Reviews for Company of Heroes

90

One of the BEST RTS War Games

Kveni | Nov. 11, 2014 | See all Kveni's reviews »

If you like intense War based action games, and if you like strategy games, drop every other game and run to this one, because it is awesome. I love games like Age of Empires, or Total War, but when it comes to Military Strategy games, Company of Heroes takes the cake. It delivers lots of epic action, smooth gameplay, fancy graphics, and altogether givers gamers a reason to enjoy a good RTS game once and a while. It had been listed as one of the games you should play before you die, and I totally agree with it being on that list, because it is a VERY fun game.

86

World War II RTS

yngdr | Aug. 18, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

An older game from the mid 2000's with graphics that feel a bit dated but still offer a great sense of enjoyment. The sounds in this game are decent and offer the quality expected of a game made in 06. The story is great and thrusts you forward with a sense of accomplishment. AI will keep you on your toes in most skirmishes. Buy on sale and you wont have any regrets.

54

Decent game but with an extreme difficulty curve

BlockAgent | Aug. 8, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Company of Heroes is a decent RTS game with good graphics and pretty good gameplay. It is very polished and well put together as I never saw any glitches during my play through. This game does however have an extreme difficulty curve. The first 2 to 3 missions are challenging, but manageable. The 4th mission and on though, are very difficult, even on the easiest settings. I found myself being obliterated over and over again. So if you like very challenging RTS games, pick this one up, you will love it. But if you like RTS games, but are not an absolute pro, you may have trouble progressing very far into this one.

88

An excellent and realistic RTS

eduardXD | July 29, 2014 | See all eduardXD's reviews »

Company of heroes is a RTS based on World War II which offers excellent graphics (for the year it came out), good gameplay, realistic ambience, many variety of units and machines, many types of scenarios, very good effects on the shots and explosions, good soundtrack and 6 campaigns of long duration, which will put us in the perspective of the different factions who fought in western europe. It is a game made with a lot of dedication, which will be remembered in gaming history as one of the best RTS ever made​​.

95

The best strategy RTS game of Second World War .

AugPL | May 17, 2014 | See all AugPL's reviews »

I bought it in the premiere edition and have never regretted . This game has everything ,good graphic (2006-2008) ,interesting story ,very good models of tanks, soldiers ,beautiful maps forcing a rethink of the strategy (for example Sheldt) and the best community in multiplayer. In multiplayer I spent many hours, days, or even weeks together with my clan. This game is definitely worth buying ,especially in GreenManGaming. As for me, this game is the best strategy in my "gaming life" ,and mods, adding dozens of hours of fun . Buy it today!

92

Well Made Stratagy

Armed_Psycho | May 1, 2014 | See all Armed_Psycho's reviews »

While I am definitely not a person who is remotely good at strategy games (this game included). To say I do not enjoy this game would be a lie. This game allows for enough challenge and re playability just through the skirmish matches you can play. I also have not been able to finish the campaign, aside from a few missions, but even so the gameplay is still amusing. Whether a fan of RTS's or WW2, this is a definite must buy.

95

World War II RTS at its finest

Funtaine | April 25, 2014 | See all Funtaine's reviews »

This world war II RTS is simply amazing. It manages to capture the right atmosphere without sacrificing story or gameplay. It's an older game, dating 2006, but playing it is like drinking a fine aged wine: It has only become better!

Because of the declining quality of RTS games, Company of Heroes stands out as a gem inbetween coal. The graphics are charming, the story engaging and the gameplay is top notch with a brilliant AI for its time. The only drawback is some exploits and bugs in the online co-op, but those are so minor that it's still one of the best RTS games of the decade.

95

GREAT REAL TIME STRATEGY GAME

HitManHunt | April 15, 2014 | See all HitManHunt's reviews »

Great game!

Strategy games are among the most enjoyable to me and this game does not disappoint!

While it was released all the way back in 2006, this game stands up to some of the best strategy games of all time.

The graphics are great even by today's standards and with today's hardware is not a pain to achieve all max settings with great FPS.

The gameplay is amazing and completely redefines what a gamer would be used to in a game of this genre. At it's time of release, it offered a new and unique twist that was somewhat revolutionary and still great fun compared to other titles of the same genre today.

The mechanics are different than what you will be used to, so there is a slight learning curve. However, with a little learning and practice it offers a great system that offers great fun to be had!

I love this game and have purchased multiple copies over the course of time for myself and friends to enjoy! It really does earn every penny spent!

85

Best world war 2 rts

Oktarnash | March 17, 2014 | See all Oktarnash's reviews »

Just like the title says this is the best world war 2 RTS. Although people might try and sell you on company of heroes 2 this is the much better choice. The game takes a while to get used to if you want to become competitive in it's multiplayer, but if you don't want to become involved in the multiplayer, which is quite fun (although there is quite a couple of bad seeds in the community) the single player is quite fun and is quite long, which leads to a lot of fun moments.

The balance is quite good but there are still exploits, which lower level players tend to abuse such as snipers, and a couple of doctrinal things.

Other than that this is the best RTS game ever, in terms of tactical value, APM isn't really something important, all that is needed is a good mind, and knowledge of units, with that you can beat pretty much anyone.

85

This game is great!

mrdalts | March 5, 2014 | See all mrdalts's reviews »

I came from a strictly fantasy RTS background when I started playing PC games. I played Warcraft III and AoE II. This game actually made me move on to other games like Starcraft because it was so good. AI is great, the graphics are great (c'mon its an RTS game) and the game play is 10/10. I would advise anyone who is considering it to buy it on sale, which it's on sale often. You wont be disappointed.

91

RTS (Heroes of WW2) nice game !

ansonicte | March 5, 2014 | See all ansonicte's reviews »

This is a fantastic strategy game in real time, maybe the game is old, but this is no problem as it is a great game. You can play with a platoon of soldiers consisting of a single unit; these units can gain experience of struggle, to level up.

Throughout the campaign we are allies of the West (Europe), tells the story of the 101 battalion Aereo transported from the first D-Day mission, with its spectacular beaches of the Normandy landings, to its final, all campaign is the Operation Overlord.

The online game, now that THQ disappeared, is part of the Steam system with all the benefits that entails.

It is a great game despite having time, 100% recommended

100

One of the best game in history of game

Andreasqiao | March 4, 2014 | See all Andreasqiao's reviews »

Epic! That is the perfect word for this game. The graphics is truly next-gen at launch time (which at 2006) and yet still not too outdated until now (2014).

The Gameplay itself is very addictive, it feels original and something new than the other similar strategy game out there whether it is WWII based or not. It's like the hybrid of action and strategy hybrid with balanced portion each.

The graphics : Yep, this game is almost 8 years old by the time I write this review but it is not too outdated and still a pleasant view to see. The other advantages is you can max out all the graphics setting and still have 60+ with your modern hardware.

The sound : Dramatic. It will really drag you to WWII period battlefield, the sound and voice of soldiers is amazing.

Conclusion : Buy this game , it is a must have !! I truly recommend you all to buy this game whether it is on sale or not. You will NOT disappointed because this game is really worth your money.

86

The best RTS game of 2006 and one of the best ever.

homes223 | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all homes223's reviews »

Company of Heroes is one of the first of many Games for Windows Games to be released for new age of Windows. Relic, the developer, has experience in making great RTS games such as Warhammer 40k Dawn of War and Homeworld 2. COH flows very well just by the unit control command system and a nice mix of realistic combat. The realistic combat is this way because of the graphics. Company of Heroes' graphics are very polished and look amazing with barely any FPS lag on a medium end PC. Not just the player models and combat animations are pretty, so are the environments of the WWII battlefield be it a house used as cover in France or a bunker hill with lush trees and bushes. The environment is also destructible which adds to the choas and beauty of COH battles. The audio is also entising and makes it feel like you are really in battle with your Airborne troops. If you are willing to go above and beyond the call of duty (No pun intended) you are awarded with medals for completing extra objectives like taking a key HQ from the Nazis. There are barely any downsides to COH other than fairly long loads that take you away from the intense battle sequences of COH. If you are an RTS junkie or just a noobie who wants to get into RTS games Company of Heroes is one of the best combat RTS games with a quality and authentic strategic feel.

95

Unrivaled excellence

Leofwine | Feb. 2, 2014 | See all Leofwine's reviews »

Company of Heroes; short and sweet, one of the best real-time strategy games of all time. Developer Relic Entertainment raised the bar and went above and beyond our expectations of a real-time strategy game. An astounding feat, which also has yet to be surpassed.

Set during the grim Second World War you'll be taking part in historic scenarios and immersed in realistic combat. As commander of either Allied or Axis forces you'll be leading heroic assaults, achieving triumphant victories and experience crushing defeats.

There is no denial regarding the superb quality of this game. Intuitive and revolutionary gameplay merged with flawless graphics and superb sound to deliver the most intense and rewarding strategy game experience available.

The single-player department first and foremost consists of a lengthy, robust and cinematic campaign. Complemented by the traditional custom skirmish games you can create. Combine this with the ability to wage war against other human opponents online in nail-biting and sweat-inducing epic clashes and you've got yourself a near perfect product.

Obviously the game has it's share of minor flaws keeping it from achieving a perfect score. One omission being a campaign for the Axis. Secondly the balance between the factions isn't perfect, contributing to some frustrating moments online.

All in all, Company of Heroes is a remarkable achievement. A game which no strategy and Second World War enthusiast should pass up.

86

A very good fast paced WW2 strategy game

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

Company of Heroes is a WW2 strategy game, I'm not very good at this game due to it's fast pace and quite aggressive style. Resources are gathered by controlling capture points around the map, rather than mining etc. This results in a very mobile game, not rewarding someone just wanting to sit in their base and build a big army but those who venture out to try and secure as much land as possible. There's a good variety of units allowing for different methods, with different abilities able to be chosen meaning no two game are alike.

The graphics are very good for the age of the game, and performance is decent, the mission are varied with a wide range of maps and objectives as you follow the Americans from D-Day, it's quite cinematic at times.

If you're a RTS fan then I would strongly recommend picking this up, the multiplayer is still relatively active despite the age and release of the sequel, although be prepared to lose!

100

RTS game with infinite strategy!

iiilker99 | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all iiilker99's reviews »

First , I thought this is just an another strategy game. Then , I played this game and I realized this game has got an infinite strategy ! Tanks are not indestructible and soldiers are not so weak. You can destroy an enemy base with correct soldiers. Also , if you can not find any players in multiplayer , dont't worry. AI is very smart and challenging. There's nothing to say about graphics and sounds. Both of them are very good and realistic. But the sad thing is they are getting older day by day. You can find games with better graphics, but you can not find this gameplay experience. Overall, this game is a must buy for strategy fans, also this is a good start for beginners.

93

Great experience!

grzegorz2047 | Dec. 1, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

Through the graphical "engine" called Essence Engine Virtual reality looks very suggestively. The three-dimensional world is susceptible to damage, so watch for example, running over by tanks stone crosses in the cemeteries, the formation of craters from explosions and spectacular pounding of buildings under heavy fire. In addition, realistically functioning Artificial Intelligence makes comrades exquisitely operating team, using obstacles as shields, instantly responsive to the movements of the enemy, etc.. In turn, Havok technology (see, among others, Painkiller, Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne and Thief: Deadly Shadows) guarantees the reflection laws of physics.

92

One of those must-have RTS on PC

Elder91 | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all Elder91's reviews »

One of the best RTS based on WW2 (if not the best) using the same mechanics from Dawn of War games but with some changes. It also comes with a great engine with good graphics and physics, a campaing really challenging with 15 missions (each one has a duration of 40 min to 1 hour, depending on the difficult and how long you take your time to accomplish your objectives), and an engrossing multiplayer experience.

If you´re looking for a good RTS, you should get this. You won´t regret the purchase.

100

Johnny! I Can't Feel My Legs!

rahnborshko | Oct. 1, 2013 | See all rahnborshko's reviews »

If you ever wanted an in depth WWII commander experience outside of the classic Axis and Allies board game, then this is the game for you. The main game follows the American campaign beginning with Omaha Beach. Relic has developed an interesting twist on how RTS games are traditionally played by focusing more on cover tactics, unit placements, and unit abilities. The resource gathering works more like a Battlefield game were you take over checkpoints with specific resource strengths that automatically add to your resource pool; this works well to keep you more engaged on the fighting than on building up your resources. It is a challenging game that requires the player to be attentive to their surroundings and available units. The game also boasts an engaging and thriving multilayer experience that is still going strong today.

90

One of the better strategy games out there

Alcatraz_Inmate | Sept. 30, 2013 | See all Alcatraz_Inmate's reviews »

I'm going to start off by saying I have had some issues getting this game to work properly on my win 7 system, but it works fine on my vista one. Technical issues aside, this game is really fun. An RTS that certainly deserves all the praise it gets. In my opinion this game is better than the second installment, so if you were looking to try out either, this is the one you want to go for. For the time the game was made it still looks fantastic so if graphics concern you at all, it shouldn't be off putting. Grab this game whenever you have the opportunity!

91

Good RTS

Alfa8789 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

This game is very complex, and if you want to move into the online gaming grounds you'll have to prepare yourself to lose a few times without even making a dent. Many people have come to expect to play the game, and it to be a point a click. Unfortunately for them, it's not. Every unit has a purpose, and IF USED CORRECTLY is a formidable foe throughout the entire game, rather than these "Get most tech, win" games. The only thing that holds it back are online connectivity issues (Steam version). The majority of people you'll be hearing complaints that expect it to be like any other "move squad, attack squad" RTS. It's not, you have to constantly think as the game is more a battle of intelligence than anything else. And in that respect the game is so far unique.

87

Excellent RTS

Glyndwr | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Glyndwr's reviews »

This is a very enjoyable game to play. It does not require resource gathering but the capture of territory. This makes for a more strategic game as there is always the balance between gaining territory to get more units and the risk of overstretching your forces and being forced into a hasty retreat. The single player game is of a good length and enjoyable enough but I prefer playing either skirmish against the AI or multiplayer. Graphically the game still holds up pretty well today, the game doesn't really feel dated at all it is still a very good game.

90

Must Play for RTS Fans

phool | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all phool's reviews »

Simply put, Company of Heroes is the greatest World War 2 strategy game since Commandos 2. Taking the game mechanics from the Dawn of War series, COH adapts and refines them brilliantly. Instead of the usual resource gathering mechanics you need to control different territories of the map which provide you with the resources you need. The more control of the map you have, the more resources you receive. It is through this unique approach that the real strategy of the game shines, as you never know which point the enemy intends to take away from you to get the resources they need.

The sublime strategy elements are complemented with the jaw-dropping graphics, which rank among the best in terms of RTS games and still hold their own today. The campaign is challenging and lengthy and will engage you for some time. Overall this game is highly recommended!

97

Instant Classic.

Izunundara | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Izunundara's reviews »

Company Of Heroes is one of my personal favourite RTS games. The sheer quality and responsiveness of control comes only second to the brilliant immersion. Being able to even control if you want your tanks to reverse to safety to avoid exposing their vulnerable rear armour adds whole new layers to the strategy, with Machine Gun posts having a limited firing arc, the Flak Shield on Field Guns only protecting the crew from small arms fire coming from the front, etc means that the game has whole new levels of intricacies and mechanics to learn.

If you like anything even REMOTELY RTS or WW2 related, you NEED this game.

92

An epic RTS game

zackwho | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all zackwho's reviews »

I'm not usually big into the whole Real-Time Strategy genre, but Company of Heroes absolutely blew my mind when I first gave it a go ... and I've never looked back since.

Focusing on company level combat allows for lots of attention to detail, adaptable play, and fast action. Completely destructible environments are used to enhance gameplay and create some of the most satisfyingly war torn landscapes seen in video games. A fulfilling campaign, addictive gameplay, detailed visuals, and powerful use of sound make up a complete experience with very few problems.

Definitely worth a looksie.

93

Superb and majestic

nemesis44uk | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Company of Heroes (COH) is without doubt, one of the best games I have ever played.

On paper, it is very similar to most other RTSs out there, but the combination of addictive gameplay, smart AI and strategic thinking makes this one a winner.

Graphics are dated, but not ugly and this only shows up in the cutscenes - in battle, you are far too busy to notice low textures on character models. Besides, when you are zoomed out to normal RTS levels, the graphics are more than adequate.

Everything is destructible - sniper in a bell tower? No problem, just call in artillery and reduce the tower to rubble. I had a very tidy base set up with great defences (I thought) and interlocking fields of fire. I was sitting pretty, so I didn't worry too much about base security, my troops all out in the field.

Unfortunately, the enemy brought their Nerbalwerfer (sp?) unit in and pounded my once proud base, whilst being out of range of my base defences. It was crushed and I ended up losing the game, but the show of destruction was as detailed and pretty as anything I've seen before or since.

The missions are long (multiple hours once you get partway through the game) and survival is no way assured.

Buy this game and its add-on packs and turn off your phone. You're going to be in WW2 a long time.

80

Classic game, plays well!

kieronhunt | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all kieronhunt's reviews »

A really great RPG style game, with lots of hours of gameplay. The multiplayer is also a blast, but I recommend buying this game on the merits of its single player story alone. Overall solid game which runs well on Windows 7.

100

Unmissable!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game is one of the reasons I play RTS games. I originally started RTS gaming when I played Halo: Wars and I really enjoyed it, so I picked up Company of Heroes. I don't look back. This game brings World War 2 to your computer in a mirage of unmissable RTS action. Most strategy games require repeated shooting of a building to take it down. Not this one. You can plough through it with a tank, and watch as the building dynamically collapses. You also have the ability to upgrade your units; giving them better weapons, or better suppression tactics - as if you really were commanding an elite squad during the war. With a tonne of maps and four different countries to play as, you really can't go wrong. Absolutely stunning.

90

A great RTS

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

While not being my favorite kind of RTS (I'm a Blizzard RTS fan) i still had fun playing Company of Heroes. Taking control of groups of soldiers is a blast as you have to use certain strategies to overcome your obstacles, that running head first into would get you killed. The Units are well balanced and make for intense multiplayer matches! If you are any kind of RTS fan, pick this game up! you will not be disappointed!

95

Great WW2 RTS

mahon | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Even now that the Company of Heroes II has been released, I think the first part remains a solid game. I think it's one of the best RTS games I know, and I mean all aspects of the game - gameplay, graphics, sound, multiplayer, campaigns, etc. Additionally it offers a great freedom of modding the game, expanding its replayability and lifetime even more.

I cannot recall a World War II real time strategy that would easily compare with it. The Theatre of War and Men of War series were much more demanding and difficult series, while Company of Heroes remains a bit more approachable to a casual gamer. And with its expansions it offers hours and hours of excellent gaming!

92

The RTS that brought the genre back to life

logicbomb | July 20, 2013 | See all logicbomb's reviews »

Company of Hero's kick started RTS back into life when it released in 2006. The game defined what a good RTS needed, and still is the best RTS out 7 years later. It can take some time to learn all the units and how to play them properly but once this is learned the game shines. The only real bad thing I can say about this game is that the AI can sometimes feel like it's cheating, Which happens a lot in games but I still wish developers could change how they implement AI.

95

The game that got me into real time strategy games

grunts00 | July 19, 2013 | See all grunts00's reviews »

Company of Heroes is an incredible real time strategy game and easily one of my favorite games I've ever played.

The game came out in 2006, so the graphics are slightly outdated, however, its hardly an issue when playing the game (only the cutscenes will really stand out).

There are several campaigns to complete, with more added in through the two DLC packs. Each campaign follows a different unit, from different countries. For example, the first campaign follows the Americans, while another follows SS forces from Nazi Germany.

The campaigns have plenty of hours of fun, but what really stood out to me was the multiplayer capability. Both versus and co-op are available, and the outcomes will be different after every battle.

The gameplay is very diverse and you have the options of choosing how you will build your team. You start each game out with an engineer unit, which allows buildings to be built. Generally I begin by building a barracks, which allows me to train infantry units to capture waypoints on the map. Then, with enough resources, I can choose how I want to move forward in the game. I can specialize in infantry and paratrooper units, heavy artillery units, tanks and other vehicles, etc.

The game is very well balanced and each specialization is a worthwhile investment.

I definitely recommend at least trying this game (there's a demo on Steam!).