Reviews for Medieval II: Total War Gold Edition

85

Brilliant Setting and Game

ROKET | July 8, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I enjoyed Rome TW a lot and played it for a long time before giving up. It was a good game but I couldnt really get a grasp of how to succeed in the game as there was much to learn and I spent a lot of my time performance testing.

Anyway, when I saw Medieval 2 TW I was immediately impressed by the improvements and how beautiful it looked. The weaponry was more advanced and the presentation of war was even more impressive. I loved watching cavalry clash into a line of swordmen - the sounds and clamoring of steel made the game bold and exciting.

I never got into the multiplayer but spent a lot of time with the campaign before quitting again. I didnt performance test as much - as there were few issues - but the game still had a huge learning curve and I rarely got my economy going very well. haha. I still love the game though.

Recommended.

85

TW: Medival Perfection

faraany3k | Aug. 27, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Medieval II: Total War is the sequel of Total War Rome. Game improves upon almost every aspect of the game. Graphics are much more refined. Single player campaign now includes more civilizations to play that expands to many continents including America. Further expansion pack increased the number of campaigns even further. RTS elements have been given a bump here too. Real times battles are more epic and provide a more dynamic visual flair. Animations have been greatly improved and give a more moody and gritty overlook. Battles are bigger then ever with almost double number of soldiers now controllable on the battlefield. The TBS section has been greatly improved with a more diverse and proactive AI. UI is greatly enhanced and a big improvement over the prevision TW title making it more accesible. There is also a new Hotseat multiplayer mode which enables the game TBS section to be played in mutiplayer. There are a number of bugs and minor graphical performance issues. But with this grand scale there are bound to be some problems. But all in all this is a great TW title. And like all titles in the series a must have for avid strategy fans.

95

An improvement on any predecessor.

Xonus | Aug. 21, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

Continuing the formula of turn based strategy combined with real time strategy of Total War, this game contained various improvements, including the addition of castle towns, various agents, and of course tons of different units that fit the medieval time period, as well as the Americas included in the expansion and to a much smaller extent in the base game.

After one or two playthroughs, several AI problems or bugs might become apparent, but all of that is absolutely fixable with various different mods that either improve AI significantly, fix bugs, or add whole new factions and more territories to rule, or even an entirely different map.

My favorite Total War game to this day.

95

Another brilliant Total War Game

mevidek | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

Medieval II: Total War is the sequel to Medieval: Total War, and is better in almost every way. As other reviewers have stated, this game is amazing. Epic battles, conquests and campaigns, a really good expansion pack covering various historical periods, and generally lots of reasons to go back and forge a new empire make this another brilliant Total War game. Perhaps not the best, but by far not the worse, Medieval II: Total War is one of the largest games ever made, and one must commend Creative Assembly for making such an amazing game. GET THIS GAME!

90

Excellent

vigotski | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

One of the best on the series and surely one of the best strategy games out there. The expansion really deserves that name, since it expands many aspects with excellent new campaigns and units. It's a totally must have you like knights in shining armor fighting against hordes of merciless, evil enemies! And the community made lots of mods, which is always very good, and many of those mods really revive and reinvigorate the game after you did pretty much everything. Buy this now!

85

Best Total War game yet!

Fl1pp13 | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all Fl1pp13's reviews »

While most people would consider Rome or Shogun 2 the best games in the Total War series, I'd pick Medieval 2 if I had to make a choice. The combination of a working concept with a nice setting makes the perfect game for those boring evenings.

While we have seen better graphics to date, the amazing battles keep on looking nice, as hundreds of soldiers fight with eachother for land, religion or resources. If it still doesn't amaze you, there's always te possibility to install some mods the great community has created.

80

What you would absolutely expect from a TW

IganX | July 20, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

I have been Medieval II now for many years, and the incredible amount of hours you can place in it makes this game unique. The technical requirements it has make it available for computers which wouldn't handle actual games, still providing the user with some excellent graphics. The battles are great, the AI is tough, the expansion campaigns are great, but the main Campaign is simply genious. The immersion this campaign grants with each of the playable factions is incredible, allowing you to manage your empire and conquer new territories by means of a direct invasion, or by following a more subtle approach. The amount of mods the community provides with has to be mentioned, with a special reference to the Third Age: Total War mod, totally recommendable.

80

I love this series

hotmando1 | July 14, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

I have over 200 hours on Medieval2 total war. That speaks for itself. This game..is amazing. The mods make this game 50x better than it really is! The mods are what keep this game alive. It is great! From third age to the warhammer mod..this game has made many dreams come true. Besides the mods, the game is pretty fun and all. I like the sync kills but the lack of naval battles is pretty sad. Either way, get this game for the mods!!!

100

THE absolute best Total War game developed

Ichiro | May 9, 2011 | See all Ichiro's reviews »

I played this since the year it came out, up until I had lost the discs and my computer had to be reformatted for various issues...

This game was absolutely the best Total War game out to date. I have been waiting for months on end for it to hit a rock-bottom price so I could buy it again (just because I'm cheap, no harm done), and when it hit for less than $5 on GMG, I just went for it, no doubts whatsoever.

I earlier bought the Napoleon and Empire GOTY bundle from GMG as well, but after playing it for a bit, I realized that it just lacked the spark that M2: TW had. Sure, the navel battles they added are really good. I like their navel, but I just hate the whole "build outside of your town" thing.

Sadly, I haven't played this for a long while, and my skills have gotten a bit tarnished over the times, but I still enjoy opening it up for a round or two.

Heh, I remember playing for almost two days straight because I was so addicted. I even accidentally discovered a clone glitch where you could duplicate your troops as well. That is, as long as you don't end up crashing the game by accident, HAH.

90

The best TW game to date!

PharaohsVizier | April 6, 2011 | See all PharaohsVizier's reviews »

Medieval 2 Total War was the last TW game before they swapped to the warscape engine. I'm a fan of the Warscape engine used in Napoleon, Empire and Shogun 2, but there are obvious deficiencies. Medieval 2 Total War has aged relatively well because the graphics still look fantastic by today's standards.

The beauty of Medieval 2 Total War is the mod-friendliness of the game, which is absent in the newer TW games. There are still many in development and the ones released are excellent. Total conversion mods have brought just about everything into the game, from Japanese samurai to the Uruk-hai of Lord of the Rings, this game just has infinite possibilities.