Reviews for Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

100

A true classic.

hateah | July 29, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

Ah, that games brings me nostalgia, I remember playing it as a kid. The graphics are old, the movement isn't that flexible and you can't move much, but you can do hell of a lot magics, and skills and K.O's of course which is the ultimate finishing move in the game. If you have watched the movie you'll love that game. There are tons of heroes which you can chose between and fight with the computer, or play the Multiplayer which is the better choice, because to play alone is not fun. There are a lot of maps and each map is made for an each hero. You can dodge,punch,kick, do tons of combos, just anything to finish your foe.

76

My favourite action game, but on PC.

alanmaz567 | July 12, 2014 | See all alanmaz567's reviews »

The PC port has a few problems, i would recommend playing the game with an xbox 360 controller. The Requirements to play this game are low. The graphics don't look that great, probably because it's a port from the console version of the game. The gameplay plays the same way the previous Mortal Kombat games played. The game is really fun to play with friends. The storyline is not horrible. The online multiplayer is fun and enjoyable for some time and there are allot of thing you can unlock in the game with points which you can get after finishing a match.Overall the game is fun, but not as fun as the console version of this game. I would recommend getting this game on a sale, and if possible try getting this game on your console (if you have one).

97

From the ashes, the Phoenix reborns once again.

MafuMafu | June 23, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

When I first played this game, I felt like I was 10 again. I still remember when I spent entire afternoons playing Mortal Kombat on my SEGA Genesis. This game brought all those amazing feelings again. The day they announced that it would come to PC I was hyped and it was not in vain. Ed Boon really knows how to return to the roots of the saga and make a amazing game. Plus, the X-Ray is fabulous. Play it alone, online of with/against friends. The fun is guaranteed. It would be a FATALITY not to buy it.

90

Classic reborn

Gosen | June 11, 2014 | See all Gosen's reviews »

My biggest problem with fighting games is fact, that I'm not good at it, so any hardcore game I try to play is like a uncrushable wall. Because of combos, AI difficulty, level of players online, etc. Here what I have is absolute classic fighting game and what I get it's perfectly balanced game. Everyone can experiment and make his/her own combo, everyone can actually do something here. It's just possible from the beginning after learning few basics to have fun and then slowly learning to make more advanced combos. Better player will always win, but new player won't blame entire world and the game itself, because he can't win online, can't win with AI, can't do anything, no - it's not that hardcore, yet it's not like mashing will help.

Great story mode, different crazy challenges, fantastic roster with bloody fatalities, smooth animations and just great Mortal Kombat, probably the best in the series. Single player experience is perfect. Unfortunately net-code is not that good and experience from multilayer game could be very different. It's playable, but problems occur. Also controls are not done well, it's better to stick with AS or pad, because keyboard is very inconvenient (even if I prefer keyboard and don't like other controllers too much, here I have to admit that default PC controller is not well suited for this game). It's worth buying! Additional characters from consoles dlc included, indeed Komplete Edition.

94

Best Fighting Game available on PC

Highlander9782 | June 8, 2014 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

The Mortal Kombat Series is back to what made it great 20 years ago, the visual 2D fighting style and fighting combat is similar to old MK games instead of the 3D fighting style of Mortal Kombat 4. The gore, blood, and crazy fatalities are all back as well. There's a new X-ray special attack move each fighter can do and its very brutal, showing how the skeleton of the fighter gets damaged. Another great thing is that all the moves for each fighter, including the fatalities and babalities are available to see ingame by pressing start and going to the Moves List. There are tons of fighters to choose from, including a new one, Freddy Krueger, and they all have distinct fighting styles. Definite buy if you love the MK series and fighting games.

86

Excellent Retro game!

jasonwsc | May 21, 2014 | See all jasonwsc's reviews »

Classic Mortal Kombat at its best. Character models and graphics are great. It still has the gory stuff from the previous games, but it is a much better fighting game than before.

85

I love it!

Karashkov | May 18, 2014 | See all Karashkov's reviews »

I've been a fan of Mortal Kombat for years but I have to admit that many new Mortal Kombat ended making me dissapointed. This one, however, has one of the best story mode in a fighting game ever. The online battle is fluid yet sometimes a bit clonky but if both sides has a great connection then it's all fun times! Gamespy servers are closing, yes, but they're having their own servers setup so theres no reason for it going offline anytime soon. I was hoping for more alternate modes but this one has made me keep going. Keep it up and hopefully we'll get a PC port of Shaolin Monks? Or even MK10 for the PC straight from the bat? One can hope.

100

The core experience in Mortal Kombat is exciting.

Ju714N | May 6, 2014 | See all Ju714N's reviews »

The first time I played Mortal Kombat, I was too young. I remember the chilled unease in my chest as I watched life-like characters get knocked into pools of acid, limbs torn asunder, and other lovely images not fit for mini-Ryan. More than a decade later, I'm sitting in front of the latest Mortal Kombat, conveniently titled "Mortal Kombat." After years of spin-offs, 3D fighters, and other efforts, the developers at the newly coined NetherRealm Studios are bringing the series back to its core: violent, 2D fighting with an outrageous aesthetic.

While many Mortal Kombats in the past were remembered for their excessive gore and not for their fighting engines, the latest Mortal Kombat is a legitimate competitive fighter... and it has enough gore to make parents run for the hills. Even though the single-player modes are rife with imbalances, the core experience in Mortal Kombat is exciting, challenging, and hella bloody.

75

One of the Fighter Titans

BlowitAllUp | April 30, 2014 | See all BlowitAllUp's reviews »

Definitely deserves a seat up there with Street Fighter and the like. Graphics and effects are amazing. Every punch and kick feels satisfying and brutal. Everything about the game is perfect except with one major flaw, multiplayer. You will find absolutely no one online to play with. Connecting with a friend of mine over the net was also an issue.

Luckily, there are single player challenges and campaign with a horrible story that will keep you busy for a while. Otherwise steer clear if all you care about is online multiplayer.

84

Best since years

MarkDeejay | April 16, 2014 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

A Mortal Kombat game with a good story, how about that ? This new Mortal Kombat is great fun. The story has a good pacing and lets you play with all your favorite characters. Only downside in the Story mode is the fact that there are no Fatalities. Because of that it sometimes doesn't feel like the Mortal Kombat we all know. But I guess that can be ignored, because otherwise they weren't able to pull off the story anyway. The characters look pretty detailed, especially when damaged and the new X-Ray feature is pure eye candy. There are plenty of characters, and a whole batch of secret characters as well. Moves are relatively easy to pull off and especially Fatalities are easily performed. Gone are the days of 10-button combos, now it's just 4 or 5. It makes the game fun, not frustrating like older MK titles. Defeating enemies and completing missions will earn you coins which can then be used to unlock outfits and things like artwork and background music. There's more than enough replay value here. And even though this new Mortal Kombat is already 2 years old, it still is good value for your money.

100

Great game!

AmariieMaerthos | April 15, 2014 | See all AmariieMaerthos's reviews »

The story in this game is great, covering the first three classic Mortal Kombat's with an interesting twist.

92

FLAWLESS VICTORY

DowntimeGuys | April 14, 2014 | See all DowntimeGuys's reviews »

Mortal Kombat is truly the most fun I've had playing a fighting game in a long while. The mechanics are simple to pick up, yet difficult to master. Playing this locally with a friend (using Xbox 360 controllers) is the way to go. There's nothing as satisfying as edging a close match and then ripping your opponent's head off with you bare hands using one of the game's many ultra-violent 'Fatalities'.

The game's visual are highly polished with a noticeable improvement over it's console counterparts. You don't need a high-end machine to play this game maxed-out, but I would recommend you aim for the sweet-spot of 60 frames per second, as most fighting purists will vouch for. The single player campaign features and interesting story which sees you control a multitude of characters from the Mortal Kombat universe.

It's hard to find any flaws in a game such as this. Every aspect of the design has been painstakingly thought-out by the developers and this improves the experience to no ends.

Casual gamers will be dazzled by the gore and satisfaction of landing each blow and hardcore fighting fans will spend countless hours perfecting the combo's and taking on the hard-as-nails campaign.

90

FINISH HIM!

HappyCloud9 | April 7, 2014 | See all HappyCloud9's reviews »

I bought this game on a whim, just because it looked fun. Truth be told, IT WAS.

This game combines the first 3 original game while seamlessly connecting the stories and adding a variety of new graphics and controls.

The combat is very well done. The graphics look fantastic (most of the time) and the sounds are excellent and clear. I was disappointed however by the lack of multiplayer players. I am aware that there are ways to find people to play with (such as switching your area to "Russia"), but the fact remains that there aren't many North American players.

77

A good revival

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

This may be one of the best fighting game from recent years.The game is fun,addicting and challenging.

The campaign is great and tells a pretty good story.Of course that it has some limitations and at times may seem awkward but overall it is a good experience and it is worth to go through it.

The game has everything you want from a MK game.Ladders,local/online multiplayer and many challenges.

The gameplay is smooth and it feels good,the fatalities are full of gore(which is cool if you like this franchise),and the new unique ability that you can do during the fights(X-Ray) is just spectacular.

I highly recommend this if you are into this particular genre.

88

Massive fight game !

LoudeRZz | March 26, 2014 | See all LoudeRZz's reviews »

I really liked this game but first I have to say that it's complicated to learn all the controls and to know how to do many things with many characters .. But apart from it the game itself is very good ! many characters as usuall and many unique skills to each one of them. Graphics are very very good I don't have any complaint about that .. The campaign is very good and diverse (For example you can fight only you against two or vice versa.. ). The game has a good and detailed tutorial for every new player which is very good thing. But only one more disadvantage to the game is the price .. it's a great game but come on .. it's not worth 30$..

85

Mortal Kombat is better than ever!

kurisusutoraiku | March 18, 2014 | See all kurisusutoraiku's reviews »

Netherrealm Studios has made Mortal Kombat a legendary fighting game once again with the reboot of the once beloved series. A reboot much needed after the Play Station 2 games that were quite dreadful. Mortal Kombat 9 brings a simple yet complex fighting system, with brutal fatalities to match. A challenging story mode, and great multiplayer game modes. The graphics are pretty great especially on max settings, however the story mode cutscenes are extremely low resolution and look horrible on PC. Unlike the PS2 games, the fighting is in a 2.5D perspective which is much better than the 3D perspective. The controls are quick and responsive and the 'Test your...' minigames are extremely fun.

90

Finally, it's on PC

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all tommy255's reviews »

A great game, and the DLC is just a nice bonus. Nothing groundbreaking just extra characters and the like. It brings back such nostalgia that it's a must buy for any fan.

Also considering a genre, a controller is DEFINITELY recommended, I have yet to see a fighting game that is better with mouse and keyboard.

70

An Immortal Komeback

RixRaw | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all RixRaw's reviews »

Nearly 10 years after the original Mortal Kombat came out, this 2011 (2013 on the PC) release took a turn back towards its roots by ditching 3D combat, resulting in a 2.5D fighting game. The smooth and responsive controls (controller highly recommended) make playing the game an almost 100% frustration free experience. Mortal Kombat (2011) features a story mode that explores its timeline (an alternate version of that of the first three games in the franchise) and introduces players to some of the characters. Despite being a very fun to play game, Mortal Kombat does come with a handful of flaws, such as the gore and fatalities seeming rather awkward and childish to the now adult fans of the series and the fact that characters aren't prefectly balanced, resulting in some of them being poor choices for more serious gaming; the greatest flaw the game has however is the blatant sexism that is present both in the storyline and the general appearance of the female combatants.

90

Brought me back to fighting games

ROKET | Dec. 26, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I bought this game because of its ease of gameplay, its tight controls, its great visuals and visceral presentation. Its mad fun to play and utterly satisfying.

Story:

This game actually has a story! And a great one at that. I never thought a fighting game could every present and fulfill a good story but this game proved me sooo wrong. The video for the cutscenes arent that great but overall the story is awesome.

Gameplay:

The game sports very tight and responsive controls and when you get the combos down you are presented with one satisfying fighting game. The gameplay is just awesome and very easy to learn. You dont have to be hardcore or technical and when you have an opponent with equal skill...the matches are a riot of fun. I love it and it has become a great party game for my siblings and I.

Presentation:

The low quality video is a pain but the game itself is awesome. They didnt hold back on the blood and gore and it makes the game so satisfying to play. I love seeing my attacks actually do damage to my opponent and you actually feel like theres force behind your moves. The character models are great and so are the different stages and special effects. I love it.

Overall: 90/100

87

2011's Mortal Kombat now on PC!

InsaneHien | Dec. 25, 2013 | See all InsaneHien's reviews »

The 2011 reboot of Mortal Kombat was one of my favorite fighting games of the generation, alongside Super Street Fighter IV, Tekken 6, BlazBlue, and KOF XIII. Although I didn't purchase the game at first when it originally came out on consoles the same year, I did get the game eventually last year on PS3 when the Komplete Edition was released. I'm glad they went back to the 2D fighting style, but with 3D graphics which is awesome. I had difficulty playing this game when I first got it since I had not played a MK game since MK vs. DC Universe, but it took a while to get back into the series. Although I sucked at this game, and still do, it was fun game to enjoy.

Fast forward to 2013 and the Komplete Edition of MK9 returns for the PC. The game has everything from the original release of the complete edition including every piece of DLC for the game, only now ported to the PC. Side-by-side, it looks a lot better than when I played on PS3 due to anti-aliasing, higher resolutions, increased texture & shadow quality. Thumbs up to High Voltage for doing this.

In terms of online play, Mortal Kombat 9 was decent albeit with some noticeable lag although not a lot to make me forfeit in my matches. I had good connection in all of my matches, so I would assume the netcode for the PC version hasn't improved much. Either way, it might just be a hit-or-miss when playing online. Other than that, I just wish more people were playing this on PC.

To those who are fans of the series or fighting games in general, and/or have not picked up this game yet or for some reason wanted to play the game again on PC, go ahead and buy the game!

93

Mortal Kombat is BACK!

TheSteve | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all TheSteve's reviews »

Before this game, MK was known for being the over-the-top fighting game for pure entertainment. Many of the competitive fighting tournaments did not include Mortal Kombat...until now. This game is the perfect kombination (see what I did there? Ok I'll stop...) of entertainment and competitive play. This game has crazy gore and fatalities for fans that like that kind of stuff, but has a very deep competitive aspect to it. The story mode is less of a story and more of a "cutscene then fight", unlike Deception or Armageddon. For a game that came out in the early '90s, Mortal Kombat is still fresh thanks to this game. Congratulations, Netherrealm Studios.

85

The childhood hits again!

Promisis | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all Promisis's reviews »

Mortal Kombat, What an epic franchise. And now, at last, Mortal Kombat 9 Is here. Bringing a whole new gameplay mechanic with tons of fun and awesome graphic. There's so much to this game that you wouldn't want to leave anytime soon. Although the Cut-scenes are quite awfully detailed the whole story is awesome and forces you to watch it. Multiplayer wise, The game quite lacks in matchmaking and sometimes you can lag so bad that you will preffer playing the single player.

Make sure you have a good CPU Which can handle the game at a decent FPS, otherwise, you will struggle playing the game. Also, I would recommend playing this game with an Xbox360 Controller, It adds a whole new exprience to the PC Play.

For any MK Fan this is a must buy, bringing up the old childhood memories.

82

Love the game, wished it was better optimized for PC

Kamatard | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all Kamatard's reviews »

I really like playing mortal kombat, it is an fighting game that almost everyone can enjoy. The only problem is that the game isn't really optimized for PC gaming. There is no option to have it as borderless window or even window mode. The story mode is fun but when you watch a cutscene and decided the leave the game, you would have to watch the whole cutscene all over again with no option to skip it. This game is still a great game when its on sale.

88

Mortal Kombat is back, it's better albeit a little different

blurr_warun | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all blurr_warun's reviews »

Mortal Kombat is our beloved brutal arcade fighter we've always known, it's different of course but that won't stop you from loving it.

                The biggest change would be the simplified control scheme which although good, it may not appeal to fans who've been accustomed to most other arcade fighters but it is a welcome change for new comers of the series however the controls won't matter in the long run. Apart from this, the developers introduced a new combo mechanism called 'X ray moves" Once the X-ray meter fills up, pressing the trigger buttons lets you pull off the devastating move which as the name implies gives you an X ray view of the damage dealt. The unreal engine was put to good use with a lively environment and some nicely detailed characters. There have been a few instances of a noticeable amount of lag with everything maxed out at 1366by768 on my 6670 depending on the environment. The game ran with a solid frame rate otherwise.
                        The story mode on the other hand had a complete cinematic make over with a sequence of battles followed by cut scenes. The story starts off with Raiden receiving visions from his future self that guide him in saving the earth realm from the nether realm, you play as various characters in the game to understand their perspective of the events, it gets really intriguing as you learn the consequences of every characters decisions and it manages to retain your attention till the end. It lasts a good 10 hours, shorter if you're well acquainted with every character in the story mode. However the difficulty in battle sequences is uneven and it even seems unfair at times so much that it might prove to be a dent to your experience but it certainly doesn't mean the story mode is not worth looking into.
                  The game is no Mortal Kombat game without its ladder mode and fatalities, in addition to those are the challenge tower and an online multiplayer mode. Speaking of fatalities they are as brutal and gore filled as it can get, characters literally rip apart their foes featuring full blood and gore with decapitation. The game really hits the spot on those grounds. The mutliplayer mode features various modes from a typical one versus one to a new 'king of the hill' mode where you keep fighting with other players until you loose while the rest of the players await their turn in a queue. Conveniently enough the game has 4 player offline multiplayer as well, you can always relieve your MK memories with your friends in this mode.
                                If you're done with beating the crap out of your enemies you can spend your time unlocking artwork and new fatalities in the krypt using koins you earn in the challenge tower and the story mode. There's numerous hours worth of content in the game, rest assured you get what you paid for.

85

Finnaly good Mortal Kombat

HellMasterko | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all HellMasterko's reviews »

I played Mortal Kombat 1 - 3 alot but next versions of Mortal Kombat were much worse for me until this one showed up. It has great gameplay, you can really enjoy the fight and sounds like when you are fighting robot then you can hear heavy metal sounds. It sounds really awesome and combos, Xray, fatalities and more adds more brutality to Mortal Kombat that ever before.

I didn't have that problem with cutscenes as others, they were normal to me, nothing bad or great. Only problem was when I wanted to play with friend or online. It desynchronized alot and one day it did every match thats why those 15 points minus. Overall? I would buy this game to everyone who loves brutality, good graphics and kombat.

95

Fantastic port

Rubin1993 | Nov. 3, 2013 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition is a great return to childhood. Mortal Kombat returns and it's kickass. The story mode is basically a cut-scene before fight. The fighting mechanics are back from the old MKs and also there are new fatalities. The port of this game is very well done. On a 4 years old computer it works flawlessly. Worth buying even for full price!

90

Just flat out fun

cheezmastah | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all cheezmastah's reviews »

The MK series has always been a mainstay of my fighting game diet, and the newest addition doesn't disappoint. Graphics and gameplay are flawless, and the only real shifty thing about this game is the online play, which can waiver from perfect to slideshow. When it works, it's the best, but when it doesn't, you'll end up wanting to stab yourself in the eye.

95

Excellent PC port of a great console game!

codename4711 | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all codename4711's reviews »

Mortal Kombat 9 has finally arrived on PC! And the first question you should ask yourself is "That's all fine and dandy, but is it worth my time?!?" and the answer is: YES! It is very well optimized and runs very well on most rigs! The graphics have also been increased from the console counterpart of the game. It supports keyboard, Xbox 360 Controller, and fight pads, so it's just as simple to control as it was on the initial platforms. It also features all of the previously released DLC, so the price tag is fitting for the amount of content you get! I would've given it a 100 if it wasn't for the single player cut scenes. The quality is extremely low and can really hurt experiencing the stories behind the characters, but it definitely doesn't make this a bad purchase! If you like fighting games like Tekken and Dead or Alive, you can't go wrong with MK9 on PC!

85

Get over here!

el_pelado95 | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all el_pelado95's reviews »

I played this game on consoles and now on PC. I have to say, this game is awesome and addictive.

The graphics are exellent, each fighter looks pretty well and the effects during the kombat (like the broken ropes or the blood, and the arenas affects). The new feature, the X-Ray move, is cool (the effect is awesome).

The gameplay is good as always. A little hard to start with the keyboard, but in 5 or 6 kombats we can dominate it. The history mode is atractive and interesting, and the tower of challanges give this product more hours of fun. The online works OK, sometimes (depend of the region) is hard to find someone to fight.

Great game. Highly recomend it.

88

Nice

jojo69 | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all jojo69's reviews »

It is nice to have great classic fighter on pc. The graphics are good but the cut scenes are garbage. You can tell they where ported but the backgrounds and everything but the cut scenes look great. Just like old times but I wish it had more people, maybe Goro or Kahn to pick from.

80

Brought back a lot of memories.

oliveretsitty | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all oliveretsitty's reviews »

I'm glad that there was a PC port of this game made. The gameplay is smooth as well as the graphics, but the only thing that bothered me was the cut scenes. The cut scenes, compared to the gameplay, are low quality. That didn't really bother me all too much. It is just something that should be pointed out. I really enjoyed the game, that the day I bought it, I spent about 8 hours playing the ladder mode and trying out the fatalities tutorial. Also, I'm glad that the game includes all the bonus characters that were originally released as DLC for the console. I really do enjoy the X-Ray mode, even after executing it several time, it didn't get old.

90

Love the classic feel

mermalion | Sept. 29, 2013 | See all mermalion's reviews »

This Mortal Kombat is one of the greatest. It brings back the classic feel from the Sega/SNES days. The story mode is kinda like watching a movie. There is a cut scene, then a fight, cut scene, then a fight. The story mode is fun none the less. This game also has tag team matches. It is a lot of fun playing co-op tag team. During gameplay you receive koins which you can use at a krypt to unlock character, moves, and other bonus content.

90

Best Mortal Kombat to Date

iamleap | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all iamleap's reviews »

Mortal Kombat 9 is very fast paced and relies heavily on getting your timing right to land combos. The timings on all the characters are very different. Each character has it's own animations and fighting styles to make them feel unique. While the faster characters tend to be the higher tier ones they're also a lot harder to play, and the slower ones are also still viable. This version also comes with all of the dlc which includes extra costumes and the characters: Rain, Kenshi, Skarlet, and Freddy Krueger. As for online make sure anti aliasing and anistropic filtering are turned down or off. For some reason the game matches people that have similar settings for online games.

90

A great Mortal Kombat for both old and new fans!

Invasion808 | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all Invasion808's reviews »

Whether you're a long time MK fan or new to the series, this game has something for everyone. I'm a long time fan of the franchise but I haven't bought an MK game since MK4, this game has almost everything I've ever wanted in Mortal Kombat.

I have to stress that this Mortal Kombat has one of the best story modes I've ever played in a fighting game. I used to have this game on PS3 and I bought it again for the PC just so I can enjoy the story mode, it's that good!

Unique characters, fast and fluid gameplay, and tons of content make for a great fighting game. Graphics are a bit dated (though improved from the console version), and the online can be a bit inconsistent; but other than that there aren't may negatives for this game.

I highly recommend this game be played with a controller with a good directional pad.

85

The Return of a Bloody Good Time

CrimsonWizard | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

It took a while to arrive, but Mortal Kombat 9 is finally here for the PC and provides one of the finest fighting games of the generation. Taking inspiration from Street Fighter IV, MK9 returns to it's 2D fighting roots, while rending everything else it wonderful 3D. With the restricted plane of movement, the action and moves feel tighter, making the fights play out a bit more strategically. In addition to all of the fatalities and classic moves of the series, MK9 introduces a new super meter which charges up as you take damage or get first strikes, allowing you to unleash upgraded special moves, counterstrikes, and X-Ray attacks to decimate your opponent. Despite all the complex maneuvers however, the game offers a great tutorial, and simple controls to help new players get into the game quickly, making it easy to play, but difficult to master.

Once you get a handle on the controls, you'll find that MK9 offers many modes and options, ensuring you get plenty of variety out of your bare knuckle brawls. In addition to the expanded roster in Komplete Edition and tag team options, you have Arcade Mode for your classic gauntlet of random fights to have a shot at Shao Kahn and a character's ending. There's Story Mode which gives you a nice 3D retelling of the first three MK games with a few little changes thanks to some message from the future Raiden sends himself. While the tale itself is entertaining, the pre-rendered videos have an odd drop in quality compared to the graphics of the actual fighting game which is a shame considering how nice that looks. Challenge Mode is a staggering list of various tasks and preset fights you have to succeed in, allowing you to earn many coins in the process. Speaking of which, those coins or Kombat Koins you earn through fighting and winning matches can be used in the Extras menu to purchase goodies from the Krypt, a map full of random buyables which can net you either new character costumes, music, concept art, and so on.

You might be wondering about actual multiplayer however. While local multiplayer worked fine for me and was crisp and fast, online multiplayer has some serious lag issues or outright crashes sometimes. Considering the time it took for the game to be released on PC, it is doubtful there will be any significant patches for this, which is rather a shame considering all the effort they put into the rest of the game.

However, if you want to play this like the old days with your local friends or single player, MK9 offers quite a lot of content at the price and is one of the best fighters out there on PC or console. I highly recommend giving it a try, especially if you haven't tried any of the MK games before.

78

A blast from the past

Ereios | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all Ereios's reviews »

It's been hard for me to get the same sense of awe from a fighting game for a while, ever since i used to play MK in an arcade in my youth. I had my doubts when purchasing Mortal Kombat Komplete edition, but was glad to find myself wrong, as soon as i started up the practice to get a feel for the controls again i had an overwhelming sense of nostalgia. It was also fun seeing the story that i played through once get completely riled up. It also has plenty of hours of play through the challenge tower and several other game modes.

80

Great fighting game

aseshshrestha | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all aseshshrestha's reviews »

If you are a true Mortal Kombat fan or want a fighting game on PC then you are gonna love this game. I used to play Mortal Kombat in my gameboy, Sega and even PCs in the 90s so it was def. worth waiting for. Though graphics are ok, rather than using real-time animation there are pre-rendered videos which doesn't look good if you play @1080p or higher. Besides, it's buggy and online multi-player lags alot and there are still no signs of patches from the developers

90

Fighting game with decent story

HolyGigi | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all HolyGigi's reviews »

Since the PC is lacking on fighting games, this one really surprised me when it came out. Been a fan of the franchise since the 90s so I was really excited to play it.

The game is good, all the animations are smooth, the characters look really well and it makes you smile every time you land a combo.

Bottom line, if you are looking for a fighting game, this should differently be it.

What I hate though, is that the cut-scenes for the single player campaign are pre-rendered so they look like crap (they are the same as for the x-box or PS3). I hate it when game developers do this and I dont understand it. You update the graphics for the PC, they look really good, but then you let the compressed under-scaled bad cut-scenes in.

94

Excellent game !!

Getsuga | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Getsuga's reviews »

I'm a fan of this game, the last version I played was the XBOX 360 and left me satisfied, has excellent effects and is a game that has plenty to squeeze, play online is tremendous and we did not arrive at a single monotia player. I was satisfied with my purchase waiting for new versions of the game.

85

Actually enjoyed the story!

Anach | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Anach's reviews »

I enjoyed the MK series of games, and was disappointed to find this one had been banned in Australia until the recent introduction of the adult rating for video games. The original idea behind buying this game was to play some multi-player against my wife and daughter, but instead, I ended up spending more time playing single player story mode; a first for this type of game!

66

Issues with the online play

Shumtal | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all Shumtal's reviews »

All in all it is a fairly decent game, the fighting is fluid and feels well done, the single player mode is good except for a few of the boss fights which just become ranged spam fests for the most part.

The online lets the game down heavily though, usually at most you can only find 10-20 people in total and most of the time when you do find an opponent the game is laggy and slow with disconnects being pretty frequent.

Enjoyed the game but wish they would sort out the online play.

92

Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition is one of the best fighting games

MonkeyStachmo | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all MonkeyStachmo's reviews »

I am completely happy I bought this game when it went on sale. I strongly feel it should be $50 for its value. The game is amazing in all measures. The graphics look three times better than the console version. Even though the PC original controls are not made for fighting games, you can always use a XBOX or PS3 controller to play. It works flawlessly! Anyway, the story mode is excellent and it provides a lot of fights and the length of the story is also long which is good. The practice mode is beautiful too. I cannot stop playing this game!

80

Oh man

kenbako | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all kenbako's reviews »

It's not the best fighting game out there, but it's pretty good. Ain't no street fighter HEH HEH, but i mean it's only 10 dollars - 8 with the coupon. It's really worth it yolo

83

A must have for Mortal Kombat fans.

Caputalis | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Caputalis's reviews »

A perfect reboot to the Mortal Kombat game series, Mortal Kombat combines elements from past games and adds in new ones, as well, such as its exceptional story mode, and updated graphics. The game features many modes to play with, such as the new 'Challenge Tower', similar to event mode in the Super Smash Brothers series. The controls feel responsive, the fighting feels fluid, and the sound is well-done.

The only criticism I have regarding this game is its laggy multiplayer mode, although that may be fixed in a future update. This game was only recently released to PC, after all.

Despite that, Mortal Kombat is probably one of the best games in the series so far, and a definite must have for any Mortal Kombat fans, or just anyone into fighting games, really.

70

Enjoyable yet flawed

aitk3n | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all aitk3n's reviews »

Game has solid fighting mechanics, with very quick response times and enjoyable modes, the roster is pretty good size, the faults with this game come in the cut scenes with this game as they're poorly ported and very pixelated with sound being poor, don't understand why they just wouldn't use in-game models for the cut scenes as they look and sound a lot better than the poor console converted ones.

If you're looking for the story mode, maybe avoid as when cutscenes happen, it takes you out of the experience maybe but if you love fighting games, maybe this will be the one for you

90

Like back in the day

Shaddonius | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all Shaddonius's reviews »

Back in my days, Mortal Kombat 2 was THE GAME everyone at the arcade lined up to play so naturally the franchise ended up pretty popular among gamers around here. When MK9 was released on PC everyone got hyped because finally NR remembers us PC users exist. The game itself is exactly like the Xbox 360 version so don't expect the PS3 exclusive Kratos.I'm only going to give it a 90 for how god damn long it took them to release it. I bet it's going to be the same with Injustice.

80

Great Game, Excellent Service

bwangila | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all bwangila's reviews »

Even two years after its original release, Mortal Kombat remains one of the best fighting games ever made. And the Green Gaming service and delivery is great as always

99

Epic Battles

AshDstiN | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all AshDstiN's reviews »

This Game made me stay at home for weeks playing it , i played almost every part of MK ,will be forever EPIC and having it for this price is more Awesome :D

89

Finally the most expected fighting game on pc

Viirukkin | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Viirukkin's reviews »

After Mortal Kombat 4 PC users were kinda sad because they stopped producing the MK series for pc and so they needed to play games like street fighter or something else that has lots of fighting,but nothing was like mortal kombat.Nothing was like seeing the favorite MK characters in one of the best[if not the only] fighting game on PC.This last MK has awesome art,the graphics are amazing for a PC Port,the control is okay,the combos are not too hard[it's only hard at the beggining,but you memorise them easily],and has quite a decent story. Online features are awesome and you can test your skills against other players,not only the AI. Per total,this game is worth buying and i hope the next MK Title will be on PC from the first time,without waiting 5000 years for it.

84

Best MK port for the PC

Bajista58 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Bajista58's reviews »

With this game you will get the same felling you get with the classic sega games, i didn't play the console version of this game, but this one runs flawlessly. The cutscenes lack of quality, but not too much to worry about, overall this is a great fighting game for the pc, wich really lacks of them

79

Round 1..... FIGHT

Sebastai | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all Sebastai's reviews »

There are very few fighting games on pc. And luckily Mortal Kombat has joined us. A big franchise and mythical fight like this could not be received in a better way, their purchases were quite satisfactory. And users were more than satisfied with the game. The graphics are pretty good, the gameplay is still the same in these games but certainly genre lovers will know you take full advantage.

82

It's Beautiful

klanus | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all klanus's reviews »

Purchased it and played for some time. This game is really fun I haven't tried the online games yet but I heard they were laggy . I'm not one for online gameplay in fighting games though I play local only . I am a old time guy . Overall good graphics great gameplay.

90

Best version yet!

Baphomet_0 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all Baphomet_0's reviews »

I'm a long time MK fan, so it might not surprise you that I've bought MK9 for every platform available. The PC version might have come late, but man, is it a great experience all over again. The game looks better than the console versions, and has no slow downs.

The gameplay is where it's at! This is by far one of the better MK titles in regards to it's fighting mechanics and overall play style. If you haven't picked up this incredible game, give it a go! You will be amazed how well MK has advanced.. oh, and there will be blood!

97

Best fighting game on PC

spycid | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

WB games finally made a beautiful port to the most cherished fighting game for pc gamers by finally bringing it back to the home console. Including all the dlcs and making it a complete edition made it even more on the must buy list. Gameplay is amazing as always. Arcade ladder, Tag team makes it fun to play with a friend and you can always fight against brag to settle who's the best in the legendary game. It is a must buy in every fighting gamers collection.

80

Great fighting game

jasbro | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all jasbro's reviews »

We dont get many fighting games on PC so when we do get one its a big deal, and this one does not disappoint, it looks great and runs flawlessly, the cutscenes however look really low res which was disappointing not to mention you cannot skip them which can be frustrating as some of them are quite long, so be prepared to re-watch them if you quit the game and load up again.

But overall i do highly recommend this game for any fighting game fans out there, it has a really cool and engrossing story which i feel is probably one of the best one in any fighting game next to the Injustice Gods Among Us game, it comes almost every character you can think from the MK universe plus the extra bonus DLC ones included for free.

85

Even better on PC

thatsmyfavourit | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all thatsmyfavourit's reviews »

I played this a lot when it first came out for consoles, and loved it. When I heard it was being released for PC I decided to give it another go, and I was pleasantly surprised. All the graphics and such look infinitely better than the console versions if you have the hardware for it. If there was one thing to complain about, it would be the prerendered cutscenes in the story mode. The difference between these cutscenes and the little blurbs that your character says before the actual fight is very noticeable. Personally, I was playing at 1080p, and the cutscenes were blurry and pixelated - I wouldn't have minded if the cutscenes were just rendered by my machine, rather than prerendered and played back as a video. All in all though, if you haven't played the console version, they definitely consider picking this up. If you have, there's not a whole lot that's new from the console version outside of graphical differences and a different online community.

75

Finally another fighting game!

silentblacksnak | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all silentblacksnak's reviews »

to be honest PC gamers get boned with fighting games because there are very few. The only company that occassionally puts out a game on pc is capcom and honestly i am so glad to have mortal kombat. However the fact that the cutscenes are in 720p and compressed look terrible when playing the story of the game. I would recommend this game for gamers who love fighting games when it does go on sale! It gets a 75/100 mainly because of the lack of fighting games that are available to us.

94

The greatest entry in a long time

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

I have this title for PC, PS3, and xbox. That's how much I enjoy it. The art style is top notch as expected from a developer of this caliber. The story isn't half bad and their implementation of playing each character through the story is pretty good. The combos and x-rays are BRUTAL. I flinched the first time i saw them. Their system for unlocking art and costumes can be frustrating at times but if you're putting in a lot of time, then it's not a big issue to unlock what you want. One of the best fighters of recent history.

80

Finally a good Fighter on PC that's not from Capcom

zeroobliv1 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all zeroobliv1's reviews »

PC does not get much love when it comes to fighters, so when I saw this I was pretty excited. The game runs flawlessly on my GTX 460 at 60 FPS, and looks fantastic. I have yet to run into any sort of bugs you'd expect from a port, they did a very good job with porting this game. Now, as for the online, sorry to say but the netcode is pretty bad in comparison to Blazblue or even Street Fighter. But when the online isn't unbearavly laggy it's pretty fun.

All in all, the game is an extremely good port, it's only really noticable flaw that I've seen is the online, which is kind of a big problem that I hope they patch at some point.

80

Better than expected!

malcanalunza | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all malcanalunza's reviews »

After what I last saw from the MK Team with the MK vs DC game, I was skeptical. I purchased this cheap, and played it for quite a bit realizing that it played a lot like the older MK games that I grew up with, I had a lot of fun with it and have actually recommended it to quite a number of people.

90

Mortal Kombat - review

Neapolis47 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

It 'also arrived on PC, this is the last title of the popular Mortal Kombat series. The title offers a story mode for a period of about 5 hours, the classic "Climbing" arcade for single or two-player tag, the inevitable tutorials, training, the Tower of the challenges which engage in a long series of clashes with certain objectives to be achieved, some mini-games like Test of Strength, of Fortune, skill and reflexes, the Crypt and the Necropolis where unlock bonus of various types and finally an online multiplayer component. The gameplay is unchanged from the console version and has all the strengths and weaknesses, including the precision dell'hitbox a little rough, especially when the characters are in flight. If you love fighting and the Mortal Kombat series of intrigues and fascinates you, the version Komplete Edition available on Steam offers (almost) everything you want from a product of this kind, provided that the online game is absolutely crucial for you . After all, the title is very rich in content, fun and with a roster of characters virtually boundless; considering the price and what the passionate community of modders has already done and will do in the future, on the whole the last effort of High Voltage software can only be judged as positive. Nevertheless, Mortal Kombat: Komplete Edition is guilty of some little ingenuity - as the absence of cutscens in high definition - and does not affect all the defects that were present in the console versions, also presenting an even more poor netcode that, in the present state of work, it makes the online component practically absent. The purchase is therefore strongly recommended to enthusiasts dedicated to the game locally.

76

Solid Title

raeldrikp | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all raeldrikp's reviews »

Honestly I was worried about the port of this game from console, but it seems to be ok. The gameplay mechanics really haven't changed from the console version, as expected, so if you like MK 2011 then you'll like this. They seemed to have bumped up some of the graphics, but oddly they left the cutscene videos at a compressed 720p so its gonna look horrible. And perhaps at $30 its not exactly a solid buy, considering its a game thats 2 years old. Still, we don't get much PC fighting games so, theres that.

83

A premier fighting game.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

I love all fighting games. Street Fighter, Tekken, Soul Calibur, Primal Rage, and Mortal Kombat. This Mortal Kombat is the best one the series has seen in a long time. The game plays like other Mortal Kombat titles, but is updated and a little more fluent. All fighting games have different ways of controlling, and Mortal Kombat is distinguished in it's fighting style. Personally I prefer Tekken, then Street Fighter, then Mortal Kombat, but everyone's got their own personal preference. If you've ever played a Mortal Kombat game, and you're interested in this at all, get it. If you like fighting games, give this game a chance.

90

Fighting game goodness

Stebsis | July 31, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Mortal Kombat is just brutal game, it was since the first MK came out, and with better graphical technology they've taken it to a whole new level with x-ray that sometimes is shown. You'll see spines cracking, limbs get torn apart, people decapitated, and blood flies. There is amazing roster of characters to choose from with all the classics there. There is content here for newcomers with good tutorials, and fighting game pros with online play to get some real challenge, and tons of fun minigames. This is a great entry to one of the best fighting game series out there.

90

Brought to current standards

mahon | July 31, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition is something that's been waited for by many, as for many gamers Mortal Kombat must be one of the best and most important fighting games ever. And I mean every subsequent title in the franchise. Now Mortal Kombat looks better than ever before and it still plays so well. You get to meet your old friends again, but now they look excellent and the gaming experience definitely benefits from the refreshed look. As a single player game it's still one of the best fighters and the characters and subject don't get boring or monotoneous, it's as much fun as it should be, and it doesn't lose its arcade feel.

I cannot comment on the multiplayer aspect though, as I still haven't had a chance to give it a good try.

93

I've been waiting for centuries !

jobs99 | July 29, 2013 | See all jobs99's reviews »

This game. Wow. Finally on pc, the best fighting game. I seriously was really excited about this, but still waited to buy it. I do not regret the money i spent, this game is fantastic ! I bought this because of the multiplayer aspect which i s lagless and great, the singleplayer is also good, but i've been excited about MP the most. I really recommend this to you guys

95

unbelievable

Hunork | July 29, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

You could say, that the PC version of 2011 Mortal Kombat wins the battle, but it's not a flawless victory. Nevertheless, you should check it out - your keyboard will suffer from a brutal fatality, but the amount of fun is satisfying. It's a great beat'em up for solo players - the game has lots of modes and challenges, but it's also great for parties - up to 4 players can play on one machine. The developers need to control some online issues and minor bugs, and the experience will truly be "komplete".

85

Finish him!

celdiruen | July 29, 2013 | See all celdiruen's reviews »

Mortal Kombat is finally back on PC! This is a solid title, the graphics have been updated, the roster is right, and the gameplay is great. It flows very differently from other fighting games such as UMVC3, SSF4AE, Tekken, etc.If you ever played Mortal Kombat years ago and have fond memories of it, you should check this out. There are some small issues with multiplayer, but the game is still new and they'll hopefully be fixed.

95

Insanely good arcade fighter

furious_gamer | July 27, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

I played this game when i was a kid and used to like this button-mashing fighting game. But after it is all about Street fighter and Tekken, which dominated the place mostly because of it's ground breaking graphics and new stunts. Now MK, completely kicks the ass of all of them, and it's ground-breaking new make-over and new moves, made me think it is worth the wait. It is a must buy game.

85

The fighter that defined arcade games.

redskul | July 23, 2013 | See all redskul's reviews »

Mortal Kombat back in the arcades was by definition the best fighter genre itself. This game for me was the coming of age for arcade gaming it shined a new light on not all video games are for kids and that everyone of all ages has games for them. Great port and some major nostalgia here. Never ending fun.

95

Excellent Port. Best Fighting game on PC.

amin_parazit | July 20, 2013 | See all amin_parazit's reviews »

The new Mortal Kombat is exactly what PC's were missing, and that's one of the main reasons i purchased a PS3 . But now with this amazing port to PC and the great price, plus having all DLCs included, This game is a complete winner for me. It features both great gameplay, just like the classic Mortal Kombat games, and has a very unique interface. However I can't say its completely perfect yet, there are some minor bugs present, specially on the Multiplayer matchmaking side, but the game is still new and has a lot of room for patches and updates, and NetherRealm Studios have done a great job in the past supporting their games. Great game/Deal overall, totally worth it

88

PC port worth the wait !

Shanti | July 20, 2013 | See all Shanti's reviews »

This is one of the best Mortal Kombat games no doubt, the port to PC took a few years but it is completely worth it. Plays beautifully on both my college laptop and my home PC. About the gameplay, the single player experience is awesome I love that they brought in all the old characters to make the title "Komplete Edition" very true. It covers the whole history of Mortal Kombat universe, so new players can get into the lore easily as well and old players can appreciate the nostalgia. Multi player is slightly wonky and the only reason why I won't give it 90+ rating. You can only play against people in your area I think, which is sort of a dated approach to multi player, and makes matchmaking slower for people like me who don't have fixed hours.

Overall: Would I recommend it? "Kompletely"

90

At last...

chris023r | July 19, 2013 | See all chris023r's reviews »

So many years for a Mortal Kombat in PC. I am not a console user so this port got me excited. Although all these years passed, I did not expect from me to spend so many hours on playing it. But, I did. The gameplay is exactly what it used to be but a lot better. The new, modern and improved graphics is excellent and make you want to play more and more. The online addition is something that drives this game forward, although having your friend beside you and fighting him will never be less fun. I hope I will soon see another game of this franchise in PC as well as the Injustice game that was created by the same company.

88

Mortal Kombat at it's finest

MichalM | July 17, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

MK, You can say whatever about that series, everyone will recognise it with massive gore, blood, characters, fatalities and of course, "Get over here!" by Scorpion. Mortal Kombat "9" is taking us back to the series well-known from arcades and PlayStation console. Legendary characters like Johny Cage aka nut crusher, stunning combo moves and of course, Fatalities which were always a hallmark of MK series. MK9 is giving us all of that things + great graphic on well-known by everyone, Unreal Engine 3. Sound is also great and proper to the series. If you are fan of MK series, or fighting series overall, you have to buy it. You won't regret it.

90

O yeah! Now it's on PC!

damianjar122 | July 16, 2013 | See all damianjar122's reviews »

I remember playing Mortal Kombat on my Playstation One and it's amazing I can play it again on my PC with awesome graphics. Game has good gameplay but I think it's the best when you're playing with someone else. Yuo can choose both old and new characters to play. Story is not bad so single player is a good idea too.

67

FINISH HIM!!!!!

thong_yw | July 16, 2013 | See all thong_yw's reviews »

Brings back sweet memories of standing at the arcade machine. Great pc port with smooth combat sequences. As with the other MKs, the Fatalities make it fun to play. Worth the price if you a fan of the MK series

90

Mortal Kombat is back on the PC!!

fable2 | July 13, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

Mortal Kombat for the PC finally got released this year, it is highly addictive, has great gameplay and all the brutality you love is back again. I played this game with a keyboard and the controls are very easy to handle, you can do all the moves, x-rays, fatalities and babalities without any problem.The gameplay is fluid and the graphics are amazing.The unreal engine really does his job in this game. Another amazing thing here is the story.It covers the events of the past Mortal Kombat games and truly explains the story of each character.It is very compelling and it hides a few surprises too. Furthermore, there are many unlockables for you to buy with the points you get from playing, and trust me, you will be playing this game a lot.There are unlockable fatalities, skins, concept art and more. There is only one big problem that I had with the game, many more people have been having it too, it is the slowdown in the gameplay.However this problem is usually very easy to fix by using the auto-configuration in the game's options. The final verdict is a solid 9.This is an amazing game with almost no flaws at all, the uninteractive environment is a little turn off for me but it's not a big deal.Other than that the game is amazing and I would recommend it to every fan of the franchise, and of fighting games.

90

This MK brought back old memories

D0nkeym0nkey | July 12, 2013 | See all D0nkeym0nkey's reviews »

Fast paced fighting game, brought back memories of my childhood when I used to game this on arcades then jumped straight into PS1 MK3.

Since this game is really good and perfectly recommended just like any other games minor problems, when entering online you will soon realize that some people will be able to see you and others won't, don't know if this is because it's a full room and places you to another server, but in any case it can get annoying. Lets face it no game is flawless and problem free.

Recommended? I say HELL YEAH So come on people borrow it, try it, buy it and game your heads off.

90

Fatality

DukePaul | July 11, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Finally the new Mortal Kombat for PC, I can say the port is very good, graphics, framerate, online system are excellent.

This fighting game is perfect if you are looking for a single player experience because the story mode and all the content you have to unlock, also the multiplayer works great with a lot of modes and characters.

I can say this game is one of the best fighting games on PC.

90

Solid port but could use some polish.

BlazePhoenix | July 9, 2013 | See all BlazePhoenix's reviews »

The game is very stable on my mid range PC running at constant 60fps on 1080p and with max settings. The story mode is pretty fun and retells the story of the first 3 MK games. The cut scenes on this mode, however, are very compressed and low quality specially noticed on a Full HD monitor. The controls are very responsive, there's the basic amount of graphic options to tweak the game to what you PC can handle.

The majority of complaints comes from the online experience tho. Apparently the game is region locked which means you can only play against other players that on the same region. You can change regions by changing the Steam download region tho, but it would be better if we could just be in the same place at the same time. It would make finding people to play with a lot easier. Other problems with connectivity are also mentioned but it looks like every one of them has a workaround, you just to search the Steam forums for them. All in all it is a good port of a fantastic fighting game that could use a little polish from the devs with one patch or two. Totally worth the price of admission.

90

Exciting port! fun to play!

NoelJRocha | July 8, 2013 | See all NoelJRocha's reviews »

A great PC port for fighting games hopefully more come along like this. Game play is smooth and bloody just like classic Mortal Kombat. A list of old and new character to pick and choose from with amazing environments to battle in. One of my favorite game converted to PC hopefully more fighting games follow in MK 9's footsteps. Fatalities are sharp and creative and the story takes you on a journey to explore all of the Mortal Kombat lore. A fun game to play with friends or enjoy online with multiple people in king of the hill matches. A lot of versatility in this game for your buck and well worth it.

96

Best Fighting Game Ever

demonhunterg | July 8, 2013 | See all demonhunterg's reviews »

Easily the best Mortal Kombat game. The combo system is perfect, the balance tight, and the gameplay smooth. I still play this game constantly!

89

Back to its roots.

discoverygold | July 8, 2013 | See all discoverygold's reviews »

Mortal Kombat has slowly been getting worse in my eyes. the fighting had been getting stale and the blood and guts just that little bit been there done that. But with this Mortal Kombat i feel they have started again and come out with what they had started with but better. You get that "ooh" and "ah thats gotta hurt" while you crack the jaw of your least favorite character. The story is more interesting and rewarding than previous but not the top on in my book s but still great non the less. A must buy in my eyes.

72

I have issues with this game.

EliParker | July 8, 2013 | See all EliParker's reviews »

The whole PC graphical options are great, it has great framerate, I have no issues with the port itself.

Here are my issues:

  1. There is no "Player vs. Com" mode
  2. On the fatality tutorial you can use all your fatalities and you can't try stage fatalities.
  3. All the costumes on Vita is not present on the PC version. They have a year from the release of the Vita version to the PC version and still this isn't complete.
  4. For some this may be an issue, but almost everything is unlocked from the start. You can unlock concept art and stuff of that natural in the Krypt.

So my final score reflects something that should have been part of the core game and it isn't. If what I listed isn't an issue then the PC port of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition is one of the best Mortal Kombat games.

77

Old School Mortal Kombat

NaztyFox | July 8, 2013 | See all NaztyFox's reviews »

This game gets in touch with the original Mortal Kombat games and it prospers from this. Think of this game as the old school Mortal Kombats with some slick new graphics. I am not one who likes fighting games but this one is good for a spin. Worth the cash if its on sale.

100

Great game

Astroph | July 7, 2013 | See all Astroph's reviews »

Got this on every console it is on, it's a fantastic game and never fails to give me enjoyment, the PC version is just as good, perhaps even better due to enhanced visuals, a very great buy

92

thanks for this great pc port

hype2xs | July 7, 2013 | See all hype2xs's reviews »

it s great to see such a good port to pc.this game is really awesome and all the Money worth.

90

Definite improvement.

EnemY | July 7, 2013 | See all EnemY's reviews »

The latest iteration of the Mortal Kombat franchise is definitely a step up from the previous few in many ways, chief of which being the gameplay aspect.

If you've happened to play the classics (Mortal Kombat 2 and 3 especially), you'll notice the feel of the game is quite similar. This is a very good thing, as it feels far smoother and more natural than Armageddon, Deception or Deadly Alliance.

It features a somewhat bizarre single-player storyline based on alternate timelines which some reviewers have disliked, yet even this is a step up from Armageddon or Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe, and if you take into account that storylines in Mortal Kombat games have always been a little far-fetched, you'll see it's not really a bad thing.

It also features a lengthy "Challenge Tower" mode which includes numerous game modes which vary from hilarious to extremely difficult, but which are, nevertheless, possible to complete, which will end up giving you a great sense of accomplishment upon completion.

The visuals are - of course - stunning, with great care for detail, and FINALLY feature some actual cosmetic damage to the characters as they fight. It may not be a LOT, but it's still nice to see that if you punch Scorpion in the face enough times, his mask will crack open and you'll be able to see his skull underneath.

But the best part is - naturally - the multiplayer. And you'd better believe that if you get a buddy to play this with you, you won't be walking away before you've both got callouses on your thumbs.

There are still a couple of issues, such as the ever-annoying "grab" maneuver which goes through block and has animations which are JUST long enough to be annoying, or the fact that they've decided against all reason to include Freddy Krueger in the roster (i am aware many people would disagree with me on this last one, and i have nothing against Freddy in general. I just don't think he's appropriate here, specifically.)

This is why i am reluctant to give it a 10 out of 10, and will settle for 9, but overall it's a great game, and i heartily recommend it.

Oh: and there's this thing called an X-Ray move. There's a meter that fills up as you fight. You can use it to power up your super-moves, do a "breaker" or perform an X-Ray move. Try the X-Ray move. Then try it on your friends. Trust me: you'll REALLY like trying it on your friends.

100

Wonderful game

Subzero93 | July 7, 2013 | See all Subzero93's reviews »

Played this game for weeks on end. I have always been a fan of Mortal Kombat and this revamped version is absolutely wonderful. It has so many different fatalities and things to do. The multiplayer is a lot of fun including king of the hill and the new challenge ladder is loads of fun.

90

A MUST Have For Any Mortal Kombat Fan!

zeroethan | July 7, 2013 | See all zeroethan's reviews »

Mortal Kombat : Komplete Edition, Is a terrific eddition to the franchise and a long awaited port for the PC. It lives up to the Mortal Kombat name and is a pretty good pc port, and with a $30 price tag what more could you ask for? Bottom line the games great; alot of fun; and even better with friends. GIVE IT A TRY!

80

A Welcome Fighter on PC

Arcadium | July 7, 2013 | See all Arcadium's reviews »

PC gamers haven't had much love from MK with the horrid port of the original three games all we've had to put up with, but times are changing and the Komplete Edition of MK9 is here.

Mortal Kombat does something most fighters don't by actually having a somewhat proper story that's actually quite long. It's sort of campy in a charming way the original movie is and will last you around 5 or so hours depending on your skill. Besides the lengthy story you've got multiple game modes like Test Your Luck where a roulette wheel will determine your opponent and any effects for the battle that vary from being just cosmetic like rainbow blood or actually changing the gameplay like armless combat. There's also a bevy of items to unlock in the Krypt like concept art or new fatalities. Besides all that the game also includes all of the DLC characters (Skarlet, Rain, Kenji, & Krueger), all the klassic skins, and the klassic fatalities. Since this is a PC game, I'd recommend buying a controller or fight stick because the keyboard is really awkward when it comes to fighting games.

For anyone who didn't already own this game on a console (or maybe you're a hardcore fan) there's no reason why you shouldn't check this game out.

75

Old school.

tgardine | July 7, 2013 | See all tgardine's reviews »

I forgot how difficult it is the master this game. It's addicting. The online multi-player is good, however as other reviewers have stated it needs a bit better net code. It tends to lag on some games. There are many good players out there, and I wish the tutorial was a bit better to get my moves down. I would recommend this games. You can't find a better game on PC for fighting.

86

Finish him!

ruler8696 | July 6, 2013 | See all ruler8696's reviews »

One of the better fighting games available on pc. The visuals are stunning and the combat is fun.

85

Fantastic port, slightly too late

Scorpy | July 6, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Mortal Kombat is pretty much the essential fighting game experience for anybody that likes to play games at their own pace. There is tons of content and a multitude of modes that will entertain you long after the story mode is over. The online is basic, with little to no lag, but the big promise here is modability. Hopefully we see some cool mods for this in the future.

One bad thing: the pricing. You can easily find the Komplete Edition on X360 or PS3 for $15, however charging $30 for a game that's over 2 years old is a bit steep.

I still suggest fighting fans buy this, hopefully the support from the PC community makes them consider porting Injustice: Gods Among Us.

93

Best PC fighting game

lok0812 | July 6, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is by far the best fighting game as of now for the PC, it is even better than any of the Street Fighters series especially if the player enjoy a good gory game. In addition, for a fighting game this game have a lot of contents. Another good thing about this game is the crisp graphic it offers compared to other fighting games. The game have DX 11 capability and allowing better looking animations and graphics. This is a must get for any fighting fans and you will not disappoint.

80

MK comes to PC

born135 | July 5, 2013 | See all born135's reviews »

Great to see a fighting game on pc that isnt street fighter. So far have been having a blast seeing all my old MK favorites updated and put into a balanced fighter. The online is a bit wonky and I hope it gets patched, but other than that its a great game and a great deal. Getting the base game and all the dlc for $30, cant go wrong with that!

95

FINISH HIM

crispy52 | July 5, 2013 | See all crispy52's reviews »

Mortal Kombat has had a few issues with their series within the last few releases. But Mortal Kombat 9 does not fail to impress by any stretch of the imagination. By deciding to return to the classic side scrolling fun, Mortal Kombat delivers like no other MK hit. The fatalities are just as gruesome as ever and the difficulty is just as high as it was originally. Although the PC version is awesome, Mouse and Keyboard controlls aren't ideal. I would recommend a controller on the basis of it being easier to nail those combos. The game obviously being on PC, it has better graphics and there are a lot of more options to mess with. The game runs really smooth and it delivers an excellent fighting experience.

For the hardcore gamer, this game is both difficult in a sense that you have to nail each combo and stay on top of everything in order to get those big hits, but the game also does not force you to nail those combos. The combos just improve the damage you do significantly. The new X-Ray mode is both satisfying and well thought out, aside from the fact that it is the same move each time, which is to be expected. Although the story mode falls quite far from amazing and forced, you are mostly just here for some awesome, gruesome, action.

The game delivers and for a $30 package that includes all the DLC, it is quite worth it.

95

FATALITY

simodeso | July 5, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Are you missing the guy that says Toasty when you burn enemies with scorpion? Are you missing the older gore and splatter FATALITY or BABALITY? So why you are reading this and you don't have bought the game yet? This games has a lot of characters to play some from the older version of MK and some are new entry. (Yes there is also Kratos and Freddy krueger) This game hasn't lost the old touch that had, is still awesome. Now has a very nice storyline mode that last a lot of hours (I'm sorry for you but in story mode you can't do FATALITY.. Why? Well Imagine if you rip off both of the arms of Raiden and then he have to save the world..i think that it's impossible) Let the Fight Begin!

82

One of the best fighting game on PC

Cavalieroscuro | July 5, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The Complete Edition of Mortal Kombat is a great deal. The game is good, with a long campaign, a lot of addictional single-player modes and a good online matchmaking. There are a lot of additional characters, as Freddy Krueger from Nightmare. If you are searching for a good fighting game after Street Fighter 4, here's come the new challenger.

90

It is so fun to slice those Ninjas!

ducklord111 | July 4, 2013 | See all ducklord111's reviews »

This game is just amazing! Really like graphics of the game it looks juicy and fatalities look just incredibly cruel and cool with it.I am playing with my Ps3 controller which works just fine.Also,there are plenty of people in online so there always opponents to fight with.I was really amazed with story mode because it is interesting and not many fightings have story modes. If you like fighting games or you are fun of MK,This game is must have. (The only one problem is that online mode is sometimes glitchy,i think it depends on internet connection.)

100

Old feeling

daddy91 | July 4, 2013 | See all daddy91's reviews »

This game gave me back the old feelings when i was young and played with it on PS1. Probably the best fighting game ever i played with and the quality is amazing.

92

Really fun but hard for newbies online.more variety needed

EvilTarakan | July 4, 2013 | See all EvilTarakan's reviews »

This game is awesome,best fighting game i have ever played. The combat is fast,great visuals,awesome sound and flawless and quick combat that requires only your true skill. If you are new the toturial is great to learn the basics and the combos.

The online is a blast specially with friends. But if you are new you will lose and get frustrated,this game needs good matchmaking.

more variety needed,after seeing all x-ray moves and fatalities you want to see more.

91

TEST YOUR MIGHT

madhair60 | July 4, 2013 | See all madhair60's reviews »

Put your fears aside, this is no sub-par PC port. The long-awaited PC version of Mortal Kombat packs in all the content and DLC from the console original, and features much sharper graphics.

This is that rare fighter that offers plenty to do as a single player game, as well as a thriving online community. Highly, highly recommended.

90

IT HAS BEGUN!

DosBoss | July 4, 2013 | See all DosBoss's reviews »

I'll keep this short and sweet, if you've played this on PS3/Xbox360 then you already know what to expect, put simply this is THE Mortal Kombat game to play, (it's by far the best 3d one!), kombat is fast, fluid and brutal,

PC specifically, the visuals look better than ever! with a handful of GFX options to tweak, most people with a reletively up to date rig should run this no problems, never experienced any framerate drops, (some very minor lag online, not enough to hurt the experience by any means),

used a PS3 controller emulated as an Xbox one, worked perfectly, all around this seems like a very solid and well put together port, DO BUY!

my only real gripe at this point is that the accept and cancel buttons seem swapped with no way of changing them (otherwise every other control is modifiable)

A+

PS - Possibility of mods in the future has me VERY excited :D

85

It's alright

infamousyutty | July 4, 2013 | See all infamousyutty's reviews »

No GFWL, no secuROM drm, updated 1080 HD graphics (except cut scenes), decent port. I'm liking the story so far, only complaint is needs more kostumes.

92

As bloody as ever

kalil | July 4, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Mortal Kombat is one of the most emblematic franchises in the genre of fighting. I was going through its best, but this return to the roots fully recovers bloody nature, fun and deadly. Get ready for mortal kombat.

Graphically, at first glance, the game looks very beautiful. Notable character designs, very good and tasteful, and with a good level of detail. The scenarios also have a great look, somewhat less than the characters, but with considerable detail, variety and a good level in the artistic. It is in the art direction which highlights MK, with its unique characters and dark scenes. But the graphics are not as good as they seemed at first glance, the approach is more the characters shown in greater simplicity of their modeled.

At resonance the game is very good. Emphasize the effects of sound bites, screams, blood, broken bones, etc.. All perfectly conveys the violence and cruelty that has the game. The voices are fine, discharge their responsibilities, although Spanish translations leave something to be desired. The music is of high quality, classic recovering of the saga and brings them to the present. There are variety, though perhaps not as much and the music fails to win the necessary visibility.

The story is interesting and it raised a good way to be a fighting game. Thankfully it is important and meaningful to tell us something while we fight constantly.

It is in the gameplay where is the strong point of Mortal Kombat. Learning to play is easy but refined in the handling of his characters can be time consuming. There are a lot of characters, each with their individual moves and combos. All these require combinations of buttons and good timing to be executed, in addition to special techniques, which when combined with the punches you can make long chains. We also have the x-ray attack, a kind of special attack in battle, and the mythical Fatalities. The game features the story mode, the tournament (individual or team), the challenges of luck, strength, etc., the tower of the challenges and online. A wide range of options for fun for a long time. Besides tower features 300 challenges quite varied challenges that we will take a long time to overcome. The online, on the other hand, is very well made and let us measure ourselves in combat or king of the hill. It divertito, but very challenging and merciless for newbies. Also the game suffers lag sometimes and this in a fighting game bothers a lot.

All in all a great fighting game and above all a great Mortal Kombat. This iconic title series returns with a bloody, ruthless, new while respecting their roots and deathmatches. Highly recommended for those followed and those who are not.

90

Mortal Kombat is back

ColdestVisionz | July 3, 2013 | See all ColdestVisionz's reviews »

Ups the ante on not just the fighting genre, but gaming as a whole. Warner Brothers exceeded my expectations by miles. Port is solid, only the slightest of stutter here and there during cut scenes. If You love fighting games, come on back to Mortal Kombat. You won't be disappointed.

90

Great game for Mortal Kombat fans

lilpapa89 | June 29, 2013 | See all lilpapa89's reviews »

The game is amazing in every aspect, the controls work nice and it felt how a fighting game should. The only major problem I had was a little lag and pulling off some of the more difficult combos.