Reviews for Warhammer 40000: Space Marine

95

If you're a fan of War40k, get it

hildegain | Nov. 28, 2014 | See all hildegain's reviews »

Now, this is somewhat of a toughy to summarise really so I'll have to do this bit by bit.

Combat: I can't say much more than if you like a good hack n' slash third person game - with finishers, blood, guts, and gore - and you love to jump, take cover, and run n' gun your way to glory... You'll love it.

Enemies: Your enemies are typically a massive horde of Orks who are bent on destroying you all while yellin' "SPACE MARINE!"... Cmon! If you're a fan of Orks, you'll love them.

Graphics: It's no Crysis but it sure does nail the look of the Warhammer 40k universe. All of the characters and environments are beautifully designed and it's all so gritty. Don't expect any fantasy MMO vibrance here.

Replayability: If you're like me and enjoy a game for some good challenging brutal fun, then you'll probably pick this up repeatedly but if you're looking for collectibles, secrets and branching stories then this aint really your thing.

Multiplayer: This is clearly not the focus of the game (sadly) as the multiplayer is extremely limited and not at all up to the same standards as the fantastic single player. No coop neither... so sad.

Story: Don't expect shakespeare. You're being thrown into a warzone, your focus is on the mission! But it still isn't all that simple neither. The story pretty much puts you right smack dab in the middle of what it's like to be caught in a conflict between the imperium and the Orks! I so wish that there were more to this game's story, like some Tyranids or the Tau but hey! It's still fun!

My overall rating is going to be good because I LOVE all things War40k and this game does action and a war campaign really well, so get it if you're a fan of Warhammer but you're not gonna be using mechs to fight Tyranids I'm afraid.

65

For the Emperor, up and personal.

Obsessor | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

I liked playing this game after completing Dawn of War 1 and 2. Always dreamed to actually play as one of those powerful warriors of the Emperor. Dream come true? Not quite.

The game is repetitive and silly at times. Graphics look all right, music does not interfere too much, it's there at the edge of your consciousness. Gameplay itself - as I mentioned - repetitive. You clear room after room of enemies, dumb enemies. There are some upgrades and boosters to make the game less boring, and it succeeds to some extent. I managed to play the game through to the end once. And I don't think I'll be back for more. One time's enough. I have tried some online play. It's a simple coop on an arena-like map where you fend off wave upon wave of enemies. But hey, it's an universe where there is only war, so what else can you expect, right?

Good game for one playthrough.

90

Silly yet satisfying!

PrimalHunter779 | July 26, 2014 | See all PrimalHunter779's reviews »

If you're a fan of Warhammer 40K, then get this game. Right now. Warhammer 40,000: Space Marine is a third person action game set in the mythical Warhammer universe; the player takes control of Titus, a Space Marine tasked with assisting in the eradication of an Ork invasion on an Imperial Forge world. Chaos quickly ensues, the situation grows out of control, and Titus soon realises there are far worse enemies than Orks on the planet. The gameplay in this game is freakin' awesome. You can use a variety of guns, such as bolt pistols, heavy bolters, plasma weapons and other assorted ranged weapons; all of these weapons feel satisfying and lethal, and they all sound and feel the way they should. Melee weapons such as chainswords, hammers, and axes are made available, and this feels undeniably fun; you can wade into massive hordes of enemies and slash your way through gallons of blood and gore using nothing but your melee weapon. You can also replenish your health by executing enemies, which offers you a brutal and bloody finishing move that plays on screen while your health bar refills. It's safe to say that the combat in this game is highly enjoyable, and you'd be nuts to not enjoy yourself. However, many of the environments look very similar and you'll find yourself getting a little tired with the repetitious level design as the game progresses. The game really shines when it plunges you into massive areas and removes all training wheels and allows you to fully exploit the various aspects of combat the game has to offer. Visually, the game is quite stunning. The level of detail and graphical polish is fully faithful to the Warhammer universe, and the truly epic moments of this game (such as standing on the shoulders of a Titan) look truly amazing with this games' graphical capability. Since the campaign is fairly short, it's good that the developers included a multiplayer mode to plunge into after completion of the main game. There are a variety of game modes, all of which are a lot of fun, and the customisation for your online soldier is also quite solid. A lot of effort has been put into crafting a multiplayer mode that'll keep you going for quite some time. However, servers are rather dodgy and you'll find yourself dropping out of games more often than you'd like. Overall, this is a bloody awesome game, and I recommend it highly. It's a lot of fun, and I can't describe how much sheer fun I had with this! 9 / 10

50

Single player is worthwhile

MaverickZero | May 1, 2014 | See all MaverickZero's reviews »

Good game especially the single player part. The co-op gameplay is okay but nothing special (spams countless mobs to zerg rush you). The PvP is broken. No balance and insta-deaths all over the place. Weapons are far too powerful but there's some weapons beyond extremely powerful (1 hit kills). The online population is very slim so don't buy it for online modes only.

75

Gears of War in the Warhammer atmosphere.

sergebelanger22 | Feb. 27, 2014 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

Warhammer 40000: Space Marine is the first game, as far as I know, that is not a RTS in the Warhammer universe. It is a 3rd person shooter, very similar to Gears of War.

At the very beginning of the game, you have only your bolter and a melee weapon. After that, you gain the ability to equip with 2 more weapons for a total of 4. As you continue your progress, you get better equipment. There are not many though.

Through the entire game, you will fight orcs. A lot of orcs. You will kill thousands of them. Near the end, you have to fight a different race, but I will not make spoiler here.

The game is filled with crash. I played around 8-10 hours, and around every hours I had a crash to desktop. Hopefully, the game saves quite often so I did not have to replay a big section of the game.

Also, when you are in boss fights or where there are a lot of dead bodies, you always get stuck in them when moving around. This happens a lot and it is very frustrating because you can get stuck near a box and a body for example, and then an enemy come and hit you in the face, and you cannot move. So, either you die trying to escape or try to kill him even if you know that you will die if you do not have have enough power remaining.

These are the 2 major issues that I encountered in the game. Other than that, the game is very cool. The story is good, even the end is nice. The controls are easy to learn, the same as in Gears.

There are few hidden objects that tell you a little more about the story but not much. You are always take by the hand through the entire game, so you will always know where to go. You will also use a lot of switches. Use the switch to open a door, grab some ammo, use another switch, run through an empty room, use another switch... You get the twist.

Globally, this is a good start for Warhammer in the 3rd person shooters world, however there are several issues to fix before I can say that this is an excellent game. Hopefully we will see some more coming, even if THQ is now dead. RIP.

78

A must have for any Warhammer fan

Panopticat | Dec. 24, 2013 | See all Panopticat's reviews »

Space marine is a satisfyingly brutal action game. The weapons are all satisfying to use and the levels are very detailed if a bit linear. Very few games make mowing down hordes of enemies as visceral as this one. From hacking apart Orks with your power axe to mowing down the legions of Chaos with your Storm Bolter, the campaign makes you really feel like a walking tank of a Super Soldier. The game has a small but dedicated multiplayer community. Annihilation (deathmatch) is probably the most popular. The matchmaking does suffer from a few lag issues, but it does not detract much from this very fun action game.

85

Feel like an Adeptus Astartes

EDUSAN | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all EDUSAN's reviews »

If there is something that this game makes right, is to make you feel like a war machine, a Space Marine. Even though the game story is bland (but very much what you should expect from a Warhammer 40k story) and the game gets repetitive after some time, this game succeded in making you feel POWERFUL. The weapons look devastating and sound capable of doing the Massacre that will be left after your character passes by. The game brutality fits Warhammer like a glove and the combat feels satisfying. Killing Orks has never been so fun! The graphics are not astonishing but they are quite good, and the requisites to be able to play it decently are low

85

Great for 40K fans, but by no means a perfect game.

bewilderedronin | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all bewilderedronin's reviews »

Despite what may seem like a limited combat system, the fights are actually rather difficult and challenging. The game itself is fairly shallow, but it does such a wonderful job of rendering an in-your-face representation of WH:40k's universe that its limitations are easily forgotten by those enamored to the franchise. The emblems, the armor for multiplayer, the over-the-top gore and mayhem, it's all implemented so lovingly and so richly detailed.

The sound is epic on all levels. The music is comprised of vibrant orchestral arrangements that swell and the hearty report of the storm bolter provides a a pleasingly deep "thud" against the music's rich tapestry, as the laments of orks being split apart by your chainsword fill the background. Again, all of the little details are rendered so lovingly that it everything just feels "right." The music and sound effects are so very engrossing and they help to deliver a splendidly immersive experience.

Hack 'n' Slash purists might find the game's fighting mechanics lacking. It really is more of a "fanservice" kind of game than one of excellence in its chosen genre. There is a combo system, but if you're thinking, "Devil May Cry," then you will be disappointed.

A Space Marine is a toweringly large man in impossibly huge armor, and the gameplay reflects that. Your moves deliver death, straight and true, but they need to be executed more methodically calculated than in a hurried, button-mashing and spamming fashion. You can roll, and this will be very important later on in the game and in the harder difficulties, where you will need to be wise in where you strike, and then roll off to safety.

While the combat is certainly shallow in its mechanics, it is still done in a way that is surprisingly skillful. It's not punishingly simple, it's simplicity serves as a challenge, and there are no instances where you are invulnerable due to animations. If you think it wise to go through a lengthy chansword sequence surrounded by orks, you will likely be brought down by the horde as you execute your single victim. In many ways, the combat is much more about deft crowd-management than about getting ultra-high combo counts.

Multiplayer is rather cookie-cutter: Capture Point, King of The Hill, Team Deathmatch, and Free For All Deathmatch round it out. It's fun, but nothing to keep you interested in the long term. There is a fun "Horde" mode, but unlocks are VS only, so if you want to level up and get that sweet gear, you're forced to do multiplayer. There's still a small amount of people that play, but the scene can be rather rough as most of the longterm players know all the good hiding spots. Still, to help level the playing field, you can choose to equip the loadout of the person that killed you, regardless of whether you have the skills unlocked yet or not. This helps to level the playing field a bit, but most matches still come down to who knows the maps the best.

If you love 40K and you like Hack 'n' Slash games, you'll most likely love this game. Just in case, give the demo a try and see for yourself.

My armour is Contempt. My shield is Disgust. My sword is Hatred. In the Emperor's Name, Let none survive.

90

Yes, Inquisitor

CoillyZ | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all CoillyZ's reviews »

This game surprised me with how good it was. I expected a mediocre title, especially because the franchise is known for strategy, not action. There is no cover system, but I love it. It makes you feel like you are actually wearing 1,000 pounds of armor. The lore is intriguing and the story is well put together.

69

PC version of Xbox's Gears of War

Sinjin | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Sinjin's reviews »

As the title says, this game basically handles and plays like the Gears of War Series for the Xbox 360. It isn't bad as you get to massacre hordes of orks in such explosive game play. Game play can get a bit repetitive as the main point of the game is to clear out a section and then repeat. Multiplayer is where it expands and opens, as the features are intense. Deathmatch and Capture points while in the Warhammer universe is fun and there is no greater feeling when you get a kill in a game with your jetpack, chain sword combination,

83

Great experience from a legendary dev

forgot2shave | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

Another great entry from the creators of the Company of Heroes series. This game is incredibly fun to play, whether or not you are a warhammer fan. The game looks great as well. It's very polished and it does justice to the tabletop games that so many love. It's pretty much a hack and slash type game which, to some, can be repetitive. I personally found it worth the money for the great many hours of fun. Definitely a great value.

70

It's great playthrough for 1st time

Cronoblade | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all Cronoblade's reviews »

It's a generic shooter with beat em up system. The graphics in this game is good and the brutality finishing is very satisfying. However, compared to previous trailer and screenshot, the gore has been toned down. There are alot of blood splashing after getting chainsaw-ed by your chainsword.

It's very fun during 1st few hours but it gets very very repetitive. The best part of the game is when you have the jump packs but only few levels uses it. The great part of this is game is the horde of orcs getting grinded by your bolt pistol and chainsword.

The Multiplayer is fun and the coop mode which is known as last stand is challenging. You can customize your character with huge varieties of ccosmetic armor and you upgrade your weapons. You can also gain perks as long you manage to finish their challenges.

89

Spectaculor!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Love it! Warhammer 40,000K world in a third person shooter. Game flows nicely and is really fun to play. The guns are great and the melee is insane. A lot of work was put in to this game and the end product is amazing.

89

Very Enjoyable Game

arimajeen | July 8, 2013 | See all arimajeen's reviews »

A lot better than I expected. The story is good, Relic really loves this universe, and it shows combat system works well and there was enough diversity in the weapons that it kept me interested. It gets pretty overwhelming at times with the onslaught of enemies on you. The multiplayer is pretty awesome! I like this type hack and slash game, and it's a good break from a stressful week! I recommend it.

70

Generic shooter

lok0812 | July 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is another one of your generic shooter in the story of Warhammer. The player are just simply tasked with slaying many upon many of orks along each missions with your arsenals of ranged and melee weapons. There are joys of slaughtering countless of them but that could get bored quick as most of them really do not provide much challenge and the game difficulties are far too easy. The game also have a multi player mode that allows deathmatch between two teams as well as a coop mode for four in the form of survival mode. Give this a try if you are looking for a shooting game to play with no new innovation.

88

Warhammer world in 3rd person

Alfa8789 | June 28, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

For me Space Marine is the best game you can find 3rd person action, you can combine warhammer violent and brutal fights with the great engine, its the perfect game to people addicted or not to warhammer world and a great open door to its world, recommended! Multiplayer is funny, you can killed hundreds of Orks