Reviews for LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

81

LEGO + Harry Potter = Extreme fun!

Kordas | Dec. 13, 2013 | See all Kordas's reviews »

Do you remember playing with LEGO bricks? Or perhaps you're still playing with them? Maybe you or your kid loves Harry Potter? This game fuses two great things everybody loves! World created by J. K. Rowling built from LEGO bricks is something one cannot just pass by. Forget putting bricks together one by one to make a construction. Now all you need is wand (and perhaps spell book) and you can immerse in this fantastic LEGO world that recreates Hogwarts and everything that happened from Harry's birth and after years finding out of his supernatural skills all the way to rebirth of Voldemort at the end of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. It's incredibly fun to play, combat is pure joy and humour is here like in every other LEGO game. Every HP fan will easily recognize famous scenes from books and movies. It's something definitely worth checking out (not only for the younger players, but older ones can have a lot of fun too!) and if you have partner to play co-op mode I guarantee you'll sink in to this game for long hours!

90

A Magical LEGO Experience

RageKage14 | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all RageKage14's reviews »

Traveller's Tales is back with more LEGO video game magic. For those unfamiliar with the plethora of LEGO titles available, the games are fairly basic puzzle action games with emphasis on collection. Compulsive completionists will have a field day collecting LEGO studs, bricks, and characters. There is a lot of meat here, with a 100% completion taking a dozen hours to complete.

There's not much challenge to the game. You run around the environment, breaking objects and assembling blocks to progress to the next section. There is no hard death penalty, only resulting in the loss of some studs. The game is perfect for kids and family play, as there is no fail state to impede your progress and frustrate younger players.

The real selling point of the games is seeing your favorite franchise brought to life with LEGO charm. It's enchanting to see your favorite Harry Potter characters in LEGO form slinging spells and enchanting bricks, with familiar scenes from the movies playing out with humorous murmers and grunts from the characters. Harry Potter and LEGO fans will get a ton of enjoyment from the game.

100

Great harry potter fun

rjb789 | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This lego game displays how good the lego franchise of games can really be when they are dealing with a much loves series of books and films. Every single section of the game is filled with Harry Potter humor and its really feels as if you are involved in the wizarding world of Hogwarts and the surrounding ares and the events that unfold through the first four Harry Potter tales. The graphics are great and the cut scenes are hilarious and frequently have Harry Potter references in it. The addition of a co-op mode is also welcome. This game is for anyone who enjoys watching or reading about Harry Potter and those who want a lego themed adventure with a great co-op option.

70

Lego games are fantastic!

punjamin | July 7, 2013 | See all punjamin's reviews »

First off, this will be a little bias but I will try to be fair. Truth be told: I love Traveler's Tales and the Lego franchise! I own all of their games and they keep getting better and better!

Their have been many complaints about this being a horrible port to PC game. Well, that's not entirely true. Granted this game seems like it would be perfect to see on PS, XBOX, or Wii. I found no problem that I couldn't fix in this PC port!

That being said, here are two major problems: 1. For whatever reason, the sound was a major problem. I am running 64 bit Windows 8. When I ran this game it would immediately crash. I did a little research (i.e. google and steam community forums) and found that the issue wasn't with the OS, it was with the sound quality. I had my settings way too high for this game. It needed to be lowered, well this becomes an issue because if you are running HD Audio on all your games, you have to tweak a setting just to launch this game. Not that much of a big deal, but I can see it becoming a problem with some people.

  1. I am using an XBOX 360 controller (I hate XBOX as a side note, but the controller works well with my Microsoft PC that I had to adapt). Every time I launch the game (same issue with Harry Potter: 5-7 upon initial launch) I have to go under controller options, and select device. With my controller I have to unplug from the USB, plug back in, then press the start button before it will be read. Believe me this game is easier to play with a controller.

All those issues addressed, this game is fantastic. It's great for kids and for adults who are kids at heart. This game was done before Tt/Lego started added actual voice overs to their games so there is just the monotonous grunting/laughing, that was indicative of this company/genre. It is a loveable game that follows along with the movies. Typical Lego game, blow up things, collect studs, unlock characters, solve puzzles, and learn abilities/spells. They have added bonus levels which end in achieving a gold brick. All in all this is a fantastic addition to anyone's Lego collection (or Harry Potter collection for that matter).

One thing I would of done differently: add achievements! I love games with achievements, whether it be Steam, Origin, GWLV, or any such type. not much of a grip. Plus you can't beat the price!

95

Great Improvements!

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4 has really made some improvements to the Lego games. They all pretty much use the same formula but some games change some things in that formula. Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is one of those games. The level design is improved, the soundtrack is amazing and features some great songs from the movies. The graphics are improved, especially the animations. Like the other lego games, the puzzles are well thought up and will really require you to think. Highly recommended to any adventure or puzzle fan.

75

Time waster: But in a good way.

Royalty | June 12, 2013 | See all Royalty's reviews »

Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is just one of those games which gives you no reason to be bored. For those who are familiar with Lego games, the real enjoyment isn't from gameplay itself, but from collecting. Let's face it, playing Lego games isn't going to tax your skills, nerves, brain or any talent what so ever other than minor problem solving skills. But sometimes we need a game where you have no fear of some online gamers to blurt out insults and obscenities all day. It may sound bad, but this is a perfect game for the adult insomniac to help pass time, or for the younger gamers, an actual excitement as you know what's coming up next as you fulfill each task and the thought that they are in control of the story.

75

Great For Couples!

HeyImPhoenix | June 10, 2013 | See all HeyImPhoenix's reviews »

I have tried to get my girlfriend to play games with me as she and games are both very big aspects of my life. This game is perfect for this type of interaction, it's fun, not too difficult and set in the Harry Potter universe. If you are looking for a hard core game then maybe this is not it but if you have grown accustomed to Lego games, know what to expect then you should be fine and enjoy it. I personally don't like the fact that there is no voice acting but I can see the charm it has. Like I said, it is a Lego game so you will be going from one part of the stage to the other trying to collect as many blocks as possible with the occasional cut scene and boss. It is really good if you have seen and enjoyed the movies.

100

A good Lego games

AnorakBr | June 10, 2013 | See all AnorakBr's reviews »

I love games Lego, but this games is sensational,good graphics, moreover with game legos can be play in 2 player :D

76

Another Lego Hit!

LAW666 | June 9, 2013 | See all LAW666's reviews »

If you have ever played one of the Lego games, from whichever movie franchise, you will already pretty much know exactly how this game will play out. The interaction with the picture frames is a nice touch to help this game be more than just a re-skin of Lego Star Wars/Indiana Jones. Also the ability to change the spell cast by the secondary action button adds an extra dimension to the game, figuring out which spell you need (and bearing in mind characters have different abilities anyway) makes the game slightly less repetitive as other games have been, but the solutions to puzzles (or ways of beating bosses) are not always obvious if you are not familiar with the movies. Overall the game sticks to the movies with the splash of trademark Lego humour, mixed with the simple gameplay that anyone can enjoy (with the great drop in/drop out co op too). This makes a great game that all the family can enjoy! A great puchase for the sale price!

90

Great game!

hellinperson | June 9, 2013 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is a LEGO platformer developed by Traveller Tales. It's pretty fun actually. The story is well presented and it follows the story of the movies, but twistes them a bit. The character models and the overall graphics are nice. The soundtrack is quite good, with songs of the movies. The gameplay is awesome and really entertaining. Get it!

85

The Good

cristiano171 | June 9, 2013 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

If you're familiar with developer Traveller's Tales' previous Lego games, you might think you know what Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is like even before you've played it--and you'd be partially right. In this game, just as in Lego Star Wars and its ilk, you (perhaps along with a friend on the same console) experience a witty and wordless rendition of a famed tale, with your favorite characters replaced by blocky Lego re-creations Lego Harry Potter: Years 1-4 is easily the best Harry Potter game to date, though if that sounds like a backhanded compliment, consider this: It's one of the finest Lego adventures to date as well, which is no faint praise. By minimizing the repetitive combat and inconsistent platforming, Traveller's Tales has also minimized the frustrations, making this excursion to Hogwarts enjoyable for the whole family. Minor flaws, old and new alike, keep Lego Harry Potter from becoming a family-friendly classic, but it's charming and funny, and most importantly, it's fun. And that kind of magic is all too uncommon, even in Harry's world. And that's the genius of these games. In the past I've always been cautious with my praise for the LEGO titles, because as fun and as charming as they were, I always felt they could be something more: that there was some as-yet unreached plateau where the great ideas would coalesce into something truly special. With LEGO Harry Potter, they've reached that level. If there's a better kids' game this year, I'll eat my Sorting Hat.

81

Great series!

Liverpool1971 | June 8, 2013 | See all Liverpool1971's reviews »

It's another good piece of the Lego video game series. Magic is just as fun as the force in lego star wars, and you get a lot of different spells to use. Splitscreen is also a very welcome addition to the series if you like to play in co-op. What's awesome about Hogwarts is that it's a living, breathing place. It is your playground, and it feels like it. There are a lot of different puzzles, but you won’t need to check up the solutions, they’re not that hard. It takes about 30-35 hours to finish the game. I highly recommend it to every HP or Lego fan.

80

A good Lego games

Cavalieroscuro | June 8, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Just like Lego The Lord of the Ring, Lego Harry Potter is a nice and addicting game, even for "adults". The setting this time is Hogwarts and the Harry Potter world, during the first four years of school. As usually, a lot of things and secrets to discover, using magic this time. The soundtrack is the one from the movies, and is very good. Graphic is nice, full of colors and details, and beating the game at 100% will require so much time. Buy it if you want an easy but good and funny experience.