Reviews for Eve Online 30 Day Starter Pack - Asteroid Miner

90

The Deepest MMORPG I've ever played

Mates1500 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all Mates1500's reviews »

I have played a lot of MMOs, including World of Warcraft, Guild Wars 2, RuneScape, SWTOR and more. I'm not saying those games were bad, all of them are actually quite good, but they are all so called "theme parks".

This MMORPG is unique in its nature that it's a sandbox. The content is mostly created by the players, the developers only give the players the tools. It's impossible to "consume all the content" like you can in most MMOs, there's just way too much of it. This game has so many mechanics and possible tasks to do, it's impossible.

Do you want to be a good guy getting rid of the space pirates and gate campers? Or perhaps actually one of those pirates to make some easy money? Explore the space? Relax while mining in high sec? Manipulate the market? Do some high-scale PVP? You can do all of this and much more.

The only both good/bad thing (whichever is your point of view) is that it's a massive time sink and requires a lot of time to do something than just mining or something, this game has a very steep learning curve, the tutorial covering the basics will most probably take you over 10 hours, this game isn't for the masses. Also, you control most of the game with a mouse, simply just giving your ship directions/targets. This game should be called a "space survival simulator", rather than "spaceship sim". If you are looking for an experience with spaceships where you actually aim yourself, and control a ship with friends etc, wait for Star Citizen.

90

The best open world mmorpg in the market today

bibora | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all bibora's reviews »

For years I've been waiting for a open world MMORPG. Something that would allow me to do whatever I want without being given a certain path to an expected goal. I knew that Eve Online was like that, but for some reason or another, I didn't played it much until recently.

Eve Online, for a new player, like me can be a daunting experience. Personally I did a couple of trials before even subscribing the game. I had to learn to control the game, how it works, the different roles, the player driven economy, etc. Well all the aspects that a sandbox / open world MMORPG should have.

Eve online. is a very deep, complex, non traditional MMORPG. Don't expect to enter on it and be playing like most MMORPG, it won't happen.

Also, this pack, offers the best option for a new player to start Eve Online as a Miner. Being a player that enjoys both trading/crafting/mining aspect of MMORPG, this pack was a non-brainer to get. You will get everything you need to start your own mining profession, and eventually if that's what you want proceed to the complex industry role of the game.

Finally, if you get this pack, or any of the others, be sure to start a trial account on Eve Online (21 days if possible) and then add this to the same account. You will end with up to 51 days of game time.

Don't be afraid to try this game, even if you are with 10 years delay with the oldest players in game. This game is worth it!

81

Be ready to invest time - well spent time!

sheph | July 5, 2013 | See all sheph's reviews »

While EVE requires quite a lot of time to get into, it is well worth it in the end. The complex economy combined with the dynamic world created by CCP makes every minute worthwhile.

92

Unique in every way

drizzt1666 | July 5, 2013 | See all drizzt1666's reviews »

EVE sets the bar in many aspects. No other game this old (about 10 years) had so many engine upgrades, expansions (which by the way are free) and so many graphical overhauls ever. No other game offers more freedom in a sandbox type of game. And no other game is so unforgiving as EVE.

Think of this game as if it would be real life, just in space. Heck, it's not even a game. It's an experience.

88

Unique MMO

Arthmael77 | July 5, 2013 | See all Arthmael77's reviews »

I've played many MMO's over the years, and this one has always stood out to me.

The one drawback for many people, is that there is a steep learning curve. Many gamers may scoff at that, but it is true for the vast majority. There is a lot going on in this MASSIVE universe.

The lack of a kill based leveling system has its perks and detractors. The fact that you can "level" while logged off is a huge pull. You can queue up to 24 hours of skills, if I recall correctly.
The biggest detractor for me has always been - Someone who starts even a day ahead of you, will always be ahead, if they stay on top of their skill training.
Just like someone who has started a week, month, or year ahead, it is quite daunting to think on. Also, in this ever-growing world of Free-to-play games, you have to deliver something incredible to entice people to pay you a monthly fee to play.

The variety of ships and missions and stuff you can do in game make it a worthy purchase. It is one of those MMO's that don't require you to play everyday, although it would only help your cause.

It is one of the very few MMOs that have held my interest as more than just a passing fancy, and for me, that's saying something.

76

Worth it if you're going to play EVE

drafek | June 20, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Eventhough I don't play MMO's that much I really enjoyed EVE, this starter pack is for every ''beginner'' just like the pack says. The gameplay is done well. The game does have alot of hours of gameplay, you can play thousands of hours. The sound is one really well, I recommend picking up this pack. The graphics also are done really well.

90

Fascinating Complex and Astounding

Rolezn | June 19, 2013 | See all Rolezn's reviews »

EVE online is an amazing MMO. It has built itself an amazing complex and self sustaining economy system which is bound by the actions of the EVE players.

EVE allows players to take many possible roles in the EVE space, be it Trader, Miner , Fighter , Bounty Hunter or even a Pirate.

EVE is not your traditional MMO, it is a complex game that needs learning and experience to know how to survive in the EVE space.

87

Unbeatable

kalil | June 4, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

EVE is a unique MMO. Many people will not understand, many people are frustrated with their immensity and the few guides, or to know that nobody will say do this or do that. Anything goes, everything is permitted. EVE is the ultimate sandbox, where you can build what you want, what you do not want to destroy, attack, cooperate, create or happen. The place where only the skill of the player decides his chances, and where all actions have consequences.

Many will terrified. But there are a few who are attracted by its spectacular graphics, a well established sound, and incredible gameplay really open fully and eternally were surrendered at the feet of the greatest MMORPG.