Reviews for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition - Colonies Edition

83

Definitely worth a try.

Mattone | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all Mattone's reviews »

At least, when it's on sale again. That's a poor way to start a review, isn't it? Well, the game is great, but frankly, it's old. Its price needs to be dropped to $10 at base, the game is often $4 in sales.

But anyway, about the game itself. You play as Wayne Holden, who after a short stint working for the government to colonize a planet, decides he's better off as a snow pirate. Instead of colonizing the planet, you're... Just killing the bugs the people colonizing the planet are also trying to kill. The story's not very solid.

The gameplay however, is great. There's a multitude of weapons, from standard ballistic weaponry to energy/laser based stuff. Railguns, RPGs, you name it. The enemies are all fairly unique, and share a gigantic glowing orange weak spot, though where it actually is tends to vary. To give the game a bit more of a tense feel, there's this thing called Thermal Energy. It functions as a health pack, a heat source, and fuel, all in one. Run out of it, and you die. Get hit and lose some health, your energy gets sucked up to heal you.

There are also mechs called Vital Suits which house a variety of attachable weapons, most of which can actually be taken off of the suit when it breaks down, and used on foot, or carried to another, functioning suit. Definitely one of the most unique parts of the game, and definitely turns it from being a generic TPS.

The multiplayer is dead, so I can't really comment on it.

I'd have to give it a B-, close to B though. Just some glaring issues in later missions, and some rather silly boss patterns ruin the pacing and can cause the game to move at a snails pace.

91

Great insect killer tps

spycid | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

Lost Planet is probably the first game where humans fight against giant insects. It was a revolutionary concept for it's time and it was greatly executed. Sure that graphics might seem outdated now but still it's worth a try before Lost Planet 3 gets released.

88

Great Game

legionempire | July 27, 2013 | See all legionempire's reviews »

1st time i played this was on the xbox 360 on launch and loved every minute of it so when i seen it in the GMG sale i bought it straight away and played it from start to finish.

70

Nice tps with giant insects

spycid | July 8, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

This game might look outdated both in terms of gameplay and graphics, but this will bring back memories for those who are familiar with this franchise. Even if you are not, now is a very good time to try it since Lost Planet 3 is coming out and it's fun to shoot giant insects with a friend.

70

Adventure on ice

iamkyo90 | July 7, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

At the time it was very poorly optimized, but in this version corrected the problem fps performance. A classic by now, you can not miss, the adventure, the giant Akrid, fighting robots, a great game.

74

One more of the lot

kalil | July 5, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Enjoy a full capacity of this title is complicated. Complicated because either has one of the few (and expensive) Dx10 cards with more than 512 mb of memory (CF or SLI worth) or you choose to use the old XP and the result, though not the same, it is quite similar. But it is important to say that, in either case, graphically Lost Planet looks pretty good anyway, but not enough to theoretically define the new standard Games for Windows. Like much of the game will be spent on a snowy landscape, there has been much emphasis on trying to build a fairly realistic climate model. There are literally scores of simultaneous effects that look really good display: the falling flakes own windswept, the reflections of light on different surfaces exist, the definition and behavior of the shadows on these surfaces, the proper use of motion -blur to add the effect of higher and faster movement in the Akryd ... The truth is that not only the exteriors are more than well conducted but the interiors too: sometimes we attend scenes that take place in abandoned buildings or caverns in which, apart from improving the framerate, enjoyed higher contrast of colors and also some explosions with thousands of particles flying around the screen combined with the flashes of guns or powder when shooting while walking on dry ground. In Lost Planet many things happen simultaneously, and the graphics engine has to support at times to put dozens of enemies on screen with their thousands of polygons, while, download tons of ammunition from our walker or walking. In that sense, the title of Capcom is just spectacular. According to the requirements is demanding, but there are times when one has the feeling that it has spared nothing to display on screen: no more because there is no more. Of all the animations, including retractable hook that incorporates the protagonist, we were certainly some of the aliens. All human and enjoy the quite naturally, although it must be admitted that there is something wrong with the gait, the first occurrence of a "spider" is Akryd gape. An attempt was made to provide a good dose of credibility offworlders enemies and the truth is that in some cases has been achieved with great success, since those smallest to the big bosses that take up more than one screen

Gameplay: Lost Planet is not lost. Or you love or hate. There is no middle. The main cause that produces it is to never, at any time, we are given a break. We constantly countdown because of doing nothing, we die. In other games there is always a corner in which to recover from the last fight, plan the next move quietly or just hanging around the stage: here we are continually pushing forward without remission. That's why the level design is well done but is extremely linear. You have to go from A to B without wondering much why, and not even the argument, after the first two turns, reaches to matter much. We move forward, kill everything that lies ahead, we end up with the final boss, period. Even it does not require too much skill on the default difficulty, even at the highest level and be something else. The reality is that there is a lot to think over the phases, even an exaggerated no shortage of ammunition. There really are many available weapons to kill the enemies assault rifles, shotguns, sniper rifles, rocket launchers ... We can only carry two of them at the same time, you have to take into account this aspect. Just do not go away and we can always go back for them. But we also have other options for dealing with combat. In theory, the inclusion of the hook should provide the possibility of new tactical strategies for the player, in practice we use the gimmick only when necessary: ​​to get to a point that we can not avoid jumping or drop us an edge. Also to get benefits for the sniper rifle is feasible or we can use to approach enemies fast, but in reality although it can be very useful, is far from being essential. Defeat human enemies is really simple: just throw them more lead than not receive it. The Akryd require a slightly different strategy as they are extremely resistant to the whole body except for a weak point which is revealed in certain conditions: after the main attack, hitting any particular point or just get quickly get behind him. When joining multiple enemies of the same or different, Lost Planet is hectic at times, but usually short. Destroy enemies poking its weak point is very important because loose their dose of "heat". As advanced above, we absorb the heat with our suit and provides longer life expectancy but not only from the cold, also against the attacks of enemies that do not take away 'life' itself but thermal energy. This energy can also be obtained from the environment or destroying vehicles, scattered deposits mapping, etc.

76

Okay

yomegA | July 4, 2013 | See all yomegA's reviews »

Nothing special at all,but you can have a good time with this game. No one plays online,but the true part of this game is the single player. This game is begging for co-op,but sadly only the sequel has that feature. I say play this game with a xbox 360 controller since it first came out for the xbox 360. If this game comes out in a sale and you want a game that will take some time then i say this is the game for you.

70

Same Game, with a few extra bits

Colt2911 | July 4, 2013 | See all Colt2911's reviews »

I wouldn't say this game is bad, but my my does it have alot of wasted potential. Some may say that this should have been a free DLC/Patch, but it really does contain alot of things extra.

If you enjoy blasting away at enemies in some pretty amazing environments, then this will put a smile on your face! Some of the bosses are also jaw droppingly spectacular

Yopu can probably give the game a better score if you find it cheap, as if released at a cheaper price this game would have garned way better reviews.