Reviews for Devil May Cry 4

90

A crazy game

UltraJake | March 5, 2014 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

First off, this is a silly game. If you can't handle campy action scenes this will not be the game for you. If you can, and you like crazy games in general, it's a perfect fit. It's a game that can be as simple or as complex as you want it to be, letting you do simple combos if you wish or incredibly complex ones if you can manage. The PC port is incredible, with amazing performance and even a new game mode that exists solely because it can. Hopefully you have a controller though.

90

Still crazy after all these years

DashKrimson | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all DashKrimson's reviews »

A lot was made over the stylistic changes, PR mistakes and resultant fan backlash over this year's Devil May Cry reboot. As such, I decided to try out the previous iteration of the original series, the then equally reviled Devil May Cry 4. Why? Because once again, the familiar form of debonaire dandy-man demon-hunter Dante was not the main character. No, this time we had to take on the role of a younger white-haired, sword-and-gun-wielding hell-raiser calling himself Nero (obviously referencing antagonist Nelo Angelo from the original DMC, to which extent you'll find out later), who's out to protect his girlfriend Kyrie and the Sparda-worshipping Order Of The Sword from Dante, demon attacks and the Order's own conspiracies. To this end, he is cursed/blessed with a demonically-possessed arm called the Devil Bringer, which can be used to grapple with and stun enemies in concert with his turbo-charged blade and super-charged revolver, all of which gives the Yongster a different, more measured flavour of fighting style to Dante's style-switching craziness.

The game is hardly perfect - although Nero isn't nearly as bad a lead as many said at the time of release, he's still a bit plain and single-minded compared to Dante's almost Vaudevillian showmanship and practiced swagger, qualities which originally endeared him to the fanbase. Also, as mentioned before, Nero fights differently to Dante - a slower, more methodical style, dependent on judicious use of the Devil Bringer for the best results, both damage and grade-wise. Also, he lacks the multiple styles and weapons that Dante brought to the table. In his favour, though, his Devil Bringer does gain new abilities throughout the adventure through shop upgrades, and he does gain the Devil Trigger at a certain point in the game, boosting his DB powers immensely. Even before this awakening to his true power, he is never less than fun to play as, so I would consider him a worthy addition to the DMC roster - had that roster lasted.

Now, this is a review of the PC version, available for direct download on steam for a ridiculously low price, and regarded by most as the very best version of the game, eclipsing the console versions by miles. What sets the PC version apart from the console versions, you ask? Well, how about a rock-solid 60 FPS framerate, even on the most modest of PC setups? Or the Legendary Dark Knight difficulty mode, which throws hundreds of enemies per fight at you in an almost Dynasty Warriors level of excess? What about Turbo Mode, which speeds up gameplay? All these modes and other additions besides serve to make the PC version of DMC4 a cut above the rest, and it looks better to boot! The only caveat to that is that it is designed for use with gamepads only, so all you keyboard warriors out there are out of luck, I'm afraid.

Overall, I'd say that this game is well worth the lunch money it costs to buy, since it will run on any dual-core notebook or school PC, and look and play great in the process. As for whether it's better than the reboot? I haven't played enough of the reboot to judge that fairly, but I'll tell you this - DMC4 certainly looks more appealing!

82

Keeps on with the DMC tradition, but repetitive.

TheMagicaos1 | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all TheMagicaos1's reviews »

As a typical Devil May Cry game should be, this game has guns swords and an enemy that only die a hundred hits away, if that is the case of your game then you are playing Devil may cry, the start is slow but after that fun is guaranteed, getting up with the combos and slashing everything that comes infront of you is seriously rewarding, opening secret rooms and the ability to upgrade your weapons, it gets boring after some time but if you are in the appetit for some devil may cry then you will fastly come back. The story was not that exciting but with the appearance of previous devil may cry protagonist and the welcome to a brand new character was fun.

Recommended for all of you that have played a hack n slash game or any of the devil may cry games, you will like it.

80

Repetitive, but in the best way

BLUEKOOLAIDMAN7 | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all BLUEKOOLAIDMAN7's reviews »

A lot of the criticism towards this game stems from its repetitive nature. While this is true, and you will find yourself fighting the same bosses over and over, traversing the same environments back and forth, DMC4 always finds a new wrinkle to throw in the fold to keep it interesting.

A big emphasis in this game is doing things at stylish as possible, so fighting the same enemies also gives you a chance to perfect your fighting style and rack up some big points.

Lastly, with two different characters to play as, each with a variety of moves, you never really feel like you are walking in circles, not when there are so many demons to destroy in devilish fashion (Pun intended).

75

Excellent but it will be more fast

andresshinkyo | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all andresshinkyo's reviews »

Excellent hack-n-slash, tons of fun, outstanding graphics and terrifyng enemies, but I feel is a little slow...

75

Not as good as DMC 3, but good enough as DMC 4.

abelegu2 | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all abelegu2's reviews »

If you have a controller, then this game will be up to par. The game just isn't designed for keyboards; it needs the controller to support it's great gameplay. just like its successors, it offers cool (although not as crispy cool as DMC 3) combat/gameplay, but unfortunately the story's a little meh. It's kind of anticlimactic after DMC 3's ending. It felt very God of War-ish in gameplay to me, but I wouldn't skip recommending it. If you're a fan of the DMC series, then this game is something you can't miss. New characters are introduced, and you play as Nero through a most of the game, making it feel a little weird as he looks a lot like young Dante. You get to play as grown-up Dante as well, providing a good mix of old and new powers you can toy around with. The enemies and bosses are generally fun to combat, although sometimes they can get dragged out. Recommended to get on a sale! It's practically given away at 75% sale.

80

Faithful installmen to the DMC series

nico7 | Oct. 20, 2013 | See all nico7's reviews »

If you like the other DMC games, you'll like this one. The storyline is decent. DMC 3 was better in that respect. Gameplay is what you would expect. The coolest feature is being able to play Dante after you've put some time into the game. I didn't read any reviews prior to playing this game so I wasn't aware that he was still a playbale character. Even better, his battle system is even better than Nero's. You get used to playing with Nero and developing his fighting style, then you get Dante and things are completely different. I would of thought it would be similar but it seems that the devlopers put a lot of time in creating two kinds of battle systems. The basics are the same I guess but the special weapons and how you alternate them are not the same. The leveling up system of collecting souls and buying new moves/items is the same. The normal enemies are fun to mow down, but where this game really shines is the boss battles. Seriously, the boss battles are really fun. However, they are not as challenging. I would recommend this game, especially now at the writing of this review since it's on sale!

91

Great stuff

PfantzyPantz | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all PfantzyPantz's reviews »

It's an absolute joy to play, fast paced and crazy, fits quite well into the series. Both Nero and Dante play beautifully and completely differently, Dante fans will love the on-the-fly switching of styles for him. It's a lengthy game, though the big issue arises with that. The 2nd half of the game is basically a complete backtracking of what you just did, just with Dante. Still fun, but less interesting. The music is fantastic and the art direction is delicious.

Very well optimized and looks amazing, highly recommend.

90

You may cry if you haven't play this game

y1985 | Aug. 20, 2013 | See all y1985's reviews »

One of the best Action Hack and Slashing games of all time. Features with unique weapon and combo style, slashing and blasting with guns is hell of fun.

If you're new to the series this might confuse you because Story line doesn't tell you anything. Beside, you play as Nero not the same old Protagonist, Dante(eventually, you can play as Dante).

Difficulty is not too hard but don't expect a cake walk here. The game is challenging and sometime quite frustrated if you didn't used to the control or play with keyboard.

Graphic is really good, smooth FPS and effect and animation is awesome. Better try the whole series if you have a chance.

I really enjoy playing this game

85

Stylish!

PeppaJ6 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all PeppaJ6's reviews »

One of my favorite gaming series of all time! If you own or have played the first three titles, this one's a must buy. You get to play as both Nero (the main star of the title) and Dante later on in the game's storyline, both of which get to kill just as many demons and their minions as in the previous titles. I can't say I've played this on the PC, but I'm sure the experience is all the better on a nice gaming rig. If hacking and slashing are what you're after, you've definitely found a diamond in the rough.

70

From the point of view of someone whose only played #4

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

This is the only Devil May Cry game I've played. All in all, I'd say that I enjoyed it. I played it in the early days of the 360 when this game first came out, and I have to say it's a pretty fun hack and slash. There's giant bosses to kill, and pretty grueling monsters to slay. The game offers relatively mind-numbing gameplay at times, but for the most part it's alright. The story is somewhat forgettable, but that doesn't deter the game from being good. It's all about the gameplay in Devil May Cry, and there's enough variety to play till the end and not get bored. Get this game if you're into hack and slashers.

75

Fun but dated.

FLD | July 7, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

Devil May Cry 3 stands among my favorite games of all time yet for some reason I only recently got around to playing this one. I hadn't heard very good things about it but I'd always meant to play it eventually.

Having recently done so, I have to say I was not disappointed. In many ways, it feels like a prettier PS2 game. The controls feel kind of archaic and to say the graphics are dated would be an understatement. But as a massive fan of the Devil May Cry series, this game was both a fun and nostalgic experience. If you can get it on sale, I would recommend it.

90

Really Fun

Xflasher | July 6, 2013 | See all Xflasher's reviews »

One of the best of the whole series and would highly recommend to all spectacle fighter games fans and DMC fans.

85

Must buy H&S game

lagendofdoom | July 6, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

Do you want a game that will bring you alot of action ? Do you want a game where you need to use your skills ? If yes then Devil may cry 4 is the game for you. DMC 4 is a game where you need to put all your skills in to the game Not only that but the game itself has a great storyline with great characters and alot of combos also we can't forget about some awesome boss fights that the game brings us. in other words Devil May Cry 4 is just an AWESOME game with one of the best gameplay that you will ever experience

71

My fav story in the dmc series.

nucture | July 4, 2013 | See all nucture's reviews »

Nero is awesome. Amazing voice actor and his arm brings a whole new gameplay scene to the dmc table. The story is enjoyable unlike some of the previous. (to me anyways.) Nice graphics and cheap price. Buy this if you want a very fun and interesting hack n slash.

83

Damned fun Hack and slash game if you don´t care for a story

coldtavi | June 27, 2013 | See all coldtavi's reviews »

DMC 4 is a very good hardcore action title even when Nero may not be as cool as Dante and the story tries to tell a serious and dramatic story but fails miserably. But that doesn´t matter since DMC was always about the gameplay and you also later get the chance to play as Dante so you betcha you get your money worth. Especially when you play it on the higher difficulties on which it was meant to be played. So lets get to the faults :the plattforming isn´t fun at all and no it is not because i suck at it.You are just very limited in Jumping and general movement. Second. the PC port is almost a joke.It has very limited customizationoptions ,the mouse and keyboard controls feel awkward so you might better plug in a controller at least the game has no gamebreaking bugs and runs well.

89

Fun

dsknucklehead | June 23, 2013 | See all dsknucklehead's reviews »

It's faced paced, action packed, shooting and slicing fun. Pretty visuals and challenging game play.

90

Lots of fun

jovi44 | June 22, 2013 | See all jovi44's reviews »

Devil May Cry is full of fast paced action, which the combat system rewards players for precisely timed combos. It isn't one of the best looking games out there, but the graphics and colours match the feel of the game. It has fun replay-ability as well, as you can change modes which drastically change the game play, like enemies learning new attacks or everyone, including you, dies in one hit. However, it can get a bit repetitive, as you do the same things over and over again like fighting similar enemies throughout out the whole game. I'd recommend this game to anyone who enjoys hack and slash games as the combat system is challenging to learn but rewarding when you get the hang of it.

79

Nostalgia

Tkayotic | June 21, 2013 | See all Tkayotic's reviews »

Love this game! Devil May Cry was one of my favourite video game series. If you love hack and slash games, then this is the one for you. Personally I felt the story lacked a bit, and level designs got kind of boring. But the fast pace Hack and Slash will compensates for that. Although PC controls can feel pretty stiff. I'll recommend a Xbox Game Pad to get the full comfortable experience.

82

Can even be played with controller!

drafek | June 21, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is great, first of all the game does look alot like the console version of the game, the game can be played with a xbox controller pretty easy. The graphics of this game alright, but you can see it's a console port. The sound of this game is good. The story is interested and will take a few hours to complete. This version also includes some extra things which aren't in the console version. Worth full price.

90

Needs controller to play perfectly

onewinged90 | June 21, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

The port on this game isn't half bad, but do not expect the controls to be exactly as the reboot DMC Devil May Cry. I feel that the story of this fourth installment is really good compared to the previous 3 games, enhanced graphics too.