Reviews for Remember Me

85

Recommended by Me

simonr2014 | Oct. 9, 2014 | See all simonr2014's reviews »

I wasn't sure whether to buy this due to all the negative reviews i seen. But, I'm glad i did. The game has a great unique story and the game itself looks beautiful.

I honestly don't know why the metacritic score is so low. I think this game is way better than some of the AAA titles that have came out over the passed couple of years.

The only downside to this game is the time to complete. I've clocked in 9 hours on it on Steam.

Definitely worth a purchase!

95

Great game with bright ideas!

awesomehon | Oct. 6, 2014 | See all awesomehon's reviews »

I loved playing through this game, and i loved how different it was to any other game i have played. There are so many things done right throughout the game. I personally played the game with a gamepad, which i have heard is much better to play with. So basically get this game and you will be overjoyed with your purchase!

And i played it on the hardest mode and still made it through quite easy, but still a challenge at some points. Just give it a try, I did!!

80

Great game set in a cyberpunk futuristic world

lizardspenguin | Oct. 2, 2014 | See all lizardspenguin's reviews »

I grabbed this game when it was on sale for $4.50 with the promotion code. I really hadn't heard much about it, but figured I'd give it a try. I actually ended up really enjoying it. The graphics and audio in the game are on point. Especially if you are playing the game with a good headset. I wasn't a huge fan of the combat system at first, but it gradually grew on me as I played deeper into the game and all the climbing gave me the feeling I was playing an old Prince of Persia game. To me, the main gripe I have about this game was not being able to interact with the people around you and the environment. The developers did a great job creating this cyberpunk world, but only give you the option to run on a linear set path. The lack of any kind of an open world feel to the game bothered me some. Overall, I would recommend this game to friends though especially if they can grab it for the price I did. Great game, but had so much more potential. Hopefully there will be a second game :)

79

Remember me if you can

SaintKB | Aug. 23, 2014 | See all SaintKB's reviews »

It's more like "remember parts of me" than "remember me" really since Remember Me is a pretty decent game as a whole but certain parts stand out while others fade into the background which to me either showed a lack of consistency within the game and maybe a lack of communication between the design team.

BUT anyway Remember Me is one of those titles that comes along once and a while and wows you with it's ideas and mainly it's ideas - the game's main concept memory storage and distribution is a great concept and weaves the story together well making you question both your character (Nilin) and the other character's own memory as you try and get to the end buuuuuut it does kind of fall apart near the end and the amount of lore the game expects you to take in first time around is obnoxious to say the least. Yet like I stated before this is a game of inconsistency, even if the concepts are great the characters aren't as well done, yeah you may question them but it's not like their memorable. In contrast to this the world and environment design is top-notch and refreshingly makes the future an actual okay place to live in as it's littered with cafes and clothing shops making it feel like that the human race has actually progressed into this state. Another great visual aspect is the effects design as some of them are superb and fit into this sci-fi world so neatly that they are a joy to watch, blasting the memories out of a guy's head has never looked better :D. The most stand-out concept of the game is the fact that you can fiddle with people's memories, change them and therefore changing their life experiences forming them into a different person, it's a great story narrative device and probably could have had a whole game for itself from how enjoyable it was but I wish it was used more...

The combat system is a refreshing take on the usual beat em up, gone are the heavy attack, light attack, dodge ceremonial dance that is worshipped by previous games and instead you create your own comboes with their own benefits, mixing up kicks and punches as you go - roundhouse kicking foes to give me health is just so sweet plus someone decided that you can dodge and carry on your combo which is a awesome touch yet the combat can get really clustered when fighting multiple foes and you can never seem to pull off your best comboes because you get blind sided by a dude lightly stroking your hair. On that note the humanoid enemy designs (the robots are pretty cool) and character designs (excluding a few characters) are really bland and take the life out of the world as the humoids all look like splicers that didn't make the cut to be in Bioshock. The boss battles excluding the last one felt really tedious to me, or in fact pointless, same goes for the stealth sections. There is a hell of a lot of climbing to do but Nilin moves so slowly that it makes it more of a chore to do it. The game time isn't that long with no replayablility at all and is pretty linear however the linear parts don't make it exactly bad as it does allow you to focus on the story.

Even though it does have it's faults and can be annoying at times Remember Me was pretty enjoyable for most of it, if your looking for a "different" type of beat em up I'd reccomend this.

  • Combat is refreshing and new
  • World, Special Effect and Environment design are superb
  • Memory remixing is a great gameplay mechanic
  • Story has it's moments

  • Drab enemy and character designs

  • Climbing and stealth are pretty boring
  • Boss battles are annoying
  • Short (but compact)

7/10

90

You Should Remember This

Azrael360 | July 22, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

It's been a while since I played a special and unique game like this one. If you want a reference, the combat is kind of similar to Batman: Arkham Asylum's with platform style found in the Assassin's Creed games, and everything wrapped

up with a Ghost In the Shell aura. You play as Nilin, a girl with no memories with the power to manipulate the memories of others. The story is amazing, I was hooked up from the beginning until the end, and the game is not short, in

"Normal" difficulty I needed 15 hours to complete it.

Technically, is beautiful. The art is fantastic and the action fast. It uses the Unreal Engine, but it's well implemented. You will never see the usual problem with this engine about the textures not loading fast enough found in some

other games using the Unreal Engine. Although, you may find some stuttering is some areas because the game loads while you play (you'll never see a loading screen), but this almost never happens and if it does, it's almost unnoticeable.

Also, it's true that the game is linear, but the designs are so fantastic and diverse, that you will never find a "recycled" area. Everything is designed differently, with details worthy to stop and watch. You will be also doing that

anyway if you want to find secrets, to unlock bonuses, increase your health, etc...

The combat seems complex and difficult to "implement", but it's really easy. With a combination of attacks to form a combo, you attack your enemies with these combos starting with an (X) or (Y) -if you're using an Xbox 360 controller-.

You have a max of 4 combos and as you progress in the game, you will unlock more attacks to form different combos with special effects, like increasing your damage, recover your health, and more. It sounds complex, but it isn't. It's

really easy and fun to use and edit.

With a great story, excellent voice acting, great animations (they did an excellent job with the motion capture), this is a game worthy of a purchase and to play it.

By the way, if you don't like the grain effect in the screen, there's a mod called "No Grain" that removes it completely. You can find it at NexusMods.

75

Remember Me

ebeaver1016 | May 13, 2014 | See all ebeaver1016's reviews »

Remember Me takes place in the future. It is a pretty cool game because of the story. The gameplay is fun and it centers around hand to hand combat. I usually play games with a mouse and my cyber snipa game pad for precision shooting. However, since this hand to hand, I really enjoyed using my Microsoft 360 controller. The graphics are decent. They almost have a dark and eerie presents. This is fitting for the nature of the story. You get a unique ability to alter time. I really enjoyed using it, but sometimes it got to be really time consuming. You also get some pretty cool abilities that you can use in real time combat that allow you to stun enemies, disable them, blow them up, and so on. That was what made the game so rewarding for me because it made me feel so powerful. The story is unique and enticing. Keep in mind that this game is not an open world adventure. I got this on sale so i thought I got a good value.

75

A well crafted story

gforcesa | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Remember me caught my eye from the very first trailer.Right there and then i told my self that this game is going to be liniar and repetitive and it kinda was.Most games offer you different ways to defeat your enemies but Remember me was not one of those games.At first the combos were kind of confusing but after a while i got used to them.The enemies sometimes annoyed me so much i would punch my keyboard.The moments in the game where you have to go into someones memories and create a new ones were one of the most good things in this game and i liked those but the game had only a few in the game.Almost half way through the game i found myself doing the exact same combo to every enemy and it was awesome at first because i killed them pretty fast but it was getting repetitive.The story on the other hand was one of the best i've seen in a video game for some time.Other than that the game was good.I wish they release a DLC where they give you more levels where you have to manipulate someone's memories.

79

Good but not great

vincentric | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all vincentric's reviews »

It's a love it or hate it game, I don't quite love it but enjoy it a lot. To me it has a good story, nice visuals, and fun combat similar to the fighting found in Sleeping Dogs and the Batman games. But it doesn't do anything particularly better than the games that it copies. The platforming in particular feels a little stiff compared to other titles it copies like Uncharted and Enslaved. Would recommend using a 360 Windows controller for this game it feels more fluent than using KBM.

70

Interesting concept but lacks in execution

Takeshi_K | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

Remember Me could have been a much better game, and I was really hoping.

The story and characters never really manage to get under my skin, to make me care about them. That wouldn't be a problem if the combat wasn't so flawed. It wants you to make these crazy combos, and that's actually a cool idea. Even cooler that you can customize them. But it doesn't work when they're being put to practical use in combat. It's hard to do a combo, when you have an enemy going for you after three button inputs. In Batman it wasn't a problem since you could just jump over the enemy or counter them. But you are able to do neither of those things in RM.

It doesn't help that it's incredibly linear without Uncharted-level of quality. Plus the text everywhere is just a major pain since it makes you think there is something over there to interact with. Also, the camera keeps lovering when I am in combat making it hard to keep my depth of field.

80

A gem for cyberpunk fans

zurriel | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all zurriel's reviews »

Dystopic future Paris? A world addicted to erasing painful memories? A sprawling cyberpunk adventure to hold me over until Shadowrun Returns comes out? My dollars were basically wagered as soon as I heard about Remember Me last winter. As early reviews came out, however, I started feeling a little defensive. The game currently ranks a 70 on Metacritic, and most of its high reviews there aren’t from heavy hitting publications. One score not included is EGM’s review, which is a 90, but overall it seems the people who don’t like this game really do not like this game. Worse, reviewers giving “meh” scores generally start with, “While the game is very ambitious…”

So when I started, I was already gritting my teeth. I was not swept off my feet right away, and it won’t be my game of the year.

Nevertheless, Remember Me is an artful, gorgeous example of good visual science-fiction, and it has stuck in my head over the past week. I won’t go too deeply into why I think many reviewers were put off, but I have to agree on a few points. There were frustrating combat moments. While there are few quick-time events, the ones that do exist are fairly wretched. The camera is not always a joy, at least that was my experience playing on a PC. Some complained about the voice acting–I never found it obtrusive. My greatest disappointment was that many environments do feel as if they were built for bad guys and cleaning droids–most humans who don’t want to kill you will be busy running away.

But the game’s linear structure is by far the most consistent complaint; everyone wants to explore more of Neo-Paris, and ultimately it’s a complaint wrapped in desire for more. The city is gorgeously disgusting. While the environments in Deus Ex and its UI’s limited color palette left a very particular impression of cyberpunk and cohesive futuristic design, Remember Me embraces chaos. Some have compared its style with Blade Runner; those people have never actually watched Blade Runner. Or they’re crazy.

Neo-Paris enchants because it feels unique, dangerous, and it looks…like a futuristic Paris. The smooshing of old, contemporary, and imagined future architecture does a great job of portraying what you would expect old European meets brain hackers to be. The game’s developer Dontnod is based in The City of Light, and you can tell where they got their ideas. Wanting to explore more is natural because it looks freaking awesome. The game’s soundtrack is mostly orchestral pieces remixed with digital starts and stutters, which I found to be well matched and appealing in general.

While the combat is in a beat-’em-up style with powers thrown in (making fights often feel more like puzzles, another point in the game’s favor), the overall arch of the gameplay feels more like Uncharted and Assassin’s Creed. You jump from one bit of architecture to another, you fight bad guys, and then you jump around some more. There are collectibles, usually hidden just off the beaten path. Enemies are varied between brutes, fast mobs, and a few with special abilities to mix things up. And if you were to read most reviews, you could be lead to believe these tasks were performed with uninspiring diligence. Not so, I suggest.

While jumping to a ledge, Nillin’s enhanced-reality vision shows where you should jump to. I still jumped into oblivion every now and then, but probably because of being shortsighted and not because the controls wig out in random directions. Collectibles give you a small leg up, but are not necessary. More importantly, the fairly linear gameplay means you won’t have to spend hours running back and forth across the map if you want to collect everything. You are either given an image of where the nearby pickup is or you have to listen for a telltale noise (for different kinds of goodies, respectively). Combat and adventure/platforming sections felt very well balanced. There are brief moments of stealth, but they feel more like puzzles than anything and are (thankfully) short.

Remember Me does these things better than A-list games, not worse. It may not feel as polished in sum, but each gameplay section was honestly more fun than similar situations in Assasin’s Creed. I usually understood what I needed to get done, and when I died in combat I usually knew why and could figure out how to improve my situation. That’s something a lot of games fail to do, including most in whatever genre one drops Remember Me, but it’s incredibly important. A game that’s too easy isn’t very fun, but a game where combat isn’t meaningful, deaths aren’t diagnosable, or the goal isn’t clear is just torture. Remember Me treads the line between these problems very well.

Remember me 2The game’s plot hinges on the ability to reach into others’ heads and rearrange their mental furniture and does a very good job exploring that idea–this is why I said the game is good sci-fi. The story’s internal logic is believable, and each chapter does a good job of showing new sides and perils to digital memories. The overall plot is a little disjointed, largely as a byproduct of a protagonist who begins the game with no memories. As a heroine, Nillin does not disappoint. She begins as a blank slate, and by the end of the game it is very possible you won’t like her, but you will have opinions about her. To draw another comparison to an oft-lauded game from last year, she’s no Lara Croft. Nillin becomes a strong, capable woman, but Tomb Raider tries a lot harder to make you like its main lead. Like Lara, Nillin is driven from one task to another by outside forces, but unlike her Nillin never feels weaker for it. She’s trying to save a world that doesn’t want to be saved, and she does it one scrambled brain at a time. Powerful, sexy, and smart enough to yank the digitized secrets out of your head–the complete package, but maybe not if you’re looking for someone to jump around in a disintegrating tank top and an occasional pouty glace. Also I lied a little bit when I said I wouldn’t speculate as to reviewers don’t like this game.

Remember Me isn’t for everyone, and its main sin is probably spreading too many gameplay elements too thinly. If you don’t like going from punching bad guys to being forced to solve puzzles to platforming, it’s not for you. If you are willing to let the game take the lead, Remember Me is gorgeous, has an interesting story, and most importantly is an original world with solid gameplay. In a period when bold new ideas usually are credited to indie developers, large studios like Dontnod should be applauded for taking a risk, especially when they are this enjoyable.

65

Forgettable Fun

waylaide | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all waylaide's reviews »

True to the spirit of the game, the player is thrown into a story that is fragmented and hardly developed enough (with somewhat shoddy english voice acting thrown in) to fill in the gaps as the game progresses.

The main redeeming feature of this game would be the fights and battles where the use of combos is re-imagined into a very dynamic and refreshing system. Unlike many other games where combos and hit counts come in hand in hand (like batman) the player has the choice of customizing his / her combos to attain positive status effects in accordance to the progression of the battles; and that's where the fun lies, carrying out different combos to suit the changing needs during fights. Boss fights are extremely fun as the difficulty and pace is ever-changing and can sometimes be extremely addictive.

There is A LOT of potential in this game (Original setting, story, gameplay and direction) but it truly falls short of expectations; not that it isn't fun, it just doesn't meet what regular gamers have come to expect as a staple in every game.

79

Interesting game

Xillion | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

Remember me introduces a new concept that has never been seen before in games. As the protagonist, you have the ability to tamper with someone else' memories. When i first did this in the game, i found it to be really fun. What's also fun is the combat. It's sort of similar to the batman games but it tends to get repetitive. I wouldn't say this game is really worth it for 50$ but for 20$, i would definitely recommend it.

75

Nice game

simodeso | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

This game is nice, the story is very beatiful and even graphic are very enjoyable to see. The combat system is something new, you can make your combos as you prefer, max damage max steal life ecc, and you will unlock new combos or moves as you go further on the story. I never finished this game, because i had games that i prefer more, but don't misunderstand what i'm saying i found it very nice. For now it has an high price like all the AAA games, if you want you can wait and you will buy it when the price drops a little. Your choice.

85

Next-gen quality!

GeckoCox | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all GeckoCox's reviews »

This game completely took me by suprise at how good it really is,so glad I took a punt on it! The graphics and look of the game are so beautiful,the gameplay is sleek and the combat has a really good feel to it...similar to games like Ninja Gaiden where it's close,fast and furious. Even with this similarity though it maintains a innovative uniqueness that is a nice change to the same old concept for games. I really enjoyed the storyline and the ability to remix peoples memories with different outcomes based on what you choose is awesome. To me,this is what a "next-gen" game should look and feel like...love it!

71

Short but not so sweet

Shanti | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

I really wanted this game to be good. A female hero in a futuristic setting of Paris, a really different combat system of Pressens, something like combos which you unlock. However, the design and setting of the game as good as they may be never come to fruition. Very clunky controls for keyboard on PC, FoV (Field of view) being very low, very linear gameplay (Do X -> Do Y there is no other way) leaves a bitter taste especially for PC users. I hope they learn from this game and make a sequel which goes on to be excellent and successful.

60

Remember who ?

xghosts | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all xghosts's reviews »

At first, I was completly thrilled by the game. But after a few time, I started to be kind of bored by the game. It is not a bad but it lacks that little something that turns a good game into a great one. But if you like simplified assassin's creed gameplay with an original fighting gameplay, you may enjoy the experience

70

Had potential to be a masterpiece

wdp1024 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all wdp1024's reviews »

When I first saw remember me I was excited. Just the idea of being a awesome memory hunter and being in this beautiful world captivated me and I wanted to get ASAP. But I was hesitant on pre-ordering it so I waited. About 1 month ago GMG had a sale and Remember Me was one of the games on sale and in addition to a voucher code that was available I decided to purchase the game.

I played the game from start to finish and the 1st thing I want to praise is the graphics/art style. Neo Paris is gorgeous yet I can't explore it. The game is linear, which isn't a bad thing but I would have liked to explore and interact with other characters and civilians. Nillin, the main protagonist has the ability to steal and change people's memories and throughout the game you come across sequences where you have to "re-mix" people's memories by changing what they remembered happening. This is all fine and good but the problem is that it isn't used enough. The combat is very reminiscent of the Batman Arkham games and you can create your own combos to use If you go on YouTube and look up the 2012 Gamescom trailer the game looked WAY more fun. It was semi-open world with a mini-map and Nillin had to steal the location of targets from enemies. THAT was the game I was looking forward to and the final product is inferior to that gameplay.

In all Remember Me is a fun game that could have been amazing. If you are interested in buying it I HIGHLY suggest waiting for a sale for like $10-15 and if you have a PS3 or a 360 I'd recommend renting it. If a sequel was made and fixed all the complaints and criticism the game had it could be GOTY material.

65

Bland and uninteresting

theferalwarrior | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all theferalwarrior's reviews »

This game is quite a mixed back. On one hand, it has great graphics and a solid musical score, but on the other, it has drab combat and a lackluster story. The character models and scenery are delicious eye candy and rarely disappoint. The game's cinematics and executions are always a joy. The story itself, however, thinks that it's a lot better and smarter than it really is. The combat is stiff and unintuitive. You will be doing a lot of the same things over and over. Fights towards the end of the game are repetitive and will test your desire to finish this. I never found myself enthralled or captivated by anything that was going on in the game, however, I would not call it a bad game.

73

Nice Cyberpunk settings

Xibalba | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Acceptable fighting system, good story, AWESOME panorama, very good graphics, but It felt SO INCREDIBLY LIMITING. Every minute of playing I encountered a door I couldn't open, a ledge I couldn't grapple on, a 30cm box I could jump above, and on and on and on. I liked the concept, but I really couldn't stand the fact that the whole game was made a corridor. Acceptable game nonetheless. The Neo Paris panorama was gorgeous, the graphics when maxed out were gorgeous, and the music awesome. If only I didn't feel I was in a very long cage the whole time I played it..

55

Okay game... rather disappointing

mosart | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all mosart's reviews »

The game has a very intresting and promesing setting. This futeristic Paris looks like a very, very interesting place to explore. Unfortunately the game is extreamly linear and the platforming sections shows you exactly where to go which is kind of boring unlike Uncharted.

The most intresting and fun parts of the game is when you get to remix peoples memories and that is a really fun mechanic but that only happens like 3 times, what a shame. The combat is EXTREAMLY boring and shallow you may be able to pick your combos but they are all mostly the same. The only real choiche you have is if its going to heal you, deal damage or reset cooldowns its no real diffrent animations or execution. There is basically kick or punch.

Overall the game is just... Okay, it could have been so, so much more. I would recommend the game if you are extreamly in to the setting of the game since you can find rather interesting text logs. Or ofcours if the game goes on sale.

85

Different

Ryahn | July 29, 2013 | See all Ryahn's reviews »

When I saw this game I couldn't wait for it to come out. I had very high hopes for it. Once I was able to get it and play, it kinda fell short. The feel of it with the key combos was a little weird. After playing through about 5-7 fights, you get use to it. What really got me to continue playing even more, was remixing the memories of people. It is a game you should buy and play.

90

Beat em up at its best

hjr265 | July 20, 2013 | See all hjr265's reviews »

An awesome game. Platforming, exploration, melee combat and a decent story made the game really enjoyable.

But it doesn't stop there. The fighting never gets boring. Beating up the zombie like creatures to interesting soundtracks, may seem a bit odd; but in Remember Me, it is fun!

70

Ironically Forgettable

Zaapp1 | July 19, 2013 | See all Zaapp1's reviews »

The basics: Nice graphics, much better than what I've seen of the console version.
Combat is sadly repetitive (throughout the game you've got access to at most 4 combos.) It's essentially what Batman: Arkham Asylum popularized but without the gadgets. The story is interesting once, though why the game assumes you'll want to new game+ is strange since the story is the only compelling thing here. The writing is mostly bad, with only the main 2 characters being tolerable.

Overall it's not a particularly long experience. You'll get new gadgets right up towards the end, but nothing truly original is introduced after about an hour in. The best parts of the game let you control the story, but only in limited ways with perhaps a dozen outcomes each (these segments are perhaps a minute long.) Unfortunately, there's not enough focus on these elements and too much on the combat.

The combat is original in that you can "create" your own combos by unlocking Xs and Ys (on a 360 controller) that you can plug into some preset combos. For instance, you may have a combo that allows for Y X Y X Y, but you may only have enough pieces for Y X Y. You have some freedom in which order you choose to unlock pieces, and there are four types of Xs and Ys to unlock (essentially damage, healing, special attack, and chain.) However, as mentioned above, there are only 4 combos in the game, so it mostly devolves to you building up an attack damage combo and just hitting that repeatedly while dodging. Even on the hardest difficulty, many enemies won't survive for the duration of one combo, so some of the tactics of crafting the strongest combo are lost.

If you're considering this game, you should really just be interested in the story. It's largely socio-economic dribble about the poor seeking revenge on the rich (metaphorically) where we replace "rich" with "can discard any unpleasant memories" and "poor" with "are going insane from having their memories altered." That's not the interesting part. Instead, the focus is on the protagonist, an amnesiac who spends the game following orders in the hopes of regaining her memories. Part of the problem is that none of the characters in the game (protagonist included) are remotely likable (which is sort of the point.) This means that you (the player) will probably spend a lot of time wondering why your character is going along with half the stuff in this game. There are some twists to discover along the way, but there's no real buildup to these twists, so their impact is somewhat lost. It's more about considering the implications of the society in which the characters exist. If you're not looking for philosophical debates and existential crises, this probably isn't your game. However, if you like the idea of making one person commit suicide by convincing them they've done terrible things (in a game where you previously just beat 100 people to death), this game has something for you.

P.S. In my opinion, the final boss fight shouldn't exist. Not only does it refocus the game on combat, which is not its strong point, but it also involves some of the most arbitrarily difficult time-biding I've ever seen in a game. It leaves a bad taste in your mouth after what would otherwise be a perfectly fine stopping place.

60

Could have been so much more....

austin585 | July 7, 2013 | See all austin585's reviews »

First off when I seen this game on a trailer I thought how magical it looked. All the good features I liked in games all mashed together to make this with graphics to die for!

Then came the day it was released and I cried. As soon as I started playing I could tell right away this game just isnt finished. Far to many bugs which ruin the gameplay, if its not the camera going crazy it the controls. then if you do finally get to grips with it and see passed all the errors theres another HUGE flaw..... the hit system!!

you see this game works like a beat them up, the more of a combo you manage to build the better you get and the more you advance. But with this there is no give. Your there in a room full of enemies and your blasting them away, beating them to a pulp, your combo is going through the roof and your on fire... then BOOM!!! Someone gives you a little dig in the back, and your back to nothing. You seen it coming from a mile off, but with the contols and the camera theres nothing you could have done about it so your ruined and VERY angry. In fact thats what this game does... makes you VERY angry.

Maybe me being harsh after expecting so much more but hey... its my review. I hope Im wrong and someone does like it... not me!

85

Great Game!

Plasros | July 6, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This is a great game. It's not going to win GOTY, but that's fine. If you're not turned off by the idea of a game on rails then Remember Me is a gorgeous, nuanced action/sci-fi video game that will be remembered fondly for its narrative and stunning visuals long after people have gotten over its minor gameplay shortcomings.

70

Has potential

Jonot86 | July 4, 2013 | See all Jonot86's reviews »

The game has potential and for a first game it does things rather well, it has similar elements with Assassin's Creed with the platforming but a fighter with custom combos.

You'll have awesome epic fight moments but it overall lacks a great memorable punch as the story line is somewhat predictable but has some sudden twist.

Graphics are great but with he environment lacking interactive it feels like you're simply looking at a picture!

Pick this game up for a first run in a hopeful and better sequel.

60

A flawed gem.

Noodlesocks | July 1, 2013 | See all Noodlesocks's reviews »

While undoubtedly a stunningly beautiful rendition of a dystopian cyberpunk France of the future, the visuals only just make up for an action platformer that doesn't quite meet its potential.

Sadly the gameplay is the biggest flaw of an otherwise beautiful and indeed, a truly interesting world. Platforming takes up a great deal of the players time and while it is commendably fluid, the game does not hesitate in holding your hand every step of the way. Even in the hardest difficulties, the game will show you the path you must take and there is only one path to ever take. The game provides little for the explorative gamer.

Combat is similarly simplistic in its execution. While you can choose what type of attack you use in a combo, you can not literally create your own combo. Instead, relying on a preset series of button presses that you will be repeating throughout the game.

Gameplay (especially combat) will often be interrupted by a tutorial that does not allow you to skip. Even 3-4 chapters in, the game continues to introduce game mechanics or "force" you into handling a battle the way the game wants you to.

It's certainly not a bad game. Despite its flaws it is still a rather enjoyable title. Where the gameplay falters, the story, the setting and the graphics (if you're into that sort of thing) is certainly top caliber stuff. At the end of the day, if you have money to burn and nothing to buy or simply find this game on sale, you can certainly do a lot worse.

80

Great Narrative, New Gameplay, but Short Story

xxshur1kenxx | July 1, 2013 | See all xxshur1kenxx's reviews »

The Gameplay

If you like Mirror’s Edge, you’d love this. The combat is rewarding and chllenging at times. The game itself felt like it had a good mix between adventure and action, but there was definitely room for improvement in the action category. The game held your hand the whole way through, so don’t expect to get lost easily. However, that aside, a rewarding combat system takes your two attacks and spins them into a multitude of combinations.

The Story

A great narrative is painted in the furure of France. A dystopian like future with memories sold as commodity has revolutionized, and reformed life as we know it. You are cast into the middle of this stuggle as Nilin, a memory hunter. Killing, crime, and memory-stealing are the tools of your trade.

The Verdict

Remember Me is a great game with solid gameplay mechanics and a rewarding combat system. This is enhanced by its unique visual style. Aside from a serious case of hand holding, and a few bugs, the game is great. Although it is touted as a 10 hour game, I managed to beat it in about 4 hours with a completion percentage of 70%. If you loved Mirror’s Edge, and are waiting for Mirror’s Edge 2, grab it. Anyone on the fence, wait until this title goes on sale.

8 / 10

75

Lot's of Potential, Hopeful for a Sequel

Tenkay23 | June 29, 2013 | See all Tenkay23's reviews »

Remember Me reminds me of the first Assassins Creed, a game with huge potential, a new IP, stunning moments, but falling short in the end. Remember Me has it's high's and low's and there is certaintly something to be enjoyed from this game.

The positives include the custom combo's, called pressens, and special techniques that are more powerful, called s-pressens. There are different types of attacks you can use, some give health with each hit, some do massive damage, some give energy to use S-pressens more often, and some amplify the above three if linked together.

Also a great positive, is the city of neo-Paris, which is gorgeous and different to look at. The high-tech upper city looks cool and futuristic, while even the slums show the weathered down tech and flooded parts of old Paris. It's a shame the game is so linear and you can't explore the city more.

Remixing memories is fun and memorable, it's a shame there are only about four instances in which you can do them.

Graphics are colorful and bright, and it's great to see a different art style from the dark brown and greys of most AAA games today. Nilin, the protagonist, may not be the most rememorable character ever, but it is refreshing to get a main character that isn't an overused white male with brown hair.

63

Meh

mr_black077 | June 28, 2013 | See all mr_black077's reviews »

There are some great ideas in this game. The memory remixes are fantastic fun, but the game doesn't use the feature enough and it just turns into a boring beatem up with a silly story.

Check out this game when it drops in price.

78

Very Funny

cristiano171 | June 26, 2013 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Remember Me charts are also noteworthy. We have here a beautiful game that makes use of the Unreal Engine 3. The lighting effects are superb, and all models are extremely well developed. Observe the actual main character moving, how your clothing fits your body, or the realism of the armor of Enforcers, SABRE force soldiers, police private Memorize, always yields good times. Robots workers share space with sometimes sterile environments. Scenarios full of elements that constantly remind us of science fiction and future, including statements, advertisements and signs in Portuguese of Brazil, are also quite nice. Buildings staggering and verging on surrealism can be seen in the distance, such that it is impossible not to remember other futuristic themed titles like Deus Ex: Human Revolution, for example. Ah, yes. Remember Me also has subtitles in Portuguese from Brazil. The soundtrack of the title is also a sideshow. She accompanies the action in spectacular fashion, and not just hear orchestras, but also electronic parts that work very well in the game, even due to his proposal. Often the electronic joins the orchestra, and then the player is not just a visual spectacle before him, but also an excellent sound experience. Nilin can also "play" with memories. With memories. The rebel is known as the best hunter memories, mainly because it is able to remix them. Through these remixes can change events in such a way to result in different outcomes Conclusion Remember Me is a game that has one of the best science fiction stories of recent times. Moreover, its combat system dynamic and strategic causes it to be a great option for players who like to go beyond the simple "massacre buttons anyway." Join with all this splendid graphics, beautiful soundtrack and exciting, and the possibility of remixing memories, and have a very pleasant and title, if not entirely new, at least walked on a road supported by solid foundations before reaching the market. In a word: play!

72

Amazing potential let down somewhat by deisgn

Eravital | June 24, 2013 | See all Eravital's reviews »

Remember me is one of those games that is equally fun and annoying to play. One moment you're watching a great story cutscene, followed by a tense gameplay moment where you have to change someones memories and you can see just how good it could have been. A few minutes later you're fighting 4-5 enemies and grow more and more annoyed by how badly the combat works and just wish it could be done. That said, if you can stand the very average combat, you are shown a great story with an wonderful atmosphere.

72

Alright...

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

  • Graphics are colorful and futuristic
  • Neo Paris looks awesome
  • Memory Remixes is a great idea
  • Creating your own combos

  • Controls in combat are unresponsive, and the combat isn't very fun

  • Only a couple of Memory Remixes
  • Drags a bit near the end, it becomes too repetitive
  • Grain filter makes the graphics look unsharp
  • Interiors are detailed but are mostly dull in design
  • Neo Paris isn't an open world
  • Combos are too long to remember during combat

85

Unanticipated Gem

mostnatebe66 | June 18, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

Now I'll admit this game popped up on my radar in a bit of peer pressure as some friends really loved the look of it but the first gameplay shown didn't have me sold. But they a few days later another gameplay was released involving a helicopter fight of sorts that's when i started my own love for it. It was passed up by many gaming companies for its female protagonist which i think is quite a silly reason. Now the gameplay is a bit linear(keeps it from a perfect score cause i really want to explore this world more, but i cant bring it down to 8 or 7 just because of that because they DID introduce a world i want to explore and my own enviousness of the world shouldn't affect the game it's self) Now the story is solid.

If had to I'd give it a 8-5 to 8-7 if there was a story graph above on this rating thing. I say 8ish because it is a bit of a obvious scifi title and the story is a bit deep ya kinda have to be open to sci fi in general to really appreciate i as such I've graded accordingly so that linear, fighting gamers will know what they get into when considering it. The combo building is a bit blah at first but i really liked it and as someone who loves remember combos as it makes me feel like im learning stuff mid-gameplay amount my own memory skills. As a fan of the open world genre of games it IS a bummer that i cant do that here. The fighting combo remembering makes me remember how Sleeping Dogs caught me by surprise as a great game as well. I feel like a bad-A$$ beating people up as Nilin

Sounds are just top notch, the voice acting is about at English dub anime levels where they sound they could fit the character well but a part of you thinks they could have played it a little less or in some cases a bit more dramatic. Nilin's actress is top notch i will say. Now the game sounds are also great i often play with headphones to not to annoy a tenant i share a wall with and i was thoroughly enthralled with the game and fully immersed.

Now lasting appeal does get an 8 as that its about an 8 hour campaign that once again is very straight forward. But the game is still a great addition to my collection and i will have something to trophy hunt on till i get The Last Of Us in 10 days. The graphics are beautiful and i didn't notice many graphics bugs and if there were any they certainly didn't catch my eye or ruin the game.

Now full-disclosure I WAS spurred to do this because the so many reviews about this(IGN specificly god how i dislike them) were just so unfair so it may be closer to a 4 to 4 and a half but there are no halves and even 4 seemed like a dumbed down score. Honestly i preordered this read reviews last and was like OH GOD I made I HUGE mistake. Then i got it today, started playing it and had NO clue why this was was happening the game is so good and so great. The reviews had me believing that it was horrid filth with its bads far outweighing the good and thats just not true. All and all I really suggest you play this game please don't let the big name game reviews be the ones you go to for your game news. Trust yourself and trust your instincts I think you'll be pleasently surprised, I know I was

85

Beautiful Adventure Game

ravestar | June 18, 2013 | See all ravestar's reviews »

The designers bring this mix of gothic, cyberpunk, Zukuntfsvision and Neo Paris into your living room, with great details, smooth frame rate, cracking sharp textures, smooth animations, beautiful lighting effects and beautiful views. I have a only road raced 20 times up and down'm just to soak up the atmosphere .when it rains, the surroundings are reflected on the wet ground,

The combat system is intuitive, smooth and presented nicely. Remember Me is great fun, it avoids frustrating moments, plunge you into this world. You'll fight, run, jump, run, climb, steal thoughts, Push Open Doors, trigger mechanisms, fight boss and listen to the dialogues, you delight in the staging of a great story.

For those who like the action-adventure in the vein of Tomb Raider, Uncharted or Batman, I recommend checking out Remmeber Me.

80

Cool Game

youknowwho77 | June 18, 2013 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

The story is great. The gameplay is interesting, but it could have been done better, especially the combat. The memory remix is a great feature, I had much fun doing it.

95

A pure art

FreeMan85 | June 16, 2013 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Since I was saw the first debut trailer about this game I know it will be my favorite. And I don't dissapointed! The game exactly what I was expected. Remember Me is a third person Tomb Raider-Mirror's Edge like action-adventure game, set in the future 2084 Neo-Paris. An utopian dream city, for the rich and wealthy people who enjoy the corparation Memorize complete power of their every single memory via the Sensen Engine. And this is where our heroine jumps in, Nilin the best memory hunter - who not just stole, but even able to remix other peoples memories - memory is deleted in La Bastille. A myterious group, called themselves Errorist and it's leader, Edge help her escape and fight the mega corporation. The game looks stunning, Neo-Paris better parts are gorgeus! Every little part is an art, the whole game is a pure art and heart. Briliant colors and architect, captivating atmosphere. Unreal3 done the job again, also the game very well optimized. The voice-acting is pretty good, every character has a great voice and performance. The music is another masterpiece by Olivier Deriviere. The music mostly reminds me to TRON: Legacy music style, a bit classical and a bit electronic remix style. It's light and beautiful, but it's heavy and intense when needs. The gameplay is fun, maybe not so new or revolutionary. The Combo-Lab let you to manage your and configure your combos, the simplest one is a 3 hit combo, the most complex is a 8 hit combo. Based on punch and kick and there's 4 type of hit type. One increase the damage, one increase the S-Pressens cooldown type by every hit, one double the power the previous hit and one simply gives you health. With this 4 type of kick and punch which will you unlock more you can made your own combos. And you will need them, every enemy has it's own weakness and you must use different combos to take them down - combos can be changed anytime, everywehere! And there is 5 S-Pressen, special attacks for special enemies, but I don't want to spoil everything. And finally we got the memory remix! The best part of the game, you can wath a certain memory the person who you like to remix. Like a video, after that you can rewind-forward it and search for glitches, which you can change. That way you can change a person, make it to an ally or change the world. Yeah, just like the game tagline.

Remember Me is a very unique and beautiful game in every aspect, really feels the french development. If you like sci-fis, Philip K. Dick like games, fight games you can't miss this game. It's really something you will remember.

75

Falls just short of its incredible potential for greatness

evacybele | June 14, 2013 | See all evacybele's reviews »

I give it a pretty solid 7.5/10. The art direction and music were both superb, and the combat was dynamic and fun (though a little repetitive in places), but it was a touch too linear for a third person action game, and the characters, while they had ridiculous amounts of potential, didn’t have the depth and substance that I wanted. The story was interesting and kept me going, though it was a fairly standard cyberpunk rebels-topple-the-evil-corporation, and the twists had the seeds of greatness but it didn’t quite live up to its potential. Voice acting was a bit shaky at times, but Nilin, the protagonist, was excellently acted. The memory remix segments were super fun and there should have been more of them.

Basically, it was a game that didn’t quite reach far enough, and had it been longer and gone deeper into the fascinating, beautifully-constructed world or the interesting and diverse cast of characters, it would have been quite simply amazing. I’ll definitely buy any and all story DLC that comes out, because it left me wanting more. A lot more.

With any luck, a sequel with more exploration and a better focus on characterization will be forthcoming!

90

Ths could be an awesome series.

AlbusDlx | June 11, 2013 | See all AlbusDlx's reviews »

I had only seen this game just a few months before release and I was extremely excited for it. I was a bit nervous I was going to be let down do to the mixed reviews, but I followed my instinct and I was right. I loved this game. it has a beautiful flow to it, which you dont see to often in games. The remixes are evenly spaced out and work well with the story snd gameplay. Combat and Boss fights are very fun, not too tough on nornal mode. Creating your own combos with different "Pressens" (Damage, Health Regen, Special Cooldown, and One more) worked extremely well for me. BOTTOM LINE, Im extremely tough to satisfy when it comes to games, but the Story, Gameplay, Remixes, Collectables, and Graphics gave me truly an awesome expirience.

92

That great staging

KellinCore | June 11, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

History new, conclusive, funny, somewhat linear but unique in its kind, had never enjoyed so much an adventure yet to see so much great detail and different gameplay had not seen in another game. has something that no other game compares it to that special difference that it does something unique, and enjoy it is the best of all, a very well made graphics, and rank as a great game that you should enjoy life

90

A gripping story

espeditow | June 11, 2013 | See all espeditow's reviews »

I confess that since the announcement, this game did not impress me at all, considering that I usually rarely like the games "CRAPCOM", ie, it did not create any expectations.

The game is set in a Neo-Paris in the year 2084, where the "lucrative fashion" is changing memories. The drama of the game plays well in 8 episodes which has the enrendo holds you till the end, worthy film.

The game is well balanced, with its difficulties and distributed, to give a few extra hours to 100% obsessed with the game also features a variety of collectibles that are not hard to find, and the gameplay is dynamic highlighting how to create combos which significantly increases the range of motion and attacks.

The visual surprisingly light level and worked, it is worth remembering that the game is still in DX9, being this generation and be versions for the consoles, the graphics do not vary greatly from platform to platform, at least this game does not have differences things are minimal

65

Beautiful world, great soundrack, good story - lacking combat

Fluffy_McFluff | June 10, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

Remember Me is a decent Batman: Arkham Asylum/City clone in terms of its combat system - having a variety of enemies which each have different mechanics to recognize, obey and abilities to avoid. Likewise, different enemies have different take-me-down-first priorities.

What makes Remember Me unique is its customizable combo system. As much as I appreciate the developer's attempt at creating a unique and original spin on the combo system, the game's mechanics - in conjunction with the behavior of the combo system - it's really not of much fun, or use, in late-game.

You end up getting swarmed by enemies, and have to spend more time dodging than attacking. Thus, combos get broken prematurely, and you lose the opportunity to attack and gain the benefits of attacking - health regen from some hits, cooldown reduction from others, etc.

This makes late-game very frustrating. I get that late-game is meant to be difficult, but Remember Me doesn't do itself any favors by deliberately hampering your progression by limiting your ability to cope with limited ability-usage, numerous enemies, and large numbers of "special" enemies.

I see where they were trying to go with the combat, and I get the feeling that they really wanted it to be something great, something unique to each individual player, but didn't have enough time and/or resources to test the combat/encounters throughout the entire game to the fullest extent.

All-in-all: great concept, beautiful world with a great soundtrack, a decent story - but the combat is a little lacking.

74

Nice idea for a game

DunkerGZ | June 10, 2013 | See all DunkerGZ's reviews »

The game may a linear and the combat sistem a little to simple, but the world the game is set in and the story is told are awesome. If u like ciberpunk worlds and movies like Minority Report, this will be a fun experience for you.

60

Pretty good

Stebsis | June 10, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Remember Me definitely piqued my interest when I first saw it, but it also seemed like the kind of game that has only good idea but really nothing else going for it. Unfortunately it's somewhat true.

The main character Nilin isn't really interesting, she has a good voice actor but I didn't feel like I got to really know her. Story pretty interesting in the beginning, though really cliched at first, as the main character loses her memories. You get to kind of hack into other people's memories, but the story nor the gameplay never seems to really take full advantage of all the cool things.

Combat system is pretty interesting, you can create your own combos which is neat, but often times really bad camera angle isn't really helping you to pull them off.

The game is linear. Really linear. They create this huge, great looking Neo Paris filled with all sorts of things you'd like to explore, go around and do stuff and talk to people and just all sorts of things, but they do absolutely nothing with it. The game practically never goess of the path or gives you anything interesting to explore. The game is also pretty short, took me about 6 hours and there's just no reason to go back playing it.

There's just so much lost potential in Remember Me that it makes it a bit sad what they accomplished here. Platforming is your fairly boring Prince of Persia style with clear markings where to go and only one route to take. You can clear the whole game in one evening and it's just linear. It's still really fun game to play when it does things right with the story and combat system. If you're not bothered by linearity and want somewhat interesting story and good combat system with interesting mechanics this might be for you, but if you wanted to go out and explore a futuristic Neo Paris and hack people's minds all around etc. this might be a disappointment.

80

Linear, simple... and compellingly beautiful

wiper | June 9, 2013 | See all wiper's reviews »

Remember Me is about as straightforward as they come - a straight A-B story, with straight A-B level design. Its brawling is basic, but satisfying; its plot never more than passably told, but compelling nonetheless. And yet it manages to be more than the sum of its parts, thanks largely to it featuring absolutely wonderful art direction, and one of the strongest, most interesting female leads in a computer game.

I only wish the developers had had the budget to be a little more ambitious - in terms of narrative flexibility, freedom to explore and/or the mechanics of combat - as improvements on any or all of those fronts could easily have led to this being a modern classic, rather than just a decent game with excellent frills.

96

Ignore the codbros

aqualibrium | June 8, 2013 | See all aqualibrium's reviews »

So I finished Remember Me yesterday and decided to take some time on a review. This is a spoiler free review.

I absolutely loved this game. I thought I would – and I was super excited about it – but I will admit that to some extent the mixed reviews had me a bit worried. I bought it anyway, because fuck IGN.

And I’m really glad that I did.

Overall, there were a few things that I think could have been done better, but it was an amazing introduction to what I hope will be a series of games. After playing the game, I found some reviews (especially IGN’s) to be way too harsh on what were really tiny problems. Also, they were somewhat hypocritical and I’m not totally sure they quite knew what they wanted from the game. Criticism ranged from “combat was repetitive” (it’s really not if you do it right) to “the game is too short,” which I find somewhat contradictory. If the game was longer, wouldn’t it be even more repetitive?

Anyway, a breakdown of what I loved and hated.

I loved:

Nilin. All of the characters were great – I also particularly loved Bad Request – but Nilin was especially well done. A female POC (and yes, she is a WOC) who wasn’t sexualized and was really badass while also being vulnerable? Yes. I think they struck the right balance between the two – Nilin was never a damsel in distress, but she had emotions and weaknesses. She’s also intelligent and asks questions when they need to be asked, which I found refreshing (some RPGs have the main character be so oblivious to others’ intentions that it’s annoying). The story. Some reviews criticized the linearity of the game, but I actually found it really perfect. There were enough side tasks (gathering information about the world, the scaramechs) that were integrated into the storyline to make it interesting while also keeping the story intact. The plot. Without spoilers, let me say that there were some things that definitely took me by surprise. I felt invested enough in many of the characters (Nilin, Bad Request) to care for their well-being. The remixes. These were absolutely amazing and new. Definitely a grey morality system here. There were some things I had to do that made me go “shit, that’s fucked up” but it also made sense. You did some terrible things for an ultimately good cause – it really did fall into an “ends justifies the means” category, which made it complex and deep. Combo changes. You can create your own combos and change them at any time, including in the middle of combat, which I did on major fights. This is what made the gameplay so interesting to me – and unlike several reviewers, I thought it kept the combat from feeling repetitive. The setting. Neo-Paris is incredible. The wealthy parts are utterly gorgeous, while the dark places are creepy and sadistic. It was perfect. Even better, one of the side things you can do is collect information on the world and the people in it, which made the game seem even more developed and complex. I didn’t love:

The camera, sometimes. Most of the time, the camera was fine. Occasionally, however, it would go in weird angles. Bugs. The vast majority of the game was glitch-free, but there were a few moments where I had problems with the dialogue. That’s pretty much expected on release, though. Combat, kind of. Several people have mentioned difficulties with combat, though I didn’t see this outside of some of the major fights. I constantly changed my combos to suit what I needed at the moment, though, and I could see how it could be really difficult for those who don’t mess with them as much. I wanted to explore the setting more. Many reviews have mentioned that the game isn’t as interactive as they would have liked, and I agree. Neo-Paris was so incredibly beautiful that I kind of wish I had more options to wander around.

My score: 9/10.

To summarize, Remember Me is an amazing game with a great lead character. I’m glad I decided to buy the game despite the reviews, and I’m about to start my second playthrough now.

62

A huge let down...

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | See all crispy52's reviews »

Remember me is a game that obviously needed more time which is quite a huge let down. I looked at this game with high hopes and i was very much leaving after a few hours of gameplay. The puzzle elements are nice i suppose, though there are many problems. I liked the idea of being able to reach into someones mind and synchronize with them, the only problem is that there seems to only be 3 or 4 of these segments within the game itself. Which is a shame because that sounds like a lot of fun. The other problem is although there are puzzles within the game, the game tells you where to go and where to jump on the puzzle. How is it a puzzle with those indicators? As far as i am concerned, you cannot turn that off either. The fighting is generally fun in a sense that it takes off of the new Batman games, but it is generally really easy to fight. On the hardest difficulty, i didn't lose one bar of health in the first 3 hours of playing. Mainly because the game makes it completely obvious on when to actually counter an attacking person. Which is another shame. All you do is hit one button and the game pretty much insta-kills the opponent with a counter. The game lacks in a difficulty setting, although it has proven to probably be a fun casual gaming experience to some, in my opinion it is very glitchy and very buggy. Which is a shame, was looking forward to this title.

96

A rewarding risk

aqualibrium | June 7, 2013 | See all aqualibrium's reviews »

I really just don’t comprehend why everyone was ragging so hard on this game. Other than, y’know, racism and misogyny, because as much as that sounds like a “card” to pull…c’mon. It’s a fantastic game, so far. I know I’ve said that a lot, so here’s a break down of what I am and am not liking thus far (keeping in mind i’m about mid-point of episode 5):

Negatives: Combo-style combat is somewhat difficult to time, especially if you’re not good at combos in general. if you WERE good with combos in old side-scrollers, this will probably be a lot easier. Camera often goes weird during combat, which can make it difficult to see. “easy” mode is more like mid-level mode for all other games. Seriously. I’m on the easiest mode there is and I’m still having to replay some of these larger fight sequences five to six times. Not for the easily frustrated! Healing primarily relies on combos, rather than any healing items. I kind of hesitate putting this as a negative, per se, because I also really like the lack of a needless inventory and item trawl.

Positives: Totally linear storyline (thus far) without any of the fetch-quest, side-line bullshit of other RPGs. Very well fleshed out characters, even the minor ones, with utterly fantastic voice actors and animations. There’s a little bit of overly-exposition dialogue right at the very beginning, but it actually gets called out by one of the characters “IE, can you shut the fuck up, i don’t care right now, we have shit to deal with.” The rest of the info is very carefully metered through the story and I love that. Grey-moral worldview that isn’t overly hyped up. No self congratulatory talk here, but also a very deep story about moral choices in a world where there is no fully right answer. Normally I’m really, really picky about these because I tend to feel that most people actually write white-black morality and call it “grey,” but Remember Me is doing this well so far. A very intuitive interface that really didn’t need the whole introductory tool tip shit to be understood. Gorgeous atmosphere, that easily goes from sci-fi espionage to an utterly horrific creepfest. It’s a glorious game to play in the dark.

The character designs. THE. CHARACTER. DESIGNS. Look up Tommy and you’ll understand what i’m talking about. Just look at him. ;laksjdf;ljdsfoijwalkds. I’ll find pictures and reblog him cause YES. Nilin. All the Nilin all the time, she’s wonderful and sassy and sweet while also being hardcore, and just ugh. <3 S CREW THE DUDEBRO GAMERS, THIS GAME RULES.

75

Forgot you

spycid | June 7, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Despite having beautiful futuristic Neo Paris and a refreshing combat system, this game fails to gather any kind of momentum which all the hype and rumors build. A new take on action adventure often failed on linear gameplay, corridor movement and yet the game is definitely worth a try especially when such an amazing discount going on so early of it's release.

85

New IP New Horizon. Female lead? What's wrong with female lead!?

HKZonda | June 7, 2013 | See all HKZonda's reviews »

Remember Me is a unique game, the atmosphere and the world are very artistic and unexpectedly rich in detail. Frankly speakin this is the first game coded with an UE engine that doesn't look like one, instead it's more of a Source. I just love the way the designers played with the 2D vectors/glitches effects/pixelization and mixed them all together to create a true Remember Me style. Some ppl may reference this game to Batman and Assassin's Creed, but I tell you this is not the case, there are much more to play/customizations during the combats and the platform parts are much less tedious than AS. So far I have finished Chapter 4 on highest difficulty, the boss fights for each chapter so far were very challenging, always new, thoughtful and well designed. I died a few times challenging each of them, but once you found their weaknesses and made a good combination of your character(Nilin)'s abilities, you will be amazed and amused. The bgm is incredible as well, especially for the parts where you are chased and fought the Zorns, that's just plain adrenaline rush. This game definitely worth its money. The only drawback is that there are nothing serious but small bugs (e.g. auto drop after climbing up the first edge/missing door/stuck in the cell) here and there, you just need to reload a checkpoint to get rid of them, and checkpoints are saved quite frequent automatically, so it doesnt matter much. This is so far the best game published by Capcom in recent years, GREAT GAME!

85

Absolutely worth your time.

fable2 | June 7, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Remember Me seems like it's destined to be one of the great overlooked gems of this generation. It's criminal how little attention the game is getting. Yes, the traversal and combat mechanics are decidedly average and the plot borrows heavily from Total Recall... but the main character and the vibrantly colorful world of Neo-Paris that she inhabits are just so stylish and interesting that it makes the experience as a whole feel much more than "average". I would highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoyed the style and aesthetic of Mirror's Edge and especially to anyone who is a fan of Ninja Theory's games because Remember Me bears more than a passing resemblance to Heavenly Sword, Enslaved, and DmC.

60

Don't remember me

lok0812 | June 6, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is your typical hack and slash game without the weapons. The player transverse around the world solving simple puzzle doing platforming and beating the repetitive enemies. The combat style is pretty unique since you can create your own combo chain and each hit can affect the damage of the next. The style is similar to Batman AC or Sleeping Dogs with the hit and counter mechanics. One downsize of this is if you changed target in the middle of your combo your combo reset back to the beginning causing you to lose the bonus. The graphic of this game is top notch, it is as beautiful as Bioshock Infinite.

Another bad point is the character can be delayed during movement causing her to fall off and die sometime and when a character die it takes you back to the checkpoint causing everything done in between to be gone including setting up your combo string. It feels like the character just all of the sudden couldn't remember her own skills.

One good aspect is you are able to visit a targets memory and alter it to your advantage to rescue an event. Player can rewind back the time and alter with things that will change the outcome. Even though this game have some good point but it is outweighed y the bad. If you insisted on getting it wait until a sale or you will be just put into a generic action game that you have played before.

75

Good immersion and interesting story but a bit 'on-rails'

emc2boi | June 6, 2013 | See all emc2boi's reviews »

After playing for several hours, the biggest thing that I enjoyed was not only the beauty of the scenery but the really small technical details such as the way Nilin's weight shifts when she's going down or up a steep slope. The Combo Lab mechanic adds an interesting twist on how you approach combat and certain enemy fights, it limits your arsenal of combos and adds complexity as well as simplicity to combat. It has a similar feel to the freeflow combat system of Batman's Arkham series of games. That aside, the story is rather linear and on rails as it guides you to each objective.

80

Great story, great world, fun and strategic combat ideas.

Kyosai7 | June 5, 2013 | See all Kyosai7's reviews »

Basically, yeah. The story is fantastic, the world even moreso. I LOVE the idea behind the combat. The idea is that you choose which attacks in a combo do what. Some accelerate the cooldown of your specials, some deal more damage, some heal you, and some boost the previous effect. The clunky controls hold the game back from true greatness, though.

Regardless, this is a fantastic debut from a new studio, and Nilin is a wonderful protagonist that I would dearly love to accompany on some more adventures.

76

Small beginnings

Scorpy | June 4, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

A great start to what hopefully becomes a more fleshed-out series. Although the game's most interesting and fun parts, the memory remixes, only appear a meager 4 times in the game, it's still a fun ride. The customized combat system keeps fighting from becoming stale, and the environment and music create a fantastic atmosphere.

Although it might not be worth the full asking price, not many games are. Still, Remember Me is a fantastic game that should be enjoyed, short as it may be.