Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (NA)

100

Get lost in the world for 100s of hours

Knctrnl1 | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Knctrnl1's reviews »

And you will not get bored with it. Such freedom in games means you can do almost anything from following the quest chains to just wandering around and see the lands and maybe smacking a few things in the head. If you like the action combat and freedom it is a definite game to grab like all the Elder Scroll games. Also the modding community is huge. You can change the game so much.

97

Skyrim - Welcome to your new life.

StoneOcean | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all StoneOcean's reviews »

If you want a game that will envelope your senses, this is it. The music is absolutely stunning and thematic. You will be traveling through vast expanses of areas and everything that was put into this game - from the sounds at night to the sight of the lush vegetation on the horizon make everything seem alive. The quests at time can seem somewhat repetitive but are mostly always challenging. There are many things to do in this game and the story can take a backseat for many hours if you like to explore, at times I felt that exploring was more interesting than the story. The loot you can find feels like you earned it after some of the battles you fight. Even when you complete the game (which takes a VERY long time if you are someone who finds everything ) you can always use mods for more entertainment. As I mentioned, the standalone game is gorgeous, but just wait until you can add some of the graphics ( if your computer can handle it ). All in all, this is a very tight and addictive game. The only real shortcoming was the quests get somewhat tiring after a while and the dungeons can seem repetitive as well. I highly recommend you pick this up, it will give you many hours of entertainment.

96

Life Changing

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all romenjack's reviews »

does this game have problems? Yes. are there so many glitches that there will be times you just want to rage quite? Yes. is the game so awesome that you will play it for hours on end anyway. You bet. while this game can become a bit of a grind fest and there are a lot of fetch quest and you have to wonder why there are more bandits and evil mages in Skyrim than there are normal people it doesnt make plowing through all of them any less fun. while this game suffers a little bit of the fable mentality that you are of the world not in it, and nothing that you do actually changes much of anything, and like with most elder scrolls games the stuff that happens before the game sounds far more interesting than what is going on right now. but the stories are always interesting and keep me plugging along. the landscape is breathtaking and the combat is the best yet. and the mods that are out there for this game will take it all to a whole new level.

100

Best RPG Ever

Kevduit | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

Skyrim by itself was probably one of my favorite video games of the year, in fact, of the next year as well. Of course, Oblivion was a little bit better, but Skyrim was Vast, Immersive, Beautiful, and just plain fun. I've already played it for sixty hours, which only felt like two hours, and I can't stop playing it. Now that they've got all the DLC in one big bundle, the world has increased in size, the world is now 2 times more immersive with the dragonborn and dawguard DLC, and with Hearthfire, you can now build your own home! I Totally recommended this game. The Main quest is epic, the side quests are endless and the possibilities are plenty.

85

Great Game, but not the best

tripperthe3 | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all tripperthe3's reviews »

I loved Oblivion and when i say loved i mean over 150+ hours of playing/roaming and buying the expansions packs that were released for the game. Now skyrim, i enjoyed it but i did not fall in love with it like i had with oblivion. The main quest to me was no where close to as well done as Oblivion's was and i did not feel the need to explore or do as much as i did in Oblivion that may be due to the fact that it felt like a very dead world to me because if the winter environment. But over all it was an Elder Scrolls game. Tons to do, great graphics some very interesting improvements. It was overall a good game.

93

The best elder scrolls game

CyberspyXD | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all CyberspyXD's reviews »

Skyrim is many things it takes the best parts of lots of other elder scrolls games adds its own things and creates one of the perfect RPG experiences were you can be every class at once thanks to skill trees that do not restrict you. The quests are also fun and there are many side quests and storylines besides the main one even dynamic ones that are randomly generated. I have over 100+ hours on this and the DLC adds even more life and choice into skyrim don't miss out!

80

One of the largest worlds in history

nightassassin1 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

The world in this Elder Scrolls game is massive with so much to do. I am a huge RPG fan and this game is revered by many, however I was much harder to convince. As an age old RPG fan I expect a great deal from the main story line of a game labeled as much, however this game did not have that. The biggest love for this game from people tends to come from the massive open world and ability to kill anyone including all NPC characters. Because of the weak main story line that is also incredibly short, it took me about 3 hours to finish the main story on normal,

With the main story being so weak, there are hundreds and hundreds of side quests to participate in. Now with the new upgraded Legendary Edition there is a lot more added to the game compared to the original including the addition of all DLC to this single pack as well as the addition of the extra combat systems and such. This does improve the game quite a bit, however It still misses the main story.

I feel that the hype around this game is built from the band wagon effect. The Elder Scrolls has been building momentum since the first, pulling people in, and when Skyrim was announced, all of the fans went crazy and hyped the game more than the company was able to, to the point where even non gamers were pulled in. This is what drove me as a major RPG gamer to try this game and frankly I was disappointed with it. The open world and freedom is nice, but being an RPG I expect an amazing tale. The game had so many mechanics, so many extra content, so many extra missions, but very little main story. In this case the game is more about the journey than the destination, however the journey does not really add story and becomes very repetitive very fast. You steal some items, kill some monsters, get the mission finished, and there is little gratification in much of it.

I love RPGs and expected an epic story from this one with the hype given it, but it seems more like an adventurer simulator or something of the sort rather than an RPG.

The game was very good as it was, but as an RPG, there was no epic story that was amazing. I will take 20 points off of the rating for this and the poor polygon rendering used on terrain. They received coding awards for innovative coding, which could be true for how they set up such a massive world without instances, but the way the terrain was created was sloppy at best, being able to scale nearly vertical walls by jumping a good deal.

Even with it not being much of a normal RPG, it was still a good game for adventuring and playing around in the world, it just lacked the structure needed for a decent RPG. I liked the game despite this flaw as it was a great adventure.

100

The love of my life.

coosgiggles | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all coosgiggles's reviews »

This game is really one of the best games I've ever played. From storyline, to exploration, this game has it all. It can be quite buggy sometimes, but what game isn't? The crafting in the game isn't too bad, but isn't too good either. The graphics look gorgeous on a great system. Different feel compared to Oblivion and Morrowind. But really, this game shouldn't be passed up. I've got hundreds of hours logged on this game, and am still logging more every day.

100

A lot to do.

Xillion | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

Skyrim is vast and big. You have a lot of quests to do and it's up to you how you want to customize your character. With the legendary edition, you get a lot of more content. If you want to have hours of fun and a memorable experience, i highly recommend picking this up.

100

I lost my life in this game, can anyone find it?

CorpsmanHusky | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all CorpsmanHusky's reviews »

I always loved the bow, Arrow is my favorite tv show, and with some mods - I feel like im actually hunting. Skyrim and the bows in skyrim is all I use and it is too much fun.

DOWNSIDE, Skyrim is only singleplayer. NEVER PLAY ALONE, you will be addicted and before you know it, you been up for 3 days straight. Always have a buddy ready to pull you out of it after an hour or 2 so you can tend to personal matters.

90

A Huge Improvement Over Oblivion

fireburt | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all fireburt's reviews »

Oblivion was fun and did a lot of things right but I think the game was broken. The fact that the world leveled with you made character improvement seemingly pointless. As a big RPG fan, character improvement and finding loot was my favorite part of Morrowind. Thankfully, Skyrim has returned to it's Morrowind roots while still maintaining the improvements of Oblivion. The only thing that keeps it from topping Morrowind for me is it lacks the environment diversity that kept me so interested and immersed in Morrowind. While Skyrim takes place in a beautiful world and some vistas can be really breathtaking, it can get tiresome. Overall, I think it is a great improvement but it still doesn't beat Morrowind for me—but perhaps that is just the nostalgia speaking.

88

Amazing

CiaranC | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all CiaranC's reviews »

When I first played this game I was just amazed at how good this game is. There is so much to do and so much to see this games visuals are just eye candy. I can believe how good this title is. Be.thesda did a very good job on this game. I have spent over 120+ hours alone playing this game and I still can't get enough.

97

Keeps getting better!

forgot2shave | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

If you're a fan of the Elder Scrolls games, you'll be a fan of Skyrim. This open world RPG has the Elder Scrolls feel but this time with more dragons and better graphics. It's very time consuming and is hard to put down once you start, so you'll want to be sure you have time to play, it's not something I would recommend playing for 15 minutes and stopping. You have the main quest line and plenty of side quests, and plenty to explore. One of the main draws of this game is its amazing landscape and being able to roam where ever you want. One thing I was a little disappointed in though was that they took away a lot of the character customization that Oblivion had, which was one part I really enjoyed and attached me to my characters. Still a beautiful and fun game though.

86

Stunning visuals

spaw03 | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all spaw03's reviews »

Skyrim is a looker. Stunning visuals, this game makes you feel like you are in another time and place. I was really amazed at how great this game looks.

As far as game play goes it would have been nice if it were a little more like Oblivion. Picking a class in this game is really of little importance. The only real benefit of the races is there special perks. You can be a dark elf and specialize in magic while wearing heavy armor; in fact it is preferred to wear heavy armor. Similarly to previous Elder Scrolls games you level up individual skills as you use them. Once you gain a certain amount of skill ups you get a level. Where you get 10 points for either magic, health of stamina; and one point to spend in skill trees were you unlock more perks for a specific skill.

Very different from Morrowind and Oblivion, by different I mean more simplistic.

91

Epic Story

NinjaCatz | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all NinjaCatz's reviews »

Skyrim is a RPG with its own natural aspects including an epic story line and a massive map to explore. You have a variety of skill paths to follow, from Lock picking to Combat. Using the Steam Workshop, there are many different Add-ons such as additional quests and new places to explore. Skyrim is defiantly worth the price and is very enjoyable in every category.

92

Amazing game that will keep you engaged for days

zachprkr | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all zachprkr's reviews »

Skyrim was one of the most engrossing games I have played in years. The world and the depth of story is amazing. My first play through I was 40 hours in before I even started the main story. Exploring the vast areas and jumping into random dungeons kept me going for hours.

I have played the game with 3 different characters and the game felt completely different each time. The customization that you can achieve really changes the gameplay and makes each go through completely different. Once I was a stealthy assassin, the next a hammer welding brute and finally a mage. Each character had their own strengths and weaknesses that made me rethink how to play the game.

The graphics are amazing, the story is decent enough to keep you going, the Elder Scrolls lore will have you reading random books everywhere you go and the combat is well polished and enjoyable. This is a must play!

67

Fun but gets boring.

OmittingCoder | July 29, 2013 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

The game starts out slow but it turns out to be awesome after you go around midway into the game it starts to get boring. Repetitive actually. After I modded to get everything in the game it got fun again. But soon became boring. The story is okay. The environment is amazing. Gameplay is fine. I've played Dawnguard and thought it was badass but have yet to play the others, And I forgot to mention... I own this game on the 360 but I really want to have it on the PC. I'm giving it a 67 for Xbox. not for PC.

98

Time consuming and fun

Morpheus123 | July 7, 2013 | See all Morpheus123's reviews »

This game takes up a lot of those gaming hours. The original was super fun but with the dlcs & legendary edition bonuses, it's way more fun! Love it.

70

RPG "Lite"

TheHolyPie | July 7, 2013 | See all TheHolyPie's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is the latest culprit in the series' descent from RPG to Action/Adventure. The game feels like a standard Fantasy Adventure title with a first person view mode, and a character progression mechanic tacked on as an afterthought. Gone are the classes, birthsigns (Although they are replaced with the Standing Stones), Major/Minor skills, and attributes which made the previous games so much fun.

Instead you get a game with combat with the same lack of depth as any of the other Elder Scrolls titles, a story that could be summed up by saying "Oh snap, dragon! Kill it!", and a pretty world to explore. Two out of the three DLCs add their own stories into the game, one forcing you to choose a side in the battle between vampires and lycanthropes. The other taking you to a new island where you'll battle another Dragonborn like yourself.

The third DLC speaks to all of the Sims lovers out there. You'll be able to purchase a chunk of land (Typically inconveniently located in the middle of nowhere) and build a home to suit your needs.

If you go into Skyrim expecting a quality RPG that will live up to the Elder Scrolls name, you're going to be disappointed. However if you can look at it as an action game fit into the Elder Scrolls universe, you'll find an overly mediocre experience.

100

Amazing

ArcMakai | July 6, 2013 | See all ArcMakai's reviews »

I was not sure about the Elder Scroll games after Oblivion, but Skyrim has really redeemed them. It is just amazing and I have not been able to stop playing it since i purchased it a few days ago.

100

Better then the original

Hostileshadow | June 24, 2013 | See all Hostileshadow's reviews »

I have this game also for the xbox, but I didn't get the Legendary Edition for it. With this one, it makes the skills you are good at leveling able to get you levels and skill points faster, so for some this may feel like it breaks the game, but for myself, i found it was more enjoyable. I highly recommend this title if you don't have it

80

Bethesda sure does like to play around with "prophecies"

Fluffy_McFluff | June 15, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

With numerous side quests, factions to join (and their own quest lines), a main story, and a sizable number of dungeons to delve into and explore, the realm of Skyrim has a great deal to do, and you can easily spend a great many hours playing.

In TES III: Morrowind, Bethesda played around with the idea of prophecy fulfillment in its story. In TES IV: Oblivion, Bethesda explored the idea of divinity, a 'royal bloodline' and the consequences of losing a royal emperor. Skyrim follows in the footsteps of Morrowind, in that it plays with the idea of prophecies, but the main story seemed a little short and weak - hollow, something that was a little lacking and needed to be extended or built upon somehow.

The combat is pretty solid overall, and the dual-wielding/casting feature is great. I was rather disappointed by the final main-story end-boss; I can see that having a group of heroes together wailing on the boss was meant to seem epic - but it was the complete opposite, as the group that accompanies you ends up doing most of the work.

All in all, a great experience in the vast region of Skyrim.

90

Huge Time Sink

ZiegRauros | June 14, 2013 | See all ZiegRauros's reviews »

If you want a game that never ends, here you go. Multiple playthroughs and I know there is still tons I haven't seen yet. Each playthrough also takes a different route - only a few common events in each.

Few bugs here and there, but great anyway.

91

Skyrim Legendary Edition is Worth the Extra Money

thegaminglyfe | June 9, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Skyrim is an amazing RPG with beautiful graphics, amazing sound and awesome gameplay. There are lots of customizable options for your armour, skills and weapons. And the story is fantastic. But the game gets repetitive after about 30 or so hours. The Legendary Edition comes with 3 dlc packs that add to the game. The first, Dawnguard adds lots of weapons, armour, spells and shouts that make the game more fun. The story is pretty mediocre but the fun comes when you get the decision to become a vampire or werewolf. If you don't like your appearance you can change it in the DLC. The second DLC, Dragonborn adds more spells, armour and locations. This is pretty mediocre and not really worth buying so it's like a bonus when you buy the legendary edition. The last DLC, Hearthfire is simple and loads of fun. You make your own house, a simple concept yet it is amazing. For $60, The Legendary Edition of Skyrim is definitely a buy if you don't already own the original. The DLC will add 10-20 hours to the game so it's worth the price.

93

Epic game in one legendary package

lok0812 | June 8, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

One of the massive game of 2011 comes in the form of legendary package which includes the 3 DLCs that are released plus the base game itself in one low price. The main game itself will give the player many things to do already in a huge immersive world of Skyrim. From aiding townspeople to saving the world, Skyrim has it all.

In addition to the main game, this package comes with the 3 DLCs which will bolster the main games for even more content. The first DLC, Dawnguard, have you play in the story of a vampire. Doing quest and tells you the story within the Skyrim world. Player will have the ability to turn into a vampire and slay your enemies in your vampire form. New dungeons, side quests, weapons and armors are also included.

Second DLC, Hearthfire, will give the player the power to buy their own land and build their house upon it. How you want your house build it is entirely up to you. Asides from that, the player will be able to adopt children and have them move in with you. If you are tired from the dungeon crawling, this will be a nice relax DLC for a change to give your character more life.

Last DLC, Dragonborn, takes place in a new island. Player will tackle the original Dragonborn of the game and save the world. Similar to Dawnguard, the game have new storyline, side quests, powers, weapons and armors, and ultimately new places to visit.

If anyone has been waiting on getting this game since the release, this is the time by getting this all in one package and enjoy another life in Skyrim.

100

A great deal

GoldenSaint | June 8, 2013 | See all GoldenSaint's reviews »

This is a great way to get an amazing game at an amazing price. You save like 15 dollars by buying this package compared to buying each dlc separately. I don't think there is anything else to say about Skyrim, unless you have been living under a rock, you have heard about this game and now is the time to buy it!