Reviews for Borderlands 2: Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep

98

Must-have DLC

Jokin93 | Jan. 18, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

If you asked me what DLC you should buy for Borderlands 2, I would probably tell you to get all of it, but since money can be a problem and choices need to be made, then I would definitely go with Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep.

This is more than just a piece of DLC, this is pretty much an expansion, considering how much content it adds to the game. I could say more, but you would have to see for yourself as this DLC is a must-have.

92

The Star of all the BL2's DLCs

JetStreamJam | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all JetStreamJam's reviews »

the star of all the BL2's DLCs, Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep. This DLC is AWESOME! Tiny Tina’s voice actor really nailed the part and made the DLC so much enjoyable and funny. Tiny Tina’s story and dialogue is downright disturbing but surprisingly brilliant! If you enjoy borderlands 2 and do not own this DLC, then you are missing on a big chunk of sheer joy that you can get from this pack. The quests, the story, the dialogue, the voice actors all provides top level entertainment that makes this the best DLC for Borderlands 2.

100

BL2 at it's Finest

TCass29 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

This is far and away the best story-based DLC for Borderlands 2. Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep could be a game by itself. The story is deep and interesting, the environments are rich and detailed, the music fits PERFECTLY, the enemies are varied and interesting, and the DLC-specific guns are great. And above all else, CL4P-TP makes an appearance! This DLC is a must-have for Borderlands fans.

100

I mean, who doesn't love Tiny Tina?

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This DLC is the grand finale of the first Borderlands 2 DLC season, and damn right it is a great finale. You probably loved Tiny Tina in the original storyline. Well, be prepared for more of that! The whole storyline, dialogs, and all the new areas and enemies are just what you'd be expecting from a D&D game. But this is Borderlands! So be prepared for laughing a whole lot and for the epic references from other games/books/series. If you liked Borderlands 2, you won't be disappointed with this one. I mean, one does not simply refuse to get a DLC of which the main star is Tiny Tina.

93

From the Depths of a Pyrotechnic's Imagination

CrimsonWizard | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Swords and sorcery, high mountains and dark forests, yes that's right, this DLC is all about classical fantasy, brought to you by mind of Tiny Tina. Much like Magicka or the Trine games, Assault on Dragon Keep pays a lot of love and tribute to the genre while simultaneous poking at it's ribs for humor. Your adventure begins as the vault hunters from Borderlands 1 choose classes that just so happen to align with the classes and characters of Borderlands 2.

You arrive on the shores of a new, mysterious land, and in the first five minutes you realize that this is still Borderlands 2 with loads of humor. The DLC does a good job of keeping up with Tiny Tina's imagination and quick changes as her players make demands of her with settings, goals, and puzzles being changed on a dime. It also has a very nice variety of environments to play around in, far more so than the previous DLCs and plenty of quests and encounters to fill the gaps.

The story itself is rather nice jab at fantasy stories and games in general, but also gives a nice spotlight to Tina for her fans, and even gives her character a bit of depth as you play on in her game's setting. In fact, nearly all the major characters from BL2 get an appearance as sort of a last hurrah for the current batch of Season Pass DLC, most of them getting at least a few funny lines to make you laugh between the shooting.

Speaking of which, Assault on Dragon Keep has a nice variety of monsters, covering nearly all your stock fantasy enemies from orcs, skeletons, knights, wizards, and more, but adapting them to BL2 rules to give them the little twist of guns in addition to whatever bows, axes, and swords they may have on them. Add in a nice variety of bosses and mini-bosses and you have a great expansion to the main BL2 that will entertain you for a while. If you haven't gotten this already from the Season Pass, I highly recommend trying it out. By far, this is the strongest of the DLCs and I look forward to Gearbox's next episode in the BL2 world.

97

The best one yet

nightassassin1 | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This is by far the best Borderlands 2 DLC so far. I say so far because there has been an announcement that there will be even more DLC to come, however this is the last DLC that is to be included in the Season Pass. This one is pretty much ran by Tiny Tina in an attempt to cope with the loss of Roland and Bloodwing, which hinders the story in a small way. This attempt to cope make the game quite a bit more sad and unsettling than other DLC. I feel they should have dropped that and went with more comedy instead.

Over all the DLC plays similar to that of Dungeons and Dragons, Path Finder, or something similar. There are chests that you open and get randomized by the dice that you throw, the higher the number, the higher your reward. These are a neat change compared to the completely random chests you normally find in Borderlands 2.

The graphics are mostly dark, but jump back and forth as Tina changes the game in odd and dramatically opposite ways.

Over all I loved this DLC. I will only take off 3 points for the extreme drops in mood caused by Tiny Tina.

90

Best DLC yet...

patrik_ha | July 12, 2013 | See all patrik_ha's reviews »

Do you want more of the craziness that is Tiny Tina? This DLC won't disappoint you. The references and the wacky dialog will leave you with a giant grin on your face. Must buy if you own Borderlands 2!

91

Best Addition Yet!

Plasros | July 5, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Tiny Tina is probably the best addition to The Borderlands Universe so I love seeing a DC centered around her. The graphics are unique much like Hammerlock's DLC was but the story and exploration here is sooo much better. It's the first time in a Borderlands game where I don't feel like I am thrown into a sandbox area and its refreshing.

It actually feels like a linear adventure with little side roads along the way which is refreshing to the usual Borderlands game dynamic of grab quest, run either north, east, south, west to complete, and then backtrack to complete quest.

It is easily the best DLC to Borderlands 2. I would rank them as: 1) Dragon Keep- Fantastic 2) Pirate Captain Scarlett DLC Good to Great 3) Torgue Campaign- Average to Good (mainly because of Mr. Torgue) 4) Hammerlock- Forgettable other than the graphic design

91

Great DLC

tusccar | July 5, 2013 | See all tusccar's reviews »

This is the dlc I have been looking forward to. The others were very lacking, but this one is awesome. The storyline, dialogue, and new enemies are awesome. You won't regret this purchase. Buy one of the best bl2 dlc packs and spend a ton of time on this....its worth it!

100

Best Character Best DLC

general_ace0 | July 2, 2013 | See all general_ace0's reviews »

The title says it all. Tiny Tina is the best character, and the DLC just goes on to prove that. You need to buy it. Now. Before she makes us all go boom-boom.

90

Best DLC to come out for Borderlands 2 yet.

stegsux | July 2, 2013 | See all stegsux's reviews »

This DLC is a gem compared to the other DLC's previously released. The other DLC's like the pirate one and the Mr. Torgue DLC's were basically just a bunch of poorly designed levels and free guns. This DLC, however, is much different. Giving the player an actual story, you are immediately surrounded by interesting maps and enemies that are actually fun to fight. The quests you are given are all entertaining and (besides one quest) are not grindy at all. The loot you get is absolutely amazing, and the references to things such as Dark Souls and DnD are just perfect. Overall, great DLC, and completely worth the purchase.

82

the best one

captainstark | June 30, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

Better than the previous two dlcs, this one combines action, story and wraps up the borderlands 2 storyline quite nicely. The dev team behind this seems to love Dark Souls as there are quite a few references in here.

90

Come hither to ye olde days of new

Eat_Pushy | June 29, 2013 | See all Eat_Pushy's reviews »

Get ready for the best DLC for BL2 to date. This is by far has most content ever done for a DLC by Gearbox, with a interesting twist, like taking a trip back in time when wizards and knights ruled the lands with cold hard steel. Except you have your guns, nades and special class powers along with your friends for this epic adventure. Don't want to say more otherwise would have to toss out the spoiler alert, so good luck and happy hunting!

83

A nice dlc

drafek | June 28, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This dlc is just like the game awesome, In this dlc you travel though a world of castles, forests. You can fight dragons and orcs. The graphics are done great again. The side missions are just as interested as the main story-line. Worth getting, but I recommend the season pass.

91

The Best Borderlands 2 DLC Yet

IAmUnaware | June 28, 2013 | See all IAmUnaware's reviews »

Let me preface with this: I do not like Tiny Tina. I find her incredibly annoying. As such, I wasn't really looking forward to several more hours of her constantly being OHMYGODSOWACKYYOUGUYS in my ear. But Anthony Burch and the rest of the Borderlands team really outdid themselves, delivering the most visually impressive and amusing DLC of the bunch to close out the Season Pass. Assault on Dragon Keep is the most fun I've had with Borderlands 2, and I even found Tina to be less annoying and kind of endearing this time around.

Dragon Keep has more visual variety than most of the rest of the game and DLCs combined, and the fantasy setting let Gearbox take advantage of their engine in some pretty fantastic ways. The jokes where Tina screws up the setting and then dynamically rewrites it are both amusing and visually impressive, and the fantasy creatures are pretty awesome to behold. Dragon Keep is also packed with occurances any tabletop RPG player will recognize, from a player accidentally knocking over miniatures with a die to a GM trying to come up with some way for a critical failure on a mundane task not to be ridiculous.

My one complaint is that many of the areas feature huge numbers of enemies, such that you occasionally end up standing in one place and just mowing down dwarves or orcs for ten or fifteen minutes at a time. To be fair, I only played the DLC in UVHM, so that may have been responsible.

84

One of the best caracters.

parcelu | June 27, 2013 | See all parcelu's reviews »

A few notes on my first thoughts of the DLC: Epic! Love it so far...the music, sounds, scenery, enemies, story, characters... . Gearbox did a very nice job with this one, as expected. I did roll a 19 on the dice chest and got a [purple] Jakobs Cannon (value of like $900000) and a nice [purple] Maliwan shock SMG with a Maliwan grip. The Dwarven Mines are pretty cool. The jumping puzzle made me rage a bit, I would have gone broke if it actually affected your money. Was it solvable after Tina added more platforms? I still couldn't do it, but then again....I never was that good at Crash Bandicoot and the like.

93

Tiny Tina

mutsuriini | June 26, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

Borderlands 2's Tiny Tina has got some bizarre quirks and qualities a vocal few openly denounce, but she's memorable in a way so few women in games are. All that, and she's still a little girl. The frenetic little firecracker is a bundle of energy, so it makes perfect sense that she should host a game of Bunkers & Badasses, an obvious parody of Dungeons & Dragons. In "Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep," your go-to Vault Hunter rolls for initiative with Lilith, Brick, and Mordecai as part of the very first play session ever sanctioned. The final piece of Borderlands 2 DLC serves up a hilarious send-up of nerd culture sprinkled with nods to D&D, marinated in Tiny Tina's peculiar blend of humor.

Fast-traveling to the Unassuming Docks of Little Importance, we find our heroes embarking on their first role-playing adventure while a certain "Hyperion informant" is roughed up downstairs. After a brief interlude, the stage is set (by Bunker Master Tina of course) at Flamerock Refuse – a "nice place until the Handsome Sorcerer messed it up." The rainbow etched across the sky in this land of make-believe you're suddenly transported to doesn't exactly reflect an air of desolation, so Tina rectifies her mistake by instantly changing the scenery to something more eerie and hopeless, music included.

It's immediately obvious this scenario is a meta look at playing dungeon master and the way a D&D narrative can be altered so hastily. From then on, you're exploring the entire imaginary landscape on Tina's terms, which results in some giggle-worthy location names and terrain altering, as well as a bundle of surprises. Borderlands 2 - Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon's Keep

Enemies like "skellymens" (skeleton archers), deadly treants named Stumpy, and "Mr. Boney Pants Guy" are spawned to greet your Vault Hunter as the journey wears on, as it's clear Tina's storytelling is in dire need of improvement. Each area is tailored to exude a classic western-RPG feel, with high fantasy-styled naming conventions. You'll explore the Forest of Tranquility, until Brick declares it's too boring for his tastes, at which point it then becomes the Forest of Being Eaten Alive by Trees. Brick's outburst and Tina's subsequent editing is hilarious, and it's a blast to watch familiar BL2 personalities interact with each other while in-character.

Everything's had its own high fantasy makeover, with the vending machines themselves sporting attractive stained glass accents. There are also new class mods that reinforce the central theme, such as "Chaotic Neutral Sorceress" or "Lawful Good Ranger." Plenty of loot, places to spend hard-earned eridium, and new slot machines with even better weapons and equipment lie in wait. Even treasure chests get in on the old-school adventure action, rolling (you guessed it) a D20 to determine the quality of loot you come away with. Spend a bit of eridium, and you can roll two D20s to up the ante.

Despite these augments, mission objectives aren't exactly novel: Find and collect X, defeat X, go to X. They're all culled from the outline of a generic fantasy adventure. The allure stems from the world's ever-changing environments, ambiance, and population. It's completely different from anything you've seen on Pandora, deftly incorporating elements that adhere to classic Borderlands convention while randomizing encounters and even the land around you at a moment's notice. It brings to mind finicky DMs from real-world tabletop encounters, or even the artist who's constantly dissatisfied with his work; mind ever-changing and ideas ever-flowing.

Unique to your quest is a grand boss battle that will take every bit of your manpower: not one, but a group of dragons. It's a grueling but exhilarating encounter, one probably best with a group of friends at your disposal. I had to go it alone, and assistance was sorely missed.

If that's not enough to wet your whistle, consider this: despite the fact there are no additional characters this time around, there's an expansive selection of enemies and campaign-specific weapons. They're not simply re-skinned skags and the like – they're orcs, golems, gnomes, and knights out for blood. You'll gun them down with magical spells and armaments that shoot swords or even exude drunkenness (say hello to The Grognozzle and Swordsplosion).

As the culmination of what's undoubtedly been a wild ride as far as the Borderlands 2 downloadable content packs are concerned, Tiny Tina's adventure ends with a bang. There's even a link to what could eventually blossom into something bigger at the end of the line, but that's not for me to spoil here. Just know that the grind is certainly worth it, especially if you've been on board from the very beginning.

From the Pixie who adds special buffs as long as she's not provoked to the snarky commentary from the Vault Hunters and malevolent wizards, Assault on Dragon Keep is a playful nod to tired fantasy tropes permeating the world of RPGs, simultaneously playing to them and turning them on their head. It's a surrealistic trip through the imagination of a manic little girl who can't quite grasp the fact that for some of her friends, there's no coming back.

96

Amazing DLC

graspee | June 26, 2013 | See all graspee's reviews »

This DLC is amazing. The world is completely different- everything is fantasy-themed. There's tons of humour and references and jokes, some fantastic new loot, new enemies you have to learn the special features of and it's quite a large DLC.

To tell you the truth I don't want to leave and go back to the "real" world of the game now. I want to stay in the DLC forever!

92

Another Fantastic Addition

Fluffy_McFluff | June 25, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

Packed with humorous narrative provided by some of Pandora's most notable and lovable NPCs, loaded with many hours of extra content (by far - more than the previous Borderlands 2 DLC combined), and with hordes of new enemies to contend with (read: new enemies - not reskins)!