Reviews for F.E.A.R

88

Excellent Horror Shooter

KingTed | Nov. 9, 2014 | See all KingTed's reviews »

F.E.A.R is a FPS with a paranormal twist to its story. You are part of a squad sent to capture or eliminate Paxton Fettel, a cannibal with psychic powers that commands an army of clone soldiers. The maniac wreaked havoc in town and you must stop him at any cost. But Fettel is not the greater evil here. There is also that strange little girl in red that seems to kill everyone and everything that is on her way.

F.E.A.R is divided in two types of situations. Most of the time, you fight Fettel's troops (A task which is quite challenging, thanks to the brilliant AI) while searching informations about the cannibal's location. The rest of the game takes place in calm areas where you will be facing the wrath of Alma, the little girl. Hallucinations, moving furnitures, spooky scenes and jumpscares are to be expected.

F.E.A.R has a great atmosphere, a pretty good story (Though telling it via documents you find on your way was not a good idea) and excellent gameplay and level design.

100

Scary as Hell

Delta998 | Oct. 30, 2014 | See all Delta998's reviews »

This was the first horror/shooter game that I have for PS3. And even today I still play it. It has great jump scares, good effects depending on the weapons that you use, and a Bullet-Time effect that's great to use to your advantage. You play as a special forces operative, trying to kill a crazed psycho path, that has telekinetic capabilities. But you also face another kind of threat. A telepathic, creepy, evil, little girl named Alma. And a battalion of telepathic controlled Replica Soldiers. Are you ready to fight as a First Encounter Assault Recon member?

99

True FPS

spectatorx | Oct. 4, 2014 | See all spectatorx's reviews »

Have you ever wondered how is the real FPS game? This is an example of true FPS game. Medkits, collectible boosters which permanently increase your hp or slow-mo ability, no stupid glowing things showing you your target/destination. Interesting, japanese-like horror story. Game is fairly lengthy and has 2 expansion packs (do not put them into one bag with this modern "dlc" things, it is very much unlike these) which add separate singleplayer campaigns. AI is outstanding and still impressive. They can ambush you in way which you will be surprised. Enemies are not sticked to one place, if you will try to escape them they will be running for you through whole level, ambush you and kill from the back. Be aware of hardcore AI. Multiplayer officially is not working anymore but there is unofficial project which let's you still enjoy the game online so you can google for it and give it a try. Also with high resolution screens little subtitles may be a problem but for this also is a fix which you can find on steam guides for this game. Conclusion: if you expect FPS which will bring you nightmares because of awesome AI of enemies and horror themes so First Encounter Assault Recon is the game for you.

90

Fantastic FPS (Though light on TRUE horror)

Shaide | Sept. 29, 2014 | See all Shaide's reviews »

This is a good cinematic FPS! Easily one of the better games I have played! My only real regret is that it took me this long to pick it up and begin playing it!

The game is also LONG! Which is a huge plus in my book, and should be in yours too. You definitely get your moneys worth with this purchase. So, unless you are someone who doesn't have much time to invest into a game, and just want a quick bang-bang, pew-pew experience, then this isn't for you. Stick with the single player CoD campaigns. This one will take several hours unless you just rush through without exploring. I am already 6+ hrs into the game, and I think I am only about halfway through the main campaign, then I still have the 2 included expansion packs to begin!

The game is also challenging, so if you want a game that's a breeze and practically plays it's self, then again! This might not be for you, but if you want a challenge then this game should be in your library.

Now, the game lists it's self as a horror game, and I just do not agree with that assessment. Sure there are a few "gasp moments", but only because the game relies on jump scare tactics, and I don't consider loud noises or quick rushing objects appearing out of nowhere to be horror. To be fair, I believe jump scare tactics might be the only way to cause a fright in a FPS, as real horror comes from escaping and fearing for your life, not gunning down everything in your way in a hail of gunfire.

So, while I don't consider it a "Horror" game, I do consider it an excellent FPS that should be in everyones library!

80

Spooky shooter

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Yep! As much as I dislike classic shooters - those with medkits and ammo lying around, FEAR got through to me. I was really hooked into the story. The scares aren't that scary in my opinion. There are few "jumpscares" that can take you unaware and raise your blood preasure a bit.

Overall game impression - very good. Decent graphics(for its time of release), great sounds and music. Good story. All that topped with good FPS experience. A worthwile game. And it comes with two expansions, both of which are pretty long, so you get a lot of play time from this one.

85

Great game

RandomHobo2 | Aug. 10, 2014 | See all RandomHobo2's reviews »

F.E.A.R. is a great FPS with horror elements. If you liked Doom 3, you'll also enjoy F.E.A.R. It has an armor system, like many classic shooters. Bullet time, the ability to slow the game down while fighting enemies, plays a large part in the title. F.E.A.R. has fantastic A.I. The enemies react intelligently, while not being too difficult to kill. One issue the game has is that it is too easy on normal difficulty. Bullet time makes the game easier than it should be. The story is pretty interesting and the gameplay is enjoyable. Overall, the game is definitely worth playing.

100

Awesome Horror Game

lajvjjajajaaaa | July 31, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

F.E.A.R is great horror game and one of my favorite shooter games. You are sent to eliminate a group of soldiers and their leader. The story was really good but kinda short but solid. The graphics are a bit outdated but it's good for this awesome horror.The game isn't made for the jumpscares but the way it tension - breaking lights, music, chairs that movies it self alone and etc. F.E.A.R is amazing first-person shooter. If your in trouble in fights there is slow motion to help you. There is health bar which means you have limited HP and you'll need medkits. The game ending is awesome. But I won't spoil it so good luck!

85

Classic Shooter of its time! Horror makes it even better!

khawaja07 | July 26, 2014 | See all khawaja07's reviews »

When this game released, it was really ahead of its time, visually and gameplay wise when it comes to First Person Shooters, also its known for its really smart enemy A.I. There's a really nice horror element added to it as well which makes it an exciting experience to play through.

F.E.A.R features solid and responsive shooting mechanics, as i said earlier, pretty smart Enemy A.I that will hunt you down if you get in-sight of it. Slow-Mo makes fighting a whole squad of enemies somewhat easy but exciting at the same time, just when you thought that taking out a host of enemies would wreck you when you're at low health, Slow-mo comes to the rescue! Since this game resembles closely to an Old school shooter, HP doesn't regenerate and you have find & stack up Med-kits, use them when you mostly need them, you never know when you might be one hit away from death.

Visually the game was quite ahead of other shooters of its era, requirements were pretty hefty although in this day & age, it looks not that good. Back in the day it would take a really high-end PC to run it at max. settings but these days it can quite easily run on almost any low-spec PC. The story revolves around a little girl done wrong in an experiment and now you & rest of humanity suffer the repercussions for it. You fight supernatural beings+human enemies and so on. Horror is done pretty damn well and it makes F.E.A.R thrilling and scary to play at the same time!

Overall, F.E.A.R was a pretty damn good game for its time and totally deserves the praise it gets and is worth atleast a single playthrough. You can buy it easily these days at an extremely cheap price and easily feel that you got a lot more content for what you paid for!

95

Favorite FPS

Jericho417 | July 20, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

I dumped so many hours in to this game back in the day. Today's games look better, but the guns feel ... lifeless. F.E.A.R gave the guns and bodies this amazing feel that I've yet to experience elsewhere. After killing an enemy, you could play with the ragdoll body by slide kicking it across the map. Even better, you had legs. Hard to believe, right? You could look down and see your own legs. Same with the kicks.

80

2nd best, but fun still!

PM_DMNKLR | June 11, 2014 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

While F.E.A.R. 2 is the best of the series (imho), this one comes a very close 2nd to it. A definite must-play, however, if you're wanting to understand the story. Lots of great action, very nice physics for the era it was made in, and overall nice gameplay. Get it, turn the lights off, crank up the surround sound and prepare to scare the crap out of yourself and your neighbors...

76

A great classic era first person shooter

BlockAgent | May 28, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

F.E.A.R. is a game that I never got around to playing until 2014, but I'm glad I finally got to. The graphics now look outdated and the gameplay definitely has that "classic" feel to it, but it is still an enjoyable experience. If you have never played it before, you will witness all of the new concepts it brought to the table that are now in every modern first person shooter. The story was a little disappointing and it felt like there could have been more substance to it, but what was there was still good and creepy. It is worth picking up if you enjoy first person shooters.

70

Pacing to make your heart jump

damodarko | April 15, 2014 | See all damodarko's reviews »

FEAR is a classic, I am not afraid to call it that as it is one of those few games that make me jump to this day. It's pacing is great, despite being a full on shooter. The effects and visuals hit you when you least expect it and build you up for terror around each turn as jump scare become just set in fear.

The story gives you a little something extra than your normal horror and certainly the game has been crafted with care. It is a great introduction to the series and even if the graphics don't hold up, they are not ugly. However, I enjoy to play games like these on a controller and the PC integration for this is outdated and doesn't quite map, it is a pity.

I would recommend this for any gamer looking for something that's engaging while not leave your light on at night for a month scary.

50

The bygone work

cdp_star | March 19, 2014 | See all cdp_star's reviews »

First, I should confess that I don't have any interest in real style war games, for example Battlefield, CALL OF DUTY series. So I have some negative impression about this game. Sorry.

I heard that the game was an epoch making FPS style game at few years ago. Actually AI of enemy was very clever, and I had to care of the surroundings of the playing character all times.

However, although it is not so strange, the graphic level was not so high, compared to recent games. All of objects were plane and didn't show any feel of a substance. Moreover I didn't feel fear in any situations of the game, even if it was a remarkable point of this game. So I had to search the next check point, to fight with the enemies to go next point, without any fun...

It is the true impression of me, who doesn't have any interest in war game.

89

The best of the series

Arteus | Feb. 19, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

Despite being the first of a new series, F.E.A.R. is still the best. The sequels may have improved the graphical fidelity but it's the original that absolutely nails the gameplay. F.E.A.R is a horror FPS that balances the horror and the action perfectly; it's scary but not too scary, full of action but not to the point of being annoying.

The combat is fluid and feels fantastic, the sound assets are great for the time and it never really starts to feel repetitive. The graphics, while dated, also hold up reasonably well to this day. It should also be noted that even for full price this game is great value, I managed to get through everything in just over 10 hours and every second of it was fantastic.

I highly recommend F.E.A.R, even if you never intend to play the (fairly mediocre) sequels.

70

not really scary until the end.

damienjameswebb | Feb. 3, 2014 | See all damienjameswebb's reviews »

for the time that it was release the graphics are very good. the game engine is very smooth and made the game feel very real. The effects of the "haunting" set the mood perfectly but didn't really scare me until i was right at the end of the game. that being said however, the gunfights were well paced and spread out. it wasn't just a constant fire-fight throughout the whole game. it made it feel like i was trying to investigate what was really going on. story was hard to follow, but that was really the point, and other than that i enjoyed this game fully. would defiantly play it again and ramp the difficulty up.

85

A game that lives up to its title

dgaml | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all dgaml's reviews »

FEAR delivers well-timed shock scare tactics combined with chilling atmosphere to render me scared to the edge of their seats at the start, and jumping back when horror strikes.

The fear of the unknown is the backbone of this game as I was constantly checking around corners, crouching and walking slowly to prepare myself for what was coming at me.

Graphics are excellent but music and sound effects are were FEAR shines. In combination with a puzzling and almost Stephen-King-ish vibe that made me tread the game's world with trepidation.

Gameplay is stellar as the game goes from 0 to 100 in a split-second, but the developers have adapted the gameplay to suit the rapid change in pace, especially with the "slow-mo" feature and the ability to rapidly change weapons. This change in pace is a large part of the game's appeal as I found myself taking cover a lot of the time but was suddenly thrust in to a situation facing 7 soldiers all at once.

This game is on my all-time favourites, although I dare not play it again... don't think my heart could do that again...

80

Great game even by today's standards

Vlady | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all Vlady's reviews »

Intense and atmospheric shooter. Stellar AI that will put to shame some of the brand new FPS games. Admittedly enemies can get stuck in weird positions and act derpy at times but they still behave like real humans most of the times. Lighting effects and physics still look very good even today. Sound effects are also great. Level design is very intricate and maze like, though environments are very repetitive. Enemy variety is also lacking, but that makes sense story wise. Play it for mysterious and haunting atmosphere and you will love it

85

Great game.

TETfromLondon | Dec. 14, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

When I got this game, I was told that it would terrify me. I was disappointed in that regard, but I was overall very impressed by the game. The graphics are good enough considering the time that it was made, and the weapons feel good. The environments also feel good. The game will remind some people of the original Half Life, and if you enjoyed that, you will probably enjoy this too. It has a good story and nice settings. However, the enemies do get a little repetitive. There are, however, one or two scary moments that liven up the game. There is also a very nice and satisfying slow-motion mechanic, which makes the shooting more fun. Overall, it's well worth a play.

93

Not exactly horror, but really REALLY good action

commanderhavoc | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all commanderhavoc's reviews »

I was personally never scared that much by F.E.A.R., but I did absolutely love the action and combat in it. The weapons are extremely fun to use, especially the Penetrator that can actually pin the enemies to the wall much like the stake gun from Painkiller. And of course, the slo-mo ability is extremely fun too and it adds even more cinematic action to the whole thing. All in all, this is a great action FPS that feels a bit like a John Woo action movie with its slo-mo action moments and such.

90

Really intense, scary but not as others

kurtjc | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all kurtjc's reviews »

This game is a good FPS. Enemies are not like zombies, they make you take it seriously, but ok, we have Bullet Time for fighting them. I like too much Bullet Time, its visual effect is really well done (keep in mind that this game is about 8 years old.

About the scary part. Yes, sometimes it's really scary. It's just on some points of the game, not on the whole path, but it's like those drops of hot sauce you add to a very tasty dish.

So on one hand we have action (really improved by Bullet Time), and on the other hand we have terror. Yes, they mix very well. And added to this, it comes with 2 expansion, you have lot of hours for playing (and also you can adquire later the FEAR 2 and FEAR 3 sequels).

As I am not an intense gamer, and I don't play too many titles, I can include this one in my top 15 games I've ever played. Consider buying it.

95

A horror masterpiece

Gmen | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

The game tells the story of an anonymous operative known as Point Man, who is part of a team, called First Encounter Assault Recon, sent in to investigate the goings on at a site in the Auburn district, with reports of gunfire in the area. It isn’t long before the player is thrust headlong in to the midst of a paranormal nightmare, as all of his squad mates are slaughtered in the blink of an eye by some unexplained malevolent force. And this is only the beginning of the game too – the pace picks up from there as there are many action-packed gunfights (enhanced by slow motion) with extremely intelligent and intimidating enemies to be had, and supernatural creatures – some that can’t be killed by conventional means – to face off against, and not to mention there are plenty of scares.

This isn’t a Doom 3 type game where there are monsters hiding in a closet waiting to pounce on you. This involves the player embarking on a dark, twisted, psychologically tormenting journey in to a brilliantly crafted world where they will strive to put the pieces of a much larger story together.

There are several inspirations evident in F.E.A.R. as it draws from famed horror films such as The Ring, and by extension the Japanese film it was based upon, Ringu. This is easily the best in the series, and Monolith shows its mastery when it comes to the horror genre.

The only real gripe I have with the game – and it’s a very minor one at that – was perhaps the sound effects, particularly the weapons, which I found to be a little flat sounding, although there is a wonderfully fitting soundtrack composed by Nathan Griggs that more than makes up for it.

90

Amazing game system

kohei25 | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all kohei25's reviews »

If you are playing fps game frequently maybe you would feel the screen shot of gun fight pretty boring. Yes this is an old game, and for people who played recent game the graphic may look poor too. Though you would realise that you are wrong, because of this system "Slow-mo". And it is really fun experience to use low motion anytime in the game. You can upgrade your slow mo activation time by upgrade item, you can upgrade health too. I find out my self enjoying dismembering enemy body while in slow mo using shotgun. This game has an other unique feature to show horror. In this game, there are a lot of dementia to show horror moment. Its like dead space 2, but this game published way earlier than those game with similar horror feature.

85

Just... Wow.

Lleris | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all Lleris's reviews »

This game had me absorbed from the moment I stepped into the game. At times I could feel my heart pumping in my chest. Very few other games give me a thrill as this one does. It's extremely intensive, so not for the light-hearted to play. I often had to take breaks because the game was just that intensive and absorbing.

Graphics are pretty top notch (especially considering when they came out), storyline is compelling. Weapon options are straightforward and understandable, so you can simply get down to what you have guns for: shooting. The weapon options are otherwise limiting, but I've never really found this a problem. Extra weapons are a plus in a game, but if they're not in the game, I'm not too concerned.

Visuals blend quite flawlessly between gameplay and cutscenes, which I really enjoy in games.

Anyway, well worth a buy, even nearly a decade after its release.

88

Action horror

stitch123 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all stitch123's reviews »

F.E.A.R. is (as you probably noticed) FPS horror.

FPS part of the game is really good. There isn't very much weapons, only about 6 + some grenades, but they have well made recoil and sounds. Combat in F.E.A.R. is more tactical than in most of today's FPS games. Enemies are sometimes hard to kill if you play on normal and up. You always need to take cover, or you'll be dead soon. Also AI of enemies is great. They are trying to ambush you from behind, etc. Horror parts are done well too. You can find scarier games than F.E.A.R. (Outlast for example), but if you play at night with headphones, Alma will sure scare you ;) Story is not bad, but you can find better, too. And the graphic is awesome! Especially fire or shadows are made pretty well.

If you like action and horror games, this game is perfect for you!

(Sorry for my bad English)

83

Not very scary, but a good game

FhexSans | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all FhexSans's reviews »

FEAR is a classic, yet somehow the game has aged so well for being out almost 8 years. It shows its age graphically at some points, like the level geometry and the models, but yet somehow the gunfights are just absolutely mindblowing for such an old game. And I'm not just talking graphically! The AI in the game is actually quite good, you'll find them talking to each other and acting like a team; it feels almost lifelike sometimes. Not to mention gunfights actually feel like gunfights, it's kind of difficult to explain but the guns feel like they have weight and the sparks from the impact of the bullets on surfaces and stuff... it just feels awesome!

However, personally I could not find FEAR scary at all. It's atmospheric and I really did like all the alma moments and so forth, but they never felt really scary. They did catch me off guard quite a bit and make me fire wildly at the hallucinations, but usually I just shrugged it off. Maybe it's just me. Also, the game didn't really feel incredibly difficult even on the highest difficulty. Usually when I died it's because I didn't bother to use my health kits because I'm ultra conservative with them.

All in all though, this is a game you should definitely consider picking up, especially if you're into shooters.

95

Scary FPS with good gunplay

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Let me just say that F.E.A.R is probably the most memorable FPS horror game I've ever played. It's at the premier level of horror games, as I often found myself scared to turn a corner, or walk down the hallway. The game is littered with jump scares and creepy rooms, and sitting next to a computer screen makes it hard to continue down certain paths sometimes. One of the games many antagonists, Alma, is a creepy little girl who constantly blocks the way and nearly scares the player to death. Besides the horror aspect of F.E.A.R, the gameplay is extremely fun. There's a bullet time ability the player can use to kill enemy soldiers that plague the buildings, and tons of cool weapons are available for the player to use. It's really smooth when it comes to shooting bad guys, and it doesn't get old.

If you're looking for more shooting and less horror, go for F.E.A.R 2, but I think F.E.A.R's story is amazing, and playing 2 without 1 would be unfortunate.

90

Full Game, For real cheap..

Sivisx | June 20, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

I went into FEAR knowing two things: 1. There is a super creepy child and 2. You shoot stuff. I must say that the game takes a 'Condemned-Esque' creepy atmosphere, but where that game was unsettling from not knowing where anyone was and the chance of being slapped in the face with a bowling pin by a meth addict was heart throbbing this game takes that and says NO, heres a gun instead.

The levels breeze by like a fart in the wind, though I believe the Developers masked this by making the difficulty so steep that you have to literally wall climb it. So difficult at times, I say, that it pushes me to the point that I keep going because I don't want the game to win.. which is good on their part I suppose. Either way the 'scary' parts are just that, scary. It's as if the game knows that you are going to turn in just enough time to see something go around a corner and induce a degree of paranoia into your concentration that should be dealing with the bullet arced at your face...

...Moving on I'd like to say I couldn't really distinguish this from any of the other games, so it gave it a feel of finishing a 19 hour game but.. BUT, I hardly remember where is what and who did when. It all mashed together.. which in a sense, I kind of like. However this is the eh of the game, it seemed a smidget childish that this finale of a pack came out and said, "You fought mercenaries huh.. here's bigger and harder ones. You've had battles huh.. here's bigger and longer ones." Right down to the Agent Smith like enemies that dodge your bullets and mess your day up countless times til you stop playing. Speaking of Agent Smith, there is no real explanation why you can slow time in this, apart from a vague explanation towards the end from Fettel's 'Ghost.' Come to think of it this came out in '07, the Matrix was still popular then wasn't it?

FEAR: EXTRACTION POINT... It took me about five hours to complete the first of the two DLC packs released for F.E.A.R. and although FEAR 2 disregards both as non-cannon I must admit I enjoyed this more than the actual game it was an add-on for. The battles were more intense and most importantly the 'HORROR' aspect of the term 'Horror genre' is more prevalent. The 'scary' moments are more frequent and more disturbing. Towards the end of the game when you make it to the Hospital, everything gets seriously real. As if the developers said, "This is it, let's scare the hell out of this poor sod at every turn."

My only complaint is the game seems very repetitive of the original, going to very similiar places and the amount of blood in it is just silly.. like the whole city got a nosebleed right as the alarms sounded.

FEAR: PERSEUS MANDATE Perseus Mandate is the ODST to Halo 2, and if you don't understand that here comes the explanation.. Interesting enough you return to 'some' previous locations from the other DLC and original game and the story takes place starting before the end of FEAR and.. well I've no fucking clue. It kinda just stops giving details after that moment. All I know is a few bulletin points of time frame. But in the universe where Helicopters are made from bombs and other misc explosives you find yourself playing not as the FEAR protagonist but as some new random mute time-manipulative FEAR agent. So basically the last mute time-manipulative FEAR agent but less of a personality. ...->

93

One of the best FPS of the last decade.

g0verdie | June 13, 2013 | See all g0verdie's reviews »

I remember playing this game back in 2005, and surprisingly, F.E.A.R. has aged very well as mentioned in the previous reviews. Although though the graphics may not seem to be as great as it did back in the day, the gameplay is great even when compared to the modern titles. Don't quote me on it, but, to this day, F.E.A.R. has the most advanced AI in first person shooter games. Your computer opponents act like humans, this, IMHO, is the most fascinating feature of F.E.A.R. I wish, modern games would have as great AI as this game has (and it came out 8 years ago!). Overall, great purchase for anyone who likes FPS that make you think how to beat your enemies, instead of just cutting through the crowds of mindless bots.

100

A Scary Brutal Experience

thegaminglyfe | June 11, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

F.E.A.R isn't the scariest experience unless you're playing at night. There are parts where Alma, the main antagonist shows up randomly and it's terrifying but most of the time it's amazing addicting action. By pressing ctrl you go into slow motion which makes the gore even more awesome. The sound is great too. The guns sound amazing and the music is tense and suspenseful. The AI is sophisticated with flanking you, using grenades properly, noticing small things in the environment. The detail is amazing. With all the settings on high you will notice glass, splinters, paper flying everywhere while killing the bad guys. A must play for fans of scary games and intense shooters.

87

Before there was Dead Space..

wfosnot | June 4, 2013 | See all wfosnot's reviews »

So you think Doom 3 was scary.. or you liked Dead Space.. then play this classic game. F.E.A.R was a beast when it came out (most PCs couldn't run it at high settings because it was so demanding) - but most systems should run it fine now. This game is scary and creepy and will make you jump out of your sit. It is best played in the dark with headphones on! Mechanics in this game are fun to - slow-mo. At it's heart, it is a FPS, but the story is engaging and the scares keep your adrenaline pumping. Buy this game now and forget about sleeping!

90

I still am afraid!

RoninRaven | June 4, 2013 | See all RoninRaven's reviews »

Back in 2005, Monolith decided to launch a FPS game with a slight "twist". That "twist" ruined many pairs of underwear around the world. The game alternated between frantic shooting against some rather intelligent A.I (even to this day) and horror segments in which the player was for the most part helpless to react, except scream like a little girl. Speaking a little girls, Alma the game's story focal point became a video game icon and still is to this day. If you were to chicken to play it in 2005 you probably still are, but in case you missed it for some other reason, this is the perfect time to join to test your fear limits.

90

Dosen't get much better then this.

ClodXen | June 2, 2013 | See all ClodXen's reviews »

Gunfights in this game still look great as stuff flies of the shelves and walls. The magic in this game doesn't translate well in it's most recent releases. The first is by far the best the scares are in the right places they don't take all year explaining the story most the story can be found on phones or records you find through the game almost like BioShock.

This game really hit the mark on atmosphere compared to games that came our around the same time you look left in right a lot cause something always seems to be in the corner of your eyes.

The story keeps a great pace and tried to do a few change up's at the right time some might see it coming other want still solid. You can't go wrong with this game and normally you can get it on the real cheap which makes it that much better.

88

A classic that aged very well

Forceflow | June 1, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

Now here's a game I recently re-played, and it immediately struck me how well it aged. The graphics and particle effects still are pretty impressive, and the shadow effects (although they are hard shadows) are put to great use. Nothing beats the trill of activating slow-motion, bursting through a room, and sending 3 or 4 baddies flying.

The enemy AI also is praised, and is far more advanced than most of what you find today: they will try to flank you, make good use of grenades, notice your flashlight, ...

The game also is geniuinely scary at times, although I am a sucker when it comes to creepy Japanese girls twising reality.

Very recommended for every action fan - at original launch, the game needed a beastly machine to run well, but now, a couple of years down the line, I'm pretty sure everyone can enjoy this at maximum settings - as it should be experienced.

81

Old but gold.

Abandonation | June 1, 2013 | See all Abandonation's reviews »

The graphics are still okay and the campaign is shocking if you never played it before. I can recommend this !!

80

Classic freez time shooter

Cyborg420 | June 1, 2013 | See all Cyborg420's reviews »

This game was pretty revolutionary when it was released, really good graphics for a game this old. One of the fist games after max pain to allow the user to freeze time for a breif moment during combat, this allows the player to do some pretty insane combat manoeuvres that would otherwise not be possible. Definitely worth picking up on sale if you are into fast paced shooters with a bit of a horror aspect, especially if your computer is a little older.

90

First is always the best

lok0812 | June 1, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is by far the best FEAR in the franchise. In terms of horror and gameplay this topple the others 2. The sound actually gives off the sense of FEAR similar to Dead Space 2, it really makes you want to run and get scared by the game's creepy atmosphere. This outstanding shooter combines creepy horror with kinetic and visceral action, and it elevates the genre to a whole new level of intensity. Besides Dead Space 2, this can really be called one of the best creepy shooter ever made.

80

Are you ready for FEAR?

Shav | June 1, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

FEAR is a FPP shooter, made by creators of such well known titles as Shogo and Noone Lives Forever.

In this game you play a member of a FEAR team, a highly skilled group of soldiers and counter-terrorists. Each member of the group is not only a skilled marksman, but also has access to various paranormal tricks - for example bullet time and so on.

This game might seem as a typical shooter at first glance, but it is really a survival horror at heart, and there are MANY shocking and scary elements that will make you jump on your chair.

Even though this game was released in 2005 it still looks good, and whats even better - the AI of the enemies in FEAR is far greater then in some modern titles.

For 2 bucks it is definitely worth it.