Reviews for Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition (NA)

70

A bit disappointing but free

viriel | Jan. 9, 2014 | See all viriel's reviews »

After enjoying the first Guild Wars and all of it's expansions I decided to give Guild Wars 2 a try on the advice of a friend. All of the promotional material seemed really promising so I went with the digital deluxe version. Years down the road from it's launch I can say I was overall disappointed with the game and my decision to get the deluxe edition, I feel it wasn't worth the extra money. I enjoyed it for awhile but it just sank into the normal MMO routines and any innovations it brought seemed lost in the pool of sameness. Sure the quest system was nice but only because it seemed to be a convenience, I never did mind having to goto the quest giver and having them be happy with what I'd done. The system in GW2 seems designed to make players a bit lazier and my rating reflects that.

Overall I'd say for only the cost of initial investment it may be worth your time, however I enjoyed Star Trek Online and TOR more than GW2. This may put me in a minority of people reviewing this game especially with TOR being crippling unless you pay but that is my opinion.

75

A fun MMO experience well worth the price

Lexanderion | Dec. 17, 2013 | See all Lexanderion's reviews »

It's rare to see a subscription-free MMO be any good. They either turn out badly, or become pay2win. Guild Wars 2 does not suffer from either of those flaws, and is a fantastic game well worth the buy in investment. There are many different classes and races, the questing system has you instigated and involved and it doesn't feel like you are idle waiting around some mob to respawn. There is just so much to do, it can be a bit of a time sink. Crafting is awesome in this as well, just be careful not to spend all your gold in getting materials. All in all it's a great game. It CAN be a bit challenging for newcomers of the MMO Experience however, as both pve and pvp require good understanding of the gameplay mechanics. So grab a few friends and level together, you're better off with company that will have your back and save you from trouble!

96

I would buy this now. It only gets better from here.

EggsBenedict | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all EggsBenedict's reviews »

The game has been getting patches constantly, and the patches don't just consist of profession tweaks and nerfs. No, they add NEW CONTENT all the time, to a new jumping puzzle, to a new dungeon, even to a whole new area on the map. But what about the game? It has the most fun leveling that I have ever experienced in an MMO. Most MMO's make it seem almost grindy, and you feel like you are just playing with the only fun goal in mind of making it to the highest level, where the game really starts. I can tell you, this game fixes that error flawlessly. From 1-80 you will feel engaged in the game, and more than likely fixated on the story. After buying this game (you will buy this game) go ahead and read up on some GW2 lore. The story is amazing, better than that of any other single play fantasy game on the market (yes, even skyrim); and imagine that every two weeks or so new content involving that amazing story line gets pushed out for you two play, free of extra charge. You will save so much money buying this game, its unfair to the developers.

90

Good Game - Great Value

redmangamerx311 | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all redmangamerx311's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 has a lot to offer for what it costs. There is structured PvP that you can play as soon as you finish the new character tutorial, world versus world which is also immediately accessible (although better experienced at 80 with friends), several five man PvE dungeons, world events from small tasks that can be solo'd to dragons that require a raid, Guild events, jump puzzles, a personal(ized) story, a home instance, and activities (crab toss, belcher's bluff, and a few more).

Guild Wars 2 has no dedicated healers or tanks and its combat is action oriented requiring players to constantly position and dodge.

I think Guild Wars 2's biggest downfall is a lack of communication from the dev team, a lack of consistent direction for the game's development, and the inability to address player concerns in a timely manner. It took a full year to develop the looking for group tool and it will be some time longer before we have a customizable game client, never mind the often blinding overuse of particle effects that make timing your dodge or even finding the rear side of a monster often impossible.

Guild Wars 2 is well worth the money despite a few nagging issues but misses the mark of feeling like a true MMO. Instant travel makes the world feel small and insignificant. Lack of EQ style factions make your actions feel meaningless. Being able to do almost anything either with or without direct cooperation and coordination of other players is both positive in that you never feel like you have to schedule your real life around the game but negative in that you never feel truly needed by the other players.

I gave Guild Wars 2 an A- (90/100) rating due to the extreme value as a game even though it misses the mark of being a great MMO.

90

Much better than TERA

moxxon | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all moxxon's reviews »

I've played quite a few mmos in the past, and GW2 does remind me abit of TERA as having played the latter first instead of GW2.

It had me convinced and I took a leap of faith after looking at its numerous awards and feedback coupled with that GMG was the only one offering it on sale. I entered with really low expectations thinking it was just your average mmo and a time filler and exploration sorta mmo, something I'd chuck away in a month or two after levelling one or two characters...

I have never been so wrong...I was expecting grinds and real effort to be put into levelling to get to at least end game....this game really wants to get you to end game fast...you level at everything, be it crafting, questing or exploring the maps...I had a few friends join me in getting the game and was a little worried that the levels i had in advance might hinder our partying...the game mechanics are so awesome that it scales you to the map content almost immediately which is really good when you're say...a level 60 but your friend has just started....

I'd really recommend this well polished game and they literally come out with updates and events and contents every fortnight.

Tired of WoW Pandas? Diablo 3 not working? LOTRO seems to loreish to swallow? Get this game even if the above hasn't hit you yet...and GMG is offering it on sale.

Get It!

80

Not perfect, but worth your time

LightningMelon | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all LightningMelon's reviews »

I'm not a huge fan of MMOs, but Guild Wars 2 did enough to get me interested. The lack of a subscription fee is a huge plus, and the basic gameplay is good, if not really all that revolutionary. It's an absolutely gorgeous game to look at, and the lack of a sub fee means that you'll have an easier time getting friends to buy in and actually play with you. All in all, it won't make you like MMOs if you didn't already. But, if you do and are looking for the next big game, this is it.

87

Lots of Fun. Bring friends.

JonnyDel | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all JonnyDel's reviews »

Easy to jump into a lots of systems to take the grind out that you get in typical MMOs. The random events that pop up in the area mean there's almost always something to do. The character level scaling means that there could always be some semblance of danger as well, which is nice to know. The monthly updates also mean there is a steady drip of fresh content.

This game is fine to play alone but really shines when you bring some friends and combo off each others skills.

I recommend this game!

74

Good game and no monthly fee

johnnyt305 | Oct. 15, 2013 | See all johnnyt305's reviews »

This game has all of the basics you want in an MMORPG. God graphics, good combat that is a mix of action and tar-targetted, lots of quests, dungeons, pvp minigames, and a decent story. They add lots of content and events every couple months to keep players interested as well. It is not as good as FFXIV: ARR to me, but it is still a top MMORPG right now.

81

Good game

Rawnblade1213 | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all Rawnblade1213's reviews »

Tons of fun while playing with other people, and the quest system is the most organic and interesting interpretation of quest giving I've ever seen. Sure there's the "kill 10 rats" or "pick 30 vanilla blossom" quests, but the ambient events are awesome.

You can just walk around and find yourself engaged in combat with a giant monster of the deep or whatever. Highly recommend if you're sick of MMOs like WOW, I stopped playing but I think that was due more to me not liking MMOs as much as I thought I did. No monthly subscription either! So play as little or as much as you want!

81

Good game

Rawnblade1213 | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all Rawnblade1213's reviews »

Tons of fun while playing with other people, and the quest system is the most organic and interesting interpretation of quest giving I've ever seen. Sure there's the "kill 10 rats" or "pick 30 vanilla blossom" quests, but the ambient events are awesome.

You can just walk around and find yourself engaged in combat with a giant monster of the deep or whatever. Highly recommend if you're sick of MMOs like WOW, I stopped playing but I think that was due more to me not liking MMOs as much as I thought I did. No monthly subscription either! So play as little or as much as you want!

94

Best mmo i have played in a long time.

undeadriku | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all undeadriku's reviews »

this game is super good. i can not tell you how much time i already have invested in this game and how i just spent hours upon hours just goofing around looking for every corner on the map. There is so much to do and its baffling how big the world is. tho i would recommend finding a friend to play with or maybe for a better experience find a guild cause this game gets fun and very crazy very fast if you are playing with friends. Bottom line worth every penny and best of all its free of subscriptions.

100

Awesome

roman9441 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all roman9441's reviews »

The best MMO. I play the first guild war but the problem is the first one is very hard and it not so friendly for the user. Because I'm come after the game is release for a while so no one do the quest with me. Guildwars 2 fix many problem of this by you can share the quest i think it the game that Level doesn't matter much because when event happens there always some one to help you I mean real player and those bot so it really easy for level up and it fun. But sometime I'm found out that some quest is difficult for the me because may be I don't have enough good equipment to fight with those enemy. But I love that other player can help each other for quest even you can revive the falling player around the map the idea is awesome i never found in other game. The game is require a bit high spec. I remember i use core 2 to play this game it very slow like matrix when Neo dodge those bullet.

But this game is awesome anyway. :)

98

TOP MMO

Lil_DesiresU | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Lil_DesiresU's reviews »

best MMO ive played. open world, good classes alot of fun in a guild, ive reached level 40 and still going, level cap is 80, but thats where the fun begins, joining a guild is rewarding, events are great. and gets updates weekly.wide weapon range and great armours, graphics are great. i wont stop playing this for a long while,

85

Something Different

CreationsAU | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all CreationsAU's reviews »

Having played WoW for many years and eventually kicking the regular log in I was looking for something new to fill the void. I had followed GW2 during its development and then picked it up on release.

The game is great and offers different settings for your typical mmo, there is still a grind to it, however you can level off so many different things and really doesn't take that long at all.

It is more enjoyable with friends however, while the game scales for solo play you most fun to be had is group and world events along with the guild challenges and puzzles.

Enjoy the ride, getting to max level of 80 doesn't really open a huge amount of gameplay, you can access everything as you level, and if you don't meet the required levels it will auto scale you up or down to fit the content.

If your bored of WoW or other samey mmo's give GW2 a try it really is a blast.

83

Good with others

gdog0211 | Sept. 4, 2013 | See all gdog0211's reviews »

Its a very good mmo but nowadays zones aren't as populated making dynamic events kinda dull unless you have a group of friends to play with. Which in that case the game is great. PvP is quite fun and is the only real lasting appeal as endgame PvE is rather dull.

90

Solid B2P MMO

Zilly01 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all Zilly01's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is a solid buy to play MMO with a "living world" that adds new contect every 2 weeks. Arena Net has removed the gear treadmill in the common sense where you can acquire max stat gear fairly easily, but you will need to run dungeons and grind for skins. The WvWvW feature is very similar to DAoC and allows for great battles. The making or breaking point in this game will come down to if you can find a good guild to enjoy the times with as the solo content for end game runs out fairly quickly. After all, the game is called "Guild Wars" for a reason.

92

Best MMO

djriful | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all djriful's reviews »

So far, this is the best MMO so far, get your friend to join in to play. If you don't have any you can find more in the game.

Game experience is casual for the moment, bi-weekly content updates are coming in fast. No it's not like World of Warcraft, that you need to login per day to keep up with everyone. You will catch up after taking a 2-4 weeks break. You won't be far behind.

90

One of the Best MMOs

Ben4214 | Aug. 31, 2013 | See all Ben4214's reviews »

I have tried many MMOs over the years (WoW, Rift, SWToR) and Guild Wars 2 tops all of them, whether you play with friends or alone this game will have something for you. The quests are more then get x amount of z item, they help immerse you in ANet's wonderful universe. I have played GW2 for over a year and would recommend it to anyone.

78

Casual MMO

ohthomas | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all ohthomas's reviews »

This mmo is absolutely great for someone new to the mmo scene, or just a casual player who enjoys the mmo genre. The no subscription fee caters to the casual gamer, as a lot of other mmo's don't offer such a feature. The combat system is also fun to experience, but does wear out rather fast. Plus, the end-game content is really lacking in Guild Wars 2, and I'm not a fan of the selected pvp zones. So for the more core type of gamers, you might want to avoid this game, as it really doesn't suit those type of people. All and all it is a great game, and you should be aware of the people it is trying to market.

85

Changing the Grind

webrunner | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all webrunner's reviews »

One might assume, at first glance, that Guild Wars 2 is a pretty standard MMO. You pick a race and a class, and fight monsters blah blah blah, but there's a lot more to this game. First, you don't have to pay a monthly fee, so it's always going to sit there for you whenever you want to play it. Secondly, the game has a tonne of exploration elements - jumping puzzles, hidden areas, etc, - that you actually get rewarded for finding. Third, the 'quests' are designed such that you can do multiple different goals - for example, the quest area might just say "Help out defending so and so" so you can fill up that bar by healing guards, killing the enemies attacking, resetting traps, etc. You can stay out of combat entirely if you'd like.

Also the Engineer totally has a flamethrower as a special ability.

94

Not perfect but definitely one of the best!

merlik | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all merlik's reviews »

I have been enjoying Guild Wars 2 for just over a year now and I am not tired with it at all. I tended to hop from MMO to MMO. With Guild Wars 2 though, there are so many things that are just done right that I love it.

That said, there are some things that you will have to get used to. I finally convinced my wife to give it a try as she has been an avid WoW player for years. I am taking her through some of the starter areas and she is definitely having to relearn some things because the game just plays differently than WoW.

The new content every 2 weeks is both a blessing and a curse. I work a lot so at times I will completely miss a storyline, but at least I know almost anytime I log in, there will be something to do.

I highly recommend you give this game a try, and make sure to try it with an open mind. Take your time just exploring around, and don't try to rush leveling too much. You will hit 80 faster than you realize.

97

Awesome game!

dacimvrl | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all dacimvrl's reviews »

The graphics is breathtaking, the game play is solid for both PvP and PvE. Not to mention the cross-server WvW mechanics. This is indeed a genre-defining game that is here to say. Oh, NO MONTHY SUB!!

85

A cool MMO

Camo260 | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all Camo260's reviews »

This game is not the same as any other MMO, Each weapon you use on a character has many different skills instead of just a single auto-attack.The world is large and vast and the scenery is great, it always a challenge to get to some of the vistas located on the map.

When playing this you definitely have to try out World vs World where you hold territories on 4 maps from 2 other servers. You get to break through the gates of fortresses and castles using siege that takes team effort to construct.

This is a cool mmo with a unique game style and added content like one time world events happening all the time.

78

Brilliant At Times

teamcanuck | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all teamcanuck's reviews »

ArenaNet has outdone themselves creating a sequel to 2005's GW1. It's questing, it's story, is simply brilliant. Look at the other reviews here and you'll see plenty of players praising the game for what it does right. It's a living, breathing world that in ways you end up caring about, but, in ways, it leaves you wanting more.

This game gives you standard MMO fare, dungeons, etc, but makes them horribly insignificant. It lets multiple players mix spells together to create combos. but gives you barely a reason to ever actually need to group up.

GW2 is a multiplayer game played alone. Grouping up for a world boss has zero benefit. You'll find yourself alone in a room that's filled with people, because in the end, everyone is doing their own thing, alone.

The PvE is stale. ArenaNet has done many 'living world' updates, but in the end, it's just a World Event from Rift: a few fun quests to do here and there for a week. The last PvE update of any consequence was back in November. You're almost forced into the sPvP/WvW end of things to get new content, which is pretty much the only place you'll get decent player-to-player interaction, but even then,WvW has de-evolved into many Zerg vs.Zerg. What's great about non-tactical combat?

It's very polished, it's story tugs at your heart-strings, and it's class system is insanely deep, and diverse. Problem is, as a MMO, a game you're supposed to play for a long time, it falls flat because the developers haven't put enough emphasis on playing together. It's a game filled with situations where 20+ people are standing next to each other,playing alone.

The journey's fun, though a bit lonely. It's a console game: you play it to hit level 80 and walk away.

80

Make friends fast

fieryrainbow | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all fieryrainbow's reviews »

I quite enjoyed playing the game with my friends, running around the feild killing monsters and doing events. The gameplay is quite simple, with 8 skills chosen from a set of many. The events are quite fun, and you dont aways know what will happen when u travel to new lands. But one thing was that the fun part was playing with friends, once my friends started to migrate onto other MMOs, and i found myself alone in the game, i noticed i died a lot more and it just isnt as fun as a single player.

89

Solid MMO

machineh3d | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all machineh3d's reviews »

Love this game well polished and plenty of contend ive been playing it for a few months now and have not been bored with it at all

84

Good mmo

lonewolf019 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lonewolf019's reviews »

This was my 2nd mmo and I enjoyed it. I didn't care much for how the sidequests where handled though. Although I enjoyed the pvp alot! Graphics where good as well, and the stories seemed rather interesting from what I have played so far

95

A Masterpiece

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is an MMO that is not for the average MMO players. If you like grinding mobs, you will be disappointed. If you like grinding quest, you will be disappointed. If you like grinding for god like equipment, you will be disappointed. If you like more endgame grinding to feel like God, boy are you going to be disappointed. In short, if you are looking for old school MMO qualities, this is -NOT- the game for you. If you are not, welcome to the future.

Guild Wars 2 is the ONLY MMO that allows me to level in multiple ways. To get my exotic equipment in multiple ways. To complete "achievement/task" in multiple ways.

In old school MMO, everyone and every character level up the same way, either grinding quest or grinding mobs. In Guild Wars 2, there are many ways to get yourself to level 80 because everything you do reward you with EXP proportional to your level. You can craft your way to level 80. You can travel the world and explore your way to level 80. You can grind dungeons to level 80. You can join WvW and fight (pvp) your way to level 80. Of course, the gods of grind can even grind themselves to level 80 (I do not recommend this though).

Gears are no different. You can get them from multiple sources. You do not have to rot in certain dungeons to get IMBA gears only to be obsolete come next update. Top tier equipment are equal in power and they can be obtained from multiple sources. If you want to look good (like me), then you will have to play harder to earn the "best" looking skins. (Beauty is in the eye of the beholder)

The art-style in this game is "beautiful" and simply brilliant. Instead of trying to be too realistic or too flamboyant, the entire game looks like a painting, with brush strokes even. This gives the game a unique and lasting visual appeal. I believe it will age very well.

I feel that ArenaNet is sincere in trying to make a revolutionary game and they are financially very generous. You buy the game once and you can enjoy living update every 2 weeks a month for as long as Guild Wars 2 is running. They deserve no less than a 10.

p/s: If you do join us in Guild Wars 2 and find yourself in a rather empty zone, it may not mean that the game has not enough players as some would claim. Unlike -OLD- MMO games, players in Guild Wars 2 do not need to cluster in some quest hub or leveling zone doing the same thing to level. Players are more spread out but you can still find enough of them around world boss spawn points

93

A pretty Good MMO

Dagizmo | July 11, 2013 | See all Dagizmo's reviews »

Its a game full of life, different for any other MMO, there is no kill steal, all players works as Team triying to archieve goals.

They keep the game fresh whit monthly events that gives temporal things to do and is rewarding, also the exploration is amazing and its a big big world.

88

Great MMO with Friends

alex13111 | July 9, 2013 | See all alex13111's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is an amazing MMORPG. It is also a ton of fun with friends. The controls are pretty easy to learn, and the skill system is also fun to master. The game is also beautiful, graphically. The leveling system in place allows for fair competition when doing quests with friends. One of the bests aspects of this game is the lack of a subscription fee. This makes it highly accessible to wide range of people, including myself. As previously mentioned, this is a game best played with friends. It can get a little lonely in Tyria when adventuring by yourself. That is my only drawback to this game.

72

Guild wars 2

12kool2 | July 7, 2013 | See all 12kool2's reviews »

This game is very fun. A intense mmo with a lot to do with your friends and more. Very creative fighitng and not just grinding.

90

Great MMORPG

punjamin | July 7, 2013 | See all punjamin's reviews »

Okay, so I've played World of Warcraft, Rift, and The Secret World. I've delved into Free2Play MMORPGs as well. However, this game gives you such a break from all those other games!

It is unique in a way that you can develop your own story. Do you want to be a Noble wielding magic or melee? Do you want to be some loner rogue on a mission for vengeance or looking for money? Well you can have a hand at all of those!

If you are used to MMORPGs then the control set up will be very familiar. Learning the map may prove somewhat of a challenge, but that is a plus in my book. More land = more adventure.

I'm not big on PVP, so I will not get too much into this topic. However, suffice it to say that this game is built with that in mind: player vs player, guild vs guild, and even world vs world! There are achievements galore, many of the servers are half full or bursting at the seams (the latter creates a queue for you to travel between maps, very dull).

Now there is no subscription fee unlike WoW. It is similar to The Secret World (not in graphics) but in that you have to purchase in game currency for special perks (i.e. clothing sets, companions, or special potions). They usually have a reasonable price if you are looking to customize your character. However, this is completely optional and is not a requirement to progress.

All in all, it is a fantastic game. I do see this game fading away in the future, not too soon I hope, but something bigger and better will come along and steal it's thunder. In the mean time, since it is at a reduced price I suggest you buy it before it becomes impossible to find a suitable partner to co-op with.

90

A game worth buying

pandabandit | July 5, 2013 | See all pandabandit's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is simply amazing. There is just so much that you can do ranging from the main story missions, PvP, world vs world, and the monthly "living stories". There is so mcuh to do in so little time. A must-buy.

50

My first MMO

brandoshido | July 5, 2013 | See all brandoshido's reviews »

I bought this game on a whim because a buddy promised to play it with me. Well, he didn't commit. This review is in the eyes of a complete MMO newbie, so keep that in mind. I don't typically play these, I tried WoW and was very, very underwhelmed.

The interface for this game was very confusing for me, and to this day I still don't have it quite fully understood. The auction house stuff in particular was difficult to grasp and isn't nearly as straightforward as say, Diablo III's. The graphics are very good for an MM (from what I've been told), and the combat was actually pretty fun too. However, these pro's didn't save me from becoming lost very quickly and ended up doing a lot of nothing constructive during my time playing.

87

Best MMO out right now

DeathGamer95 | July 2, 2013 | See all DeathGamer95's reviews »

This game is so good, everyone should get it. You cant go wrong with buying it, the WvW is so amazing and it has a lot of replay ability.

95

Huge Leaps For The MMO Genre

Zealin | July 1, 2013 | See all Zealin's reviews »

This MMO does everything possible to make the "grind" pretty much non-existent. With multiple ways to complete pretty much every "normal" world map quest, and level scaling so you can even play with your low level friends, and still acquire GOOD experience, the MMO genre has now been turned into pure fun, without the lame "grind" we've all come to expect.

85

Definitely better than WoW

breetality | June 27, 2013 | See all breetality's reviews »

I love that this game is not subscription based, it helps introduce new players to the genre with amazing mechanics and an immersive universe. I would say that this game is definitely worth it's full price and a definite buy on sale!

85

Excellent but ...

winddragon1 | June 20, 2013 | See all winddragon1's reviews »

The first time you play this game will feel really fun but after you successfully got 3 lv80 characters, it's quiet boring. (Except who got really high speed internet and really good graphic card to access to PvP and WvW.) There are so many bugs in this game however.

100

Amazing Combat and Great for Newcomers

thegaminglyfe | June 18, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is one of the most impressive MMO's in the market right now. It combines some really great elements from other MMO's. For example, The Secret World had a really good idea for the combat but they didn't execute it very well. Guild Wars 2 takes a similar combat system and it is perfect. The story is very immersive and will keep you wondering what's going to happen. The leveling up has lots of depth so it can adjust to people's preferences. And the best part is that it is easy for newcomers if you don't play many MMO's. Highly recommended to newcomers and veterans of MMO's.

68

Changing GW2

mostnatebe66 | June 18, 2013 | See all mostnatebe66's reviews »

When I read that GW2 would be changing up the RPG formula to make more party compositions viable, I was both disappointed that my favorite profession (monk) was gone and excited that something new and possibly better was coming to the genre.

ANet was hands down 100% successful in making any party composition effective, but this came at a huge cost. If every profession is supposed to be basically interchangeable in a party, then it's by design that no profession has an overly important job. This makes differences between characters' roles extremely subtle and relegates everybody to doing basically the same things in slightly different ways.

Besides those types of simplifications, the skill library in GW2 has seen major "streamlining." In GW1 PvP, an entire match could rest on how PRECISELY a person used their character because so many of the best skills were conditional and CC. One ranger could cause a team wipe by correctly interrupting a healing spell and then interrupting several resurrection spells in a row. A monk could successfully counter a follow up spike by identifying the target early enough to cast protective spirit, or a mesmer could preempt that with diversion, or a warrior could disrupt that spell, and on and on.

Again, in GW2, designed around the idea that nobody is too important to replace, no profession has that kind of power any more. CC is still around, but who cares? Nobody has skills that are really that important to winning or losing; all you can do is hamper their DPS efficiency.

This change in focus from "precision" skill usage to "efficient" skill usage makes GW2 less like the trading card games that inspired GW1 and more like something somebody should write software to do automatically: tab, 1,1,1,2,4,4,3, repeat

85

Awesome MMO !

karluu | June 12, 2013 | See all karluu's reviews »

This game is great, it has all that you need to play hours and hours. Events, updates and more are always there to add more content to the game.

70

MMO with... a twist? Good or Bad?

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | See all crispy52's reviews »

This is a great mmo to the casual player. Which is fine, but that is really all this game is. The hype loaded it up and it became a rather fun game to play at first. Although by now the majority of players are at endgame or at the beginning. Not many people are in between so the dynamic events become events that you will probably have to solo and may even die trying. Aside from low population, the game tends to lack in skills. I don't know whose idea it was to only give you a few skills that you will be stuck with for the rest of the game, but it was dumb. Seeing the same animation repeatedly for 80 levels can be very boring. Even when you switch weapons you often ask yourself why would you do that if x/x combination is better? Then you are stuck at watching the same animations over and over. I was hoping for a skill tree. The WvWvW is generally very nice as well, although that has the same problem with the skills. It may be fun because you are with a bunch of people, but the lack of skills makes it boring after a few hours. EVERYONE HAS A HEAL. For any hardcore MMO gamer that wants to play a cleric, this is just bad. I would prefer to use the heal slot as a DPS slot on my thief instead of a smoke screen that heals. It was a good idea for casual players though. And the dungeons are very fun to play through with people, and the PVP is very fun. There is just a lack of gameplay at the end, and even sometimes everywhere else. The crafting system is a charm, and the gathering system is fun. Just a shame that most of the main gameplay mechanics for a hardcore MMO player lack. Not to mention the millions of chests you pickup that give you the option of buying a key for. The game is a huge improvement from GW1 and is better in the lights of a casual MMO gamer, but if you are looking for a hardcore experience with raids and dungeon parties, you should look elsewhere. The game gets old, and after being blinded by the hype for so long, i have come to realize the things that let me down.

70

Regular

kalil | June 7, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

I expected much more from this game, I found everywhere a great reputation saying it would even better than World of Warcraft, all darted to buy before it went on sale in many stores were sold out even before selling, but this neither is my MMO

Replay in the betas, I gave it a try and after the first month, she leaves.

Gameplay, 4

Play slow, boring combat and in many stressful moments, and pvp can not find the grace, without the possibility of duel between friends.

Technology, 6.5

Very well optimized game after going on sale, the character is very customizable.

Your way to update the game is very mediocre and lack of information, updates every few minutes over 200 mb (unless you have a good ADSL or fiber line, you'll be hours waiting to play)

Graphics, 8

A visual delight both the landscapes and the characters, if you have a good team with 4 cores and dedicated graphics rather powerful, if not ... may not enjoy the 8 points.

Sound, 7

It is always the same repetitive music on the same map, but with the option of adding your own audio and playlists to my saves

Innovation, 6

Such mmo revolution, much publicity ... and there is nothing that makes me feel proud to have purchased any mmo reminds me of today, only the sad difference heal all classes and all die in the dungeons, unless a couple of players devote only revive shakes peers, it seems very sad in that respect ...

The only good thing I see is the WvWvW (world against world against world) are assembled good carnage, but would be much better if it was faster to attack and interact.

75

Great for MMO Newbies--Like Me

nightrunner227 | June 6, 2013 | See all nightrunner227's reviews »

I've been playing GW2 since around the time it came out. It was my first ever MMO game, which I had picked mainly due to the lack of a monthly subscription. I can honestly say I don't regret it. GW2 is easy to get into and is generally fun to play.

The world map is quite large, with many interesting locales to visit. Exploring can bring you to vistas, where you can watch a neat mini-clip showing all the landscape has to offer. In general, the different zones look great, and the creatures, though somewhat limited, are also nice to see. Meanwhile, a great a very fitting soundtrack provides a perfect atmosphere to match everything you see and do.

Combat is a fun experience which starts out simple for beginners and gradually requires more strategy as you go into higher level zones. In addition, you are level capped according to what zone you're in, providing a challenge no matter where you go.

Personally, I tend to play solo, which I find to be enjoyable as I'm more of a SP-gamer. However, the group events, especially the Chest Bosses of certain zones are certainly highlights of the game while also requiring the help of several others.

The main downside to GW2 is the "questing" system. Rather than quests, you instead find events that randomly occur throughout the world. While this does give the world a sense of spontaneity and livelihood at first, it quickly becomes repetitive, making it seem like nothing more than a watered-down version of the traditional quest system.

100

Best MMO In The Market

yomegA | June 5, 2013 | See all yomegA's reviews »

Okay let's see. -No Monthly Pay -Quests are done in a unique kind of way -The Single Player is enjoyable and can be played with friends -There are group battles where it forces players to work together -The PVP is amazingly fun

Comparing this game to WoW is usually what people do in reviews,but just this game as a whole It's very enjoyable. I say get this game and have fun.

90

Buy to play MMO with Pay to win

lok0812 | June 5, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

GW2 improves from all aspect of GW1, first off a huge open world for players to explore for quests and events. All of these events are randomly generated depending on the area, it can range from a measly kill/escort quest to killing a huge zone boss.

The storyline of the game is rich and extensive from level all the way to level 80. Once the story is finished there are dungeons you can grind gears from and each of these dungeons have several paths for groups to take and each path is more challenging than the previous.

PVP take forms of World vs World as in servers vs servers and structured battle ground PVP with objectives. WvW have you represent as your server and battle against players in 2 other servers in a huge battlefield map. Structured PVP is similar to other MMO PVP with objective based.

Minigames, puzzles, achievements are also included in the game for players to tackle and achieve. Seasonal events exists just like other types of MMO. New personal story missions are introduced as well. All in all, there are just too many things GW2 have to offer and definitely worth trying out.

69

Endgame Review

panzer1 | June 4, 2013 | See all panzer1's reviews »

First off, leveling and combat is pretty great in GW2. but in my opinion, mmo's dont really start until you reach the endgame.

the endgame is lackluster. at least in terms of traditional mmo endgame. it's no surprise, since arenanet has specifically stated GW2 wont have gear progression and the endgame is basically leveling your character to 80. this was a big mistake.

there's simply nothing to do after you hit 80. to be fair, there are things to do, dungeons, fractals, WvW, etc, but there is little incentive to do anything. there are a number of dungeons, but because each dungeon rewards one specific gear set, you only farm one. and when youre done, there is no point to farm the others. there is no carrot on the stick so you lose your motivation to chase it. that is, you lose all sense of character progression, which is detrimental to an MMORPG.

there are 'legendary' items, but theyre more of an achievement than anything else. they take forever to farm and in the end, dont even provide a dps upgrade from the epics.

overall, it's probably worth the money for the leveling experience, but if youre looking for endgame content i would look elsewhere.