 | See all Kratzer's reviews »

This game is sort of a reskinned version of its V2 counterpart. The zombies are slow and feel like zombies and there is still a satisfying bullet cam that will show the various ways in which you are destroying the brain-hungry hordes. The overall game doesn't have that different of a feel than its predecessor, but the four player co-op experience brings some new fun to the table. The game parallels the "Left 4 Dead" series in some ways. (Not exclusively in the fact there are zombies.) You will encounter weapon and ammo spawns as well as safe areas. The game seemingly goes from mundane to more than challenging in almost an instant, be prepared for that. Overall, it's a good experience if you have a few buddies to play with.

88

Not the best but very good

kalil | June 2, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Graphics: has good graphics compared to other Gameplay: very good putting it the way you like it more harder for the tactic you have to do something ladilla sound screaming zombies At last the game is great entertains you, shoot with what you want, put mines as you want ... I recommend it if you have a more or less decent pc to entertain you with the graphics

90

Totally different Sniper Elite. And I like it.

wongheungwing | June 2, 2013 | See all wongheungwing's reviews »

I originally avoided this game despite being a great fan of Sniper Elite because of the 60 something Metacritic Score. I was terrible wrong.

This game is a totally different sniper experience because the enemies do not shoot us and are actually like moving targets. But don't get me wrong. It's by no mean an easy game. Because the zombies can resurrect if not taken a head shot, you need to aim carefully at their heads while a body shot is enough for the original Sniper Elite game.

The trick is here. Because the zombies always shake their heads when they are moving, getting the head shots is actually much more difficult than it sounds. There are occasions I was forced to use the semi-automatic and the pistol to kill the zombies. And believe me, you need to run a lot in this game.

The stealth element in the original Sniper Elite is all gone. Maybe the Zombie can smell you or somehow detect you. But they know where you are. So you don't need to sneak around, hide behind walls or choose a silent weapon like what you did in the "human" Sniper Elite. It's face-to-face confrontation in open ground.

Don't believe Metacritic. There are many occasions they underrate good games and overrate mediocre games. GMG ratings are much more trustworthy as the review writers must have bought the game.

Haven't tried the coop yet because I am a shy person.

90

Totally different Sniper Elite. And I like it.

wongheungwing | June 2, 2013 | See all wongheungwing's reviews »

I originally avoided this game despite being a great fan of Sniper Elite because of the 60 something Metacritic Score. I was terrible wrong.

This game is a totally different sniper experience because the enemies do not shoot us and are actually like moving targets. But don't get me wrong. It's by no way an easy game. Because the zombies can resurrect if not taken a head shot, you need to aim carefully at their heads while a body shot is enough for the original Sniper Elite game.

The trick is here. Because the zombies always shake their heads when they are moving, getting the head shots is actually much more difficult than it sounds. There are occasions I was forced to use the semi-automatic and the pistol to kill the zombies. And believe me, you need to run a lot in this game.

The stealth element in the original Sniper Elite is all gone. Maybe the Zombie can smell you or somehow detect you. But they know where you are. So you don't need to sneak around, hide behind walls or choose a silent weapon like what you did in the "human" Sniper Elite. It's face-to-face confrontation in open ground.

Don't believe Metacritic. There are many occasions they underrate good games and overrate mediocre games. GMG ratings are much more trustworthy as the review writers must have bought the game.

Having tried the coop yet because I am a shy person.

75

Great game but quite a different feel to Sniper Elite v2

graspee | June 1, 2013 | See all graspee's reviews »

This is a great game and I'm enjoying it so far but it has quite a different feel to Sniper Elite v2. In the other game there's a lot of sneaking around and stealth and the enemies aren't aware of you at first. In this game the zombies visibly spawn near you in black clouds out of the ground and immediately start slowly lumbering towards you. Even when you are inside a building the zombies know where you are and come to get you.

So, there's more enemies than in the other game, they know where you are and come right to you, but they are slow.

I'm glad it's a different feel to be honest since otherwise it would just be like a re-skin of the main game.

There are lots of nice graphic options but I couldn't max them out on a 660Ti and get a decent frame rate, so I turned supersampling off. It still looks great.

I haven't tried the multiplayer yet so I can't comment on that. I tend to be a bit shy and wary of playing co-op multiplayer games.

80

Sniper Elite: Nazi Zombie Army

FreakDeity | June 1, 2013 | See all FreakDeity's reviews »

Impressive game so far! The opening menu looks polished. The cut scenes are well done, and set forth the story, which is about Hitler unleashing an army of zombies. The zombies look scary, and they lurch slowly at you. I really like the supernatural feel to the game. You start out moving through a bombed neighborhood in a foggy night setting. Your character can crouch or go prone, and you have a few weapons in case the zombies get too close. The kill cam is cool to watch, as it shows the bullet traveling to its target, ending in a splatter of zombie guts. I am really enjoying this game, and for the budget price, this game is definitely worth it.